DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim ( US 20210194101 A1 ) . Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a battery module (title) comprising: a plurality of bundled positive electrode leads provided in a plurality of first battery cells ([0060] discloses a plurality of positive electrode leads of secondary battery cells 32 which are welded to a first bus bar 50, and therefore can be considered bundled), and a plurality of bundled negative electrode leads provided in a plurality of second battery cells ([0060] discloses a plurality of negative electrode leads of secondary battery cells 32 which are welded to a fifth bus bar 50, and therefore can be considered bundled. [0060] further discloses that the positive electrode leads of one group and the negative electrode leads of another group are respectively welded to facilitate series and parallel connections, and therefore the limitation that the positive electrode leads are provided in a plurality of first battery cells and the negative electrode leads are provided in a plurality of second battery cells can be considered satisfied), wherein at least part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and at least part of the plurality of negative electrode leads are bonded to each other (see fig. 7 , [ 0059], which discloses that the electrode leads are integrally attached to the bus bars by welding. Since Kim indicates that the entire plurality of leads are integrally attached to the bus bars, it is understood that the plurality of leads are also welded to each other, satisfying the limitation that at least part of the plurality of positive electrode leads are bonded to each other and also that at least part of the negative electrode leads are bonded to each other, thus satisfying the claimed limitation) , and the plurality of positive electrode leads and the plurality of negative electrode leads are folded back from one of the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells to the other of the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells through the at least part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the at least part of the plurality of negative electrode leads (the claimed configuration can be seen in fig. 7, see also [0052], which discloses that with an individual cell, one lead may be bent and welded to the surface of the corresponding busbar, resulting in an arrangement wherein the tabs are folded back from one o f the plurality of first and second battery cells in the direction of the other of the plurality of first and second battery cells through the at least a part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the at least a part of the plurality of negative electrode leads ). Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 1, further comprising: a housing body housing the plurality of first and second battery cells (abstract discloses a module case with a hollow structure containing the plurality of cells); a holding body attached to the housing body (abstract discloses a bus bar frame which can be considered the claimed holding body, the bus bar frame is inserted into the module case integrally with the cell stack, and therefore meets the limitation of being attached to the housing body), and a voltage detection portion connected to at least one of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the plurality of negative electrode leads (abstract discloses a sensing member for sensing the voltage of the secondary cells [0020] discloses that the sensing member includes volage sensors connected to the bus bars, see also [0077], which discloses voltage sensing units 71 and 72 connected to the bus bars 50, and therefore can be considered electrically connected to positive and negative electrode leads, thus reading on the claimed limitation), wherein the voltage detection portion is held by the holding body (abstract discloses that the sensing member is installed on the bus bar frame). Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 3, wherein The voltage detection portion is located on a side of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the plurality of negative electrode leads opposite to a side of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the plurality of negative electrode leads where the plurality of first and second battery cells are located ([0078] discloses that the voltage sensing units comprising sensing pins P which are attached to the bus bars. As can be seen in fig. 10, the sensing pins P are attached to the bus bars 50 at a point which is located in a side of the plurality of positive and negative leads opposite to a side of the positive and negative leads where the plurality of first and second battery cells are located, thus satisfying the claimed limitation ). Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 3, further comprising a voltage detection line connected to the voltage detection portion ([0020] discloses a transmission member which can connect the voltage sensor to the printed circuit board and can take the form of a plurality of wires, a flexible cable, or a flexible printed circuit board, thus reading as a “voltage detection line”. The transmission member is visible in fig. 12 as part 73), wherein the voltage detection line is held by the holding body ([0011] discloses that the bus bar frame/holding body includes a horizontal frame, and [0082] discloses that the transmission member 73 may be attached to the horizontal frame , see fig. 13 where the horizontal frame is depicted as part 41 ). Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses a method of manufacturing a battery module (title discloses a battery module) comprising: bonding at least part of a plurality of bundled positive electrode leads provided in a plurality of first battery cells and at least a part of a plurality of bundled negative electrode leads provided in a plurality of second battery cells to each other ( [0060] discloses a plurality of positive electrode leads of secondary battery cells 32 which are welded to a first bus bar 50, and therefore can be considered bundled, and a plurality of negative electrode leads of secondary battery cells 32 which are welded to a fifth bus bar 50, and therefore can be considered bundled. [0060] further discloses that the positive electrode leads of one group and the negative electrode leads of another group are respectively welded to facilitate series and parallel connections of battery cell groups, and therefore the limitation that the positive electrode leads are provided in a plurality of first battery cells and the negative electrode leads are provided in a plurality of second battery cells can be considered satisfied. Additionally, as can be seen in Fig. 7 and as disclosed by [0059], the electrode leads are integrally attached to the bus bars by welding. Since Kim indicates that the entire plurality of leads are integrally attached to the bus bars, it is understood that the plurality of leads are also welded to each other, satisfying the limitation that at least part of the plurality of positive electrode leads are bonded to each other and also that at least part of the negative electrode leads are bonded to each other, thus satisfying the claimed limitation ) ; and folding back the plurality of positive electrode leads and the plurality of negative electrode leads from one of the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells to the other of the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells through at least a part of the plurality of positive and negative electrode leads (the claimed configuration can be seen in fig. 7, see also [0052], which discloses that with an individual cell, one lead may be bent and welded to the surface of the corresponding busbar, resulting in an arrangement wherein the tabs are folded back from one of the plurality of first and second battery cells in the direction of the other of the plurality of first and second battery cells through the at least a part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the at least a part of the plurality of negative electrode leads). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claim (s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ( US 20210194101 A1 ) in view of Lee ( US 20130330595 A1 ). Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the battery module of claim 1, but does not disclose a laser-welding process. Rather, Kim merely discloses that the electrode leads may be welded [0051], and mentions the use of ultrasonic welding [0052]. However, laser-welding is a known alternative in the art to ultrasonic welding, and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use for the tabs of Kim. For example, Lee concerns a bus-bar for electrically connecting electrode leads of battery cells (abstract), and Lee discloses that the electrode leads of the unit cells as well as the bus bar can be electrically connected together via laser welding, and further discloses that using laser welding over ultrasonic welding can solve problems associated with weld quality and damage to the inside of the battery cells [0018]. As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use laser welding instead of ultrasonic welding to weld the leads and bus bars of Kim , resulting in a battery module meeting the limitations of the instant claim . A POSITA would have been motivated to do this in order to solve problems associated with weld quality and damage to the battery cells, as disclosed by Lee. Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the method of manufacturing a battery module according to claim 6, but does not disclose a laser-welding process. Rather, Kim merely discloses that the electrode leads may be welded [0051], and mentions the use of ultrasonic welding [0052]. However, laser-welding is a known alternative in the art to ultrasonic welding, and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use for the tabs of Kim. For example, Lee concerns a bus-bar for electrically connecting electrode leads of battery cells (abstract), and Lee discloses that the electrode leads of the unit cells as well as the bus bar can be electrically connected together via laser welding, and further discloses that using laser welding over ultrasonic welding can solve problems associated with weld quality and damage to the inside of the battery cells [0018]. As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use laser welding instead of ultrasonic welding to weld the leads and bus bars of Kim, resulting in a process meeting the limitations of the instant claim. A POSITA would have been motivated to do this in order to solve problems associated with weld quality and damage to the battery cells, as disclosed by Lee. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ZACKARY R COCHENOUR whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (703)756-1480 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 1-9:00PM ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Nicholas Smith can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-8760 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ZACKARY RICHARD COCHENOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 1752 /NICHOLAS A SMITH/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752