DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a Response to Applicant’s Arguments and Amendment submitted 07/02/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim(s) 2-8 and 17 in the previous Office Action under this section, 2nd paragraph (pre-AIA ) or subsection (b) (AIA ), for being indefinite is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s Amendment.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 23, the claim recites “wherein at least a first magnet” but depends on claim 1, which recites “optionally at least a first magnet”. It is unclear whether the magnet of claim 23 refers back to the optional magnet of claim 1, or to a different and separate magnet, therefore rendering the claim indefinite. For examination purposes, it will presume to refer back to the optional first magnet of claim 1, and it is suggested to amend claim 23 as follows to overcome the indefiniteness issue: “the valve device of claim 1, further comprising said optional at least a first magnet, wherein said at least a first magnet is incorporated within at least one of said leaflets, said at least a first magnet being housed in a central hollow in the leaflet.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-11, 16, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,108,425 to Hwang (hereinafter “Hwang”) (cited in an IDS dated 01/22/2024) in view of WO 91/08719, inventors Angelini et al. (hereinafter “Angelini”).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-14; and Col. 3, line 64 - Col. 8, line 16) a valve device (10, Fig. 1) comprising: two or more leaflets (14) each comprising: at least a first material which reduces electrostatic forces between blood and device components, reduces adhesion between blood and device components or a combination thereof (see Col. 10, lines 9-14); and a valve constraining ring (12), comprising: at least a first material which reduces electrostatic forces between blood and device components, reduces adhesion between blood and device components or a combination thereof (see Col. 10, lines 9-14); and internally located attachment regions (24) for said two or more leaflets (see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 3, lines 15-51); and one or more extending projections (80), which reduce turbulent flow through the device (see Col. 7, lines 23-58) which are located on the leaflets of the valve device (see Figs. 5 & 8-10).
Hwang further discloses (claim 9) wherein said two or more leaflets, said valve constraining ring, or a combination thereof is comprised of an at least semi-flexible material (see Col. 8, lines 44-50); (claim 10) wherein said two or more leaflets, said valve constraining ring, or a combination thereof is comprised of at least a first region that is flexible and a second region that is more rigid than said first region (see Col. 8, lines 44-55); (claim 16) wherein said two or more leaflets, said valve constraining ring, or a combination thereof further comprises a coating (see Col. 10, line 9-10); (claim 22) a method of performing cardiac valve repair or replacement surgery on a patient comprising the steps of applying the valve device of claim 1 to replace a defective or malfunctioning valve in a subject (see Col. 2, line 64 - Col. 3, line 14).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the two or more leaflets, the valve constraining ring, or a combination thereof comprises, inter alia, silicon nitride, although it is noted that Hwang discloses wherein said two or more leaflets, said valve constraining ring, or a combination thereof is comprised of pyrolytic carbon (PyC) (see Col. 10, lines 9-11). Angelini discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1A-B; and pages 1-5), in the same field of endeavor, a valve device (as shown in Figs. 1A-B) comprising two leaflets (2, 3) and a valve constraining ring (1), wherein the two leaflets and the valve constraining ring comprise pyrolytic carbon or silicon nitride, which are disclosed as suitable interchangeable materials for the valve because they are suitable non-thrombogenic materials (see page 3, last paragraph). Thus, Hwang discloses the known use of pyrolytic carbon as a suitable material for a valve, and Angelini discloses the known interchangeable use of pyrolytic carbon or silicon nitride as suitable materials for a valve. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in
the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of simple substitution of one known element for another (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)), to obtain the predictable result of a valve made of a suitable non-thrombogenic material, to make Hwang’s valve components out of silicon nitride instead of pyrolytic carbon, since Angelini discloses that these are known interchangeable materials suitable for use in a valve as they both function to provide non-thrombogenic properties. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hwang and Angelini as discussed above for the reasons set forth above would disclose the claimed invention but fails to specifically disclose wherein the first material is ceramic or comprises a ceramic layer, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the valve components out of ceramic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Further, ceramic is a known material in the art of mechanical heart valves these materials are known in the art of mechanical heart valves (see US 2003/0083741 A1 to Woo at [0013]/[0019]).
Claim(s) 1, 17-20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,638,303 to Campbell (hereinafter “Campbell”) (cited in an IDS dated 01/22/2024) in view of Angelini.
Regarding claim 1, Campbell discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-22; Col. 3, lines 26-35; and Col. 7, line 49 - Col. 13, line 40) a valve device (10), comprising: two or more leaflets (14/16) each comprising: at least a first material (pyrocarbon) which reduces electrostatic forces between blood and device components, reduces adhesion between blood and device components or a combination thereof (see Col. 7, lines 53-54 and Col. 3, lines 36-49); and optionally at least a first magnet (11a) incorporated within at least one of said leaflets (see Col. 8, lines 37-60 and Figs. 2-3); and a valve constraining ring (20), comprising: at least a first material ("ceramic") which reduces electrostatic forces between blood and device components, reduces adhesion between blood and device components or a combination thereof (see Col. 12, lines 21-24); and internally located attachment regions (26) for said two or more leaflets (see Col. 9, lines 3-17 and Figs. 1-3); and optionally at least a second magnet (11b) (see Col. 8, lines 46-53 and Figs. 4-6) of matched polarity to said first magnet, incorporated within the valve constraining ring at regions proximal to said first magnet within said leaflet such that repulsive forces are present when said first magnet and said second magnet are brought into proximity with each other in the absence of flow (see Col. 9, line 19 - Col. 10, line 42); and one or more extending projections (ear 28, see Col. 9, lines 4-6 and Figs. 1/3, the ears define the pivots), which reduce turbulent flow through the device (see Col. 3, lines 26-35), or proximally thereto, which are located on the leaflets of carbthe valve device (see Figs. 1/3).
Campbell further discloses (claim 17) wherein said first magnet, said second magnet or a combination thereof comprises pyrolytic carbon (PyC) (see Col. 13, lines 33-39); (claim 18) further comprising at least a third magnet incorporated within said leaflet structure, which third magnet is weaker in terms of its strength and opposite in terms of its polarity as compared to said first magnet (see Figs. 10-11 and Col. 10, lines 21-42); (claim 19) wherein said third magnet is incorporated within the same leaflet as said first magnet (see Figs. 10-11 and Col. 10, lines 21-42); (claim 20) wherein said third magnet is incorporated within a different leaflet as said first magnet (see Fig. 2); (claim 23) wherein at least a first magnet is incorporated within at least one of said leaflets, said magnet being housed in a central hollow in the leaflet (see Figs. 2-3 and Col. 8, lines 43-44).
Regarding claim 1, Campbell fails to explicitly disclose wherein the two or more leaflets, the valve constraining ring, or a combination thereof comprises, inter alia, silicon nitride, although it is noted that Campbell discloses wherein said two or more leaflets is comprised of pyrolytic carbon (PyC) (see Col. 7, line 54). Angelini discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1A-B; and pages 1-5), in the same field of endeavor, a valve device (as shown in Figs. 1A-B) comprising two leaflets (2, 3) and a valve constraining ring (1), wherein the two leaflets and the valve constraining ring comprise pyrolytic carbon or silicon nitride, which are disclosed as suitable interchangeable materials for the valve because they are suitable non-thrombogenic materials (see page 3, last paragraph). Thus, Campbell discloses the known use of pyrolytic carbon as a suitable material for a valve, and Angelini discloses the known interchangeable use of pyrolytic carbon or silicon nitride as suitable materials for a valve. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of simple substitution of one known element for another (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)), to obtain the predictable result of a valve made of a suitable non-thrombogenic material, to make Campbell’s valve components out of silicon nitride instead of pyrolytic carbon, since Angelini discloses that these are known interchangeable materials suitable for use in a valve as they both function to provide non-thrombogenic properties. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 2-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Angelini, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US 5,477,864 to Davidson (hereinafter “Davidson”) (previously of record).
Regarding claims 2-8, the combination of Hwang and Angelini does not specifically disclose wherein said valve is comprised of a composite of a first material and a second material; wherein said first material and said second material are located on the same surface exposed regions of said two or more leaflets, said valve constraining ring, or a combination thereof, whereby said first material is a more apically located layer and said second material is a more basally located layer; wherein said first material and said second material are located on the same surface exposed regions of said two or more leaflets, said valve constraining ring, or a combination thereof, whereby said first material is a more basally located layer and said second material is a more apically located layer; wherein said first material and said second material are located on different surface exposed regions of said two or more leaflets, said valve constraining ring, or a combination thereof; wherein said two or more leaflets comprise said first material on a first surface of the leaflet and said second material on an opposing surface of the leaflet; wherein said two or more leaflets comprise said first material on a first surface of said leaflet and a second of said two or more leaflets comprise said second material on a first surface of said leaflet and wherein a first of said two or more leaflets comprise said second material on a second surface of said leaflet and a second of said two or more leaflets comprise said first material on a second surface of said leaflet. Essentially, claims 2-8 have to do with the composition, orientation, and arrangement of the first material versus the second material on the valve device.
Davidson discloses (see abstract; Fig. 4; and Col. 5, line 57 - Col. 8, line 37), in the same field of endeavor, a heart valve comprising a first material (base material of valve) and a second material (zirconia coating, see Col. 6, lines 34-50), wherein the coating is applied to certain surfaces of the heart valve such as areas subjected to conditions of wear (for example, mating parts) for the purpose of providing a low-thrombus, blood-compatible surface favorable in reducing the incidence of blood clots (see Col. 4, lines 34-37). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hwang (as modified by Angelini) with the coating taught by Davidson applied at various parts of the valve subject to conditions for wear for the purpose of providing a low-thrombus, blood-compatible surface favorable in reducing the incidence of blood clots. In making the proposed combination, it would have further been obvious to one having ordinary skill, as a matter of being obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,82 USPQ2d 1385,1395- 97(2007)), to obtain the predictable result of a heart valve having the appropriate locations treated with the coating as necessary (the locations as specified in claims 3-8) to arrive at the optimal coating application to the various portions of the heart valve which should be coated to achieve the benefits discussed above.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Angelini, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2012/0323317 A1 to Karapetian et al. (hereinafter “Karapetian”) (previously of record).
The combination of Hwang and Angelini discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above, however, with respect to claim 21, the combination fails to specifically disclose at least one externally located ratcheting locking mechanism is constructed such that advancement of a suture-like structure therethrough is uni-directional and regulated. Karapetian discloses (see abstract; Figs. 23-26; and [0096]-[0102]), in the same field of endeavor, a prosthetic heart valve (82) comprising at least one externally located ratcheting locking mechanism (at 88, see Fig. 23 and [0097]) is constructed such that advancement of a suture-like structure (90) therethrough is uni-directional and regulated (see Figs. 23-26 and [0097]/[0101]) for the purpose of providing a lower ring to clamp a heart valve annulus between the valve and the lower ring to secure the device in place while resisting separation of the devices (see [0097]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hwang's device (as modified by Angelini above) with the ratcheting mechanism taught by Karapetian in order to provide a lower ring to clamp a heart valve annulus between the valve and the lower ring to secure the device in place while resisting separation of the devices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 and 16-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Angelini is cited for teaching that it is known to make valves out of silicon nitride.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771