Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-18, 21-23 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koc et al. (US 2013/0301500) in view of Yi et al. (US 2020/0359247).
Regarding claim 15, Koc discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, from a wireless network, a configuration for at least one control plane activity comprising a transmission activity towards the wireless network (Koc, Fig. 9, MAC-MAINConfig IE IE 910; paragraph [0059], eNodeB sending a list of available DRX sets to the UE);
measuring, by the wireless device, one or more metrics including device mobility and data arrival rate (Koc, Fig. 9, UE-AssistanceInfo IE 912; paragraph [0020], UE communicates UE assistance information to an eNodeB; paragraph [0022], UE assistance information, including a packet inter-arrival time, a mobility state indicator and QoE metrics, for the eNodeB to adjust DRX parameters based on the UE indications; paragraph [0029], UE may perform IAT measurements; paragraph [0059], UE sending UE assistance information to the eNodeB);
determining based on the measured device mobility or the measured data arrival rate changing the transmission activity (Koc, Fig. 9, UE-AssistanceInfo IE 912; paragraph [0020], UE communicates UE assistance information to an eNodeB; paragraph [0022], eNodeB adjust the DRX parameters based on UE assistance information, including a packet inter-arrival time, a mobility state indicator and QoE metrics, for the eNodeB to adjust DRX parameters based on the UE indications; paragraph [0029], UE may perform IAT measurements; paragraph [0059], UE sending UE assistance information to the eNodeB);
transmitting, by the wireless device assistance information for the at least one control plane activity, wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of a periodicity, an offset, and a precoding matrix indicator, to the wireless network (Koc, Fig. 9, UE-AssistanceInfo IE 912; paragraph [0020], UE communicates UE assistance information to an eNodeB; paragraph [0022], UE assistance information, including a packet inter-arrival time, a mobility state indicator and QoE metrics, for the eNodeB to adjust DRX parameters based on the UE indications; paragraph [0034], granularity of the traffic type information; paragraph [0052], expected periodicity of the traffic type; paragraph [0059], UE sending UE assistance information to the eNodeB).
Koc does not explicitly disclose determining, by the wireless device, based on the measured device mobility exceeding a predefined mobility threshold or the measured data arrival rate exceeding a predefined threshold that one or more conditions for changing the transmission activity are met
Yi discloses receiving, by a wireless device, from a wireless network, a configuration for at least one control plane activity comprising a transmission activity towards the wireless network (Yi, paragraph [0326], base station configures conditions of a measurement object; paragraph [0329], base station configures conditions from UE assistance information);
measuring, by the wireless device, one or more metrics including device mobility and data arrival rate (Yi, paragraph [0326], base station configures conditions of a measurement object, wireless device may determine whether conditions are met, the conditions include data rate requirements, including thresholds, and the wireless device performs RRM measurements in response to the determining; paragraph [0330]-[0331], conditions based on the wireless device changing geographical region or moving speed being within a range);
determining, by the wireless device, based on the measured device mobility exceeding a predefined mobility threshold or the measured data arrival rate exceeding a predefined threshold that one or more conditions for changing the transmission activity are met (Yi, Fig. 26, step 2642, conditions met?; paragraph [0326], wireless device may determine whether conditions are met, the conditions include data rate requirements, including thresholds, and the wireless device performs RRM measurements in response to the determining; paragraph [0329], base station configures conditions from UE assistance information; paragraph [0330]-[0331], conditions based on the wireless device changing geographical region or moving speed being within a range);
transmitting, by the wireless device assistance information for the at least one control plane activity, wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of a periodicity, an offset, and a precoding matrix indicator, to the wireless network (Yi, Fig. 26, step 2640, transmit the measurement report; paragraph [0326], wireless device may determine whether conditions are met, the conditions include data rate requirements, including thresholds, and the wireless device performs RRM measurements in response to the determining; paragraph [0329], base station configures conditions from UE assistance information; paragraph [0330]-[0331], conditions based on the wireless device changing geographical region or moving speed being within a range).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a wireless device to determine whether data rate or mobility conditions are met in the invention of Koc. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conserve power and resources by only adjusting transmission parameters when needed.
Regarding claim 16, Koc in view of Yi discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the one or more conditions comprise a change of a mobility of the wireless device, a change of an arrival rate of data for transmission towards the wireless network and a reception of a trigger message from the wireless network (Koc, Fig. 9, UE-AssistanceInfo IE 912; paragraph [0020], UE communicates UE assistance information to an eNodeB; paragraph [0022], UE assistance information, including a packet inter-arrival time, a mobility state indicator and QoE metrics, for the eNodeB to adjust DRX parameters based on the UE indications; paragraph [0059], UE sending UE assistance information to the eNodeB) (Yi, Fig. 26, step 2640, transmit the measurement report; paragraph [0326], wireless device may determine whether conditions are met, the conditions include data rate requirements, including thresholds, and the wireless device performs RRM measurements in response to the determining; paragraph [0329], base station configures conditions from UE assistance information; paragraph [0330]-[0331], conditions based on the wireless device changing geographical region or moving speed being within a range).
Regarding claim 17, Koc in view of Yi discloses the method according to claim 15, comprising:
receiving, by the wireless device, from the wireless network, a new configuration for the at least one control plane activity (Koc, Fig. 9, drxSet-Config IE 914; paragraph [0022], eNodeB to adjust DRX parameters based on the UE indications; paragraph [0059], eNodeB sending DRX set of index to the UE; paragraph [0068], eNodeB may send a drxSet-Config IE to the UE with a request to change the DRX setting) (Yi, paragraph [0326], base station configures conditions of a measurement object; paragraph [0329], base station configures conditions from UE assistance information);
changing, by the wireless device, on the basis of the new configuration for the at least one control plane activity, the transmission activity of the at least one control plane activity (Koc, Fig. 10, step 1018; paragraph [0022], eNodeB to adjust DRX parameters based on the UE indications; paragraph [0059], eNodeB sending DRX set of index to the UE; paragraph [0068], eNodeB may send a drxSet-Config IE to the UE with a request to change the DRX setting; paragraph [0070], UE reads the drxset-index included in the drxSet-Config IE and configures the DRX set as the current DRX set).
Regarding claim 18, Koc in view of Yi discloses the method according to claim 17, comprising:
performing, by the wireless device, monitoring activity for the at least one control plane activity (Koc, paragraph [0022], UE assistance information, including a packet inter-arrival time, a mobility state indicator and QoE metrics, for the eNodeB to adjust DRX parameters based on the UE indications; paragraph [0029], UE may perform IAT measurements) (Yi, paragraph [0236], wireless device monitors PDCCHs; paragraph [0327], measurement objects monitored/measured); and
maintaining, by the wireless device, the at least one of the measurement activity and the monitoring activity (Koc, paragraph [0022], UE assistance information, including a packet inter-arrival time, a mobility state indicator and QoE metrics, for the eNodeB to adjust DRX parameters based on the UE indications; paragraph [0029], UE may perform IAT measurements) (Yi, paragraph [0236], wireless device monitors PDCCHs; paragraph [0327], measurement objects monitored/measured), when the new configuration for the at least one control plane activity has been applied (Koc, Fig. 10, step 1018; paragraph [0022], eNodeB to adjust DRX parameters based on the UE indications; paragraph [0059], eNodeB sending DRX set of index to the UE; paragraph [0068], eNodeB may send a drxSet-Config IE to the UE with a request to change the DRX setting; paragraph [0070], UE reads the drxset-index included in the drxSet-Config IE and configures the DRX set as the current DRX set).
Regarding claim 21, Koc in view of Yi discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the at least one control plane activity comprises channel state information reporting, uplink sounding, power headroom reporting, reference signal received power reporting and buffer status reporting (Koc, Fig. 9, UE-AssistanceInfo IE 912; paragraph [0020], UE communicates UE assistance information to an eNodeB; paragraph [0022], UE assistance information, including a packet inter-arrival time, a mobility state indicator and QoE metrics, for the eNodeB to adjust DRX parameters based on the UE indications; paragraph [0042], IAT includes information about the status of the buffer; paragraph [0059], UE sending UE assistance information to the eNodeB).
Regarding claim 22, Koc in view of Yi discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the assistance information comprises a periodicity, an offset, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) and a channel quality indicator (CQI) granularity (Koc, paragraph [0034], granularity of the traffic type information; paragraph [0052], expected periodicity of the traffic type).
Claim 23 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 15. Koc additionally discloses one or more processors, and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Koc, paragraph [0075], memory, processor).
Regarding claim 26, Koc in view of Yi discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the new configuration increases a periodicity of transmissions from the wireless device towards the wireless network while the monitoring activity is maintained (Koc, Fig. 9, drxSet-Config IE 914; paragraph [0022], eNodeB to adjust DRX parameters based on the UE indications; paragraph [0052], adjust uplink allocations and DRX cycles based on the periodicity of the traffic type; paragraph [0059], eNodeB sending DRX set of index to the UE; paragraph [0068], eNodeB may send a drxSet-Config IE to the UE with a request to change the DRX setting).
Regarding claim 27, Koc in view of Yi discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the predefined mobility threshold corresponds to a speed range determined using a sensor comprising at least one of a gyroscope or an accelerometer (Yi, Fig. 26, step 2640, transmit the measurement report; paragraph [0207], accelerometer; paragraph [0326], wireless device may determine whether conditions are met, the conditions include data rate requirements, including thresholds, and the wireless device performs RRM measurements in response to the determining; paragraph [0329], base station configures conditions from UE assistance information; paragraph [0330]-[0331], conditions based on the wireless device changing geographical region or moving speed being within a range).
Regarding claim 28, Koc in view of Yi discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the data arrival rate is estimated over a time period and the predefined threshold corresponds to a boundary rate for transmitting buffer status reporting (Yi, Fig. 26, step 2640, transmit the measurement report; paragraph [0326], wireless device may determine whether conditions are met, the conditions include a range of data rate or buffer status requirements, including thresholds, and the wireless device performs RRM measurements in response to the determining).
Claim(s) 19 and 25is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koc et al. (US 2013/0301500) in view of Yi et al. (US 2020/0359247), and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.212 V16.3.0 (cited in Applicants IDS filed on July 18, 2023).
Regarding claim 19, Koc in view of Yi discloses the method according to claim 15, comprising:
receiving, by the wireless device, a downlink signaling indicating an uplink transmission allocation for the wireless device (Koc, paragraph [0052], eNodeB adjusts its UL allocations and/or DRX cycles based on UE assistance information) (Yi, paragraph [0220], DCI indicates uplink scheduling grants);
determining, by the wireless device, that the downlink signaling comprises Downlink Control Information (DCI) that triggers a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) resources with an UL-SCH indicator indicating that a transport block shall not be transmitted (Koc, paragraph [0044], UL-SCH is used for the MAC CE that communicates the UE assistance information [UE assistance information is not data and may be transmitted without CSI]; paragraph [0052], eNodeB adjusts its UL allocations and/or DRX cycles based on UE assistance information [changing a DRX cycle means transmitting less transport blocks]) (Yi, paragraph [0219], UL-SCH may be mapped to PUSCH; paragraph [0220], DCI indicates uplink scheduling grants, may [or may not] support multiplexing UCI and PUSCH).; and
omitting, by the wireless device, at least one uplink transmission in accordance with the control plane activity in response to the DCI (Koc, paragraph [0053], eNodeB may adjust the UEs DRX configuration to long DRX cycle; paragraph [0055], eNodeB releases the uplink control channels for that UE and the UE cannot provide UL transmissions).
Koc does not explicitly disclose that the downlink signaling comprises Downlink Control Information (DCI) that triggers a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) resources with an UL-SCH indicator indicating that a transport block shall not be transmitted.
3GPP TS 38.212 V16.3.0 discloses determining, by the wireless device, that the downlink signaling comprises Downlink Control Information (DCI) that triggers a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) resources with an UL-SCH indicator indicating that a transport block shall not be transmitted (3GPP TS 38.212 V16.3.0, page 97 and page 117, - 1 bit otherwise. A value of" l" indicates UL-SCH shall be transmitted on the PUSCH and a value of "0" indicates UL-SCH shall not be transmitted on the PUSCH. Except for DCI format O _ l with CRC scrambled by SP-CSI-RNTI, a UE is not expected to receive a DCI format O _ l with UL-SCH indicator of "O" and CSI request of all zero(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to transmit Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) resources with an UL-SCH indicator indicating that a transport block shall not be transmitted, in the invention of Koc. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conform to 3GPP standards.
Regarding claim 25, Koc in view of Yi, and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.212 V16.3.0 discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the UL-SCH indicator equals 0 (3GPP TS 38.212 V16.3.0, page 97 and page 117, - 1 bit otherwise. A value of" l" indicates UL-SCH shall be transmitted on the PUSCH and a value of "0" indicates UL-SCH shall not be transmitted on the PUSCH. Except for DCI format O _ l with CRC scrambled by SP-CSI-RNTI, a UE is not expected to receive a DCI format O _ l with UL-SCH indicator of "O" and CSI request of all zero(s)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 30, 2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN L LINDENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466