DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20210194101 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a battery module (title) comprising:
a plurality of bundled positive electrode leads provided in a plurality of first battery cells ([0060] discloses a plurality of positive electrode leads of secondary battery cells 32 which are welded to a first bus bar 50, and therefore can be considered bundled), and
a plurality of bundled negative electrode leads provided in a plurality of second battery cells ([0060] discloses a plurality of negative electrode leads of secondary battery cells 32 which are welded to a fifth bus bar 50, and therefore can be considered bundled. [0060] further discloses that the positive electrode leads of one group and the negative electrode leads of another group are respectively welded to facilitate series and parallel connections, and therefore the limitation that the positive electrode leads are provided in a plurality of first battery cells and the negative electrode leads are provided in a plurality of second battery cells can be considered satisfied), wherein
at least part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and at least part of the plurality of negative electrode leads are bonded to each other (see fig. 7, [0059], which discloses that the electrode leads are integrally attached to the bus bars by welding. Since Kim indicates that the entire plurality of leads are integrally attached to the bus bars, it is understood that the plurality of leads are also welded to each other, satisfying the limitation that at least part of the plurality of positive electrode leads are bonded to each other and also that at least part of the negative electrode leads are bonded to each other, thus satisfying the claimed limitation), and
the plurality of positive electrode leads and the plurality of negative electrode leads are folded back from one of the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells to the other of the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells through the at least part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the at least part of the plurality of negative electrode leads (the claimed configuration can be seen in fig. 7, see also [0052], which discloses that with an individual cell, one lead may be bent and welded to the surface of the corresponding busbar, resulting in an arrangement wherein the tabs are folded back from one of the plurality of first and second battery cells in the direction of the other of the plurality of first and second battery cells through the at least a part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the at least a part of the plurality of negative electrode leads).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 1, further comprising:
a housing body housing the plurality of first and second battery cells (abstract discloses a module case with a hollow structure containing the plurality of cells);
a holding body attached to the housing body (abstract discloses a bus bar frame which can be considered the claimed holding body, the bus bar frame is inserted into the module case integrally with the cell stack, and therefore meets the limitation of being attached to the housing body), and
a voltage detection portion connected to at least one of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the plurality of negative electrode leads (abstract discloses a sensing member for sensing the voltage of the secondary cells [0020] discloses that the sensing member includes volage sensors connected to the bus bars, see also [0077], which discloses voltage sensing units 71 and 72 connected to the bus bars 50, and therefore can be considered electrically connected to positive and negative electrode leads, thus reading on the claimed limitation), wherein the voltage detection portion is held by the holding body (abstract discloses that the sensing member is installed on the bus bar frame).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 3, wherein
The voltage detection portion is located on a side of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the plurality of negative electrode leads opposite to a side of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the plurality of negative electrode leads where the plurality of first and second battery cells are located ([0078] discloses that the voltage sensing units comprising sensing pins P which are attached to the bus bars. As can be seen in fig. 10, the sensing pins P are attached to the bus bars 50 at a point which is located in a side of the plurality of positive and negative leads opposite to a side of the positive and negative leads where the plurality of first and second battery cells are located, thus satisfying the claimed limitation).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 3, further comprising
a voltage detection line connected to the voltage detection portion ([0020] discloses a transmission member which can connect the voltage sensor to the printed circuit board and can take the form of a plurality of wires, a flexible cable, or a flexible printed circuit board, thus reading as a “voltage detection line”. The transmission member is visible in fig. 12 as part 73), wherein the voltage detection line is held by the holding body ([0011] discloses that the bus bar frame/holding body includes a horizontal frame, and [0082] discloses that the transmission member 73 may be attached to the horizontal frame, see fig. 13 where the horizontal frame is depicted as part 41).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses a method of manufacturing a battery module (title discloses a battery module) comprising:
bonding at least part of a plurality of bundled positive electrode leads provided in a plurality of first battery cells and at least a part of a plurality of bundled negative electrode leads provided in a plurality of second battery cells to each other ([0060] discloses a plurality of positive electrode leads of secondary battery cells 32 which are welded to a first bus bar 50, and therefore can be considered bundled, and a plurality of negative electrode leads of secondary battery cells 32 which are welded to a fifth bus bar 50, and therefore can be considered bundled. [0060] further discloses that the positive electrode leads of one group and the negative electrode leads of another group are respectively welded to facilitate series and parallel connections of battery cell groups, and therefore the limitation that the positive electrode leads are provided in a plurality of first battery cells and the negative electrode leads are provided in a plurality of second battery cells can be considered satisfied. Additionally, as can be seen in Fig. 7 and as disclosed by [0059], the electrode leads are integrally attached to the bus bars by welding. Since Kim indicates that the entire plurality of leads are integrally attached to the bus bars, it is understood that the plurality of leads are also welded to each other, satisfying the limitation that at least part of the plurality of positive electrode leads are bonded to each other and also that at least part of the negative electrode leads are bonded to each other, thus satisfying the claimed limitation); and
folding back the plurality of positive electrode leads and the plurality of negative electrode leads from one of the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells to the other of the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells through at least a part of the plurality of positive and negative electrode leads (the claimed configuration can be seen in fig. 7, see also [0052], which discloses that with an individual cell, one lead may be bent and welded to the surface of the corresponding busbar, resulting in an arrangement wherein the tabs are folded back from one of the plurality of first and second battery cells in the direction of the other of the plurality of first and second battery cells through the at least a part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the at least a part of the plurality of negative electrode leads).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210194101 A1) in view of Lee (US 20130330595 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the battery module of claim 1, but does not disclose a laser-welding process. Rather, Kim merely discloses that the electrode leads may be welded [0051], and mentions the use of ultrasonic welding [0052]. However, laser-welding is a known alternative in the art to ultrasonic welding, and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use for the tabs of Kim.
For example, Lee concerns a bus-bar for electrically connecting electrode leads of battery cells (abstract), and Lee discloses that the electrode leads of the unit cells as well as the bus bar can be electrically connected together via laser welding, and further discloses that using laser welding over ultrasonic welding can solve problems associated with weld quality and damage to the inside of the battery cells [0018]. As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use laser welding instead of ultrasonic welding to weld the leads and bus bars of Kim, resulting in a battery module meeting the limitations of the instant claim. A POSITA would have been motivated to do this in order to solve problems associated with weld quality and damage to the battery cells, as disclosed by Lee.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the method of manufacturing a battery module according to claim 6, but does not disclose a laser-welding process. Rather, Kim merely discloses that the electrode leads may be welded [0051], and mentions the use of ultrasonic welding [0052]. However, laser-welding is a known alternative in the art to ultrasonic welding, and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use for the tabs of Kim.
For example, Lee concerns a bus-bar for electrically connecting electrode leads of battery cells (abstract), and Lee discloses that the electrode leads of the unit cells as well as the bus bar can be electrically connected together via laser welding, and further discloses that using laser welding over ultrasonic welding can solve problems associated with weld quality and damage to the inside of the battery cells [0018]. As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use laser welding instead of ultrasonic welding to weld the leads and bus bars of Kim, resulting in a process meeting the limitations of the instant claim. A POSITA would have been motivated to do this in order to solve problems associated with weld quality and damage to the battery cells, as disclosed by Lee.
Conclusion
/ZACKARY RICHARD COCHENOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752