DETAILED ACTION
Amended claims 1 thru 13, 15 thru 24 and 26 thru 30 have been entered into the record. Claims 1 thru 10, 14 and 25 have been cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to claims 11 and 19 overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections from the previous office action (8/27/2025). The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant’s first argument is directed to the claimed “in case the multiple-move parking operation has to be performed, selectively determining a start position which is different from the actual position and from which the motor vehicle can be moved into a target position in one move and outputting the determined start position to the driver on a display inside the motor vehicle” (claim 11).
The applicant argues that Lee et al do not teach the display of the start position that is different actual position. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee et al shows a three move parking maneuver to park the vehicle into the parking space (Figure 5), from P1 to P2 to P2’ and then to P3 (P[0039] and P[0040]). Another way to interpret Lee et al Figure 5 is the claimed actual position of the vehicle is point P1, and the claimed start position is at point P2’. Lee et al would still need the claimed multiple move parking operation to be performed, and would then require one move to go from P2’ to P3 (claimed target position in one move). Additionally, Figures 2 and 3 of Lee et al show two maneuver parking, P1 to P2 to P3. The claimed actual position would be point P1, claimed start position would be point P2, and the claimed target position in one move would be point P3. Figures 2, 3 and 5 teach the claimed multiple move parking operation, with the designated points being the claimed actual, start and target positions. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that a parking operation of Lee et al could start at any of the points P1, P2, P2’ and P3, and the display of the plurality of different parking trajectories (claim 18) would include all of these points.
The applicant next argues the claimed displaying to the driver a graphical view in the form of a map with multiple distinct areas, the claimed first area as the start position that allows for a simple movement of the motor vehicle into the parking space in a single move parking operation, the claimed second area that allows a less simple movement of the motor vehicle into the parking space in a single move parking operation, and the claimed third area where the start position requires the multiple move parking operation to be performed to reach the target position. (claim 11). Okano et al was cited for these claim limitations (Figures 1, 4 and 6, P[0061] and P[0062]). The applicant is unsure as to the meaning of “with or without the steering wheel turning back” recited by Okano et al. Based on a reading of Okano et al, the steering wheel turning back is a designation of adjusting the wheel back and forth during a single maneuver. In other words, while in reverse, the direction of the steering wheel is maintained (without turning back); or while in reverse, the direction of the steering wheel is changed (with turning back). Whether or not there is “turning back” performed is not relevant for the claimed graphical view. The number of turn backs or adjustments to the steering is related to the complexity of the required turn to reach the parking space. The mapped areas of Okano et al designate these areas for the amount of steering required to park. Maneuvers that include only reverse motion the vehicle would equates to a single maneuver (despite the number of turn backs), and both reverse and forward motion would equate to multiple maneuvers (despite the number of turn backs).
The applicant next argues the claimed “plurality of trajectories along each of which the motor vehicle can be moved into the target position in one move is communicated to the driver, wherein a respective trajectory is assigned to a class and the class to which the respective trajectory belongs is communicated to the driver” (claim 11). The applicant argues that the references do not teach the claimed class. The applicant’s specification defines ”that the region is divided into subareas that correspond to a respective class” and “the respective trajectory can be marked as belonging to the class which corresponds to the subarea within which the respective trajectory” (PGPub P[0039]), and “A trajectory for parking the motor vehicle 10 in a single move may begin, for example, on one of the third subareas 32, then may traverse one of the second subareas 30, and may finally lead to the target position in the parking space 20 within the first subarea 28. In such a case, said trajectory is for example assigned to the class in which the third subarea 32 is found. Analogously, a trajectory which begins on one of the second subareas 30 and then leads to the target position in the parking space 20 within the first subarea 28 is for example assigned to the class in which the second subarea 30 is found.” (P[0065] and Figure 3). The examiner agrees that the references do not recite the word “class”, but Okano et al assigns different regions 603, 604 and 605 depending on the amount of steering maneuvers required to reach the parking spot (P[0061] and Figure 6). The complexity of the maneuvers displayed in Okano et al would be applied to the display of multiple trajectories of Lee et al. The applicant further argues that this combination is hindsight reasoning. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). The reasons to combine are based on reducing the burden to the driver (Okano et al P[0008]). This complexity of the maneuvers of Okano et al would be indicated to the driver of Lee et al by having the different displayed trajectories indicated as simple, moderate and complex using the region designations of Okano et al. For example, the trajectory of Figure 2 of Lee et al would be designated as region 603 from Okano et al. The trajectory of Figure 3 of Lee et al would be designated as region 604 from Okano et al. And, the trajectory of Figures 4 and 5 of Lee et al would be designated as region 605 from Okano et al.
Based on the above responses to the arguments and the below rejections (modified for the claim amendments), the rejections of claims 11 thru 13, 15 thru 24 and 26 thru 30 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 is indefinite because it is dependent upon the cancelled claim 25.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Each of claims 21 and 22 recite the claim language of the amended independent claim 11 (upon which claims 21 and 22 depend). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 thru 13, 15 thru 24 and 26 thru 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al Patent Application Publication Number 2010/0156671 A1 in view of Okano et al Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0258989 A1.
Regarding claims 11 and 19 Lee et al teach the claimed method for operating a motor vehicle with a driver of the motor vehicle assisted during a parking operation by the motor vehicle, “a method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle” (abstract) and “provides a driver of the vehicle with precise parking assistance” P[0004], and the claimed motor vehicle which is configured to assist a driver of the motor vehicle during a parking operation, “a vehicle 1 designed as a passenger vehicle, having a device 2 for assisting a parking maneuver of vehicle 1 in a parking space 3” (P[0029] and Figure 1), and “The selection device preferably has a display device, in particular a screen, for displaying the various parking trajectories in order to easily and clearly communicate these trajectories to the driver.” P[0009], the method comprising:
the claimed determining a parking space using one or mor sensors, “The present invention further relates to a method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle, in particular a motor vehicle, into a parking space situated transverse to the vehicle by use of a device of the aforementioned type, the parking space measuring device performing an at least partial geometric measurement of the parking space before the vehicle is parked in the parking space, and based on the measurement of the parking space the evaluation unit determining a parking trajectory of the vehicle into the parking space.” P[0001];
the claimed determining whether a multiple move parking operation has to be performed in order to reach the target position from an actual position of the motor vehicle, when the vehicle 1 is at the starting point P1 (P[0034] and Figures 2 and 3), starting point P1 equates to the claimed actual position, and the vehicle needs to be at position P2 in order to complete the parking in one move (Figures 2 and 3, and P[0036], P[0037]), the destination point P3 equates to the claimed target position;
the claimed in case the multiple-move parking operation has to be performed, selectively determining a start position which is different from the actual position and from which the motor vehicle can be moved to the target position in one move, the vehicle 1 moves from start position P1 to the intermediate point P2 to the destination point P3 in a move (Figures 2 and 3, and P[0033]), P1 equates to the claimed actual position, P2 equates to the claimed start position which is different from the actual position, the move from P2 to P3 equates to the claimed motor vehicle can be moved to the target position in one move; and
the claimed outputting the determined start position to the driver on a display inside the motor vehicle, “An output device 17, used for visual output of the screen of display device 14 and for acoustic output of a speaker 18, is provided for transmitting information to an operator of vehicle 1, usually the driver, concerning a vehicle operation for guiding vehicle 1 along the selected parking trajectory 12 into parking space 3.” (P[0032] and Figure 1), “Use of a best fit line 22 from a starting position identified by starting point P1 to intermediate point P2 allows collision-free parking from intermediate point P2 to destination point P3, and thus into the parked position of vehicle 1 in parking space 3.” P[0036] and Figure 2), “a possible starting position for a parking maneuver--which then uses two parking moves--may be achieved via a best fit travel forward along a forward trajectory 26, starting from a starting point P1 to an intermediate point P2” (P[0037] and Figure 3), and “a display device adapted to display the plurality of different parking trajectories” (claim 18);
the claimed in case a multiple-move parking operation does not have to be performed, selectively outputting at least one indication and communicating to the driver at least one trajectory along which the motor vehicle can be moved into a target position in the parking space in one move, “FIG. 2 shows an example of a parking maneuver of a vehicle 1 into a parking space 3 using a single parking move.” (P[0033] and Figure 2), “An output device 17, used for visual output of the screen of display device 14 and for acoustic output of a speaker 18, is provided for transmitting information to an operator of vehicle 1, usually the driver, concerning a vehicle operation for guiding vehicle 1 along the selected parking trajectory 12 into parking space 3.” (P[0032] and Figure 1), and if the vehicle starts travel from a point P2 to the destination point P3 this equates to the claimed multiple-move parking operation does not have to be performed.
the claimed controlling the motor vehicle while maneuvering into the parking space based on the determined start position or the at least one trajectory, “for parking in which the driver performs steering, braking, and acceleration of the vehicle, as well as for parking in which the steering is performed automatically and the activity of the driver is limited to the braking and acceleration in addition to a monitoring function, and is also suitable for fully automatic parking in which the driver performs only a monitoring function” P[0008], wherein
the claimed plurality of trajectories along each of which the motor vehicle can be moved into the target position in one move is communicated to the driver, “Selection device 13 has a display device 14, situated in the region of an instrument panel of vehicle 1, having a screen for displaying the various parking trajectories determined by evaluation unit 11.” P[0031], and “When a display device is used for displaying the parking trajectories, the completeness and clarity of the display is additionally increased when the displays of the parking trajectories are designated according to their sequence. For example, the parking trajectories may be designated by consecutive Arabic numerals, or the minimum number of parking moves required for the particular parking trajectory may be indicated on the parking trajectories.” P[0017], by designating the minimum number of parking moves to “one” the display would include the trajectories that are done in a single move.
Lee et al do not teach the claimed displaying to the driver a graphical view in the form of a map with multiple distinct areas, the claimed first area as the start position that allows for a simple movement of the motor vehicle into the parking space in a single move parking operation, the claimed second area that allows a less simple movement of the motor vehicle into the parking space in a single move parking operation, and the claimed third area where the start position requires the multiple move parking operation to be performed to reach the target position. Lee et al to teach a display device for displaying the various parking trajectories in order to easily and clearly communicate these trajectories to the driver P[0009]. A graphical view map of the three areas would be displayed on the display device of Lee et al. Additionally, Lee et al do not teach the claimed respective trajectory is assigned a class and the class to which the respective trajectory belongs is communicated to the driver.
Okano et al teach,
the claimed displaying to the driver a graphical view in the form of a map with multiple distinct areas, “FIG. 6 illustrates an image of a plurality of regions corresponding to a rearward-movement start position displayed on image display section 102 in step S408.” (P[0061, Figures 1, 4 and 6),
the claimed first area as the start position that allows for a simple movement of the motor vehicle into the parking space in a single move parking operation, “in order to park host vehicle 601 at target parking position 602, image display section 102 displays three icons indicating first region 603 where parking is possible without steering wheel turning back” (P[0061] and Figure 6),
the claimed second area that allows a less simple movement of the motor vehicle into the parking space in a single move parking operation, “in order to park host vehicle 601 at target parking position 602, image display section 102 displays three icons indicating…second region 604 where parking is possible with or without steering wheel turning back” (P[0062] and Figure 6), and
the claimed third area where the start position requires the multiple move parking operation to be performed to reach the target position, “in order to park host vehicle 601 at target parking position 602, image display section 102 displays three icons indicating…third region 605 where parking is possible by turning the steering wheel back as a plurality of regions indicating the rearward-movement start position” (P[0061] and Figure 6).
Okano et al teach the claimed respective trajectory is assigned a class and the class to which the respective trajectory belongs is communicated to the driver, “As shown in FIG. 6, in order to park host vehicle 601 at target parking position 602, image display section 102 displays three icons indicating first region 603 where parking is possible without steering wheel turning back, second region 604 where parking is possible with or without steering wheel turning back and third region 605 where parking is possible by turning the steering wheel back as a plurality of regions indicating the rearward-movement start position. This allows the user to recognize that it is possible to park host vehicle 601 at target parking position 602 by only moving the vehicle so as to fit in at least the frames of first to third regions 603 to 605.” (P[0061] and Figures 6 thru 12B), the regions 603 to 605 equate to the claimed class of the respective trajectory. The display of Okano et al would be included in the display of the plurality of trajectories of Lee et al to allow the user to select the trajectory.
The three regions of Okano et al would be displayed on the display device of Lee et al indicating the complexity of the maneuvers. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle of Lee et al with the image of a plurality of regions corresponding to a rearward-movement start position displayed of Okano et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce a driver's driving burden of moving the driver's host vehicle to a rearward-movement start position and facilitate guidance of the host vehicle from the rearward-movement start position to a target parking position (Okano et al P[0008]).
Regarding claim 12 Lee et al teach the claimed assisting the driver with reaching the start position with the motor vehicle by outputting the at least one indication, “Use of a best fit line 22 from a starting position identified by starting point P1 to intermediate point P2 allows collision-free parking from intermediate point P2 to destination point P3, and thus into the parked position of vehicle 1 in parking space 3.” (P[0036] and Figure 2), “a possible starting position for a parking maneuver--which then uses two parking moves--may be achieved via a best fit travel forward along a forward trajectory 26, starting from a starting point P1 to an intermediate point P2” (P[0037] and Figure 3), and “An output device 17, used for visual output of the screen of display device 14 and for acoustic output of a speaker 18, is provided for transmitting information to an operator of vehicle 1, usually the driver, concerning a vehicle operation for guiding vehicle 1 along the selected parking trajectory 12 into parking space 3.” P[0032].
Regarding claim 13 Lee et al do not teach the claimed in order to determine the start position, one or more conditions are taken into account to include at least one dimension of a parking space in which the motor vehicle is located when it reaches the target position. But it is well known in the art for a parking assistance system to determine the size of the parking space in order to proper guide a vehicle into the space. Okano et al teach, “state control section 112 can perceive the position and size of the space with reference to the current position of the host vehicle estimated as described above and the distance information acquired from distance information acquiring section 110 and determine a target parking position” (P[0044] and Figure 3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle of Lee et al with the perceiving of position and size of a parking space of Okano et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce a driver's driving burden of moving the driver's host vehicle to a rearward-movement start position and facilitate guidance of the host vehicle from the rearward-movement start position to a target parking position (Okano et al P[0008]).
Regarding claim 15 Lee et al do not teach the claimed when assigning the respective trajectory to the class a magnitude of at least one steering deflection of a steerable wheel of the motor vehicle to be performed when traveling along a the respective trajectory is taken into account. Okano et al teach, “image display section 102 displays three icons indicating first region 603 where parking is possible without steering wheel turning back, second region 604 where parking is possible with or without steering wheel turning back and third region 605 where parking is possible by turning the steering wheel back as a plurality of regions indicating the rearward-movement start position” P[0061], and the maximum steering angles are used to determine parking positions (P[0063] thru P[0066] and Figure 7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle of Lee et al with the steering angles being determined for parking frame regions of Okano et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce a driver's driving burden of moving the driver's host vehicle to a rearward-movement start position and facilitate guidance of the host vehicle from the rearward-movement start position to a target parking position (Okano et al P[0008]).
Regarding claim 16 Lee et al do not teach the claimed the at least one indication; at least one direction arrow is displayed to the driver on the display of the motor vehicle. The display of a direction arrow would be incorporated into Lee et al as part of the display of the selected trajectory to reach the destination (parking) point. Okano et al teach, “image display section 102 displays rearward-movement start indicating icon 606 superimposed on host vehicle 601 by image creating section 113” (P[0069] and Figure 9), the icon 606 includes an arrow with an “R” in it (claimed at least one direction arrow), and additional icons 606, 607 are shown for display in Figures 10 thru 12B. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle of Lee et al with the image display of indicating arrow icons of Okano et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce a driver's driving burden of moving the driver's host vehicle to a rearward-movement start position and facilitate guidance of the host vehicle from the rearward-movement start position to a target parking position (Okano et al P[0008]).
Regarding claim 17 Lee et al do not teach the claimed at least one indication is displayed on a display of a navigation system of the motor vehicle, but the use of a navigation display to provide assisting navigation instructions is common and well known in the art. It is also common and well known in the art for a dash display to provide multiple types of information, such as infotainment, vehicle health status, communications, and navigation information. Okano et al teach, “In FIG. 1, the parking assistance apparatus includes image processing section 100, which is connected to distance sensor 101, image display section 102, vehicle control section 103, steering angle sensor 104, wheel speed sensor 105, gear position sensor 106 and user operation button 107 to acquire respective input signals. Distance sensor 101, image display section 102, vehicle control section 103, steering angle sensor 104, wheel speed sensor 105, gear position sensor 106 and user operation button 107 may also be included in the parking assistance apparatus.” (P[0035] and Figure 1), and “Image display section 102 is made up of, for example, a display of a navigation apparatus. Image display section 102 may also be constructed of a display of a smartphone or PND (Portable Navigation Device) via radio communication such as short-distance radio communication.” P[0037]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle of Lee et al with the image display being part of the navigation apparatus of Okano et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce a driver's driving burden of moving the driver's host vehicle to a rearward-movement start position and facilitate guidance of the host vehicle from the rearward-movement start position to a target parking position (Okano et al P[0008]).
Regarding claim 18 Lee et al teach the claimed at least one trajectory is communicated to the driver if the driver informs the vehicle that the parking operation is to be performed, “Selection device 13 has a display device 14, situated in the region of an instrument panel of vehicle 1, having a screen for displaying the various parking trajectories determined by evaluation unit 11. Selection device 13 also has input device 15 for selecting one of the various parking trajectories displayed on the screen of display device 14 as the actual parking trajectory.” P[0031], the selecting one of the various parking trajectories displayed on the screen of display device as the actual parking trajectory equates to the claimed driver informs the assistance apparatus that the parking operation is to be performed.
Regarding claim 20 Lee et al do not teach the claimed in order to determine the start position, one or more conditions are taken into account to include at least one dimension of a parking space in which the motor vehicle is located when it reaches the target position. But it is well known in the art for a parking assistance system to determine the size of the parking space in order to proper guide a vehicle into the space. Okano et al teach, “state control section 112 can perceive the position and size of the space with reference to the current position of the host vehicle estimated as described above and the distance information acquired from distance information acquiring section 110 and determine a target parking position” (P[0044] and Figure 3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle of Lee et al with the perceiving of position and size of a parking space of Okano et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce a driver's driving burden of moving the driver's host vehicle to a rearward-movement start position and facilitate guidance of the host vehicle from the rearward-movement start position to a target parking position (Okano et al P[0008]).
Regarding claim 21 Lee et al teach the claimed plurality of trajectories along each of which the motor vehicle can be moved into the target position in one move is communicated to the driver, “Selection device 13 has a display device 14, situated in the region of an instrument panel of vehicle 1, having a screen for displaying the various parking trajectories determined by evaluation unit 11.” P[0031], and “When a display device is used for displaying the parking trajectories, the completeness and clarity of the display is additionally increased when the displays of the parking trajectories are designated according to their sequence. For example, the parking trajectories may be designated by consecutive Arabic numerals, or the minimum number of parking moves required for the particular parking trajectory may be indicated on the parking trajectories.” P[0017], by designating the minimum number of parking moves to “one” the display would include the trajectories that are done in a single move.
Lee et al do not teach the claimed respective trajectory is assigned a class and the class to which the respective trajectory belongs is communicated to the driver. Okano et al teach, “As shown in FIG. 6, in order to park host vehicle 601 at target parking position 602, image display section 102 displays three icons indicating first region 603 where parking is possible without steering wheel turning back, second region 604 where parking is possible with or without steering wheel turning back and third region 605 where parking is possible by turning the steering wheel back as a plurality of regions indicating the rearward-movement start position. This allows the user to recognize that it is possible to park host vehicle 601 at target parking position 602 by only moving the vehicle so as to fit in at least the frames of first to third regions 603 to 605.” (P[0061] and Figures 6 thru 12B), the regions 603 to 605 equate to the claimed class of the respective trajectory. The display of Okano et al would be included in the display of the plurality of trajectories of Lee et al to allow the user to select the trajectory.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle of Lee et al with the parking frame regions of Okano et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce a driver's driving burden of moving the driver's host vehicle to a rearward-movement start position and facilitate guidance of the host vehicle from the rearward-movement start position to a target parking position (Okano et al P[0008]).
Regarding claim 22 Lee et al teach the claimed plurality of trajectories along each of which the motor vehicle can be moved into the target position in one move is communicated to the driver, “Selection device 13 has a display device 14, situated in the region of an instrument panel of vehicle 1, having a screen for displaying the various parking trajectories determined by evaluation unit 11.” P[0031], and “When a display device is used for displaying the parking trajectories, the completeness and clarity of the display is additionally increased when the displays of the parking trajectories are designated according to their sequence. For example, the parking trajectories may be designated by consecutive Arabic numerals, or the minimum number of parking moves required for the particular parking trajectory may be indicated on the parking trajectories.” P[0017], by designating the minimum number of parking moves to “one” the display would include the trajectories that are done in a single move.
Lee et al do not teach the claimed respective trajectory is assigned a class and the class to which the respective trajectory belongs is communicated to the driver. Okano et al teach, “As shown in FIG. 6, in order to park host vehicle 601 at target parking position 602, image display section 102 displays three icons indicating first region 603 where parking is possible without steering wheel turning back, second region 604 where parking is possible with or without steering wheel turning back and third region 605 where parking is possible by turning the steering wheel back as a plurality of regions indicating the rearward-movement start position. This allows the user to recognize that it is possible to park host vehicle 601 at target parking position 602 by only moving the vehicle so as to fit in at least the frames of first to third regions 603 to 605.” (P[0061] and Figures 6 thru 12B), the regions 603 to 605 equate to the claimed class of the respective trajectory. The display of Okano et al would be included in the display of the plurality of trajectories of Lee et al to allow the user to select the trajectory.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle of Lee et al with the parking frame regions of Okano et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce a driver's driving burden of moving the driver's host vehicle to a rearward-movement start position and facilitate guidance of the host vehicle from the rearward-movement start position to a target parking position (Okano et al P[0008]).
Regarding claim 23 Lee et al do not teach the claimed the at least one indication is at least one direction arrow is displayed to the driver on the display of the motor vehicle. The display of a direction arrow would be incorporated into Lee et al as part of the display of the selected trajectory to reach the destination (parking) point. Okano et al teach, “image display section 102 displays rearward-movement start indicating icon 606 superimposed on host vehicle 601 by image creating section 113” (P[0069] and Figure 9), the icon 606 includes an arrow with an “R” in it (claimed at least one direction arrow), and additional icons 606, 607 are shown for display in Figures 10 thru 12B. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle of Lee et al with the image display of indicating arrow icons of Okano et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce a driver's driving burden of moving the driver's host vehicle to a rearward-movement start position and facilitate guidance of the host vehicle from the rearward-movement start position to a target parking position (Okano et al P[0008]).
Regarding claim 24 Lee et al do not teach the claimed the at least one indication is at least one direction arrow is displayed to the driver on the display of the motor vehicle. The display of a direction arrow would be incorporated into Lee et al as part of the display of the selected trajectory to reach the destination (parking) point. Okano et al teach, “image display section 102 displays rearward-movement start indicating icon 606 superimposed on host vehicle 601 by image creating section 113” (P[0069] and Figure 9), the icon 606 includes an arrow with an “R” in it (claimed at least one direction arrow), and additional icons 606, 607 are shown for display in Figures 10 thru 12B. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle of Lee et al with the image display of indicating arrow icons of Okano et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce a driver's driving burden of moving the driver's host vehicle to a rearward-movement start position and facilitate guidance of the host vehicle from the rearward-movement start position to a target parking position (Okano et al P[0008]).
Regarding claim 26 Lee et al do not teach the claimed the at least one indication is at least one direction arrow is displayed to the driver on the display of the motor vehicle. The display of a direction arrow would be incorporated into Lee et al as part of the display of the selected trajectory to reach the destination (parking) point. Okano et al teach, “image display section 102 displays rearward-movement start indicating icon 606 superimposed on host vehicle 601 by image creating section 113” (P[0069] and Figure 9), the icon 606 includes an arrow with an “R” in it (claimed at least one direction arrow), and additional icons 606, 607 are shown for display in Figures 10 thru 12B. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle of Lee et al with the image display of indicating arrow icons of Okano et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce a driver's driving burden of moving the driver's host vehicle to a rearward-movement start position and facilitate guidance of the host vehicle from the rearward-movement start position to a target parking position (Okano et al P[0008]).
Regarding claim 27 Lee et al do not teach the claimed at least one trajectory and an assignment of the at least one trajectory to a class can be marked in at least one region. Okano et al teach, “allows the user to recognize that it is possible to park host vehicle 601 at target parking position 602 by only moving the vehicle so as to fit in at least the frames of first to third regions 603 to 605” P[0061], and “FIG. 8 illustrates an image of a state in which the host vehicle moves forward into a position between the first region where parking is possible without steering wheel turning back and the second region where parking is possible with or without steering wheel turning back. When host vehicle 601 moves forward and host vehicle 601 can no longer reach third region 605 in FIG. 6 even at a maximum steering angle, as shown in FIG. 8, image display section 102 displays only first region 603 and second region 604, and erases third region 605. As host vehicle 601 moves forward, a range of guidance to a rearward-movement start position is narrowed down, and it is thereby possible to make a tradeoff between the degree of freedom of guidance and accuracy.” (P[0067] and Figure 8). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle of Lee et al with the user recognition and display of the regions for parking based on steering wheel angle of Okano et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce a driver's driving burden of moving the driver's host vehicle to a rearward-movement start position and facilitate guidance of the host vehicle from the rearward-movement start position to a target parking position (Okano et al P[0008]).
Regarding claim 28 Lee et al do not teach the claimed at least one trajectory and an assignment of the at least one trajectory to a class can be marked in at least one region. Okano et al teach, “allows the user to recognize that it is possible to park host vehicle 601 at target parking position 602 by only moving the vehicle so as to fit in at least the frames of first to third regions 603 to 605” P[0061], and “FIG. 8 illustrates an image of a state in which the host vehicle moves forward into a position between the first region where parking is possible without steering wheel turning back and the second region where parking is possible with or without steering wheel turning back. When host vehicle 601 moves forward and host vehicle 601 can no longer reach third region 605 in FIG. 6 even at a maximum steering angle, as shown in FIG. 8, image display section 102 displays only first region 603 and second region 604, and erases third region 605. As host vehicle 601 moves forward, a range of guidance to a rearward-movement start position is narrowed down, and it is thereby possible to make a tradeoff between the degree of freedom of guidance and accuracy.” (P[0067] and Figure 8). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle of Lee et al with the user recognition and display of the regions for parking based on steering wheel angle of Okano et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce a driver's driving burden of moving the driver's host vehicle to a rearward-movement start position and facilitate guidance of the host vehicle from the rearward-movement start position to a target parking position (Okano et al P[0008]).
Regarding claim 29 Lee et al do not teach the claimed at least one indication is displayed on a display of a navigation system of the motor vehicle, but the use of a navigation display to provide assisting navigation instructions is common and well known in the art. It is also common and well known in the art for a dash display to provide multiple types of information, such as infotainment, vehicle health status, communications, and navigation information. Okano et al teach, “In FIG. 1, the parking assistance apparatus includes image processing section 100, which is connected to distance sensor 101, image display section 102, vehicle control section 103, steering angle sensor 104, wheel speed sensor 105, gear position sensor 106 and user operation button 107 to acquire respective input signals. Distance sensor 101, image display section 102, vehicle control section 103, steering angle sensor 104, wheel speed sensor 105, gear position sensor 106 and user operation button 107 may also be included in the parking assistance apparatus.” (P[0035] and Figure 1), and “Image display section 102 is made up of, for example, a display of a navigation apparatus. Image display section 102 may also be constructed of a display of a smartphone or PND (Portable Navigation Device) via radio communication such as short-distance radio communication.” P[0037]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle of Lee et al with the image display being part of the navigation apparatus of Okano et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce a driver's driving burden of moving the driver's host vehicle to a rearward-movement start position and facilitate guidance of the host vehicle from the rearward-movement start position to a target parking position (Okano et al P[0008]).
Regarding claim 30 Lee et al do not teach the claimed at least one indication is displayed on a display of a navigation system of the motor vehicle, but the use of a navigation display to provide assisting navigation instructions is common and well known in the art. It is also common and well known in the art for a dash display to provide multiple types of information, such as infotainment, vehicle health status, communications, and navigation information. Okano et al teach, “In FIG. 1, the parking assistance apparatus includes image processing section 100, which is connected to distance sensor 101, image display section 102, vehicle control section 103, steering angle sensor 104, wheel speed sensor 105, gear position sensor 106 and user operation button 107 to acquire respective input signals. Distance sensor 101, image display section 102, vehicle control section 103, steering angle sensor 104, wheel speed sensor 105, gear position sensor 106 and user operation button 107 may also be included in the parking assistance apparatus.” (P[0035] and Figure 1), and “Image display section 102 is made up of, for example, a display of a navigation apparatus. Image display section 102 may also be constructed of a display of a smartphone or PND (Portable Navigation Device) via radio communication such as short-distance radio communication.” P[0037]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for assisting a parking maneuver of a vehicle of Lee et al with the image display being part of the navigation apparatus of Okano et al in order to, with a reasonable expectation of success, reduce a driver's driving burden of moving the driver's host vehicle to a rearward-movement start position and facilitate guidance of the host vehicle from the rearward-movement start position to a target parking position (Okano et al P[0008]).
Related Art
The examiner points to Suzuki et al PGPub 2010/0228426 A1. Suzuki et al is directed to a parking assistance system and method with an image generating part 11 displays a rearward movement starting position image 207 as information image denoting a position for stopping the vehicle and thereby moving rearward the vehicle so as to park the vehicle in the parking target position. The display image 200 in FIG. 5 displays a plurality of rearward movement starting position images 207a, 207b, 207c, 207d, 207e as positions for the vehicle to pass on the way before moving rearward. In addition, the rearward movement starting position images 207a, 207b, 207c, 207d, 207e each are same in scale as the own vehicle image 201. With the display image 200 displayed on the display 5a, the controller 1 displays, on the display 5a, such a language as "Move your vehicle to any one of the orange areas displayed (the rearward movement starting position image 207)" or notify the driver of the same language with the speaker 5b. As such, the display image 200 promotes the driver to superpose the own vehicle image 201 on the rearward movement starting position image 207. (P[0067] and Figure 5). Additionally, with a plurality of rearward movement starting position images 207a, 207b, 207c, 207d, 207e thus displayed, when the vehicle moves toward the rearward movement starting position image 207b as shown in FIG. 6, the movement direction and movement amount of the vehicle are calculated with the movement calculator 12 i) based on the vehicle speed signal and ii) based on the tire turning angle information based on the shift position signal and steering angle signal. Hereinabove, the vehicle speed signal and the tire angle information are sensed with the vehicle information sensor 4. Then, as movement amount information, the movement direction and movement amount of the vehicle are supplied to the image generating part 11. In addition, based on the shift position signal and steering angle signal which are sensed by the vehicle information sensor 4, the estimated track calculator 13 calculates the estimated track information which is a physically movable range of the vehicle, and supplies the estimated track information to the image generating part 11. (P[0069] and Figure 6).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662