DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 USC §103. This rejection is set forth in the prior Office action mailed on December 22, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue: 1) that the primary reference, Koroki, does not teach fatty acid esters and/or fatty acid amines having the oil content as it is now claimed and that generic identification of such compounds does not establish that the softener necessarily contains an ether-extractable oil component within the range as it is now claimed; 2) that the specification explicitly teaches that an oil content of 0.1% by mass or greater is not present in conventional tissue paper irrespective of the basis weight, which range has not been found in existing tissues: and 3) that the secondary references discloses the amount of ether-extractable oil content as it is now claimed. The arguments are not convincing for the following reasons:
With regard to 1), the primary reference, Koroki, teaches the same fatty-acid ester and fatty acid amides, including the same formula of the fatty acid amides, as used and preferred by applicants as shown on ¶-[0016] and [0018]-[0019] of applicants’ specification; see ¶-[0030] of Koroki which discloses (emphasis added):
“As the fatty acid ester series compound of the embodiment, although either of a cationic fatty acid ester series compound and a nonionic fatty acid ester series compound may be used, it is desirable that both of them are included. Further, as the fatty acid ester series compound, it is desirable to use a compound of an alcohol whose carbon number is 6 to 24 and a fatty acid whose carbon number is 7 to 25. The alcohol may be either of a straight chain alcohol, an alcohol including a branched chain, a saturated alcohol and an unsaturated alcohol. In particular, it is preferable to use an alcohol whose carbon number is 10 to 22, and lauryl alcohol, myristyl alcohol, cetyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol, behenyl alcohol and oleyl alcohol are preferable. One type of them may be solely used, or a combination of two or more types of them may be used. As the fatty acid whose carbon number is 7 to 25, either of a straight chain fatty acid, a fatty acid including a branched chain, a saturated fatty acid and an unsaturated fatty acid may be used. In particular, a fatty acid whose carbon number is 10 to 22 is preferable, and lauric acid, myristic acid, palmitic acid, stearic acid, behenic acid and oleic acid are preferable. One type of them may be solely used, or a combination of two or more types of them may be used.”
Same as disclosed by applicants in ¶-[0016] of the original specification. Also Koroki teaches on ¶-[0031] the same fatty-acid amides used and preferred by applicants (disclosed on ¶-[0019] of the current application). Therefore, the extractable oil is inherently the same. It has been held that "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With regard to 2), the claims do not recite that the amount of oil in the tissue, but the amount of oil in the softener, which is not the same. Even to get said amount of oil from the fatty-acid ester(s)/amide(s) on the tissue the softener has to be added at 100% by mass relative to the other components of the tissue, which is not the case.
With regard to 3) the secondary reference(s) was/were used just for the teaching of the add-on of creping agents that is typical used in the creping of tissues and it has been held that “The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference.... Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.” In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). See also In re Sneed, 710 F.2d 1544, 1550, 218 USPQ 385, 389 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (“[I]t is not necessary that the inventions of the references be physically combinable to render obvious the invention under review.”); and In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973) (“Combining the teachings of references does not involve an ability to combine their specific structures.”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF