DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
2. Claims 11 and 20 are canceled.
3. Claims 21 and 22 have been added.
4. Claims 1-10, 12-19, and 21-22 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 and 12-19 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground rejection necessitate by applicant amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen et al. US 2018/0172510 (hereinafter, Rosen) in view of Mensinger et al. US 20160331286 (hereinafter, Mensinger).
8. Regarding claim 1, Rosen discloses a measurement data processing system, having
at least one measuring device; comprising an embedded operating system, the embedded operating system interacting via an instrument-backend communication protocol with a remote instrument backend, the remote instrument backend being cloud-based ([0213]: Fig. 2, the spectrometer system 100 typically comprises a spectrometer 102 (i.e., measuring device)…. [0198]-[0199]: the spectrometer system described herein includes a digital processing device,…the digital processing device is optionally connected to a cloud computing infrastructure….In accordance with the description herein, suitable digital processing devices include, by way of non-limiting examples, server computers, desktop computers, laptop computers, notebook computers, sub-notebook computers, netbook computers,….[0221], [0228]: The cloud based system or server 118 may be accessed remotely, for example via wireless internet connection, by one or more spectrometers…The spectrometer system may perform analysis of the raw data locally. The spectrometer system may comprise a memory with a database of spectral data stored therein, and a processor with analysis software programmed with instructions…, the spectrometer may partially analyze the raw data prior to transmission to a remote server, such as the cloud server 11… [Further]: [0204], [0211]: the spectrometer system disclosed herein includes… a cloud computing systems and services…the spectrometer system disclosed herein includes software, server, and/or database modules, or use of the same. In view of the disclosure provided herein,… a software module comprises a plurality of files, a plurality of sections of code, a plurality of programming objects, a plurality of programming structures, or combinations thereof. … software modules are hosted on more than one machine. … software modules are hosted on cloud computing platforms), and
providing an interface configured to enable bidirectional communication between the remote instrument backend and the measuring device ([0222], [0230]: when the server receives raw data from the spectrometer, the server can identify and locate the appropriate calibration data for the specific spectrometer. The server may then apply the spectrometer-specific calibration data in producing the spectral data from the raw data received from the spectrometer…. models and algorithms may be downloaded by users from the cloud based server 118 to the hand-held device 110 or spectrometer 102), and
a user device with a user accessible application, the user-accessible application interacting via an application-backend communication protocol with a remote application backend, the remote application backend being cloud-based ([0213]: referring again to Fig. 2, the spectrometer system 100 typically comprises a spectrometer 102 as described herein and a hand held device 110 (i.e., a user device) in wireless communication 116 with a cloud based server or storage system 118. The spectrometer system 100 can provide a system for analyzing a material in real time, to determine the identity and/or additional properties of the material…The spectrometer can then send the data to a hand held device 110, for example via communication circuitry 104 having a communication link such as Bluetooth™. The hand held device 110 can transmit the data to the cloud based storage system 118. The data can be processed and analyzed by the cloud based server 118, and transmitted back to the hand held device 110 to be displayed to the user…[Further], [0198]-[0199]: the spectrometer system described herein includes a digital processing device,…the digital processing device is optionally connected to a cloud computing infrastructure….In accordance with the description herein, suitable digital processing devices include, by way of non-limiting examples, server computers, desktop computers, laptop computers, notebook computers, sub-notebook computers, netbook computers…[Furthermore]: [0221]: the cloud based system or server 118 may be accessed remotely, for example via wireless internet connection, by … hand held devices of the spectrometer system. In many instances, the cloud server is simultaneously accessible by more than one users/hand held devices of the system),
and configured to enable a user, via the user accessible application, to assign sample information and/or reference values to measurement data ([0233], [0238]-[0239]: the user may also add meta-data to the sample measurement, such as time, location, or physical properties of the sample material… The scans performed by a user may be stored in “My materials” under a tag… provide users with the ability to document their projects via the “Document 328” component, for example by adding notes or image data associated with a material…. A user may directly build and save a specific analysis (e.g., if the user is interested in using the spectrometer to determine the percent fat in cheese, he/she may set up such an analysis by identifying the material and the parameter of interest for the analysis), and
wherein the remote instrument backend and the remote application backend are set up to make use of cloud computing resources to store and retrieve and process data ([0212]-[0213], [0221]).
Rosen does not disclose:
wherein the remote instrument backend and the remote application backend are distinct from one another.
However, Mensinger discloses:
wherein the remote instrument backend and the remote application backend are distinct from one another ([0054]: the distributed cloud computing architecture 106 organizes, stores, and provides access to the data by other computers, applications, and third-parties. The distributed cloud computing architecture 106 includes plurality of different servers, storage systems, and software applications executing both locally and across distributed networks…[0069]: shown in FIG. 3, cloud computing architecture 106 includes services server 300 and/or back-end computer architecture 306. Displays 104a and 104b transmit data to services server 300. The services server 300 provides the functions for coordinating storage, retrieval, and notifications relating to glucose levels in the system… the displays 104a, 104b transmit data to the services server 300 using, for example, HTTPS web services…[0081]: back-end server(s) 306 also includes a product monitoring server 310 that monitors use of products, issues updates to continuous glucose sensor units, and updates software (i.e., remote instrument backend )….[0082]: back-end server(s) 306 also includes single sign on server 312. Single sign on server 312 provides a single sign-on for patients and users accessing a number of different applications).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rosen to use wherein the remote instrument backend and the remote application backend are distinct from one another as taught by Mensinger. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to apply the remote backend methodology of a cloud computing architecture as known in the art and as taught by Mensinger in a cloud based spectrometer system such as that of Rosen, thereby facilitating separate storage and retrieval of real-time data by the cloud computing architecture (Mensinger, [0071]).
8. Regarding claim 2, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 1, as disclosed above.
Rosen further discloses wherein the measuring device is of spectrometer-type, generating spectral data ([0109]).
9. Regarding claim 3, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 2, as disclosed above.
Rosen further discloses wherein the instrument backend and the application backend access and are accessible by a remote spectroscopy platform, wherein the spectroscopy platform is cloud-based, and wherein the spectroscopy platform comprises databases and compute services to store and retrieve and process spectral data gathered by the measuring device ([0211], Fig. 2).
10. Regarding claim 4, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 3, as disclosed above.
Rosen further discloses wherein the spectroscopy platform is set up to apply chemometric methods to the spectral data ([0254]-[0255]).
11. Regarding claim 10, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 1, as disclosed above.
Rosen further discloses wherein the instrument backend provides services based on protocols ([0089]-[0090], [0212]-[0215]).
13. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen, in view of Mensinger, in further view of Rego et al. “A portable IoT NIR spectroscopic system to analyze the quality of dairy farm forage”, June 2020, cited in IDS (hereinafter, Rego)
14. Regarding claim 5, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 4, as disclosed above.
Rosen further discloses quantity and quality of the information provided to the user by the software application ([0288]).
Rosen in view of Mensinger does not disclose:
wherein the spectroscopy platform is set up to provide trained algorithms that relate a multivariate response of the measuring device to the qualitative and/or quantitative properties of a hitherto uncharacterized sample.
However, Rego discloses:
wherein the spectroscopy platform is set up to provide trained algorithms that relate a multivariate response of the measuring device to the qualitative and/or quantitative properties of a hitherto uncharacterized sample (pages 1-2, section 1. Introduction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rosen in view of Mensinger to use wherein the spectroscopy platform is set up to provide trained algorithms that relate a multivariate response of the measuring device to the qualitative and/or quantitative properties of a hitherto uncharacterized sample as taught by Rego. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to extract reliable relevant information of spectral data (Rego, page 1-2).
15. Claims 6-9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen, in view of Mensinger, in further view of Cella et al. WO 2020227429 A1, cited in IDS (hereinafter, Cella)
16. Regarding claim 6, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 4, as disclosed above.
Rosen further discloses wherein the measurement data processing system has several measuring devices ([0215], [0222]).
Rosen in view of Mensinger does not disclose:
one of which is a primary measuring device controlling at least one secondary measuring device.
However, Cella discloses:
“a self-organized swarm of industrial data collectors, including a self-organizing swarm of industrial data collectors that organize among themselves to optimize data collection based on the capabilities and conditions of the members of the swarm . Each member of the swami may be configured with intelligence, and the ability to coordinate with other members. For example, a member of the swarm may track information about what data other members are handling, so that data collection activities, data storage, data processing, and data publishing can be allocated intelligently across the swarm, taking into account conditions of the environment, capabilities of the members of the swarm, operating parameters, rules (such as from a rules engine that governs the operation of the swarm), and current conditions of the members. For example, among four collectors, one that has relatively low current power levels (such as a low battery), might be temporarily allocated the role of publishing data, because it may receive a dose of power from a reader or interrogation device (such as an RFID reader) when it needs to publish the data. A second collector with good power levels and robust processing capability might be assigned more complex functions, such as processing data, fusing data, organizing the rest of the sw'ami (including self-organization under machine learning, such that the swarm is optimized over time, including by adjusting operating parameters, rules, and the tike based on feedback), and the like. A third collector in the swarm with robust storage capabilities might be assigned the task of collecting and storing a category of data, such as vibration sensor data, that consumes considerable bandwidth. A fourth collector in the swarm, such as one with lower storage capabilities, might be assigned the role of collecting data that can usually be discarded, such as data on current diagnostic conditions, where only data on faults needs to be maintained and passed along. Members of a swarm may connect by peer-to-peer relationships by using a member as a“master” or “hub,” or by having them connect in a series or ring, where each member passes along data (including commands) to the next, and is aware of the nature of the capabilities and commands that are suitable for the preceding and/or next member (see, [0454], [0544]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rosen in view of Mensinger to use one of which is a primary measuring device controlling at least one secondary measuring device as taught by Cella. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to apply the controlling device methodology of the industrial data collector devices as known in the art and as taught by Cella in a spectrometer devices of such as that of Rosen in view of Mensinger, thereby controlling and coordinating a plurality of measuring devices (Cella, [0454]).
17. Regarding claims 12-14, the claims are rejected with the same rationale as in claim 6.
18. Regarding claim 7, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose in view of Cella disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 6, as disclosed above.
Rosen further discloses wherein the measuring device accesses and is accessible by the instrument backend ([0198], [0213], [0221]).
Rosen in view of Mensinger does not disclose:
wherein only the primary measuring device accesses and is accessible by the instrument backend.
However, Cella discloses:
“a self-organized swarm of industrial data collectors, including a self-organizing swarm of industrial data collectors that organize among themselves to optimize data collection based on the capabilities and conditions of the members of the swarm . Each member of the swami may be configured with intelligence, and the ability to coordinate with other members. For example, a member of the swarm may track information about what data other members are handling, so that data collection activities, data storage, data processing, and data publishing can be allocated intelligently across the swarm, taking into account conditions of the environment, capabilities of the members of the swarm, operating parameters, rules (such as from a rules engine that governs the operation of the swarm), and current conditions of the members. For example, among four collectors, one that has relatively low current power levels (such as a low battery), might be temporarily allocated the role of publishing data, because it may receive a dose of power from a reader or interrogation device (such as an RFID reader) when it needs to publish the data. A second collector with good power levels and robust processing capability might be assigned more complex functions, such as processing data, fusing data, organizing the rest of the sw'ami (including self-organization under machine learning, such that the swarm is optimized over time, including by adjusting operating parameters, rules, and the tike based on feedback), and the like. A third collector in the swarm with robust storage capabilities might be assigned the task of collecting and storing a category of data, such as vibration sensor data, that consumes considerable bandwidth. A fourth collector in the swarm, such as one with lower storage capabilities, might be assigned the role of collecting data that can usually be discarded, such as data on current diagnostic conditions, where only data on faults needs to be maintained and passed along. Members of a swarm may connect by peer-to-peer relationships by using a member as a“master” or “hub,” or by having them connect in a series or ring,… a PARA server 5750 may connect to and receive data from other PARA servers such as the PARA server 5730. With reference to Figure 24, the PARA server 5730 may provide data to a supervisory module 5752 on the PARA server 5750 that may be configured to provide at least one of processing, analysis, reporting, archiving, supervisory, and similar functionalities. The supervisory module 5752 may also contain extract, process align functionality and the like (see, [0454], [0530], [0544], [0547]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rosen in view of Mensinger to use wherein only the primary measuring device accesses and is accessible by the instrument backend as taught by Cella. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to apply the controlling device methodology of the industrial data collector devices as known in the art and as taught by Cella in a spectrometer devices of such as that of Rosen in view of Mensinger, thereby controlling and coordinating a plurality of measuring devices (Cella, [0454]).
19. Regarding claim 8, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 1, as disclosed above.
Rosen further discloses wherein the instrument backend provides at least one interface to enable communication between the instrument backend and the measuring device (2) ([0213], Fig. 2).
Rosen in view of Mensinger does not disclose:
wherein the instrument backend provides at least one interface to enable bidirectional synchronous and/or asynchronous communication between the instrument backend and the measuring device.
However, Cella discloses:
“The example controller 12212 includes a transmission environment circuit 12226 that determines transmission conditions 12254 corresponding to the communication of the at least a portion of the number of sensor data values 12252 to the storage target computing device…communication sessions are bi-directional so that both end-point devices may have the ability to send and receive data (see, [1448], [4941]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rosen in view of Mensinger to use wherein the instrument backend provides at least one interface to enable bidirectional synchronous and/or asynchronous communication between the instrument backend and the measuring device as taught by Cella. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to apply the communication methodology of the industrial data collector devices as known in the art and as taught by Cella in a spectrometer devices of such as that of Rosen in view of Mensinger, thereby transmitting and receiving spectral data efficiently (Cella, [0340]).
20. Regarding claim 9, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 1, as disclosed above.
Rosen in view of Mensinger does not disclose:
wherein the instrument backend supports asymmetric encryption capabilities to identify the measuring device and encrypts communication between the instrument backend and the measuring device.
However, Cella discloses:
“ platform is provided having a self-organizing data marketplace for industrial loT data. Referring to Figure 1 1 , in embodiments, a platform is provided having a cognitive data marketplace 4102, referred to in some cases as a self-organizing data marketplace, for data collected by one or more data collection systems 102 or for data from other sensors or input sources 1 16 that are located in various data collection environments, such as industrial environments. In addition to data collection systems 102, this may include data collected, handled or exchanged by IoT devices, such as cameras, monitors, embedded sensors, mobile devices, diagnostic devices and systems, instrumentation systems, telematics systems, and the like, such as for monitoring various parameters… The storage writing protocol may account for or specify parameters and factors relating to writing, such as input speed, reliability, redundancy, security, and the like. A storage security plan 12586 or profile may account for or specify how storage will be secured, such as availability or type of password protection, authentication, permissioning, rights management, encryption (of the data, of the storage media, and/or of network traffic on the system)(see, [0447], [1463], [1552]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rosen in view of Mensinger to use wherein the instrument backend supports asymmetric encryption capabilities to identify the measuring device and encrypts communication between the instrument backend and the measuring device as taught by Cella. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to apply the encryption methodology of the industrial data collector devices as known in the art and as taught by Cella in a spectrometer devices of such as that of Rosen in view of Mensinger, thereby secure the measuring device (Cella, [0340]).
21. Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen, in view of Mensinger, in further view of Rego, in further view of Cella.
22. Regarding claim 15, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose in view of Rego disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 5, as disclosed above.
Rosen further discloses wherein the measurement data processing system has several measuring devices([0215], [0222]).
Rosen in view of Mensinger in view of Rego does not disclose:
one of which is a primary measuring device controlling at least one secondary measuring device.
However, Cella discloses:
“a self-organized swarm of industrial data collectors, including a self-organizing swarm of industrial data collectors that organize among themselves to optimize data collection based on the capabilities and conditions of the members of the swarm . Each member of the swami may be configured with intelligence, and the ability to coordinate with other members. For example, a member of the swarm may track information about what data other members are handling, so that data collection activities, data storage, data processing, and data publishing can be allocated intelligently across the swarm, taking into account conditions of the environment, capabilities of the members of the swarm, operating parameters, rules (such as from a rules engine that governs the operation of the swarm), and current conditions of the members. For example, among four collectors, one that has relatively low current power levels (such as a low battery), might be temporarily allocated the role of publishing data, because it may receive a dose of power from a reader or interrogation device (such as an RFID reader) when it needs to publish the data. A second collector with good power levels and robust processing capability might be assigned more complex functions, such as processing data, fusing data, organizing the rest of the sw'ami (including self-organization under machine learning, such that the swarm is optimized over time, including by adjusting operating parameters, rules, and the tike based on feedback), and the like. A third collector in the swarm with robust storage capabilities might be assigned the task of collecting and storing a category of data, such as vibration sensor data, that consumes considerable bandwidth. A fourth collector in the swarm, such as one with lower storage capabilities, might be assigned the role of collecting data that can usually be discarded, such as data on current diagnostic conditions, where only data on faults needs to be maintained and passed along. Members of a swarm may connect by peer-to-peer relationships by using a member as a“master” or“hub,” or by having them connect in a series or ring, where each member passes along data (including commands) to the next, and is aware of the nature of the capabilities and commands that are suitable for the preceding and/or next member (see, [0454], [0544]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rosen in view of Mensinger in view of Rego to use one of which is a primary measuring device controlling at least one secondary measuring device as taught by Cella. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to apply the controlling device methodology of the industrial data collector devices as known in the art and as taught by Cella in a spectrometer devices of such as that of Rosen in view of Mensinger in view of Rego, thereby controlling and coordinating a plurality of measuring devices (Cella, [0454]).
23. Regarding claim 16, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose in view of Rego disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 15, as disclosed above.
Rosen further discloses wherein the measuring device accesses and is accessible by the instrument backend ([0198], [0213], [0221]).
Rosen in view of Mensinger in view of Rego does not disclose:
wherein only the primary measuring device accesses and is accessible by the instrument backend.
However, Cella discloses:
“a self-organized swarm of industrial data collectors, including a self-organizing swarm of industrial data collectors that organize among themselves to optimize data collection based on the capabilities and conditions of the members of the swarm . Each member of the swami may be configured with intelligence, and the ability to coordinate with other members. For example, a member of the swarm may track information about what data other members are handling, so that data collection activities, data storage, data processing, and data publishing can be allocated intelligently across the swarm, taking into account conditions of the environment, capabilities of the members of the swarm, operating parameters, rules (such as from a rules engine that governs the operation of the swarm), and current conditions of the members. For example, among four collectors, one that has relatively low current power levels (such as a low battery), might be temporarily allocated the role of publishing data, because it may receive a dose of power from a reader or interrogation device (such as an RFID reader) when it needs to publish the data. A second collector with good power levels and robust processing capability might be assigned more complex functions, such as processing data, fusing data, organizing the rest of the sw'ami (including self-organization under machine learning, such that the swarm is optimized over time, including by adjusting operating parameters, rules, and the tike based on feedback), and the like. A third collector in the swarm with robust storage capabilities might be assigned the task of collecting and storing a category of data, such as vibration sensor data, that consumes considerable bandwidth. A fourth collector in the swarm, such as one with lower storage capabilities, might be assigned the role of collecting data that can usually be discarded, such as data on current diagnostic conditions, where only data on faults needs to be maintained and passed along. Members of a swarm may connect by peer-to-peer relationships by using a member as a“master” or“hub,” or by having them connect in a series or ring,… a PARA server 5750 may connect to and receive data from other PARA servers such as the PARA server 5730. With reference to Figure 24, the PARA server 5730 may provide data to a supervisory module 5752 on the PARA server 5750 that may be configured to provide at least one of processing, analysis, reporting, archiving, supervisory, and similar functionalities. The supervisory module 5752 may also contain extract, process align functionality and the like (see, [0454], [0530], [0544], [0547]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rosen in view of Mensinger in view of Rego to use wherein only the primary measuring device accesses and is accessible by the instrument backend as taught by Cella. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to apply the controlling device methodology of the industrial data collector devices as known in the art and as taught by Cella in a spectrometer devices of such as that of Rosen in view of Mensinger in view of Rego, thereby controlling and coordinating a plurality of measuring devices (Cella, [0454]).
24. Regarding claim 17, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose in view of Rego in view of Cella disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 16, as disclosed above.
Rosen further discloses wherein the instrument backend provides at least one interface to enable communication between the instrument backend and the measuring device (2) ([0213], Fig. 2).
Rosen in view of Mensinger in view of Rego does not disclose:
wherein the instrument backend provides at least one interface to enable bidirectional synchronous and/or asynchronous communication between the instrument backend and the measuring device.
However, Cella discloses:
“The example controller 12212 includes a transmission environment circuit 12226 that determines transmission conditions 12254 corresponding to the communication of the at least a portion of the number of sensor data values 12252 to the storage target computing device…communication sessions are bi-directional so that both end-point devices may have the ability to send and receive data (see, [1448], [4941]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rosen in view of Mensinger in view of Rego to use wherein the instrument backend provides at least one interface to enable bidirectional synchronous and/or asynchronous communication between the instrument backend and the measuring device as taught by Cella. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to apply the communication methodology of the industrial data collector devices as known in the art and as taught by Cella in a spectrometer devices of such as that of Rosen in view of Mensinger in view of Rego, thereby transmitting and receiving spectral data efficiently (Cella, [0340]).
25. Regarding claim 18, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose in view of Rego in view of Cella disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 17, as disclosed above.
Rosen in view of Mensinger in view of Rego does not disclose:
wherein the instrument backend supports asymmetric encryption capabilities to identify the measuring device and encrypts communication between the instrument backend and the measuring device.
However, Cella discloses:
“ platform is provided having a self-organizing data marketplace for industrial loT data. Referring to Figure 1 1 , in embodiments, a platform is provided having a cognitive data marketplace 4102, referred to in some cases as a self-organizing data marketplace, for data collected by one or more data collection systems 102 or for data from other sensors or input sources 116 that are located in various data collection environments, such as industrial environments. In addition to data collection systems 102, this may include data collected, handled or exchanged by IoT devices, such as cameras, monitors, embedded sensors, mobile devices, diagnostic devices and systems, instrumentation systems, telematics systems, and the like, such as for monitoring various parameters… The storage writing protocol may account for or specify parameters and factors relating to writing, such as input speed, reliability, redundancy, security, and the like. A storage security plan 12586 or profile may account for or specify how storage will be secured, such as availability or type of password protection, authentication, permissioning, rights management, encryption (of the data, of the storage media, and/or of network traffic on the system)(see, [0447], [1463], [1552]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rosen in view of Mensinger in view of Rego to use wherein the instrument backend supports asymmetric encryption capabilities to identify the measuring device and encrypts communication between the instrument backend and the measuring device as taught by Cella. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to apply the encryption methodology of the industrial data collector devices as known in the art and as taught by Cella in a spectrometer devices of such as that of Rosen in view of Mensinger in view of Rego, thereby secure the measuring device (Cella, [0340]).
26. Regarding claim 19, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose in view of Rego in view of Cella disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 18, as disclosed above.
Rosen further discloses wherein the instrument backend provides services based on protocols ([0089]-[0090], [0212]-[0215]).
6. Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen, in view of Mensinger, in further view of Beattie et al. US 20180167927 (hereinafter, Beattie).
25. Regarding claim 21, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 1, as disclosed above.
Rosen in view of Mensinger does not disclose:
wherein the instrument-backend communication protocol and the application-backend communication protocol are the same communication protocol.
However, Beattie discloses:
wherein the instrument-backend communication protocol and the application-backend communication protocol are the same communication protocol ([0064], [0208]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rosen in view of Mensinger to use wherein the instrument-backend communication protocol and the application-backend communication protocol are the same communication protocol as taught by Beattie. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to apply allocates communication resources efficiently (Beattie, [0138]).
25. Regarding claim 22, Rosen in view of Mensinger disclose the measurement data processing system according to claim 1, as disclosed above.
Rosen in view of Mensinger does not disclose:
wherein the instrument-backend communication protocol and the application-backend communication protocol are different communication protocols.
However, Beattie discloses:
wherein the instrument-backend communication protocol and the application-backend communication protocol are different communication protocols ([0064], [0208]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rosen in view of Mensinger to use wherein the instrument-backend communication protocol and the application-backend communication protocol are different communication protocols as taught by Beattie. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to apply allocates communication resources efficiently (Beattie, [0138]).
Conclusion
28. Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, and/or paragraphs, and/or pages in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/Eyob Hagos/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857