Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a horizontal 1 shape” in claim 3.
Paragraph [0007] discloses preferably, the juicing element includes multiple first forward blades and multiple first reverse blades arranged thereon radially, and the multiple first forward blades are spaced from the multiple first reverse blades, wherein the multiple first and second forward blades and the multiple first and second reverse blades have multiple tips, and the multiple tips of the second forward blades are opposite to the multiple tips of the second reverse blades; the juicing element further includes a first cutter and a second cutter which are mounted on a center of the juicing element in a horizontal 1 shape, wherein the second cutter is opposite to the first cutter, the first cutter has a first cutting portion extending upward, and the second cutter has a second cutting portion extending upward.
Paragraph [0023] discloses the juicing element 4 is a round plate on which multiple first forward blades 41 and multiple first reverse blades 42 are arranged radially, wherein the multiple first forward blades 41 are spaced from the multiple first reverse blades 42, and the round plate 4 includes multiple second forward blades 43 and multiple second reverse blades 44 which are arranged on a center of the round plate 4 in a cross shape or a horizontal 1 shape, wherein the multiple first and second forward blades 41, 43 and the multiple first and second reverse blades 42, 44 have multiple tips, and the multiple tips of the second forward blades 43 are opposite to the multiple tips of the second reverse blades 44. Furthermore, a center of the feeding inlet 31 of the cap 3 is eccentric with a center of the round plate 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "fruits and vegetables" at line 5 renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear for whether this fruits and vegetables is the same as the one recited at line 4. If it is so, then "the" or "said" should be used.
The dependent claims are rejected for their inherited deficiencies on rejected independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng et al. (US 20080115677).
Regarding claim 1, Tseng et al. discloses a fruit and vegetable juicer (abstract, i.e. a food processor; see figures 2A and 2B) comprising:
a first holder (12, i.e. called a base), a second holder (11, i.e. called a bowl), a filtration mesh (13, i.e. called a strainer basket), a juicing element (21, 22, i.e. called upper and lower grinding discs) connected with the filtration mesh (13, i.e. called a strainer basket) and having multiple blades (212, 221, 222, i.e. teeth and blades), and a cap (14, i.e. called a cover);
the first holder (12, i.e. called a base) including a transmission mechanism (121, i.e. called a driving mechanism/motor) configured to drive the juicing element (21, 22, i.e. called upper and lower grinding discs) to rotate, the cap (14, i.e. called a cover) including a feeding inlet (141) configured to feed fruits and vegetables, such that the juicing element rotates to cut and grind fruits and vegetables (¶ 0003, 0025);
wherein the multiple blades (212, 221, 222, i.e. teeth and blades) of the juicing element 21, 22, i.e. called upper and lower grinding discs) have multiple tips extending radially (see figures 4A, 5, and 6; ¶ 0030, i.e. a plurality of triangle-sectioned and pointed cutting bodies), wherein some of the multiple tips are opposite to the other tips to form multiple forward blades and multiple reverse blades (See the central blades arrangement in figure 5 for example), such that the multiple forward blades and the multiple reverse blades rotate forward or reversely to remove residues and to cut and grind the fruits and vegetables simultaneously ¶ 0030-0032, i.e. two rows directed toward two opposite directions.).
With respect to claim 4, Tseng et al. discloses wherein a center of the feeding inlet (141) of the cap (14) is eccentric (i.e. offset the cover 14) with a center of the juicing element (21, 22, i.e. called upper and lower grinding discs) (¶ 0003, 0008, 0026-0027).
With respect to claim 5, Tseng et al. discloses wherein the transmission mechanism (121, i.e. called a driving mechanism/motor) is configured to drive the juicing element (21, 22, i.e. called upper and lower grinding discs) to rotate forward or reversely after being switched manually or automatically to rotate forward or reversely (¶ 0008, 0026-0027).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. (US 20080115677) in view of Kim (US 20190008307).
Regarding claim 6, Tseng discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above, except for wherein the filtration mesh is closed without any bores.
However, Kim teaches wherein the filtration mesh 400 (fig. 8) is closed without any bores (¶ 0023, 0108, 0109).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of a Juice extractor. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tseng and Kim before him or her, to include such a filtration mesh/net of Kim because the ground materials directly fall vertically downwards, so that the residue is very smoothly discharged. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it allows residue or ground materials to directly fall in a vertically downward direction of a juice extracting drum, thereby very rapidly and efficiently discharging the residue and conveniently obtaining the ground materials or a product, such as ice cream, as necessary (¶ 0001)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zheng et al. (CN 200991140). Zheng et al. (CN 2504999). Blackus (US 20110083566). Cohen et al. (US 7,040,220; US 20060086261; 6,901,849). Chen (US 6,742,447). Tseng et al. (US 6,397,736). Lee (US 20110185921). Lin et al. (WO 03028513). And Krall et al. (US 20080202355).
Conclusion
/KET D DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761