DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to application number 18/261,017 filed on 02/20/2026, in which
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Applicant amends Claim 1, 6, 11, 15, and 19, cancels Claim 20, and adds new Claim 21.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/11/2023, the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/15/2024, the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/9/2025, and information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/9/2026 have been received and considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 2 and 8, filed 2/20/2026, with respect to drawing objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the drawing objections set forth in the office action of 11/4/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 2 and 8, filed 2/20/2026, with respect to specification objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the specification objections set forth in the office action of 11/4/2025 have been withdrawn.
In light of the amendments, a new claim objection is introduced. Further details are provided below.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs.4-8, filed 2/20/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 6 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered but are not fully persuasive. The rejection of Claims 6 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) with respect to the antecedent basis issue is withdrawn, while the rejection of Claims 6 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for insufficient explanation of “in line with” is maintained. Therefore, the rejection of Claims 6 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the office action of 11/4/2025 is maintained and, in light of the amendments, a new rejection is provided for Claim 21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs.4-7 and 9-15, filed 2/20/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not fully persuasive.
Applicant argues that Webber and Herrera do not discuss any “temperature measurements of a cabin of the vehicle.” Applicant states that instead, Webber discusses a temperature in the vicinity of the SMA actuator wires and Herrera does not discuss any temperature measurements. Applicant further argues that without obtaining the recited temperature measurements, a controller cannot use or map operational parameters of the wire to a temperature, as recited. Applicant further states that the cited prior art related to the rejection of the dependent claims, Browne and Sutskover, do not discuss any temperature measurements of the vehicle and therefore do not teach or suggest “temperature measurements of a cabin of the vehicle.” Applicant further argues that, although Stoia discusses vehicle temperatures, Stoia does not correlate a vehicle temperature measurement to operation of an SMA.
Examiner agrees that Webber, Herrera, Browne, Sutskover, and Schumacher do not discuss any temperature measurements of the vehicle cabin. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees that Webber and Stoia do not provide an obvious combination to teach or suggest obtaining temperature measurements of the vehicle cabin and using a look-up table to map the vehicle cabin temperature measurements to operational parameters of an SMA actuator. Stoia, [pgs. 3-4, para 0034 and pg. 6, para 0050], discusses an ambient air, or cockpit, temperature sensor used for estimating the temperature of a vehicle accessory actuator, such as for the glovebox. Whereas, Webber, [pg. 6, paras 0062-0063], discusses mapping data, such as sensor data of a temperature sensor, to operational parameters of an SMA actuator, such as position and resistance. Although Webber discusses only a temperature in the vicinity of the actuator, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Stoia to use the cockpit, or ambient, temperature. As stated above, [pgs. 3-4, para 0034 and pg. 6, para 0050], doing so allows for estimating the temperature of the actuator within a compartment, such as a glovebox.
Further, Examiner would like to note that the language of the independent claims does not explicitly, or clearly, recite using the temperature measurements of the vehicle cabin for the temperature measurements in the lookup table. Claim 1 (line 8) recites “obtain temperature measurements of a cabin of the vehicle” whereas Claim 1 (lines 10-11) recite “the lookup table maps temperature measurements to operational parameters” without stating “the temperature measurements” or “the temperature measurements of a cabin of the vehicle.” Therefore, as recited, the broadest reasonable interpretation of Claim 1 includes that the “temperature measurements of a cabin of the vehicle” and the “temperature measurements” used in the lookup table could be different temperature measurements, whereas Applicant’s arguments state that these should be interpreted as the same temperature measurements. This is different than, for example, Claims 9 or 17 which discuss instead “temperature information associated with an internal temperature of the vehicle and an external temperature,” which would be interpreted as possibly including a different set of temperature measurements, or information, used in the lookup table. Similar to Claim 1, independent Claim 11 (lines 8-11) and Claim 19 (lines 5-9) recite different temperature measurements or temperature information. Therefore, in light of the arguments and for clarity of the claims, Examiner provides a new rejection of Claims 1, 11, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Further details are provided below.
In light of the arguments above, Examiner maintains the rejection of Claims 1-6 and 8-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 set forth in the office action of 11/4/2025. In light of the amendments, an updated rejection for Claims 1-6 and 8-18 and a new rejection for new Claim 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are provided below.
Applicant argues that Webber, Herrera, and Stoia do not discuss or provide an obvious combination for the amended language of Claim 19, “mapping the temperature information associated with the vehicle to an amount of time to apply a voltage across the SMA element.” Examiner agrees. Therefore, Examiner withdraws the rejection of Claim 7 and Claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 set forth in the office action of 11/4/2025. A summary of the allowable subject matter is provided below.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should Claim 6 be found allowable, Claim 21 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (line 8) recites “obtain temperature measurements of a cabin of the vehicle” whereas Claim 1 (lines 10-11) recite “the lookup table maps temperature measurements to operational parameters. For clarity, Claim 1 (lines 10-11) should recite “the temperature measurements of a cabin of the vehicle.” Similar to Claim 1, Claim 11 (line 10) should recite “the temperature measurements of an ambient temperature of the vehicle” and Claim 19 (line 9) should recite “the temperature information associated with the vehicle.”
Claim 6 (line 1), Claim 15 (line 1), and Claim 21 (line 1) recite “in line with.” There is insufficient explanation of what “in line with” refers to and instead should be explicitly stated or more clearly described. For examination purposes, Claims 6, 15, and 21 will be read as considering “in line with” as “connected to.”
Claims 2-5, 7-10, 12-14, and 16-18 are rejected by dependency on Claims 1 and 11, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 10-11, 13, 15, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webber et al., PG Pub US-2020/0166024-A1 (herein “Webber”), in view of Herrera et al., PG Pub US-2008/0100079-A1 (herein “Herrera”) and Stoia et al., PG Pub US-2019/0003215-A1 (herein “Stoia”).
Regarding Claim 1, Webber discloses: (Currently Amended) […] a shape memory alloy (SMA)-actuator […], wherein the SMA-actuator includes a wire formed from an SMA material, and wherein the wire is configured to be adjusted in position or orientation based on a temperature of the wire. See [Webber, pg. 2, paras 0030-0031], which describe an actuator using a shape memory wire for actuation, where the heating of the wire results in movement, "[0030] FIG. 8 shows a schematic block diagram of an actuator 100 comprising a moveable component 102 and a static component 104. The moveable component 102 is moveable relative to the static component 104. The actuator 100 may comprise a plurality of shape memory alloy (SMA) actuator wires arranged to move the moveable component 102 relative to the static component 104. Each actuator wire is coupled to the moveable component 102 and the static component 104. As the length of SMA actuator wires varies with temperature, a change in the length of an SMA actuator wire may result in a change in position and/or orientation of the moveable component 102 relative to the static component. [0031] In embodiments, the actuator 100 may comprise a first SMA actuator wire 106 and a second SMA actuator wire 108. The first SMA actuator wire 106 may have a first portion coupled to the moveable component 102 and a second portion coupled to the static component 104. Contraction of the first SMA actuator wire 106 (caused by heating the wire) may cause the moveable component 102 to move. The second SMA actuator wire 108 may have a first portion coupled to the moveable component 102 and a second portion coupled to the static component 104. Contraction of the second SMA actuator wire 108 (caused by heating the wire) may cause the moveable component 102 to move.”
Webber further discloses: and a controller, the controller being in communication with one or more sensors, wherein the sensors are configured to obtain temperature measurements […]. See [Webber, pg. 4, para 0041], which describes the control module of the actuator which receives data from sensors and outputs commands through power delivered to the actuator wire, “The actuator 100 may comprise a control module 112. The control module 112 may be configured to receive data from the at least one sensor 110 and optionally from the at least one resistance measurement circuit 120. The control module 112 may be configured to generate control signals to control power delivered to the first SMA actuator wire 106 and the second SMA actuator wire 108 based on the received data, to thereby adjust the position of the moveable component 102 relative to the static component 104. Actuator 100 may comprise a power delivery module 114, which may be configured to receive control signals from the control module 112, and deliver power, based on the received control signals, to the SMA actuator wires 106, 108.” See also [Webber, pg. 6, paras 0062-0063], which further describes the data received by the control module, including temperature in the vicinity of the wire, “[0062] The method may begin when the control module 112, 202 receives a required position for a moveable component 102 of the actuator 100 (step S300). Optionally, the control module 112, 202 may receive temperature data indicating the temperature in the vicinity of the SMA actuator wires (step S302), as temperature affects the length of the SMA actuator wires and this may be useful in determining the precise position of the moveable component 102. [0063] Broadly speaking, the method may comprise receiving data from at least one sensor 110, and generating control signals to control power delivered to the first SMA actuator wire 106 and the second SMA actuator wire 108 based on the sensor data, to adjust the position of the moveable component 102 relative to the static component 104.”
Webber further discloses: and wherein the controller is configured to: access a lookup table, wherein the lookup table maps temperature measurements to operational parameters; determine operational parameters based on the lookup table; and cause implementation of the operational parameters […], wherein the operational parameters are associated with adjustment of the temperature of the wire. See [Webber, pg. 4, paras 0044-0045], which describes the data received, interpreted, and outputted by the control module, including by accessing a lookup table that maps position, resistances, and sensor data, “[0044] In embodiments, following application of the first control signal, the control module 112 may be configured to: receive data from the at least one sensor 110 (and optionally from the at least one resistance measurement circuit), indicating a current position of the moveable component 102 relative to the static component 104, determine whether the sensed position matches the received required position, and generate, if the sensed position does not match the received required position, a second control signal to adjust the current position of the moveable component 102 towards the required position. [0045] The actuator 100 may comprise storage 116 for storing at least one look up table (LUT) 118. The look up table 118 may show/store a plurality of positions of the moveable component 102 and, for each position, at least one associated sensor value. In other words, the look up table 118 may store, for each possible position, a map between a position of the moveable component 102 and at least one sensor value when the moveable component 102 is in that position.” See [Webber, pg. 6, para 0072], which explains that the resistance value is proportional to the wire length, “As mentioned above, the length of a wire formed of SMA material varies with temperature. […]. The electrical resistance of SMA actuator wires is roughly proportional to their length. Therefore, the length of the SMA actuator wires may be measured in real-time by driving an electrical current through them and using it to measure their electrical resistance. A control system with an electrical circuit, which includes a drive part and a resistance measurement sense part, may be used to drive electrical power through the SMA actuator wires and provide closed loop control,” [Webber, pg. 7, para 0079], which further explains that the length is related to temperature, “[…] The position in the z direction may be varied by varying the length of the SMA wires. As an example, in the arrangement shown in FIGS. 1A to 3B, movement in the positive z direction may be performed by increasing the length of four SMA wires 3,4,7,8 (by decreasing their temperature) and decreasing the length of four SMA wires 1,2,5,6 (by increasing their temperature),” and finally [Webber, pg. 8, para 0086], which further explains that length is controlled by setting the power through the wire using the lookup table data and real-time data, “The control system may set target SMA wire resistance values for all wires and target position sensor values that correspond to the desired position […]. […]. Closed-loop feedback control may be performed using the target SMA wire resistance values and the target position sensor values together with the real-time SMA wire resistance measures and the real-time position sensor measures to set the electrical drive power through the SMA wires in real-time. The target values of SMA wire resistance values and position sensor values set by the control system can be extracted from a look-up table of pre-determined calibrated values stored inside the memory of the control system.”
Webber does not disclose: A system configured for inclusion in a vehicle, the system comprising: [a shape memory alloy (SMA)-actuator] configured to cause opening of a compartment included in the vehicle, […]; […] of a cabin of the vehicle, [… determine operational parameters …] to cause opening of the compartment, […].
However, Herrera teaches: A system configured for inclusion in a vehicle, the system comprising: [a shape memory alloy (SMA)-actuator] configured to cause opening of a compartment included in the vehicle, […]; […] […] of the vehicle, [… determine operational parameters …] to cause opening of the compartment, […]. See [Herrera, pg. 1, paras 0001-0002 and 0004], which describe using an active material actuator for opening a vehicle compartment, “[0001] The invention relates to a compartment access system using at least one active material component and a method for controlling access to an interior compartment. [0002] The accessibility of interior compartments, such as a cupboard in a home or a vehicle storage space like an automotive glove box, is a key feature in utility and appeal to a consumer. […]. [0004] Accordingly, a compartment access control system is provided that includes a frame partially defining an interior compartment and a closure operatively connected to and movable with respect to the frame and further defining the compartment. An active material component is operatively connected to the closure and is configured to actuate upon activation, thereby affecting access to the compartment. As used herein, to "affect access" to the interior compartment includes closing, opening, cinching, latching and/or unlatching the closure with respect to the frame.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Herrera to implement the actuator for opening a vehicle compartment. Doing so allows improved accessibility to interior compartments including when carrying a load, with difficult latches requiring sufficient dexterity by providing a remote activation mechanism [Herrera, pg. 1, paras 0002-0003].
However, Stoia teaches: [… temperature measurements] of a cabin of the vehicle […]. See [Stoia, pgs. 3-4, para 0034 and pg. 6, para 0050], which explain that an ambient air, or cockpit, temperature sensor is used for estimating the temperature of a vehicle accessory actuator, such as for the glovebox, “[0034] Temperature sensor 148 may be implemented as a thermistor, electrical sensor, electrical thermometer, and/or other device capable of measuring temperatures associated with vehicle 110, vehicle accessory actuator 170, and/or one or more other elements of system 100, for example, and providing such measurements as sensor signals that may be communicated to various elements of system 100, including controller 130. In some embodiments, temperature sensor 148 may be configured to measure an operating temperature of vehicle accessory actuator 170 and/or other elements of system 100 directly, such as being thermally and/or physically coupled to or near vehicle accessory actuator 170. In other embodiments, temperature sensor 148 may be configured to measure an environmental temperature associated with vehicle 110, such as a cockpit or dash temperature, for example, that may be used to estimate a temperature of one or more elements of system 100, including vehicle accessory actuator 170. In one embodiment, temperature sensor 148 may be implemented by an electrical sensor coupled to power leads for vehicle accessory actuator 170 and configured to measure a resistance and/or current draw of vehicle accessory actuator 170, for example, to determine an operating temperature of vehicle accessory actuator 170. […]. [0050] […]. Also shown in FIG. 2A are temperature sensor 148 configured to measure a temperature of vehicle 110 and/or cockpit 200, which may be used to determine or estimate an operating temperature of glovebox assembly 230, and wireless interface 181 and microphone 182 […].”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Stoia to use a vehicle cockpit, or ambient, temperature. As stated above, doing so allows for estimating the temperature of the actuator within a compartment, such as the glovebox [Stoia, pgs. 3-4, para 0034 and pg. 6, para 0050], to provide safe and reliable operation of the vehicle accessories and vehicle accessory actuators [Stoia, pg. 1, paras 0002-0003].
Regarding Claim 3, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Webber does not disclose: (Original) […] wherein the compartment is a glovebox of the vehicle.
However, Herrera teaches: (Original) […] wherein the compartment is a glovebox of the vehicle. See [Herrera, FIG. 1 and 4 and pg. 7, para 0063], which describes the active material actuator used for a glovebox door, “Referring to FIG. 4, another embodiment of a compartment access system 310 includes a latching mechanism 361 mounted on an inside face of a closure 316, which in this embodiment is a vehicle glove box door.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Herrera to implement the actuator for opening a vehicle glovebox. Doing so allows improved accessibility to interior compartments including when carrying a load, with difficult latches requiring sufficient dexterity by providing a remote activation mechanism [Herrera, pg. 1, paras 0002-0003].
Regarding Claim 5, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Webber does not disclose: (Original) […] wherein the wire is connected to a pulley, and wherein the pulley enables a multiplication of tension associated with the wire.
However, Herrera teaches: (Original) […] wherein the wire is connected to a pulley, and wherein the pulley enables a multiplication of tension associated with the wire. See [Herrera, pg. 7, paras 0061-0062], which explain that the active material actuator wire can be attached to a pulley that is connected to the compartment frame and lever arm for opening the compartment, “[0061] Referring now to FIG. 3, another embodiment of a compartment access system 210 for a closure 216 (shown only schematically) utilizes an active material component in the form of an SMA wire 220A to substantially close the closure 216 with respect to a frame […]. The frame 214 and closure 216 may be referred to together as a storage compartment. The compartment access system 210 also includes an additional active material component in the form of an SMA wire 220B to cinch the closure 216 to a final closed position. […]. The SMA wire 220A is wound about pulleys 227A that are fixed to a stationary member 215, which may be part of the frame 214. The SMA wire 220A also winds about a pulley 227B that is fixed to a plate 219 that is slidable along rails 221 also fixed to the stationary member 215. One end of the SMA wire 220A is fixed, e.g., to the stationary member 215, while the other end is connected near an end of a lever arm 251. When a trigger signal is sent to the controller 228 (such as by the key fob 24 of FIG. 1), the controller 228 sends an activation signal 230 along a transfer conductor connected to the SMA wire 220A, causing the SMA wire 220A to contract, pulling on pulley 227B, which causes plate 219 to slide to the left. A cable 223 is fixed at one end to the closure 216 and is guided through a slot in pulley 227B such that it connects to an end of a separate pulley 227C slidable within a slot 253 formed in the plate 219. Thus, when the SMA wire 220A contracts, the closure 216 pivots counterclockwise as it is pulled toward a substantially closed position in which it contacts the portion of frame 214 located above the closure 216. As the SMA wire 220A contracts, its actuation force must work against a resistive force provided by a load-limiting mechanism, spring 245. […]. The closure 216 may be arranged in many other positions with respect to the wire 220A by the use of additional, alternatively positioned pulleys or other means for directing the cable 223 to the closure 216. [0062] In order to reach a fully closed position, a second SMA wire 220B is activated by an activation signal 231 sent along a transfer conductor from controller 228. […]. The second SMA wire 220B is connected at both ends to the plate 219 and is wound around pulleys 227A that are fixed to plate 219 and the pulley 227B that slides in slot 253. As the wire contracts, the pulley 227C slides in slot 253, pulling cable 223 further to the left and compressing cinch return spring 249. When the activation signal 231 to the wire 220B is terminated and the wire 220B begins to cool, the cinch return spring 249 acts as a return mechanism as its biasing force urges wire 220B to its preactuated, stretched state by moving pulley 227C to the right end of the slot 253. The cinch return spring 249 can act as a load-limiting mechanism, as it works against the actuation force of the wire 220B with the wire 220B sliding the plate to the right if the closure 216 is held stationary.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Herrera to implement the actuator using a pulley. Doing so allows use of the active material actuator to improve accessibility to interior compartments including when carrying a load, with difficult latches requiring sufficient dexterity by providing a remote activation mechanism. Additionally, using the pulley allows for providing sufficient force that can fully, and finally, closing or cinch the compartment door, or lid [Herrera, pg. 7, paras 0061-0062].
Regarding Claim 6, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Webber does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the wire is in line with a latching mechanism of the compartment.
However, Herrera teaches: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the wire is in line with a latching mechanism of the compartment. See [Herrera, pg. 1, para 0004], which describe using an active material actuator for opening a vehicle compartment by unlatching or latching the closure, “Accordingly, a compartment access control system is provided that includes a frame partially defining an interior compartment and a closure operatively connected to and movable with respect to the frame and further defining the compartment. An active material component is operatively connected to the closure and is configured to actuate upon activation, thereby affecting access to the compartment. As used herein, to "affect access" to the interior compartment includes closing, opening, cinching, latching and/or unlatching the closure with respect to the frame. Closing may include substantially (i) closing the closure to an intermediate position in which access to the compartment is substantially prevented and/or (ii) cinching the closure to a final closed position in preparation for latching the closure to the frame. Many different types of active materials may be utilized, as described herein.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Herrera to implement the actuator with a latching mechanism. Doing so allows improved accessibility to interior compartments including when carrying a load, with difficult latches requiring sufficient dexterity by providing a remote activation mechanism [Herrera, pg. 1, paras 0002-0003].
Regarding Claim 10, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Webber further discloses: (Original) […] wherein the controller causes implementation of the operational parameters via initiation of voltage or power into a power cable of the SMA-actuator. See [Webber, pg. 4, paras 0041-0042], which explains that the control module generates a signal to provide power, or to the power delivery module to provide power to the wire, “[0041] The actuator 100 may comprise a control module 112. […]. The control module 112 may be configured to generate control signals to control power delivered to the first SMA actuator wire 106 and the second SMA actuator wire 108 based on the received data, to thereby adjust the position of the moveable component 102 relative to the static component 104. Actuator 100 may comprise a power delivery module 114, which may be configured to receive control signals from the control module 112, and deliver power, based on the received control signals, to the SMA actuator wires 106, 108. [0042] […]. The control module 112 may generate control signals to control power delivered by power delivery module 114 to the first SMA actuator wire 106 and the second SMA actuator wire 108 based on the received data (and optionally the additional data), to adjust the position of the moveable component 102 relative to the static component 104. The control module 112 may therefore be in a communicative relationship with the power delivery module 114.” See again [Webber, pg. 8, para 0086], which further explains that length is controlled by setting the power through the wire using the lookup table data and real-time data.
Regarding Claim 11, Webber discloses: (Currently Amended) […] a shape memory alloy (SMA)-actuator […], wherein the SMA-actuator includes a wire formed from an SMA material, and wherein the wire is configured to be adjusted in position or orientation based on a temperature of the wire. See [Webber, pg. 2, paras 0030-0031], which describe an actuator using a shape memory wire for actuation, where the heating of the wire results in movement.
Webber further discloses: and a controller, the controller being in communication with the one or more sensors, wherein the sensors are configured to obtain temperature measurements. See [Webber, pg. 4, para 0041], which describes the control module of the actuator which receives data from sensors and outputs commands through power delivered to the actuator wire.
Webber further discloses: wherein the controller is configured to: access a lookup table, wherein the lookup table maps temperature measurements to operational parameters; determine operational parameters based on the lookup table; and cause implementation of the operational parameters […], wherein the operational parameters are associated with adjustment of the temperature of the wire. See [Webber, pg. 4, paras 0044-0045], which describes the data received, interpreted, and outputted by the control module, including by accessing a lookup table that maps position, resistances, and sensor data. See [Webber, pg. 6, para 0072], which explains that the resistance value is proportional to the wire length, [Webber, pg. 7, para 0079], which further explains that the length is related to temperature, and finally [Webber, pg. 8, para 0086], which further explains that length is controlled by setting the power through the wire using the lookup table data and real-time data.
Webber does not disclose: (Currently Amended) A vehicle comprising: […] positioned on the vehicle; [… a shape memory alloy (SMA)-actuator] configured to cause opening of a compartment included in the vehicle, […]; […] of an ambient temperature of the vehicle, and […] to cause opening of the compartment, […].
However, Herrera teaches: (Currently Amended) A vehicle comprising: […] positioned on the vehicle; [… a shape memory alloy (SMA)-actuator] configured to cause opening of a compartment included in the vehicle, […]; […] associated with the vehicle, and […] to cause opening of the compartment, […]. See [Herrera, pg. 1, paras 0001-0002 and 0004], which describe using an active material actuator for opening a vehicle compartment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Herrera to implement the actuator for opening a vehicle compartment. Doing so allows improved accessibility to interior compartments including when carrying a load, with difficult latches requiring sufficient dexterity by providing a remote activation mechanism [Herrera, pg. 1, paras 0002-0003].
However, Stoia teaches: [… temperature measurements] of an ambient temperature of the vehicle […]. See [Stoia, pgs. 3-4, para 0034 and pg. 6, para 0050], which explain that an ambient air, or cockpit, temperature sensor is used for estimating the temperature of a vehicle accessory actuator, such as for the glovebox.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Stoia to use a vehicle cockpit, or ambient, temperature. As stated above, doing so allows for estimating the temperature of the actuator within a compartment, such as the glovebox [Stoia, pgs. 3-4, para 0034 and pg. 6, para 0050], to provide safe and reliable operation of the vehicle accessories and vehicle accessory actuators [Stoia, pg. 1, paras 0002-0003].
Regarding Claim 13, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 11.
Webber does not disclose: (Original) […] wherein the compartment is a glovebox of the vehicle.
However, Herrera teaches: (Original) […] wherein the compartment is a glovebox of the vehicle. See [Herrera, FIG. 1 and 4 and pg. 7, para 0063], which describes the active material actuator used for a glovebox door, “Referring to FIG. 4, another embodiment of a compartment access system 310 includes a latching mechanism 361 mounted on an inside face of a closure 316, which in this embodiment is a vehicle glove box door.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Herrera to implement the actuator for opening a vehicle glovebox. Doing so allows improved accessibility to interior compartments including when carrying a load, with difficult latches requiring sufficient dexterity by providing a remote activation mechanism [Herrera, pg. 1, paras 0002-0003].
Regarding Claim 15, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 11.
Webber does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the wire is in line with a latching mechanism of the compartment.
However, Herrera teaches: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the wire is in line with a latching mechanism of the compartment. See again [Herrera, pg. 1, para 0004], which describe using an active material actuator for opening a vehicle compartment by unlatching or latching the closure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Herrera to implement the actuator with a latching mechanism. Doing so allows improved accessibility to interior compartments including when carrying a load, with difficult latches requiring sufficient dexterity by providing a remote activation mechanism [Herrera, pg. 1, paras 0002-0003].
Regarding Claim 18, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 11.
Webber further discloses: (Original) […]wherein the controller is configured to access the lookup table […], […]. See [Webber, pg. 4, paras 0044-0045], which describes the data received, interpreted, and outputted by the control module, including by accessing a lookup table that maps position, resistances, and sensor data.
Webber does not disclose: (Original) […] [access …] based on receipt of user input associated with opening the compartment, wherein the user input is received via a display of the vehicle.
However, Stoia teaches: (Original) […] [access …] based on receipt of user input associated with opening the compartment, wherein the user input is received via a display of the vehicle. See [Stoia, pg. 2, paras 0021 and 0024-0025], which describe receiving a user input via a display or touchscreen to provide input to the controller for controlling a vehicle accessory actuator, such as latch of a glovebox, “[0021] In accordance with various embodiments of the present disclosure, vehicle accessory control may be provided by a vehicle accessory actuator and a logic device configured to generate and provide an actuator control signal to the vehicle accessory actuator to control operation of the vehicle accessory, where at least one electrical characteristic of the actuator control signal is modified based, at least in part, on an environmental condition and/or status associated with the vehicle accessory actuator, so as to operate the vehicle accessory […]. In particular, embodiments of the present vehicle accessory control system may be employed to unlatch an actuated glovebox disposed within a cockpit of a vehicle […]. Such vehicle accessory control systems may be implemented with various types of control feedback mechanisms, including status and/or sound measurement feedback mechanisms, […]. Moreover, such vehicle accessory control systems may be implemented with various types of user feedback mechanisms to report potentially unsafe conditions and/or undesired operation of the vehicle accessory, as described herein. […]. [0024] User interface 120 may be implemented as a display, a touch screen, a keyboard, […], and/or any other device capable of accepting user input and/or providing feedback to a user. In various embodiments, user interface 120 may be adapted to provide user input (e.g., as a type of signal and/or sensor information) to other devices of system 100, such as controller 130. User interface 120 may also be implemented with one or more logic devices that may be adapted to execute instructions, such as software instructions, implementing any of the various processes and/or methods described herein. For example, user interface 120 may be adapted to form communication links, transmit and/or receive communications (e.g., sensor signals, control signals, sensor information, user input, and/or other information), or to perform various other processes and/or methods. [0025] In various embodiments, user interface 120 may be adapted to render a control selector on a touchscreen display of user interface 120, to accept user input (e.g., user selection of the rendered control selector to control operation of vehicle accessory actuator 170), […], to select a method of processing sensor signals to determine sensor information, and/or to otherwise facilitate operation of system 100 and devices within system 100.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Stoia to take user input, via a display, for opening a vehicle compartment. Doing so allows the user to operate the vehicle accessory efficiently, reliably, and quietly and allows for implementation with various types of control feedback mechanisms to the user, including status and sound, to report potentially unsafe conditions and undesired operation of the vehicle accessory [Stoia, pg. 2, para 0021]. Further, it allows the user to operate the accessory remotely [Stoia, pg. 8, para 0063].
Regarding Claim 21, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Webber does not disclose: (New) […] wherein the wire is in line with a latching mechanism of the compartment.
However, Herrera teaches: (New) […] wherein the wire is in line with a latching mechanism of the compartment. See again [Herrera, pg. 1, para 0004], which describe using an active material actuator for opening a vehicle compartment by unlatching or latching the closure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Herrera to implement the actuator with a latching mechanism. Doing so allows improved accessibility to interior compartments including when carrying a load, with difficult latches requiring sufficient dexterity by providing a remote activation mechanism [Herrera, pg. 1, paras 0002-0003].
Claims 2, 4, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webber in view of Herrera and Stoia, further in view of Browne et al., PG Pub US-2010/0066113-A1 (herein “Browne”).
Regarding Claim 2, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Webber does not disclose: (Original) […] wherein the SMA-actuator is a rack and pinion mechanism.
However, Browne teaches: (Original) […] wherein the SMA-actuator is a rack and pinion mechanism. See [Browne, FIG. 3a-3c and pgs. 4-5, para 0045], which describes an actuator, using a shape memory wire in the form of a rack and gear assembly, “More preferably, to drive the armrest 20, the actuator 14 (e.g., SMA wire 16) is coupled to a gear transmission 40 configured to magnify displacement. For example, upon activation, a one-way driving gear 42 may be driven by a rack 44 through a one-way intermediary 46; the intermediary 46 being biased towards engagement with the rack 44 and the driving gear 42 (FIG. 3c). The rack 44 is drivenly coupled to the actuator 14 (e.g., SMA wire 16) and a return spring 38, which together work antagonistically to produce a ratcheting action. That is to say, the rack 44 defines a plurality of sloped teeth 44a (FIG. 3c) that, when translated in a first direction, causes the engaged intermediary to rotate, and, when translated in the opposite direction, pushes the intermediary 46 outwardly, so as to be disengaged. The intermediary 46 presents sufficient depth, such that it concurrently engages and disengages the rack 44 and driving gear 42. Causing the engaged intermediary 46 to rotate drives the driving gear 42, which in turn drives a driven gear 48. Finally, the driven gear 48 drives a horizontal rack 50 fixedly attached to the armrest 20.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Browne to use a rack and gear assembly for the shape memory actuator. Doing so allows for and magnifies displacement, including when using multiple gears to achieve a desired distance by amplifying displacement using different gear ratios [Browne, pgs. 4-5, paras 0045-0047].
Regarding Claim 4, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Webber does not disclose: (Original) […] wherein the compartment is a center console of the vehicle.
However, Browne teaches: (Original) […] wherein the compartment is a center console of the vehicle. See [Browne, FIG. 1a and pg. 2, para 0021], which describe using an active material actuator for a center console, “Referring to FIGS. 1-5b, the present invention broadly concerns a center console 10 comprising at least one manipulable component 12 that is drivenly coupled to an active material actuator 14, i.e., an actuator consisting of and utilizing the force or displacement generated by at least one active material element 16, as further described herein. More preferably, the present invention presents a fully adjustable center console 10 that utilizes active material actuation to silently cause or enable the manipulation of a plurality of components 12. The preferred component 12 and actuator 14 are cooperatively configured such that the ability to manually manipulate the component 12 is retained, and as such, presents a manual override, where, for example, an electrical system failure (or otherwise inoperable activation source) is encountered. Exemplary components 12 include a pivotal console lid 18 (FIGS. 2-2b), a sliding armrest 20 (FIGS. 3a-c), a sliding tambour door 22 (FIG. 4), and a pivotal cup holder 24 (FIGS. 5a,b); however, it is certainly appreciated that other components, such as a translatable cup holder, a rollable top cover, and a reconfigurable interior compartment panel (not shown) may be employed as well. Furthermore, the console 10 itself may present a component 12, where the actuator 14 causes the console 10 in its entirety to be manipulated (e.g., translated).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Browne to use the shape memory actuator with a center console. Center console lids, or doors, must be manually operated, which is distracting and can require complicated motions, where using an automatic actuator, such as an SMA-actuator, allows for autonomous manipulation which also reduces packaging space, noise, and mass compared to other actuators [Browne, pg. 1, paras 0005-0006].
Regarding Claim 12, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 11.
Webber does not disclose: (Original) […] wherein the SMA-actuator is a rack and pinion mechanism.
However, Browne teaches: (Original) […] wherein the SMA-actuator is a rack and pinion mechanism. See [Browne, FIG. 3a-3c and pgs. 4-5, para 0045], which describes an actuator, using a shape memory wire in the form of a rack and gear assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Browne to use a rack and gear assembly for the shape memory actuator. Doing so allows for and magnifies displacement, including when using multiple gears to achieve a desired distance by amplifying displacement using different gear ratios [Browne, pgs. 4-5, paras 0045-0047].
Regarding Claim 14, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 11.
Webber does not disclose: (Original) […] wherein the compartment is a center console of the vehicle.
However, Browne teaches: (Original) […] wherein the compartment is a center console of the vehicle. See [Browne, FIG. 1a and pg. 2, para 0021], which describe using an active material actuator for a center console.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Browne to use the shape memory actuator with a center console. Center console lids, or doors, must be manually operated, which is distracting and can require complicated motions, where using an automatic actuator, such as an SMA-actuator, allows for autonomous manipulation which also reduces packaging space, noise, and mass compared to other actuators [Browne, pg. 1, paras 0005-0006].
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webber in view of Herrera and Stoia, further in view of Sutskover et al., WO-2019/055289-A1 (herein “Sutskover”).
Regarding Claim 8, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Webber does not disclose: (Original) […] wherein the controller accesses the lookup table from a plurality of lookup tables, and wherein individual lookup tables of the plurality of lookup tables are associated with respective geographic regions.
However, Sutskover teaches: (Original) […] wherein the controller accesses the lookup table from a plurality of lookup tables, and wherein individual lookup tables of the plurality of lookup tables are associated with respective geographic regions. See [Sutskover, pgs. 6-7, para 0013], which explains that parameters are stored and referenced using a lookup table as a means for calculations, “Unless explicitly specified, the term "transmit" encompasses both direct (point-to- point) and indirect transmission (via one or more intermediary points). Similarly, the term "receive" encompasses both direct and indirect reception. Furthermore, the terms "transmit", "receive", "communicate", and other similar terms encompass both physical transmission […] and logical transmission […]. […]. The term "communicate" encompasses one or both of transmitting and receiving, i.e. unidirectional or bidirectional communication in one or both of the incoming and outgoing directions. The term "calculate" encompass both 'direct' calculations via a mathematical expression/formula/relationship and 'indirect' calculations via lookup or hash tables and other array indexing or searching operations.” See also [Sutskover, pg. 20, para 0039], which explains that devices, or controllers, can use the lookup table for determining outputs, “In some aspects, wireless devices may use a lookup table (LUT) as part of this transmit power value selection, where the LUT may map various durations of wideband and narrowband sections and emission restrictions to transmit power limits. A wireless device scheduled to transmit a packet may therefore access the LUT using a given emission restriction and relative wideband and narrowband duration of the packet. The wireless device may select a transmit power limit from the LUT and then use the transmit power limit to select a transmit power value for transmitting the packet.” Finally see [Sutskover, pg. 59, para 0141], which explains there can be multiple look-up tables, each specific to a region, “In Example 3, the subject matter of Example 2 can optionally include the method further including identifying a geographic location in which the wireless device is operating, prior to selecting the transmit power value, selecting the lookup table from a plurality of lookup tables based on the geographic location.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Sutskover to use multiple lookup tables each associated with a geographic region. Doing so allows for managing, or applying, regional restrictions or requirements [Sutskover, pg. 25, para 0052].
Claims 9, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webber in view of Herrera Stoia, further in view of Schumacher et al., PG Pub US-2017/0334263-A1 (herein "Schumacher").
Regarding Claim 9, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Webber does not explicitly disclose: (Original) […] wherein the lookup table maps temperature information associated with an internal temperature of the vehicle and an external temperature. However, [Webber, pg. 4, para 0041], describes the control module of the actuator which receives data from sensors and outputs commands through power delivered to the actuator wire and [Webber, pg. 6, para 0062], does describe using sensors for measuring the temperature in the vicinity of the wire, ”The method may begin when the control module 112, 202 receives a required position for a moveable component 102 of the actuator 100 (step S300). Optionally, the control module 112, 202 may receive temperature data indicating the temperature in the vicinity of the SMA actuator wires (step S302), as temperature affects the length of the SMA actuator wires and this may be useful in determining the precise position of the moveable component 102.”
However, Schumacher teaches: (Original) […] wherein the lookup table maps temperature information associated with an internal temperature of the vehicle and an external temperature. See [Schumacher, pg. 3, paras 0060-0062], which explain that a controller receives sensor inputs, where the sensors provide data regarding the vehicle exterior temperature and vehicle interior temperature, “[0060] In one example microclimate system, the controller 22 receives various inputs via sensors and/or devices within the microclimate system, for example, from a vehicle exterior environment 26 shown in FIG. 2. The vehicle exterior environment 26 may include parameters such as vehicle location, vehicle direction and altitude, time of day and date, and weather related parameters (outdoor temperature, outdoor humidity, and solar load on the vehicle). [0061] A macroclimate environment 28 also communicates parameters to the controller 22. The macroclimate environment parameters may include interior temperature and/or humidity at one or more locations, and current HVAC system settings. [0062] A microclimate environment 30 communicates parameters to the controller 22. The microclimate environment parameters may include temperature and/or humidity at one or more microclimate devices, auxiliary conditioning system settings, and occupant comfort feedback.” See also [Schumacher, pg. 4, para 0065], which explains that this information is stored in a lookup table for use by the controller, “Multiple parameters from the vehicle exterior environment 26, the macroclimate environment 28, the microclimate environment 30, and the occupant information 32 may be stored in memory, such as one or more look-up tables 34. The memory may store information relating to one or more user profiles 31 and microclimate profiles 33 for various use scenarios corresponding to a particular user. The controller 22 may learn from adjustments to the microclimate system made by the occupant and update the microclimate profile 33 in the look-up tables 34 so that the occupant personal comfort may be anticipated and the microclimate system adjusted automatically. Interpolation of look-up table values or another suitable method can be used to determine settings between pre-existing set-points.” Finally see [Schumacher, pg. 4, para 0068], which explains that the controller uses the inputs for controlling a vehicle feature, “The inputs 24 are used to adjust the macroclimate environment and the microclimate environment through the controller 22 to achieve a desired occupant personal comfort. Inputs 24 include sensor signals and other inputs indicative of various parameters of the vehicle exterior environment 26, the macroclimate environment 28, and the microclimate environment 30. Inputs 24 further include one or more switches 72, a key fob 74 containing occupant information, a mobile device 76 containing occupant information and/or a display 78. “
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Schumacher to use internal and external temperature for control, using a lookup table. Doing so allows for coordinated control of the feature to the environment [Schumacher, pg. 1, para 0004], where the exterior environment can impact the interior environment, and further, the environment of a specified area [Schumacher, pg. 3, para 0057].
Regarding Claim 16, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 11.
Webber does not explicitly disclose: (Original) […] wherein the one or more sensors include a first sensor configured to measure temperature within the vehicle and a second sensor configured to measure temperature external to the vehicle. However, [Webber, pg. 4, para 0041], describes the control module of the actuator which receives data from sensors and outputs commands through power delivered to the actuator wire and [Webber, pg. 6, para 0062], does describe using sensors for measuring the temperature in the vicinity of the wire.
However, Schumacher teaches: (Original) […] wherein the one or more sensors include a first sensor configured to measure temperature within the vehicle and a second sensor configured to measure temperature external to the vehicle. See again [Schumacher, pg. 3, paras 0060-0062], which explain that a controller receives sensor inputs, where the sensors provide data regarding the vehicle exterior temperature and vehicle interior temperature. Also see again [Schumacher, pg. 4, para 0065], which explains that this information is stored in a lookup table for use by the controller. Finally see again [Schumacher, pg. 4, para 0068], which explains that the controller uses the inputs for controlling a vehicle feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Schumacher to use internal and external temperature for control, using a lookup table. Doing so allows for coordinated control of the feature to the environment [Schumacher, pg. 1, para 0004], where the exterior environment can impact the interior environment, and further, the environment of a specified area [Schumacher, pg. 3, para 0057].
Regarding Claim 17, Webber as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 11.
Webber does not explicitly disclose: (Original) […] wherein the lookup table maps temperature information associated with an internal temperature of the vehicle and an external temperature. However, [Webber, pg. 4, para 0041], describes the control module of the actuator which receives data from sensors and outputs commands through power delivered to the actuator wire and [Webber, pg. 6, para 0062], does describe using sensors for measuring the temperature in the vicinity of the wire.
However, Schumacher teaches: (Original) […] wherein the lookup table maps temperature information associated with an internal temperature of the vehicle and an external temperature. See again [Schumacher, pg. 3, paras 0060-0062], which explain that a controller receives sensor inputs, where the sensors provide data regarding the vehicle exterior temperature and vehicle interior temperature. Also see again [Schumacher, pg. 4, para 0065], which explains that this information is stored in a lookup table for use by the controller. Finally see again [Schumacher, pg. 4, para 0068], which explains that the controller uses the inputs for controlling a vehicle feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Webber with Schumacher to use internal and external temperature for control, using a lookup table. Doing so allows for coordinated control of the feature to the environment [Schumacher, pg. 1, para 0004], where the exterior environment can impact the interior environment, and further, the environment of a specified area [Schumacher, pg. 3, para 0057].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 19 is allowable for disclosing a method for opening a compartment of a vehicle using a shape memory alloy (SMA) actuator by obtaining a user input, sensor information reflecting a temperature associated with the vehicle, and determining operational parameters for adjusting the temperature of the SMA actuator using a data structure for mapping the temperature associated with the vehicle to an amount of time to apply a voltage across the SMA element and using that time for adjusting the temperature. The referenced prior art and thorough search of the prior art does not explicitly disclose or teach mapping the temperature associated with the vehicle to an amount of time to apply a voltage across the SMA element, using a data structure.
Claim 7 would be allowable for the same reasons as Claim 19.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664