DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, 21, and 23, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 11-12, 21, 23, and 25, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Phan et al. (US 2024/0365429 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0397292 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 21, Van Phan discloses:
a terminal (fig.6 depicts a terminal), the terminal being a first terminal (fig.1 depicts a plurality of terminals, any of which could be a first terminal), and comprising:
a memory (fig.6 element 602 par.[0114 and 0116]);
a transceiver (fig.6 element 606, and par.[0114]); and
a processor (fig.6 element 604 and par.[0114]);
wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (par.[0116] describes the memory as a data store), transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor (par.[0114 – 0117] and fig.6 wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive), and the processor is configured to read the computer program from the memory (par.[0114 – 0117] describe a processor which is coupled to a memory and configured to process the instructions from the memory) to implement the following operation of:
performing an information indication method (Fig.4 depicts an information indication method, wherein the indication relates to sidelink DRX or DTX in sidelink communications) method, comprising:
transmitting, by a first terminal, indication information (fig.4 element 403 and par.[0090] which describe a device forwarding over a sidelink to other relevant devices DRX information) at a target position of a sidelink resource (par.[0067] describes the transmission of Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) which corresponds with Sidelink Control Information (SCI), wherein the UE is configured by the UE with mode-1 or mode-2 resources. Utilizing the mode-1 or mode-2 resources which have been allocated for sidelink transmission and reception, the UE is capable of transmitting to the receiving device at a target position (i.e. a time/frequency resource position) the PSCCH. See, “a transmitting user equipment (Tx UE) wherein a receiving user equipment (Rx UE) may need to keep monitoring all possible PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel) instances to receive sidelink transmission over one or more preconfigured resource pool(s).” The PSCCH instances being a target position wherein the Tx UE transmits and the Rx UE is capable of receiving the PSCCH transmission), wherein the indication information is used for indicating at least one of the following information:
whether a second terminal needs to enter a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time (par.[0009 – 0012] describe the DRX/DTX on-off pattern. The on-off pattern would indicate to a UE receiving the selected on-off pattern whether and when the terminal needs to enter an onDuration or when to enter an onDuration);
whether the second terminal needs to enter a discontinuous transmission (DTX) active time (par.[0009 – 0012] as discussed above, the receiving UE is capable of acquiring an on/off pattern for transmission or reception (i.e. DRX or DTX) as discussed “receiving signals from the one or more other devices and/or transmitting signals to the one or more other devices for the sidelink communication according to the selected pattern”);
wherein the second terminal is communicating with the first terminal through a sidelink interface (fig.2 depicts a plurality of Sidelinks between UE 204 – 208 and fig.4 discloses the configuration is for sidelink or direct communications).
While the disclosure of Van Phan substantially discloses the claimed subject matter, it may not disclose:
Wherein subsequent to the transmitting, by the first terminal, the indication information the target position of the sidelink resource, the method further comprises:
Activating, by the first terminal, a DRX inactivity timer or a DTX inactivity timer corresponding to the sidelink interface, in the cast that the indication information indicates that the second terminal needs to enter the DRX active time or the DTX active time.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Park teaches:
wherein subsequent to the transmitting, by the first terminal, the indication information the target position of the sidelink resource, the method further comprises:
activating, by the first terminal, a DRX inactivity timer or a DTX inactivity timer corresponding to the sidelink interface, in the cast that the indication information indicates that the second terminal needs to enter the DRX active time or the DTX active time (fig.10 wherein the TX-UE interpreted as the UE which transmits the first UE aligns its inactivity timer to that of scheduling of the RX-UE such that the TX-UE and the RX-UE sidelink inactivity timers are aligned. Par.[0116 – 0127] fig.9 depicts what occurs when the inactivity timers are misaligned, fig(s) 10-11 depict the TX-UE knowing when the RX-UE is going to start its DRX inactivity timer and starting its own DRX inactivity timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Van Phan for send sidelink DRX information to an RX-UE with the alignment of timers as discussed in Park. The motivation/suggestion would have been to prevent a misalignment of timers causing a loss of data transmission as discussed in Park.
Regarding claims 2 and 25, Van Phan discloses:
wherein prior to the transmitting, by the first terminal, the indication information at the target position of the sidelink resource (see the rejection of claims 1 and 21 above with regard to the target position in the sidelink resource), the method further comprises:
determining the target position by the first terminal, according to a predetermined protocol (par.[0067] describes the transmission of Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) which corresponds with Sidelink Control Information (SCI), wherein the UE is configured by the UE with mode-1 or mode-2 resources. The mode-1 and/or mode-2 being protocols utilized explicitly for sidelink resource allocation, but differ in their means of allocating sidelink resources); or,
determining the target position by the first terminal, according to target position indication information transmitted by the second terminal and received through the sidelink interface (using mode-2 resource allocation a second or a first UE may transmit an indication of sidelink resources to the other UE in which it communicates in the sidelink, whichever UE performs the sensing of the resources that are available), ; or
determining the target position by the first terminal, according to a terminal implementation requirement (par.[0067] as discussed above, the terminals may utilize mode-1 resource allocation, wherein the UE receives from the network the sidelink resources which will be used for sidelink transmissions. This could also apply to mode-2 wherein the terminals sense the resources from a resource pool, see e.g. “Mode 2, is an autonomous UE selected mode, in which the user equipment may allocate resources for the sidelink transmission without base station intervention.”); or,
determining the target position by the first terminal, according to a radio resource control (RRC) state of the first terminal at a Uu interface (as discussed above, with mode-1 resource allocation a UE is in coverage to a mobile base station, and receives from the base station an indication of the resources which will be used for sidelink transmission, par.[0067] “The first mode, Mode 1, is a base station (BS) scheduled mode in which the serving base station allocates resources for the user equipment for sidelink transmission”).
Regarding claim 5, the disclosure of Van Phan teaches:
transmitting information to another UE which indicates that the indication information indicates that the second terminal needs to enter the DRX active time or the DTX active time;
performing, by the first terminal, the DRX configuration change or the DTX configuration change, in the case that the indication information indicates that the second terminal needs to perform the DRX configuration change or the DTX configuration change (par.[0067 and 0090] as discussed above); or
changing, by the first terminal, to the DRX configuration or the DTX configuration indicated by the identification information, in the case that the indication information indicates the identification information of the DRX configuration for the second terminal to be used after the DRX configuration is changed, or
the identification information of the DTX configuration for the second terminal to be used after the DTX configuration is changed.
Regarding claim 12, Van Phan discloses:
wherein prior to the transmitting, by the second terminal, the indication information at the target position of the sidelink resource (see the rejection of claims 1 and 21 above with regard to the target position in the sidelink resource), the method further comprises:
determining the target position by the second terminal, according to a predetermined protocol (par.[0067] describes the transmission of Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) which corresponds with Sidelink Control Information (SCI), wherein the UE is configured by the UE with mode-1 or mode-2 resources. The mode-1 and/or mode-2 being protocols utilized explicitly for sidelink resource allocation, but differ in their means of allocating sidelink resources); or,
determining the target position by the second terminal, according to target position indication information transmitted by the second terminal and received through the sidelink interface (using mode-2 resource allocation a second or a first UE may transmit an indication of sidelink resources to the other UE in which it communicates in the sidelink, whichever UE performs the sensing of the resources that are available), ; or
determining the target position by the second terminal, according to a terminal implementation requirement (par.[0067] as discussed above, the terminals may utilize mode-1 resource allocation, wherein the UE receives from the network the sidelink resources which will be used for sidelink transmissions. This could also apply to mode-2 wherein the terminals sense the resources from a resource pool, see e.g. “Mode 2, is an autonomous UE selected mode, in which the user equipment may allocate resources for the sidelink transmission without base station intervention.”); or,
determining the target position by the second terminal, according to a radio resource control (RRC) state of the second terminal at a Uu interface (as discussed above, with mode-1 resource allocation a UE is in coverage to a mobile base station, and receives from the base station an indication of the resources which will be used for sidelink transmission, par.[0067] “The first mode, Mode 1, is a base station (BS) scheduled mode in which the serving base station allocates resources for the user equipment for sidelink transmission”).
Regarding claims 11 and 23, Van Phan discloses:
a terminal (fig.6 depicts a terminal), the terminal being a second terminal (fig.1 depicts a plurality of terminals, any of which could be a first terminal), and comprising:
a memory (fig.6 element 602 par.[0114 and 0116]);
a transceiver (fig.6 element 606, and par.[0114]); and
a processor (fig.6 element 604 and par.[0114]);
wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (par.[0116] describes the memory as a data store), transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor (par.[0114 – 0117] and fig.6 wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive), and the processor is configured to read the computer program from the memory (par.[0114 – 0117] describe a processor which is coupled to a memory and configured to process the instructions from the memory) to implement the following operation of:
an information indication method (Fig.4 depicts an information indication method, wherein the indication relates to sidelink DRX or DTX in sidelink communications) method, comprising:
monitoring, by a second terminal, at a target position of a sidelink resource (par.[0067] describes the transmission of Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) which corresponds with Sidelink Control Information (SCI), wherein the UE is configured by the UE with mode-1 or mode-2 resources. Utilizing the mode-1 or mode-2 resources which have been allocated for sidelink transmission and reception, the UE is capable of transmitting to the receiving device at a target position (i.e. a time/frequency resource position) the PSCCH. See, “a transmitting user equipment (Tx UE) wherein a receiving user equipment (Rx UE) may need to keep monitoring all possible PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel) instances to receive sidelink transmission over one or more preconfigured resource pool(s).” The PSCCH instances being a target position wherein the Tx UE transmits and the Rx UE is capable of receiving the PSCCH transmission), indication information transmitted by a first terminal (fig.4 element 403 and par.[0090] which describe a device forwarding over a sidelink to other relevant devices DRX information) wherein the indication information is used for indicating at least one of the following information:
whether a second terminal needs to enter a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time (par.[0009 – 0012] describe the DRX/DTX on-off pattern. The on-off pattern would indicate to a UE receiving the selected on-off pattern whether and when the terminal needs to enter an onDuration);
whether the second terminal needs to enter a discontinuous transmission (DTX) active time (par.[0009 – 0012] as discussed above, the receiving UE is capable of acquiring an on/off pattern for transmission or reception (i.e. DRX or DTX) as discussed “receiving signals from the one or more other devices and/or transmitting signals to the one or more other devices for the sidelink communication according to the selected pattern”);
wherein the first terminal is communicating with the second terminal through a sidelink interface (fig.2 depicts a plurality of sidelinks between UE 204 – 208 and fig.4 discloses the configuration is for sidelink or direct communications).
While the disclosure of Van Phan substantially discloses the claimed subject matter, it may not disclose:
Wherein subsequent to the transmitting, by the first terminal, the indication information the target position of the sidelink resource, the method further comprises:
Activating, by the first terminal, a DRX inactivity timer or a DTX inactivity timer corresponding to the sidelink interface, in the cast that the indication information indicates that the second terminal needs to enter the DRX active time or the DTX active time.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Park teaches:
wherein subsequent to the transmitting, by the first terminal, the indication information the target position of the sidelink resource, the method further comprises:
activating, by the first terminal, a DRX inactivity timer or a DTX inactivity timer corresponding to the sidelink interface, in the cast that the indication information indicates that the second terminal needs to enter the DRX active time or the DTX active time (fig.10 wherein the TX-UE interpreted as the UE which transmits the first UE aligns its inactivity timer to that of scheduling of the RX-UE such that the TX-UE and the RX-UE sidelink inactivity timers are aligned. Par.[0116 – 0127] fig.9 depicts what occurs when the inactivity timers are misaligned, fig(s) 10-11 depict the TX-UE knowing when the RX-UE is going to start its DRX inactivity timer and starting its own DRX inactivity timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Van Phan for send sidelink DRX information to an RX-UE with the alignment of timers as discussed in Park. The motivation/suggestion would have been to prevent a misalignment of timers causing a loss of data transmission as discussed in Park.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Phan and Park as applied to independent claims 1, 11, 21, and 23, in view of Jung et al. (US 2017/0006585 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the disclosure of Van Phan and Park substantially discloses the resource allocation methods mode-1 and mode-2, and further discloses that mode-1 resource are centrally allocated by a network entity, but do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the determining the target position by the first terminal, according to the RRC state of the first terminal at the Uu interface comprises:
determining the target position by the first terminal, according to target position indication information transmitted by a network-side device and received through the Uu interface, in the case that the first terminal is in an RRC connected state at the Uu interface; or,
determining the target position by the first terminal, according to a system information block transmitted by the network-side device and received through the Uu interface, in the case that the first terminal is in an RRC idle state or RRC inactive state at the Uu interface, wherein the system information block carries the target position indication information; or,
determining the target position by the first terminal, according to pre-configured information, in the case that the first terminal is in an RRC out-of-coverage state at the Uu interface.
The above limitations were known in the prior art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, and are taught in the analogous prior art reference Jung. For example, the disclosure of Jung teaches:
wherein the determining the target position by the first terminal, according to the RRC state of the first terminal at the Uu interface (par.[0251] teaches mode-1 resource allocation. Additionally mode-1 resource allocation is discussed throughout the specification and in par.[0017]) comprises:
determining the target position by the first terminal, according to target position indication information transmitted by a network-side device and received through the Uu interface (par.[0017] describes the mode 1 resource allocation wherein the network is configured to allocated sidelink resources to the mobile device for sidelink communications), in the case that the first terminal is in an RRC connected state at the Uu interface (the office takes official notice that the Uu interface is an access link interface between mobile devices and the Radio Access Network (i.e. base station). The par.[0251] discloses that the UE may be in the RRC_CONNECTED state to acquire the mode-1 resource); or,
determining the target position by the first terminal, according to a system information block transmitted by the network-side device (par.[0251] describes the UE in RRC idle state receiving broadcast information (i.e. master or system information) while in the cell of the base station) and received through the Uu interface (as discussed above the Uu interface is the RAN interface), in the case that the first terminal is in an RRC idle state or RRC inactive state at the Uu interface (par.[0251] describes the RRC_IDLE state, while it would be apparent to one of skill in the art to apply the technique to an RRC_INACTIVE state as well), wherein the system information block carries the target position indication information (par.[0251] which recites, in part, “When the UE in the RRC idle sate receives the broadcasted resource pool information that may be applied to mode 1”); or,
determining the target position by the first terminal, according to pre-configured information, in the case that the first terminal is in an RRC out-of-coverage state at the Uu interface (par.[0284] describes mode 1 resource which are preconfigured in the UE after radio link timer has passed, thus, the UE is out of coverage or otherwise unable to communicate with the network base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the DRX/DTX configuration methods as discussed in Van Phan and Park with the disclosure of Jung which teaches sidelink resource allocation. The motivation/suggestion would have been that in order for the UE to perform sidelink communications it needs to acquire or have knowledge of usable sidelink resources and the methods as discussed Jung provide numerous techniques for resolving the resources that can be used on the sidelink.
Regarding claim 14, the disclosure of Van Phan and Park substantially discloses the resource allocation methods mode-1 and mode-2, and further discloses that mode-1 resource are centrally allocated by a network entity, but do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the determining the target position by the second terminal, according to the RRC state of the first terminal at the Uu interface comprises:
determining the target position by the second terminal, according to target position indication information transmitted by a network-side device and received through the Uu interface, in the case that the first terminal is in an RRC connected state at the Uu interface; or,
determining the target position by the second terminal, according to a system information block transmitted by the network-side device and received through the Uu interface, in the case that the second terminal is in an RRC idle state or RRC inactive state at the Uu interface, wherein the system information block carries the target position indication information; or,
determining the target position by the second terminal, according to pre-configured information, in the case that the first terminal is in an RRC out-of-coverage state at the Uu interface.
The above limitations were known in the prior art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, and are taught in the analogous prior art reference Jung. For example, the disclosure of Jung teaches:
wherein the determining the target position by the second terminal, according to the RRC state of the second terminal at the Uu interface (par.[0251] teaches mode-1 resource allocation. Additionally mode-1 resource allocation is discussed throughout the specification and in par.[0017]) comprises:
determining the target position by the second terminal, according to target position indication information transmitted by a network-side device and received through the Uu interface (par.[0017] describes the mode 1 resource allocation wherein the network is configured to allocated sidelink resources to the mobile device for sidelink communications), in the case that the second terminal is in an RRC connected state at the Uu interface (the office takes official notice that the Uu interface is an access link interface between mobile devices and the Radio Access Network (i.e. base station). The par.[0251] discloses that the UE may be in the RRC_CONNECTED state to acquire the mode-1 resource); or,
determining the target position by the second terminal, according to a system information block transmitted by the network-side device (par.[0251] describes the UE in RRC idle state receiving broadcast information (i.e. master or system information) while in the cell of the base station) and received through the Uu interface (as discussed above the Uu interface is the RAN interface), in the case that the second terminal is in an RRC idle state or RRC inactive state at the Uu interface (par.[0251] describes the RRC_IDLE state, while it would be apparent to one of skill in the art to apply the technique to an RRC_INACTIVE state as well), wherein the system information block carries the target position indication information (par.[0251] which recites, in part, “When the UE in the RRC idle sate receives the broadcasted resource pool information that may be applied to mode 1”); or,
determining the target position by the second terminal, according to pre-configured information, in the case that the first terminal is in an RRC out-of-coverage state at the Uu interface (par.[0284] describes mode 1 resource which are preconfigured in the UE after radio link timer has passed, thus, the UE is out of coverage or otherwise unable to communicate with the network base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the DRX/DTX configuration methods as discussed in Van Phan and Park with the disclosure of Jung which teaches sidelink resource allocation. The motivation/suggestion would have been that in order for the UE to perform sidelink communications it needs to acquire or have knowledge of usable sidelink resources and the methods as discussed Jung provide numerous techniques for resolving the resources that can be used on the sidelink.
Claim(s) 6-10 and 15-19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Phan and Park as applied to independent claims 1, 11, 21, and 23, in view of Lin et al. (US 2022/0353815 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Van Phan and Park discloses:
wherein the transmitting, by the first terminal, the indication information at the target position of the sidelink resource, comprises: transmitting, by the first terminal, the indication information at the target position of the sidelink resource. (see rejection of claim 1 above with regard to the transmission of sidelink indication information at the resource allocated for the transmission, par.[0067]).
The disclosure of Van Phan does not teach:
Transmitting on the target resource, in the cast that the first terminal is in the DRX inactive time or DTX inactive time.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Lin teaches:
Transmitting on the target resource, in the cast that the first terminal is in the DRX inactive time or DTX inactive time (par.[0080] which recites, in part, “Transmitting on the target resource, in the cast that the first terminal is in the DRX inactive time or DTX inactive time”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Van Phan for indicating sidelink DRX parameters to a remote UE, with the disclosure of Lin, which allows for low-latency transmission indication even when the UE is in an DRX/DTX off mode. The motivation/suggestion would have been to improve latency by allowing for low-latency communications to be transmitted even if the UE is in a DRX/DTX off mode, improving latency and communications in the network.
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses:
transmitting, by the first terminal, enabling status information to the second terminal through the sidelink interface, in the case that the first terminal is in the DRX active time or DTX active time (fig.6, 7, and fig.8, wherein the first UE is in the DRX active period, and may send a ping message or a DRX request message, while the UE is in the active time of the on-off period,); or,
receiving, by the first terminal, enabling status information transmitted by the second terminal through the sidelink interface, in the case that the first terminal is in the DRX active time or DTX active time (the second UE, the peer UE could perform the same as discussed par.[0174 – 0173] wherein if the peer UE could, if the active state forward to a first UE a ping or a request message);
wherein the enabling status information is used for indicating an operation status of an enabling switch, and the operation status of the enabling switch comprises: an enabled status or a disabled status (fig.8 depicts the first UE sending a DRX request to the second UE, which second UE may confirm or deny, the confirmation enabling DRX. Fig.6 depicts a Ping from the first UE to the second UE, wherein the ping message can induce SL communications, additionally the transmit UE which may be either a first UE or a second UE can send a wake-up signal which can indicate for the receiving UE to wake-up or not wake-up during the next on-duration, fig.7 and par.[0134]).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses:
wherein the transmitting, by the first terminal, the indication information at the target position of the sidelink resource comprises: transmitting, by the first terminal, the indication information at the target position of the sidelink resource, in the case that the enabling status information indicates that the operation status of the enabling switch is the enabled status (fig.8 depicts the first UE sending a DRX request to the second UE, which second UE may confirm or deny, the confirmation enabling DRX. Fig.6 depicts a Ping from the first UE to the second UE, wherein the ping message can induce SL communications, additionally the transmit UE which may be either a first UE or a second UE can send a wake-up signal which can indicate for the receiving UE to wake-up or not wake-up during the next on-duration, fig.7 and par.[0134]).
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses:
wherein prior to the transmitting, by the first terminal, the enabling status information to the second terminal through the sidelink interface, the method further comprises:
determining the enabling status information by the first terminal, according to a terminal implementation requirement; or,
determining the enabling status information by the first terminal, according to an RRC state of the first terminal at a Uu interface (fig(s).6-8 describe an indication method wherein either transmit UE has SL data to send or not send, can provide an indication of that to the remote/receiving UE. For instance, in the case of the Wake-Up Signaling (WUS), the TX UE would have data to send (i.e. terminal implementation requirement) and send a WUS or not depending on the data. The same can be said with regard to the Ping, or the DRX request wherein the UE is enabled to enter DRX. Additionally, the first UE is connected with the Uu interface of the access link and may receive a SL grant, see e.g. par.[0032] “UE1 is located within the radio coverage of the BS and is able to communicative with the BS over the Uu interface, while UE2 and UE3 are out of the radio coverage of the BS. In addition to supporting the Uu interface, UE1 also supports the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3.” And par.[0077] which recites, in part, “For example, for a mode-1 UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state, the Uu interface of the UE should be kept in the DRX active time (i.e., the Uu DRX active time may be extended even if it has elapsed) to receive SL grants from the network when the PC5 interface of the UE is still in the SL DRX active time (i.e., the SL DRX active time has not elapsed).”. Thus, when a UE receives a SL grant, it should inform the remote UE of such).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses:
wherein the determining the enabling status information by the first terminal, according to the RRC state of the first terminal at the Uu interface comprises:
obtaining, by the first terminal, the enabling status information transmitted by a network- side device through the Uu interface, in the case that the first terminal is in an RRC connected state at the Uu interface; or,
receiving, by the first terminal through the Uu interface, a system information block transmitted by the network-side device, and determining, by the first terminal, the enabling status information according to enabling status information carried in the system information block, in the case that the first terminal is in an RRC idle state or RRC inactive state at the Uu interface; or,
determining, by the first terminal according to pre-configured information, the enabling status information, in the case that the first terminal is in an RRC out-of-coverage state at the Uu interface (fig(s).6-8 describe an indication method wherein either transmit UE has SL data to send or not send, can provide an indication of that to the remote/receiving UE. For instance, in the case of the Wake-Up Signaling (WUS), the TX UE would have data to send (i.e. terminal implementation requirement) and send a WUS or not depending on the data. The same can be said with regard to the Ping, or the DRX request wherein the UE is enabled to enter DRX. Additionally, the first UE is connected with the Uu interface of the access link and may receive a SL grant, see e.g. par.[0032] “UE1 is located within the radio coverage of the BS and is able to communicative with the BS over the Uu interface, while UE2 and UE3 are out of the radio coverage of the BS. In addition to supporting the Uu interface, UE1 also supports the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3.” And par.[0077] which recites, in part, “For example, for a mode-1 UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state, the Uu interface of the UE should be kept in the DRX active time (i.e., the Uu DRX active time may be extended even if it has elapsed) to receive SL grants from the network when the PC5 interface of the UE is still in the SL DRX active time (i.e., the SL DRX active time has not elapsed).”. Thus, when a UE receives a SL grant, it should inform the remote UE of such).
Regarding claim 15, Lin discloses:
wherein the monitoring, by the second terminal at the target position of the sidelink resource, the indication information transmitted by the first terminal comprises: monitoring, by the second terminal at the target position of the sidelink resource, the indication information transmitted by the first terminal, in the case that the second terminal is in a DRX inactive time or DTX inactive time (fig.7 the peer UE is in the DRX/DTX inactive state, and monitors for a wake-up signaling, par.[0134] which recites, in part, “As shown in FIG. 7, the UE wakes up for a short period of time (denoted as a detection window for wake-up signal) before each SL DRX-ON duration, to detect if a wake-up signal is received.”).
Regarding claim 16, Lin discloses:
transmitting, by the second terminal, enabling status information to the first terminal through the sidelink interface, in the case that the first terminal is in the DRX active time or DTX active time (fig.6, 7, and fig.8, wherein the first UE is in the DRX active period, and may send a ping message or a DRX request message, while the UE is in the active time of the on-off period,); or,
receiving, by the second terminal, enabling status information transmitted by the first terminal through the sidelink interface, in the case that the first terminal is in the DRX active time or DTX active time (the second UE, the peer UE could perform the same as discussed par.[0174 – 0173] wherein if the peer UE could, if the active state forward to a first UE a ping or a request message);
wherein the enabling status information is used for indicating an operation status of an enabling switch, and the operation status of the enabling switch comprises: an enabled status or a disabled status (fig.8 depicts the first UE sending a DRX request to the second UE, which second UE may confirm or deny, the confirmation enabling DRX. Fig.6 depicts a Ping from the first UE to the second UE, wherein the ping message can induce SL communications, additionally the transmit UE which may be either a first UE or a second UE can send a wake-up signal which can indicate for the receiving UE to wake-up or not wake-up during the next on-duration, fig.7 and par.[0134]).
Regarding claim 17, Lin discloses:
wherein the monitoring, by the second terminal, the indication information at the target position of the sidelink resource comprises:
monitoring, by the second terminal, the indication information at the target position of the sidelink resource, the indication information transmitted by the first termina, in the case that the enabling status information indicates that the operation status of the enabling switch is the enabled status (fig.8 depicts the first UE sending a DRX request to the second UE, which second UE may confirm or deny, the confirmation enabling DRX. Fig.6 depicts a Ping from the first UE to the second UE, wherein the ping message can induce SL communications, additionally the transmit UE which may be either a first UE or a second UE can send a wake-up signal which can indicate for the receiving UE to wake-up or not wake-up during the next on-duration, fig.7 and par.[0134]).
Regarding claim 18, Lin discloses:
wherein prior to the transmitting, by the second terminal, the enabling status information to the first terminal through the sidelink interface, the method further comprises:
determining the enabling status information by the first terminal, according to a terminal implementation requirement; or,
determining the enabling status information by the first terminal, according to an RRC state of the first terminal at a Uu interface (fig(s).6-8 describe an indication method wherein either transmit UE has SL data to send or not send, can provide an indication of that to the remote/receiving UE. For instance, in the case of the Wake-Up Signaling (WUS), the TX UE would have data to send (i.e. terminal implementation requirement) and send a WUS or not depending on the data. The same can be said with regard to the Ping, or the DRX request wherein the UE is enabled to enter DRX. Additionally, the first UE is connected with the Uu interface of the access link and may receive a SL grant, see e.g. par.[0032] “UE1 is located within the radio coverage of the BS and is able to communicative with the BS over the Uu interface, while UE2 and UE3 are out of the radio coverage of the BS. In addition to supporting the Uu interface, UE1 also supports the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3.” And par.[0077] which recites, in part, “For example, for a mode-1 UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state, the Uu interface of the UE should be kept in the DRX active time (i.e., the Uu DRX active time may be extended even if it has elapsed) to receive SL grants from the network when the PC5 interface of the UE is still in the SL DRX active time (i.e., the SL DRX active time has not elapsed).”. Thus, when a UE receives a SL grant, it should inform the remote UE of such).
Regarding claim 19, Lin discloses:
wherein the determining the enabling status information by the second terminal, according to the RRC state of the first terminal at the Uu interface comprises:
obtaining, by the second terminal, the enabling status information transmitted by a network- side device through the Uu interface, in the case that the first terminal is in an RRC connected state at the Uu interface; or,
receiving, by the second terminal through the Uu interface, a system information block transmitted by the network-side device, and determining, by the second terminal, the enabling status information according to enabling status information carried in the system information block, in the case that the second terminal is in an RRC idle state or RRC inactive state at the Uu interface; or,
determining, by the second terminal according to pre-configured information, the enabling status information, in the case that the first terminal is in an RRC out-of-coverage state at the Uu interface (fig(s).6-8 describe an indication method wherein either transmit UE has SL data to send or not send, can provide an indication of that to the remote/receiving UE. For instance, in the case of the Wake-Up Signaling (WUS), the TX UE would have data to send (i.e. terminal implementation requirement) and send a WUS or not depending on the data. The same can be said with regard to the Ping, or the DRX request wherein the UE is enabled to enter DRX. Additionally, the first UE is connected with the Uu interface of the access link and may receive a SL grant, see e.g. par.[0032] “UE1 is located within the radio coverage of the BS and is able to communicative with the BS over the Uu interface, while UE2 and UE3 are out of the radio coverage of the BS. In addition to supporting the Uu interface, UE1 also supports the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3.” And par.[0077] which recites, in part, “For example, for a mode-1 UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state, the Uu interface of the UE should be kept in the DRX active time (i.e., the Uu DRX active time may be extended even if it has elapsed) to receive SL grants from the network when the PC5 interface of the UE is still in the SL DRX active time (i.e., the SL DRX active time has not elapsed).”. Thus, when a UE receives a SL grant, it should inform the remote UE of such).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Song et al. (US 2016/0366645 A1) “Method and Device for Reducing Power of Device in Wireless Communication System Supporting Device to Device Communication” par.[0069 – 0071] describes the DRX/DTX inactivity timer.
Zhou et al. (US 2023/0370942 A1) “Method and Terminal for Measurement in Wireless Communications System”
Agarwal et al. (US 10,349,466 B2) “Receiving Upon Transmit and Transmitting Upon Receive”
Yang (US 2023/0068554 A1) “Communication Processing Method and Apparatus, and Storage Medium”
JAMAAL HENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411