DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sathyanarayan et al. (US 20200389268 A1) in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US 20230189232 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches an apparatus comprising: a processor; a receiver; and at least one transmitter operably connected to the processor and the receiver (paragraphs 158-159, 217, Teaches a wireless communication apparatus implemented with transmitter and receiver structures and associated hardware for performing the disclosed signal-processing and communication operations), the at least one transmitter configured to: generate, based on reference signals at different sub-channels, multi-band channel signals that are sequentially generated in a time domain (paragraphs 206-208, 292, 303, 305, 319, Teaches reference/pilot signals distributed over different frequency subchannels and time positions for obtaining channel information across a multiband allocation, with the resulting OFDM/OTFS signals organized into successive symbols along the time dimension), and sequentially transmit the sub-channel coded OFDM signal in the time domain (paragraphs 162, 164, 167, 193, 206, Teaches converting successive OFDM symbols into time-domain samples with an IFFT/OFDM modulator to generate a time series, thereby sequentially transmitting the OFDM waveform in the time domain).
Sathyanarayan et al. does not explicitly teach wherein each sub-channel output of the different sub-channels is coherently accumulated for transmitting a sub-channel coded orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) signal, modulate based on the multi-band channel signals, the sub-channel coded OFDM signal corresponding to each of the different sub-channels.
However, Rastegardoost et al. teaches wherein each sub-channel output of the different sub-channels is coherently accumulated for transmitting a sub-channel coded orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) signal (Paragraphs 109, 211, the transmitter forms an OFDM signal by processing parallel subcarrier symbol streams through an IFFT that preserves their amplitude and phase contributions and sums the orthogonal subcarriers into time-domain samples forming an OFDM symbol, with the uplink processing expressly including coding-related processing, modulation, precoding, resource-element mapping, and generation of a time-domain CP-OFDM signal), modulate based on the multi-band channel signals, the sub-channel coded OFDM signal corresponding to each of the different sub-channels (Paragraphs 109, 211, 258, the transmitter modulates data into complex-valued symbols associated with respective orthogonal frequency resources and processes those symbols into a time-domain CP-OFDM signal while frequency-hopping operation assigns the resulting transmission to different frequency resources or sub-channels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein each sub-channel output of the different sub-channels is coherently accumulated for transmitting a sub-channel coded orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) signal, modulate based on the multi-band channel signals, the sub-channel coded OFDM signal corresponding to each of the different sub-channels as taught by Rastegardoost et al. in the system of Sathyanarayan et al., so that it would enable the transmitter to coherently combine the amplitude and phase contributions of multiple orthogonal frequency sub-channels into a unified time-domain OFDM waveform while supporting sub-channel-specific modulation and coding across different frequency resources, thereby improving spectral efficiency, preserving orthogonality between subcarriers, reducing inter-carrier interference, and facilitating reliable sequential transmission of multi-band OFDM signals.
Regarding claim 2, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches transmitter is further configured to sequentially transmit, in the time domain (Page 5, Paragraph 164, 167, OFDM symbols are converted to time-domain samples and transmitted sequentially), the sub-channel coded OFDM signal (Page 6, Paragraph 172, 175, DFT-spread OFDM is a form of sub-channel coded OFDM) based on a random frequency hopping operation (Page 8, Paragraph 214, Interleaved mapping across Doppler/frequency dimensions can be interpreted as frequency hopping).
Regarding claim 3, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches transmitter comprises: a digital beamformer configured to perform a digital beamforming operation that is applied to each of sub-band channel signals in the multi-band channel signals (Page 10, Paragraph 282, 285, Page 13, Paragraph 350, 352, 353, These paragraphs describe digital precoding operations at the hub (transmitter) side using digital filters that operate per user or per channel estimate across the bandwidth (i.e., “multi-band channel signals”). These filters are applied digitally and shape the energy spatially and temporally, which falls within the broadest reasonable interpretation of digital beamforming per sub-band in a multi-band signal); and an analog beamformer configured to perform an analog beamforming operation (Page 34, Paragraph 705, Page 35, Paragraph 722, A Luneburg lens is a passive analog structure that enables directional beam steering without digital processing. The presence of a Luneburg lens in the antenna structure qualifies as an analog beamforming mechanism. This satisfies the claim of an analog beamformer performing an analog beamforming operation).
Regarding claim 4, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches transmitter comprises a time-frequency mapper configured to format the multi-band channel signals in a time-frequency domain (Page 5, Paragraph 167, This anticipates a component in the transmitter that maps signals from one domain (delay-Doppler) into the time-frequency domain. This operation effectively formats the OTFS signal into a time-frequency representation).
Regarding claim 5, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches receiver, operably connected to the processor and the at least one transmitter, is configured to receive multi-band channel coded OFDM signals (Page 5, Paragraph 160, Page 6, Paragraph 179, OTFS operates over OFDM and spreads signals across frequency bands, thus the received signals are channel-coded, OFDM-based, and span multiple frequency bands) with multiple carriers of the set of carrier frequencies (Page 13, Paragraph 357, 374, These statements explicitly define a signal using multiple subcarriers (i.e., carriers), confirming that the receiver is configured to handle signals transmitted over a set of carrier frequencies).
Regarding claim 6, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches receiver comprises: a set of sub-band filters configured to perform a bandpass sampling operation (Page 28, Paragraph 632, Filter banks act as sub-band filters and perform band-limited sampling); and a delay compensator configured to compensate delay effect between multi-band channel coded OFDM signals (Page 27, Paragraph 610, Page 28, Paragraph 630, THP and OTFS handle delay spread) and perform an aliasing cancellation operation to reduce aliasing effect from a sub-band sampling (Page 27, Paragraph 621, Page 28, Paragraph 632, Filter banks with equalization suppress aliasing from sub-band sampling).
Regarding claim 7, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches the receiver is further configured to: compensate a transmission delay based on each of sub-band channel signals in the multi- band channel signals (Page 9, Paragraph 250-253, The receiver performs channel estimation and equalization, which compensates for delay across sub-band channel signals in a multi-band OTFS signal); and cancel aliasing components between multi-band channel coded OFDM signals (Page 9, Paragraph 252, 253, 225-227, Guard Grid design and equalization enable cancellation of aliasing-like effects between multi-band channel coded signals).
Regarding claim 8, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches receiver is further configured to pre-compute the reference signals to compensate transmission delay effect and cancel the aliasing effect from the sub-band sampling (Page, Paragraph 620, 621, Page 33, Paragraph 699, Receiver uses known resource elements (reference signals) and equalization to handle delay and aliasing due to sub-band sampling. OTFS enables pre-computation to mitigate these effects); and the reference signals are used for a radar baseband processing (Page 34, Paragraph 699, 702, 705, Page 35, Paragraph 715, OTFS and directional antennas with known signals enable reflection-based processing, satisfying radar baseband functionality).
Regarding claim 9, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches a method of an apparatus, the method comprising: generating, based on a reference signals at different sub-channels, multi-band channel signals that are sequentially generated in a time domain (paragraphs 206-208, 292, 303, 305, 319, Teaches reference/pilot signals distributed over different frequency subchannels and time positions for obtaining channel information across a multiband allocation, with the resulting OFDM/OTFS signals organized into successive symbols along the time dimension); and sequentially transmitting the sub-channel coded OFDM signal in the time domain (paragraphs 162, 164, 167, 193, 206, Teaches converting successive OFDM symbols into time-domain samples with an IFFT/OFDM modulator to generate a time series, thereby sequentially transmitting the OFDM waveform in the time domain).
Sathyanarayan et al. does not explicitly teach wherein each sub-channel output of the different sub-channels is coherently accumulated for transmitting a sub-channel coded orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) signal; modulating, based on the multi-band channel signals, the sub-channel coded OFDM signal corresponding to each of the different sub-channels.
However, Rastegardoost et al. teaches wherein each sub-channel output of the different sub-channels is coherently accumulated for transmitting a sub-channel coded orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) signal (Paragraphs 109, 211, the transmitter forms an OFDM signal by processing parallel subcarrier symbol streams through an IFFT that preserves their amplitude and phase contributions and sums the orthogonal subcarriers into time-domain samples forming an OFDM symbol, with the uplink processing expressly including coding-related processing, modulation, precoding, resource-element mapping, and generation of a time-domain CP-OFDM signal); modulating, based on the multi-band channel signals, the sub-channel coded OFDM signal corresponding to each of the different sub-channels (Paragraphs 109, 211, 258, the transmitter modulates data into complex-valued symbols associated with respective orthogonal frequency resources and processes those symbols into a time-domain CP-OFDM signal while frequency-hopping operation assigns the resulting transmission to different frequency resources or sub-channels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein each sub-channel output of the different sub-channels is coherently accumulated for transmitting a sub-channel coded orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) signal, modulate based on the multi-band channel signals, the sub-channel coded OFDM signal corresponding to each of the different sub-channels as taught by Rastegardoost et al. in the system of Sathyanarayan et al., so that it would enable the transmitter to coherently combine the amplitude and phase contributions of multiple orthogonal frequency sub-channels into a unified time-domain OFDM waveform while supporting sub-channel-specific modulation and coding across different frequency resources, thereby improving spectral efficiency, preserving orthogonality between subcarriers, reducing inter-carrier interference, and facilitating reliable sequential transmission of multi-band OFDM signals.
Regarding claim 10, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches sequentially transmitting, in the time domain (Page 5, Paragraph 164, 167, OFDM symbols are converted to time-domain samples and transmitted sequentially), the sub-channel coded OFDM signal (Page 6, Paragraph 172, 175, DFT-spread OFDM is a form of sub-channel coded OFDM) based on a random frequency hopping operation (Page 8, Paragraph 214, Interleaved mapping across Doppler/frequency dimensions can be interpreted as frequency hopping).
Regarding claim 11, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches performing a digital beamforming operation that is applied to each of sub-band channel signals in the multi-band channel signals (Page 10, Paragraph 282, 285, Page 13, Paragraph 350, 352, 353, These paragraphs describe digital precoding operations at the hub (transmitter) side using digital filters that operate per user or per channel estimate across the bandwidth (i.e., “multi-band channel signals”). These filters are applied digitally and shape the energy spatially and temporally, which falls within the broadest reasonable interpretation of digital beamforming per sub-band in a multi-band signal); and performing an analog beamforming operation (Page 34, Paragraph 705, Page 35, Paragraph 722, A Luneburg lens is a passive analog structure that enables directional beam steering without digital processing. The presence of a Luneburg lens in the antenna structure qualifies as an analog beamforming mechanism. This satisfies the claim of an analog beamformer performing an analog beamforming operation).
Regarding claim 12, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches formatting the multi-band channel signals in a time-frequency domain (Page 5, Paragraph 167, This anticipates a component in the transmitter that maps signals from one domain (delay-Doppler) into the time-frequency domain. This operation effectively formats the OTFS signal into a time-frequency representation).
Regarding claim 13, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches receiving multi-band channel coded OFDM signals (Page 5, Paragraph 160, Page 6, Paragraph 179, OTFS operates over OFDM and spreads signals across frequency bands, thus the received signals are channel-coded, OFDM-based, and span multiple frequency bands) with multiple carriers of a set of carrier frequencies (Page 13, Paragraph 357, 374, These statements explicitly define a signal using multiple subcarriers (i.e., carriers), confirming that the receiver is configured to handle signals transmitted over a set of carrier frequencies).
Regarding claim 14, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches performing a bandpass sampling operation (Page 28, Paragraph 632, Filter banks act as sub-band filters and perform band-limited sampling); and compensating delay effect between multi-band channel coded OFDM signals (Page 27, Paragraph 610, Page 28, Paragraph 630, THP and OTFS handle delay spread) and performing an aliasing cancellation operation to reduce aliasing effect from a sub-band sampling (Page 27, Paragraph 621, Page 28, Paragraph 632, Filter banks with equalization suppress aliasing from sub-band sampling).
Regarding claim 15, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches compensating a transmission delay based on each of sub-band channel signals in the multi- band channel signals (Page 27, Paragraph 610, Page 28, Paragraph 630, THP and OTFS handle delay spread); and cancelling aliasing components between multi-band channel coded OFDM signals (Page 27, Paragraph 621, Page 28, Paragraph 632, Filter banks with equalization suppress aliasing from sub-band sampling).
Regarding claim 16, Sathyanarayan et al. teaches pre-computing the reference signals to compensate transmission delay effect and cancelling the aliasing effect from the sub-band sampling (Page, Paragraph 620, 621, Page 33, Paragraph 699, Receiver uses known resource elements (reference signals) and equalization to handle delay and aliasing due to sub-band sampling. OTFS enables pre-computation to mitigate these effects), wherein the reference signals are used for a radar baseband processing (Page 34, Paragraph 699, 702, 705, Page 35, Paragraph 715, OTFS and directional antennas with known signals enable reflection-based processing, satisfying radar baseband functionality).
Conclusion
/A.S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464