DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF THE CLAIMS: Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species in the reply filed on December 18, 2025 is acknowledged. All claims were examined in its entirety.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 & 35 USC § 112, 1st paragraph
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not supported by either an asserted utility or a well established utility. The claims are “Use” claim, and use claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 1st paragraph
Claims 19-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Specifically, because the claimed invention is not supported by either an asserted utility or a well-established utility for the reasons set forth above, one skilled in the art clearly would not know how to use the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 13-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Wei et al. US Pub. 2015/016,924).
Applicant claims the following method for treating neuropathic ocular pain:
This reference discloses Applicant’s methods on page 26, lines 1-10, paragraphs [0046]-[0047], [0050], [0178], and [0255]. (See Abstract and entire document). The methods read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact methods, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Regarding claim 2, this reference discloses Applicant’s method in, paragraphs [0035], [0041]-[0042], and [0255], and regarding claim 3, this reference discloses Applicant’s method in paragraph [0255].
Regarding claims 13-15, this reference discloses Applicant’s methods on page 26, paragraphs [0258] left column, page 26, lines 1-10, paragraphs [0046]-[0047], [0050], [0178], and [0255]. (See Abstract and entire document). Additionally, in paragraphs [0035], [0041]-[0042], and [0255], this reference disclose the method of Applicant’s claim 14. Further, this reference discloses Applicant’s method of claim 15 in paragraphs on page 27, lines 16-17.
Regarding claims 19-20, this reference discloses Applicant’s methods on page 26, paragraphs [0258] left column, page 26, lines 1-10, paragraphs [0046]-[0047], [0050], [0178], and [0255], and on page 27, lines 16-17.
Since this reference teaches the exact methods, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claims 4-12 and 16-18 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/PAUL V WARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622