DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-8, 10, 13-14, 16-20, 22-23, and 26-28 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 4, 6, 10, 13-14, 16, 18-20, and 23 are amended.
Claims 9, 11-12, 15, 21, and 24-25 are cancelled.
Claims 26-28 are newly added.
Claims 1-8, 10, 13-14, 16-20, 22-23, and 26-28 have been considered on the merits.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The objection made onto the specification is withdrawn in light of the response filled on 06/09/2026.
The 112(b) rejections made onto claims 1-10, 13-20 and 22-23 are withdrawn in light of the amendments submitted on 06/09/2026.
New and Maintained Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 28 recites the phrase “wherein the parameters comprise more than 20 µm in diameter of the non-target cell masses” which is indefinite. It is unclear what limitation this phrase imparts on the claim. The “parameters” referred to in this claim are described in claim 1 as “acquiring images of the cell masses for parameters comprising location, dimension, cell number, cell phenotype, and optical signal intensity of the target masses with respect to non-target cell masses to map the target cell masses” (claim 1). It is not clear how the parameters for choosing target cells comprise “more than 20 µm in diameter of the non-target cell masses” as provided in claim 28. This is unclear because it is not clear if claim 28 is attempting to limit wherein the target cell masses are less than 20 µm, meaning that anything over 20 µm is to be considered a non-target cell mass. Additionally, the way the claim is written specifically that “the parameters comprise more than 20 µm in diameter” possibly reads as a result of practicing the method, but the claim remains unclear. The claim is being interpreted to be met by any cell mass having more than 20 µm in diameter, because “target cell masses” are subjective to the person targeting the masses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8, and 23 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhao et al (US11994456B2). The rejection has been amended to reflect the amendments made onto the claims submitted on 06/09/2026.
Claim Interpretation: The “cell mass” of claim 1 is being interpreted to include single cells or cell cultures including cell clumps.
With regards to claim 1, Zhao teaches a method for selecting target cell masses from a source and fabricating a biomaterial-encapsulated cell mass model (BECM) based on the selected (target) cell masses comprising: providing one or more cell masses in an intact or partially digested state (col. 9, para 2), providing a formulation of a biomaterial to encapsulate the cell masses in-situ (Claim 1 of Zhao), mixing the formulation of the biomaterial with the target cell masses in the corresponding compartment (Claim 1 of Zhao), subjecting the intact or partially digested cell masses to a cell imaging device (Claim 1 of Zhao), acquiring images of the cell masses to target cell masses to be encapsulates into the biomaterial (Claim 1 of Zhao), determining location, dimension, cell number, cell phenotype and optical signal intensity of the target cell masses with respect to non-target cell masses in the images (Claim 1 of Zhao; Col. 10, para 3), and followed by inducing a formation of a network, gelation system or scaffold which in-situ for encapsulates the target cell masses (Claim 1 of Zhao). Regarding the limitation obtaining the 3D coordinates of the target cell masses determined by the images for the subsequent selective in-situ encapsulation, Zhao directly teaches directly selecting a particle of interest on a microscope image and using LCD pixel control to encapsulate the particle/cell (Fig. 5 and Col. 7 description of Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao teaches that the cells of the invention can be primary cells or transformed cells as required by claim 2 (Col. 4, para 5).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao teaches that the biomaterial in which the cell masses are encapsulated in is biocompatible and that the gelation of the biomaterial is stimulated by light irradiation at the location of the cell masses, which also constitutes a chemical composition change, as required by claim 4 (Col. 2, para 3).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao teaches wherein the precursor is a photo-crosslinkable hydrogel as required by claim 5 (Col. 4, para 6).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao teaches that the photo-crosslinkable hydrogel is Gel-MA™ as required by claim 6 (Col. 6, Para 12 (see line 40)).
Regarding claims 7-8, Zhao teaches that the composition also comprises a photo-initiator which is taught to be LAP as required by claims 7 and 8 (Col. 6, Para 12 (see line 40-41)). Zhao teaches that the cell masses are mixed with the biomaterial (Claims 1, 24, and 25 of Zhao).
Regarding claim 23, Zhao teaches the cell mass encapsulated material fabricated according to claim 1 as required by claim 23 (Col. 2, para 3).
Therefore, Zhao anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 16-17 remain rejected and new claims 26-28 is newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al (US11994456B2), as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, and 23 in the 102 rejection above, and in view of Moore et al (US20200386742A1). The rejection has been amended to reflect the amendments made onto the claims submitted on 06/09/2026.
Claim Interpretation: Claim 28 is being interpreted to be met by any cell mass having more than 20 µm in diameter, because “target cell masses” are subjective to the person targeting the masses and thus any visible mass may be considered a target or non-target cell mass.
Regarding claims 3, 16-17, and 26-28, the limitations of the independent claim 1 are taught by Zhao above.
Zhao does not teach that that the cell masses are spheroids and organoids as required by claim 3. Zhao does not teach that the target cell masses have an average diameter from about 30 to 2000 µm as required by claim 16. Zhao does not teach that the target cell masses emit optical signals detectable by the cell imaging device representing expression of one or more biomarkers by one or more cell phenotypes of interest as required by claim 17. Zhao does not teach that the target cell masses are 80-100 µm in diameter as required by claim 26. Zhao does not teach that the there is at least 200 µm of separation between the target cell masses and neighboring cell masses as required by claim 27. Zhao does not teach that the parameters comprise more than 20 µm in diameter of the non-target cell masses as required by claim 28.
However, Moore teaches a method of curing target cell masses which are spheroids and organoids ([0136] and claim 1 or Moore).
Regarding claim 3, Moore teaches a method of curing target cell masses which are spheroids and organoids ([0136] and claim 1 or Moore) in a hydrogel as required by claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, Moore discloses that the target cell masses have an average diameter between 30-2000 microns as required by claim 16 ([0008]/[0131]).
Regarding claim 17, Moore also discloses that the cell masses emit optical signals detectable by the cell imaging device representing expression of one or more biomarkers by one or more cell phenotypes of interest as required by claim 17 ([0187]). Additionally, Moore teaches “[u]sing a dual hydrogel construct and spheroids comprising neuronal cells, the present disclosure provides methods, devices, and systems for in vitro spatially-controlled, three-dimensional models that permit intra- and extra-cellular electro-physiological measurements and recordings” (abstract).
Regarding claim 26, Moore discloses that the target cell masses have an average diameter between 30-2000 microns ([0008]/[0131]).
Regarding claim 27, Moore demonstrates a spheroid within a hydrogel which is farther than 200 µm from another cell mass (See Fig. 23A).
Regarding claim 28, Moore discloses that the target cell masses, which can be considered non-target cell masses depending on the application, have an average diameter between 30-2000 microns ([0008]/[0131]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious at the effective filling date of the instant invention to combine the method of separating cell particles prepared in a light-curable hydrogel taught by Zhao with the spheroid/organoid compositions in hydrogels taught by Moore to arrive at the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because Moore teaches “[u]sing a dual hydrogel construct and spheroids comprising neuronal cells, the present disclosure provides methods, devices, and systems for in vitro spatially-controlled, three-dimensional models that permit intra- and extra-cellular electro-physiological measurements and recordings” (abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when combining Zhao with Moore because both are in the art of curing hydrogel compositions for controlling the movement or capture of specific cells and/or spheroid/organoids.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 10, 13-15, 19-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al (US11994456B2), as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, and 23 in the 102 rejection above, and in view of Tafas et al (US20210252518A1).
With regards to claims 10, 13-15, 19-20, and 22, the limitations of the independent claim 1 are taught above by Zhao.
Regarding claim 10, Zhao teaches that the cell imaging device comprises a microscope for acquiring visible light, fluorescent, and luminescent signals from the cell masses as required by claim 10 (See claims 1 and 14 of Zhao). Zhao teaches that the cell imaging device contains a camera for outputting images of the cell masses comprising bright-field, dark-field, fluorescent, and luminescent images as required by claim 10 (see claims 1 and 14 of Zhao).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao teaches that the method further comprises mapping the target cell madded determined on the images after mixing the cell masses with the biomaterial as required by claim 13 (see claim 1 of Zhao).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao teaches wherein the mapping of the target cell masses is performed by algorithm (Col. 12, second to last para) or manually as required by claim 14 (Col. 2, para 5). Zhao teaches acquiring images, which includes receiving images, of the cell masses to target cell masses to be encapsulates into the biomaterial (Claim 1 of Zhao), determining location, dimension, cell number, cell phenotype and optical signal intensity of the target cell masses with respect to non-target cell masses in the images (Claim 1 of Zhao; Col. 10, para 3). Further, Zhao teaches that the image analysis algorithm is configured to differentiate between non-target and target cell masses and is able to calculate the exact location of each cell mass relative to the others (Col. 13, para 1).
Regarding claims 19-20, Zhao teaches wherein a stimulation to induce the biomaterial which contains both a precursor and the photo-initiator, to form the network, gelation system, or scaffold is specifically applied to the compartments at where the target cell masses are mapped from the images as required by claims 19 and 20 (Col. 13, para 1, claim 1 of Zhao, and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, Zhao teaches that the method further comprises sorting the BECM by a sorting mechanism using a light scattering device as required by claim 22 (Col. 2, para 3).
Zhao does not teach that the cell imaging device contains one or more compartments comprising a temperature control mechanism and a gas regulation mechanism as required by claim 10.
However, Tafas discloses a biological sample holder and handler system which is an automated microscope employed to image cells mixed in a hydrogel solution ([0012] and [0107]). Tafas discloses that the biological sample holder and handler system contains a microscope which has a specially designed chamber for gas regulation and control of temperature of the cell culture being observed as required by claim 10 ([0097]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious at the effective filling date of the instant invention to combine the method of separating cell particles prepared in a light-curable hydrogel taught by Zhao with the microscope based system with gas and temperature regulation taught by Tafas to arrive at the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because Tafas teaches that the disclosed system allows for the observation and culture of cell under more realistic biological conditions ([0012]-[0013]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when combining Zhao with Tafas because both concern cell microscopy and imaging.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al (US11994456B2), in view of Tafas et al (US20210252518A1), as applied to claims 1, 10, 13-15, 19-20, and 22 above, and in further view of Moore et al (US20200386742A1).
With regards to claim 18, the limitations of the independent claim 1 are taught above.
Zhao and Tefas do not teach that each of the target cell masses are non-target cell masses are separated by a distance larger than 0-2000 µm as required by claim 18.
However, Moore teaches a method of curing target cell masses which are spheroids and organoids ([0136] and claim 1 or Moore) in a hydrogel. Moore demonstrates that the desired cell masses are above 2000 µm apart as required by claim 18 ([0056] and Fig. 25).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious at the effective filling date of the instant invention to combine the method of separating cell particles prepared in a light-curable hydrogel taught by Zhao with the spheroid/organoid compositions in hydrogels taught by Moore to arrive at the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because Moore teaches “[u]sing a dual hydrogel construct and spheroids comprising neuronal cells, the present disclosure provides methods, devices, and systems for in vitro spatially-controlled, three-dimensional models that permit intra- and extra-cellular electro-physiological measurements and recordings” (abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when combining Zhao with Moore because both are in the art of curing hydrogel compositions for controlling the movement or capture of specific cells and/or spheroid/organoids.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al (US11994456B2), in view of Wang et al (US20100178304A1).
With regards to claim 4, the limitations of the independent claim 1 are taught above by Zhao. Additionally, Zhao teaches the embodiments of claim 4 wherein the stimulation of the biomaterial is completed through light irradiation and chemical composition changes as described in the 102 rejection employing Zhao above.
Zhao does not teach the alternative embodiment of claim 4 wherein the biomaterial is stimulated by temperature change or pH change as required in the alternative by claim 4.
However, Wang teaches about conditions for gelation of various hydrogels, which can be used for the purpose of encapsulating biological materials and viable cells (abstract). Wang teaches that both changes in temperature and pH are physical stimulants which are commonly used for the gelation of various hydrogel compositions as required in the alternative by claim 4 ([0022]). Additionally, Wang teaches that “[t]he hydrogels resulting from the methods of the invention exhibit both good mechanical properties and proteolytic degradation profiles” ([0009]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious at the effective filling date of the instant invention to combine the method of separating cell particles prepared in a light-curable hydrogel taught by Zhao with the gelation techniques taught by Wang to arrive at the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because Wang teaches that “[t]he hydrogels resulting from the methods of the invention exhibit both good mechanical properties and proteolytic degradation profiles” ([0009]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when combining Zhao with Wang because both are in the art of curing hydrogel compositions for controlling the movement or capture of biological materials such as viable cells.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks, pg. 12) in reference to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection made employing Zhao does not teach the limitation of measuring the size of the cells from an image and that Zhao does not disclose obtaining the 3D coordinates of the target cell masses determined by the images for the subsequent selective in-situ encapsulation.
In response, the argument is not found persuasive. Zhao teaches imaging the field of view including cells and the resulting image supplies size coordinates along the side of the image which a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to ascertain size from (Figs. 4-5). The fact that Zhao also provides a method of obtaining cell size using a single beam of liquid which would be more precise to obtain average cell size does not mitigate the fact that a person of ordinary skill in the art could estimate cell size from the provided images. Further, Regarding the limitation obtaining the 3D coordinates of the target cell masses determined by the images for the subsequent selective in-situ encapsulation, Zhao directly teaches directly selecting a particle of interest on a microscope image and using LCD pixel control to encapsulate the particle/cell (Fig. 5 and Col. 7 description of Fig. 5). Therefore, the arguments are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks, pg. 12-13) in relation to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection made employing Zhao in view of Moore that Moore does not disclose the alleged deficiencies of Zhao, that Zhao and Moore are not analogous art because Moore teaches spheroid selection and Zhao teaches single cell selection and the combination of which would render the size-based selection in Zhao meaningless.
In response, the argument is not found persuasive. The alleged deficiencies of Zhao are addressed at point 21 above. In response to applicant's argument that Zhao and Moore are nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, although Zhao is concerned with single cells and Moore is concerned with spheroids, both Zhao and Moore teach methods of target cell/spheroid encapsulation in hydrogels. Moore teaches a method of curing target cell masses which are spheroids and organoids ([0136] and claim 1 or Moore). Therefore, Zhao and Moore are within the same field of endeavor, target encapsulation of cell masses. Thus, the arguments are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks, pg. 14) in reference to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection employing Zhao, Moore, and Tafas that Neither Moore or Tafas remedy the alleged deficiencies of Zhao in teaching finding the 3D coordinates of the target cell masses.
In response, the argument is not found persuasive. The alleged deficiencies of Zhao are addressed at point 21 above. Thus, the arguments are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks, pg. 14) in reference to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection employing Zhao, and Wang that Wang does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Zhao in teaching finding the 3D coordinates of the target cell masses.
In response, the argument is not found persuasive. The alleged deficiencies of Zhao are addressed at point 21 above. Thus, the arguments are not found persuasive.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner Contact Information
CONSTANTINA E. STAVROU
Examiner
Art Unit 1632
/TITILAYO MOLOYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632