DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “actuator mechanism” in claims 1, 24, 28 and 29 and, “a feature configured to change inertia” and “a feature configured to create turbulent flow” in claims 16 and 29, “locking mechanism” in claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, 28 and all claims depending therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites “the second body part has a higher inertia than the first body part” lines 1-2. It is unclear how “a higher inertia” is measured between the second body part and the first body part. It is unclear if the “higher inertia” is determined due to the weight, mass, material of the body parts or some other means.
Claim 28 recited “the second body part has a higher inertia than the first body part” in the last line. It is unclear how “a higher inertia” is measured between the second body part and the first body part. It is unclear if the “higher inertia” is determined due to the weight, mass, material of the body parts or some other means.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 15, 19-20 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cabiri et al. (US Patent Pub. 20200222625 hereinafter “Cabiri”).
Regarding Claim 1, Cabiri teaches (Figs 4a-4d) a drug delivery device having a central axis, the drug delivery device comprising:
a first body part (422);
a second body part (404);
an attachment part (410) attached to the first body part (422) and having a distal end (428); and
an actuator mechanism (402) configured to rotate the first body (422) part in relation to the second body part (404) about a primary axis of the drug delivery device (See Figs 4a-4d; also see [0123-0124] teaching how pressing 402 against skin actuates the device such that 422 pivots/rotates relative to 404),[[;]]
wherein the drug delivery device comprises only a single attachment part (see Fig 4a, there is only one attachment part 410).
Regarding Claim 15, Cabiri teaches the drug delivery device according to claim 1, wherein the second body part (402) comprises a resistive feature (413; see [0123])).
Regarding Claim 19, Cabiri teaches the drug delivery device according to claim 1, wherein the actuator mechanism comprises a resilient part (413) configured to apply force to the first body part and/or the second body part (402; see [0123]).
Regarding Claim 20, Cabiri teaches the drug delivery device according to claim 1, wherein the first body part (422) is configured to rotate in a first direction (downwards from position in Fig 4a) and the second body part (402) is configured to rotate in a second direction (upwards from position in Fig 1) opposite to the first direction.
Regarding Claim 25, Cabiri teaches the drug delivery device according to claim 1, wherein the drug delivery device comprises a locking mechanism (see [0117] teaching the needle is locked, and the needle is attached to the first body part 422) configured to lock the first body part (422) in relation to the second body part (402) in a first state of the drug delivery device (See [0117]).
Claim(s) 1, 21-24 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mojarrad et al. (US 20230302264 hereinafter “Mojarrad”).
Regarding Claim 1, Mojarrad teaches (Figs 5a-5C) a drug delivery device (500) having a central axis, the drug delivery device comprising:
a first body part (540);
a second body part (514);
an attachment part (508) attached to the first body part (540) and having a distal end; and
an actuator mechanism (see [0080-0081]; it is interpreted that the inflation is the actuator) configured to rotate the first body part in relation to the second body part about a primary axis of the drug delivery device (see [0080-0081] teaching how inflation of 540 results in 540 rotating relative to walls 514 of the device 500),
wherein the drug delivery device comprises only a single attachment part ([0081] teaches 508 as “one or more microneedles”, the examiner is interpreting there is one microneedle 508 which is “a single attachment part”).
Regarding Claim 21, Mojarrad teaches the drug delivery device according to claim 1, wherein the distal end of the attachment part is provided with a tip configured to penetrate a biological tissue (see [0081] "the pointed ends of the tissue penetrating delivery members 508 may be oriented in such a way so as to facilitate penetration into the wall 118 of the gastrointestinal tract.")
Regarding Claim 22, Mojarrad teaches the drug delivery device according to claim 1, wherein the drug delivery device comprises a first compartment, (see [0082] teaching a drug compartment in 502) wherein the drug delivery device is configured to deliver an active drug substance from the first compartment to the surroundings of the drug delivery device (See [0081] teaching drug delivery).
Regarding Claim 23, Mojarrad teaches the drug delivery device according to claim 1, wherein the drug delivery device has a first state (fig 5A) where the first body part (540) and the second body part (514) are rotationally stationary relative to each other and a second state (Fig 5C) where the first body part (540) and the second body part (514) are rotationally mobile relative to each other (See [0080-0081]).
Regarding Claim 24, Mojarrad teaches the drug delivery device according to claim 1, wherein the actuator mechanism is configured to move the distal end (tip of 508) from a primary position (Fig 5a) with a primary radial distance (radial distance between 508 and central axis in Fig 5a) from the central axis of the delivery device to a secondary position (Fig 5C) with a secondary radial distance (radial distance of 508 and central axis in Fig 5C) from the central axis, wherein the secondary radial distance is larger than the primary radial distance (see Figs 5A and 5C, the radial distance in Fig 5C is greater than Fig 5A).
Regarding Claim 26, Mojarrad teaches the drug delivery device according to claim 1, wherein the attachment part (508) is rotationally attached to the first body part (540) by a hinge (See annotated Fig 5B) and configured to rotate about a first rotation axis perpendicular or parallel to the primary axis (See Fig 5b – 5c).
Annotated Fig 5B (Mojarrad)
Regarding Claim 27, Mojarrad teaches the drug delivery device according to claim 1, wherein the drug delivery device is biodegradable (see [0055] teaching components of the device may be made of biodegradable materials).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-18, 25 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mojarrad (US 20230302264).
Regarding Claims 15-16, Mojarrad teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. Mojarrad Figs 5a-5c do not specify the drug delivery device wherein the first body part and/or the second body part comprises a resistive feature; wherein the resistive feature is selected from one or more of: a high friction surface, a feature configured to change inertia, and a feature configured to create turbulent flow.
Mojarrad Figs 1a-1b teaches the second body part (102) frictionally engages the inner wall of the gastrointestinal tract. It is interpreted that the second body part 102 has a high friction surface which allows for this ‘frictional engagement’ (See [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second body part of the embodiment of Figs 5a-5c of Mojarrad such that it includes a resistive feature which is a high friction surface as taught by the embodiment of Mojarrad Fig 1a-1b. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure the device engages the gastrointestinal wall for delivery of the drug (Mojarrad [0066]).
Regarding Claim 17, Mojarrad teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. Mojarrad does not specify the drug delivery device wherein the second body part has a higher inertia than the first body part (see 112 rejection above).
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Mojarrad to include the second body part having a higher inertia than the first body part since applicant has not disclosed that having the second body part having a higher inertia than the first body part solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either design (it is interpreted that the device would perform equally well if the second body part has a lower inertia than the first body part, the same inertia as the first body part or higher inertia than the first body part). Furthermore, absent a teaching as to the criticality of the second body part having a higher inertia than the first body part, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement.
Regarding Claim 18, Mojarrad teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. Mojarrad does not specify the drug delivery device wherein the second body part has a higher or lower weight than the first body part.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Mojarrad to include the second body part has a higher or lower weight than the first body part since applicant has not disclosed that having the second body part has a higher or lower weight than the first body part solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either design (the current design of Mojarrad or a design of Mojarrad where the second part has a different weight than the first part). Furthermore, absent a teaching as to the criticality of the second body part has a higher or lower weight than the first body part, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement.
Regarding Claim 25, Mojarrad teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. Mojarrad Figs 5a-5C do not specify the drug delivery device wherein the drug delivery device comprises a locking mechanism configured to lock the first body part in relation to the second body part in a first state of the drug delivery device.
Mojarrad does teach in the embodiment of Figs 1a-1b that there is a locking mechanism (112) that locks the first body part (106) in relation to the second body part (114) in a first state of the drug delivery device (Fig 1A; see [0066] teaching how once coating 112 degrades it allows for 106 to rotate outward).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of the embodiment of Figs 5a-5c of Mojarrad such that it includes a coating that functions as a locking mechanism configured to lock the first body part in relation to the second body part in a first state of the drug delivery device as taught by the embodiment of Mojarrad Fig 1a-1b. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure the device will deliver the drug at the desired location since the coating will only dissolve at certain locations within the GI tract based on the pH level of the environment (See [0062]).
Regarding Claim 28, Mojarrad teaches (Figs 5a-5C) a drug delivery device (500) suitable for oral administration (see [0023] teaching embodiment is swallowable) of a drug and having a central axis, the drug delivery device comprising:
a first body part (540);
a second body part (514);
an attachment part (508) attached to the first body part (540) and having a distal end, wherein the distal end of the attachment part is provided with a tip configured to penetrate a biological tissue (see [0081] "the pointed ends of the tissue penetrating delivery members 508 may be oriented in such a way so as to facilitate penetration into the wall 118 of the gastrointestinal tract."); and
an actuator mechanism (see [0080-0081]; it is interpreted that the structure causing the inflation is the actuator mechanism) configured to rotate the first body part in relation to the second body part about a primary axis of the drug delivery device (see [0080-0081] teaching how inflation of 540 results in 540 rotating relative to walls 514 of the device 500),
wherein the drug delivery device comprises only a single attachment part ([0081] teaches 508 as “one or more microneedles”, the examiner is interpreting there is one microneedle 508 which is “a single attachment part”).
Mojarrad does not specify the second body part has a higher inertia than the first body part (See 112 rejection above).
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Mojarrad to include the second body part having a higher inertia than the first body part since applicant has not disclosed that having the second body part having a higher inertia than the first body part solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either design (it is interpreted that the device would perform equally well if the second body part has a lower inertia than the first body part, the same inertia as the first body part or higher inertia than the first body part). Furthermore, absent a teaching as to the criticality of the second body part having a higher inertia than the first body part, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement.
Regarding Claim 29, Mojarrad teaches (Figs 5a-5C) a drug delivery device (500) having a central axis, the drug delivery device comprising:
a first body part (540);
a second body part (514);
an attachment part (508) attached to the first body part (540) and having a distal end; and
an actuator mechanism (see [0080-0081]; it is interpreted that the inflation is the actuator) configured to rotate the first body part in relation to the second body part about a primary axis of the drug delivery device (see [0080-0081] teaching how inflation of 540 results in 540 rotating relative to walls 514 of the device 500),
wherein the drug delivery device comprises only a single attachment part ([0081] teaches 508 as “one or more microneedles”, the examiner is interpreting there is one microneedle 508 which is “a single attachment part”).
Mojarrad Figs 5a-5c do not specify the drug delivery device wherein the first body part and/or the second body part comprises a resistive feature; wherein the resistive feature is selected from one or more of: a high friction surface, a feature configured to change inertia, and a feature configured to create turbulent flow.
Mojarrad Figs 1a-1b teaches the second body part (102) frictionally engages the inner wall of the gastrointestinal tract. It is interpreted that the second body part 102 has a high friction surface which allows for this ‘frictional engagement’ (See [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second body part of the embodiment of Figs 5a-5c of Mojarrad such that it includes a resistive feature which is a high friction surface as taught by the embodiment of Mojarrad Fig 1a-1b. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure the device engages the gastrointestinal wall for delivery of the drug (Mojarrad [0066]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Traverso et al. (US 20200147298) teaches a device that has the inertia calculated along the weight of the portions of the device.
/NEERAJA GOLLAMUDI/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783