DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/08/2026 has been considered by the Examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15, 7, and 9-16 remain pending in the application. Applicant has newly added claim 16 and canceled claims 6 and 8. Applicant's amendments to the claims have overcome the objection, the 112(d) rejection, and each and every 102 and 103 rejection previously set forth in the non-final office action mailed on 04/29/2026, thus the Examiner has withdrawn these rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 7/27/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-4, 6-7, 10 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Moser et al. “Structure and reactivity of ceria–zirconia catalysts for bromine and chlorine production via the oxidation of hydrogen halides,” Journal of Catalysis, Volume 331, 2015, Pages 128-137. Applicant asserts that Knapp alone does not teach the catalyst mixed oxide composition of amended claim 1, and this argument is found persuasive. Applicant asserts that Hibi does not remedy the deficiencies of the catalyst mixed oxide composition of Knapp, and this argument is found persuasive.
Applicant's arguments, see page 10, filed 7/27/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant asserts that Haas teaches away from the claimed invention since Haas teaches that CO deactivates Deacon catalysts (0010-0012). Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 7/27/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The amendments made to the composition of the mixed metal oxide and the resulting unexpected effects are not taught or suggested by the combination of Knapp, Hibi, or Haas. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Moser et al. “Structure and reactivity of ceria–zirconia catalysts for bromine and chlorine production via the oxidation of hydrogen halides,” Journal of Catalysis, Volume 331, 2015, Pages 128-137.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 16 recites “wherein a space time yield (STY) of the chlorine is 1.35 or more;” this limitation is indefinite because it does not define the units of the range being claimed. Additionally it is unclear what is meant by a space time yield of the chlorine. The specification does not provide a meaningful or distinct definition, since the best support for this limitation is found in Mathematical Formula 1 (page 7) which defines a “hydrogen gas production amount (gcl2)” which is unclear as to whether hydrogen gas or chlorine gas is measured, and further does not clarify whether such a space time yield is a STY of chlorine or an STY of the catalyst (see “the molded catalyst may have a space time yield (STY)… of 1.45 or more,” page 7). Therefore claim 16 is indefinite in scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knapp (JP 2007021484 A) in view of Hibi (JP 2002292279 A), as cited in the previous Office action, and in further view of non-patent literature Moser et al. “Structure and reactivity of ceria–zirconia catalysts for bromine and chlorine production via the oxidation of hydrogen halides,” Journal of Catalysis, Volume 331, 2015, Pages 128-137, referred to herein as Moser.
Regarding claim 1, Knapp teaches a method for producing chlorine by oxidizing hydrogen chloride with oxygen using a catalyst (0001) comprising:
Charging a molded catalyst (molded body, 0028, obtaining a catalyst, 0029) for an oxidation reaction process of hydrogen chloride in a reactor (catalyst was packed into a quartz reaction tube, 0031, Ex. 1); and
Adding hydrogen chloride and mixed gas to the reactor (0031) and reacting them (oxidation reaction, 0031),
Wherein the mixed gas comprises oxygen and carbon oxide (oxygen, carbon monoxide, nitrogen, 0031),
Wherein the molded catalyst comprises a carrier and ruthenium oxide supported on the carrier (0028).
Knapp does not teach that the molded catalyst comprises metal oxide supported on the carrier, wherein the metal oxide comprises ceria and zirconia, and the weight ratio of the ceria and zirconia is 1:0.5 to 1.
However, Hibi teaches an analogous method for producing chlorine with a supported ruthenium oxide catalyst (0001) wherein the catalyst prepared comprises RuO2 and ZrO2 (0102). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the invention taught by Knapp by using the catalyst structure taught by Hibi; one would be motivated to do so because Hibi teaches that the catalyst produced undergoes less sintering of ruthenium oxide, and the resulting method using the catalyst uses a smaller amount of catalyst (0008).
Knapp and Hibi do not teach that the catalyst further comprises ceria (CeO2) and the weight ratio of the ceria and zirconia is 1:0.5 to 1. However, Moser teaches an analogous study of mixed oxide catalysts for the catalysis of HCl oxidation comprising ceria and zirconia (abstract) wherein the molar ratio of ceria and zirconia is taught in a range of 0 to 100 (“0-100 mol.%,” p. 2 ‘2.1 Catalyst preparation’) which necessarily teaches a mass ratio of ceria to zirconia also ranging from 0% to 100%, thus including the claimed range of 1:0.5 (66.7%) to 1:1 (50%). It would be obvious to combine the teachings of Knapp, Hibi, and Moser to replace the ZrO2 oxide taught by Hibi with the mixed oxide of ceria and zirconia as taught by Moser; one would be motivated to do so in order to use ceria to oxidize HCl to Cl2, since ceria has unique structural and electronic properties that allow the easy formation of active sites, as taught by Moser (p. 1 col. 1). Furthermore Moser teaches that ceria is a known alternative to ruthenium in processes of oxidation of HCl (p. 2 col. 1 pp. 2); Moser therefore teaches the equivalency of ceria and ruthenium oxide as known equivalent catalysts. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions known for the same purpose each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06.I. Therefore it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine ceria with the zirconia taught by Hibi to form a mixed oxide comprising ceria and zirconia as suggested by Moser, and one would expect predictable performance in the present of ruthenium oxide, as taught by Moser. One skilled in the art would further find it obvious to routinely optimize the range of ceria and zirconia composition, as taught by Moser (p. 135, col. 2, ‘3.5 Impact of the Ce:Zr ratio on the halogen uptake”) motivated to optimize the halogen uptake and resulting deactivation of the catalyst, since Moser teaches that the proportions of Ce and Zr affect the rate of halogen uptake (p. 135 col. 2). Therefore one skilled in the art would arrive at the claimed range of mass ratios, and arrive at the claimed invention, prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 2, Knapp, Hibi, and Moser teach the invention as applied to claim 1. Knapp further teaches the supplying of carbon monoxide gas at a rate of 4.5 ml/min, hydrogen chloride gas at 150 ml/min (0.40 mol/h), oxygen gas at 75 ml/min, and nitrogen gas at 40.5 ml/min under atmospheric pressure (0031). Knapp teaches that the gas supply rate (ml/min) is the converted value at 0°C (0027); thus these values can be converted into masses of 0.006 g/min of CO, 0.105 g/min of O2, 0.051 g/min of N2, and 0.4 mol/h* 36 g mol-1 HCL = 14.4 g/h = 0.24 g/min of HCl. Thus Knapp teaches that the content of the mixed gas provided is about 0.16 parts to 0.24 parts of HCl, or about 67 parts by weight of mixed gas for 100 parts by weight of HCl. This anticipates the claimed range of 50 to 150 parts by weight of mixed gas based on 100 parts by weight of HCl.
Regarding claim 3, Knapp, Hibi, and Moser teach the invention as applied to claim 1. Knapp further teaches the content of 0.006 g/min of CO as derived above, which is 0.006/(0.006 + 0.105 + 0.051) = 0.006/0.162 = 0.037 or 3.7 parts by weight to 100 parts by weight of the total mixed gas. This anticipates the claimed range of 0.1 to 10 parts by weight of the carbon oxide content.
Regarding claim 4, Knapp, Hibi, and Moser teach the invention as applied to claim 1. Knapp further teaches carbon monoxide (0031).
Regarding claim 7, Knapp, Hibi, and Moser teach the invention as applied to claim 1. Knapp further teaches that the carrier comprises alumina and titania (0028) and teaches that zirconia is another embodiment (zirconium dioxide, 0010).
Regarding claim 9, Knapp, Hibi, and Moser teach the invention as applied to claim 1. Hibi further teaches that the RuO2 content is 3.8 parts by mass to 100 parts by weight of the total carrier, and the ZrO2 content is 0.93 parts by mass to 100 parts of the total carrier (0102). These values fall within the claimed ranges of 1-10 parts by weight of ruthenium oxide and 0.5-10 parts by weight of the metal oxide. Furthermore, Hibi teaches a content of the oxide in a range overlapping with the claimed range (0.1/99.9 to 20.0/80.0, 0034), where, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art," a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. 1990), and Hibi further teaches that the weight ratio of the supported metal oxide is a parameter that affects the activity of the catalyst and the suppression of catalyst sintering (0034); therefore Hibi teaches that the content of the metal oxide relative to 100 parts by weight of the carrier is a result effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art, upon combining the teachings of Moser with the teachings of Knapp and Hibi, would reasonably be motivated to optimize the content of the mixed oxide to control the effect of the mixed oxide on the catalyst activity and catalyst sintering, as taught by Hibi, and therefore arrive at the claimed invention, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Therefore one skilled in the art would arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 10, Knapp, Hibi, and Moser teach the invention as applied to claim 1. Knapp further teaches that the molded catalyst is in the shape of spherical, cylindrical, ring-shaped, and amorphous granular forms (0017); this anticipates the limitation of a shape selected from pellets and powders and particles, as equivalent terms in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Knapp, Hibi, and Moser teach the invention as applied to claim 1. Knapp also teaches that the catalyst diameter is preferably 10 mm or less (0017). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art," a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to perform a method for producing chlorine as suggested by Knapp, Hibi, and Moser where the diameter of the catalyst shape is in any workable or optimum range overlapping with 10 mm or less as taught by Knapp including the claimed range of 1-10 mm in order to obtain a size of the catalyst suitable for the reaction.
Regarding claim 12, Knapp, Hibi, and Moser teach the invention as applied to claim 1. Knapp further teaches 290 °C (0031); this anticipates the claimed range of 280-380 °C.
Regarding claim 16, Knapp, Hibi, and Moser teach the invention as applied to claim 1. Moser further teaches a space time yield (STY) of the catalyst comprised of 75 mol.% Ce (CZ75) for the production of bromine as ranging from about 2.5 to about 10 (Fig. 5). Knapp, Hibi, and Moser do not explicitly teach a STY of chlorine production. However, as set forth in MPEP 2112.01(I), where claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In the instant case, the chlorine produced by the process of the prior art is produced in a process substantially identical to the claimed process, as discussed for claim 1, and therefore the space time yield as claimed is rendered obvious by the process and chlorine taught by Knapp, Hibi, and Moser. The specification identifies the presence of carbon oxide gas, carbon monoxide and carbon dioxide, as the parameter that controls the space time yield (Examples 1-3 and Comparative Example 1, Table 1, page 27). Therefore the evidence of record demonstrates that the carbon oxide gas as taught and suggested by Knapp, Hibi, and Moser must necessarily result in a space time yield that falls within the claimed range of 1.35 or more, since the process of the prior art as well as the composition of the catalyst and gases used in the process of the prior art are substantially identical to the claimed process and compositions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Haas teaches a CO content of 1% or less, which suggests a CO2 content of 99% or more, therefore suggesting a ratio of CO to CO2 to be 1:99, which is outside the claimed scope.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eileen Moudou/ Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/MICHAEL FORREST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738