DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7, lines 1-3 are repetitious of claim 1, lines 4-6 and claim 7 seems to introduce a first axis that already exists in claim 1. It can’t be determined if applicant’s intent is to claim two different first axes or if only one is intended. The metes and bounds of claim 7 can’t be accurately determined. Claim 7 is indefinite.
Claim 11 is dependent on canceled claim 9 and claim 19 is dependent on canceled claim 6. Claims 11 and 19 are incomplete and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 12-19 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Ambrogio (US 2022/0184327).
Ambrogio is a device for storage of microorganisms that has the structure capable of dose collection, the container (see annotated Fig. 2) of Ambrogio comprising first and second opposing walls (top and bottom walls of body 12, see annotated Fig. 2), the first wall (top wall and neck 16) comprising an aperture (annular port 30 through neck, see annotated Fig. 2) sized to receive a nozzle of a nasal spray (this is a functional limitation and can be a very small aperture even as small as a needle type nozzle), and the second wall (bottom wall) comprising at least two diverging impact surfaces (DI surfaces) (two divergent bottom wall surfaces, one surface to left of vertical axis 34 and another surface to right of vertical axis 34, see annotated Fig. 2) which, on actuation of a nasal spray into the dose collection container, deflect the spray along an internal surface,
wherein a first axis (see annotated close-up view of bottom wall of Fig. 2) extends through a central point (where central longitudinal axis and first axis meet in annotated close-up view of bottom wall of Fig. 2) on the internal surface of the second wall, in the same plane (horizontal plane aligned with first axis) as the internal surface of the second wall, and a ridge (see annotated close-up view of bottom wall of Fig. 2) is located in the plane defined by the first axis wherein the at least two diverging impact surfaces (labeled DI in annotated close-up view of bottom wall of Fig. 2) extend outwardly from the ridge. Compare first axis of annotated close-up view of bottom wall of Fig. 2 with axis x-x of applicant’s Fig. 4.
Re claim 2, the container has an internal volume of less than 10 ml (see paragraph [0195] lines 9-12).
Re claim 4, the aperture has a frustroconical shape (see Fig. 2).
Re claim 5, the first wall comprises an internal surface and an external surface, and wherein the external surface further comprises an annular wall (an annular wall surrounds the cylindrical aperture) which surrounds the aperture and acts to guide the nozzle of a nasal spray into the aperture.
Re claim 7, a second axis (horizontal axis perpendicular to first axis) extending through the central point in a direction perpendicular to the first axis, wherein an acute angle [bottom surface is planar adjacent vertical axis 34 then gradually slopes downward from the planar surface at an acute angle, this acute angle is smaller and near zero near the planar surface, then reaches a steeper slope (increase in acute angel), then the acute angle decreases near zero, near a bottom of an annular trough] is formed between each diverging impact surface and the second axis.
Re claim 12, the at least two diverging impact surfaces are curved (see Fig. 2).
Re claim 13, each curved divergent impact surface defines an arc (arc or curve shown on each DI surface as shown in annotated close-up of Fig. 2) extending from a proximal end (proximal end of arc is adjacent to the planar surface) at which it contacts the second axis to a distal end (distal end is spaced radially outward and downward from planar surface as shown in Fig. 2) at which it contacts the surface of the second wall, such that each curved divergent impact surface forms a concave depression in the second wall.
Re claim 14, the apex of the arc (highest point of each arc) is located closer to the proximal end than the distal end, when measured along a line perpendicular to the second axis as shown in annotated close-up of Fig. 2.
Re claim 15, the proximal end is vertically offset from the distal end as shown in annotated close-up of Fig. 2.
Re claim 16, each of the at least two diverging impact surfaces comprises a planar region (portion of DI surface adjacent to vertical axis 34 as shown in annotated close-up of Fig. 2) and a curved region (portion of DI surface having the arc as shown in annotated close-up of Fig. 2).
Re claim 17, the container comprises a planar portion (portion of DI surface adjacent to vertical axis 34 as shown in annotated close-up of Fig. 2) extending from a proximal end located in the plane formed by the first axis to an apex, and a curved portion (portion of DI surface having the arc as shown in annotated close-up of Fig. 2) extending from the apex to a distal end located on the surface of the second wall, forming a concave depression in the surface of the second wall.
Re claim 18, the distance between the proximal end and the apex is smaller (zero distance) than the distance between the apex and the distal end, when measured along a line perpendicular to the second axis.
Re claim 19, the at least two diverging impact surfaces are symmetrical about the first axis.
Re claim 22, the container is configured for use with an actuation device. This is a functional limitation, the structure of the container of Ambrogio is compatible with an actuation device.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 11-15, 19 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Drechsel (US 2004/0104287).
Drechsel is a sprinkler device that has the structure capable of dose collection insofar as claimed the dose may be collected and retained within the radial grooves formed on the upper side of diverter unit 5, the container (see annotated Fig. 2) of Drechsel comprising first and second opposing walls (first wall – wall formed by nozzle 4, radial appendages 26 and at least one end portion 29, see annotated Fig. 2; and second wall – wall formed by diverter unit 5 with first shaped surface 17, see annotated Fig. 2), the first wall (nozzle 4) comprising an aperture (outlet 18) sized to receive a nozzle of a nasal spray (this is a functional limitation and can be a very small aperture even as small as a needle type nozzle), and the second wall (surface 17) comprising at least two diverging impact surfaces (DI surfaces) (two divergent bottom wall surfaces, one surface to left of longitudinal axis L and another surface to right of longitudinal axis L as shown in annotated Fig. 2) which, on actuation of a nasal spray into the dose collection container, deflect the spray along an internal surface, wherein a first axis (see annotated Fig. 2) extends through a central point (where central longitudinal axis and first axis meet in annotated Fig. 2) on the internal surface of the second wall, in the same plane (horizontal plane aligned with first axis) as the internal surface of the second wall, and a ridge (see annotated Fig. 2) is located in the plane defined by the first axis wherein the at least two diverging impact surfaces (labeled DI in annotated Fig. 2) extend outwardly from the ridge.
Re claim 3, the container comprises first and second sections (first section formed by nozzle 4, radial appendages 26 and at least one end portion 29, see Fig. 2; and second section formed by diverter unit 5 with first shaped surface 17, see Fig. 2), the first and second sections being releasably connectable together.
Re claim 4, the aperture has a frustroconical shape (see Fig. 2).
Re claim 5, the first wall comprises an internal surface and an external surface, and wherein the external surface further comprises an annular wall (an annular wall surrounds the cylindrical aperture) which surrounds the aperture and acts to guide the nozzle of a nasal spray into the aperture.
Re claim 7, a second axis (horizontal axis perpendicular to first axis) extending through the central point in a direction perpendicular to the first axis, wherein an acute angle [bottom surface slopes downward from the planar surface at an acute angle as shown in annotated Fig. 2] is formed between each diverging impact surface and the second axis.
Re claim 11, the ridge is arcuate as shown in Fig. 1 and 2.
Re claim 12, the at least two diverging impact surfaces are curved (see Fig. 2).
Re claim 13, each curved divergent impact surface defines an arc (arc or curve shown on each DI surface as shown in Fig. 2) extending from a proximal end (proximal end of arc is adjacent to the planar surface) at which it contacts the second axis to a distal end (distal end is spaced radially outward and downward from planar surface as shown in Fig. 2) at which it contacts the surface of the second wall, such that each curved divergent impact surface forms a concave depression in the second wall.
Re claim 14, the apex of the arc (highest point of each arc is at point A in annotated Fig. 2) is located closer to the proximal end than the distal end, when measured along a line perpendicular to the second axis as shown in Fig. 2.
Re claim 15, the proximal end is vertically offset from the distal end as shown in Fig. 2.
Re claim 19, the at least two diverging impact surfaces are symmetrical about the first axis.
Re claim 22, the container is configured for use with an actuation device. This is a functional limitation, the structure of the container of Drechsel is compatible with an actuation device.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7 and 12-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Cummings et al. (US 3910495) (Cummings).
Cummings is a dispensing device that has the structure capable of dose collection, the container (see Fig. 4) of Cummings comprising first and second opposing walls (first wall formed by cover 14; and second wall formed by base 12, see Fig. 1-4), the first wall (cover 14) comprising an aperture (aperture 66 in closed end 34 of cover 14) sized to receive a nozzle of a nasal spray (this is a functional limitation and can be a very small aperture even as small as a needle type nozzle), and the second wall (base 12) comprising at least two diverging impact surfaces (DI surfaces) (two divergent bottom wall surfaces of dome shaped bottom wall 20, one surface to left of longitudinal axis L and another surface to right of longitudinal axis L as shown in Fig. 4) which, on actuation of a nasal spray into the dose collection container, deflect the spray along an internal surface, wherein a first axis (see annotated Fig. 4) extends through a central point (where central longitudinal axis and first axis meet in annotated Fig. 4) on the internal surface of the second wall, in the same plane (horizontal plane aligned with first axis) as the internal surface of the second wall, and a ridge (see annotated Fig. 4) is located in the plane defined by the first axis wherein the at least two diverging impact surfaces (labeled DI in annotated Fig. 4) extend outwardly from the ridge.
Re claim 3, the container comprises first and second sections (first section formed by cover 14, see Fig. 4; and second section formed by base 12, see Fig. 4), the first and second sections being releasably connectable together (see discussion of “tight friction fit” in paragraph bridging columns 3 and 4, specifically, column 4, lines 4 and 13).
Re claim 5, the first wall comprises an internal surface and an external surface, and wherein the external surface further comprises an annular wall (an annular wall surrounds the cylindrical aperture) which surrounds the aperture and acts to guide the nozzle of a nasal spray into the aperture.
Re claim 7, a second axis (horizontal axis perpendicular to first axis and sharing same center point) extending through the central point in a direction perpendicular to the first axis, wherein an acute angle [bottom surface slopes downward from the planar surface at an acute angle as shown in Fig. 4] is formed between each diverging impact surface and the second axis.
Re claim 12, the at least two diverging impact surfaces are curved (see annotated Fig. 4).
Re claim 13, each curved divergent impact surface defines an arc (arc or curve shown on each DI surface as shown in annotated Fig. 4) extending from a proximal end (proximal end of arc is adjacent to top center point of dome surface) at which it contacts the second axis to a distal end (distal end is spaced radially outward and downward from planar surface as shown in annotated Fig. 4) at which it contacts the surface of the second wall, such that each curved divergent impact surface forms a concave depression in the second wall (the concave depression is immediately adjacent to the outwardmost portion of bottom wall 20 and immediately adjacent to the vertical extending sidewall of base 12, see annotated Fig. 4).
Re claim 14, the apex of the arc (highest point of each arc is at top center point of dome as shown in Fig. 4) is located closer to the proximal end than the distal end, when measured along a line perpendicular to the second axis as shown in Fig. 4.
Re claim 15, the proximal end is vertically offset from the distal end as shown in Fig. 4.
Re claim 16, each of the at least two diverging impact surfaces (include portions of dome shaped surface and portions of cylindrical member 78) comprises a planar region (top edge portion of member 78 of DI surface as shown in Fig. 4) and a curved region (portions of dome shaped surface of DI surface having the arc as shown in Fig. 4).
Re claim 17, the container comprises a planar portion (top edge portion of member 78 of DI surface as shown in Fig. 4) extending from a proximal end located in the plane formed by the first axis (first axis is positioned along center axis and extends horizontally along top edge of cylindrical member 78) to an apex, and a curved portion (portions of dome shaped surface of DI surface having the arc as shown in Fig. 4) extending from the apex to a distal end located on the surface of the second wall, forming a concave depression in the surface of the second wall.
Re claim 18, the distance between the proximal end and the apex is smaller (zero distance) than the distance between the apex and the distal end, when measured along a line perpendicular to the second axis.
Re claim 19, the at least two diverging impact surfaces are symmetrical about the first axis as shown in Fig. 4.
Re claim 20, the first wall comprises an internal surface and an external surface, and the second wall comprises an internal surface and an external surface, wherein the at least two diverging impact surfaces are located on the internal surface of the second wall, and wherein at least a portion of the internal surface of the first wall (lower edge 52 of first wall) abuts at least a portion of the internal surface of the second wall (shoulder 50 of second wall) as shown in Fig. 4.
Re claim 21, the diverging impact surfaces form a void (interior void between cover 14 and base 12) between the opposing first and second walls.
Re claim 22, the container is configured for use with an actuation device. This is a functional limitation, the structure of the container of Cummings is compatible with an actuation device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drechsel.
Drechsel fails to disclose the value of the acute angle. The acute angle appears steeper at the center of the surface 17 as shown in Fig. 2 and the acute angle transitions to shallower angles as the one progressed toward the periphery of the surface 17 along a curve, such that every angle between is achieved. The steeper angle is more aligned with the direction of water entering through outlet 18 and it would be more consistent with the teachings of the sprinkler device that a steep angle of 90 degrees to 45 degrees would be consistent with a surface which initially contacts the water flow in redirecting a liquid flow from a vertical direction towards a horizontal direction. The surface 17 redirects flow along the surface from center towards the periphery by a curve which changes from the steeper angle towards zero and then a negative but shallow angle. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the center, initial contact surface of the surface 17 to be at an angle greater than 45 degrees to align with a direction of water flow and to have this angle change as one progresses toward the periphery of the surface 17 to a shallower angle and then to zero degrees, such that the acute angle would be within the range of 20 – 70 degrees at some point or range of points along surface 17. Note that surface 19 is another surface when the device is reconfigured that tends to disclose steeper angles in comparison to surface 17.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelbreth et al. (WO 02/096490) (Engelbreth) (cited by applicant) in view of Ambrogio.
Engelbreth discloses a kit of parts (see Fig, 1 and 2) comprising a dose collection container (container 5 with holding chamber 6) and a holder (lower portion of actuator 4 defines a housing that receives the top portion of container 5 and stem 16, see Fig. 2), the holder being configured to connect the dose collection container to an actuation device (functional limitation, the structure of Engelbreth is capable of connecting the dose collection container to an actuation device). Engelbreth fails to disclose all the elements of the dose collection container to include at least two diverging impact surfaces and a ridge. Ambrogio teaches all the elements of the dose collection container including the at least two diverging impact surfaces and a ridge. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to swap the Ambrogio dose collection container for the dose collection container of Engelbreth to provide for retaining and collection of doses with diverging impact surfaces to properly direct incoming spray.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Ambrogio and Cummings, applicant believes that enough features from claims 6, 9 and 10 were incorporated into claim 1 to overcome the rejection. There is no consideration by applicant that the claim 6 limitation is changed in this amendment and there is no separate analysis of the claims with respect to claims 6, 9 or 10. These rejections are maintained. Applicant should carefully review these anticipation rejections.
Regarding Drechsel, applicant disregards the sprinkler device as being incapable in collection of a dose. This statement is baseless and conclusionary. Applicant’s argument is a non-analogous art argument. Rephrasing applicant’s argument as: It isn’t a container, therefore, Drechsel is not relevant and can’t be applied.
In response to applicant's argument that Drechsel is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the sprinkler device forms upwardly open grooves (grooves in upper surface of diverter unit 5) that are capable of retaining liquid and forms a container and is in the field of endeavor. Drechsel is also reasonably pertinent to problem or concern of using diverging impact surfaces to slow the flow and redirect the flow of fluid.
Regarding spray nozzles being well known and applicant’s justification for “sized to receive the nozzle of a nasal spray,” the Office’s statement that these spray nozzles could be of small size (“be a very small aperture even as small as a needle type nozzle”) because the smaller size still is capable of fitting a nasal passage is still accurate and is this statement is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
sjc/STEPHEN J CASTELLANO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733