DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species
in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged. A search of the prior art did not identify the elected species. The examiner has extended the search to encompass various species identified in the prior art below.
Claims 1-15, 17, 19, 23-24, 26, 29, 31 and 35 are currently pending and under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 7/07/2023 is acknowledged and has been considered except where lined through.
Specification
The use of the term EUDRAGIT ®, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagato et al. (US6949571B2, 2005-09-27).
Nagato et al. teach compounds represented by the following formula, a salt thereof, or hydrates thereof
which have excellent AMPA receptor inhibitory action (Abstract). In particular, Nagato et al. teach specific compounds including, but not limited to, the following:
all of which read on the claimed genus (see table beginning at column 141). Moreover, , Nagato et al. teach pharmaceutical composition comprising said compounds which are useful for treating a variety of diseases associated with AMPA receptor or kainite receptor including, but not limited to, epilepsy, vomiting, multiple sclerosis and HIV-myelopathy (Column 48, lines 27-67). Nagato et al. further teach numerous in vitro and in vivo tests for anticonvulsant action induced by AMPA, antimethamphetamine effect and the suppressing action to calcium influx into nerve cells induced by AMPA (see Test Examples beginning at column 215).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 19, 23-24, 26, 29, 31 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagato et al. (US6949571B2, 2005-09-27), as applied above to claims 1-12 and 14, in view of Altable, Marcos (Open Peer Review by Qeios, 2020-05-11: p.1-6, referred to herein as Altable) as evidenced by Ghahremanpour et al. (ACS Med. Chem. Lett. 2020, 11, 2526-2533).
Nagato et al. teach compounds represented by the following formula, a salt thereof, or hydrates thereof
which have excellent AMPA receptor inhibitory action (Abstract). In particular, Nagato et al. teach specific compounds including, but not limited to, the following:
all of which read on the claimed genus (see table beginning at column 141). Moreover, , Nagato et al. teach pharmaceutical composition comprising said compounds which are useful for treating a variety of diseases associated with AMPA receptor or kainite receptor including, but not limited to, epilepsy, vomiting, multiple sclerosis and HIV-myelopathy (Column 48, lines 27-67). With regards to the pharmaceutical composition, Nagato et al. teach that the pharmaceutical composition comprises the compound in combination with a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and can be in the form for oral administration (column 47, lines 37-45). Nagato et al. further teach numerous in vitro and in vivo tests for anticonvulsant action induced by AMPA, antimethamphetamine effect and the suppressing action to calcium influx into nerve cells induced by AMPA (see Test Examples beginning at column 215).
Nagato et al. does not specifically teach that the AMPA related disease is COVID-19.
Altable discusses whether Perampanel, a drug currently used in epilepsy which acts through AMPA receptors thereby modulating the flow of glutamate, would have therapeutic and neuroprotective effects in COVID-19 infections (Abstract). Altable bases the discussion on some of the following:
Memantine, an N-methyl-D-aspartate receptor (NMDA) antagonist that regulates glutamate flux, decreases mortality and replication rates of SARS-CoV-1 in the central nervous system in a dose dependent manner (page 2, paragraph starting with Brison E)
A variant of SARS-CoV-1 that hosts a point mutation in it superficial spike protein (S) (Y241H) produces glutamate excitotoxicity and has been associated with dysregulation at the level of AMPA receptors (Page 3, paragraph bridging page 2).
Glutamate excitotoxicity may be involved in CNS infections with West Nile Virus, HIV, human herpes virus 6, human T-lymphotropic virus type 1 (HTLV-1), bornavirus and sindbis virus, wherein dysregulation of glutamate homeostatis leads to neuronal loss (neurodegeneration) as shown in other virus infections (page 3, 1st full paragraph).
4) Glutamatergic transmission modulators have shown antiviral properties against a human neurotropic and neuroinvasive virus (page 3, 2nd full paragraph).
In view of this, Altable suggests that it would be interesting to carry out new studies on the role of perampanel in models of SARS-CoV-1 and SARS-CoV-2 (Covid-19) incetion (page 3, last paragraph). While the prior art does not specifically teach the structure of perampanel, as evidenced by Figure 2 of Ghahremanpour et al., Perampanel has the following structure:
which is identical to compound 7 above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Nagato et al. to include patients with COVID-19 in view of the teachings of Altable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Altable provides strong reasoning for the use of perampanel in patients with COVID-19 infection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15, 17, 19, 23-24, 26, 29, 31 and 35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-9, 11, 13-17, 19 and 21-22 of copending Application No. 18/881,672 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compounds claimed and encompassed by formula I or formula (I-A) of the reference application substantially overlap in scope with the compounds claimed and encompassed by formula I or formula (I-A) of the instant application .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Therefore, No claim is allowed. NOTE: When Rc is
, the compounds of formula I are free of the prior art.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US7759367B1 to Smith, Terence (2010-07-02)
BRANDON J. FETTEROLF, PHD
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1626
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626