DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on 7/10/2023.
Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 12-14, 16,1 7, 26, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mourad (US 2022/0279324 A1; hereafter MOURAD).
With respect to claim 1, MOURAD discloses a transmitter for wireless communication (Abstract; Title), comprising:
a memory (12, 14 of FIG. 1a); and one or more processors (12, 14 of FIG. 1a) operatively coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to:
detect at least one distance between the transmitter and a receiver (110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160, 170 of FIG. 1b); and
transmit, to the receiver, information using a selected band of a wide band or a narrow band (paragraphs [0040], [0041], and [042]), wherein the selected band is based at least in part on the at least one distance (110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160, 170 of FIG. 1b).
With respect to claim 2, MOURAD further discloses wherein the transmitter comprises a drone, a user equipment (paragraph [0055]), an independent basic service set node, a peer-to-peer node, a neighbor aware network node, a wireless local area network (WLAN) access point, a WLAN station, or a controller device.
With respect to claim 4, MOURAD further discloses wherein the information includes at least one of low-traffic data or high-traffic data, the low-traffic data includes control data, event information, status information, or text information, and the high-traffic data includes a video stream or a large file (paragraph [0069]).
With respect to claim 5, MOURAD further discloses wherein the narrow band includes at least one frequency that is included in the wide band (paragraph [0008]).
With respect to claim 12, MOURAD further discloses wherein the memory and the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit, to the receiver, at least one frame indicating the selected band; or receive, from the receiver, the at least one frame indicating the selected band (330, 360 of FIG. 3).
With respect to claim 13, MOURAD discloses a receiver for wireless communication (Abstract; Title), comprising:
a memory (12, 14 of FIG. 2a); and one or more processors (12, 14 of FIG. 2a) operatively coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to:
detect at least one distance between the receiver and a transmitter (210, 220, 230, 240, 250, 260, 270, 280 of FIG. 2b); and
receive, from the transmitter, information using a selected band of a wide band or a narrow band (paragraphs [0040], [0041], and [042]), wherein the selected band is based at least in part on the at least one distance (210, 220, 230, 240, 250, 260, 270, 280 of FIG. 2b).
With respect to claim 14, MOURAD further discloses wherein the receiver comprises a drone, a user equipment (paragraph [0055]), an independent basic service set node, a peer-to-peer node, a neighbor aware network node, a wireless local area network (WLAN) access point, a WLAN station, or a controller device.
With respect to claim 16, MOURAD further discloses wherein the information includes at least one of low-traffic data or high-traffic data, the low-traffic data includes control data, event information, status information, or text information, and the high-traffic data includes a video stream or a large file (paragraph [0069]).
With respect to claim 17, MOURAD further discloses wherein the narrow band includes at least one frequency that is included in the wide band (paragraph [0008]).
With respect to claim 26, MOURAD further discloses wherein the memory and the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit, to the transmitter, at least one frame indicating the selected band (330, 360 of FIG. 3); or
receive, from the transmitter, the at least one frame indicating the selected band.
With respect to claim 27, MOURAD discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a transmitter (Abstract; Title), comprising:
detecting at least one distance between the transmitter and a receiver (110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160, 170 of FIG. 1b); and
transmitting, to the receiver, information using a selected band of a wide band or a narrow band (paragraphs [0040], [0041], and [042]), wherein the selected band is based at least in part on the at least one distance (110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160, 170 of FIG. 1b).
With respect to claim 29, MOURAD discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a receiver (Abstract; Title), comprising:
detecting at least one distance between the receiver and a transmitter (210, 220, 230, 240, 250, 260, 270, 280 of FIG. 2b); and
receiving, from the transmitter, information using a selected band of a wide band or a narrow band (paragraphs [0040], [0041], and [042]), wherein the selected band is based at least in part on the at least one distance (210, 220, 230, 240, 250, 260, 270, 280 of FIG. 2b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6-11, 15, 18-25, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOURAD in view of Thanayankizil et al. (US 11,382,133 B2; hereafter THANAY).
With respect to claim 3, MOURAD does not disclose wherein the narrow band has a bandwidth less than 20 MHz, and the wide band has a bandwidth greater than or equal to 20 MHz.
THANAY discloses wherein the narrow band has a bandwidth less than 20 MHz, and the wide band has a bandwidth greater than or equal to 20 MHz (110, 140, 170 of FIG. 1).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 6, MOURAD does not disclose 6. The transmitter of claim 1, wherein the selected band is the narrow band, and wherein the memory and the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit, on the wide band, a clear to send signal;
transmit, on the narrow band, a request to send signal; and receive, on the narrow band and based at least in part on transmitting the request to send signal, a clear to send signal, wherein the information is transmitted based at least in part on receiving the clear to send signal.
THANAY discloses transmit, on the wide band, a clear to send signal (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60);
transmit, on the narrow band, a request to send signal; and receive, on the narrow band and based at least in part on transmitting the request to send signal, a clear to send signal, wherein the information is transmitted based at least in part on receiving the clear to send signal (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 7, MOURAD does not disclose 7. The transmitter of claim 6, wherein the memory and the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive, on the narrow band and based at least in part on transmitting the information, an acknowledgment signal.
THANAY discloses receive, on the narrow band and based at least in part on transmitting the information, an acknowledgment signal (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 8, MOURAD does not disclose 8. The transmitter of claim 6, wherein the clear to send signal is received within a threshold amount of time, and the threshold amount of time is based at least in part on an interframe spacing and a switching time.
THANAY discloses wherein the clear to send signal is received within a threshold amount of time, and the threshold amount of time is based at least in part on an interframe spacing and a switching time (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 9, MOURAD does not disclose 9. The transmitter of claim 8, wherein the interframe spacing is down-clocked.
THANAY discloses wherein the interframe spacing is down-clocked (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 10, MOURAD does not disclose 10. The transmitter of claim 6, wherein the information is transmitted based at least in part on a programmed amount of time after the clear to send signal is received.
THANAY discloses wherein the information is transmitted based at least in part on a programmed amount of time after the clear to send signal is received (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 11, MOURAD does not disclose 11. The transmitter of claim 6, wherein the information is transmitted within an interframe spacing after the clear to send signal is received.
THANAY discloses wherein the information is transmitted within an interframe spacing after the clear to send signal is received (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 15, MOURAD does not disclose 15. The receiver of claim 13, the narrow band has a bandwidth less than 20 MHz, and the wide band has a bandwidth greater than or equal to 20 MHz.
THANAY discloses the narrow band has a bandwidth less than 20 MHz, and the wide band has a bandwidth greater than or equal to 20 MHz (110, 140, 170 of FIG. 1).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 18, MOURAD does not disclose 18. The receiver of claim 13, wherein the selected band is the narrow band, and wherein the memory and the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive, on the narrow band, a request to send signal;
transmit, on the narrow band and based at least in part on receiving the request to send signal, a clear to send signal; and
transmit, on the wide band, a clear to send signal, wherein the information is received based at least in part on transmitting the clear to send signal on the narrow band.
THANAY discloses receive, on the narrow band, a request to send signal (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60);
transmit, on the narrow band and based at least in part on receiving the request to send signal, a clear to send signal (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60); and
transmit, on the wide band, a clear to send signal, wherein the information is received based at least in part on transmitting the clear to send signal on the narrow band (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 19, MOURAD does not disclose 19. The receiver of claim 18, wherein the memory and the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit, on the narrow band and based at least in part on receiving the information, an acknowledgment signal.
THANAY discloses transmit, on the narrow band and based at least in part on receiving the information, an acknowledgment signal (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 20, MOURAD does not disclose 20. The receiver of claim 18, wherein the information is received within a threshold amount of time, and the threshold amount of time is based at least in part on an interframe spacing and a switching time.
THANAY discloses wherein the information is received within a threshold amount of time, and the threshold amount of time is based at least in part on an interframe spacing and a switching time (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 21, MOURAD does not disclose 21. The receiver of claim 20, wherein the interframe spacing is down-clocked.
THANAY discloses wherein the interframe spacing is down-clocked (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 22, MOURAD does not disclose 22. The receiver of claim 18, wherein the information is received based at least in part on a programmed amount of time after the clear to send signal is transmitted on the narrow band.
THANAY discloses wherein the information is received based at least in part on a programmed amount of time after the clear to send signal is transmitted on the narrow band (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 23, MOURAD does not disclose 23. The receiver of claim 18, wherein the clear to send signal on the wide band is transmitted within an interframe spacing and a switching time after the request to send signal is received.
THANAY discloses wherein the clear to send signal on the wide band is transmitted within an interframe spacing and a switching time after the request to send signal is received (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 24, MOURAD does not disclose 24. The receiver of claim 23, wherein the clear to send signal on the wide band is transmitted using a medium access control layer implemented in hardware.
THANAY discloses wherein the clear to send signal on the wide band is transmitted using a medium access control layer implemented in hardware (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 25, MOURAD does not disclose 25. The receiver of claim 23, wherein the clear to send signal on the wide band is transmitted using a medium access control layer implemented in software.
THANAY discloses wherein the clear to send signal on the wide band is transmitted using a medium access control layer implemented in software (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 28, MOURAD does not disclose 28. The method of claim 27, wherein the selected band is the narrow band, and wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting, on the wide band, a clear to send signal;
transmitting, on the narrow band, a request to send signal; and
receiving, on the narrow band and based at least in part on transmitting the request to send signal, a clear to send signal, wherein the information is transmitted based at least in part on receiving the clear to send signal.
THANAY discloses transmitting, on the wide band, a clear to send signal (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60);
transmitting, on the narrow band, a request to send signal (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60); and
receiving, on the narrow band and based at least in part on transmitting the request to send signal, a clear to send signal, wherein the information is transmitted based at least in part on receiving the clear to send signal (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 30, MOURAD does not disclose 30. The method of claim 29, wherein the selected band is the narrow band, and wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, on the narrow band, a request to send signal;
transmitting, on the narrow band and based at least in part on receiving the request to send signal, a clear to send signal; and transmitting, on the wide band, a clear to send signal, wherein the information is received based at least in part on transmitting the clear to send signal on the narrow band.
THANAY discloses receiving, on the narrow band, a request to send signal (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60);
transmitting, on the narrow band and based at least in part on receiving the request to send signal, a clear to send signal (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60); and
transmitting, on the wide band, a clear to send signal, wherein the information is received based at least in part on transmitting the clear to send signal on the narrow band (225, 230, 250 of FIG. 2; 410, 420, 430 of FIG. 4; column 5, lines 28-60).
THANY teaches the benefit of minimal interruptions (column 1, lines 25-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique and circuitry of THANAY with the transmitter, receiver and method of MOURAD to produce an expected result.
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 December 30, 2025