DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1, 2, 3-8, 10, 12-17, and 20-22, drawn to an assembly.
Group II, claim(s) 23, 24, and 27, drawn to a system.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because the groups do not share the same or corresponding technical feature, wherein the special technical feature of Group I is drawn to a homogenization accelerator, which is secured in a pocket bound by the cap and a seal on the lid that is not found in Group II.
During a telephone conversation with Peter Flynn on January 13th, 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group II, claims 23, 24, and 27. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 1, 2, 3-8, 10, 12-17, and 20-22 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
1) Sampler for collecting a sample…as in cl. 23
2) Detection device configured for measuring, operating, and measuring/visualizing as in cl. 23.
3) Measurement device capable of detecting and measuring weight, mass, or volume as in cl. 27
1) Food corer, hollow tube, or equivalents thereof as in pars.[0007] of Applicant’s pre-grant publication US 2024/0299940, original cl. 22.
2) An optical detector as in at least one photodiode and a detection sensor, as in pars. [0142,0148,0174], and equivalents thereof. *further clarification is required.
3) A scale or sensor for measuring weight, mass or volume within the and equivalents thereof as in par.[0214].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23, 24, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the detection test". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The recitation itself is drawn to a process recitation wherein the claims are drawn to a device and there is no prior discussion of such a “detection test” to clearly provide the functionality of the detection device therewith.
Further, Applicant’s specification at par.[0210] discloses that the detection device may comprise a motor for rotating the rotor of the homogenizer, however, it is noted that these elements are not a part of independent claim 23.
Clarification is required as this pertains to the above-discussed claim interpretation section with respect to the metes and bounds of the structure(s) afforded to the detection device for its recited functionalities.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Gilboa-Geffen et al. (WO 2019/165014), hereafter Gilboa-Geffen
With regard to claim 23, Gilboa-Geffen discloses a system for detecting as claimed, comprising a sampler for collecting a sample as claimed (par.[0021] a food corer including a hollow tube with a cutting edge), a disposable analytical cartridge configured for processing the sample as claimed (pars.[0021,0030,0047], and a detection device 100 configured for measuring the sample, operating the detection test (as best understood herein; see above rejection under 35 USC 112 b/2nd), and measuring and visualizing a signal as claimed (pars.[0040,0045,0097,0098], fig 1, for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilboa-Geffen in view of Kayyem et al. (US 2015/0323555), hereafter Kayyem.
Gilboa-Geffen has been discussed above.
Further, with regard to claim 24, Gilboa-Geffen discloses that the disposable analytical cartridge comprises a lid 103 (par.[0098] and a movable cap (pars.[0106,0167,0225], fig. 5G), a filter system configured as claimed (filter for filtering off larger particles; par.[0108], cl. 6), a separate transparent substrate comprising a plurality of fluidic channels and a detection area with the detection agent immobilized thereon (pars.[0013,0184]), a detection chamber with an optical window (pars.[0009,0012,0013]), waste chamber for accepting and storing outflow contents as claimed (par.[0011]), a rotary valve system and conduits configured as claimed (pars.[0012,0022]), and an air flow system configured to regulate air as claimed (pars.[0022], cl. 22).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilboa-Geffen in view of Kantrowitz et al. (US 2007/0014693), hereafter Kantrowitz.
Gilbert-Geffen has been discussed above.
With regard to claim 27, Gilbert-Geffen does not specifically the cover comprises a measurement device capable of detecting and measuring the weight, mass, or volume of the sample as claimed.
With regard to claim 27, Gilbert-Geffen discloses the detection device comprises a frame attachable to the housing, a base attached to the frame and a cover connected to the frame (see fig. 1 wherein the detection device is fully enclosed by wall connected wall portions constituting said frame, base and cover as claimed).
Kantrowitz discloses a modular hospital cart wherein the specimen sensor is adapted to measure the quantity of a specimen in a specimen container and the specimen sensor is a weight sensor adapted to sense the weight of the sample container and to transmit the weight sensor signal to the processing and memory circuitry in order to determine if the sensed weight is sufficient to comply with the specimen for its analysis (par.[0039], figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gilboa-Geffen to provide a measurement device adjacent to the detection device adapted for measuring the weight, mass, or volume of the sample (and wherein it is noted that the recitation “…when the sample is placed…” is drawn to a conditional process recitation not afforded patentable weight in a device claim) such as taught by the analogous prior art of Kantrowitz to a biological sample collection and analysis system wherein an adjacent measurement device for measuring weight, mass, or volume provides the ability to ascertain if the received sample is sufficient in order to carry out a proper analysis thereof.
Conclusion
/NEIL N TURK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798