DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The following limitations
“a spring element” in claims 1 and 29
“a resistive feature” in claim 15
“a locking mechanism comprising a first locking element” in claim 25
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder
“element”
“feature”
“element”
coupled with functional language
“configured to rotate the first body part in relation to the second body part about a primary axis of the drug delivery device” in claims 1 and 29
“resistive” in claim 15
“configured to lock the first body part in relation to the second body part”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 1, 15, 25, 29 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
“spring element” is described as “The resilient part may e.g. be in the form of a spring or spring element, for example a torsional spring or a power spring” in instant paragraph [0052] of the PGPub.
“resistive feature” is described as “ a high friction surface” in instant paragraph [0056] of the PGPub.
“locking element” is described as “The first locking element may be a first locking band (e.g., ring, loop, partial ring, partial loop).” In instant paragraph [0115] of the PGPub.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mojarrad (US 20230302264).
Regarding Claim 29, Mojarrad teaches (Figs 5a-5C) a drug delivery device (500) configured for delivery of an active drug substance in the gastrointestinal tract, the drug delivery device having a central axis, the drug delivery device comprising:
a first body part (540);
a second body part (514);
an attachment part (508) attached to the first body part (540) and having a distal end, wherein the distal end of the attachment part is provided with a tip configured to penetrate a biological tissue (See [0081] teaching 508 is microneedle that penetrates tissue); and
an actuator mechanism (see [0080-0081]; it is interpreted that the inflation fluid is the actuator) comprising a spring element (see [0080] teaching the inflatable bladder is elastic; therefore the inflation fluid that inflates 540 is considered to be a ‘spring element’ similar to the ‘power spring’ described in the instant application (See 112f interpretation above)) configured to rotate the first body part in relation to the second body part about a primary axis of the drug delivery device (see [0080-0081] teaching how inflation of 540 results in 540 rotating relative to walls 514 of the device 500),
wherein the drug delivery device comprises only a single attachment part ([0081] teaches 508 as “one or more microneedles”, the examiner is interpreting there is one microneedle 508 which is “a single attachment part”).
Mojarrad Figs 5a-5c do not specify the drug delivery device wherein the first body part and/or the second body part comprises a resistive feature; wherein the resistive feature is a high friction surface,.
Mojarrad Figs 1a-1b teaches the second body part (102) frictionally engages the inner wall of the gastrointestinal tract. It is interpreted that the second body part 102 has a high friction surface which allows for this ‘frictional engagement’ (See [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second body part of the embodiment of Figs 5a-5c of Mojarrad such that it includes a resistive feature which is a high friction surface as taught by the embodiment of Mojarrad Fig 1a-1b. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure the device engages the gastrointestinal wall for delivery of the drug (Mojarrad [0066]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 15-16, 18-20, 22-27 and 30-31 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent claim 1, the prior art fails to disclose singly or in combination before the effective filing date, the claimed drug delivery device configured for delivery of an active drug substance in the gastrointestinal tract.
The closest prior art of record is Mojarrad (US 20230302264). Mojarrad teaches (Figs 5a-5C) a drug delivery device (500) configured for delivery of an active drug substance in the gastrointestinal tract, the drug delivery device having a central axis, the drug delivery device comprising:
a first body part (540);
a second body part (514);
an attachment part (508) attached to the first body part (540) and having a distal end, wherein the distal end of the attachment part is provided with a tip configured to penetrate a biological tissue (See [0081] teaching 508 is microneedle that penetrates tissue); and
an actuator mechanism (see [0080-0081]; it is interpreted that the inflation fluid is the actuator) comprising a spring element (see [0080] teaching the inflatable bladder is elastic; therefore the inflation fluid that inflates 540 is considered to be a ‘spring element’ similar to the ‘power spring’ described in the instant application (See 112f interpretation above) configured to rotate the first body part in relation to the second body part about a primary axis of the drug delivery device (see [0080-0081] teaching how inflation of 540 results in 540 rotating relative to walls 514 of the device 500),
wherein the drug delivery device comprises only a single attachment part ([0081] teaches 508 as “one or more microneedles”, the examiner is interpreting there is one microneedle 508 which is “a single attachment part”).
Mojarrad does not teach the drug delivery device wherein the second body part has a higher inertia than the first body part. Furthermore, no art was found that would have made it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Mojarrad to satisfy these limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection takes into consideration the amendments and respective and 112f considerations based on the amendments filed 4/10/2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEERAJA GOLLAMUDI/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/WESLEY G HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3783