DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed January 26, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 12, 14, 17, 19, 22, and 23 have been amended.
Claims 3, 5, 8, 11, 13, 15, 16, 18, 20, and 21 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14, 17, 18, 22, and 23 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14, 17, 18, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 9, and 17 recite the limitation "the group number" in the body of the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claims 2, 4, 6, 7, 10, 12, 14, 18, 22, and 23 are rejected based on their dependency on claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14, 17, 18, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (hereinafter Liu1) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0181995 A1) in view of Palanivelu et al. (hereinafter Palanivelu) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0169367 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Liu1 teaches a method for determining a resource and a communication device (UE, figures 2 and 12), comprising: a transceiver (transceiver, figure 12); a memory (memory, figure 12); a processor (processor, figure 12), respectively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to control wireless signal transmission and reception of the transceiver by executing computer executable instructions on the memory, and capable of implementing:
receiving a target downlink transmission (discovery signal) sent by a network device (base station, figures 1-2), wherein, the target downlink transmission comprises at least one of groups of downlink transmissions, each group of downlink transmissions (group of DL transmissions; figures 4B and 5) comprises at least one of a narrowband synchronization signal, narrowband physical broadcast information, and a narrowband system information block (SIB) ([0011]; “…A base station may transmit discovery reference signals (DRS) for synchronization of UEs covered by the base station. A discovery reference signal as described herein may include, for example, a narrowband primary synchronization signal, a narrowband secondary synchronization signal, a narrowband physical broadcast channel (e.g., which may include a master information block), a system information block, a synchronization signal block…”; [0072]; “…the base station may concurrently transmit a discovery reference signal (DRS) (e.g., NPSS, NSSS, NPBCH, and SIB-BR etc.) in each of the plurality of anchor channels 404a, 404b, 404c to at least one UE…”; [0092]; [0095]; figures 4B-6; teaches the UE receives a downlink discovery signal of a group of downlink discovery signal for a UE from the base station, wherein the signal includes a NPSS, NSSS, NPBCH and SIB).
However, Liu1 may not explicitly disclose determining a corresponding time-frequency domain resource based on a group to which the target downlink transmission belongs, wherein the time-frequency domain resource is configured for downlink synchronization and/or broadcast information reception; wherein the method comprises one of: determining the group number of the group to which the target downlink transmission belongs based on a first generation parameter and/or a base sequence of a narrowband secondary synchronization signal (NSSS) in the target downlink transmission, wherein the narrowband synchronization signal comprises the NSSS; or determining the group number of the group to which the target downlink transmission belongs based on a second generation parameter and/or a scrambling sequence of a narrowband physical broadcast channel (NPBCH) in the target downlink transmission, wherein the narrowband physical broadcast information comprises the NPBCH; wherein the method comprises: determining a beam corresponding to the time-frequency domain resource based on the group to which the target downlink transmission belongs (although Liu1 does teach and suggest scheduling time-frequency resources for efficient synchronization; [0052]; [0092]).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Palanivelu teaches and suggests determining a corresponding time-frequency domain resource (time-frequency resource) based on a group to which the target downlink transmission belongs (group of downlink subframes), wherein the time-frequency domain resource is configured for downlink synchronization and/or broadcast information reception (abstract; [0049]; [0148]; teaches determining a corresponding time-frequency resource based on the group of downlink subframes, wherein the time-frequency resource is configured for downlink synchronization and broadcast information); wherein the method comprises one of: determining the group number of the group to which the target downlink transmission belongs based on a first generation parameter and/or a base sequence of a narrowband secondary synchronization signal (NSSS) in the target downlink transmission, wherein the narrowband synchronization signal comprises the NSSS; or determining the group number of the group to which the target downlink transmission belongs based on a second generation parameter and/or a scrambling sequence of a narrowband physical broadcast channel (NPBCH) in the target downlink transmission, wherein the narrowband physical broadcast information comprises the NPBCH (abstract; [0049]; [0068]; [0148]; teaches determining the group of subframes in which the downlink transmission belongs based on sequence of NSSS or NPBCH); wherein the method comprises: determining a beam corresponding to the time-frequency domain resource based on the group to which the target downlink transmission belongs (abstract; [0068]; [0132]; [0133]; [0148]; teaches determining a beam corresponding to the time-frequency resource based on the group of downlink subframes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining a corresponding time-frequency resource based on the group of downlink subframes, wherein the time-frequency resource is configured for downlink synchronization and broadcast information and determining a beam corresponding to the time-frequency resource based on the group of downlink subframes as taught by Palanivelu with the method and apparatus for receiving a downlink discovery signal of a group of downlink discovery signal for a UE from the base station wherein the signal includes a NPSS, NSSS, NPBCH and SIB as disclosed by Liu1 for the purpose of providing group based signaling for improving positioning performance, as suggested by Palanivelu.
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 19, Liu1 discloses receiving a downlink discovery signal of a group of downlink discovery signal for a UE from the base station wherein the signal includes a NPSS, NSSS, NPBCH and SIB, but may not explicitly disclose wherein a group number of each group of downlink transmissions has a correspondence relationship with a time-frequency domain resource; wherein determining the corresponding time-frequency domain resource based on the group to which the target downlink transmission belongs comprises: determining the corresponding time-frequency domain resource based on a group number of the group to which the target downlink transmission belongs.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Palanivelu further teaches and suggests wherein a group number of each group of downlink transmissions has a correspondence relationship with a time-frequency domain resource; wherein determining the corresponding time-frequency domain resource based on the group to which the target downlink transmission belongs comprises: determining the corresponding time-frequency domain resource based on a group number of the group to which the target downlink transmission belongs (abstract; [0049]; [0148]; teaches determining a corresponding time-frequency resource based on the group of downlink subframes, wherein the time-frequency resource is configured for downlink synchronization and broadcast information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining a corresponding time-frequency resource based on the group of downlink subframes, wherein the time-frequency resource is configured for downlink synchronization and broadcast information and determining a beam corresponding to the time-frequency resource based on the group of downlink subframes as taught by Palanivelu with the method and apparatus for receiving a downlink discovery signal of a group of downlink discovery signal for a UE from the base station wherein the signal includes a NPSS, NSSS, NPBCH and SIB as disclosed by Liu1, as modified by Palanivelu, for the purpose of providing group based signaling for improving positioning performance, as suggested by Palanivelu.
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Liu1, as modified by Palanivelu, further teaches and suggests wherein the first generation parameter comprises a cyclic shift parameter; and each group of downlink transmissions corresponds to at least one cyclic shift parameter, and different groups of downlink transmissions correspond to different cyclic shift parameters ([0092]; “…the DRS (e.g., NPSS and/or NSSS) on the first transmission of the plurality of anchor channels may be used to provide the configuration. This may allow a UE 120 to determine the configuration more quickly than using a MIB, and may be more reliable than using a MIB. In some aspects, the BS 110 may use a time-domain cyclic shift applied to the NSSS to convey the configuration…”; [0130]; teaches a cyclic shift parameter for NSSS).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Liu1, as modified by Palanivelu, further teaches and suggests wherein the second generation parameter comprises a scrambling sequence initialization factor; and each group of downlink transmissions corresponds to at least one scrambling sequence initialization factor, and different groups of downlink transmissions correspond to different scrambling sequence initialization factors ([0011]; [0072]; “…the base station may concurrently transmit a discovery reference signal (DRS) (e.g., NPSS, NSSS, NPBCH, and SIB-BR etc.) in each of the plurality of anchor channels 404a, 404b, 404c to at least one UE…”; [0087]; “…the first anchor channel may include one or more NPBCHs and/or one or more MIBs…MIBs 0 and 1 may be scrambled similarly to self-decodable blocks 0 and 1 so that UE 120 can determine timing information based at least in part on MIBs 0 and 1…”; [0088]; figures 4B-6; teaches the UE receives a downlink discovery signal of a group of downlink discovery signal for a UE from the base station, wherein the signal includes a NPBCH and scrambling of the NPBCH).
Regarding claims 7 and 22, Liu1 discloses receiving a downlink discovery signal of a group of downlink discovery signal for a UE from the base station wherein the signal includes a NPSS, NSSS, NPBCH and SIB, but may not explicitly disclose determining a beam corresponding to the time-frequency domain resource based on a beam carrying the target downlink transmission.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Palanivelu teaches and suggests determining a beam corresponding to the time-frequency domain resource based on a beam carrying the target downlink transmission (abstract; [0068]; [0132]; [0133]; [0148]; teaches determining a beam corresponding to the time-frequency resource based on the group of downlink subframes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining a corresponding time-frequency resource based on the group of downlink subframes, wherein the time-frequency resource is configured for downlink synchronization and broadcast information and determining a beam corresponding to the time-frequency resource based on the group of downlink subframes as taught by Palanivelu with the method and apparatus for receiving a downlink discovery signal of a group of downlink discovery signal for a UE from the base station wherein the signal includes a NPSS, NSSS, NPBCH and SIB as disclosed by Liu1 for the purpose of providing group based signaling for improving positioning performance, as suggested by Palanivelu.
Regarding claims 9 and 23, Liu1 teaches a communication device (base station, figures 1-2 and 9), comprising: a transceiver (transceiver, figure 9); a memory (memory, figure 9); a processor (processor, figure 9), respectively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to control wireless signal transmission and reception of the transceiver by executing computer executable instructions on the memory, and capable of implementing the method for determining a resource, performed by a network device, comprising: sending a target downlink transmission (discovery signal) to a terminal device (UE, figures 2 and 12), wherein, the target downlink transmission comprises at least one of groups of downlink transmissions (group of DL transmissions; figures 4B and 5), each group of downlink transmissions comprises at least one of a narrowband synchronization signal, narrowband physical broadcast information, and a narrowband system information block (SIB) ([0011]; “…A base station may transmit discovery reference signals (DRS) for synchronization of UEs covered by the base station. A discovery reference signal as described herein may include, for example, a narrowband primary synchronization signal, a narrowband secondary synchronization signal, a narrowband physical broadcast channel (e.g., which may include a master information block), a system information block, a synchronization signal block…”; [0072]; “…the base station may concurrently transmit a discovery reference signal (DRS) (e.g., NPSS, NSSS, NPBCH, and SIB-BR etc.) in each of the plurality of anchor channels 404a, 404b, 404c to at least one UE…”; [0092]; [0095]; figures 4B-6; teaches the UE receives a downlink discovery signal of a group of downlink discovery signal for a UE from the base station, wherein the signal includes a NPSS, NSSS, NPBCH and SIB).
However, Liu1 may not explicitly disclose each group of downlink transmissions corresponds to a time-frequency domain resource; wherein the narrowband synchronization signal comprises a narrowband secondary synchronization signal (NSSS), and a group number of each group of downlink transmissions is a first generation parameter and/or a base sequence of the NSSS; or the narrowband physical broadcast information comprises a narrowband physical broadcast channel (NPBCH), and the group number is a second generation parameter and/or a scrambling sequence of the NPBCH; wherein a group to which the target downlink transmission belongs is configured to determine a beam corresponding to the time-frequency domain resource (although Liu1 does teach and suggest scheduling time-frequency resources; [0052]; [0092]).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Palanivelu teaches and suggests each group of downlink transmissions (group of downlink subframes) corresponds to a time-frequency domain resource (time-frequency resource) (abstract; [0049]; [0148]; teaches determining a corresponding time-frequency resource based on the group of downlink subframes, wherein the time-frequency resource is configured for downlink synchronization and broadcast information); wherein the narrowband synchronization signal comprises a narrowband secondary synchronization signal (NSSS), and a group number of each group of downlink transmissions is a first generation parameter and/or a base sequence of the NSSS; or the narrowband physical broadcast information comprises a narrowband physical broadcast channel (NPBCH), and the group number is a second generation parameter and/or a scrambling sequence of the NPBCH (abstract; [0049]; [0068]; [0148]; teaches determining the group of subframes in which the downlink transmission belongs based on sequence of NSSS or NPBCH); wherein a group to which the target downlink transmission belongs is configured to determine a beam corresponding to the time-frequency domain resource (abstract; [0068]; [0132]; [0133]; [0148]; teaches determining a beam corresponding to the time-frequency resource based on the group of downlink subframes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining a corresponding time-frequency resource based on the group of downlink subframes, wherein the time-frequency resource is configured for downlink synchronization and broadcast information and determining a beam corresponding to the time-frequency resource based on the group of downlink subframes as taught by Palanivelu with the method and apparatus for receiving a downlink discovery signal of a group of downlink discovery signal for a UE from the base station wherein the signal includes a NPSS, NSSS, NPBCH and SIB as disclosed by Liu1 for the purpose of providing group based signaling for improving positioning performance, as suggested by Palanivelu.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed January 26, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14, 17, 18, 22, and 23 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Palanivelu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0169367 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
May 26, 2026