Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,6-9,22-23,26-27,41-43,45,47 and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (US 20230319951 A1) hereinafter as Cai in view of Zhang (US 20230038791 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 1,22,41,42, Cai discloses a method for controlling a sidelink communication, performed by a transmission device (See Fig(s). 3 with terminal 302 as transmission device), comprising:
sending a sidelink control signaling, wherein the sidelink control signaling comprises first indication information for controlling a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) operation of a reception device (See Fig(s). 3, See ¶ 32, A first terminal device receives first sidelink control information SCI sent by a second terminal device, where the second terminal device is a device that performs sidelink communication with the first terminal device. It is interpreted that either sidelink devices can be as transmitter/receiver),
the first indication information indicates a time when the reception device enters an active state (See ¶ 125, 166-167, the indication information indicates a start, an end, or a start and an end of a first time period, and the first time period belongs to sidelink DRX active time of the second terminal device, or the second terminal device is in a sidelink DRX active state in the first time period. Alternatively, the indication information indicates a start, an end, or a start and an end of sidelink DRX active time or a sidelink DRX active state of the second terminal device.).
Cai further discloses wherein, the sidelink control signaling is physical-layer sidelink control information (SCI), (See ¶ 32, 34).
Cai fails to disclose the first indication information comprises indication information regarding one or more time/frequency locations of one or more reserved resources reserved by a transmission device,
wherein the first indication information is to indicate at least one of: the reception device to enter the active state at a time T before the one or more reserved resources; the reception device to enter the active state at a time T before a slot of the one or more reserved resources; a time when the reception device enters the active state at the one or more reserved resources; or a time when the reception device enters the active state at a slot of the one or more reserved resources.
Zhang discloses the first indication information comprises indication information regarding a time/frequency location of a reserved resource (See Fig(s). 4 step 401, See ¶ 7, 15-16,42,76, The transmit-side terminal device sends sidelink control information to a receive-side terminal device, where the sidelink control information includes the time domain resource and indication information).
Zhang further discloses wherein the first indication information indicates at least one of: the reception device to enter the active state at a time T before the reserved resource (See ¶ 7, The on duration of the finally selected first DRX mode can fully or partially cover the time domain location of the time domain resource, so that the reserved time domain resource can be effectively used.).
Resource allocation in DRX between sidelink devices ensures that a terminal device can perform monitoring to the greatest extent possible at a time domain location of any reserved resource.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Zhang within Cai, to ensure that a terminal device can perform monitoring to the greatest extent possible at a time domain location of any reserved resource within sidelink communications.
Further with regards to claim 22, Cai discloses a receiving device performing the mirrored functions from the transmitting device (See ¶ 32,46, whereby the receiver receives sidelink control signaling via SCI from the transmitter to perform the functions similar to claim 1, See Fig(s). 3 with first terminal 302 as receiver and 303a as transmitter, see also See ¶ 185, the sidelink DRX parameter may be configured by the first terminal device, that is, configured by a transmitting terminal device in sidelink communication, or may be configured by the second terminal device, that is, configured by a receiving terminal device in sidelink communication. ).
Further with regards to claims 41-43,49, See Fig(s). 900 with processor 901 and memory 902 for implementing the methods of claim 1 and 22.
Regarding claim(s) 6,26, Cai discloses further comprising at least one of: determining information of the T by: the time T being a fixed value (See ¶ 185 A value of the timer is an initial value of the timer when the timer is started or restarted. ; or a value of the time T being 0.
Regarding claim(s) 7,45, Cai discloses wherein a value of the timeT is determined based on at least one of: information for indicating a value of the time T comprised in the sidelink control signaling (See ¶ 185).
Regarding claim(s) 8,47, Zhang discloses wherein the physical-layer SCI comprises: an indication on whether the indication information regarding the time/frequency location of the reserved resource is used to indicate whether the reception device enters the active state (See Fig(s). 4 step 401, See ¶ 7, 15-16,42,76, The transmit-side terminal device sends sidelink control information to a receive-side terminal device, where the sidelink control information includes the time domain resource and indication information, see also See ¶ 69). Reasons for combining same as claim1 .
Regarding claim(s) 9,27, Cai discloses wherein the first indication information further comprises at least one of: information for indicating an offset of the time when the reception device enters the active state; information for indicating a length of time within which the reception device is in the active state; or information for indicating a DRX cycle of the reception device (See ¶ 173-174), wherein the information for indicating the DRX cycle of the reception device comprises one of: information for indicating an offset by which the DRX cycle of the reception device changes; or information for indicating a value of the DRX cycle of the reception (See ¶ 81, a DRX mode includes an on duration and an off duration. drxStartOffset may be used to specify a start subframe of the DRX mode, DRX Cycle may be used to specify a quantity of subframes occupied by the DRX mode, and onDurationTimer may be used to specify a quantity of consecutive PDCCH subframes that need to be listened to and that are counted from the start subframe of the DRX mode).
Regarding claim(s) 23, Cai discloses time when the reception device enters the active state at a slot of the reserved resource; and performing the DRX operation based on the first indication information comprises one of: entering the active state based on the time, indicated by the first indication information, when the reception device enters the active state at the one or more reserved resource resources; or entering the active state based on the time, indicated by the first indication information, when the reception device enters the active state at the slot one or more slots of the one or more reserved resource resources. (See ¶ 81, a DRX mode includes an on duration and an off duration. drxStartOffset may be used to specify a start subframe of the DRX mode, DRX Cycle may be used to specify a quantity of subframes occupied by the DRX mode, and onDurationTimer may be used to specify a quantity of consecutive PDCCH subframes that need to be listened to and that are counted from the start subframe of the DRX mode).
Claim(s) 44,48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (US 20230319951 A1) hereinafter as Cai in view of Zhang (US 20230038791 A1) further in view of Chen et al (US 20220141716 A1) hereinafter as Chen.
Regarding claim(s) 44,48, Chen discloses wherein the indication information indicates a resource reservation period by a periodic resource reservation field (See ¶ 26, 58, the first resource reservation information in the first SCI may be carried in a resource reservation field of the first SCI.).
Resource reservation information regarding time/frequency resources reserved by UE1, which may be utilized by UE2 and/or UE3 in selecting time/frequency resources in respective transmissions in order to avoid collision in transmission and/or overlap in resource reservation/usage.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Chen within Cai, so as to enhance overall network performance by reserving resources to avoid collision in transmission and/or overlap in resource reservation/usage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 5,2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of Claim(s) 1-X, Applicant contends inter alia “…Cai does not teach or suggest the first indication carried by the physical-layer SCI.…”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, first off, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Thus based on foregoing Examiner asserts Cai clearly and explicitly teaches first indication carried by the physical-layer SCI (See ¶ 32,34, A first terminal device receives first sidelink control information SCI sent by a second terminal device, where the second terminal device is a device that performs sidelink communication with the first terminal device.). Furthermore, Cai discloses the use of sidelink control information SCI throughout the reference.
Second ,in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument that Zhang fails to specifically teach one or more limitations of amended claim 1, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant is advised a prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention." MPEP §2141.02.VI, (Rev. 6, Sept. 2007) (citing W.L. Gore & Assoc. v. Garlock, Inc., 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984)).
To establish a case of patentability (against an Office Action), the Applicant must provide some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the conclusion that the cited reference(s) fails to teach/suggest the contended limitation(s). The Applicant must do more than merely "recite" each limitation and claim as being not taught within the referenced art(s).
While Examiner believes all of Applicant’s contentions have been appropriately addressed in this Office Action, however, the arguments made above are not intended to be exhaustive, and therefore nothing in this Action should be construed as an intent to concede with any issue with regard to any claim, except as specifically stated in this Office Action.
Thus, based on the foregoing reasoning’s’ Examiner asserts the cited references either alone or in combination teach/suggest limitations of claims 1,6-9,22-23,26-27,41-45 and 47-49and therefore the rejection to said claims is sustained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411