DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments (see pages 12-16), filed on the 20th of January 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1, 11, 16, 18, 20, 21, 23, 25-27, 29 and 30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Publication No.: US 2021/0007147 A1 to Yang et al. (Yang), in view of Publication No.: US 2017/0150524 A1 to Oh et al. (Oh), Claims 2-7, 10, 19, 24 and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, in view of Oh and further in view of Publication No.: US 2024/0163867 A1 to Bagheri et al. (Bagheri), Claims 12-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, in view of Oh and further in view of Publication No.: US 2021/0058967 A1 to Oteri et al. (Oteri), Claims 17 and 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, in view of Oh and further in view of Publication No.: US 2022/0124806 A1 to Hu et al. (Hu) and Claims 8 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, in view of Oh, further in view of Bagheri and Publication No.: US 2020/0221495 A1 to Chen et al. (Chen) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made and shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 10, 16, 18, 21, 23, 26, 27 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Publication No.: US 2023/0041484 A1 to Liu et al. (Liu), in view of Publication No.: US 2022/0312477 A1 to Niu et al. (Niu).
As to Claims 1, 18, 23 and 27, Liu discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more antennas (Fig. 15, ‘radio transceiver 1540 can include radio-
Frequency transmitter and/or receiver functionality that facilitates the UE 1500 to communicate with other equipment supporting like wireless communication standards and/or protocols’, ¶ 0239); and
a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories that store code and are coupled with
receive a receiver-assisted channel sensing trigger (‘as illustrated in Fig. 10A, an UL data transmission session with receiver-assisted directional channel sensing starts with the gNB sensing the channel in the direction towards the UE. The gNB sends the UL grant to the UE only if the channel is determined (e.g., via the sensing) to be available. Otherwise, if the channel is unavailable (e.g., blocked), the gNB can defer scheduling the UL data transmission by the UE until a later point in time (e.g., when the channel becomes available)’, ¶ 0154);
sense a channel in response to the receiver-assisted channel sensing trigger (‘as illustrated in Fig. 10A, an UL data transmission session with receiver-assisted directional channel sensing starts with the gNB sensing the channel in the direction towards the UE. The gNB sends the UL grant to the UE only if the channel is determined (e.g., via the sensing) to be available. Otherwise, if the channel is unavailable (e.g., blocked), the gNB can defer scheduling the UL data transmission by the UE until a later point in time (e.g., when the channel becomes available)’, ¶ 0154).
Liu does not expressly disclose wherein the processing system, to sense the channel, is configured to cause the UE to measure a signal energy or power during a sensing period; and transmit channel sensing information including signal measurements.
However, Niu discloses wherein the processing system, to sense the channel, is configured to cause the UE to measure a signal energy or power during a sensing period (‘the eCCA mechanism 100 may be a listen before talk (LBT) mechanism that is used by a device (e.g., base station, UE) that wants to access (e.g., transmit) on a channel. The mechanism 100 may use eCCA on the channel to determine whether to allow the device to access the channel. Here, the device may sense the channel to determine whether the channel is occupied. First, the device may sense an energy level in the channel and compares it to a threshold. If the energy level in the channel is above the threshold, the channel is presumed to be occupied. If the energy level in the channel is below the threshold, the device continues to sense the channel for a number of slots. For example, the device may first sense the channel for an initial duration, which may be 8 μs, for example. If the energy level in the channel remains below that threshold during this initial part, the eCCA mechanism may proceed to defer its transmission in the channel for a random number (e.g., zero to max number) of slots (which may encompass a different duration than the initial duration, for example, 5 μs) which are below the threshold. When the energy detected during any of these slots during this deferring process is above the threshold, the CCA does not count that slot, but continues to sense the channel and count any subsequent slots during the deferral process that do not have energies that are above the threshold. Once the random number of additional slots have been sensed to have energies be below the threshold, the channel is presumed to be unoccupied’, ¶ 0045); and
transmit channel sensing information including signal measurements (‘turning to Fig. 3, a UE implementing the mechanism 300 may determine that a channel is unoccupied for an initial duration (e.g., 8 μs) by comparing the energy detected in the channel to a threshold. In some embodiments, the device may begin counting a random number of CCA clear slots 302 and may transmit after N number of clear CCA slots 302 have passed. The mechanism 300 determines whether each slot is clear (i.e., not busy or in use) or busy (i.e., in use or not clear). Slots 302 are CCA clear slots and slots 304 are CCA busy slots. After the random number of CCA clear slots 302 are counted (i.e., after the CCA slot 302 at position 0, labeled by numeral 306), transmission may occur’, ¶ 0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein the processing system, to sense the channel, is configured to cause the UE to measure a signal energy or power during a sensing period; and transmit channel sensing information including signal measurements’ as disclosed by Niu into Liu so as to effectively perform channel sense operation in wireless communication system, Niu ¶ 0045.
As to Claims 3 and 31, Liu further discloses receiving, from a network node, a receiver-assisted channel sensing configuration (‘as illustrated in Fig. 10A, an UL data transmission session with receiver-assisted directional channel sensing starts with the gNB sensing the channel in the direction towards the UE. The gNB sends the UL grant to the UE only if the channel is determined (e.g., via the sensing) to be available. Otherwise, if the channel is unavailable (e.g., blocked), the gNB can defer scheduling the UL data transmission by the UE until a later point in time (e.g., when the channel becomes available)’, ¶ 0154); and
wherein sensing the channel comprises: sensing the channel based on the receiver-assisted channel sensing configuration (‘as illustrated in Fig. 10A, an UL data transmission session with receiver-assisted directional channel sensing starts with the gNB sensing the channel in the direction towards the UE. The gNB sends the UL grant to the UE only if the channel is determined (e.g., via the sensing) to be available. Otherwise, if the channel is unavailable (e.g., blocked), the gNB can defer scheduling the UL data transmission by the UE until a later point in time (e.g., when the channel becomes available)’, ¶ 0154).
As to Claims 4 and 32, Liu further discloses wherein the receiver-assisted channel sensing configuration indicates one or more beams for sensing the channel (‘the exemplary method shown in Fig. 12 can include the operations of blocks 1220, where the UE can receive a first short signal burst, from the network node, over a channel using a directional beam. In some embodiments, the exemplary method can also include the operations of blocks 1230, where the UE can, in response to receiving the first short signal burst, perform channel sensing to determine if the channel is available’, ¶ 0193).
As to Claim 7, Liu does not expressly disclose sensing the channel associated with a primary cell while operating in a carrier aggregation mode.
However, Niu discloses sensing the channel associated with a primary cell while operating in a carrier aggregation mode (‘CA also comprises individual serving cells to provide individual CCs. The coverage of the serving cells may differ, for example, because CCs on different frequency bands will experience different pathloss. A primary service cell or PCell may provide a PCC for both UL and DL, and may handle RRC and NAS related activities. The other serving cells are referred to as SCells, and each SCell may provide an individual SCC for both UL and DL’, ¶ 0118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘sensing the channel associated with a primary cell while operating in a carrier aggregation mode’ as disclosed by Niu into Liu so as to effectively perform channel sense operation in wireless communication system, Niu ¶ 0045.
As to Claim 10, Liu does not expressly disclose communicating, with a network node via one or more transmission and reception points (TRPs), a communication; wherein sensing the channel comprises sensing the channel based on a quantity of the one or more TRPs.
However, Niu discloses communicating, with a network node via one or more transmission and reception points (TRPs), a communication (‘these access nodes can be referred to as BS, gNBs, RAN nodes, eNBs, NodeBs, RSUs TRxPs or TRPs, and so forth, and can comprise ground stations (e.g., terrestrial access points) or satellite stations providing coverage within a geographic area (e.g., a cell)’, ¶ 0107);
wherein sensing the channel comprises sensing the channel based on a quantity of the one or more TRPs (‘these access nodes can be referred to as BS, gNBs, RAN nodes, eNBs, NodeBs, RSUs TRxPs or TRPs, and so forth, and can comprise ground stations (e.g., terrestrial access points) or satellite stations providing coverage within a geographic area (e.g., a cell)’, ¶ 0107).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘communicating, with a network node via one or more transmission and reception points (TRPs), a communication; wherein sensing the channel comprises sensing the channel based on a quantity of the one or more TRPs’ as disclosed by Niu into Liu so as to effectively perform channel sense operation in wireless communication system, Niu ¶ 0045.
As to Claims 16, 21, 26 and 30, Liu does not expressly disclose determining whether to perform sensing the channel based on at least one of a transmit-receive switching time or a power status associated with the UE/apparatus.
However, Niu discloses determining whether to perform sensing the channel based on at least one of a transmit-receive switching time or a power status associated with the UE/apparatus (‘accordingly, devices with relatively weaker transmission powers have a relatively increased likelihood of passing the eCCA, and therefore the channel will not necessarily always be taken by devices with larger transmission powers (which could otherwise crowd out the smaller transmission power devices during eCCA as a result of their larger transmission powers). The lower threshold for devices with weaker transmission powers may also be appropriate because these devices do not require as much of the channel, spatially speaking, when transmitting as compared to devices with stronger transmission powers’, ¶ 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘determining whether to perform sensing the channel based on at least one of a transmit-receive switching time or a power status associated with the UE/apparatus’ as disclosed by Niu into Liu so as to effectively perform channel sense operation in wireless communication system, Niu ¶ 0045.
6. Claims 5, 6, 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Niu and further in view of Publication No.: US 2024/0163867 A1 to Bagheri et al. (Bagheri).
As to Claims 5 and 33, Liu in view of Niu do not expressly disclose receiving a pre-channel occupancy time (pre-COT) signal indicating one or more beams for sensing the channel.
However, Bagheri discloses receiving a pre-channel occupancy time (pre-COT) signal indicating one or more beams for sensing the channel (‘the nominal end can be determined by a maximum duration of the channel occupancy. The maximum duration of the channel occupancy may be equivalent to or upper-bounded by a pre-defined value, e.g., by a maximum channel occupancy time (“MCOT”), or can be determined from an explicit indication, e.g., from a remaining COT duration indication. For example, if the MCOT is defined or determined as 8 time units, then the nominal end of the acquired channel occupancy is 8 time units after acquiring the channel occupancy’, ¶ 0096).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘receiving a pre-channel occupancy time (pre-COT) signal indicating one or more beams for sensing the channel’ as disclosed by Bagheri into Liu in view of Niu so as to effectively implement full duplex operation in unlicensed spectrum in wireless communication system, Bagheri ¶ 0005.
As to Claims 6 and 34, Liu in view of Niu do not expressly disclose receiving a media access control control element (MAC-CE) indicating a serving beam switch and one or more beams for sensing the channel.
However, Bagheri discloses receiving a media access control control element (MAC-CE) indicating a serving beam switch and one or more beams for sensing the channel (‘in an embodiment of channel access, full duplex (“FD”) transmissions are possible only during gNB-initiated COT, and not during UE-initiated COTs. Alternatively, whether FD operation (e.g., LBT operation corresponding to/facilitating FD operation) is allowed during a UE-initiated COT is configurable/indicatable via DCI/MAC-CE signaling’, ¶ 0131).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘receiving a media access control control element (MAC-CE) indicating a serving beam switch and one or more beams sensing the channel’ as disclosed by Bagheri into Liu in view of Niu so as to effectively implement full duplex operation in unlicensed spectrum in wireless communication system, Bagheri ¶ 0005.
7. Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Niu and further in view of Publication No.: US 2020/0221495 A1 to Chen et al. (Chen).
As to Claim 8, Liu in view of Niu do not expressly disclose sensing the channel associated with a primary cell in at least one of a master cell group (MCG) or a secondary cell group (SCG) while operating in a dual connectivity (DC) mode.
However, Chen discloses sensing the channel associated with a primary cell in at least one of a master cell group (MCG) or a secondary cell group (SCG) while operating in a dual connectivity (DC) mode (‘the LBT failure problem report may include information of which LBT channel/carrier/BWP/unit suffers from the LBT failure problem, or which operation suffers from the LBT failure problem. In dual connectivity mode (or MR-DC mode), if a UE determines an LBT failure problem on a Primary Secondary Cell (PSCell) or a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) operating on an unlicensed spectrum, the UE may send an LBT failure problem report or an SCG failure report (including information of the LBT failure problem) to the master node (which may operate on the licensed spectrum or the unlicensed spectrum). In dual connectivity mode (or MR-DC mode), if a UE determines an LBT failure problem on a Primary Cell (PCell) or a Master Cell Group (MCG) operating on the unlicensed spectrum, the UE may send an LBT failure problem report or an MCG failure report (including information of the LBT failure problem) to the secondary node (which may operate on licensed spectrum or unlicensed spectrum)’, ¶ 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘sensing the channel associated with a primary cell in at least one of a master cell group (MCG) or a secondary cell group (SCG) while operating in a dual connectivity (DC) mode’ as disclosed by Chen into Liu in view of Niu so as to effectively detect Listen Before Time (LBT) failure in wireless communication system, Chen ¶ 0004.
As to Claim 9, Liu in view of Niu do not expressly disclose sensing the channel associated with a primary cell or a secondary cell of a secondary cell group (SCG).
However, Chen discloses sensing the channel associated with a primary cell or a secondary cell of a secondary cell group (SCG) (‘the LBT failure problem report may include information of which LBT channel/carrier/BWP/unit suffers from the LBT failure problem, or which operation suffers from the LBT failure problem. In dual connectivity mode (or MR-DC mode), if a UE determines an LBT failure problem on a Primary Secondary Cell (PSCell) or a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) operating on an unlicensed spectrum, the UE may send an LBT failure problem report or an SCG failure report (including information of the LBT failure problem) to the master node (which may operate on the licensed spectrum or the unlicensed spectrum). In dual connectivity mode (or MR-DC mode), if a UE determines an LBT failure problem on a Primary Cell (PCell) or a Master Cell Group (MCG) operating on the unlicensed spectrum, the UE may send an LBT failure problem report or an MCG failure report (including information of the LBT failure problem) to the secondary node (which may operate on licensed spectrum or unlicensed spectrum)’, ¶ 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘sensing the channel associated with a primary cell or a secondary cell of a secondary cell group (SCG)’ as disclosed by Chen into Liu in view of Niu so as to effectively detect Listen Before Time (LBT) failure in wireless communication system, Chen ¶ 0004.
8. Claims 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Niu and further in view of Publication No.: US 2022/0124806 A1 to Hu et al. (Hu).
As to Claims 17 and 22, Liu in view of Niu do not expressly disclose receive, from a network node, an interference measurement configuration indicating one or more interference measurement resources; and transmit, to the network node, an indication that the channel is clear without measuring in the one or more interference measurement resources.
However, Hu discloses receive, from a network node, an interference measurement configuration indicating one or more interference measurement resources (‘after LBT is successful, or without LBT if regulation allows, the BS 102 sends a message to the UE 101 to initiate the class B procedures. For example, the BS 101 may send DCI via a PDCCH to a specific UE 101 via a specific transmission beam to trigger the receiver-assisted LBT behaviors at the UE 101. This specific DCI may be scrambled by the cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the specific UE 101. This specific DCI implicitly or explicitly may indicate the UE 101 to perform class B receiver-assisted LBT behaviors (e.g., interference measurement via extended clear channel assessment (eCCA) or RSSI) and report it to the BS 102 after one or a set of successful directional LBTs’, ¶ 0155); and
transmit, to the network node, an indication that the channel is clear without measuring in the one or more interference measurement resources (‘after LBT is successful, or without LBT if regulation allows, the BS 102 sends a message to the UE 101 to initiate the class B procedures. For example, the BS 101 may send DCI via a PDCCH to a specific UE 101 via a specific transmission beam to trigger the receiver-assisted LBT behaviors at the UE 101. This specific DCI may be scrambled by the cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the specific UE 101. This specific DCI implicitly or explicitly may indicate the UE 101 to perform class B receiver-assisted LBT behaviors (e.g., interference measurement via extended clear channel assessment (eCCA) or RSSI) and report it to the BS 102 after one or a set of successful directional LBTs’, ¶ 0155).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘receive, from a network node, an interference measurement configuration indicating one or more interference measurement resources; and transmit, to the network node, an indication that the channel is clear without measuring in the one or more interference measurement resources’ as disclosed by Hu into Liu in view of Niu so as to effectively implement receiver-assisted listen before talk transmission schemes for high frequency bands in wireless communication system, Hu ¶ 0003.
9. Claims 11, 14, 15, 20, 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Niu and further in view of Publication No.: US 2017/0150524 A1 to Oh et al. (Oh).
As to Claims 11, 20, 25 and 29, Liu in view of Niu do not expressly disclose receiving, from a network node, an interference measurement configuration indicating one or more interference measurement resources; and transmitting, to the network node, an interference measurement report based on a measurement associated with at least a first interference measurement resource of the one or more interference measurement resources; and wherein sensing the channel comprises: sensing the channel based on the measurement.
However, Oh discloses receiving, from a network node, an interference measurement configuration indicating one or more interference measurement resources (‘therefore, when the UE starts to perform a channel sensing operation at the uplink transmission time which is set based on the TA set by the base station, a self-interference signal (interference by the base station), which occurs because the uplink transmission time is set based on the TA of the UE, may unnecessarily be measured during some intervals 760 and 770 of the channel sensing interval as shown in Figs. 7(3) and (4). In such a case, the UE may receive a downlink signal from the servicing base station during the channel sensing interval, ending up determining that the channel is not in the idle state. Thus, when the channel sensing operation is performed from the SC-FDMA symbol start time, and the start time of the channel sensing operation is the uplink transmission time set based on the TA as described above, the result of performing the channel sensing operation during the first channel sensing interval of the channel sensing interval A or channel sensing interval B may be rendered not to influence determination as to a chance for the UE to actually occupy the unlicensed band channel’, ¶ 0118); and
transmitting, to the network node, an interference measurement report based on a measurement associated with at least a first interference measurement resource of the one or more interference measurement resources (‘therefore, when the UE starts to perform a channel sensing operation at the uplink transmission time which is set based on the TA set by the base station, a self-interference signal (interference by the base station), which occurs because the uplink transmission time is set based on the TA of the UE, may unnecessarily be measured during some intervals 760 and 770 of the channel sensing interval as shown in Figs. 7(3) and (4). In such a case, the UE may receive a downlink signal from the servicing base station during the channel sensing interval, ending up determining that the channel is not in the idle state. Thus, when the channel sensing operation is performed from the SC-FDMA symbol start time, and the start time of the channel sensing operation is the uplink transmission time set based on the TA as described above, the result of performing the channel sensing operation during the first channel sensing interval of the channel sensing interval A or channel sensing interval B may be rendered not to influence determination as to a chance for the UE to actually occupy the unlicensed band channel’, ¶ 0118); and
wherein sensing the channel comprises:
sensing the channel based on the measurement (‘in such a case, the UE may receive a downlink signal from the servicing base station during the channel sensing interval, ending up determining that the channel is not in the idle state. Thus, when the channel sensing operation is performed from the SC-FDMA symbol start time, and the start time of the channel sensing operation is the uplink transmission time set based on the TA as described above, the result of performing the channel sensing operation during the first channel sensing interval of the channel sensing interval A or channel sensing interval B may be rendered not to influence determination as to a chance for the UE to actually occupy the unlicensed band channel’, ¶ 0118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘receiving, from a network node, an interference measurement configuration indicating one or more interference measurement resources; and transmitting, to the network node, an interference measurement report based on a measurement associated with at least a first interference measurement resource of the one or more interference measurement resources; and wherein sensing the channel comprises: sensing the channel based on the measurement’ as disclosed by Oh into Liu in view of Niu so as to effectively perform channel sense operation in wireless communication system, Oh ¶ 0014.
As to Claim 14, Liu in view of Niu do not expressly disclose wherein interference measurement report includes an indication of a UE preference for sensing the channel.
However, Oh discloses wherein interference measurement report includes an indication of a UE preference for sensing the channel (‘therefore, when the UE starts to perform a channel sensing operation at the uplink transmission time which is set based on the TA set by the base station, a self-interference signal (interference by the base station), which occurs because the uplink transmission time is set based on the TA of the UE, may unnecessarily be measured during some intervals 760 and 770 of the channel sensing interval as shown in Figs. 7(3) and (4). In such a case, the UE may receive a downlink signal from the servicing base station during the channel sensing interval, ending up determining that the channel is not in the idle state. Thus, when the channel sensing operation is performed from the SC-FDMA symbol start time, and the start time of the channel sensing operation is the uplink transmission time set based on the TA as described above, the result of performing the channel sensing operation during the first channel sensing interval of the channel sensing interval A or channel sensing interval B may be rendered not to influence determination as to a chance for the UE to actually occupy the unlicensed band channel’, ¶ 0118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein interference measurement report includes an indication of a UE preference for sensing the channel’ as disclosed by Oh into Liu in view of Niu so as to effectively perform channel sense operation in wireless communication system, Oh ¶ 0014.
As to Claim 15, Liu in view of Niu do not expressly disclose wherein interference measurement report includes a request for a receiver-assisted channel sensing trigger, the request being based on the measurement.
However, Oh discloses wherein interference measurement report includes a request for a receiver-assisted channel sensing trigger, the request being based on the measurement (‘therefore, when the UE starts to perform a channel sensing operation at the uplink transmission time which is set based on the TA set by the base station, a self-interference signal (interference by the base station), which occurs because the uplink transmission time is set based on the TA of the UE, may unnecessarily be measured during some intervals 760 and 770 of the channel sensing interval as shown in Figs. 7(3) and (4). In such a case, the UE may receive a downlink signal from the servicing base station during the channel sensing interval, ending up determining that the channel is not in the idle state. Thus, when the channel sensing operation is performed from the SC-FDMA symbol start time, and the start time of the channel sensing operation is the uplink transmission time set based on the TA as described above, the result of performing the channel sensing operation during the first channel sensing interval of the channel sensing interval A or channel sensing interval B may be rendered not to influence determination as to a chance for the UE to actually occupy the unlicensed band channel’, ¶ 0118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein interference measurement report includes a request for a receiver-assisted channel sensing trigger, the request being based on the measurement l’ as disclosed by Oh into Liu in view of Niu so as to effectively perform channel sense operation in wireless communication system, Oh ¶ 0014.
10. Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Niu, further in view of Oh and Publication No.: US 2021/0058967 A1 to Oteri et al. (Oteri).
As to Claim 12, Liu in view of Niu and further in view of Oh do not expressly disclose wherein the interference measurement report includes an indication of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement in a beam direction associated with the first interference measurement resource.
However, Oteri discloses wherein the interference measurement report includes an indication of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement in a beam direction associated with the first interference measurement resource (‘to implement this gain discovery procedure, the WTRU/gNB may send a transmission to the receiver during a beam management operation with an omni-directional antenna and may request information and/or an indication of a received power metric, for example, using any of: Signal to Noise Ratio (SNR), Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI), Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP), and/or Received Channel Power Indicator (RCPI)) or the like. During the actual beam management process, the beam based feedback (e.g., each beam based feedback) may include a measure of the received power metric (e.g. SNR, SINR, RSSI, RSRP and/or RCPI, etc.)’, ¶ 0147).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein the interference measurement report includes an indication of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement in a beam direction associated with the first interference measurement resource’ as disclosed by Oteri into Liu in view of Niu and further in view of Oh so as to effectively reduce or substantially eliminate self interference in wireless communication system, Oteri ¶ 0060.
As to Claim 13, Liu in view of Niu and further in view of Oh do not expressly disclose wherein the interference measurement report includes an indication of a signal-to- interference ratio (SINR) measurement in a beam direction associated with the first interference measurement resource.
However, Oteri discloses wherein the interference measurement report includes an indication of a signal-to- interference ratio (SINR) measurement in a beam direction associated with the first interference measurement resource (‘to implement this gain discovery procedure, the WTRU/gNB may send a transmission to the receiver during a beam management operation with an omni-directional antenna and may request information and/or an indication of a received power metric, for example, using any of: Signal to Noise Ratio (SNR), Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI), Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP), and/or Received Channel Power Indicator (RCPI)) or the like. During the actual beam management process, the beam based feedback (e.g., each beam based feedback) may include a measure of the received power metric (e.g. SNR, SINR, RSSI, RSRP and/or RCPI, etc.)’, ¶ 0147).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein the interference measurement report includes an indication of a signal-to- interference ratio (SINR) measurement in a beam direction associated with the first interference measurement resource’ as disclosed by Oteri into Liu in view of Niu and further in view of Oh so as to effectively reduce or substantially eliminate self interference in wireless communication system, Oteri ¶ 0060.
Conclusion
/GBEMILEKE J ONAMUTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463