Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2021/045963 (08/13/2021)
PCT/US2021/045963 has PRO 63/065,118 (08/13/2020).
Status
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 11-18, 23, 28, 30, 34, 41, 81, 94 are pending.
Rejections not reiterated in this action are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Limjeerajarus et al. (Key Engineering Materials, 2020-08-03, 856(11): p. 391-398).
Limjeerajarus teaches “a Thermo-Sensitive Injectable Hydrogel as an Iloprost Delivery System for Dental Use” (Title) “that prolonged the release of iloprost for up to 5 days in vitro” (p. 396). Limjeerajarus teaches the composition also comprises PF-127 hydrogel (also known as poloxamer 407) (p. 392). The prior art product has substantially the same structure as the product of the claim and in its normal use would result in the same concentration and time range. As per MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Response to Remarks - 35 USC § 102
Applicant amended claim 1 adding the language “wherein the composition is a phospholipid gel” and argues that claim 1 is thus novel.
Regarding claims depending from claim 1 the rejection is withdrawn. Applicant does not argue claim 41 which is independent. This rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 11-18, 23, 28, 30, 34, 41, 81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Limjeerajarus et al. (Key Engineering Materials, 2020-08-03, 856(11): p. 391-398) in view of Chen et al. (US20120316108).
Regarding amended claim 1, Limjeerajarus teaches iloprost formulated in a sustained release biocompatible polymer, hydrogel depot (Title: “a Thermo-Sensitive Injectable Hydrogel as an Iloprost Delivery System for Dental Use”; p. 396: “that prolonged the release of iloprost for up to 5 days in vitro”). Limjeerajarus does not teach a phospholipid gel.
Chen teaches phospholipid gel compositions for sustained release of pharmaceuticals (Abstract, claim 1, [0097]-[0104]). Chen teaches phospholipid gels for formulation have advantages over polymer-based depots, including smaller diameter needle size for injection ([0005]). Chen teaches the gel compositions are applicable to a wide range of pharmaceutical agents ([0097]-[0104]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably considered improving Limjeerajarus’ injectable hydrogel by utilizing the phospholipid gel of Chen and arrive at the claimed invention. Once of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the combined teaching of the prior art to create a controlled release formulation with the beneficial aspects of the phospholipid gel. One of ordinary skill in the art had a reasonable expectation of success because both prior art references are to injectable controlled release formulations in the same field of endeavor. Such a modification of Limjeerajarus’ injectable composition with an improved equivalent for the same purpose is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Chen teaches optimized plasma drug concentration profiles and dose adjustment ([0201]-[0202], [0326]-[0355]) as does Limjeerajarus (p. 395-396) that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the optimization as a well-known results-effective variable and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, both Limjeerajarus and Chen teach formulation for subcutaneous administration.
Regarding claim 6, Limjeerajarus teaches varying the weight percent to optimize the iloprost delivery (p. 391-92) that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered routine optimization of a results-effective variable.
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches the composition comprises phospholipids including lecithin (claim 12).
Regarding claims 11-12, Chen teaches the composition comprises oil, including vitamin E (claim 13).
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches the composition comprises sucrose (claim 14).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches the composition comprises an acidifying agent (claim 16).
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches the composition comprises an ethanol (claim 15).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches the composition is injectable (claim 18).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches the composition is nanoemulsion (claim 1, [0063]).
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches the composition comprises a peptide ([0097]).
Regarding claim 23, Chen teaches the composition comprises a liposome ([0007]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 28, Chen teaches the composition comprises average particle sizes of 30 -200 nm ([0030]).
Regarding claims 30, 34, Chen teaches the composition comprises micro particles ([0071]: “phospholipid particles or oil droplets of size greater than 500 nm in diameter”) that one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize for utility in being injectable.
Regarding claim 41, Limjeerajarus teaches the same composition as detailed in the 35 USC 102 rejection.
Regarding claim 81, Limjeerajarus teaches a pH which is “about” the same as defined in the instant specification ([0056]) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered optimization of the pH to improve efficacy and arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 94 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Limjeerajarus et al. (Key Engineering Materials, 2020-08-03, 856(11): p. 391-398) in view of Chen et al. (US20120316108) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 11-18, 23, 28, 30, 34, 41, 81 above and further in view of Visalli et al. (J Rare Dis Res Treat. (2017) 2(4): 6-13).
Regarding claim 94, Visalli teaches injection of the iloprost to treat infection including digital ulcer and gangrene in systemic sclerosis patients (p. 6, Table 1) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered utilizing the composition in the same manner including those recited in the claim.
With each of the claims, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Remarks - 35 USC § 103
Applicant amended claim 1 adding the language “wherein the composition is a phospholipid gel” and argues that claim 1 is thus novel. Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to develop a phospholipid gel composition as claimed because Limjeerajarus does not teach such a gel.
This argument is not persuasive because as detailed in the 35 USC 103 rejection above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered known alternative injectable formulations that provide controlled release and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims allowed. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626