DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Amendment filed on 4/23/2026 and RCE filed on 9/17/2026. Claims
1, 13, 16, and 28 have been amended. Claims 2 and 17 have been canceled. Claims 31 and 32 have been added. Claims 1, 3-16, and 18-32 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 9/17/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 4/23/2026 has been entered.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 12-17), filed on 4/23/2026, with respect to the 103 rejections of
Claim 1 have been fully considered but are moot and new ground of rejections using a newly introduced reference (Li et al.) are applied in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1, 3, 11-14, 16, 18, 26-29, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Oh et al. (US 2017 /0150524 Al, hereinafter “Oh”) in view of KIM et al. (US 2020/0280940 Al, hereafter “Kim”) and in further view of Li et al. (US 2020/0037354 Al, hereafter “Li”).
.
Regarding claim 1, Oh discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a transmitting (Tx) node, comprising (a method for sensing a channel by a base station and a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, Oh: [0014]-[0015]):
performing, to a receiving (Rx) node, a transmission based at least in part on a value of the channel measurement satisfying a threshold (perform the channel sensing operation during the channel sensing interval from the set second start time, and control the transceiver to transmit a signalthrough the sensed channel. reference threshold for the first channel sensing operation may be set to differ from a reference threshold for the third channel sensing operation, time of sensing the channel may be defined or set previously or chosen as a value within a particular range, Oh: [0016], [0054], [0079]-[0081], [0112]).
Oh does not explicitly disclose:
performing a channel measurement in a channel sensing contention slot based at least in part on a measurement time,
wherein the measurement time is a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot and is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
performing a channel measurement in a channel sensing contention slot based at least in part on a measurement time (The measurement time resources for the NR carrier RSSI are confined within an SS/PBCH block measurement time configuration (SMTC) window duration. UE intends to perform measurement (e.g., timing information about the cell), when the UE performs neighbor cell measurement and/or intra-frequency measurement and/or inter-frequency measurement, Kim: [0252]-[0255], [0591]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh in view of Kim in order to further modify performing a channel measurement in a channel sensing contention slot based at least in part on a measurement time from the teachings of Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE determines whether the channel is idle by sensing the channel for the defer duration and UE provides channel quality and feedback information (Kim: [0286], [0456]).
Yet, Oh in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the measurement time is a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot and is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
wherein the measurement time is a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot and is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time (UE can perform the LBT process during an observation slot within a period of PIFS duration ending before the assigned start of UL transmission inside the guard period. In one example of this option, the start time. LBT is configured with a configurable sensing duration to obtain an adaptable contention window size. For the downlink (DL) to uplink (UL) switching and uplink to downlink switching operations performed by NR unlicensed (NR-U), the above unlicensed regulations regarding the LBT requirements need to be satisfied. channel access probability (CAP) can be computed as the success rate of all LBTs include the LBT operations for DL/UL switching within the FFP. UE is required to perform LBT at the DL to UL switch point, Li: Fig. 17, [0164], [0327], [0364], [0372], [0380], [0490]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh and Kim in view of Li in order to further modify the measurement time which is a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot and is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE performs a listen-before-talk
(LBT) operation over the operating channel according to the identified channel access mechanism and obtain a channel occupancy time (COT) for transmission and reception on the operating channel after the LBT operation is successful (Li: [0493]).
Regarding claim 3, Oh-Kim-Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Oh further discloses:
wherein the measurement time is one of a first measurement time or a second measurement time, wherein (method for sensing a channel by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system comprises receiving, from a base station, information for setting a channel sensing interval based on a first start time, setting a second start time, Oh: [0014]-[0017]):
the first measurement time is associated with a first bandwidth and is greater than the second measurement time that is associated with a second bandwidth, wherein the first bandwidth is less than the second bandwidth (a reference signal for the second channel sensing operation may be set to be the same as that for the first channel sensing operation or to be shorter thana time when the channel is sensed during the first channel sensing operation, Oh: [0079], [0089] ); or
Regarding claim 11, Oh in view of Kim teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Oh further discloses:
wherein a response time associated with transmitting the Tx-Rx information is based at least in part on the beam switching time and whether a sensing beam is different than a transmit beam (when a data signal is transmitted requiring a minimum delay time, such as in an internet protocol-based voice (voice over internet protocol (VoIP)) service, the channel sensing interval may be configured with one slot, and when a data signal having a relatively long minimum delay time as required is transmitted. the third channel sensing time may be set to be the same or different from at least one of the first channel sensing time or the second channel sensing time. base station may perform a channel sensing operation sensing different channels depending on the type of signals intended for transmission, Oh: [0076], [0081]-[0082], [0088]):
Yet, Oh does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting, to the Rx node, Tx-Rx information that indicates the channel measurement based at least in part on a request received from the Rx node,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
transmitting, to the Rx node, Tx-Rx information that indicates the channel measurement based at least in part on a request received from the Rx node (BS may request the UE to perform radio resource management (RRM) measurement for a serving cell and a neighbor cell to support the mobility of the UE. UE may report a measured value obtained by applying averaging only to an SSB detected at a specific time point within an N window to the BS, Kim: [0632]-[0633], [0662]-[0663]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh and Li in view of Kim in order to further modify transmitting the Tx-Rx information indicating the channel measurement based on a request received from the Rx node from the teachings of Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE determines whether the channel is idle by sensing the channel for the defer duration and UE provides channel quality and feedback information (Kim: [0286], [0456]).
Regarding claim 12, Oh-Kim-Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Oh further discloses:
wherein the response time is based at least in part on one or more of: a propagation delay, the measurement time, the beam switching time, or a time spent transmitting the Tx-Rx information (Due to a propagation delay, the UE generally receives a downlink signal from the base station, a predetermined propagation delay time after the base station sends the downlink signal. Further, the base station receives an uplink signal from the UE a predetermined propagation delay time after the UE transmits the uplink signal, Oh: [0110]).
Regarding claim 13, Oh discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a receiving (Rx) node, comprising (a method for sensing a channel by a base station and a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, Oh: [0014]-[0015]):
transmitting, to the Tx node, a response based at least in part on the transmission received from the Tx node (in response to a channel sensed as a result of performing the channel sensing operation being in an idle state, transmitting a signal through the sensed channel, Oh: Claim 5).
Oh does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, from a transmitting (Tx) node, a transmission based at least in part on a value of a channel measurement in a channel sensing contention slot satisfying a threshold,
wherein the channel measurement is based at least in part on a measurement time that is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time,
and wherein the measurement time is a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
receiving, from a transmitting (Tx) node, a transmission based at least in part on a value of a channel measurement in a channel sensing contention slot satisfying a threshold (BS may request the UE to perform radio resource management (RRM) measurement for a serving cell and a neighbor cell to support the mobility of the UE. UE may report a measured value obtained by applying averaging only to an SSB detected at a specific time point within an N window to the BS, Kim: [0632]-[0633], [0662]-[0663]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh in view of Kim in order to further modify receiving a transmission based on a value of a channel measurement in a channel sensing contention slot from the teachings of Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE determines whether the channel is idle by sensing the channel for the defer duration and UE provides channel quality and feedback information (Kim: [0286], [0456]).
Yet, Oh in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the channel measurement is based at least in part on a measurement time that is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time,
and wherein the measurement time is a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
wherein the channel measurement is based at least in part on a measurement time that is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time (For the downlink (DL) to uplink (UL) switching and uplink to downlink switching operations performed by NR unlicensed (NR-U), the above unlicensed regulations regarding the LBT requirements need to be satisfied. channel access probability (CAP) can be computed as the success rate of all LBTs include the LBT operations for DL/UL switching within the FFP. UE is required to perform LBT at the DL to UL switch point, Li: [0164], [0327], [0380], [0490]),
and wherein the measurement time is a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot (UE can perform the LBT process during an observation slot within a period of PIFS duration ending before the assigned start of UL transmission inside the guard period. In one example of this option, the start time. LBT is configured with a configurable sensing duration to obtain an adaptable contention window size, Li: Fig. 17, [0364], [0372], [0490]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh and Kim in view of Li in order to further modify the measurement time which is based at least in part on a measurement time that is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time and a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE performs a listen-before-talk
(LBT) operation over the operating channel according to the identified channel access mechanism and obtain a channel occupancy time (COT) for transmission and reception on the operating channel after the LBT operation is successful (Li: [0493]).
Regarding claim 14, Oh-Kim-Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Oh further discloses:
wherein the measurement time is one of a first measurement time or a second measurement time, wherein (method for sensing a channel by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system comprises receiving, from a base station, information for setting a channel sensing interval based on a first start time, setting a second start time, Oh: [0014]-[0017]):
the first measurement time is associated with a first bandwidth and is greater than the second measurement time that is associated with a second bandwidth, wherein the first bandwidth is less than the second bandwidth (a reference signal for the second channel sensing operation may be set to be the same as that for the first channel sensing operation or to be shorter thana time when the channel is sensed during the first channel sensing operation, Oh: [0079], [0089]); or
Regarding claim 16, Oh discloses:
A transmitting (Tx) node for wireless communication, comprising (a method for sensing a channel by a base station and a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, Oh: [0014]-[0015]):
perform, to a receiving (Rx) node, a transmission based at least in part on a value of the channel measurement satisfying a threshold (perform the channel sensing operation during the channel sensing interval from the set second start time, and control the transceiver to transmit a signalthrough the sensed channel. reference threshold for the first channel sensing operation may be set to differ from a reference threshold for the third channel sensing operation, time of sensing the channel may be defined or set previously or chosen as a value within a particular range. Oh: [0016], [0054], [0079]-[0081], [0112]).
Oh does not explicitly disclose:
a memory; and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
perform a channel measurement in a channel sensing contention slot based at least in part on a measurement time,
wherein the measurement time is a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot and is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
a memory (at least one memory operably coupled to the at least one processor, Kim: [0018]); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (at least one processor, and at least one memory operably coupled to the at least one processor, Kim: [0018]):
perform a channel measurement in a channel sensing contention slot based at least in part on a measurement time (The measurement time resources for the NR carrier RSSI are confined within an SS/PBCH block measurement time configuration (SMTC) window duration. UE intends to perform measurement (e.g., timing information about the cell), when the UE performs neighbor cell measurement and/or intra-frequency measurement and/or inter-frequency measurement, Kim: [0252]-[0255], [0591]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh in view of Kim in order to further modify a memory, one or more processors, coupled to the memory and method of the measurement time based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time from the teachings of Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE determines whether the channel is idle by sensing the channel for the defer duration and UE provides channel quality and feedback information (Kim: [0286], [0456]).
Yet, Oh in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the measurement time is a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot and is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
wherein the measurement time is a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot and is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time (UE can perform the LBT process during an observation slot within a period of PIFS duration ending before the assigned start of UL transmission inside the guard period. In one example of this option, the start time. LBT is configured with a configurable sensing duration to obtain an adaptable contention window size. For the downlink (DL) to uplink (UL) switching and uplink to downlink switching operations performed by NR unlicensed (NR-U), the above unlicensed regulations regarding the LBT requirements need to be satisfied. channel access probability (CAP) can be computed as the success rate of all LBTs include the LBT operations for DL/UL switching within the FFP. UE is required to perform LBT at the DL to UL switch point, Li: Fig. 17, [0164], [0327], [0364], [0372], [0380], [0490]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh and Kim in view of Li in order to further modify the measurement time which is a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot and is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE performs a listen-before-talk
(LBT) operation over the operating channel according to the identified channel access mechanism and obtain a channel occupancy time (COT) for transmission and reception on the operating channel after the LBT operation is successful (Li: [0493]).
Regarding claim 18, Oh-Kim-Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 16 above.
Oh further discloses:
wherein the measurement time is one of a first measurement time or a second measurement time, wherein (method for sensing a channel by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system comprises receiving, from a base station, information for setting a channel sensing interval based on a first start time, setting a second start time, Oh: [0014]-[0017]):
the first measurement time is associated with a first bandwidth and is greater than the second measurement time that is associated with a second bandwidth, wherein the first bandwidth is less than the second bandwidth (a reference signal for the second channel sensing operation may be set to be the same as that for the first channel sensing operation or to be shorter than a time when the channel is sensed during the first channel sensing operation, Oh: [0079], [0089]); or
Regarding claim 26, Oh-Kim-Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 16 above.
Oh further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
wherein a response time associated with transmitting the Tx-Rx information is based at least in part on the beam switching time and whether a sensing beam is different than a transmit beam (when a data signal is transmitted requiring a minimum delay time, such as in an internet protocol-based voice (voice over internet protocol (VoIP)) service, the channel sensing interval may be configured with one slot, and when a data signal having a relatively long minimum delay time as required is transmitted. the third channel sensing time may be set to be the same or different from at least one of the first channel sensing time or the second channel sensing time. base station may perform a channel sensing operation sensing different channels depending on the type of signals intended for transmission, Oh: [0076], [0081]-[0082], [0088]):
Yet, Oh does not explicitly disclose:
transmit, to the Rx node, Tx-Rx information that indicates the channel measurement based at least in part on a request received from the Rx node,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
transmit, to the Rx node, Tx-Rx information that indicates the channel measurement based at least in part on a request received from the Rx node (BS may request the UE to perform radio resource management (RRM) measurement for a serving cell and a neighbor cell to support the mobility of the UE. UE may report a measured value obtained by applying averaging only to an SSB detected at a specific time point within an N window to the BS, Kim: [0632]-[0633], [0662]-[0663]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh and Li in view of Kim in order to further modify transmitting the Tx-Rx information indicating the channel measurement based on a request received from the Rx node from the teachings of Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE determines whether the channel is idle by sensing the channel for the defer duration and UE provides channel quality and feedback information (Kim: [0286], [0456]).
Regarding claim 27, Oh-Kim-Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 26 above.
Oh further discloses:
wherein the response time is based at least in part on one or more of: a propagation delay, the measurement time, the beam switching time, or a time spent transmitting the Tx-Rx information (Due to a propagation delay, the UE generally receives a downlink signal from the base station, a predetermined propagation delay time after the base station sends the downlink signal. Further, the base station receives an uplink signal from the UE a predetermined propagation delay time after the UE transmits the uplink signal, Oh: [0110]).
Regarding claim 28, Oh discloses:
A receiving (Rx) node for wireless communication, comprising (a method for sensing a channel by a base station and a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, Oh: [0014]-[0015]):
transmit, to the Tx node, a response based at least in part on the transmission received from the Tx node (in response to a channel sensed as a result of performing the channel sensing operation being in an idle state, transmitting a signal through the sensed channel, Oh: Claim 5).
Oh does not explicitly disclose:
a memory; and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive, from a transmitting (Tx) node, a transmission based at least in part on a value of a channel measurement in a channel sensing contention slot satisfying a threshold,
wherein the channel measurement is based at least in part on a measurement time that is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time, and wherein the measurement time is a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
a memory (BS operating in a wireless communication system supporting an unlicensed band includes at least one RF module, at least one processor, and at least one memory operably coupled to the at least one processor, Kim: [0018]); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (BS operating in a wireless communication system supporting an unlicensed band includes at least one RF module, at least one processor, and at least one memory operably coupled to the at least one processor, Kim: [0018]):
receive, from a transmitting (Tx) node, a transmission based at least in part on a value of a channel measurement in a channel sensing contention slot satisfying a threshold (BS may request the UE to perform radio resource management (RRM) measurement for a serving cell and a neighbor cell to support the mobility of the UE. UE may report a measured value obtained by applying averaging only to an SSB detected at a specific time point within an N window to the BS, Kim: [0632]-[0633], [0662]-[0663]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh in view of Kim in order to further modify receiving a transmission based on a value of a channel measurement in a channel sensing contention slot from the teachings of Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE determines whether the channel is idle by sensing the channel for the defer duration and UE provides channel quality and feedback information (Kim: [0286], [0456]).
Yet, Oh in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the channel measurement is based at least in part on a measurement time that is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time, and
wherein the measurement time is a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
wherein the channel measurement is based at least in part on a measurement time that is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time (For the downlink (DL) to uplink (UL) switching and uplink to downlink switching operations performed by NR unlicensed (NR-U), the above unlicensed regulations regarding the LBT requirements need to be satisfied. channel access probability (CAP) can be computed as the success rate of all LBTs include the LBT operations for DL/UL switching within the FFP. UE is required to perform LBT at the DL to UL switch point, Li: [0164], [0327], [0380], [0490]),
and wherein the measurement time is a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot (UE can perform the LBT process during an observation slot within a period of PIFS duration ending before the assigned start of UL transmission inside the guard period. In one example of this option, the start time. LBT is configured with a configurable sensing duration to obtain an adaptable contention window size, Li: Fig. 17, [0364], [0372], [0490]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh and Kim in view of Li in order to further modify the measurement time which is based at least in part on a measurement time that is based at least in part on one or more of a sensing bandwidth or a beam switching time and a listen-before-talk sensing duration within the channel sensing contention slot from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE performs a listen-before-talk
(LBT) operation over the operating channel according to the identified channel access mechanism and obtain a channel occupancy time (COT) for transmission and reception on the operating channel after the LBT operation is successful (Li: [0493]).
Regarding claim 29, Oh-Kim-Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 28 above.
Oh further discloses:
wherein the measurement time is one of a first measurement time or a second measurement time, wherein (method for sensing a channel by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system comprises receiving, from a base station, information for setting a channel sensing interval based on a first start time, setting a second start time, Oh: [0014]-[0017]):
the first measurement time is associated with a first bandwidth and is greater than the second measurement time that is associated with a second bandwidth, wherein the first bandwidth is less than the second bandwidth (a reference signal for the second channel sensing operation may be set to be the same as that for the first channel sensing operation or to be shorter thana time when the channel is sensed during the first channel sensing operation. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation,, Oh: [0079], [0089]); or
the first measurement time is associated with a first bandwidth and is less than the second measurement time that is associated with a second bandwidth, wherein the first bandwidth is less than the second bandwidth.
Regarding claims 31 and 32, Oh-Kim-Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 16 above.
Oh does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the channel sensing contention slot comprises the measurement time and an Rx-Tx turnaround time and is followed by a channel occupancy time.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
wherein the channel sensing contention slot comprises the measurement time and an Rx-Tx turnaround time and is followed by a channel occupancy time (obtain a channel occupancy time (COT) for transmission and reception on the operating channel after the LBT operation is successful, and identify, within the COT, one or more switching points for the UE to switch from UL transmission to DL reception or from the DL reception to the UL transmission. an observation slot refers to the duration for an frame-based equipment (FBE) device to perform LBT, while an NR-U slot refers to a slot of 14 OFDM symbols of the NR-U system, Li: [0014]-[0015], [0131], [0360]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh and Kim in view of Li in order to further modify the channel sensing contention slot which comprises the measurement time and an Rx-Tx turnaround time and is followed by a channel occupancy time from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE performs a listen-before-talk
(LBT) operation over the operating channel according to the identified channel access mechanism and obtain a channel occupancy time (COT) for transmission and reception on the operating channel after the LBT operation is successful (Li: [0493]).
Claims 4, 7-10, 15, 19, 22-25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh-
Kim-Li and in view of Yang et al. (US 2021/0007147 Al, hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 4, Oh-Kim-Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Oh does not explicitly disclose:
wherein an Rx-Tx turnaround time is based at least in part on the beam switching time,
and wherein the beam switching time is a period of time to switch between a sensing beam associated with performing the channel measurement and a transmit beam associated with performing the transmission.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
wherein an Rx-Tx turnaround time is based at least in part on the beam switching time (a time gap for DL-to-UL or UL-to-DL switching between control and data regions, Yang: [0091]),
wherein the beam switching time is a period of time to switch between a sensing beam associated with performing the channel measurement and a transmit beam associated with performing the transmission (The Guard Period (GP) provides a time gap for a BS and a UE to switch from transmission mode to reception mode and vice versa. Several symbols at the time of DL-to-UL switching in a subframe may be set to the GP. UE may be configured to switch to the source CC after performing the SRS transmission at the time when the UE first succeeds in the LBT (with no addition LBT operation)., Yang: [0099], [0427]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Kim-Li in view of Yang in order to further modify Rx-Tx turnaround time based on the beam switching time, and the beam switching time to switch between a sensing beam and a transmit beam from the teachings of Yang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE may perform the channel sensing in consideration of its UE capability and the channel sensing may be performed on a carrier group (first carrier group) including one or more carriers (Yang: [0388]).
Regarding claim 7, Oh-Kim-Li-Yang teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Oh further discloses:
wherein the measurement time is not affected by the Rx-Tx turnaround time, the measurement time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are within a duration of the channel sensing contention slot (the minimum channel sensing interval may be determined depending on the maximum channel occupancy interval. ECCA slot length is a minimum unit (or length) of channel sensing interval, Oh: Fig.2, [0056]-[0066]),
and the measurement time satisfies a minimum sensing duration threshold (reference threshold for the second channel sensing operation used to determine whether the unlicensed band channel is in the idle state may be set to differ from a reference threshold for the first channel sensing operation, Oh: [0079]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 8, Oh-Kim-Li-Yang teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Oh further discloses:
wherein the measurement time is reduced from an initial value based at least in part on the Rx-Tx turnaround time, the measurement time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are within a duration of the channel sensing contention slot (the base station may reduce or maintain the contention window or set the contention window to the initial contention window. the minimum unit of the channel sensing interval A may be set to 16us, and the respective minimum units (or slot or slot length) of the channel sensing intervals B and C may be set to 9 us. the channel sensing interval may be arbitrarily and directly set by the base station as a value arbitrarily selected from within the set contention window, Oh: [0078]-[0082], [0089]),
and the measurement time satisfies a minimum sensing duration threshold (reference threshold for the second channel sensing operation used to determine whether the unlicensed band channel is in the idle state may be set to differ from a reference threshold for the first channel sensing operation, Oh: [0079]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 9, Oh-Kim-Li-Yang teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Oh further discloses:
wherein the channel sensing contention slot is a first channel sensing contention slot with a first duration or a second channel sensing contention slot with a second duration based at least in part on the beam switching time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time (when the base station sends data to the UE during the channel occupancy interval and receives a NACK signal from the UE as a result of the reception of the data transmission, the base station may increase the contention window for a next channel occupancy operation or may maintain the previous contention window. the channel sensing interval may be arbitrarily and directly set by the base station as a value arbitrarily selected from within the set contention window, Oh: [0078]-[0082], [0089]).
Regarding claim 10, Oh-Kim-Li-Yang teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 9 above.
Oh further discloses:
the first channel sensing contention slot is associated with a first energy detection threshold and a first contention window size (the first channel sensing operation may have different settings as to at least one or more of other variables (e.g., a threshold received signal strength for determining whether to sense a channel). the base station may select any variable N from within the set contention window [x, y], Oh: [0076]-[0078]);
and the second channel sensing contention slot is associated with a second energy detection threshold and a second contention window size (the second channel sensing operation is an operation for determining the channel occupancy state including at least one of measuring the strength of a signal received for a preset time. when any variable N is set from withina preset contention window, base station may perform the second channel sensing operation using the variable N as set, Oh: [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 15, Oh-Kim-Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Oh does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the beam switching time is based at least in part on a sensing beam in relation to a transmit beam.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
wherein the beam switching time is based at least in part on a sensing beam in relation to a transmit beam (a time gap for DL-to-UL or UL-to-DL switching between control and data regions, Yang: [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Kim-Li in view of Yang in order to further modify the beam switching time based on a sensing beam in relation to a transmit beam from the teachings of Yang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE may perform the channel sensing in consideration of its UE capability and the channel sensing may be performed on a carrier group (first carrier group) including one or more carriers (Yang: [0388]).
Regarding claim 19, Oh-Kim-Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 16 above.
Oh does not explicitly disclose:
wherein an Rx-Tx turnaround time is based at least in part on the beam switching time,
and wherein the beam switching time is a period of time to switch between a sensing beam associated with performing the channel measurement and a transmit beam associated with performing the transmission.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
wherein an Rx-Tx turnaround time is based at least in part on the beam switching time (a time gap for DL-to-UL or UL-to-DL switching between control and data regions, Yang: [0091]),
wherein the beam switching time is a period of time to switch between a sensing beam associated with performing the channel measurement and a transmit beam associated with performing the transmission (The Guard Period (GP) provides a time gap for a BS and a UE to switch from transmission mode to reception mode and vice versa. Several symbols at the time of DL-to-UL switching in a subframe may be set to the GP. UE may be configured to switch to the source CC after performing the SRS transmission at the time when the UE first succeeds in the LBT (with no addition LBT operation)., Yang: [0099], [0427]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Kim-Li in view of Yang in order to further modify Rx-Tx turnaround time based on the beam switching time, and the beam switching time to switch between a sensing beam and a transmit beam from the teachings of Yang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE may perform the channel sensing in consideration of its UE capability and the channel sensing may be performed on a carrier group (first carrier group) including one or more carriers (Yang: [0388]).
Regarding claim 22, Oh-Kim-Li-Yang teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Oh further discloses:
wherein the measurement time is not affected by the Rx-Tx turnaround time, the measurement time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are within a duration of the channel sensing contention slot (the minimum channel sensing interval may be determined depending on the maximum channel occupancy interval. ECCA slot length is a minimum unit (or length) of channel sensing interval, Oh: Fig.2, [0056]-[0066]),
and the measurement time satisfies a minimum sensing duration threshold (reference threshold for the second channel sensing operation used to determine whether the unlicensed band channel is in the idle state may be set to differ from a reference threshold for the first channel sensing operation, Oh: [0079]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 23, Oh-Kim-Li-Yang teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Oh further discloses:
wherein the measurement time is reduced from an initial value based at least in part on the Rx-Tx turnaround time, the measurement time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are within a duration of the channel sensing contention slot (the base station may reduce or maintain the contention window or set the contention window to the initial contention window. the minimum unit of the channel sensing interval A may be set to 16us, and the respective minimum units (or slot or slot length) of the channel sensing intervals B and C may be set to 9 us. the channel sensing interval may be arbitrarily and directly set by the base station as a value arbitrarily selected from within the set contention window, Oh: [0078]-[0082], [0089]),
and the measurement time satisfies a minimum sensing duration threshold (reference threshold for the second channel sensing operation used to determine whether the unlicensed band channel is in the idle state may be set to differ from a reference threshold for the first channel sensing operation, Oh: [0079]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 24, Oh-Kim-Li-Yang teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Oh further discloses:
wherein the channel sensing contention slot is a first channel sensing contention slot with a first duration or a second channel sensing contention slot with a second duration based at least in part on the beam switching time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time (when the base station sends data to the UE during the channel occupancy interval and receives a NACK signal from the UE as a result of the reception of the data transmission, the base station may increase the contention window for a next channel occupancy operation or may maintain the previous contention window. the channel sensing interval may be arbitrarily and directly set by the base station as a value arbitrarily selected from within the set contention window, Oh: [0078]-[0082], [0089]).
Regarding claim 25, Oh-Kim-Li-Yang teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 24 above.
Oh further discloses:
the first channel sensing contention slot is associated with a first energy detection threshold and a first contention window size (the first channel sensing operation may have different settings as to at least one or more of other variables (e.g., a threshold received signal strength for determining whether to sense a channel). the base station may select any variable N from within the set contention window [x, y], Oh: [0076]-[0078]);
and the second channel sensing contention slot is associated with a second energy detection threshold and a second contention window size (the second channel sensing operation is an operation for determining the channel occupancy state including at least one of measuring the strength of a signal received for a preset time. when any variable N is set from withina preset contention window, base station may perform the second channel sensing operation using the variable N as set, Oh: [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 30, Oh-Kim-Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 28 above.
Oh does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the beam switching time is based at least in part on a sensing beam in relation to a transmit beam.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
wherein the beam switching time is based at least in part on a sensing beam in relation to a transmit beam (a time gap for DL-to-UL or UL-to-DL switching between control and data regions, Yang: [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Kim-Li in view of Yang in order to further modify the beam switching time based on a sensing beam in relation to a transmit beam from the teachings of Yang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE may perform the channel sensing in consideration of its UE capability and the channel sensing may be performed on a carrier group (first carrier group) including one or more carriers (Yang: [0388]).
Claims 5, 6, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh-Kim-Li-Yang
and in further view of YI et al. (US 2019/0356524 Al, hereafter “Yi”).
Regarding claim 5, Oh-Kim-Li-Yang teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Oh does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the sensing beam is a same beam as the transmit beam, and wherein the beam switching time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are less when the sensing beam and the transmit beam are a same beam as compared to the sensing beam and the transmit beam being different beams.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yi teaches:
wherein the sensing beam is a same beam as the transmit beam, and wherein the beam switching time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are less when the sensing beam and the transmit beam are a same beam as compared to the sensing beam and the transmit beam being different beams (DL data may be transmitted in the subframe, and UL acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) may also be received in the subframe. In this manner, the subframe shown in FIG. 4 may be referred to as self-contained subframe. As a result, it may take less time to retransmit data when a data transmission error occurs, thereby minimizing the latency of final data transmission, Yi: [0053]-[0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Kim-Li-Yang in view of Yi in order to further modify the sensing beam as the transmit beam, and the beam switching time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are less when the sensing beam and the transmit beam are a same beam from the teachings of Yi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE may determine RX beam for the corresponding TX beams. In terms of TX beam, in this case, the UE may use only one beam direction towards to the network to minimize coordination overhead (Yi: [0059]).
Regarding claim 6, Oh-Kim-Li-Yang teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Oh does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the sensing beam is a different beam than the transmit beam, and wherein the beam switching time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are greater when the sensing beam and the transmit beam are different beams as compared to the sensing beam and the transmit beam being a same beam.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yi teaches:
wherein the sensing beam is a different beam than the transmit beam, and wherein the beam switching time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are greater when the sensing beam and the transmit beam are different beams as compared to the sensing beam and the transmit beam being a same beam (When bandwidth adaptation or frequency region is changed for a UE, reconfiguration of search space and/or control resource sets may also be necessary. During reconfiguration period, fallback mechanism to avoid unnecessarily service interruption time needs to be considered, Yi: [0213]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Kim-Li-Yang in view of Yi in order to further modify the sensing beam as a different beam than the transmit beam, and the beam switching time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are greater when the sensing beam and the transmit beam are different beams from the teachings of Yi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE may determine RX beam for the corresponding TX beams. In terms of TX beam, in this case, the UE may use only one beam direction towards to the network to minimize coordination overhead (Yi: [0059]).
Regarding claim 20, Oh-Kim-Li-Yang teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Oh does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the sensing beam is a same beam as the transmit beam, and wherein the beam switching time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are less when the sensing beam and the transmit beam are a same beam as compared to the sensing beam and the transmit beam being different beams.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yi teaches:
wherein the sensing beam is a same beam as the transmit beam, and wherein the beam switching time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are less when the sensing beam and the transmit beam are a same beam as compared to the sensing beam and the transmit beam being different beams (DL data may be transmitted in the subframe, and UL acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) may also be received in the subframe. In this manner, the subframe shown in FIG. 4 may be referred to as self-contained subframe. As a result, it may take less time to retransmit data when a data transmission error occurs, thereby minimizing the latency of final data transmission, Yi: [0053]-[0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Kim-Li-Yang in view of Yi in order to further modify the sensing beam as the transmit beam, and the beam switching time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are less when the sensing beam and the transmit beam are a same beam from the teachings of Yi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE may determine RX beam for the corresponding TX beams. In terms of TX beam, in this case, the UE may use only one beam direction towards to the network to minimize coordination overhead (Yi: [0059]).
Regarding claim 21, Oh-Kim-Li-Yang teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Oh does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the sensing beam is a different beam than the transmit beam, and wherein the beam switching time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are greater when the sensing beam and the transmit beam are different beams as compared to the sensing beam and the transmit beam being a same beam.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yi teaches:
wherein the sensing beam is a different beam than the transmit beam, and wherein the beam switching time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are greater when the sensing beam and the transmit beam are different beams as compared to the sensing beam and the transmit beam being a same beam (When bandwidth adaptation or frequency region is changed for a UE, reconfiguration of search space and/or control resource sets may also be necessary. During reconfiguration period, fallback mechanism to avoid unnecessarily service interruption time needs to be considered, Yi: [0213]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh-Kim-Li-Yang in view of Yi in order to further modify the sensing beam as a different beam than the transmit beam, and the beam switching time and the Rx-Tx turnaround time are greater when the sensing beam and the transmit beam are different beams from the teachings of Yi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE may determine RX beam for the corresponding TX beams. In terms of TX beam, in this case, the UE may use only one beam direction towards to the network to minimize coordination overhead (Yi: [0059]).
Conclusion
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the
specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467