DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 02/04/2026.
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the prior art does not teach the amended limitations of claims 1 and 16 (pages 7-8, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. A mapping of the prior art to amended claim 1 (which similarly applies to claim 16) is provided below as well as in the Claim Rejections section.
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a communication apparatus (para. 0205-0207, fig. 21, wireless device 100) comprising: circuitry (para. 0207, processors), which in operation, identifies one of a plurality of power saving states which relate to reception of at least one type of sidelink signals (para. 0140, In addition, the term “transmission” may be interpreted (or extended) as a V2X channel (or signal) transmission operation and/or a WAN UL channel (or signal) transmission operation in the present disclosure. The V2X channel may include the PSCCH, the PSSCH, the PSBCH, and the PSSS/SSSS, and the WAN DL channel may include the PUSCH, the PUCCH, and the SRS in the present disclosure. The term synchronization signal (SS) may be interpreted (or extended) as including “PSBCH” as well as “SLSS” in the present disclosure) to operate in (para. 0208, The processor 102 may calculate required power for transmission of a sidelink signal on an antenna unit basis based on a program stored in the memory 104. Further, the processor 102 may determine reference transmission power based on the calculated required power of the plurality of antenna units, and allocate transmission power to the antenna units based on the reference transmission power, based on the program stored in the memory 104. Further, the processor 102 may perform specific operations and calculate results in correspondence with the methods of determining or redetermining a reference transmission power based on the program stored in the memory 104; para. 0157, when sidelink signals are transmitted through a plurality of antenna panels (beams, antenna ports, TXRUs, or antenna elements), a transmission power required for each of the antenna panels (beams, antenna ports, TXRUs, or antenna elements) is calculated independently),
each of the plurality of power states corresponding to a sidelink capability (para. 0157, when sidelink signals are transmitted through a plurality of antenna panels (beams, antenna ports, TXRUs, or antenna elements), a transmission power required for each of the antenna panels (beams, antenna ports, TXRUs, or antenna elements) is calculated independently, i.e. the transmission of sidelink signals through each of the beams, antenna ports, TXRUs, or antenna elements is a “sidelink capability,” and each is mapped to a transmission power);
and a transceiver (fig. 21, transceivers 106), which in operation, transmit and/or receive at least one type of sidelink signals based on the sidelink capability corresponding to the one of the plurality of power saving states (para. 0159, When the reference required power value REF_POVAL is calculated by weighted averaging, a weight may be applied to each antenna panel in consideration of the property of a sidelink signal related to a specific antenna panel, and the average value of the weighted required power values of the antenna panels may be determined to be the reference required power value REF_POVAL, as follows. A higher (relatively high) weight may be applied to an antenna panel (beam, antenna port, TXRU, or antenna element) through which a message related to a service with a relatively high priority (a message related to a service with a lower PPPP value or a higher PPPR value) is transmitted, an antenna panel (beam, antenna port, TXRU, or antenna element) through a predetermined specific channel (e.g., PSSS/SSSS or PSBCH) or a specific signal is transmitted, an antenna panel (beam, antenna port, TXRU, or antenna element) [i.e. the sidelink capability] having a relatively high CBR (or CR), and/or an antenna panel (beam, antenna port, TXRU, or antenna element) having a relatively low CBR (or CR); para. 0191 of Lee teaches “the UE may allocate transmission power to each antenna unit based on the determined reference transmission power (S905). If the difference between the required power exceeds a predetermined threshold, the UE may transmit a plurality of sidelink signals in TDM through the plurality of antenna units.” This means transmission power is determined prior to sidelink transmission).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the plurality of power states” should be “the plurality of power saving states” instead. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2021/0282143 A1 to Lee et al. (“Lee”).
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a communication apparatus (para. 0205-0207, fig. 21, wireless device 100) comprising: circuitry (para. 0207, processors), which in operation, determines one of a plurality of power saving states which relate to reception of at least one type of sidelink signals to operate in (para. 0208, The processor 102 may calculate required power for transmission of a sidelink signal on an antenna unit basis based on a program stored in the memory 104. Further, the processor 102 may determine reference transmission power based on the calculated required power of the plurality of antenna units, and allocate transmission power to the antenna units based on the reference transmission power, based on the program stored in the memory 104. Further, the processor 102 may perform specific operations and calculate results in correspondence with the methods of determining or redetermining a reference transmission power based on the program stored in the memory 104; para. 0157, when sidelink signals are transmitted through a plurality of antenna panels (beams, antenna ports, TXRUs, or antenna elements), a transmission power required for each of the antenna panels (beams, antenna ports, TXRUs, or antenna elements) is calculated independently; para. 0179 (i.e. detailing types of sidelink signals), the proposed methods of the present disclosure may be restrictively applied, only when a PSSCH and an (associated) PSCCH are transmitted adjacently (and/or non-adjacently) (in the frequency domain), a Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SLSS), a Physical Sidelink Broadcast Channel (PSBCH) (para. 0140, In addition, the term “transmission” may be interpreted (or extended) as a V2X channel (or signal) transmission operation and/or a WAN UL channel (or signal) transmission operation in the present disclosure. The V2X channel may include the PSCCH, the PSSCH, the PSBCH, and the PSSS/SSSS, and the WAN DL channel may include the PUSCH, the PUCCH, and the SRS in the present disclosure. The term synchronization signal (SS) may be interpreted (or extended) as including “PSBCH” as well as “SLSS” in the present disclosure)); and a transceiver (fig. 21, transceivers 106), which in operation, transmit and/or receive at least one type of sidelink signals in response to determining the one of the plurality of power saving states (para. 0159, When the reference required power value REF_POVAL is calculated by weighted averaging, a weight may be applied to each antenna panel in consideration of the property of a sidelink signal related to a specific antenna panel, and the average value of the weighted required power values of the antenna panels may be determined to be the reference required power value REF_POVAL, as follows. A higher (relatively high) weight may be applied to an antenna panel (beam, antenna port, TXRU, or antenna element) through which a message related to a service with a relatively high priority (a message related to a service with a lower PPPP value or a higher PPPR value) is transmitted, an antenna panel (beam, antenna port, TXRU, or antenna element) through a predetermined specific channel (e.g., PSSS/SSSS or PSBCH) or a specific signal is transmitted, an antenna panel (beam, antenna port, TXRU, or antenna element) having a relatively high CBR (or CR), and/or an antenna panel (beam, antenna port, TXRU, or antenna element) having a relatively low CBR (or CR); para. 0191 of Lee teaches “the UE may allocate transmission power to each antenna unit based on the determined reference transmission power (S905). If the difference between the required power exceeds a predetermined threshold, the UE may transmit a plurality of sidelink signals in TDM through the plurality of antenna units.” This means transmission power is determined prior to sidelink transmission).
As to claim 2, Lee further discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to identify the one of the plurality of power saving states to operate in based on an identification of a transmission and/or reception priority relating to the at least one type of sidelink signals (para. 0159, When the reference required power value REF_POVAL is calculated by weighted averaging, a weight may be applied to each antenna panel in consideration of the property of a sidelink signal related to a specific antenna panel, and the average value of the weighted required power values of the antenna panels may be determined to be the reference required power value REF_POVAL, as follows. A higher (relatively high) weight may be applied to an antenna panel (beam, antenna port, TXRU, or antenna element) through which a message related to a service with a relatively high priority (a message related to a service with a lower PPPP value or a higher PPPR value) is transmitted, an antenna panel (beam, antenna port, TXRU, or antenna element) through a predetermined specific channel (e.g., PSSS/SSSS or PSBCH) or a specific signal is transmitted, an antenna panel (beam, antenna port, TXRU, or antenna element) having a relatively high CBR (or CR), and/or an antenna panel (beam, antenna port, TXRU, or antenna element) having a relatively low CBR (or CR)).
As to claim 3, Lee further discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the reception of at least one type of sidelink signals is one of: (a) reception of all types of sidelink signals, (b) reception of Physical Sidelink Control Channels (PSCCHs) and Physical Sidelink Shared Channels (PSSCHs) only (para. 0179, the proposed methods of the present disclosure may be restrictively applied, only when a PSSCH and an (associated) PSCCH are transmitted adjacently (and/or non-adjacently) (in the frequency domain)), (c) reception of PSCCHs only (para. 0140, In addition, the term “transmission” may be interpreted (or extended) as a V2X channel (or signal) transmission operation and/or a WAN UL channel (or signal) transmission operation in the present disclosure. The V2X channel may include the PSCCH, the PSSCH (i.e. may does not require PSSCH)), (d) reception of Sidelink Synchronization Blocks (S-SSBs) and/or a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channels (PSFCHs), (e) reception of PSCCHs and second-stage Sidelink Control Information (SCI) only.
As to claim 4, Lee further discloses communication apparatus according to claim 3, wherein, when the at least one type of sidelink signals is reception of PSCCHs only (para. 0140, In addition, the term “transmission” may be interpreted (or extended) as a V2X channel (or signal) transmission operation and/or a WAN UL channel (or signal) transmission operation in the present disclosure. The V2X channel may include the PSCCH, the PSSCH (i.e. may does not require PSSCH)), the communication apparatus is configured to be active when receiving a first stage SCI (para. 0118, A UE (i.e. either UE) in sidelink transmission mode 1 (i.e. first stage) may transmit a scheduling assignment (SA) (a D2D signal or sidelink control information (SCI)) in resources configured by an eNB).
As to claim 5, Lee further discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to identify the one of the plurality of power saving states to operate in based on parameters relating to the communication apparatus (para. 0195, the UE may readjust the reference transmission power in the following case. Specifically, when CBR measurement and congestion control is performed independently on an antenna unit basis, maximum allowed transmission power may be configured independently for each of the plurality of antenna units. The maximum allowed transmission power may be configured based on a combination of the traffic priority of a sidelink signal corresponding to the antenna unit and the CBR measurement of the antenna unit. When the maximum allowed transmission power is configured in this manner, different maximum allowed transmission power may be configured for the plurality of antenna units).
As to claim 6, Lee further discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the parameters comprises at least one of a velocity, a communication apparatus type, a vehicle type, a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) location, a congestion level (para. 0195, Specifically, when CBR measurement and congestion control is performed independently on an antenna unit basis, maximum allowed transmission power may be configured independently for each of the plurality of antenna units), a zone ID of the communication apparatus.
As to claim 13, Lee further discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one type of sidelink signals comprising at least one of: a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH), a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) (para. 0179, the proposed methods of the present disclosure may be restrictively applied, only when a PSSCH and an (associated) PSCCH are transmitted adjacently (and/or non-adjacently) (in the frequency domain)), a Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SLSS), a Physical Sidelink Broadcast Channel (PSBCH) (para. 0140, In addition, the term “transmission” may be interpreted (or extended) as a V2X channel (or signal) transmission operation and/or a WAN UL channel (or signal) transmission operation in the present disclosure. The V2X channel may include the PSCCH, the PSSCH, the PSBCH, and the PSSS/SSSS, and the WAN DL channel may include the PUSCH, the PUCCH, and the SRS in the present disclosure. The term synchronization signal (SS) may be interpreted (or extended) as including “PSBCH” as well as “SLSS” in the present disclosure), a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH).
As to claim 16, see similar rejection to claim 1. The apparatus teaches the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2021/0282143 A1 to Lee et al. (“Lee”) in view of NPL R1-2008817 to Fraunhofer IIS, Fraunhofer HHI (“Fraunhofer”) [provided by Applicant].
As to claim 7, Lee does not expressly disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the transceiver further transmits assistance information comprising the parameters to another communication apparatus.
Fraunhofer discloses at page 5, a UE to provide a set of resources to power constrained UEs in order to use these resources for their own transmissions…assistance information.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the assistance information as taught by Fraunhofer into the invention of Lee. The suggestion/motivation would have been for a UE to save power (Frauhofer, page 3). Including the assistance information as taught by Fraunhofer into the invention of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Fraunhofer.
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2021/0282143 A1 to Lee et al. (“Lee”) in view U.S. Publication No. 2021/0195522 A1 to SRIDHARAN et al. (“Sridharan”).
As to claim 8, Lee does not expressly disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the transceiver further transmits, to another communication apparatus, a request signal indicating a request to operate in one of the plurality of power saving states.
Sridharan discloses at fig. 11, para. 0097-0107, UE sends to a wireless node over a sidelink, sidelink information 1105 (i.e. request signal) including suggested sidelink power savings configuration, then the UE receives from the wireless node a selected power saving configuration which may be the initial suggested sidelink power savings configuration, the UE then following the selected sidelink power savings configuration for the sidelink.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the sidelink power savings configuration as taught by Sridharan into the invention of Lee. The suggestion/motivation would have been for coordinated sidelink power savings configurations (Sridharan, para. 0002). Including the sidelink power savings configuration as taught by Sridharan into the invention of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sridharan.
As to claim 9, Lee does not expressly disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the transceiver further receives a response signal accepting the request, and the circuitry is configured to identify the one of the plurality of power saving states to operate in based on the response signal.
Sridharan discloses at fig. 11, para. 0097-0107, UE sends to a wireless node over a sidelink, sidelink information 1105 including suggested sidelink power savings configuration, then the UE receives from the wireless node a selected power saving configuration (i.e. response) which may be the initial suggested sidelink power savings configuration, the UE then following the selected sidelink power savings configuration for the sidelink.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the sidelink power savings configuration as taught by Sridharan into the invention of Lee. The suggestion/motivation would have been for coordinated sidelink power savings configurations (Sridharan, para. 0002). Including the sidelink power savings configuration as taught by Sridharan into the invention of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sridharan.
As to claim 10, Lee does not expressly disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the transceiver receives, from another communication apparatus, an indication signal relating to one of the plurality of power saving states, and wherein the circuitry is configured to identify the one of the plurality of power saving states to operate in based on the indication signal.
Sridharan discloses at fig. 11, para. 0097-0107, UE sends to a wireless node over a sidelink, sidelink information 1105 including suggested sidelink power savings configuration, then the UE receives from the wireless node (i.e. another communication apparatus) a selected power saving configuration (i.e. indication) which may be the initial suggested sidelink power savings configuration, the UE then following the selected sidelink power savings configuration for the sidelink.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the sidelink power savings configuration as taught by Sridharan into the invention of Lee. The suggestion/motivation would have been for coordinated sidelink power savings configurations (Sridharan, para. 0002). Including the sidelink power savings configuration as taught by Sridharan into the invention of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sridharan.
As to claim 11, Lee further discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the indication signal relates to at least one of: Sidelink Control Indication (SCI) signaling (para. 0118, A UE in sidelink transmission mode 1 may transmit a scheduling assignment (SA) (a D2D signal or sidelink control information (SCI)) in resources configured by an eNB), a Downlink Control Indication (DCI) signaling (para. 0069, Control information carried on the PDCCH is called downlink control information (DCI). The DCI transports UL or DL scheduling information, or UL transmission power control commands for UE groups). Note, any signal in the network is related to these if they are part of the same network.
Lee does not expressly disclose a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) signaling and a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.
Sridharan discloses a medium access control (MAC)-control element (MAC-CE) is a MAC layer communication structure that may be used for control command exchange between wireless nodes….carried in a physical sidelink shared channel….communicate information…such as available power headroom (para. 0048) (i.e. the sidelink power savings configurations is related to this).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the MAC-CE as taught by Sridharan into the invention of Lee. The suggestion/motivation would have been for coordinated sidelink power savings configurations (Sridharan, para. 0002). Including the MAC-CE as taught by Sridharan into the invention of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sridharan.
As to claim 12, Lee and Sridharan further disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the SCI signaling is carried by one of a first stage SCI of a standalone Physical Sidelink Control Channel(PSCCH) (para. 0118, A UE (i.e. either UE) in sidelink transmission mode 1 (i.e. first stage) may transmit a scheduling assignment (SA) (a D2D signal or sidelink control information (SCI)) in resources configured by an eNB; para. 0179, the proposed methods of the present disclosure may be restrictively applied, only when a PSSCH and an (associated) PSCCH are transmitted adjacently (and/or non-adjacently) (in the frequency domain)), a PSCCH with a dummy Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) and a second stage SCI; and the DCI signaling is carried by a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) (para. 0069, Control information carried on the PDCCH is called downlink control information (DCI)). In addition, as the primary reference is used in teaching the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 11 applies.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2021/0282143 A1 to Lee et al. (“Lee”) in view U.S. Publication No. 2021/0058941 A1 to Cheng et al. (“Cheng”).
As to claim 14, Lee does not expressly disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured with a default power saving state and a fallback timer, the default power saving state being another one of the plurality of power saving states, the fallback timer being triggered upon operation in the one of the plurality of power saving states, and switch to the default power saving state from the one of the plurality of power states after the fallback timer has expired.
Cheng discloses at para. 0087, UE 115 may monitor for communications (e.g., from a base station 105 and/or from another UE 115) and a “DRX period” when the UE 115 may power down radio components. In some cases, the DRX cycle and/or the continuous reception may be controlled by an internal timer. For example, while monitoring for a scheduling message, the UE 115 may initiate a “DRX Inactivity Timer”. If a scheduling message is successfully received, the UE 115 may prepare to receive data and the DRX Inactivity Timer may be reset. When the DRX Inactivity Timer expires without receiving a scheduling message, the UE 115 may refrain from further monitoring for the rest of the DRX cycle (e.g., the UE 115 may power down radio components). Additionally or alternatively, the UE 115 may move into a short DRX cycle and may start a “DRX Short Cycle Timer”. When the DRX Short Cycle Timer expires, the UE 115 may enter a long DRX cycle (e.g., power down radio components for a relatively longer time period). However, the use of such timers may be inefficient in some wireless communications systems, i.e. DRX Short Cycle Timer with a different power down mode being default.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the timer as taught by Cheng into the invention of Lee. The suggestion/motivation would have been for scheduling with inactivity (Cheng, para. 0002). Including the timer as taught by Cheng into the invention of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Cheng.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2021/0282143 A1 to Lee et al. (“Lee”) in view U.S. Publication No. 2021/0058941 A1 to Cheng et al. (“Cheng”) and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0024646 A1 to Park et al. (“Park”).
As to claim 15, Lee and Cheng do not expressly disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the fallback timer is configured using one of: a RRC signaling, a MAC signaling and a PSCCH signaling.
Park discloses at para. 0098, Table 9 shows UE procedures related to DRX. Referring to Table 1, DRX configuration information may be received by higher layer (RRC) signaling, and DRX ON/OFF may be controlled by a DRX command of the MAC layer.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the configuration as taught by Park into the invention of Lee and Cheng. The suggestion/motivation would have been for performing PDCCH monitoring discontinuously (Park, para. 0098). Including the configuration as taught by Park into the invention of Lee and Cheng was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Park.
Conclusion
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463