DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 11, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US2024/0186490) in view of Hang et al. (CN112436120A) as cited in IDS dated 7/11/23 with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses a lithium-containing multi-phosphate cathode material(abstract), comprising a single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite material([0004], [0031]), wherein the single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite material comprises: a core made of lithium manganese iron phosphate ([0016]), N lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers coated on an outer surface of the core([0016]), and a carbon coating layer coated on an outermost layer of the single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite material([0031]); wherein N is an integer equal to 1(Fig. 2); wherein a manganese content in the N lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers increases successively from an inside to an outside along a radial direction(Fig. 2, [0020]); and wherein the lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers include lithium manganese iron phosphate particles([0020]), but does not explicitly disclose particle sizes of the lithium manganese iron phosphate particles in the N lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers decrease successively from the inside to the outside along the radial direction.
Hang teaches a lithium manganese iron phosphate composite material, comprising large particles and small particles, and having a high compaction density(abstract, [n0011]). Hang teaches lithium ion battery cathodes with improved volumetric energy density using this composite material ([n0011]). Hang teaches the manganese content of the large particle lithium manganese iron phosphate is lower than that of the small particle lithium manganese iron phosphate ([n0015]). Hang teaches in one embodiment, both the large and small particles of lithium manganese iron phosphate are carbon composite materials, with carbon accounting for 1-3% of the total mass of each material ([n0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lithium containing multi-phosphate cathode material of Cheng with particle sizes of the lithium manganese iron phosphate particles in the N lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers decrease successively from the inside to the outside along the radial direction as Hang teaches a composite material with large particles and small particles providing a high compaction density.
Regarding claim 2, modified Cheng discloses a molar ratio of manganese element to iron element in the core is (0-1):(2-9)(Cheng, structure A [0020]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Cheng does not explicitly disclose the lithium-containing multi-phosphate cathode material comprises a plurality of single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials having different sizes; and wherein in the plurality of single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials, particle sizes of respective cores are different, and thicknesses of respective coating layers are different, numbers of layers of the lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers are the same or different.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the lithium-containing multi-phosphate cathode material comprises a plurality of single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials having different sizes; and wherein in the plurality of single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials, particle sizes of respective cores are different, and thicknesses of respective coating layers are different, numbers of layers of the lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers are the same or different in order to provide improved compaction density and battery cathodes with improved volumetric energy density, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding claim 5, modified Cheng does not explicitly disclose the lithium-containing multi-phosphate cathode material comprises three single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials with the same structure and different sizes, namely a first composite material, a second composite material, and a third composite material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the lithium-containing multi-phosphate cathode material comprises three single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials with the same structure and different sizes, namely a first composite material, a second composite material, and a third composite material in order to provide improved compaction density and battery cathodes with improved volumetric energy density, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding claim 6, modified Cheng does not explicitly disclose in the first composite material, the second composite material, and the third composite material, a ratio between the particle sizes of the cores is (1-1.05):(2-2.1):(4-4.2), and a ratio between the thicknesses of respective coating layers is (1-1.05):(2-2.1):(4-4.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have in the first composite material, the second composite material, and the third composite material, a ratio between the particle sizes of the cores is (1-1.05):(2-2.1):(4-4.2), and a ratio between the thicknesses of respective coating layers is (1-1.05):(2-2.1):(4-4.2) in order to balance improved compaction density and battery cathodes with improved volumetric energy density, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 7, modified Cheng does not explicitly disclose in the lithium-containing multi-phosphate cathode material, a mass ratio between the first composite material, the second composite material, and the third composite material is 1:(2-4):(5-7); and/or wherein in the lithium-containing multi-phosphate cathode material, a ratio between particle sizes of the first composite material, the second composite material, and the third composite material is (1.8-8):(3-16):(7-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have in the lithium-containing multi-phosphate cathode material, a mass ratio between the first composite material, the second composite material, and the third composite material is 1:(2-4):(5-7); and/or wherein in the lithium-containing multi-phosphate cathode material, a ratio between particle sizes of the first composite material, the second composite material, and the third composite material is (1.8-8):(3-16):(7-32) in order to balance improved compaction density and battery cathodes with improved volumetric energy density, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 11, modified Cheng discloses in the single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite material, the core is selected from carbon-coated lithium iron phosphate, wherein the mass percentage of a carbon-coated material ranges from 1 wt % to 3 wt % (Cheng [0031]).
Regarding claim 12, Cheng discloses a preparation method for a lithium-containing multi-phosphate cathode material(abstract), comprising: preparing lithium manganese iron phosphate composite particles([0020]), wherein the lithium manganese iron phosphate composite particles have a core made of lithium manganese iron phosphate([0016]), and N lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers on an outer surface of the core([0016]), wherein a manganese content in the N lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers increases successively from an inside to an outside along a radial direction(Fig. 2, [0020]), and N is an integer equal to 1 (Fig. 2); and coating a carbon coating layer on a surface of an outermost layer of the lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers to obtain a single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite material([0004], [0016], [0031]), namely the lithium-containing multi-phosphate cathode material([0016]) but does not explicitly disclose
particle sizes of the lithium manganese iron phosphate particles decrease successively from the inside to the outside along the radial direction.
Hang teaches a lithium manganese iron phosphate composite material, comprising large particles and small particles, and having a high compaction density(abstract, [n0011]). Hang teaches lithium ion battery cathodes with improved volumetric energy density using this composite material ([n0011]). Hang teaches the manganese content of the large particle lithium manganese iron phosphate is lower than that of the small particle lithium manganese iron phosphate ([n0015]). Hang teaches in one embodiment, both the large and small particles of lithium manganese iron phosphate are carbon composite materials, with carbon accounting for 1-3% of the total mass of each material ([n0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the preparation method of Cheng with particle sizes of the lithium manganese iron phosphate particles decrease successively from the inside to the outside along the radial direction as Hang teaches a composite material with large particles and small particles providing a high compaction density.
Regarding claim 20, modified Cheng discloses a secondary battery, wherein a cathode material of the secondary battery comprises the lithium-containing multi-phosphate cathode material according to claim 1(Cheng [0049]).
6. Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US2024/0186490) in view of Hang et al. (CN112436120A) as cited in IDS dated 7/11/23 with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Qi et al. (CN106340639A) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 13, modified Cheng does not explicitly disclose the step of preparing the lithium manganese iron phosphate composite particles further comprises: preparing separately lithium iron phosphate particles and lithium manganese iron phosphate particles with different manganese-iron ratios; and using the lithium iron phosphate particles or the lithium manganese iron phosphate particles as the core, and successively coating the lithium manganese iron phosphate particles with the different manganese-iron ratios on the outer surface of the core, such that a manganese content increases from the inside to the outside along the radial direction, to form the N lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers so as to obtain the lithium manganese iron phosphate composite particles; alternatively, the step of preparing the lithium manganese iron phosphate composite particles further comprises: using ferric phosphate or ferromanganese phosphate as the core, and coating N ferromanganese phosphate coating layers on a surface of the core to obtain ferromanganese phosphate composite particles; and
mixing the ferromanganese phosphate composite particles and a lithium source, and carrying out a hydrothermal reaction to obtain the lithium manganese iron phosphate composite particles.
Qi teaches a lithium iron phosphate/carbon coated core shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite cathode material and its preparation ([0001]). Qi teaches the step of preparing the lithium manganese iron phosphate composite particles further comprises: using ferromanganese phosphate as the core, and coating N ferromanganese phosphate coating layers on a surface of the core to obtain ferromanganese phosphate composite particles([0036]); and mixing the ferromanganese phosphate composite particles and a lithium source, and carrying out a hydrothermal reaction to obtain the lithium manganese iron phosphate composite particles([0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of modified Cheng with the step of preparing the lithium manganese iron phosphate composite particles further comprises: using ferric phosphate or ferromanganese phosphate as the core, and coating N ferromanganese phosphate coating layers on a surface of the core to obtain ferromanganese phosphate composite particles; and mixing the ferromanganese phosphate composite particles and a lithium source, and carrying out a hydrothermal reaction to obtain the lithium manganese iron phosphate composite particles as taught by Qi as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 14, modified Cheng does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
preparing a plurality of single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials with different sizes using the same method, wherein in the plurality of single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials, particles sizes of respective cores are different, and thicknesses of respective coating layers are different, and numbers of layers of the lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers are the same or different; and
mixing the plurality of single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials to form the lithium-containing multi-phosphate cathode material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have preparing a plurality of single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials with different sizes using the same method, wherein in the plurality of single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials, particles sizes of respective cores are different, and thicknesses of respective coating layers are different, and numbers of layers of the lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers are the same or different; and mixing the plurality of single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials to form the lithium-containing multi-phosphate cathode material in order to provide improved compaction density and battery cathodes with improved volumetric energy density, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding claim 15, modified Cheng does not explicitly disclose the step of preparing a plurality of single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials with different sizes comprises: preparing three single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials with the same structure but different sizes, namely a first composite material, a second composite material, and a third composite material; and/or
wherein the step of mixing comprises: mixing the first composite material, the second composite material, and the third composite material at a mass ratio of 1:(2-4):(5-7), and carrying out powder grading in a ball mill, so as to obtain the lithium-containing multi-phosphate cathode material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the step of preparing a plurality of single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials with different sizes comprises: preparing three single-core multi-shell lithium manganese iron phosphate composite materials with the same structure but different sizes, namely a first composite material, a second composite material, and a third composite material in order to provide improved compaction density and battery cathodes with improved volumetric energy density, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding claim 16, modified Cheng does not explicitly disclose in the first composite material, the second composite material, and the third composite material, a ratio between particle sizes of respective cores is (1-1.05):(2-2.1):(4-4.2), and ratios between thicknesses of respective coating layers are independently (1-1.05):(2-2.1):(4-4.2); and/or a ratio between particle sizes of the first composite material, the second composite material, and the third composite material is (1.8-8):(3-16):(7-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have in the first composite material, the second composite material, and the third composite material, a ratio between particle sizes of respective cores is (1-1.05):(2-2.1):(4-4.2), and ratios between thicknesses of respective coating layers are independently (1-1.05):(2-2.1):(4-4.2); and/or a ratio between particle sizes of the first composite material, the second composite material, and the third composite material is (1.8-8):(3-16):(7-32) in order to balance improved compaction density and battery cathodes with improved volumetric energy density, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
7. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US2024/0186490) in view of Hang et al. (CN112436120A) as cited in IDS dated 7/11/23 with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action and further in view of Qi et al. (CN106340639A) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action as applied to claims 12 and 13 above, and further in view of Mishima et al. (WO2014034775A1) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 19, modified Cheng does not explicitly disclose the hydrothermal reaction is carried out at conditions comprising: a pH value ranging from 6 to 9, a reaction temperature ranging from 70° C. to 90° C., and a reaction duration ranging from 1 hr to 3 hrs.
Mishima teaches carbon composite lithium manganese iron phosphate particles that can be produced at low cost and that serve as a positive electrode active material for secondary batteries that exhibit high output and high energy density([0001]). Mishima teaches the hydrothermal reaction is carried out at conditions comprising: a pH value ranging from 6 to 9 ([0038]), a reaction temperature ranging from 70° C. to 90° C.([0039]), and a reaction duration ranging from 1 hr to 3 hrs([0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modified the method of modified Cheng with the hydrothermal reaction is carried out at conditions comprising: a pH value ranging from 6 to 9, a reaction temperature ranging from 70° C. to 90° C., and a reaction duration ranging from 1 hr to 3 hrs as taught by Mishima in order to provide a positive electrode active material for secondary batteries that exhibit high output and high energy density.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cheng does not disclose, teach or render obvious N is 8; and the molar ratios of manganese to iron in the N lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers from the inside to the side in the radial direction are respectively 1:(9-8), 2:(8-7), 3:(7-6), 4:(6-5), 5:(5-4), 6:(4-3), 7:(3-2), and 8:(2-1).
9. Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cheng does not disclose, teach or render obvious at least one of the first composite material, the second composite material, and the third composite material contains eight lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers, the particle sizes of the lithium manganese iron phosphate particles in the eight lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers from the inside to the outside along the radial direction are respectively in a range from 320 nm to 360 nm, from 280 nm to 320 nm, from 240 nm to 280 nm, from 200 nm to 240 nm, from 160 nm to 200 nm, from 120 nm to 240 nm, from 80 nm to 120 nm, and from 50 nm to 80 nm; and/or the particle size of the first composite material ranges from 1.8 μm to 8 km; the particle size of the second composite material ranges from 3 μm to 16 km; and the particle size of the third composite material ranges from 7 μm to 32 km.
10. Claims 9 & 10 are objected to as being dependent upon allowable claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the allowable claim and any intervening claims.
11. Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cheng does not disclose, teach or render obvious the first composite material, the second composite material, and the third composite material all contain eight lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers; and molar ratios of manganese to iron in the eight lithium manganese iron phosphate coating layers from the inside to the outside in the radial direction are respectively 1:(9-8), 2:(8-7), 3:(7-6), 4:(6-5), 5:(5-4), 6:(4-3), 7:(3-2) and 8:(2-1).
12. Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon allowable claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the allowable claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724