DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 (Chinese Application 201100265303 filed January 1st, 2021).
Response to Arguments
Applicant amended claims 17 – 18, 20 – 21, 23 – 27, and 30 – 36 beyond Formalities and 112(b) Rejections.
Applicant canceled claim 29.
Applicant amended claim 24 to incorporate all features of previous dependent claim 29.
The pending claims are 17 – 28 and 30 – 36 [Page 11 lines 1 – 4].
Applicant's arguments filed March 11th, 2026 [Page 11 lines 5 – 11] have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant contends “No” and “Yes” are not reference characters [Page 11 lines 5 – 7], however, the Examiner disagrees as the rules do not limit reference characters to solely numeric labels.
Second, Applicant contends the Objections [Page 11 lines 8 – 11], however, the Examiner notes the Objections are clear as they refer to the sub characters not explained in the Specification but illustrated in the Drawings.
While the Applicant’s points may be understood, the Examiner respectfully disagrees; thus the Objections may be maintained.
Applicant amended the Specification to address some of Examiner’s Specification Objections [Page 11 lines 12 – 16]. The Examiner amends the Objections in view of the amended claims.
Applicant amended the claims to address Examiner’s Claim Objections [Page 11 lines 17 – 18].
Applicant amended the claims to address Examiner’s 112(b) Rejections [Page 11 line 19 – Page 12 line 12]. The Examiner amends the 112(b) Rejections in view of the amended claims.
Applicant does not comment on Examiner’s Functional Analysis. Thus in view of the apparent agreement due to silence by the Applicant, the Examiner removes the section in the interest of brevity.
Note: The Examiner restarts number the points in addressing arguments regarding the Examiner’s 103 Rejection. The Points will be numbered continuously across the 103 arguments made.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
First, the Applicant recites the references against the claims [Page 12 lines 13 – 14].
Second, the Applicant contends the references do not render obvious the “number of frames” feature claimed [Page 12 lines 15 – 20]. However, there is no different processing claimed based on a number of images, rather the claims merely require the scene imaged was done using a plurality of frames. Additionally, the claims are a per frame processing with no additional considerations as argued.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., cloud based processing is based on a number of images but there is no distinctions in cloud based processing claimed regarding different numbers of frames / images to process) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
While the Applicant’s points may be understood to which the Examiner respectfully disagrees; the Examiner in the sole interest to expedite prosecution cites an additional reference against the amended claims as new features are cited.
Applicant's arguments filed March 11th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Third, the Applicant contends the features are not possible on a terminal device without any evidence [Page 12 line 22 – Page 13 line 2]. However, given the plethora of devices listed in Choi Paragraphs 47 – 50 at least, the argument is unpersuasive as the prior art is presumed enabled [MPEP716.07 as the Examiner observes Choi was later Patented and thus presumed enabled].
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
While the Applicant’s points may be understood, the Examiner respectfully disagrees and thus maintains the Rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on November 20th, 2023 and September 23rd, 2024 were filed after the mailing date of the First Action on the Merits (December 16th, 2025). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “No” and “Yes” [Figure 14 .
The drawings are objected to because:
In Figure 3, reference character 394 does not describe the multiple / plurality (e.g. “1 to N” similar to the cameras) as described in Specification Paragraph 102.
In Paragraph 88, there is no corresponding description of reference character “393” regarding the “1 to N” camera shown in the drawings.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
b) In Paragraph 4 and throughout, the acronym “HDR” is not defined on first use for clarity.
In Paragraph 76 and throughout, the acronym “YUV” is not defined on first use for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20 – 21, 25 – 27, and 29 – 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 34, the claim recites “when the processor is configured to execute …” the conditional statement has Indefinite metes and bounds as to what steps are covered when the condition is not met and to the Patentable weight to afford the one-sided condition.
Regarding claim 36, the dependent claims do not cure the deficiency of claim 34 from which it depends and thus are similarly Rejected.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 30, the claim contains a “fusing” and “converting” limitation with different processing than those in amended claim 24, however, the dependency or sequence of steps to take in performing both fusions is unclear and thus the claim appears to improperly limit claim 24 from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 – 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, et al. (US PG PUB 2020/0252555 A1 referred to as “Choi” throughout) [Cited in Applicant’s September 23rd, 2024 IDS], and further in view of Chang, et al. (US PG PUB 2017/0118475 A1 referred to as “Chang” throughout).
Regarding claim 24, Choi teaches a system for capturing of images and transmits captured images to a server for additional processing to be transmitting back to the original device / terminal using the original / raw format and other formats for transmission. Chang teaches various algorithms / image processing techniques performed in the cloud to supplement the teachings of Choi and additional obviousness considerations regarding formats for the images in processing and for transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the cloud processing capabilities of Chang. The combination teaches
receiving, by a cloud, an encoded bitstream of a RAW image corresponding to a current photographing scene from a terminal device [Choi Figures 1 – 5, 11 – 12, 19 – 21, and 25 – 26 (see at least reference characters 102, 104, 108, 521, 1120 (including 1121 and 1124), 2020, and 2021 where the decoder in the cloud receives encoded bitstreams of RAW image data) as well as Paragraphs 47 – 50 (various terminal devices), 96 – 102, 108 – 110 (receiving in a cloud encoded raw image data), 114 – 118, and 216 – 220 (receiving image data and processing with various techniques)] based at least on the RAW image comprising a plurality of frames [Chang Figures 26 – 28 as well as Paragraphs 98 – 102 (image capture is of a plurality of frames to process)];
decoding, by the cloud, the encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene, to obtain a reconstructed RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene [Choi Figures 11 – 12, 21, and 26 – 29 (see the various decoders in the cloud receiving the encoded image bitstream to combine with the decoding details of Chang Figures 11 – 12 and 20 (subfigures included)) as well as Paragraphs 126 – 133 (decoding the encoded image from the device), 145 – 149, 158 – 160 (similar in decoded encoded raw image data) and 204 – 210]; and
processing, by the cloud, the reconstructed RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene, to generate an image in a first format corresponding to the current photographing scene, and sending the image in the first format to the terminal device [Choi Figures 11 – 12, 21, and 26 – 29 (see the cloud and ISP within the cloud such as in reference characters 530, 2230, 2130, 2623, and 2531) as well as Paragraphs 92 – 97 (images to cloud / server for processing in a compressed format with various compression formats listed combinable with the ISP of Chang Paragraphs 69 – 75 (Figures 3 – 4 including various modules in addition to compression techniques)), 98 – 103 (receiving from the cloud processed image after ISP modules are performed), and 220 – 224 (using a codec for transmission of image from cloud back to device rendering obvious the “first format” claimed such that the codec used in the cloud is compatible with the sending device to the cloud to one of ordinary skill in the art)],
and the processing further comprising:
fusing, by the cloud in a RAW domain, the plurality of frames of the reconstructed RAW image into one frame of the reconstructed RAW image [Choi Figures 19 – 22 and 26 (see at least reference characters 2116, 2220, 2230, 2622, 2624, and 2633) as well as Paragraphs 80 – 82 and 195 – 201 (image synthesis renders obvious the claimed “fusion” to one of ordinary skill in the art – combinable with Claim 24 / 31 teaching of ISP in the cloud by Chang Figures 19 – 21, 25 – 26, and 29 (see also Paragraphs 97 – 99)), 211, and 216 – 220 (raw image synthesized from composite raw images)];
converting, by the cloud, the fused one frame of the reconstructed RAW image from the RAW domain to a YUV domain, to obtain a YUV image corresponding to the one frame of the reconstructed RAW image [See previous limitation and additionally Chang Figures 3 – 4, 11 – 16 (see the flow charts on processing YUV color space images) as well as Paragraphs 75 – 82 (color scaling / YUV adjustments in images then encoded as the correspond to raw images to combine with Paragraphs 102 – 106 (various correspondences with color scaling / conversion)]; and
encoding, by the cloud, the YUV image corresponding to the one frame of the reconstructed RAW image into the first format, to obtain the image in the first format corresponding to the current photographing scene [Choi Figures 27 – 29 (see at least reference character 2705) as well as Paragraphs 221 – 224 (encoder in the cloud for image transition to send back results from the cloud – combine with Chang); Chang Figures 3 – 4, 11 – 16 (see the flow charts on processing YUV color space images) as well as Paragraphs 75 – 82 (color scaling / YUV adjustments in images then encoded as the correspond to raw images to combine with Paragraphs 102 – 106 (various correspondences with color scaling / conversion)].
The motivation to combine Chang with Choi is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of cloud serve image processing / networked image processing [Chang Paragraphs 2 – 4 and 96 – 98] in order to improve device processing time capturing the images using the cloud / server based approaches with greater computing processing capabilities [Chang Paragraphs 6 – 7 and 96 – 98 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
This is the motivation to combine Choi and Chang which will be used throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 25, Choi teaches a system for capturing of images and transmits captured images to a server for additional processing to be transmitting back to the original device / terminal using the original / raw format and other formats for transmission. Chang teaches various algorithms / image processing techniques performed in the cloud to supplement the teachings of Choi and additional obviousness considerations regarding formats for the images in processing and for transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the cloud processing capabilities of Chang. The combination teaches
wherein the decoding, by the cloud, the encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene, to obtain a reconstructed RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene [See claim 24 for citations] comprises:
performing, by the cloud, entropy decoding on the encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene, to obtain quantized compressed data of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene [Choi Figures 19 – 21 (see at least reference character 1943) as well as Paragraphs 60 – 61 (feature detection compression in image encoding / decoding processes), 66, 84 – 87 (feature detection / matching in encoding / decoding processes), 190 – 193; Chang Figures 3 – 4, 11 – 12, and 19 – 21 (subfigures included and see at least reference character 361, 352, and 350) as well as Paragraphs 59 – 66 (entropy decoding the bitstream in decoding for inverse quantization as also taught in Choi Paragraph 193 (see at least reference character 2024)) and 84 – 87];
dequantizing, by the cloud, the quantized compressed data of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene, to obtain compressed data of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene [See previous limitation regarding “compressed data” and “quantized” citations and additionally Chang Figures 3 – 4, 11 – 12, and 19 – 21 (see at least reference characters 361 and 352 as well as the inverse loop in encoders) as well as Paragraphs 59 – 62 (inverse quantization of the entropy decoded bitstream where “dequantizing” and “inverse quantization” are obvious variants to one of ordinary skill in the art as also taught in Choi Paragraph 193 (see at least reference character 2024))]; and
decompressing, by the cloud, the compressed data of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene, to obtain the reconstructed RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene [See previous two limitations regarding “compressed data” and “quantized” citations and additionally Chang Figures 3 – 4, 11 – 12, and 19 – 21 (see at least reference characters 361 and 352 as well as the inverse loop in encoders) as well as Paragraphs 59 – 62 (inverse transformation of the entropy decoded bitstream where “decompress” and “inverse transform” are obvious variants to one of ordinary skill in the art as also taught in Choi Paragraph 193 (see at least reference character 2024))].
See claim 24 for the motivation to combine Choi and Chang.
Regarding claim 26, Choi teaches a system for capturing of images and transmits captured images to a server for additional processing to be transmitting back to the original device / terminal using the original / raw format and other formats for transmission. Chang teaches various algorithms / image processing techniques performed in the cloud to supplement the teachings of Choi and additional obviousness considerations regarding formats for the images in processing and for transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the cloud processing capabilities of Chang. The combination teaches
wherein the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene comprises a plurality of frames [Chang Figures 26 – 28 as well as Paragraphs 98 – 102 (image capture is of a plurality of frames to process)], and the decompressing, by the cloud, the compressed data of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene, to obtain the reconstructed RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene [See claim 25 last limitation for citations] comprises:
decompressing, by the cloud, compressed data of the plurality of frames of the RAW image, to obtain a reconstructed RAW image corresponding to a reference frame and a residual image corresponding to another frame in the plurality of frames of the RAW image [See claim 25 last limitation for citations and additionally Chang Figures 3 – 4 as well as Paragraphs 62 – 69 (inter prediction techniques where the reference image / area may be different and uses various inter prediction techniques based on the correspondence including objects / features in Paragraphs 71 – 75 or 85 – 90)];
determining, by the cloud, inter-frame correlation between the plurality of frames of the RAW image based on a type of the current photographing scene [Chang Figures 3 – 4, 11 – 12, and 19 – 21 (subfigures included see at least reference characters 322, 324, 420 1210, 120, 2020, and 2040) as well as Paragraphs 62 – 69 (block / feature correlation to be used for inter prediction further described in Paragraphs 71 – 75) and 85 – 90 (inter prediction based on features / projections of features between images)]; and
reconstructing, by the cloud, the plurality of frames of the RAW image based on the reconstructed RAW image corresponding to the reference frame, the residual image corresponding to the another frame, and the inter-frame correlation between the plurality of frames of the RAW image, to obtain a plurality of frames of the reconstructed RAW image that are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of frames of the RAW image [Chang Figures 3 – 4, 9, 11 – 12, and 19 – 21 (subfigures included and see at least reference character 342 for the “reconstructing” claimed (summing junction), 321, 410, and 430 (prediction to add to the residual) as well as Paragraphs 62 – 69 (block / feature correlation rendering obvious the “one to one” feature claimed and to be used for inter prediction further described in Paragraphs 71 – 75 (the mapping / remapping further renders obvious the one to one feature claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art) and 85 – 90 (inter prediction based on features / projections of features between images)].
See claim 24 for the motivation to combine Choi and Chang.
Regarding claim 27, Choi teaches a system for capturing of images and transmits captured images to a server for additional processing to be transmitting back to the original device / terminal using the original / raw format and other formats for transmission. Chang teaches various algorithms / image processing techniques performed in the cloud to supplement the teachings of Choi and additional obviousness considerations regarding formats for the images in processing and for transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the cloud processing capabilities of Chang. The combination teaches
wherein an encoded bitstream of the plurality of frames of the RAW image further comprises metadata information of the plurality of frames of the RAW image [See claim 24 for citations of “an encoded bitstream” and additionally Chang Figures 26 – 28 as well as Paragraphs 98 – 102 (image capture is of a plurality of frames to process)]; and
before the determining, by the cloud, inter-frame correlation between the plurality of frames of the RAW image based on the type of the current photographing scene [Chang Figures 3 – 4, 11 – 12, and 19 – 21 (subfigures included see at least reference characters 321, 410, and 430) as well as Paragraphs 63 – 66 (block / feature correlation to be used for inter prediction further described in Paragraphs 71 – 75 where the process is used in encoding / decoding) and 85 – 90 (inter prediction based on features / projections of features between images combinable with the process in decoders)], the method further comprises:
determining, by the cloud, the type of the current photographing scene based on the metadata information of the plurality of frames of the RAW image [Choi Figures 11 – 13 (see at least reference character 1311) as well as Paragraphs 87 (metadata in raw image) and 165 – 169 (scene information in the metadata); Chang Figures 25 – 28 as well as Paragraphs 92 – 97 and 98 – 103 (plurality of frames with metadata to help display / transmit images with format information or scene / environment information)].
See claim 24 for the motivation to combine Choi and Chang.
Regarding claim 30, Choi teaches a system for capturing of images and transmits captured images to a server for additional processing to be transmitting back to the original device / terminal using the original / raw format and other formats for transmission. Chang teaches various algorithms / image processing techniques performed in the cloud to supplement the teachings of Choi and additional obviousness considerations regarding formats for the images in processing and for transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the cloud processing capabilities of Chang. The combination teaches
wherein the reconstructed RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene comprises a plurality of frames [See claim 26 last limitation (“reconstructing”) for citations], and the processing, by the cloud, the reconstructed RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene, to generate an image in a first format corresponding to the current photographing scene [Choi Figures 11 – 12, 21, and 26 – 29 as well as Paragraphs 92 – 96 (sending image to cloud / server for processing in a compressed format with various compression formats listed), 98 – 103 (receiving from the cloud processed image), and 222 – 224 (using a codec for transmission of image from cloud back to device rendering obvious the “first format” claimed such that the codec used in the cloud is compatible with the sending device to the cloud to one of ordinary skill in the art); Chang Figures 20 (subfigures included) and 25 – 28 as well as Paragraphs 67 – 70 (picture formats used for compression), 85 – 89 (formatting / compressing data into a format), 92 – 93 (video compression formats used), 96 – 99 (receiving compressed data in a cloud / external device in formats to process (combinable with Choi and Chang Paragraphs 67 – 70 at least))] comprises:
converting, by the cloud, the plurality of frames of the reconstructed RAW image from a RAW domain to a YUV domain, to obtain a plurality of frames of YUV images that are in a one- to-one correspondence with the plurality of frames of the reconstructed RAW image [See previous limitation and additionally Chang Figures 3 – 4, 11 – 16 (see the flow charts on processing YUV color space images) as well as Paragraphs 75 – 82 (color scaling / YUV adjustments in images then encoded as the correspond to raw images to combine with Paragraphs 102 – 106 (various correspondences with color scaling / conversion)];
fusing, by the cloud in the YUV domain, the plurality of frames of YUV images that are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of frames of the reconstructed RAW image into one frame of YUV image [See previous citation for “YUV” domain and regarding “fusing” see Choi Figures 19 – 22 and 26 (see at least reference characters 2116, 2220, 2230, 2622, 2624, and 2633) as well as Paragraphs 80 – 82 and 195 – 201 (image synthesis renders obvious the claimed “fusion” to one of ordinary skill in the art – combinable with Claim 24 / 31 teaching of ISP in the cloud by Chang Figures 19 – 21, 25 – 26, and 29 (see also Paragraphs 97 – 99)), 211, and 216 – 220 (image synthesized (see Chang above and Paragraph 165 (color space)) from composite raw images)]; and
encoding, by the cloud, the fused one frame of YUV image into the first format, to obtain the image in the first format corresponding to the current photographing scene [Choi Figures 27 – 29 (see at least reference character 2705) as well as Paragraphs 221 – 224 (encoder in the cloud for image transition to send back results from the cloud – combine with Chang); Chang Figures 3 – 4, 11 – 16 (see the flow charts on processing YUV color space images) as well as Paragraphs 75 – 82 (color scaling / YUV adjustments in images then encoded as the correspond to raw images to combine with Paragraphs 102 – 106 (various correspondences with color scaling / conversion)].
See claim 24 for the motivation to combine Choi and Chang.
Claim(s) 17 – 22 and 31 – 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Chang, and further in view of Sartor, et al. (US Patent #9,693,010 B2 referred to as “Sartor” throughout).
Regarding claim 17, see claim 31 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 32 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 33 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 20, see claim 34 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 21, see claim 35 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 22, see claim 36 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 31, Choi teaches a system for capturing of images and transmits captured images to a server for additional processing to be transmitting back to the original device / terminal using the original / raw format and other formats for transmission. Chang teaches various algorithms / image processing techniques performed in the cloud to supplement the teachings of Choi and additional obviousness considerations regarding formats for the images in processing and for transmission. Sartor teaches converting media to viewable formats rendering obvious selecting transcoding formats.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the cloud processing capabilities of Chang using the suggested viewable formats as taught by Sartor. The combination teaches
a processor and a memory that is configured to store executable instructions of the processor [Choi Figure 1 (see at least reference characters 101, 120, and 130) as well as Paragraphs 216 – 219 and 228], wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions [Choi Figures 1 and 3 (see at least reference characters 101, 120, 130, and 160) as well as Paragraphs 59 – 63 (programs stored on memory for a processor to execute), 99 – 100, and 224 – 229 (software to perform routines executed by processors)], to cause the electronic device to be configured to:
capture a RAW image corresponding to a current photographing scene in response to a photographing operation of a user [Choi Figures 1, 3, and 4 (see at least reference characters 180 and 401), 26 – 27 as well as Paragraphs 2, 56 (user operating a device), 63 – 69 (user using the camera), 222 – 226 (user interface with electronic device with a camera for the user to take pictures)], the RAW image comprising a plurality of frames [Chang Figures 26 – 28 as well as Paragraphs 98 – 102 (image capture is of a plurality of frames to process)];
based at least on the RAW image comprising a plurality of frames [Choi Paragraphs 104 – 111 (multiple techniques for multiple images / different compression ratees at least); Chang Figures 26 – 28 as well as Paragraphs 58 – 59 (multiple frames for the image affecting bandwidth / compression of images captured for stitching / assembling into a 360 degree image / video) and 98 – 102 (image capture is of a plurality of frames to process)];
encode the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene to obtain an encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene [Choi Figures 1 – 4 (see at least reference character 265), 11 – 12, 21, and 26 – 27 (see the bitstream generated from the encoders to use for external / cloud based processing) as well as Paragraphs 92 – 96 (encoding the raw input image for cloud / server based processing including various formats for the compressed encoded image)], and send the encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene to a cloud [Choi Figures 1 – 4 (see at least reference character 265), 11 – 12, 21 (see at least reference character 2120), and 26 – 27 (see the bitstream generated from the encoders to use for external / cloud based processing such as in Figure 26) as well as Paragraphs 92 – 96 (encoding the raw input image for transmission to a cloud / server based and sending to the servers / cloud) and 195 – 200 (cloud / server processing of encoded / compressed image with operable formats in Paragraph 222 – 224)]; and
receive an image in a first format from the cloud [See previous limitation and additionally Chang Figures 20 (subfigures included) and 25 – 28 as well as Paragraphs 67 – 70 (picture formats used for compression), 85 – 89 (formatting / compressing data into a format), 92 – 93 (video compression formats used), 96 – 99 (receiving compressed data in a cloud / external device in formats to process (combinable with Choi and Chang Paragraphs 67 – 70 at least))], wherein the image in the first format is generated by the cloud based on the encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene [See previous limitation and additionally Choi Figures 11 – 12, 21, and 26 – 29 as well as Paragraphs 92 – 96 (sending image to cloud / server for processing in a compressed format with various compression formats listed), 98 – 103 (receiving from the cloud processed image), and 222 – 224 (using a codec for transmission of image from cloud back to device rendering obvious the “first format” claimed such that the codec used in the cloud is compatible with the sending device to the cloud to one of ordinary skill in the art)], wherein the first format is a viewable file format [See previous limitation for format citations where Sartor Column 1 lines 16 – 33 and Column 3 lines 1 – 14 render obvious using a viewable format for display / to convert image data to].
See claim 24 for the motivation to combine Choi and Chang as claim 24 is the decoder / format to transmit back to the original / terminal / electronic device from the cloud that was encoded in claim 31 thus similar motivation exists.
The motivation to combine Sartor with Chang and Choi is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of cloud services for image processing / digitally process picture [Sartor Column 1 lines 7 – 12] in order to improve algorithms used to process digital images / pictures and easing upgrades available to imaging devices [Sartor Column 5 line 63 – Column 6 line 45 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
This is the motivation to combine Choi, Chang, and Sartor which will be used throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 32, Choi teaches a system for capturing of images and transmits captured images to a server for additional processing to be transmitting back to the original device / terminal using the original / raw format and other formats for transmission. Chang teaches various algorithms / image processing techniques performed in the cloud to supplement the teachings of Choi and additional obviousness considerations regarding formats for the images in processing and for transmission. Sartor teaches converting media to viewable formats rendering obvious selecting transcoding formats.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the cloud processing capabilities of Chang using the suggested viewable formats as taught by Sartor. The combination teaches
wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions [See claim 31 for citations of the claimed “processor”], to cause the electronic device to be configured to:
encode the plurality of frames of the RAW image to obtain an encoded bitstream of the plurality of frames of the RAW image [Choi Figures 1 – 4 (see at least reference character 265), 11 – 12, 21, and 26 – 27 (see the bitstream generated from the encoders to use for external / cloud based processing) as well as Paragraphs 92 – 96 (encoding the raw input image for cloud / server based processing including various formats for the compressed encoded image); Chang Figure 20 (subfigures included), and 25 – 29 (see at least reference characters 2920 and 2930) as well as Paragraphs 92 – 98 (encoding frames for cloud transmission in combination with Paragraphs 98 – 102 for the plurality of frames)], and
send the encoded bitstream of the plurality of frames of the RAW image to the cloud [Choi Figures 1 – 4 (see at least reference character 265), 11 – 12, 21 (see at least reference character 2120), and 26 – 27 (see the bitstream generated from the encoders to use for external / cloud based processing such as in Figure 26) as well as Paragraphs 92 – 96 (encoding the raw input image for transmission to a cloud / server based and sending to the servers / cloud) and 195 – 200 (cloud / server processing of encoded / compressed image with operable formats in Paragraph 222 – 224); Chang Figure 20 (subfigures included), and 25 – 29 (see at least reference characters 2920 and 2930) as well as Paragraphs 92 – 98 (encoding frames for cloud transmission in combination with Paragraphs 98 – 102 for the plurality of frames)].
See claim 31 for the motivation to combine Choi, Chang, and Sartor.
Regarding claim 33, Choi teaches a system for capturing of images and transmits captured images to a server for additional processing to be transmitting back to the original device / terminal using the original / raw format and other formats for transmission. Chang teaches various algorithms / image processing techniques performed in the cloud to supplement the teachings of Choi and additional obviousness considerations regarding formats for the images in processing and for transmission. Sartor teaches converting media to viewable formats rendering obvious selecting transcoding formats.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the cloud processing capabilities of Chang using the suggested viewable formats as taught by Sartor. The combination teaches
the processor is configured to execute the instructions [See claim 31 for citations of the claimed “processor”], to cause the electronic device to be configured to:
determine, in response to a first selection operation of the user, that a RAW image captured during photographing needs to be uploaded to the cloud for processing [Choi Figures 11 – 12, 20, 25 – 27 as well as Paragraphs 80 (user input – combinable with Chang), 92 – 96, and 222 – 225 (user input to store information / upload to a cloud service or server); Chang Figures 25 – 29 as well as Paragraphs 95 – 99 (user input of an operation (e.g. those in Paragraphs 101 – 102) requiring uploading to a cloud for additional processing)].
See claim 31 for the motivation to combine Choi, Chang, and Sartor.
Regarding claim 34, Choi teaches a system for capturing of images and transmits captured images to a server for additional processing to be transmitting back to the original device / terminal using the original / raw format and other formats for transmission. Chang teaches various algorithms / image processing techniques performed in the cloud to supplement the teachings of Choi and additional obviousness considerations regarding formats for the images in processing and for transmission. Sartor teaches converting media to viewable formats rendering obvious selecting transcoding formats.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the cloud processing capabilities of Chang using the suggested viewable formats as taught by Sartor. The combination teaches
when the processor is configured to execute the instructions [See claim 31 for citations of the claimed “processor”], to cause the electronic device to be configured to:
compress, the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene [See claim 31 “encode” for Choi citations to combine with next limitation and additionally Choi Figures 19 – 21 as well as Paragraphs 188 – 199 (features / objects encoded / decoded)], to obtain compressed data of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene [Choi Figures 19 – 21 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 60 – 61 (feature detection compression in image encoding / decoding processes), 66, and 84 – 87 (feature detection / matching in encoding / decoding processes)];
quantize, the compressed data of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene [Choi Figures 19 – 21 (see at least reference character 1943) as well as Paragraphs 190 – 193; Chang Figures 3 and 19 – 21 (subfigures included and see at least reference character 350) as well as Paragraphs 60 – 66 (encoding / decoding images with features matched) and 84 – 87]; and
perform, entropy encoding on a quantized compressed data of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene, to obtain the encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene [Choi Figures 19 – 21 (see at least reference character 1944) as well as Paragraphs 190 – 193 (entropy coding quantized data); Chang Figures 3 and 19 – 21 (subfigures included and see at least reference character 360 and 361) as well as Paragraphs 60 – 66 (encoding / decoding images with features matched) and 84 – 87].
See claim 31 for the motivation to combine Choi, Chang, and Sartor.
Regarding claim 35, Choi teaches a system for capturing of images and transmits captured images to a server for additional processing to be transmitting back to the original device / terminal using the original / raw format and other formats for transmission. Chang teaches various algorithms / image processing techniques performed in the cloud to supplement the teachings of Choi and additional obviousness considerations regarding formats for the images in processing and for transmission. Sartor teaches converting media to viewable formats rendering obvious selecting transcoding formats.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the cloud processing capabilities of Chang using the suggested viewable formats as taught by Sartor. The combination teaches
the processor is configured to execute the instructions [See claim 31 for citations of the claimed “processor”], to cause the electronic device to be configured to:
determine, an inter-frame correlation between the plurality of frames of the RAW image based on a type of the current photographing scene [Chang Figures 3 – 4, 11 – 12, and 19 – 21 (subfigures included see at least reference characters 322, 324, 420 1210, 120, 2020, and 2040) as well as Paragraphs 63 – 66 (block / feature correlation to be used for inter prediction further described in Paragraphs 71 – 75) and 85 – 90 (inter prediction based on features / projections of features between images)];
select, one frame from the plurality of frames of the RAW image as a reference frame [Chang Figures 3 – 5 (subfigures included and see at least reference character 522) as well as Paragraphs 60 – 66 (reference pictures / frames with features for block inter prediction techniques)], and predicting, based on the reference frame and the inter-frame correlation between the plurality of frames of the RAW image, another frame other than the reference frame in the plurality of frames of the RAW image [Chang Figures 3 – 4, 11 – 12, and 19 – 21 (subfigures included see at least reference characters 322, 324, 420 1210, 120, 2020, and 2040) as well as Paragraphs 63 – 66 (block / feature correlation to be used for inter prediction further described in Paragraphs 71 – 75) and 85 – 90 (inter prediction based on features / projections of features between images)], to obtain a residual image corresponding to the another frame [Chang Figures 3 – 5, 7 – 9, 11 – 12, and 19 – 21 (subfigures included – see outputs from subtractors / adders (e.g. reference character 340) as input to the transforms in a coding loop) as well as Paragraphs 60 and 66 – 69 (residuals from predicted and raw data)]; and
compress, the residual image corresponding to the another frame other than the reference frame in the plurality of frames of the RAW image and the reference frame, to obtain compressed data of the plurality of frames of the RAW image [Chang Figures 3 – 5, 7 – 9, 11 – 12, and 19 – 21 (subfigures included – see transform step (e.g. reference character 350) and entropy coding blocks (e.g. reference character 360)) as well as Paragraphs 60 – 69 (residuals from predicted and raw data that are transformed and entropy coded), 74 – 79, and 85 – 90 (entropy coding residuals that have been transformed)].
See claim 31 for the motivation to combine Choi, Chang, and Sartor.
Regarding claim 36, Choi teaches a system for capturing of images and transmits captured images to a server for additional processing to be transmitting back to the original device / terminal using the original / raw format and other formats for transmission. Chang teaches various algorithms / image processing techniques performed in the cloud to supplement the teachings of Choi and additional obviousness considerations regarding formats for the images in processing and for transmission. Sartor teaches converting media to viewable formats rendering obvious selecting transcoding formats.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the cloud processing capabilities of Chang using the suggested viewable formats as taught by Sartor. The combination teaches
when the processor is configured to execute the instructions [See claim 31 for citations of the claimed “processor”], to cause the electronic device to be configured to:
determine, by the terminal device, the type of the current photographing scene based on metadata information of the plurality of frames [Chang Figures 26 – 28 as well as Paragraphs 98 – 102 (image capture is of a plurality of frames to process)] of the RAW image [Choi Figures 11 – 13 (see at least reference character 1311) as well as Paragraphs 87 (metadata in raw image) and 165 – 169 (scene information in the metadata); Chang Figures 25 – 27 as well as Paragraphs 92 – 97 and 101 – 103 (metadata to help display / transmit images with format information or scene / environment information)].
See claim 31 for the motivation to combine Choi, Chang, and Sartor.
Claim(s) 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, Chang, and Sartor as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Ko, et al. (KR2016-0132366 A referred to as “Ko” throughout) and Li, et al. (WO2021/055222 A1 referred to as “Li” throughout).
Regarding claim 23, Choi teaches a system for capturing of images and transmits captured images to a server for additional processing to be transmitting back to the original device / terminal using the original / raw format and other formats for transmission. Chang teaches various algorithms / image processing techniques performed in the cloud to supplement the teachings of Choi and additional obviousness considerations regarding formats for the images in processing and for transmission. Sartor teaches converting media to viewable formats rendering obvious selecting transcoding formats. Ko teaches packetizing data that has been encoded for transmission. Li teaches the use of error code corrections in packetized data for transmission. The combination teaches
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the cloud processing capabilities of Chang using the suggested viewable formats as taught by Sartor; and the packetizing capabilities of Ko; and use of error correction codes as taught by Li. The combination teaches
wherein the encoding, by the terminal device [Choi Figures 3 – 4 and 25 – 27 (see at least reference character 180)], the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene to obtain an encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene [See claims 31 and 34 at least for citations] comprises:
performing, by the terminal device, channel coding on the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene in a distributed source coding manner [Chang Figures 32 – 33 as well as Paragraph 103 (YUV and RGB representation of the image data to process with scene / environment information) using distributed techniques taught by Choi Paragraphs 76, 86 – 88 (distributed processing of images), and 173 – 175], to obtain the encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene [Chang Figures 3 – 5, 7 – 9, 11 – 12, and 19 – 21 (subfigures included – see transform step (e.g. reference character 350) and entropy coding blocks (e.g. reference character 360)) as well as Paragraphs 60 – 69 (residuals from predicted and raw data that are transformed and entropy coded), 74 – 79, and 85 – 90 (entropy coding residuals that have been transformed)], the encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene comprises a plurality of groups of bitstream packets in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of frames of RAW images [Choi Paragraphs 56 – 59 and 97 – 102 (coding / corresponding images); Chang Figures 7 – 9 and 19 – 21 as well as Paragraphs 83 – 86 and 102 – 106 (corresponding features encoded); Ko Figure 3 (see at least reference character 220, 230, and 240) as well as Paragraphs 56 – 58 (packetizing a GOP or frame) and 68 – 72 (packetizing data)]; or the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene consists of one frame, and the encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene comprises a group of bitstream packets corresponding to the one frame of RAW image [Choi Paragraphs 56 – 59 and 97 – 102 (coding / corresponding images); Chang Figures 7 – 9 and 19 – 21 as well as Paragraphs 83 – 86 and 102 – 106 (corresponding features encoded); Ko Figures 2 – 3 (see at least reference character 216, 220, 230, and 240) as well as Paragraphs 56 – 58 (packetizing a GOP or frame) and 68 – 72 (packetizing data based on frames and used to generate the bitstream to transmit)], and
each group of bitstream packets comprises a plurality of bitstream packets [Ko Figures 2 – 3 (see at least reference character 216) as well as Paragraphs 56 – 58 (packetizing frame or group of pictures / frames) and 69 – 72 (packetizing an image / plurality of packets per image or group to form the bitstream); Li Paragraphs 52 – 57 (packet based networks)], and each bitstream packet comprises at least an error correction code and metadata information of one frame of the RAW image corresponding to the bitstream packet [Ko Figures 2 – 4 (see at least reference characters 216, 320, and 370) as well as Paragraphs 69 – 72 and 79 – 84 (security information in metadata when packetizing to form the bitstream); Li Paragraphs 52 – 57 (error correction codes (Li Paragraph 69) in headers / metadata as additional data in coding pictures)]; and
the sending, by the terminal device [Choi Figures 3 – 4 and 25 – 27 (see at least reference character 180)], the encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene to a cloud [Choi Figures 1 – 4 (see at least reference character 265), 11 – 12, 21 (see at least reference character 2120), and 26 – 27 (see the bitstream generated from the encoders to use for external / cloud based processing such as in Figure 26) as well as Paragraphs 92 – 96 (encoding the raw input image for transmission to a cloud / server based and sending to the servers / cloud) and 195 – 200 (cloud / server processing of encoded / compressed image with operable formats in Paragraph 222 – 224); Chang Figure 20 (subfigures included), and 25 – 29 (see at least reference characters 2920 and 2930) as well as Paragraphs 92 – 98 (encoding frames for cloud transmission in combination with Paragraphs 98 – 102 for the plurality of frames)] comprises:
sequentially uploading, by the terminal device in a unit of a frame, bitstream packets corresponding to each frame of the RAW image to the cloud [See previous limitation for citations and additionally Ko Paragraphs 46, 56 – 58, 69 – 72 (sequential upload / information on maintaining sequence of images similar to LI Figures 4 – 5 Paragraphs 68 – 75 (sequence information for coding / decoding to external / cloud based devices)) and 79 – 84 (packets corresponding to images / raw image information)].
See claim 17 for the motivation to combine Choi, Chang, and Sartor.
The motivation to combine Ko with Sartor, Chang and Choi is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of transmitting images between cameras and cloud storage / servers [Ko Paragraph 1] in order to improve robustness of the transmission process and increase security [Ko Paragraphs 2 – 5 where the Examiner observes KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
The motivation to combine Li with Ko, Sartor, Chang, and Choi is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of video coding / decoding [Li Paragraphs 2 – 4] in order to combine known features in packetized transmission technologies using error correction codes [Li Paragraphs 68 – 69 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (B) or (D) or (F) are also applicable].
Claim(s) 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Chang as applied to claims 24 above (respectively), and further in view of Ko, et al. (KR2016-0132366 A referred to as “Ko” throughout) [First Cited in the Office Action mailed December 16th, 2025] and Li, et al. (WO2021/055222 A1 referred to as “Li” throughout) [First Cited in the Office Action mailed December 16th, 2025].
Regarding claim 28, Choi teaches a system for capturing of images and transmits captured images to a server for additional processing to be transmitting back to the original device / terminal using the original / raw format and other formats for transmission. Chang teaches various algorithms / image processing techniques performed in the cloud to supplement the teachings of Choi and additional obviousness considerations regarding formats for the images in processing and for transmission. Ko teaches packetizing data that has been encoded for transmission. Li teaches the use of error code corrections in packetized data for transmission. The combination teaches
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Choi with the cloud processing capabilities of Chang and the packetizing capabilities of Ko and use of error correction codes as taught by Li. The combination teaches
wherein the encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene is obtained by performing, by the terminal device [Choi Figures 3 – 4 and 25 – 27 (see at least reference character 180)], channel coding on the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene in a distributed source coding manner [Chang Figures 32 – 33 as well as Paragraph 103 (YUV and RGB representation of the image data to process with scene / environment information) using distributed techniques taught by Choi Paragraphs 76, 86 – 88 (distributed processing of images), and 173 – 175];
the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene comprises a plurality of frames [Chang Figures 26 – 28 as well as Paragraphs 98 – 102 (image capture is of a plurality of frames to process)], and the encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene comprises a plurality of groups of bitstream packets in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of frames of the RAW image [Choi Paragraphs 56 – 59 and 97 – 102 (coding / corresponding images); Chang Figures 7 – 9 and 19 – 21 as well as Paragraphs 83 – 86 and 102 – 106 (corresponding features encoded); Ko Figure 3 (see at least reference character 220, 230, and 240) as well as Paragraphs 56 – 58 (packetizing a GOP or frame) and 68 – 72 (packetizing data)]; or the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene comprises one frame, the encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene comprises a group of bitstream packets corresponding to the one frame of the RAW image [Choi Paragraphs 56 – 59 and 97 – 102 (coding / corresponding images); Chang Figures 7 – 9 and 19 – 21 as well as Paragraphs 83 – 86 and 102 – 106 (corresponding features encoded); Ko Figures 2 – 3 (see at least reference character 216, 220, 230, and 240) as well as Paragraphs 56 – 58 (packetizing a GOP or frame) and 68 – 72 (packetizing data based on frames and used to generate the bitstream to transmit)]; and
each group of bitstream packets comprises a plurality of bitstream packets [Ko Figures 2 – 3 (see at least reference character 216) as well as Paragraphs 56 – 58 (packetizing frame or group of pictures / frames) and 69 – 72 (packetizing an image / plurality of packets per image or group to form the bitstream); Li Paragraphs 52 – 57 (packet based networks)], and each bitstream packet comprises at least an error correction code and metadata information of one frame of the RAW image corresponding to the bitstream packet [Ko Figures 2 – 4 (see at least reference characters 216, 320, and 370) as well as Paragraphs 69 – 72 and 79 – 84 (security information in metadata when packetizing to form the bitstream); Li Paragraphs 52 – 57 (error correction codes (Li Paragraph 69) in headers / metadata as additional data in coding pictures)]; and
the decoding, by the cloud, the encoded bitstream of the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene, to obtain the reconstructed RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene [See claim 24 “decoding” limitation for citations] comprises:
decoding, by the cloud based on an initial prediction value and in an intra-frame prediction manner [Choi Figures 3 – 4, 11 – 12, and 19 – 20 (see at least reference character 330) as well as Paragraphs 60 – 62 (intra prediction in the decoder) and 85 – 87 (additional intra considerations to combine with Li); Li Paragraphs 62 – 65 (see the predictive information which includes initial values / start of searches for prediction or initial values for aggregation also Paragraphs 100 – 107)], received bitstream packets corresponding to the one frame of the RAW image [Choi Paragraphs 56 – 59 and 97 – 102 (coding / corresponding images); Chang Figures 7 – 9 and 19 – 21 as well as Paragraphs 83 – 86 and 102 – 106 (corresponding features encoded); Ko Figures 2 – 3 (see at least reference character 216, 220, 230, and 240) as well as Paragraphs 56 – 58 (packetizing a GOP or frame) and 68 – 72 (packetizing data based on frames and used to generate the bitstream to transmit)], to obtain a reconstructed RAW image corresponding to the one frame of the RAW image, wherein the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene comprises the one frame [Chang Figures 3 – 4, 9, 11 – 12, and 19 – 21 (subfigures included and see at least reference character 342 for the “reconstructing” claimed (summing junction), 321, 330, 410, and 430 (prediction to add to the residual) as well as Paragraphs 62 – 69 (block / feature correlation rendering obvious the “one to one” feature claimed and to be used for inter prediction further described in Paragraphs 71 – 75 (the mapping / remapping further renders obvious the one to one feature claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art) and 97 – 102 (intra prediction based on features / projections of features between images)]; or
decoding, by the cloud based on the initial prediction value and in the intra-frame prediction manner [Choi Figures 3 – 4, 11 – 12, and 19 – 20 (see at least reference character 330) as well as Paragraphs 60 – 62 (intra prediction in the decoder) and 85 – 87 (additional intra considerations to combine with Li); Li Paragraphs 62 – 65 (see the predictive information which includes initial values / start of searches for prediction or initial values for aggregation also Paragraphs 100 – 107)], received bitstream packets corresponding to a first frame of the RAW image [Choi Paragraphs 56 – 59 and 97 – 102 (coding / corresponding images); Chang Figures 7 – 9 and 19 – 21 as well as Paragraphs 83 – 86 and 102 – 106 (corresponding features encoded); Ko Figures 2 – 3 (see at least reference character 216, 220, 230, and 240) as well as Paragraphs 56 – 58 (packetizing a GOP or frame) and 68 – 72 (packetizing data based on frames and used to generate the bitstream to transmit)], to obtain a reconstructed RAW image corresponding to the first frame of the RAW image, and decoding, by the cloud based on at least one frame of reconstructed RAW image obtained through decoding and inter-frame correlation between the plurality of frames of the RAW image, received bitstream packets corresponding to each frame of the RAW image after the first frame of RAW image [Chang Figures 3 – 4, 9, 11 – 12, and 19 – 21 (subfigures included and see at least reference character 342 for the “reconstructing” claimed (summing junction), 321, 410, and 430 (prediction to add to the residual) as well as Paragraphs 62 – 69 (block / feature correlation rendering obvious the “one to one” feature claimed and to be used for inter prediction further described in Paragraphs 71 – 75 (the mapping / remapping further renders obvious the one to one feature claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art) and 85 – 90 (inter prediction based on features / projections of features between images)], to obtain a reconstructed RAW image corresponding to each frame of the RAW image after the first frame of RAW image, wherein the RAW image corresponding to the current photographing scene comprises the plurality of frames [Chang Figures 3 – 4, 9, 11 – 12, and 19 – 21 (subfigures included and see at least reference character 342 for the “reconstructing” claimed (summing junction), 321, 330, 410, and 430 (prediction to add to the residual) as well as Paragraphs 62 – 69 (block / feature correlation rendering obvious the “one to one” feature claimed and to be used for inter prediction further described in Paragraphs 71 – 75 (the mapping / remapping further renders obvious the one to one feature claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art) and 97 – 102 (intra prediction based on features / projections of features between images)].
See claim 24 for the motivation to combine Choi, Chang, and Sartor.
The motivation to combine Ko with Chang and Choi is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of transmitting images between cameras and cloud storage / servers [Ko Paragraph 1] in order to improve robustness of the transmission process and increase security [Ko Paragraphs 2 – 5 where the Examiner observes KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
The motivation to combine Li with Ko, Chang, and Choi is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of video coding / decoding [Li Paragraphs 2 – 4] in order to combine known features in packetized transmission technologies using error correction codes [Li Paragraphs 68 – 69 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (B) or (D) or (F) are also applicable].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Newman, et al. (US PG PUB 2021/0004932 A1 referred to as “Newman” throughout) teaches in Paragraph 62 viewable formats for spherical images and in Paragraphs 120 and 129 – 139 teaches transcoding into viewable formats.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER W. SULLIVAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487