DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 11/18/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the claim amendment below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshikawa et al. (JP 2010-110048 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshikawa discloses a stator (3) comprising a plurality of magnetic-pole pieces (10) in each of which a tooth portion (8) is integrally formed so as to protrude from an arc-shaped back yoke portion (9) inward in a radial direction, wherein
a pair of insulators (5) made of resin are attached to each magnetic-pole piece (10), in an axial direction perpendicular to the radial direction,
the magnetic-pole pieces (10) with the insulators (5) attached thereto are arranged in an annular shape (FIG 1) in a state in which a conductive wire (6) is continuously wound via a jumper wire (71a, 72a, 73a, see also annotation below) making connection between the magnetic-pole pieces (10),
each insulator (5) has a snap-fit female portion (53, 54) at one end in a circumferential direction of an axial-direction end thereof and has a snap-fit male portion (43, 44) at another end,
the snap-fit female portion (53, 54) has an opened-ring portion (53) having an opening (54) that opens in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction (FIG 4a),
the snap-fit male portion (43, 44) has a pillar portion (43) extending in the axial direction from a base portion (44) protruding in the circumferential direction and the radial direction (FIG 3a),
the adjacent magnetic-pole pieces (10) in the annular-shape arrangement are connected swingably (FIG 1, 5) relative to each other via snap-fit connection made by fitting of the pillar portion (43) to the opened-ring portion (53), and
a jumper-wire-caught portion (42c, 45) at which the jumper wire (71a, 72a, 73a) is caught is provided at least in one of the opened-ring portion (53) and the pillar portion (43; FIG 9),
a portion of the jumper wire (71a, 72a, 73a) that is free of slack is caught with the jumper-wire-caught portion (42c, 45).
Regarding claim 3/1, Yoshikawa was discussed above in claim 1. Yoshikawa further discloses wherein the jumper-wire-caught portion (42c, 45) is at least one of a part of an outer circumferential surface of the pillar portion (43; FIG 3) that is opposite from a rotation center of a rotating electric machine (the jumper-wire-caught portion are on the radially outer side of the insulator), a cutout formed at the outer circumferential surface of the pillar portion (43; FIG 3), a slit formed in the pillar portion (43; FIG 3), a groove (42c) formed at an outer circumferential surface of the base portion (44; FIG 3), a part of an outer circumferential surface of the opened-ring portion (53; FIG 4), a cutout (42c) formed at the outer circumferential surface of the opened-ring portion (53; FIG 4), or a groove (42c) formed at the outer circumferential surface of the opened-ring portion (53; FIG 4).
Regarding claim 6/1, Yoshikawa was discussed above in claim 1. Yoshikawa further discloses a rotary electric machine (1) comprising:
the stator (3) according to claim 1; and
a rotor (4) provided rotatably and coaxially on an inner circumferential surface side of the stator (3).
Regarding claim 7/1, Yoshikawa was discussed above in claim 1. Yoshikawa further discloses a stator manufacturing method for the stator (3) according to claim 1, comprising:
an insulation assembly step of attaching the insulators (12) to each magnetic-pole piece (10);
a wiring step of repeating a winding step of winding (FIG 5), in a concentrated manner, the conductive wire (6) around one magnetic-pole piece (10) having undergone the insulation assembly step, and a jumper wire step of, after the winding step, leading the conductive wire (6) as the jumper wire (71a, 72a, 73a) to the magnetic-pole piece (10) that is a next winding target without cutting the conductive wire (FIG 7, 8); and
an annular shaping step of, after winding of the conductive wire (6) is completed for all the magnetic-pole pieces (10) in the wiring step, arranging the magnetic-pole pieces (10) in the annular shape and connecting all the adjacent magnetic-pole pieces (10) by the snap-fit connection of the insulators (12; FIG 9).
Regarding claim 11/7, Yoshikawa was discussed above in claim 7. Yoshikawa further discloses a rotary electric machine (1) manufacturing method comprising a step of providing a rotor (4) rotatably and coaxially on an inner circumferential surface side of the stator (3), after a process of the stator manufacturing method according to claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa et al. (JP 2010-110048 A) in view of Natsume et al. (JP 2006-254569 A).
Regarding claim 2/1, Yoshikawa was discussed above in claim 1. Yoshikawa discloses wherein the base portion (44) is provided such that a gap corresponding to an axial-direction thickness of the opened-ring portion (53) is formed between the base portion (44) and the magnetic-pole piece (10) in the axial direction, and in the snap-fit connected state, the opened-ring portion (53) is held in the gap so that axial-direction displacement is restricted (FIG 2).
Yoshikawa does not disclose the opened-ring portion is at the axial end of the insulator, such that the base portion is in the gap.
Natsume discloses the opened-ring portion (21g) is at the axial end of the insulator (4), such that the base portion (22g) is in the gap (FIG 5, 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yoshikawa in view of Natsume to disclose the opened-ring portion is at the axial end of the insulator, such that the base portion is in the gap, as the swapping the location of the base portion and the opened-ring portion is obvious to try from a finite number of solutions.
Regarding claim 8/7, Yoshikawa was discussed above in claim 7. Yoshikawa further discloses with a total of four magnetic-pole pieces (10) including first and second magnetic-pole pieces (10a, 10b) snap-fit connected as a set of two adjacent magnetic-pole pieces and third and fourth magnetic-pole pieces (10a, 10b) snap-fit connected as a set of two adjacent magnetic-pole pieces (FIG 9),
the four magnetic-pole pieces (10) regarded as a set (81-83), the sets (81-83) thereof are arranged and assembled in the annular shape such that the number of the sets is a multiple of 3 (FIG 9; three sets of four).
Yoshikawa does not disclose wherein in the wiring step,
an apparatus is applied, the apparatus including a rotational-positioning mechanism having a rotation axis in a stacking direction of the magnetic-pole piece, and a conductive-wire feeding and winding flyer which feeds the conductive wire while turning about a rotation axis set in a direction perpendicular to the rotation axis of the rotational-positioning mechanism, and
the magnetic-pole pieces are attached to the rotational-positioning mechanism, such that the magnetic-pole pieces are arranged with the tooth portions distant from each other in the circumferential direction so as to have a V shape,
thereafter, the wiring step includes
a winding step 1 of winding the conductive wire around the tooth portion of the first magnetic-pole piece by the flyer,
a jumper wire step 1 of rotating the rotational-positioning mechanism so that the second magnetic-pole piece is opposed to the flyer, and arranging the jumper wire, without cutting the conductive wire,
a winding step 2 of winding the conductive wire around the tooth portion of the second magnetic-pole piece by the flyer,
a jumper wire step 2 of rotating the rotational-positioning mechanism so that the third magnetic-pole piece is opposed to the flyer, and arranging the jumper wire, without cutting the conductive wire,
a winding step 3 of winding the conductive wire around the tooth portion of the third magnetic-pole piece by the flyer,
a jumper wire step 3 of rotating the rotational-positioning mechanism so that the fourth magnetic-pole piece is opposed to the flyer, and arranging the jumper wire, without cutting the conductive wire, and
a winding step 4 of winding the conductive wire around the tooth portion of the fourth magnetic-pole piece by the flyer, and
the annular shaping step includes a step of deforming each set of two adjacent magnetic-pole pieces from the V shape into an arc shape.
Natsume discloses wherein in the wiring step,
an apparatus (31) is applied, the apparatus (31) including a rotational-positioning mechanism (41) having a rotation axis (34) in a stacking direction of the magnetic-pole piece (13), and a conductive-wire feeding and winding flyer (91-93) which feeds the conductive wire (5) while turning about a rotation axis set in a direction perpendicular to the rotation axis (34) of the rotational-positioning mechanism (41), and
the magnetic-pole pieces (13) are attached to the rotational-positioning mechanism (41), such that the magnetic-pole pieces are arranged with the tooth portions distant from each other in the circumferential direction so as to have a V shape (FIG 9, 10),
thereafter, the wiring step includes
a winding step 1 of winding the conductive wire (5) around the tooth portion (8a, 8e, 8i) of the first magnetic-pole piece by the flyer (91-93),
a jumper wire step 1 of rotating the rotational-positioning mechanism (41) so that the second magnetic-pole piece is opposed to the flyer (91-93), and arranging the jumper wire, without cutting the conductive wire (5),
a winding step 2 of winding the conductive wire (5) around the tooth portion (8d, 8h, 8l) of the second magnetic-pole piece by the flyer (91-93),
a jumper wire step 2 of rotating the rotational-positioning mechanism (41) so that the third magnetic-pole piece is opposed to the flyer (91-93), and arranging the jumper wire, without cutting the conductive wire (5),
a winding step 3 of winding the conductive wire (5) around the tooth portion (8c, 8g, 8k) of the third magnetic-pole piece by the flyer (91-93),
a jumper wire step 3 of rotating the rotational-positioning mechanism (41) so that the fourth magnetic-pole piece is opposed to the flyer (91-93), and arranging the jumper wire, without cutting the conductive wire (5), and
a winding step 4 of winding the conductive wire (5) around the tooth portion (8b, 8f, 8j) of the fourth magnetic-pole piece by the flyer (91-93), and
the annular shaping step includes a step of deforming each set of two adjacent magnetic-pole pieces (13) from the V shape into an arc shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yoshikawa in view of Natsume to disclose the limitations of claim 8 above, for the advantages of shortening the manufacturing time of the stator.
Regarding claim 15/2, Yoshikawa in view of Natsume was discussed above in claim 2. Yoshikawa further discloses wherein the jumper-wire-caught portion (42c, 45) is at least one of a part of an outer circumferential surface of the pillar portion (43; FIG 3), a cutout formed at the outer circumferential surface of the pillar portion (43; FIG 3), a slit formed in the pillar portion (43; FIG 3), a groove formed at an outer circumferential surface of the base portion (44; FIG 3), a part of an outer circumferential surface of the opened-ring portion (53; FIG 4), a cutout formed at the outer circumferential surface of the opened-ring portion (53; FIG 4), or a groove formed at the outer circumferential surface of the opened-ring portion (53; FIG 4).
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa et al. (JP 2010-110048 A) in view of Amaya et al. (US 2021/0257873).
Regarding claim 4/1, Yoshikawa was discussed above in claim 1. Yoshikawa does not disclose wherein parts of all the magnetic-pole pieces and at least a part of the jumper-wire-caught portion are molded with resin.
Amaya discloses the stator (30) is molded with resin (80; FIG 6, 7).
Yoshikawa would be modified to mold the stator (30) in resin to cover the stator coil ends and the jumper-wire-caught portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yoshikawa in view of Amaya to disclose wherein parts of all the magnetic-pole pieces and at least a part of the jumper-wire-caught portion are molded with resin, for the advantages of insulating the coil ends and the molded resin acting as a heat transfer to cool the stator (¶ [0045]).
Regarding claim 20/3, Yoshikawa was discussed above in claim 3. Yoshikawa does not disclose wherein parts of all the magnetic-pole pieces and at least a part of the jumper-wire-caught portion are molded with resin.
Amaya discloses the stator (30) is molded with resin (80; FIG 6, 7).
Yoshikawa would be modified to mold the stator (30) in resin to cover the stator coil ends and the jumper-wire-caught portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yoshikawa in view of Amaya to disclose wherein parts of all the magnetic-pole pieces and at least a part of the jumper-wire-caught portion are molded with resin, for the advantages of insulating the coil ends and the molded resin acting as a heat transfer to cool the stator (¶ [0045]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa et al. (JP 2010-110048 A) in view of Natsume et al. (JP 2006-254569 A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Amaya et al. (US 2021/0257873).
Regarding claim 19/2, Yoshikawa in view of Natsume was discussed above in claim 2. Yoshikawa in view of Natsume does not disclose wherein parts of all the magnetic-pole pieces and at least a part of the jumper-wire-caught portion are molded with resin.
Amaya discloses the stator (30) is molded with resin (80; FIG 6, 7).
Yoshikawa would be modified to mold the stator (30) in resin to cover the stator coil ends and the jumper-wire-caught portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yoshikawa in view of Natsume, further in view of Amaya to disclose wherein parts of all the magnetic-pole pieces and at least a part of the jumper-wire-caught portion are molded with resin, for the advantages of insulating the coil ends and the molded resin acting as a heat transfer to cool the stator (¶ [0045]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9-10, 12-14, 16-18 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 5, 9-10, 12-14 and 16-18, the allowable subject matter of the claims has been discussed in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 04/23/2025.
Regarding claim 21, the allowability of the claim was discussed in the Final Rejection mailed 09/25/2025.
Conclusion
/MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875