DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to a sample receiving device, and Species A, embodiment drawn to Figures 1-8, in the reply filed on 11/21/25 is acknowledged.
Although Applicant indicated claims 24-26 comprise elected subject matter from Group I. Applicant’s reply appears non-compliant and silent with respect to the identification of claims corresponding to the election of Species A as per the requirement set forth on page 4 of the Restriction/Election mailed 9/5/25.
In the interest of compact prosecution and with respect to withdrawn claims that were not indicated by Applicant, the Examiner respectfully notes, that consistent with the instant Specification, the claims below are directed to corresponding non-elected subject matter, including the following:
Claim 29 corresponds to at least non-elected Species F and Figure 17 description;
Claim 31 corresponds to at least non-elected Species F and Figure 17 description;
Claim 34-42 corresponds to at least non-elected Species D and Figure 13 description;
Claim 43 corresponds to at least non-elected Species F and Figure 17 description;
Claim 44 corresponds to at least non-elected Species B and Figure 9 description; and
Claim 45 corresponds to at least non-elected Species F and Figure 17 description.
Claims 29, 31, and 34-48 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/21/25.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first part” in claim 25;
“a second part” in claim 25; and
“at least two rod-shaped sample receiving units “ in claim 25.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: the positive recitation in line 8 of “the first part is place with its side facing away” should apparently read “the first part is place with a side of the first part facing away”, or the like, to improve clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: the positive recitation in line 10 of “the at least two sample receiving devices” should apparently read “the at least two sample receiving units”, or the like, such that it is consistent with established antecedent and the instant Specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “hinge-shaped” in claim 26 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “hinge-shaped” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of the claimed invention is indeterminate because “hinge-shaped” could have an infinite number of interpretations, such that it is unclear what is explicitly, implicitly, inherently, or inferentially required and/or necessarily excluded by the “hinge-shaped” recitation.
The term “preferably” in claim 28 is a relative/conditional term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “preferably” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As one example, the configuration of the sponge is indeterminate because it is indeterminate what structure(s) may or may not be required and/or excluded by the recitation “preferably a solid sponge”. Similar applies to the hollowness of the “fiber”, the shape of the “rod”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 32 recites “the first part and the second part can be connected to one another in a form-fitting or force-fitting manner”. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the conditional “can” is not required, such that claim 32 fails to further limit claim 25 from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25-28, 30, and 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kessler (US 2005/0125013 A1).
For claim 25, Kessler discloses a sample receiving device (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]), comprising inter alia:
a first part (12,14) and a second part (30) (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]),
wherein the first part has at least two rod-shaped sample receiving units (12,14) (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]) connected to one another via a bendable connection (proximally joined portions of 12,14) (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]), whose ends facing away from the bendable connection are spatially spaced apart from one another in a basic state (12 and 14 are biased open in a resting state) (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]), and
wherein the second part has a locking device (30) (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]) which is designed in such a way that, when the first part is placed with its side facing away from the sample receiving units onto the second part, the bendable connection is bent by the shape of the locking device and the ends of the at least two sample receiving devices can be guided towards one another so that the sides of the at least two sample receiving units facing in the direction of a sample are arranged directly next to one another (12 and 14 are locked closed via 30) (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]), are locked in this position by the locking device and a single sample can be received in the at least two sample receiving units or with the at least two sample receiving units (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]).
For claim 26, Kessler discloses the sample receiving device according to claim 25, wherein the bendable connection is a hinge-shaped connection (the proximally joined portions of 12,14 functions as a hinge) (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]).
For claim 27, Kessler discloses the sample receiving device according to claim 25, wherein the bendable connection is arranged centrally between the two sample receiving units (proximally joined portions of 12,14 are located in the middle of 12,14) (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]).
For claim 28, Kessler discloses the sample receiving device according to claim 25, wherein at least one of the sample receiving units is in the form of a capillary, a tube, a fiber, preferably a hollow fiber, a swab, a brush, a spatula, a spatula knife, a needle, a membrane, a scoop, a spoon, a sponge, preferably a solid sponge, or a rod, preferably a helical rod, (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]) or has a capillary, a tube, a fiber, preferably a hollow fiber, a swab, a brush, a spatula, a spatula knife, a needle, a membrane, a scoop, a spoon, a sponge, preferably a solid sponge, or a rod, preferably a helical rod (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]).
For claim 30, Kessler discloses the sample receiving device according to claim 25, wherein the first part is formed closed at a side facing away from the tips of the at least two sample receiving units arranged facing in the direction of the sample (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]).
For claim 32, Kessler discloses the sample receiving device according to claim 25, wherein the first part and the second part can be connected to one another in a form-fitting or force-fitting manner (rigidly proximally joined portions of 12,14) (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]).
For claim 33, Kessler discloses the sample receiving device according to claim 25, wherein the first part with the at least two sample receiving units is formed from a plastic material (molded plastic) (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]) which is transparent to electromagnetic radiation in the optically visible wavelength range (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for configuring a sample receiving device.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791