DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This paper is responsive to the amendments filed November 13, 2025.
Claims 16, 18, 22, 23, 25, and 29 were amended.
Claims 17, 19-21, 24, 26-28 were canceled.
Claims 16, 18, 22, 23, 25, and 29 are pending.
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed on November 13, 2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16, 18, 22, 23, 25, and 29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 18, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pat. Pub. 20220240213 to Quang Ly et al. (hereinafter Ly).
Regarding claim 16, Ly teaches A method for paging collision avoidance performed by a User Equipment (UE) comprising a plurality of subscriber identity modules (SIMs) in a wireless cellular network (Ly para. [0198]-[0201] teaches a UE as a multi-SIM (MUSIM) device) , the method comprising:
detecting a potential paging collision between a first radio access technology (RAT) network of a plurality of RAT networks and a second RAT network of the plurality of RAT networks, wherein the first RAT network is associated with a first SIM of the plurality of SIMs and the second RAT network is associated with a second SIM of the plurality of SIMs; (Ly teaches in paras. [0317]-[0326] that for a UE, when “The multiple SIMs are from the same or different PLMNs (PLMN refers to different operator's network, which is also referred to as mobile network operators or MNOs).” . paging requests for an inactive SIM are received on paging occasions of the active SIM to solve issue of paging collisions since the UE can receive page for multiple SIMS without needing to frequently switch connections among different PLMNs.
transmitting, the first RAT network, a request message associated with a mobility registration update (MRU); (Ly teaches in para. [0470] “Once the UE detects that there is a possibility of paging collisions, the UE may then request one of the PLMNs for another temporary identifier which would generate a paging occasion different than the current one. The UE may send a mobility registration update and include the proposed parameters listed above, such as the PO separation.”)
and
receiving, from the first RAT network, a response message including a globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI), wherein the RAT network is a NR network. (Ly teaches in para. [0328] and Fig. 9 step 902b, teaches that in partial registration for SIM2, a PLMN will send a temporary identifier. Temporary identifiers are described as 5G-GUTI in para. [0061] and defined as 5G Globally Unique Temporary Identifier. Ly also that teaches in para. [0470] “The UE may also only include a multi-SIM indicator to let the CN provide a new temporary identifier which corresponds to another PO or even propose a new temporary identifier whose PO location is different than the current PO. The UE may have discovered the CN supports the multi-SIM feature as it was pre-provisioned with the information, received the information in a previous registration accept message such as information provided in a multi-SIM policy, or by reading system information. Step S3408: The AMF returns a registration accept message that may include a new temporary identifier.” Ly para. [0058] teaches that embodiments are directed to use cases for 3GPP NR radio.
Regarding claim 18, Ly teaches The method of claim 16, wherein selecting the first RAT network between the first RAT network and the second RAT network is performed based on a paging collision avoidance criteria, and wherein the paging collision avoidance criteria comprises at least one of
a preferred RAT network, channel conditions of the first RAT network and the second RAT network, a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle length of the first RAT network and the second RAT network, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) state of the UE, a concurrent service support at the UE, a scheduling pattern, the RAT network associated with the first SIM, a battery power level at the UE, a target alignment of a paging occasion (PO) on the first RAT network and the second RAT network, RAT configured by the first RAT network and the second RAT network, a RAT preferred by a user, or a RAT specified by standards specification based on information associated with the paging collision avoidance criteria. (Examiner notes that the language of claim 18 requires “at least one of” Ly teaches in para. [0200] –[0203] criteria for paging collisions includes overlap in time, wherein a single transceiver must decide to monitor a single paging channel over others, or a UE able to connect to one network at a time and monitor paging associated with the SIM of that network and not another, or constant switching reducing battery power due to constant switching and the UE not able to enter DRX cycles to preserve battery power.)
Regarding claim 23, Ly teaches A user equipment (UE) comprising a plurality of subscriber identity modules (SIMs) in a wireless cellular network, (Ly para. [0120] Fig. 1F, WTRU 102 and Fig. 9) the UE comprising:
a transceiver; (Ly para. [0120] and Fig. 1F, transceiver 120)
and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: (Ly Fig. 1F processor 118 described in para. [0121] as a controller)
detect a potential paging collision between a first radio access technology (RAT) network of a plurality of RAT networks and a second RAT network of the plurality of RAT networks, wherein the first RAT network is associated with a first SIM of the plurality of SIMs and the second RAT network is associated with a second SIM of the plurality of SIMs, (Ly teaches in para. [0327] that a UE with two SIMS a UE notifies an active PLMN to suspend a UE’s registration state so the UE can establish communications with the inactive PLMN to complete processing a paging request with the inactive SIM to avoid collisions)
transmit to the first RAT network or the second RAT network, a request message associated with a mobility registration update (MRU), and (Ly teaches in para. [0470] “Once the UE detects that there is a possibility of paging collisions, the UE may then request one of the PLMNs for another temporary identifier which would generate a paging occasion different than the current one. The UE may send a mobility registration update and include the proposed parameters listed above, such as the PO separation.)
receive, from the first RAT network, a response message including a globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI), (Ly teaches in para. [0328] and Fig. 9 step 902b, in partial registration for SIM2 a PLMN will send a temporary identifier, such as a 5G-GUTI which is defined in para. [0061] as a 5G Globally Unique Temporary Identifier. Ly also that teaches in para. [0470] “The UE may also only include a multi-SIM indicator to let the CN provide a new temporary identifier which corresponds to another PO or even propose a new temporary identifier whose PO location is different than the current PO. The UE may have discovered the CN supports the multi-SIM feature as it was pre-provisioned with the information, received the information in a previous registration accept message such as information provided in a multi-SIM policy, or by reading system information. Step S3408: The AMF returns a registration accept message that may include a new temporary identifier.”)
wherein the first RAT network is a NR network. (Ly para. [0058] teaches that embodiments are directed to use cases for 3GPP NR radio.)
Regarding claim 25, Ly teaches The UE of claim 23 of wherein a selection of the first RAT network between the first RAT network and the second RAT network is performed based on a paging collision avoidance criteria, and wherein the paging collision avoidance criteria comprises at least one of a preferred RAT network, channel conditions of the first RAT network and the second RAT network, a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle length of the first RAT network and the second RAT network, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) state of the UE, a concurrent service support at the UE, a scheduling pattern, the RAT network associated with the first SIM, a battery power level at the UE, a target alignment of a paging occasion (PO) on the first RAT network and the second RAT network, RAT configured by the first RAT network and the second RAT network, a RAT preferred by a user, or a RAT specified by standards specification based on information associated with the paging collision avoidance. (Examiner notes that the language of claim 18 requires “at least one of” Ly teaches in para. [0200] –[0203] criteria for paging collisions includes overlap in time, wherein a single transceiver must decide to monitor a single paging channel over others, or a UE able to connect to one network at a time and monitor paging associated with the SIM of that network and not another, or constant switching reducing battery power due to constant switching and the UE not able to enter DRX cycles to preserve battery power.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. Ly in view of US Pat. Pub. 20220312374 to Jinsoon Ryu et al. (hereinafter Ryu).
Regarding claim 22, Ly teaches The method of claim 16, further comprising: transmitting to the second RAT network, a request message associated with a track area update (TAU) request, (Ly para. [0266] –[0270] teaches “The request may be a registration update, a tracking area update, or an inactive registration timer update. The request includes a temporary identifier associated with the second SIM.” Examiner note the second SIM is associated with a second network, second PLMN or RAT. The response may include a status for the registration update request, a new value for the registration timer, or an updated TAI list. The response may include an indication that the registration state for the second SIM is no longer valid [0270] Second PLMN may assign a new temporary identifier for second SIM and include it in the response to the UE.)
and
receiving, from the second RAT network, a response message including an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) offset value, wherein the second RAT network is an LTE network. (Ly para. [0465]-[0467] teaches that a UE may request an offset and receive such as follows: “A request for a “different” paging occasion may be an indication that the UE desires a paging occasion that occur with the same periodicity, but at a different time. Thus, it may be an indication that a different offset is desired. ... In cases where both SIMs belong to the same MNO, the registration request may also include an identifier for the other SIM, e.g. IMSI or 5G-GUTI, to inform the core network that the UE supports multiple SIMs and possibly provide certain network optimizations relating the registrations of the multiple SIMs”. Ly para. [0160] notes that paging works similarly in 5G as LTE paging wherein the UE_ID is computed from an identifier for the UE “such as IMSI...” Further, Ly Fig. 32 and para. [0441] teaches that “the enhancements proposed herein may to applied to interworking scenarios involving a UE switching between LTE and 5G and from 5G back to LTE.”:
).
Although Ly teaches an “offset”, and also teaches an IMSI, Ly does not specifically identify the offset as an IMSI offset value, wherein the second RAT network is an LTE network.
In the analogous art of 3GPP Multi-SIM communications, Ryu teaches avoiding a collision and, a response message including an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) offset value, wherein the second RAT network is an LTE network. (Ryu teaches an IMSI offset to avoid a paging collision in para. [0334] and Figs. 19C and 19D wherein the IMSI offset is the IMSI plus a UE identity offset, resulting in the UE_ID for calculation for the paging frame and the paging occasion being the IMSI plus the UE identity offset. Fig 19C and para. [0301] teaches that frame number for the paging frame may be for LTE wherein the UE_ID is the IMSI for purposes of using the offset.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Ryu with Ly to teach an IMSI offset. Each of Ryu and Ly are in the field of wireless communications and multi-SIM paging collision avoidance. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Ly and Ryu in order to enable enhanced features and functionalities in 4G/5G systems as taught in Ryu para. [0049].
Regarding claim 29, Ly teaches The UE of claim 23 of wherein the controller is further configured to:
transmit, to the second RAT network, a request message associated with a tracking area update (TAU) request, (Ly para. [0266] –[0270] teaches “The request may be a registration update, a tracking area update, or an inactive registration timer update. The request includes a temporary identifier associated with the second SIM.)
and
receive, from the second RAT network, a response message including an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) offset value, wherein the second RAT network is an LTE network. (Ly para. [0465]-[0467] teaches that a UE may request an offset and receive such as follows: “A request for a “different” paging occasion may be an indication that the UE desires a paging occasion that occur with the same periodicity, but at a different time. Thus, it may be an indication that a different offset is desired. ...”. Examiner notes that the same MNO may operate both 5G and LTE networks. Ly para. [0160] notes that paging works similarly in 5G as LTE paging wherein the UE_ID is computed from an identifier for the UE “such as IMSI...” Further, Ly Fig. 32 and para. [0441] teaches that “the enhancements proposed herein may to applied to interworking scenarios involving a UE switching between LTE and 5G and from 5G back to LTE.”:
).
Although Ly teaches an “offset”, and also teaches an IMSI, Ly does not specifically identify the offset as an IMSI offset value, wherein the second RAT network is an LTE network.
In the analogous art of 3GPP Multi-SIM communications, Ryu teaches avoiding a collision and, a response message including an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) offset value, wherein the second RAT network is an LTE network. (Ryu teaches an IMSI offset to avoid a paging collision in para. [0334] and Figs. 19C and 19D wherein the IMSI offset is the IMSI plus a UE identity offset, resulting in the UE_ID for calculation for the paging frame and the paging occasion being the IMSI plus the UE identity offset. Fig 19C and para. [0301] teaches that frame number for the paging frame may be for LTE wherein the UE_ID is the IMSI for purposes of using the offset.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Ryu with Ly to teach an IMSI offset. Each of Ryu and Ly are in the field of wireless communications and multi-SIM paging collision avoidance. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Ly and Ryu in order to enable enhanced features and functionalities in 4G/5G systems as taught in Ryu para. [0049].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes US Pat. Pub. 20230300787 to Mai-Anh Phan et al. (hereinafter Phan) claiming priority to US Prov. Pat. App. 63062058 filed August 6, 2020. Phan teaches a UE offset to avoid paging collision for Multi-USIM devices. Specifically, the provisional application teaches an IMSI offset to avoid paging collisions in a multi-SIM device specifically for LTE on page 15, lines 21-24:
Therefore, Phan is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412