Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 pending.
Claim Objections
Regarding claim 5, the claim ends with the word “and.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the phrases “surface deformation” and “geometrical deformation” render the claim indefinite. It is unclear how / whether these terms differ from one another. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the claim, e.g., “a comparison of the surface deformation of the rotating shaft and the geometrical deformation of the at least one metamaterial unit cell.” Claim 20 recites similar limitations and is indefinite for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 10749612 B1 to Iannotti.
Regarding claim 1,
Iannotti teaches:
A radio frequency sensing apparatus for detecting an anomaly in a rotating machine, comprising:
at least one radio frequency sensor configured to monitor at least one signal received from a rotating machine, (Fig. 1; [col. 4, line 42 – col. 5, line 50] – “stator antenna 114 that is separate and spaced apart from the shaft 102… the RF sensor 106 is configured to generate measurement signals as the shaft 102 spins or rotates. The measurement signals are communicated from the RF sensor 106 to the rotor antenna 108, and from the rotor antenna 108 to the stator antenna 114 across the air gap 122.”) the at least one signal being indicative of at least one of resonance shift, magnetic permeability, or return loss magnitude; ([col. 3, lines 39-59] – “The measurement signal that is generated by the SAW sensor and transmitted back to the stator antenna may include a frequency spectrum with nulls or voids in the spectrum corresponding to the frequencies at which the resonators of the SAW sensor resonate.” [col. 6, lines 7-34]) and
a processor configured to compare the at least one of resonance shift, magnetic permeability, or return loss magnitude of the at least one signal ([col. 8, lines 1-19] – “The controller 116 is configured to determine one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as strain, torque, temperature, or the like, based on the determined resonating frequencies of the resonators 142, 144, 146.”) to a corresponding reference resonance shift, reference magnetic permeability, or reference return loss magnitude for the rotating machine, ([col. 9, lines 30-42] – “For example, the one or more processors 118 may be configured to utilize the calibration information with the determined resonating frequencies of the first and second resonators 142, 144 to derive a torque through the shaft 102.” [col. 6, lines 1-6] – “The controller 116 may be configured to compare the measurement signals generated by the multiple different RF sensors 106 when determining one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as torque, bending, fatigue, stress, strain rate, or the like.” Calibration info or measurements from different RF sensors used for comparison may correspond to reference values.) the processor further configured to determine whether the anomaly has occurred in the rotating shaft based on the comparison, and to identify at least one type of anomaly of a plurality of types of anomalies including the anomaly that has occurred in the rotating shaft based on the comparison. ([col. 13, line 56- col. 14, line 3] – “The sensor system 100 may be incorporated with at least one of these shafts 602, 604, 606, 608 to monitor properties of the shafts such as, but not limited to, strain, torque, temperature, or rotational speed… The controller 116 may be configured to control the operation of the power-generating machine 600 based on one or more determined properties of the shaft 102. For example, the power-generating machine 600 may have a designated torque value or range. If the sensor system 100 determines a torque value for the shaft 102 that is outside of the torque range, the controller 116 may generate a control signal configured to change an operating setting of the power-generating machine 600, such as to increase the power output of the machine 600 or to decrease the power output based on the determined torque value.”)
Regarding claim(s) 15,
Claim(s) 15 is/are method claim(s) corresponding to apparatus claim(s) 1, respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 15 are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 1.
Regarding claim 17,
Iannotti teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Iannotti further teaches:
The method of claim 15,
wherein the plurality of types of anomalies includes tension of the rotating shaft, vibration of the rotating shaft, bending of the rotating shaft, torsion of the rotating shaft, and strain of the rotating shaft, ([col. 8, lines 1-19] – “The controller 116 is configured to determine one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as strain, torque, temperature, or the like, based on the determined resonating frequencies of the resonators 142, 144, 146.”) and
wherein each of the comparisons of the resonance shift to the reference resonance shift, the magnetic permeability to the reference magnetic permeability, and the return loss magnitude to the reference return loss magnitude ([col. 9, lines 30-42] – “For example, the one or more processors 118 may be configured to utilize the calibration information with the determined resonating frequencies of the first and second resonators 142, 144 to derive a torque through the shaft 102.” [col. 6, lines 1-6] – “The controller 116 may be configured to compare the measurement signals generated by the multiple different RF sensors 106 when determining one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as torque, bending, fatigue, stress, strain rate, or the like.” Measurements from different RF sensors used for comparison may correspond to reference values.) correlates to at least one of the plurality of types of anomalies having occurred in the rotating shaft. ([col. 13, line 56- col. 14, line 3] – “The sensor system 100 may be incorporated with at least one of these shafts 602, 604, 606, 608 to monitor properties of the shafts such as, but not limited to, strain, torque, temperature, or rotational speed… The controller 116 may be configured to control the operation of the power-generating machine 600 based on one or more determined properties of the shaft 102. For example, the power-generating machine 600 may have a designated torque value or range. If the sensor system 100 determines a torque value for the shaft 102 that is outside of the torque range, the controller 116 may generate a control signal configured to change an operating setting of the power-generating machine 600, such as to increase the power output of the machine 600 or to decrease the power output based on the determined torque value.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-9, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10749612 B1 to Iannotti in view of “Metamaterial-Inspired Rotation Sensor With Wide Dynamic Range” by Ebrahimi.
Regarding claim 2,
Iannotti teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Iannotti further teaches:
The radio frequency sensing apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
at least one RF sensor comprising resonators (lined through limitations correspond to limitations not taught by reference) configured to be arranged on the rotating machine (Fig. 1; [col. 6, lines 34-50] – “The resonant elements 128 may be spaced apart from one another and arranged in a two-dimensional array 134. The array 134 of resonant elements 128 may circumferentially extend along the outer surface 110 of the shaft 102. Optionally, the array 134 may extend around a full circumference of the shaft 102.”) and configured to deform in response to the at least one type of anomaly being present in the rotating machine, (Fig. 3; [col. 10, lines 33-55] – “the conductive features 202 may be printed directly onto the outer surface 210 of the substrate 208. The substrate 208 may be relatively thin and flexible to allow the FS structure 126 to conform to the curved outer surface 110 of the shaft 102.” [col. 6, lines 1-6] – “properties of the shaft 102, such as torque, bending, fatigue, stress, strain rate, or the like.” [col. 8, lines 1-19] – “The controller 116 is configured to determine one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as strain, torque, temperature, or the like, based on the determined resonating frequencies of the resonators 142, 144, 146.” Examiner additionally notes that instant application specification [0016] states that deformation can include, e.g., strain. Therefore, strain experienced by the conductive features correspond to deformation.)
wherein the at least one signal is transmitted from at least one signal source and reflected off of and transmitted through the at least one RF sensor comprising resonators (lined through limitations correspond to limitations not taught by reference) ([col. 6, lines 34-50] – “Each FS structure 126 may include or represent a thin layer or sheet designed to reflect, absorb, and/or dissipate electromagnetic fields based on the frequency of the field”) such that the at least one radio frequency sensor receives the at least one signal. ([col. 3, lines 39-59] – “The measurement signal that is generated by the SAW sensor and transmitted back to the stator antenna may include a frequency spectrum with nulls or voids in the spectrum corresponding to the frequencies at which the resonators of the SAW sensor resonate.” [col. 6, lines 7-34])
Ebrahimi teaches:
metamaterial unit cell arranged on a rotating machine ([p. 2609, introduction] – “METAMATERIALS are artificially engineered materials made of sub-wavelength resonators that can manipulate the electromagnetic waves to cause some exotic electromagnetic properties… Various types of metamaterial-based sensors have been introduced… alignment and rotation sensors have been introduced [20], [21] based on split-ring resonator (SRR)… displacing or rotating the SRR from the CPW symmetry plane causes a resonance in the transmission response of the structure, where the resonance notch depth is function of either the displacement or rotation of the SRR”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ebrahimi’s known technique to Iannotti’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Iannotti teaches a base sensor system for a rotating machine including resonant elements; (2) Ebrahimi teaches the specific use of metamaterials comprising resonators for rotating machine sensing; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 3,
Iannotti in view of Ebrahimi teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Iannotti further teaches:
The radio frequency sensing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the rotating machine includes a rotating shaft, (Fig. 1; [col. 4, line 42 – col. 5, line 50] – “shaft 102 spins or rotates”) and wherein the at least one RF sensor comprising resonators is configured to be adhered to an outer surface of the rotating shaft. (Fig. 1; [col. 6, lines 34-50] – “The resonant elements 128 may be spaced apart from one another and arranged in a two-dimensional array 134. The array 134 of resonant elements 128 may circumferentially extend along the outer surface 110 of the shaft 102. Optionally, the array 134 may extend around a full circumference of the shaft 102.”)
Ebrahimi teaches:
metamaterial unit cell arranged on a rotating machine ([p. 2609, introduction] – “METAMATERIALS are artificially engineered materials made of sub-wavelength resonators that can manipulate the electromagnetic waves to cause some exotic electromagnetic properties… Various types of metamaterial-based sensors have been introduced… alignment and rotation sensors have been introduced [20], [21] based on split-ring resonator (SRR)… displacing or rotating the SRR from the CPW symmetry plane causes a resonance in the transmission response of the structure, where the resonance notch depth is function of either the displacement or rotation of the SRR”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ebrahimi’s known technique to Iannotti’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Iannotti teaches a base sensor system for a rotating machine including resonant elements; (2) Ebrahimi teaches the specific use of metamaterials comprising resonators for rotating machine sensing; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 4,
Iannotti in view of Ebrahimi teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Iannotti further teaches:
The radio frequency sensing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the plurality of types of anomalies comprises one or more of: tension of the rotating shaft, vibration of the rotating shaft, bending of the rotating shaft, torsion of the rotating shaft, or strain of the rotating shaft, ([col. 8, lines 1-19] – “The controller 116 is configured to determine one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as strain, torque, temperature, or the like, based on the determined resonating frequencies of the resonators 142, 144, 146.”) and
wherein each of the comparisons of the resonance shift to the reference resonance shift, the magnetic permeability to the reference magnetic permeability, or the return loss magnitude to the reference return loss magnitude ([col. 9, lines 30-42] – “For example, the one or more processors 118 may be configured to utilize the calibration information with the determined resonating frequencies of the first and second resonators 142, 144 to derive a torque through the shaft 102.” [col. 6, lines 1-6] – “The controller 116 may be configured to compare the measurement signals generated by the multiple different RF sensors 106 when determining one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as torque, bending, fatigue, stress, strain rate, or the like.” Measurements from different RF sensors or calibration information used for comparison may correspond to reference values.) correlates to at least one of the plurality of types of anomalies having occurred in the rotating shaft. ([col. 13, line 56- col. 14, line 3] – “The sensor system 100 may be incorporated with at least one of these shafts 602, 604, 606, 608 to monitor properties of the shafts such as, but not limited to, strain, torque, temperature, or rotational speed… The controller 116 may be configured to control the operation of the power-generating machine 600 based on one or more determined properties of the shaft 102. For example, the power-generating machine 600 may have a designated torque value or range. If the sensor system 100 determines a torque value for the shaft 102 that is outside of the torque range, the controller 116 may generate a control signal configured to change an operating setting of the power-generating machine 600, such as to increase the power output of the machine 600 or to decrease the power output based on the determined torque value.”)
Regarding claim 6,
Iannotti in view of Ebrahimi teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Iannotti further teaches:
The radio frequency sensing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to produce a mechanical deformation model to identify the at least one type of anomaly occurring in the rotating shaft, the mechanical deformation model being based on (i) surface deformation of the rotating shaft caused by at least one of tension of the rotating shaft, vibration of the rotating shaft, bending of the rotating shaft, torsion of the rotating shaft, or strain of the rotating shaft, (col. 13, line 56- col. 14, line 3] – “The sensor system 100 may be incorporated with at least one of these shafts 602, 604, 606, 608 to monitor properties of the shafts such as, but not limited to, strain, torque, temperature, or rotational speed… The controller 116 may be configured to control the operation of the power-generating machine 600 based on one or more determined properties of the shaft 102. For example, the power-generating machine 600 may have a designated torque value or range. If the sensor system 100 determines a torque value for the shaft 102 that is outside of the torque range, the controller 116 may generate a control signal configured to change an operating setting of the power-generating machine 600, such as to increase the power output of the machine 600 or to decrease the power output based on the determined torque value.” Designated value ranges, calibration info, or another sensor’s determined strain experienced by the rotating shaft may correspond to surface deformation of the rotating shaft.) (ii) geometrical deformation of the at least one RF sensor comprising resonators; (Fig. 3; [col. 10, lines 33-55] – “the conductive features 202 may be printed directly onto the outer surface 210 of the substrate 208. The substrate 208 may be relatively thin and flexible to allow the FS structure 126 to conform to the curved outer surface 110 of the shaft 102.” [col. 6, lines 1-6] – “properties of the shaft 102, such as torque, bending, fatigue, stress, strain rate, or the like.” [col. 8, lines 1-19] – “The controller 116 is configured to determine one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as strain, torque, temperature, or the like, based on the determined resonating frequencies of the resonators 142, 144, 146.” Examiner additionally notes that instant application specification [0016] states that deformation can include, e.g., strain. Therefore, determined strain based on measured resonating frequencies is based on geometrical deformation of the conductive elements strain experienced by the conductive features resulting in certain resonating frequencies correspond to geometrical deformation of that feature.) and (iii) a comparison of the surface deformation of the rotating shaft and the geometrical deformation of the at least one RF sensor comprising resonators. (col. 13, line 56- col. 14, line 3] – “The sensor system 100 may be incorporated with at least one of these shafts 602, 604, 606, 608 to monitor properties of the shafts such as, but not limited to, strain, torque, temperature, or rotational speed… The controller 116 may be configured to control the operation of the power-generating machine 600 based on one or more determined properties of the shaft 102. For example, the power-generating machine 600 may have a designated torque value or range. If the sensor system 100 determines a torque value for the shaft 102 that is outside of the torque range, the controller 116 may generate a control signal configured to change an operating setting of the power-generating machine 600, such as to increase the power output of the machine 600 or to decrease the power output based on the determined torque value.” [col. 9, lines 30-42] – “For example, the one or more processors 118 may be configured to utilize the calibration information with the determined resonating frequencies of the first and second resonators 142, 144 to derive a torque through the shaft 102.” [col. 6, lines 1-6] – “The controller 116 may be configured to compare the measurement signals generated by the multiple different RF sensors 106 when determining one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as torque, bending, fatigue, stress, strain rate, or the like.” Comparisons of determined strain based on measured resonating frequencies caused by geometrical deformation of the conductive elements, designated value ranges, measurements from another RF sensor, and/or calibration info may correspond to comparisons of surface deformation of the shaft and deformation of the conducting feature.)
Ebrahimi teaches:
metamaterial unit cell arranged on a rotating machine ([p. 2609, introduction] – “METAMATERIALS are artificially engineered materials made of sub-wavelength resonators that can manipulate the electromagnetic waves to cause some exotic electromagnetic properties… Various types of metamaterial-based sensors have been introduced… alignment and rotation sensors have been introduced [20], [21] based on split-ring resonator (SRR)… displacing or rotating the SRR from the CPW symmetry plane causes a resonance in the transmission response of the structure, where the resonance notch depth is function of either the displacement or rotation of the SRR”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ebrahimi’s known technique to Iannotti’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Iannotti teaches a base sensor system for a rotating machine including resonant elements; (2) Ebrahimi teaches the specific use of metamaterials comprising resonators for rotating machine sensing; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 7,
Iannotti in view of Ebrahimi teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Iannotti further teaches:
The radio frequency sensing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one RF sensor comprising resonators (lined through limitations correspond to limitations not taught by reference) comprises a split-ring resonator including at least two rings comprised of metal that are bonded to a conductive substrate. (Fig. 3; [col. 9, lines 50-67] – “The FS structure 126 in FIG. 3 includes a repeating array 134 or pattern of multiple resonant elements 128. Each resonant element 128 includes multiple conductive features 202 formed in a specific geometrical shape… The inner features 202A and the outer features 202B are formed into split rings in FIG. 3. Each resonant element 128 may be a split ring resonator.” [col. 10, lines 33-67] – “The conductive features 202 may be mounted along a top or outer surface 210 of the dielectric substrate 208.” Examiner notes instant application specification [0100] – “The conductive substrate 34 can be made from a variety of materials, including but not limited to a dielectric material.”)
Ebrahimi teaches:
metamaterial unit cell arranged on a rotating machine ([p. 2609, introduction] – “METAMATERIALS are artificially engineered materials made of sub-wavelength resonators that can manipulate the electromagnetic waves to cause some exotic electromagnetic properties… Various types of metamaterial-based sensors have been introduced… alignment and rotation sensors have been introduced [20], [21] based on split-ring resonator (SRR)… displacing or rotating the SRR from the CPW symmetry plane causes a resonance in the transmission response of the structure, where the resonance notch depth is function of either the displacement or rotation of the SRR”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ebrahimi’s known technique to Iannotti’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Iannotti teaches a base sensor system for a rotating machine including resonant elements; (2) Ebrahimi teaches the specific use of metamaterials comprising resonators for rotating machine sensing; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 8,
Iannotti in view of Ebrahimi teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Iannotti further teaches:
The radio frequency sensing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to produce an electrical model to identify the at least one type of anomaly occurring in the rotating shaft, the electrical model being based on total inductance between the at least two rings and total distributed capacitance between the at least two rings. ([col. 6, lines 34-50] – “The resonant elements 128 have inherent inductance and capacitance to enable the resonant elements 128 to resonate at specific frequency bands.”)
Regarding claim 9,
Iannotti in view of Ebrahimi teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Iannotti further teaches:
The radio frequency sensing apparatus of claim 8, wherein a first ring of the at least two rings includes a first gap formed therein, and wherein a second ring of the at least two rings is arranged outside of the first ring so as to encompass the first ring, the second ring including a second gap formed therein. (Fig. 3; [col. 9, lines 50-67] – “In the illustrated embodiment, each resonant element 128 includes an inner feature 202A and an outer feature 202B. The inner feature 202A is disposed within and is concentric with the outer feature 202B. The inner feature 202A may be insulated from the outer feature 202B such that the inner feature 202A does not intersect or directly connect to the outer feature 202B. The inner features 202A and the outer features 202B are formed into split rings in FIG. 3. Each resonant element 128 may be a split ring resonator. Each of the inner and outer split rings 202A, 202B has a respective gap 204, 206.”)
Regarding claim(s) 16,
Claim(s) 16 is/are method claim(s) corresponding to apparatus claim(s) 2 respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 16 are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 2.
Regarding claim 20,
Iannotti teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Iannotti further teaches:
The method of claim 15, further comprising:
producing, via the processor, a mechanical deformation model to identify the at least one type of anomaly occurring in the rotating shaft, the mechanical deformation model being based on: (i) surface deformation of the rotating shaft caused by at least one of tension of the rotating shaft, vibration of the rotating shaft, bending of the rotating shaft, torsion of the rotating shaft, or strain of the rotating shaft; (col. 13, line 56- col. 14, line 3] – “The sensor system 100 may be incorporated with at least one of these shafts 602, 604, 606, 608 to monitor properties of the shafts such as, but not limited to, strain, torque, temperature, or rotational speed… The controller 116 may be configured to control the operation of the power-generating machine 600 based on one or more determined properties of the shaft 102. For example, the power-generating machine 600 may have a designated torque value or range. If the sensor system 100 determines a torque value for the shaft 102 that is outside of the torque range, the controller 116 may generate a control signal configured to change an operating setting of the power-generating machine 600, such as to increase the power output of the machine 600 or to decrease the power output based on the determined torque value.” Designated value ranges, calibration info, or another sensor’s determined strain experienced by the rotating shaft may correspond to surface deformation of the rotating shaft.) (ii) geometrical deformation of the at least one RF sensor comprising resonators; (Fig. 3; [col. 10, lines 33-55] – “the conductive features 202 may be printed directly onto the outer surface 210 of the substrate 208. The substrate 208 may be relatively thin and flexible to allow the FS structure 126 to conform to the curved outer surface 110 of the shaft 102.” [col. 6, lines 1-6] – “properties of the shaft 102, such as torque, bending, fatigue, stress, strain rate, or the like.” [col. 8, lines 1-19] – “The controller 116 is configured to determine one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as strain, torque, temperature, or the like, based on the determined resonating frequencies of the resonators 142, 144, 146.” Examiner additionally notes that instant application specification [0016] states that deformation can include, e.g., strain. Therefore, determined strain based on measured resonating frequencies is based on geometrical deformation of the conductive elements strain experienced by the conductive features resulting in certain resonating frequencies correspond to geometrical deformation of that feature.) and (iii) a comparison of the surface deformation of the rotating shaft and the geometrical deformation of the at least one RF sensor comprising resonators;. (col. 13, line 56- col. 14, line 3] – “The sensor system 100 may be incorporated with at least one of these shafts 602, 604, 606, 608 to monitor properties of the shafts such as, but not limited to, strain, torque, temperature, or rotational speed… The controller 116 may be configured to control the operation of the power-generating machine 600 based on one or more determined properties of the shaft 102. For example, the power-generating machine 600 may have a designated torque value or range. If the sensor system 100 determines a torque value for the shaft 102 that is outside of the torque range, the controller 116 may generate a control signal configured to change an operating setting of the power-generating machine 600, such as to increase the power output of the machine 600 or to decrease the power output based on the determined torque value.” [col. 9, lines 30-42] – “For example, the one or more processors 118 may be configured to utilize the calibration information with the determined resonating frequencies of the first and second resonators 142, 144 to derive a torque through the shaft 102.” [col. 6, lines 1-6] – “The controller 116 may be configured to compare the measurement signals generated by the multiple different RF sensors 106 when determining one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as torque, bending, fatigue, stress, strain rate, or the like.” Comparisons of determined strain based on measured resonating frequencies caused by geometrical deformation of the conductive elements, designated value ranges, measurements from another RF sensor, and/or calibration info may correspond to comparisons of surface deformation of the shaft and deformation of the conducting feature.)
Ebrahimi teaches:
metamaterial unit cell arranged on a rotating machine ([p. 2609, introduction] – “METAMATERIALS are artificially engineered materials made of sub-wavelength resonators that can manipulate the electromagnetic waves to cause some exotic electromagnetic properties… Various types of metamaterial-based sensors have been introduced… alignment and rotation sensors have been introduced [20], [21] based on split-ring resonator (SRR)… displacing or rotating the SRR from the CPW symmetry plane causes a resonance in the transmission response of the structure, where the resonance notch depth is function of either the displacement or rotation of the SRR”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ebrahimi’s known technique to Iannotti’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Iannotti teaches a base sensor system for a rotating machine including resonant elements; (2) Ebrahimi teaches the specific use of metamaterials comprising resonators for rotating machine sensing; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10749612 B1 to Iannotti in view of “Metamaterial-Inspired Rotation Sensor With Wide Dynamic Range” by Ebrahimi and further in view of US 20170052060 A1 to GARCÍA PRADA.
Regarding claim 5,
Iannotti in view of Ebrahimi teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. Iannotti in view of Ebrahimi does not explicitly teach the additional elements of the claim.
Iannotti further teaches:
The radio frequency sensing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to at least one of (i) input the comparison of the at least one of resonance shift, magnetic permeability, or return loss magnitude ([col. 8, lines 1-19] – “The controller 116 is configured to determine one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as strain, torque, temperature, or the like, based on the determined resonating frequencies of the resonators 142, 144, 146.”) to the corresponding reference resonance shift, reference magnetic permeability, or reference return loss magnitude for the rotating machine ([col. 9, lines 30-42] – “For example, the one or more processors 118 may be configured to utilize the calibration information with the determined resonating frequencies of the first and second resonators 142, 144 to derive a torque through the shaft 102.” [col. 6, lines 1-6] – “The controller 116 may be configured to compare the measurement signals generated by the multiple different RF sensors 106 when determining one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as torque, bending, fatigue, stress, strain rate, or the like.” Calibration info or measurements from different RF sensors used for comparison may correspond to reference values.) (lined through limitations correspond to limitations not taught by reference) to ([col. 13, line 56- col. 14, line 3] – “The sensor system 100 may be incorporated with at least one of these shafts 602, 604, 606, 608 to monitor properties of the shafts such as, but not limited to, strain, torque, temperature, or rotational speed… The controller 116 may be configured to control the operation of the power-generating machine 600 based on one or more determined properties of the shaft 102. For example, the power-generating machine 600 may have a designated torque value or range. If the sensor system 100 determines a torque value for the shaft 102 that is outside of the torque range, the controller 116 may generate a control signal configured to change an operating setting of the power-generating machine 600, such as to increase the power output of the machine 600 or to decrease the power output based on the determined torque value.”) or (ii) utilize the comparison of the at least one of resonance shift, magnetic permeability, or return loss magnitude to the corresponding reference resonance shift, reference magnetic permeability, or reference return loss magnitude for the rotating machine ([col. 9, lines 30-42] – “For example, the one or more processors 118 may be configured to utilize the calibration information with the determined resonating frequencies of the first and second resonators 142, 144 to derive a torque through the shaft 102.” [col. 6, lines 1-6] – “The controller 116 may be configured to compare the measurement signals generated by the multiple different RF sensors 106 when determining one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as torque, bending, fatigue, stress, strain rate, or the like.” Measurements from different RF sensors used for comparison may correspond to reference values.)
GARCÍA PRADA teaches:
inputting received signals to a neural network to learn / determine shaft properties and their associated signal properties ([0079-82] – “This neural network is trained with the eight energy values of the wavelet packets from the signals obtained with the system (patterns). In the specific examples shown below, 1000 signals, corresponding to healthy shafts and defective shafts (16% fissure depth with respect to shaft diameter) were used. 75% of said signals were used for training the network and the remaining 25% (400 pattern vectors of dimension 8) were presented to the already trained network as a validation system.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied GARCÍA PRADA’s known technique to Iannotti’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Iannotti teaches a base method using received signals to determine properties of the shaft; (2) GARCÍA PRADA teaches a specific technique of inputting received signals to a neural network to determine shaft properties; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10749612 B1 to Iannotti in view of “Metamaterial-Inspired Rotation Sensor With Wide Dynamic Range” by Ebrahimi and further in view of US 20210008931 A1 to Stowell.
Regarding claim 10,
Iannotti teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
The radio frequency sensing apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the rotating machine comprises a rotating shaft, (Fig. 1; [col. 4, line 42 – col. 5, line 50] – “shaft 102 spins or rotates”)
wherein at least one of:
(i) at least one RF sensor comprising resonators (lined through limitations correspond to limitations not taught by reference) is arranged on the rotating shaft, the at least one metamaterial unit cell being configured to deform in response to the anomaly being present in the rotating shaft, (Fig. 3; [col. 10, lines 33-55] – “the conductive features 202 may be printed directly onto the outer surface 210 of the substrate 208. The substrate 208 may be relatively thin and flexible to allow the FS structure 126 to conform to the curved outer surface 110 of the shaft 102.” [col. 8, lines 1-19] – “The controller 116 is configured to determine one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as strain, torque, temperature, or the like, based on the determined resonating frequencies of the resonators 142, 144, 146.” Examiner notes that instant application specification [0016] states that deformation can include, e.g., strain.)
(ii) an absorbing metamaterial textured coating is applied to the rotating shaft, and
wherein the at least one radio frequency sensor comprises a RF sensor comprising resonators (Fig. 1; [col. 4, line 42 – col. 5, line 50] – “stator antenna 114 that is separate and spaced apart from the shaft 102… the RF sensor 106 is configured to generate measurement signals as the shaft 102 spins or rotates. The measurement signals are communicated from the RF sensor 106 to the rotor antenna 108, and from the rotor antenna 108 to the stator antenna 114 across the air gap 122.”) or the absorbing metamaterial textured coating in response to the least one signal being directed at the at least one metamaterial unit cell or the absorbing metamaterial textured coating by at least one signal source.
Ebrahimi teaches:
metamaterial unit cell arranged on a rotating machine ([p. 2609, introduction] – “METAMATERIALS are artificially engineered materials made of sub-wavelength resonators that can manipulate the electromagnetic waves to cause some exotic electromagnetic properties… Various types of metamaterial-based sensors have been introduced… alignment and rotation sensors have been introduced [20], [21] based on split-ring resonator (SRR)… displacing or rotating the SRR from the CPW symmetry plane causes a resonance in the transmission response of the structure, where the resonance notch depth is function of either the displacement or rotation of the SRR”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ebrahimi’s known technique to Iannotti’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Iannotti teaches a base sensor system for a rotating machine including resonant elements; (2) Ebrahimi teaches the specific use of metamaterials comprising resonators for rotating machine sensing; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Stowell teaches:
wherein the at least one radio frequency sensor comprises a monostatic radar sensor configured to monitor the at least one signal being reflected in response to the least one signal (Fig. 1; [0090] – “The transceiver 114 (and/or a resonator, not shown in FIG. 1A) can be configured to transmit chirp signals 110 to any one or more of the tuned RF resonance components 108 to digitally recognize frequency shift and/or attenuation of the chirp signals 111 (referred to as the returned signals 112 in FIG. 1A) from any one or more of the tuned RF resonance components 108.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Stowell’s known technique to Iannotti’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Iannotti teaches a base sensor system for a rotating machine including resonant elements; (2) Ebrahimi specifically teaches a monostatic sensor for use with resonators; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with increased efficiency; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170052060 A1 to GARCÍA PRADA in view of US 20210008931 A1 to Stowell.
Regarding claim 11,
GARCÍA PRADA teaches:
A radio frequency sensing apparatus for detecting an anomaly in a rotating machine, comprising:
at least one the at least one signal being indicative of vibrations occurring in the rotating machine; ([0018] – “acquiring a vibration signal from the rotating shaft by means of at least one sensor” Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of this claim in light of the specification does not require the monostatic radar to transmit the monitored signal.) and
a processor configured to identify a magnitude of the vibration that has occurred in the rotating machine based on the at least one signal received from the rotating machine. ([0020] – “processing the signal acquired by the sensor in the time domain and in the frequency domain by means of a processor, obtaining energy measurements of the acquired signal as a result of said processing;”)
Stowell teaches:
at least one monostatic radar sensor configured to monitor at least one signal (Fig. 1; [0090] – “The transceiver 114 (and/or a resonator, not shown in FIG. 1A) can be configured to transmit chirp signals 110 to any one or more of the tuned RF resonance components 108 to digitally recognize frequency shift and/or attenuation of the chirp signals 111 (referred to as the returned signals 112 in FIG. 1A) from any one or more of the tuned RF resonance components 108.”) ([0090] – “Such “returned” signals 108 can be processed into digital information that can be electronically communicated to a vehicle central processing unit 116” [0087-88] – “For example, if a tuned RF resonance component (such as the tire sensors 106) has been specially prepared (referred to as being “tuned”) to resonate at a frequency of approximately 3 GHz, then the tire sensors 106 can emit sympathetic resonance or sympathetic vibrations (referring to a harmonic phenomenon wherein a formerly passive string or vibratory body responds to external vibrations to which it has a harmonic likeness) when stimulated by a 3 GHz RF signal.” Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of this claim in light of the specification does not require the monostatic radar to transmit the monitored signal.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Stowell’s known technique to GARCÍA PRADA’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) GARCÍA PRADA teaches a base sensor system for processing vibration signals for fault detection; (2) Stowell teaches a specific technique using a monostatic sensor and resonators to monitor vibrations; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with increased efficiency; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 12,
GARCÍA PRADA in view of Stowell teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
GARCÍA PRADA further teaches:
The radio frequency sensing apparatus of claim 11,
wherein the rotating machine comprises a rotating shaft, ([0018] – “acquiring a vibration signal from the rotating shaft by means of at least one sensor) and
wherein at least one signal is transmitted from at least one signal source and reflected off of the rotating shaft such that the at least one monostatic radar sensor receives the at least one signal. (Fig. 1; [0090] – “The transceiver 114 (and/or a resonator, not shown in FIG. 1A) can be configured to transmit chirp signals 110 to any one or more of the tuned RF resonance components 108 to digitally recognize frequency shift and/or attenuation of the chirp signals 111 (referred to as the returned signals 112 in FIG. 1A) from any one or more of the tuned RF resonance components 108.”)
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170052060 A1 to GARCÍA PRADA in view of US 20210008931 A1 to Stowell and further in view of US 20220004179 A1 to Badkoubeh.
Regarding claim 13,
GARCÍA PRADA in view of Stowell teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Badkoubeh teaches:
The radio frequency sensing apparatus of claim 11,
wherein, in response to the at least one monostatic radar sensor receiving the radar signals, the at least one monostatic radar sensor is configured to output voltage, ([0038-39] – “receiving a current and voltage signals and a speed for the rotary electric machine; identifying frequency components of the current and voltage signals;”)
wherein, in response to vibrations occurring in the rotating shaft, the output voltage of the at least one monostatic radar sensor fluctuates, the fluctuation of the output voltage correlated with the magnitude of the vibration of the rotating shaft, ([0040-41] – “monitoring the system in normal use to determine normal frequency components of the torque signal; and identifying a fault frequency component based on deviations of the identified frequency components of the current and voltage signals from the normal frequency components of the current and voltage signals.”) and
wherein, in response to the output voltage of the at least one monostatic radar sensor fluctuating, the processor is configured to measure a magnitude of the fluctuation of the output voltage to determine the magnitude of the vibration of the rotating shaft. ([0045-52] – “The system may be configured to identify a peak and determine faults based on changes in the sidebands around this peak… determining whether the frequency spectrum has developed repeating peaks or harmonics; determining whether the amplitude of existing peaks is changing; and/or determining if there are new peaks (e.g. not associated with a harmonic of an existing peak). The system may be configured to identify problems based on determining whether or not peaks present in the current spectrum are also present in the voltage spectrum.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Badkoubeh’s known technique to GARCÍA PRADA’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) GARCÍA PRADA teaches a base sensor system for processing vibration signals for fault detection; (2) Badkoubeh teaches a specific technique of voltage processing for vibration signals; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with increased efficiency; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 14,
GARCÍA PRADA in view of Stowell and further in view of Badkoubeh teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
GARCÍA PRADA further teaches:
inputting received signals to a neural network to learn / determine shaft properties and their associated signal properties ([0079-82] – “This neural network is trained with the eight energy values of the wavelet packets from the signals obtained with the system (patterns). In the specific examples shown below, 1000 signals, corresponding to healthy shafts and defective shafts (16% fissure depth with respect to shaft diameter) were used. 75% of said signals were used for training the network and the remaining 25% (400 pattern vectors of dimension 8) were presented to the already trained network as a validation system.”)
GARCÍA PRADA does not teach the additional elements of the claim.
Badkoubeh further teaches:
The radio frequency sensing apparatus of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to at least one of (i) input the fluctuation of the output voltage and the magnitude of the vibration of the rotating shaft([0045-52] – “The system may be configured to identify a peak and determine faults based on changes in the sidebands around this peak… determining whether the frequency spectrum has developed repeating peaks or harmonics; determining whether the amplitude of existing peaks is changing; and/or determining if there are new peaks (e.g. not associated with a harmonic of an existing peak). The system may be configured to identify problems based on determining whether or not peaks present in the current spectrum are also present in the voltage spectrum.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Badkoubeh’s known technique to GARCÍA PRADA’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) GARCÍA PRADA teaches a base sensor system and neural network for processing vibration signals for fault detection; (2) Badkoubeh teaches a specific technique of voltage processing for vibration signals; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with increased efficiency; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10749612 B1 to Iannotti in view of US 20170052060 A1 to GARCÍA PRADA.
Regarding claim 18,
Iannotti teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Iannotti further teaches:
The method of claim 15, further comprising:
inputting, via the processor, at least one of the comparison of the resonance shift ([col. 8, lines 1-19] – “The controller 116 is configured to determine one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as strain, torque, temperature, or the like, based on the determined resonating frequencies of the resonators 142, 144, 146.”) to the reference resonance shift, ([col. 9, lines 30-42] – “For example, the one or more processors 118 may be configured to utilize the calibration information with the determined resonating frequencies of the first and second resonators 142, 144 to derive a torque through the shaft 102.” [col. 6, lines 1-6] – “The controller 116 may be configured to compare the measurement signals generated by the multiple different RF sensors 106 when determining one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as torque, bending, fatigue, stress, strain rate, or the like.” Calibration info or measurements from different RF sensors used for comparison may correspond to reference values.) the comparison of the magnetic permeability to the reference magnetic permeability, or the comparison of the return loss magnitude to the reference return loss magnitude
utilizing, ([col. 13, line 56- col. 14, line 3] – “The sensor system 100 may be incorporated with at least one of these shafts 602, 604, 606, 608 to monitor properties of the shafts such as, but not limited to, strain, torque, temperature, or rotational speed… The controller 116 may be configured to control the operation of the power-generating machine 600 based on one or more determined properties of the shaft 102. For example, the power-generating machine 600 may have a designated torque value or range. If the sensor system 100 determines a torque value for the shaft 102 that is outside of the torque range, the controller 116 may generate a control signal configured to change an operating setting of the power-generating machine 600, such as to increase the power output of the machine 600 or to decrease the power output based on the determined torque value.”)
GARCÍA PRADA teaches:
inputting received signals to a neural network to learn / determine shaft properties and their associated signal properties ([0079-82] – “This neural network is trained with the eight energy values of the wavelet packets from the signals obtained with the system (patterns). In the specific examples shown below, 1000 signals, corresponding to healthy shafts and defective shafts (16% fissure depth with respect to shaft diameter) were used. 75% of said signals were used for training the network and the remaining 25% (400 pattern vectors of dimension 8) were presented to the already trained network as a validation system.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied GARCÍA PRADA’s known technique to Iannotti’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Iannotti teaches a base method using received signals to determine properties of the shaft; (2) GARCÍA PRADA teaches a specific technique of inputting received signals to a neural network to determine shaft properties; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 19,
Iannotti teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Iannotti further teaches:
The method of claim 15, further comprising:
([col. 8, lines 1-19] – “The controller 116 is configured to determine one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as strain, torque, temperature, or the like, based on the determined resonating frequencies of the resonators 142, 144, 146.”) to the reference resonance shift, ([col. 9, lines 30-42] – “For example, the one or more processors 118 may be configured to utilize the calibration information with the determined resonating frequencies of the first and second resonators 142, 144 to derive a torque through the shaft 102.” [col. 6, lines 1-6] – “The controller 116 may be configured to compare the measurement signals generated by the multiple different RF sensors 106 when determining one or more properties of the shaft 102, such as torque, bending, fatigue, stress, strain rate, or the like.” Calibration info or measurements from different RF sensors used for comparison may correspond to reference values.) ([col. 13, line 56- col. 14, line 3] – “The sensor system 100 may be incorporated with at least one of these shafts 602, 604, 606, 608 to monitor properties of the shafts such as, but not limited to, strain, torque, temperature, or rotational speed… The controller 116 may be configured to control the operation of the power-generating machine 600 based on one or more determined properties of the shaft 102. For example, the power-generating machine 600 may have a designated torque value or range. If the sensor system 100 determines a torque value for the shaft 102 that is outside of the torque range, the controller 116 may generate a control signal configured to change an operating setting of the power-generating machine 600, such as to increase the power output of the machine 600 or to decrease the power output based on the determined torque value.”)the comparison of the magnetic permeability to the reference magnetic permeability, or the comparison of the return loss magnitude to the reference return loss magnitude.
GARCÍA PRADA teaches:
inputting received signals to a neural network to learn / determine shaft properties and their associated signal properties ([0079-82] – “This neural network is trained with the eight energy values of the wavelet packets from the signals obtained with the system (patterns). In the specific examples shown below, 1000 signals, corresponding to healthy shafts and defective shafts (16% fissure depth with respect to shaft diameter) were used. 75% of said signals were used for training the network and the remaining 25% (400 pattern vectors of dimension 8) were presented to the already trained network as a validation system.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied GARCÍA PRADA’s known technique to Iannotti’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Iannotti teaches a base method using received signals to determine properties of the shaft; (2) GARCÍA PRADA teaches a specific technique of inputting received signals to a neural network to determine shaft properties; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Contact Information
/JULIANA CROSS/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648