DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, reading claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10, 11 in the reply filed on 9/4/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that applicant requests withdrawal of the restriction requirement. This is not found persuasive because of the reasons of record.
Therefore, claims 5, 8-9, and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner as being drawn to non-elected subject matter.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claims are directed to a composition comprising a modified release formulation comprising withanolides wherein the formulation releases more than 75% of the withanolides over a period of 6-12 hour. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
See MPEP 2106.07.
Effective January 7, 2019, subject matter eligibility determinations under 35 U.S.C. § 101 follow the procedure explained in the Federal Register notice titled 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No.4, 50-57), which is found at: https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-01-07/pdf/2018-28282.pdf. Applicants are kindly asked to review this guidance as well as MPEP 2106.
The statutory categories of invention under 35 U.S.C. 101 are processes, machines, manufactures, and compositions of matter. However, certain members of these categories constitute judicial exceptions, i.e., the courts have determined that these entities are not patentable subject matter. These judicial exceptions include abstract ideas, laws of nature, and natural phenomena. The Office released guidance on December 16, 2014 for the examination of claims reciting natural products under 35 U.S.C. 101 in light of the recent Supreme Court decisions in Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc. (569 U.S. ___, 133 S. Ct. 2107, 2116, 106 USPQ2d 1972 (2013)) and Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Laboratories (566 U.S. ___, 132 S. Ct. 1289, 101 USPQ2d 1961 (2012)), Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. 303 (1980)) and Funk Brothers Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co. - 333 U.S. 127 (1948)). (inter alia). See eg. MPEP 2106.04(b)
The Supreme Court has explained that the judicial exceptions reflect the Court’s view that abstract ideas, laws of nature, and natural phenomena are "the basic tools of scientific and technological work", and are thus excluded from patentability because "monopolization of those tools through the grant of a patent might tend to impede innovation more than it would tend to promote it." Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2354, 110 USPQ2d at 1980 (quoting Myriad, 133 S. Ct. at 2116, 106 USPQ2d at 1978 and Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012)). The Supreme Court’s concern that drives this "exclusionary principle" is pre-emption. Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2354, 110 USPQ2d at 1980. The Court has held that a claim may not preempt abstract ideas, laws of nature, or natural phenomena; i.e., one may not patent every "substantial practical application" of an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon, even if the judicial exception is narrow.
While preemption is the concern underlying the judicial exceptions, it is not a standalone test for determining eligibility. Rapid Litig. Mgmt. v. CellzDirect, Inc., 827 F.3d 1042, 1052, 119 USPQ2d 1370, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Instead, questions of preemption are inherent in and resolved by the two-part framework from Alice Corp. and Mayo (the Alice/Mayo test referred to by the Office as Steps 2A and 2B). It is necessary to evaluate eligibility using the Alice/Mayo test, because while a preemptive claim may be ineligible, the absence of complete preemption does not demonstrate that a claim is eligible.
Products of Nature: When a law of nature or natural phenomenon is claimed as a physical product, the courts have often referred to the exception as a "product of nature". Products of nature are considered to be an exception because they tie up the use of naturally occurring things, but they have been labeled as both laws of nature and natural phenomena. See Myriad 133 S. Ct. at 2116-17, 106 USPQ2d at 1979 (claims to isolated DNA held ineligible because they "claim naturally occurring phenomena" and are "squarely within the law of nature exception"); Funk Bros. Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co., 333 U.S. 127, 130, 76 USPQ 280, 281 (1948) (claims to bacterial mixtures held ineligible as "manifestations of laws of nature" and "phenomena of nature"). Step 2A of the Office’s eligibility analysis uses the terms "law of nature" and "natural phenomenon" as inclusive of "products of nature".
It is important to keep in mind that product of nature exceptions include both naturally occurring products and non-naturally occurring products that lack markedly different characteristics from any naturally occurring counterpart. Instead, the key to the eligibility of all non-naturally occurring products is whether they possess markedly different characteristics from any naturally occurring counterpart.
When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A. Nature-based products, as used herein, include both eligible and ineligible products and merely refer to the types of products subject to the markedly different characteristics analysis used to identify product of nature exceptions.
The Markedly Different Characteristics Analysis
The markedly different characteristics analysis is part of Step 2A, because the courts use this analysis to identify product of nature exceptions. If the claim includes a nature-based product that has markedly different characteristics, then the claim does not recite a product of nature exception and is eligible. If the claim includes a nature-based product that does not exhibit markedly different characteristics from its closest naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state, then the claim is directed to a "product of nature" exception (Step 2A: YES), and requires further analysis in Step 2B to determine whether any additional elements in the claim add significantly more to the exception.
Nature-based Product Claim Analysis
Where the claim is to a nature-based product by itself, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied to the entire product.
Where the claim is to a nature-based product produced by combining multiple components, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied to the resultant nature-based combination, rather than its component parts. Where the claim is to a nature-based product in combination with non-nature based elements, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied only to the nature-based product limitation. For a product-by-process claims, the analysis turns on whether the nature-based product in the claim has markedly different characteristics from its naturally occurring counterpart.
The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties, and are evaluated based on what is recited in the claim on a case-by-case basis. If the analysis indicates that a nature-based product limitation does not exhibit markedly different characteristics, then that limitation is a product of nature exception. If the analysis indicates that a nature-based product limitation does have markedly different characteristics, then that limitation is not a product of nature exception.
Because the markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state, the first step in the analysis is to select the appropriate counterpart(s) to the nature-based product.
When there are multiple counterparts to the nature-based product, the comparison should be made to the closest naturally occurring counterpart. When the nature-based product is a combination produced from multiple components, the closest counterpart may be the individual nature-based components of the combination. Because there is no counterpart mixture in nature, the closest counterparts to the claimed mixture are the individual components of the mixture, i.e., each naturally occurring species by itself. See, e.g., Funk Bros., 333 U.S. at 130, 76 USPQ at 281 (comparing claimed mixture of bacterial species to each species as it occurs in nature).
Markedly changed characteristics can include structural, functional, chemical changes. In order to show a marked difference, a characteristic must be changed as compared to nature, and cannot be an inherent or innate characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart or an incidental change in a characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart. Myriad, 133 S. Ct. at 2111, 106 USPQ2d at 1974-75. Thus, in order to be markedly different, applicant must have caused the claimed product to possess at least one characteristic that is different from that of the counterpart.
If there is no change in any characteristic, the claimed product lacks markedly different characteristics, and is a product of nature exception.
The claims are directed to a modified release formulation comprising 2 to 10% of total withanolides, based on the total weight of the modified release formulation embedded in a matrix of at least one pH independent release controlling agent, wherein the formulation releases more than 75% of the withanolides over a period of 6-12 hours which is not markedly different from its closest naturally-occurring counterpart because there is no indication that their combination, amounts or preparation has caused the nature-based product to have any characteristics that are markedly different from the closest naturally-occurring product and the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Step 1: Determine if the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. YES, the claims are directed to a composition of matter (i.e., a modified release formulation comprising withanolides wherein the formulation releases more than 75% of the withanolides over a period of 6-12 hour), which is a statutory category within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Step 2A: PRONG ONE: Evaluate whether the claim recites a Judicial Exception
(e.g., law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea). YES, the claims are product claims reciting something that appears to be a nature-based product (i.e., a modified release formulation comprising withanolides wherein the formulation releases more than 75% of the withanolides over a period of 6-12 hour) which is not markedly different from the closest naturally-occurring counterpart (i.e., the individual nature-based products).
Note: with respect to extracts of natural products such as withanolides, the closest naturally-occurring counterpart is always the same compounds found in the extract, present in the non-isolated form in the source plant material. Extracts that are made simply by separating the extracted components from the non-extracted components, is a partitioning process that absent any specific chemical modification, merely separates the compounds leaving their activities unchanged (as is evidenced by the instantly claimed invention).
Ingredients recited in the claims are natural products that would occur naturally; thus, the claims involve the use of judicial exceptions. There is no indication in the record of any markedly different characteristics (either structural or functional) of the composition as broadly claimed. For example, there is no evidence of record of a structural difference between the extract(s) in the claimed composition and that of their nature-based counterparts. Consequently, the claimed compositions are structurally the same as their closest naturally- occurring counterparts.
Nor is there any difference in functional characteristics. To show a marked difference, the characteristic(s) must be changed as compared it closest natural-occurring counterpart. Furthermore, inherent or innate characteristics of the naturally occurring counterpart cannot show a marked difference. Likewise, differences in the characteristics that came about or were produced independently of any effort or influence by Applicant cannot show a marked difference.
The recitation of specific amounts of the ingredients does not affect this analysis because it is well known and routine in the art to mix specific amounts of active ingredients with additional ingredients. The same holds true for whether the composition is a cosmetic, pharmaceutical or food composition since there is nothing which imparts a markedly different characteristic on the composition. In this case, there is only a “modified release formulation wherein the formulation releases more than 75% of the withanolides over a period of 6-12 hour”, whatever that means. Therefore, the claim is not meaningfully limited and does not amount to significantly more than each product of nature by itself. Finally, the claimed composition is like the novel bacterial mixture of Funk Brothers, which was held ineligible because each species of bacteria in the mixture continued to have “the same effect it always had”, i.e., it lacked markedly different characteristics. Funk Brothers Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co., 333 U.S. 127, 131 (1948), discussed in Myriad Genetics, 133 S. Ct. at 2117. While not discussed in the opinion, it is noted that several of the claims held ineligible in Funk Brothers recited specific amounts of the bacterial species in the mixture, e.g., claims 6, 7 and 13. Funk Brothers, 333 U.S. at 128 n.1.
Thus, there is no evidence of record to indicate that the claimed product is markedly different, structurally, chemically, functionally, than its closest naturally occurring counterpart.
PRONG TWO: Evaluate whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. The claims are directed to a composition, not its practical use such as a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition.
Thus the cited claims are directed to a judicial exception to patentable subject matter.
Step 2b: Determine whether the claim directed to a judicial exception provides an inventive concept. For example, the claims may recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. In the instant case, NO, the claims are directed to an extract composition without any other components that could add significantly more to the exception. No other specific limitations other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field at a high level of generality have been added to the claimed nature-based product (e.g., addition of well-known ingredients).
Thus, the claimed composition is not eligible subject matter under current 35 USC 101 standards. See MPEP 2106.07.
Applicant argues that allegedly the modified release formulation releases more than 75% of the withanolides over a period of 6-12 hours which still reads on immediate release since if more than 75% of the withanolides are released over a period of 6-12 hours this still reads on 100% being released immediately. Note that the claim is drawn to a product and not to a method of use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant argues that allegedly the modified release formulation releases more than 75% of the withanolides over a period of 6-12 hours which still reads on immediate release since if more than 75% of the withanolides are released over a period of 6-12 hours this still reads on 100% being released immediately. Note that the claim is drawn to a product and not to a method of use. Note that any formulation can release more than 75% of the withanolides if the composition were immediate release since immediate release would release 100% which is more than 75%. Therefore, the claims are vague and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Antony et al. (US 2017/0326195).
Antony teaches an enteric coated (modified release formulation) Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) extract having increased bioactivity of withanolide glycosides in suitable dosage forms comprising extract of roots of Withania somnifera, an enteric coating material and suitable excipients [Refer para 3 and claims 25-26]. Antony also discloses that enteric coated Ashwagandha extract composition is found to have antistress activity, immunomodulatory activity, anti diabetic activity, anti-inflammatory activity [Refer claims 38-39]. Antony also discloses that enteric coated composition comprises at least about 5% withanolide glycosides and at least about 1-5% saponins [Refer claim 5]. Antony also discloses that enteric coating material can be selected from the group consisting of poly (methacrylic acid-co-methyl methacrylate), esters of aleurtic acid, cellulose acetate phthalate. cellulose acetate trimellitate, poly (vinyl acetate phthalate), hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose phthalate, hydroxy propyl methyl cellulose acetate succinate, acetaldehyde dimethyl cellulose acetate, chitosan, zein, fatty acids, waxes, shellac, plastics, plant fibers, and, a combination of modified ethyl cellulose and sodium alginate [Refer claim 26]. Antony further discloses method for preparing enteric coated Ashwagandha extract comprising the steps of: loading a specific quantity of ashwagandha root extract into the bowl of the fluid bed extractor, wherein the bowl has a fine Stainless steel mesh at the bottom; passing the hot, filtered air with temperature 90 degree C from the bottom of bowl of fluid bed extractor thereby fluidizing the feed material (ashwagandha root extract); dissolving enteric/nonenteric coating material in specific quantity of solvents and spraying it into fluidized material by using a spraying devise attached to the fluid bed extractor to obtain coated granules of ashwagandha root extract which is further compressed to make tablets [Refer examples 8 and 9]. The subject matter of claims 1-10, i.e. "modified release formulation comprising 2 to 10% of total withanolides embedded in a matrix of at least one pH independent release controlling agents and excipients; and method for preparing said modified release formulation comprising the steps of mixing ashwagandha root powder with pH independent release controlling agent and excipients, subjecting the mixture to heating zones of 40-120 degree C, screening through a mesh and converting the granules to tablets" has been disclosed in Antony.
The term, “at least one pH independent release controlling agent” reads on fats, lipids, fatty acids (see claim 4) which are definitely in the composition of Antony. The extracts in paragraph 40 of Antony have oils, fatty acids in them.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antony et al. (US 2017/0326195) in view of IN 202021006119 (hereafter ‘IN”).
Antony teaches an enteric coated (modified release formulation) Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) extract having increased bioactivity of withanolide glycosides in suitable dosage forms comprising extract of roots of Withania somnifera, an enteric coating material and suitable excipients [Refer para 3 and claims 25-26]. Antony also discloses that enteric coated Ashwagandha extract composition is found to have antistress activity, immunomodulatory activity, ant diabetic activity, anti-inflammatory activity [Refer claims 38-39]. Antony also discloses that enteric coated composition comprises at least about 5% withanolide glycosides and at least about 1-5% saponins [Refer claim 5]. Antony also discloses that enteric coating material can be selected from the group consisting of poly (methacrylic acid-co-methyl methacrylate), esters of aleurtic acid, cellulose acetate phthalate. cellulose acetate trimellitate, poly (vinyl acetate phthalate), hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose phthalate, hydroxy propyl methyl cellulose acetate succinate, acetaldehyde dimethyl cellulose acetate, chitosan, zein, fatty acids, waxes, shellac, plastics, plant fibers, and, a combination of modified ethyl cellulose and sodium alginate [Refer claim 26]. Antony further discloses method for preparing enteric coated Ashwagandha extract comprising the steps of: loading a specific quantity of ashwagandha root extract into the bowl of the fluid bed extractor, wherein the bowl has a fine Stainless steel mesh at the bottom; passing the hot, filtered air with temperature 90 degree C from the bottom of bowl of fluid bed extractor thereby fluidizing the feed material (ashwagandha root extract); dissolving enteric/nonenteric coating material in specific quantity of solvents and spraying it into fluidized material by using a spraying devise attached to the fluid bed extractor to obtain coated granules of ashwagandha root extract which is further compressed to make tablets [Refer examples 8 and 9]. The subject matter of claims 1-10 i.e. "modified release formulation comprising 2 to 10% of total withanolides embedded in a matrix of at least one pH independent release controlling agents and excipients; and method for preparing said modified release formulation comprising the steps of mixing ashwagandha root powder with pH independent release controlling agent and excipients, subjecting the mixture to heating zones of 40-120 degree C, screening through a mesh and converting the granules to tablets" has been disclosed in Antony.
Antony teaches using waxes and fatty acids (lipid), see the claims especially claim 26.
Antony does not teach using specifically carnauba wax and stearic acid.
IN teaches using carnauba wax and stearic acid in a transdermal cream with 2-70% withaferin or withanolide from withania somnifera, see page 1.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to specifically use carnauba wax and stearic acid since clearly Antony teaches waxes and IN teaches using carnauba wax and stearic acid in a transdermal cream with 2-70% withaferin or withanolide. Note in Antony it is taught that the dosage form can be a cream form (see paragraph 67) therefore Antony teaches using in a cream form and thus obvious to add the carnauba wax and stearic acid in a transdermal cream with 2-70% withaferin or withanolide to Antony since they are both creams thus having the same purpose.
MPEP 2144.05, subsection II.
II. ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION
A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.").
B. There Must Be an Articulated Rationale Supporting the Rejection
In order to properly support a rejection on the basis that an invention is the result of "routine optimization", the examiner must make findings of relevant facts, and present the underpinning reasoning in sufficient detail. The articulated rationale must include an explanation of why it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention and why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range. See In re Stepan, 868 F.3d 1342, 1346, 123 USPQ2d 1838, 1841 (Fed. Cir. 2017). See also In re Van Os, 844 F.3d 1359,1361,121 USPQ2d 1209, 1211 (Fed. Cir. 2017 ("Absent some articulated rationale, a finding that a combination of prior art would have been ‘common sense’ or ‘intuitive’ is no different than merely stating the combination ‘would have been obvious.’"); Arendi S.A.R.L. v. Apple Inc., 832 F.3d 1355, 1362, 119 USPQ2d 1822 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("[R]eferences to ‘common sense’ … cannot be used as a wholesale substitute for reasoned analysis and evidentiary support … .").
The Supreme Court has clarified that an "obvious to try" line of reasoning may properly support an obviousness rejection. In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding. However, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. 550 U.S. at 421 ("The same constricted analysis led the Court of Appeals to conclude, in error, that a patent claim cannot be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was ‘[o]bvious to try.’ ... When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under §103."). Thus, after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.
To use the claimed amounts is obvious since clearly the carnaba wax and the stearic acid are result effective variables and it is obvious through routine experimentation to use the claimed amounts in an effort to optimize the desired results.
The term, “at least one pH independent release controlling agent” reads on fats, lipids, fatty acids (see claim 4) which are definitely in the composition of Antony. The extracts in paragraph 40 of Antony have oils, fatty acids in them.
Applicant argues that the composition of Antony is in oral form but in paragraph 67 cream form is clearly contemplated. Therefore, both Antony and IN teach a topical form.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL V. MELLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1655
/MICHAEL V MELLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655