DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on July 8, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Cosby et al. (WO2020210450. Cosby hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Cosby discloses a method (Figs. 1-12) for cleaning motor vehicle surfaces (camera/sensor) using a cleaning device (camera/sensor washing system) comprising:
a reservoir ([00045]) of cleaning liquid,
a nozzle (52 and the outlet at the camera/sensor) for spraying the cleaning liquid,
a fluid distribution circuit (passages from the reservoir to the camera/sensor) designed to convey the cleaning liquid from the reservoir to the nozzle and
a pump ([00045]) designed to inject the cleaning liquid from the reservoir into the fluid distribution circuit, the fluid distribution circuit including
a distribution block (10, 10’) including several valves (20) having flow rates that differ from one another by at most 5% (Cosby discloses same size injectors with same size, if not identical, valve assembly and same diameter fluid passages. When two valves are in fully closed position, they both have exactly the same flow rate which is zero, thus the two valves will have 0% difference between the two flow rates. Alternatively, the two valves can be both fully opened at 100%), the nozzle being connected to the several valves of the distribution block, with the following steps:
commanding an operation of the pump (from the controller. not shown) configured to (capable of) inject the cleaning liquid from the reservoir to an extent of the distribution block,
commanding an opening of the several valves connected to the nozzle according to a desired pressure at an outlet of the nozzle when a pressure at an inlet of the distribution block reaches a predetermined pressure (since volume expansion assembly 30 is technically a built-in pressure regulator), wherein a number of valves (all of the valves) opened is dependent on a distance (of allowable and flowable passage) between the nozzle connected to the several valves and the distribution block; and
spraying cleaning liquid from the nozzle onto a cleaning surface (of the camera/sensor).
Alternatively, Cosby fails to specifically disclose the several valves having flow rates that differ from one another by at most 5%. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the several valves having flow rates within 5% between one another, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 3, Cosby discloses wherein the number of valves opened is dependent on a surrounding temperature ([00035]).
With respect to claim 4, Cosby discloses wherein all valves are opened upon a command to open the several valves connected to the nozzle (by the controller. not shown).
With respect to claim 5, Cosby discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, further including:
activating the pump (by starting the engine), with the valves closed (before the activation or after the activation of the camera/sensor washing system), and
opening the valves (during the activation of the camera/sensor washing system).
With respect to claim 6, Cosby discloses wherein a control unit (the controller. not shown) is connected to the distribution block and is configured to (capable of) command an opening and a closing of a set of valves.
With respect to claim 7, Cosby discloses wherein the control unit commands an opening of the set of valves that differs according to a desired pressure at an outlet of the nozzle (Fig. 10 and [00040]- [00042]).
With respect to claim 8, Cosby discloses wherein each nozzle is connected to a set of (two) valves; including a command to open several valves (one or two) of each set of valves after a commanding operation of the pump in order to inject the cleaning liquid from the reservoir as far as the distribution block (Fig. 10 and [00040]- [00042]).
With respect to claim 9, Cosby discloses the cleaning method as claimed in claim 1, except for wherein the valves are configured to have an outlet metric flow rate of between 0.12 and 0.15 m3/h (cubic meter per hours).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the valves configured to have an outlet metric flow rate of between 0.12 and 0.15 m3/h, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 10, Cosby discloses wherein the several valves are solenoid valves (moveable armature which moves in response to an electromagnetic force . [00028]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Cosby does not disclose the distribution block including several valves having flow rates that differ from one another by at most 5% as amended in claim 1 by arguing that Cosby fails to disclose flow-rate tolerance specification, selection criterion, or test result directed to matching the operative flow rates of its injectors.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, Applicant's argument is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. No such limitations can be found in the claimed invention. Second, the newly amended limitation recites “…the distribution block including several valves having flow rates that differ from one another by at most 5%,” is clearly shown and disclose in Cosby’s reference where Cosby discloses several injectors 20 with exactly the same size, if not identical, valve assembly with the same diameter fluid passages. These features are clearly shown in the drawings provided by Cosby. Therefore, Cosby discloses the claimed limitation. Alternatively, when two of Cosby’s valves 20 are set in fully closed position or even fully opened , then both of the valves 20 would have exactly the same flow rate which is zero difference, thus the two valves will have 0% difference between the two flow rates. Third, the applicant has not provided any convincing showing that these are nothing more than optimum or workable values as asserted by the examiner. Applicant has not provided any showing that such limitations are “critical”. In re Cole, 140 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1964); In re Kuhle, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975); In re Davies, 177 USPQ 381 (CCPA 1973). Mere arguments by counsel cannot take the place of evidence. In re Cole, 236 F.2d 769, 773, 140 USPQ 230, 233 (CCPA 1964); In re Walters, 168 f.2d 79, 80, 77 USPQ 609, 610 (CCPA 1948); et al.
With respect to the distance-dependent valve-count limitation in claim 1, the Applicant argues that Cosby’s primary passage 40, a fixed geometric property, that no controller reads, measures, or acts upon when deciding how many injectors to open. Again, Applicant's argument is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. No such limitations (controller reads, measures, or acts…) can be found in the claimed invention. In accordance with MPEP 2111.01, during examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004). As clearly elaborated in the previous and current Office Action, it is the Examiner sincere position that claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are anticipated by or, in the alternative, obvious over Cosby’s invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 July 23, 2026