DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Reply
This communication is responsive to the amendment(s) and/or argument(s) filed 5/18/26. The previous ground(s) of objection and/or rejection is/are withdrawn. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth hereinbelow.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first part” in claim 25;
“a second part” in claim 25; and
“at least two rod-shaped sample receiving units “ in claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25-28, 30, and 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rao et al. (WO 2018/025046 A2, hereinafter Rao).
For claim 25, Rao discloses a sample receiving device (Figs 8-11) (Pgs 2-18, especially 17-18), comprising inter alia:
a first part (36A,36B,43) and a second part (42) (Figs 8-11) (Pgs 2-18, especially 17-18),
wherein the first part has at least two rod-shaped sample receiving units (36A,36B) connected to one another via a bendable connection (41A,41B bend via pivoting), whose ends facing away from the bendable connection are spatially spaced apart from one another in a basic state (Figs 8-11) (Pgs 2-18, especially 17-18),
wherein each of the at least two rod-shaped sample receiving units is a hollow cylindrical element and which provides an internal volume or an internal cavity designed for holding liquid samples, solid samples, and samples in gel form (Figs 8-11) (Pgs 2-18, especially 17-18), and
wherein the second part has a locking device (42) (Figs 1-8, 9-12A) ([0057-0074]) which is designed in such a way that, when the first part is placed with a side of the first part facing away from the sample receiving units onto the second part, the bendable connection is bent by the shape of the locking device and the ends of the at least two sample receiving units can be guided towards one another so that the sides of the at least two sample receiving units facing in the direction of a sample are arranged directly next to one another, are locked in this position by the locking device, and a single sample can be received in the at least two sample receiving units or with the at least two sample receiving units (Figs 8-11) (Pgs 2-18, especially 17-18).
For claim 26, Rao discloses the sample receiving device according to claim 25, wherein the bendable connection is in the form of a hinge (42) (Figs 8-11) (Pgs 2-18, especially 17-18).
For claim 27, Rao discloses the sample receiving device according to claim 25, wherein the bendable connection is arranged centrally between the two sample receiving units (Figs 8-11) (Pgs 2-18, especially 17-18).
For claim 28, Rao discloses the sample receiving device according to claim 25, wherein at least one of the sample receiving units is in the form of a capillary, a tube, a hollow fiber, a solid sponge, or has a capillary, a tube, a hollow fiber, or a solid sponge (Figs 8-11) (Pgs 2-18, especially 17-18).
For claim 30, Rao discloses the sample receiving device according to claim 25, wherein the first part is formed closed at a side (43) facing away from the tips of the at least two sample receiving units arranged facing in the direction of the sample (Figs 8-11) (Pgs 2-18, especially 17-18).
For claim 32, Rao discloses the sample receiving device according to claim 25, wherein the first part and the second part are connected to one another in a form-fitting or force-fitting manner (Figs 8-11) (Pgs 2-18, especially 17-18).
For claim 33, Rao discloses the sample receiving device according to claim 25, wherein the first part with the at least two sample receiving units is formed from a plastic material (41A,41B) which is transparent to electromagnetic radiation in the optically visible wavelength range (Figs 8-11) (Pgs 2-18, especially 17-18).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 5/18/26, with respect to the newly amended claims overcoming the claim objections and 112 claim rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections and 112 rejections of the amended claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 102 rejection of claim(s) 25-28, 30, and 32-33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791