DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communications filed on July 10, 2023. Claims 1-30 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 7/10/2023 and 1/28/2025 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, 11-15, 19-21, 23, 24, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2020/0350967) in view of Hao et al. (WO 2020/052428).
Regarding Claim 1, Xu teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (“The wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310 (e.g. a wireless modem, an antenna, and/or the like), at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314” – See [0230]), configured to:
jointly measure channel state information (CSI) resources corresponding to a first reporting occasion of a first CSI report setting and a second reporting occasion of a second CSI report setting if the first reporting occasion is linked to the second reporting occasion based at least in part on a slot position of the first reporting occasion relative to a slot position of the second reporting occasion (“the wireless device may perform CSI measurement of RSRP on reference signals (e.g., CSI-RSs) of two TRPs (e.g., TRP0 and TRP1) … The wireless device may determine an uplink slot (e.g., the first slot of RSRP report periodicity) based on the report periodicity and offset. The wireless device may jointly report RSRP0 and RSRP1 on the uplink slot (e.g., the first slot of RSRP report periodicity). The RSRP0 may comprise one or more RSRPs of TRP0. The RSRP1 may comprise one or more RSRPs of TRP1. The wireless device may jointly encode the RSRP0 and RSRP1 for the two TRPs on the uplink slot” – See [0416]; “In an example, FIG. 30 illustrates an example of CSI report procedure for multiple TRPs with embodiments of the present disclosure. In an example, a wireless device may receive one or more RRC messages from a base station at time T1. The one or more RRC messages may comprise configurations of a plurality of channel state information (CSI) resources, a report periodicity and offset of CSI, and/or a report quantity of CSI” – See [0419]; The UE jointly measures CSI resources of different TRPs, wherein the first and second reporting occasions of the first and second CSI reports are linked based on the periodicity and offset specified in the configuration based on an uplink slot position of the first and second reporting occasions); and
transmit, based at least in part on the measuring, a first report for the first CSI report setting at the first reporting occasion and a second report for the second CSI report setting at the second reporting occasion (“The wireless device may determine an uplink slot (e.g., the first slot of RSRP report periodicity) based on the report periodicity and offset. The wireless device may jointly report RSRP0 and RSRP1 on the uplink slot (e.g., the first slot of RSRP report periodicity). The RSRP0 may comprise one or more RSRPs of TRP0. The RSRP1 may comprise one or more RSRPs of TRP1. The wireless device may jointly encode the RSRP0 and RSRP1 for the two TRPs on the uplink slot” – See [0416]; The UE transmits the first CSI report (e.g., RSRP0) at the first reporting occasion and transmits the second CSI report (e.g., RSRP1) at the second reporting occasion, where the first and second reporting occasions correspond to the same slot).
Xu does not explicitly teach that the first CSI report setting is associated with the second CSI report setting for reporting CSI associated with non-coherent joint transmission.
However, Hao teaches that the first CSI report setting is associated with the second CSI report setting for reporting CSI associated with non-coherent joint transmission (“At 1004, the UE selects at least two CSI-RS resources or at least one CSI-RS resource with at least two port groups, of the configured CSI-RS resources, for which to report CSI. For example, the CSI may be reported for a multi-TRP transmission, such as a NCJT transmission. Each CSI-RS resource and/or each port group may be associated with a different TRP of the joint transmission” – See [0100]; The first and second CSI report settings are associated with NCJT (non-coherent joint transmission)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu such that the first CSI report setting is associated with the second CSI report setting for reporting CSI associated with non-coherent joint transmission. Motivation for doing so would be to utilize the multi-TRP system disclosed by Xu to provide improved reliability, coverage, and throughput by performing joint transmissions with the multiple TRPs (See Hao, [0074]).
Regarding Claim 2, Xu in view of Hao teaches the UE of Claim 1. Xu further teaches that the first CSI report setting has a same slot periodicity and a same slot offset as the second CSI report setting, and wherein the first reporting occasion and the second reporting occasion are linked based at least in part on being transmitted in a same slot (“The wireless device may determine an uplink slot (e.g., the first slot of RSRP report periodicity) based on the report periodicity and offset. The wireless device may jointly report RSRP0 and RSRP1 on the uplink slot (e.g., the first slot of RSRP report periodicity)” – See [0416]; See also Fig. 29; The first and second CSI report settings have the same period/offset as configured by the CSI report configuration, wherein the first and second reporting occasions are linked by being transmitted in the same uplink slot).
Regarding Claim 7, Xu in view of Hao teaches the UE of Claim 1. Xu further teaches that the first reporting occasion and the second reporting occasion are linked if a difference of a quantity of slots from the first reporting occasion to the second reporting occasion satisfies a distance threshold (“The wireless device may determine an uplink slot (e.g., the first slot of RSRP report periodicity) based on the report periodicity and offset. The wireless device may jointly report RSRP0 and RSRP1 on the uplink slot (e.g., the first slot of RSRP report periodicity)” – See [0416]; See also Fig. 29; The first and second reporting occasions are linked since they are the same slot such that a difference of a quantity of slots from the first reporting occasion to the second reporting occasion satisfies a threshold of zero).
Regarding Claim 9, Xu in view of Hao teaches the UE of Claim 1. Xu further teaches that the first reporting occasion and the second reporting occasion are linked if the second reporting occasion is a most recent reporting occasion of the second CSI report setting, with respect to the first reporting occasion (“The wireless device may determine an uplink slot (e.g., the first slot of RSRP report periodicity) based on the report periodicity and offset. The wireless device may jointly report RSRP0 and RSRP1 on the uplink slot (e.g., the first slot of RSRP report periodicity)” – See [0416]; See also Fig. 29; The first and second reporting occasions are linked since they are the same slot, which results in the second reporting occasion, that shares the slot with the first reporting occasion, being the most recent with respect to the first reporting occasion).
Regarding Claim 11, Xu teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (“The wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310 (e.g. a wireless modem, an antenna, and/or the like), at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314” – See [0230]), configured to:
receive an activation indication that activates one or more of a first semi-persistent (SP) channel station information (CSI) report setting or a second SP CSI report setting (“The wireless device may determine RSRP0 based on the CSI measurement for TRP0. The wireless device may determine RSRP1 based on the CSI measurement for TRP1. The wireless device may perform a periodic CSI report or a semi persistent CSI report. The base station may configure the periodic CSI report to the wireless device via an RRC message. The base station may indicate (or trigger, or activate) the semi persistent CSI report to the wireless device via a MAC CE and/or a DCI” – See [0416]; The UE receives an activation of a first and second SP CSI report setting);
jointly measure CSI resources corresponding to a first reporting occasion of the first SP CSI report setting and a second reporting occasion of the second SP CSI report setting if the first SP CSI report setting and the second SP CSI report setting are both activated and associated with each other for reporting CSI (“the wireless device may perform CSI measurement of RSRP on reference signals (e.g., CSI-RSs) of two TRPs (e.g., TRP0 and TRP1) … The wireless device may determine an uplink slot (e.g., the first slot of RSRP report periodicity) based on the report periodicity and offset. The wireless device may jointly report RSRP0 and RSRP1 on the uplink slot (e.g., the first slot of RSRP report periodicity). The RSRP0 may comprise one or more RSRPs of TRP0. The RSRP1 may comprise one or more RSRPs of TRP1. The wireless device may jointly encode the RSRP0 and RSRP1 for the two TRPs on the uplink slot” – See [0416]; “In an example, FIG. 30 illustrates an example of CSI report procedure for multiple TRPs with embodiments of the present disclosure. In an example, a wireless device may receive one or more RRC messages from a base station at time T1. The one or more RRC messages may comprise configurations of a plurality of channel state information (CSI) resources, a report periodicity and offset of CSI, and/or a report quantity of CSI” – See [0419]; The UE jointly measures CSI resources corresponding to the first reporting occasion of the first SP CSI report setting and the second reporting occasion of the second SP CSI report setting based on the first and second SP CSI report settings both being activated by the signaling in the previous step); and
transmit, based at least in part on the measuring, a first report for the first report setting at the first reporting occasion and a second report for the second report setting at the second reporting occasion (“The wireless device may determine an uplink slot (e.g., the first slot of RSRP report periodicity) based on the report periodicity and offset. The wireless device may jointly report RSRP0 and RSRP1 on the uplink slot (e.g., the first slot of RSRP report periodicity). The RSRP0 may comprise one or more RSRPs of TRP0. The RSRP1 may comprise one or more RSRPs of TRP1. The wireless device may jointly encode the RSRP0 and RSRP1 for the two TRPs on the uplink slot” – See [0416]; The UE transmits the first CSI report (e.g., RSRP0) at the first reporting occasion and transmits the second CSI report (e.g., RSRP1) at the second reporting occasion, where the first and second reporting occasions correspond to the same slot).
Xu does not explicitly teach that the first SP CSI report setting and the second CSI report setting are for reporting CSI associated with non-coherent joint transmission.
However, Hao teaches that the first SP CSI report setting and the second CSI report setting are for reporting CSI associated with non-coherent joint transmission (“The CSI report configuration may configure the UE for aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent CSI reporting” – See [0078]; “At 1004, the UE selects at least two CSI-RS resources or at least one CSI-RS resource with at least two port groups, of the configured CSI-RS resources, for which to report CSI. For example, the CSI may be reported for a multi-TRP transmission, such as a NCJT transmission. Each CSI-RS resource and/or each port group may be associated with a different TRP of the joint transmission” – See [0100]; The first and second SP CSI report settings are associated with NCJT (non-coherent joint transmission)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu such that first SP CSI report setting and the second CSI report setting are for reporting CSI associated with non-coherent joint transmission for the same reasons as those given with respect to Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, Xu in view of Hao teaches the UE of Claim 11. Xu further teaches that the one or more processors are configured to receive a radio resource control message indicating that the first SP CSI report setting is associated with the second SP CSI report setting, and wherein the activation indication is in a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and activates both the first SP CSI report setting and the second SP CSI report setting (“The base station may configure a plurality of channel state information (CSI) resources to the wireless device for multiple TRPs via an RRC message” – See [0415];“The wireless device may receive, from the base station, a MACE CE activating (or triggering) a semi persistent CSI report on PUCCH” – See [0420]; The first and second SP CSI report settings are indicated/associated via RRC message, and the activation indication is a MAC CE).
Regarding Claim 13, Xu in view of Hao teaches the UE of Claim 11. Xu further teaches that the activation indication indicates that the first SP CSI report setting is associated with the second SP CSI report setting, and wherein the activation indication activates both the first SP CSI report setting and the second SP CSI report setting (“The base station may transmit a MAC CE to the wireless device to activate the one or more semi persistent CSI-RS resource sets … The wireless device may receive, from the base station, a MACE CE activating (or triggering) a semi persistent CSI report on PUCCH” – See [0420]; Both the first and second SP CSI report settings are activated via the MAC CE).
Regarding Claim 14, Xu in view of Hao teaches the UE of Claim 11. Xu further teaches that the first SP CSI report setting is associated with the second SP CSI report setting, and wherein the first SP CSI report setting and the second SP CSI report setting are both activated based at least in part on the activation indication indicating that the first SP CSI report setting or the second SP CSI report setting is activated (“The base station may transmit a MAC CE to the wireless device to activate the one or more semi persistent CSI-RS resource sets … The wireless device may receive, from the base station, a MACE CE activating (or triggering) a semi persistent CSI report on PUCCH” – See [0420]; The first and second SP CSI report settings are both activated based on a MAC CE activation indication indicating that the first and second SP CSI report settings are activated).
Regarding Claim 15, Xu in view of Hao teaches the UE of Claim 11. Xu further teaches that the activation indication is in a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and activates two or more SP CSI report settings, and wherein the MAC-CE includes an indication that the first SP CSI report setting is associated with the second SP CSI report setting (“The base station may transmit a MAC CE to the wireless device to activate the one or more semi persistent CSI-RS resource sets … The wireless device may receive, from the base station, a MACE CE activating (or triggering) a semi persistent CSI report on PUCCH” – See [0420]; The activation indication is a MAC CE that includes an indication to associate/activate the first and second SP CSI report settings).
Claim 19 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 1.
Claim 20 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 2.
Claim 21 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 3.
Claim 23 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 7.
Claim 24 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 9.
Claim 26 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 11.
Claim 27 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 12.
Claim 28 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 13.
Claim 29 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 14.
Claims 10 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2020/0350967) in view of Hao et al. (WO 2020/052428) and further in view of Nemeth et al. (US 2020/0036473).
Regarding Claim 10, Xu in view of Hao teaches the UE of Claim 1. Xu and Hao do not explicitly teach that a slot periodicity of the first CSI report setting is different than a slot periodicity of the second CSI report setting, and wherein the first reporting occasion and the second reporting occasion are linked based at least in part on a configuration indicated in a radio resource control message or based at least in part on a rule for reporting occasions that share a same slot or are in adjacent slots.
However, Nemeth teaches that a slot periodicity of the first CSI report setting is different than a slot periodicity of the second CSI report setting, and wherein the first reporting occasion and the second reporting occasion are linked based at least in part on a configuration indicated in a radio resource control message or based at least in part on a rule for reporting occasions that share a same slot or are in adjacent slots (“When the UE is configured with periodic CSI (P-CSI) or semi-persistent CSI (SP-CSI) reports having different period lengths (e.g., P/SP-CSI configuration 1 and P/SP-CSI configuration 2), in some periods their respective configured PUCCH resources will overlap in time, as shown in FIG. 1. In an event that multi-CSI reporting is configured, the two reports may be multiplexed onto a combined PUCCH resource” – See [0024]; The periodicities of the first and second CSI report settings are different such that the first and second reporting occasions are linked based on a rule for reporting occasions that share a same slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu such that a slot periodicity of the first CSI report setting is different than a slot periodicity of the second CSI report setting, and wherein the first reporting occasion and the second reporting occasion are linked based at least in part on a configuration indicated in a radio resource control message or based at least in part on a rule for reporting occasions that share a same slot or are in adjacent slots. Motivation for doing so would be to allow CSI reports that overlap in time to be multiplexed together (See Nemeth, [0024]).
Claim 25 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 10.
Claims 3, 4, 16-18, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2020/0350967) in view of Hao et al. (WO 2020/052428) and further in view of Gao et al. (US 2024/0106614).
Regarding Claim 3, Xu in view of Hao teaches the UE of Claim 1. Xu and Hao do not explicitly teach that the one or more processors are configured to select the first reporting occasion or the second reporting occasion as a reference slot that indicates, by an offset, a slot of the other one of the first reporting occasion or the second reporting occasion.
However, Gao teaches that the one or more processors are configured to select the first reporting occasion or the second reporting occasion as a reference slot that indicates, by an offset, a slot of the other one of the first reporting occasion or the second reporting occasion (“The method of any of the previous embodiments wherein the first and the second transmission occasions are in two adjacent slots or mini-slots in each reporting period for the SP-CSI on PUCCH” – See [0192]; See also Fig. 9; Since the first and second reporting occasions are transmitted in adjacent slots, the first reporting occasion is a reference for the second reporting occasion wherein the second reporting occasion is offset by one slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to select the first reporting occasion or the second reporting occasion as a reference slot that indicates, by an offset, a slot of the other one of the first reporting occasion or the second reporting occasion. Motivation for doing so would be to enable SP CSI for multiple TRPs to be reliably transmitted on a PUSCH (See Gao, [0066] and [0067]).
Regarding Claim 4, Xu in view of Hao and Gao teaches the UE of Claim 3. Gao further teaches that the first reporting occasion or the second reporting occasion is selected as the reference slot based at least in part on one or more of: a configuration message that indicates one of the first CSI report setting or the second CSI report setting is a reference CSI report setting; or a result of comparing a first identifier for the first CSI report setting and a second identifier for the second CSI report setting (“The Si (i=0, 1, 2, 3) indicates the activation/deactivation status of the Semi-Persistent CSI report configuration within a list of CSI-ReportConfigs. S0 refers to the report configuration which includes PUCCH resources for SP CSI reporting in the indicated BWP and has the lowest CSI-ReportConfigId within the list with type set to semiPersistentOnPUCCH, S1 to the report configuration which includes PUCCH resources for SP CSI reporting in the indicated BWP and has the second lowest CSI-ReportConfigId and so on” – See [0158]; The reference for the first and second reporting occasions is determined based on a comparison of first and second identifiers (i.e., CSI-ReportConfigId) for the first and second CSI report settings).
Regarding Claim 16, Xu in view of Hao teaches the UE of Claim 15. Xu and Hao do not explicitly teach that the indication that the first SP CSI report setting is associated with the second SP CSI report setting includes one or more first bits in the MAC-CE different than one or more second bits in the MAC-CE corresponding to the activation indication.
However, Gao teaches that the indication that the first SP CSI report setting is associated with the second SP CSI report setting includes one or more first bits in the MAC-CE different than one or more second bits in the MAC-CE corresponding to the activation indication (“SP CSI reporting on PUCCH is activated (or deactivated) by an activation (or deactivation) command carried on a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), which selects one of the semi-persistent Reporting Settings for use by the UE on the PUCCH” – See [0055]; “The MAC CE is shown in FIG. 4. It contains the following fields: Serving Cell ID: This field indicates the identity of the Serving Cell; BWP ID: This field indicates a UL BWP; Si: This field indicates the activation/deactivation status of the Semi-Persistent CSI report configuration within a list of CSI-ReportConfigs. So refers to the report configuration which includes PUCCH resources for SP CSI reporting in the indicated BWP and has the lowest CSI-ReportConfigId within the list with type set to semPersistentOnPUCCH, S1 to the report configuration which includes PUCCH resources for SP CSI reporting in the indicated BWP and has the second lowest CSI-ReportConfigId and so on. The Si field is set to 1 to indicate that the corresponding Semi-Persistent CSI report configuration shall be activated. The Si field is set to 0 to indicate that the corresponding Semi-Persistent CSI report configuration i shall be deactivated” – See [0056]-[0059]; The MAC-CE bits indicating activation of the first and second SP CSI report settings are different than the bits used to associate the first and second SP CSI report settings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu such that the indication that the first SP CSI report setting is associated with the second SP CSI report setting includes one or more first bits in the MAC-CE different than one or more second bits in the MAC-CE corresponding to the activation indication. Motivation for doing so would be to enable independent activation and deactivation of a plurality of different SP CSI report settings (See Gao, [0059]).
Regarding Claim 17, Xu in view of Hao teaches the UE of Claim 11. Xu and Hao do not explicitly teach that the first reporting occasion and the second reporting occasion are a first two reporting occasions that are both a threshold time after a feedback message for the activation indication.
However, Gao teaches that the first reporting occasion and the second reporting occasion are a first two reporting occasions that are both a threshold time after a feedback message for the activation indication (“When the UE would transmit a PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information in slot n corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation (or deactivated) command, the indicated SP CSI Reporting Setting is activated starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3Nslotsubframe,μ where Nslotsubframe,μ is the number of slots per subframe and μ is the Sub-Carrier Spacing (SCS) configuration for the PUCCH” – See [0061]; The reporting occasions are the first slot that is 3Nslotsubframe,μ slots (threshold time) after slot n, which is the slot where the HARQ-ACK feedback for the activation was transmitted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu such that the first reporting occasion and the second reporting occasion are a first two reporting occasions that are both a threshold time after a feedback message for the activation indication. Motivation for doing so would be to configure the transmission timing according to the subcarrier spacing, which affects the slot length (See Gao, [0003] and [0061]).
Regarding Claim 18, Xu in view of Hao teaches the UE of Claim 11. Xu and Hao do not explicitly teach that the first reporting occasion and the second reporting occasion are a first two reporting occasions that are both a threshold time after a feedback message for the activation indication, and wherein an earlier of the first reporting occasion or the second reporting occasion is a reference for the other of the first reporting occasion or the second reporting occasion.
However, Gao teaches that the first reporting occasion and the second reporting occasion are a first two reporting occasions that are both a threshold time after a feedback message for the activation indication (“When the UE would transmit a PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information in slot n corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation (or deactivated) command, the indicated SP CSI Reporting Setting is activated starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3Nslotsubframe,μ where Nslotsubframe,μ is the number of slots per subframe and μ is the Sub-Carrier Spacing (SCS) configuration for the PUCCH” – See [0061]; The reporting occasions are the first slot that is 3Nslotsubframe,μ slots (threshold time) after slot n, which is the slot where the HARQ-ACK feedback for the activation was transmitted),
and wherein an earlier of the first reporting occasion or the second reporting occasion is a reference for the other of the first reporting occasion or the second reporting occasion (“the first and the second transmission occasions are in two adjacent slots or mini-slots in each reporting period for the SP-CSI on PUCCH” – See [0192]; See also Fig. 9; Since the first and second reporting occasions are transmitted in adjacent slots, the first reporting occasion is a reference for the second reporting occasion. That is, if the first reporting occasion is slot n, the second reporting occasion is slot n+1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu such that the first reporting occasion and the second reporting occasion are a first two reporting occasions that are both a threshold time after a feedback message for the activation indication, and wherein an earlier of the first reporting occasion or the second reporting occasion is a reference for the other of the first reporting occasion or the second reporting occasion for the same reasons as those given with respect to Claim 17.
Claim 30 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 17.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 8, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SCOTT M SCIACCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478