DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This office action is in response to amendments/arguments filed 06/29/2026. Claim(s) 1 and 6 are currently amended, and claim(s) 8-17 are new. The amendments are supported by the specification and the original claims, and no new matter has been entered. Claim(s) 2-5 and 7 stand as originally or as previously presented. claim(s) 1-17 are examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210194101 A1) in view of Welke (DE 102013016617 A1, a machine translation from Espacenet is used as an English equivalent).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a battery module (title) comprising:
a plurality of bundled positive electrode leads provided in a plurality of first battery cells ([0060] discloses a plurality of positive electrode leads of secondary battery cells 32 which are welded to a first bus bar 50, and therefore can be considered bundled), and
a plurality of bundled negative electrode leads provided in a plurality of second battery cells ([0060] discloses a plurality of negative electrode leads of secondary battery cells 32 which are welded to a fifth bus bar 50, and therefore can be considered bundled. [0060] further discloses that the positive electrode leads of one group and the negative electrode leads of another group are respectively welded to facilitate series and parallel connections, and therefore the limitation that the positive electrode leads are provided in a plurality of first battery cells and the negative electrode leads are provided in a plurality of second battery cells can be considered satisfied), wherein
at least part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and at least part of the plurality of negative electrode leads are bonded to each other (see fig. 7, [0059], which discloses that the electrode leads are integrally attached to the bus bars by welding. Since Kim indicates that the entire plurality of leads are integrally attached to the bus bars, it is understood that the plurality of leads are also welded to each other, satisfying the limitation that at least part of the plurality of positive electrode leads are bonded to each other and also that at least part of the negative electrode leads are bonded to each other, thus satisfying the claimed limitation), and
the plurality of positive electrode leads and the plurality of negative electrode leads are folded back from one of the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells to the other of the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells through the at least part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the at least part of the plurality of negative electrode leads (the claimed configuration can be seen in fig. 7, see also [0052], which discloses that with an individual cell, one lead may be bent and welded to the surface of the corresponding busbar, resulting in an arrangement wherein the tabs are folded back from one of the plurality of first and second battery cells in the direction of the other of the plurality of first and second battery cells through the at least a part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the at least a part of the plurality of negative electrode leads).
Kim does disclose an electric connection between at least a part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and at least a part of the plurality of negative electrode leads via a bus bar (see above), but does not disclose a direct connection between the positive and negative electrode leads. However, whether an electrical connection is provided via a direct connection or through an intermediary like a bus bar is merely a matter of routine selection between two known connection methods to one of ordinary skill in the art.
For example, Welke discloses a similar battery module to Kim comprising a plurality of cells [0001], a plurality of bundled negative electrode leads provided in a plurality of first battery cells and a plurality of bundled positive electrode leads provided in a plurality of second electrode cells ([0034] discloses each cell has two poles 3, one negative and one positive, corresponding to the claimed electrode leads. As can be seen in fig. 7, the electrode poles/leads are bonded to each other (reading on being bundled). Welke further discloses, as a mechanism for electrically connecting a first group of cells to a second group of cells, positive leads of one group being connected together and negative leads of another group being connected together, wherein a positive lead of a first group is connected to the negative lead of another group to facilitate electrical contact ([0034], see also fig. 7).
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose directly bonding at least a part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and at least a part of the plurality of negative electrode leads together in the battery module of Kim, as this would be been nothing more than the routine selection of one known method of electrically connecting cells together for another with predictable results, and doing so would result in a battery module according to the instant claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 1, further comprising:
a housing body housing the plurality of first and second battery cells (abstract of Kim discloses a module case with a hollow structure containing the plurality of cells);
a holding body attached to the housing body (abstract discloses a bus bar frame which can be considered the claimed holding body, the bus bar frame is inserted into the module case integrally with the cell stack, and therefore meets the limitation of being attached to the housing body), and
a voltage detection portion connected to at least one of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the plurality of negative electrode leads (abstract discloses a sensing member for sensing the voltage of the secondary cells [0020] discloses that the sensing member includes volage sensors connected to the bus bars, see also [0077], which discloses voltage sensing units 71 and 72 connected to the bus bars 50, and therefore can be considered electrically connected to positive and negative electrode leads, thus reading on the claimed limitation), wherein the voltage detection portion is held by the holding body (abstract discloses that the sensing member is installed on the bus bar frame).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 3, wherein
The voltage detection portion is located on a side of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the plurality of negative electrode leads opposite to a side of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the plurality of negative electrode leads where the plurality of first and second battery cells are located ([0078] of Kim discloses that the voltage sensing units comprising sensing pins P which are attached to the bus bars. As can be seen in fig. 10, the sensing pins P are attached to the bus bars 50 at a point which is located in a side of the plurality of positive and negative leads opposite to a side of the positive and negative leads where the plurality of first and second battery cells are located, thus satisfying the claimed limitation).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 3, further comprising
a voltage detection line connected to the voltage detection portion ([0020] of Kim discloses a transmission member which can connect the voltage sensor to the printed circuit board and can take the form of a plurality of wires, a flexible cable, or a flexible printed circuit board, thus reading as a “voltage detection line”. The transmission member is visible in fig. 12 as part 73), wherein the voltage detection line is held by the holding body ([0011] discloses that the bus bar frame/holding body includes a horizontal frame, and [0082] discloses that the transmission member 73 may be attached to the horizontal frame, see fig. 13 where the horizontal frame is depicted as part 41).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kim discloses a method of manufacturing a battery module (title of Kim discloses a battery module) comprising:
bonding at least part of a plurality of bundled positive electrode leads provided in a plurality of first battery cells and at least a part of a plurality of bundled negative electrode leads provided in a plurality of second battery cells to each other ([0060] discloses a plurality of positive electrode leads of secondary battery cells 32 which are welded to a first bus bar 50, and therefore can be considered bundled, and a plurality of negative electrode leads of secondary battery cells 32 which are welded to a fifth bus bar 50, and therefore can be considered bundled. [0060] further discloses that the positive electrode leads of one group and the negative electrode leads of another group are respectively welded to facilitate series and parallel connections of battery cell groups, and therefore the limitation that the positive electrode leads are provided in a plurality of first battery cells and the negative electrode leads are provided in a plurality of second battery cells can be considered satisfied. Additionally, as can be seen in Fig. 7 and as disclosed by [0059], the electrode leads are integrally attached to the bus bars by welding. Since Kim indicates that the entire plurality of leads are integrally attached to the bus bars, it is understood that the plurality of leads are also welded to each other, satisfying the limitation that at least part of the plurality of positive electrode leads are bonded to each other and also that at least part of the negative electrode leads are bonded to each other, thus satisfying the claimed limitation); and
folding back the plurality of positive electrode leads and the plurality of negative electrode leads from one of the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells to the other of the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells through at least a part of the plurality of positive and negative electrode leads (the claimed configuration can be seen in fig. 7, see also [0052], which discloses that with an individual cell, one lead may be bent and welded to the surface of the corresponding busbar, resulting in an arrangement wherein the tabs are folded back from one of the plurality of first and second battery cells in the direction of the other of the plurality of first and second battery cells through the at least a part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the at least a part of the plurality of negative electrode leads).
Kim does disclose an electric connection between at least a part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and at least a part of the plurality of negative electrode leads via a bus bar (see above), but does not disclose a direct connection/bonding between the positive and negative electrode leads. However, whether an electrical connection is provided via a direct connection or through an intermediary like a bus bar is merely a matter of routine selection between two known connection methods to one of ordinary skill in the art.
For example, Welke discloses a similar battery module to Kim comprising a plurality of cells [0001], a plurality of bundled negative electrode leads provided in a plurality of first battery cells and a plurality of bundled positive electrode leads provided in a plurality of second electrode cells ([0034] discloses each cell has two poles 3, one negative and one positive, corresponding to the claimed electrode leads. As can be seen in fig. 7, the electrode poles/leads are bonded to each other (reading on being bundled). Welke further discloses, as a mechanism for electrically connecting a first group of cells to a second group of cells, positive leads of one group being connected together and negative leads of another group being connected together, wherein a positive lead of a first group is connected to the negative lead of another group to facilitate electrical contact ([0034], see also fig. 7).
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose directly bonding at least a part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and at least a part of the plurality of negative electrode leads together in the battery module of Kim, as this would be been nothing more than the routine selection of one known method of electrically connecting cells together for another with predictable results, and doing so would result in a battery module according to the instant claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 1, wherein
a plurality of battery cells, including the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells, is stacked in a first direction (see figs. 7-8 of Kim, where it can be seen that the pluralities of first and second cells 32 are stacked in a first direction),
the plurality of battery cells includes different battery cells electrically connected on a first side of the plurality of battery cells in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (see e.g. fig. 7 of Kim, which shows multiple groups of cells stacked in a first direction (for example, a first and second plurality of cells, and potentially different battery cells to comprise further groups). Further, it can be seen that electrical connection (via electrode leads) occurs on a first side of the battery cells in a second direction orthogonal to the first (stacking) direction),
the battery module further comprises a voltage detection device configured to detect a voltage between the different battery cells (abstract of Kim discloses a sensing member for sensing the voltage of the secondary cells, [0020] discloses that the sensing member includes volage sensors connected to the bus bars, see also [0077], which discloses voltage sensing units 71 and 72 connected to the bus bars 50, and therefore can be considered electrically connected to positive and negative electrode leads, thus reading on the claimed limitation).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 8, wherein
the voltage detection device includes:
a holding body located on the first side of the plurality of battery cells in the second direction (abstract of Kim discloses a bus bar frame which can be considered the claimed holding body, [0084] discloses the bus bar frame includes frame portions 41, 42, and 43, and as can be seen in fig. 7 the bus bar frame is located on the first side of the plurality of battery cells in the second direction, the same side where the electrical connection occurs (see claim 8 rejection above));
a voltage detection portion held by the holding body and electrically connected to the different battery cells (abstract discloses that the sensing member/voltage detection portion is installed on the bus bar frame/holding body, [0011] discloses that the sensing member is for sensing the voltage of the secondary cells, reading on being electrically connected to the different battery cells); and
a bus bar attached to the holding body and electrically connected to a lead provided in at least one of the plurality of battery cells (abstract discloses that the bus bar frame comprises a bus bar, as can be seen in figs. 7 and 8 the electrode leads are connected to the bus bars, reading on the bus bar being electrically connected to a lead).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim discloses the mattery module according to claim 9, wherein
the lead is drawn toward the first side in the second direction from the battery cell located at and end of the plurality of battery cells on a second side in the first direction (see fig. 7),
at least part of the lead extends in the second direction (fig. 7),
the at least part of the lead is located on the second side in the first direction with respect to at least part of the bus bar (see fig. 7, the leads extend toward bus bar 50 and are located on the second side in the first direction with respect to the bus bar),
the at least a part of the lead and a surface of the at least a part of the bus bar on the second side in the first direction are bonded to each other (Kim discloses that the electrode leads may be bonded to the bus bar by being welded [0051], see fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kim discloses the mattery module according to claim 1, wherein
the at least a part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the at last a part of the plurality of negative electrode leads are in direct contact with each other (see claim 1 rejection above, which requires the at least a part of the plurality of positive and negative electrode leads to be directly bonded to each other. Welke discloses that the bonding occurs via, for example, welding [0016], which would result in a configuration where the leads are in direct contact with each other, satisfying the claimed limitation).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 1, wherein at least a part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the at least a part of the plurality of negative electrode leads are bonded by at least one of laser welding or ultrasonic bonding (Kim discloses ultrasonic welding as a method for attaching the electrode leads to the bus bars [0052]. Welke also discloses the same method for connecting the poles/leads to each other [0003]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kim discloses the method of manufacturing a battery module according to claim 6, wherein
a plurality of battery cells, including the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells, is stacked in a first direction (see figs. 7-8 of Kim, where it can be seen that the pluralities of first and second cells 32 are stacked in a first direction),
the plurality of battery cells includes different battery cells electrically connected on a first side of the plurality of battery cells in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (see e.g. fig. 7 of Kim, which shows multiple groups of cells stacked in a first direction (for example, a first and second plurality of cells, and potentially different battery cells to comprise further groups). Further, it can be seen that electrical connection (via electrode leads) occurs on a first side of the battery cells in a second direction orthogonal to the first (stacking) direction),
the battery module further comprises a voltage detection device configured to detect a voltage between the different battery cells (abstract of Kim discloses a sensing member for sensing the voltage of the secondary cells, [0020] discloses that the sensing member includes volage sensors connected to the bus bars, see also [0077], which discloses voltage sensing units 71 and 72 connected to the bus bars 50, and therefore can be considered electrically connected to positive and negative electrode leads, thus reading on the claimed limitation).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kim discloses the method of manufacturing a battery module according to claim 13, wherein
the voltage detection device includes:
a holding body located on the first side of the plurality of battery cells in the second direction (abstract of Kim discloses a bus bar frame which can be considered the claimed holding body, [0084] discloses the bus bar frame includes frame portions 41, 42, and 43, and as can be seen in fig. 7 the bus bar frame is located on the first side of the plurality of battery cells in the second direction, the same side where the electrical connection occurs (see claim 8 rejection above));
a voltage detection portion held by the holding body and electrically connected to the different battery cells (abstract discloses that the sensing member/voltage detection portion is installed on the bus bar frame/holding body, [0011] discloses that the sensing member is for sensing the voltage of the secondary cells, reading on being electrically connected to the different battery cells); and
a bus bar attached to the holding body and electrically connected to a lead provided in at least one of the plurality of battery cells (abstract discloses that the bus bar frame comprises a bus bar, as can be seen in figs. 7 and 8 the electrode leads are connected to the bus bars, reading on the bus bar being electrically connected to a lead).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kim discloses the method of manufacturing a battery module according to claim 14, wherein
the lead is drawn toward the first side in the second direction from the battery cell located at and end of the plurality of battery cells on a second side in the first direction (see fig. 7),
at least part of the lead extends in the second direction (fig. 7),
the at least a part of the lead is located on the second side in the first direction with respect to at least part of the bus bar (see fig. 7, the leads extend toward bus bar 50 and are located on the second side in the first direction with respect to the bus bar),
the at least a part of the lead and a surface of the at least a part of the bus bar on the second side in the first direction are bonded to each other (Kim discloses that the electrode leads may be bonded to the bus bar by being welded [0051], see fig. 7).
Regarding claim 16, modified Kim discloses the mattery module according to claim 6, wherein
the at least a part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the at last a part of the plurality of negative electrode leads are in direct contact with each other (see claim 6 rejection above, which requires the at least a part of the plurality of positive and negative electrode leads to be directly bonded to each other. Welke discloses that the bonding occurs via, for example, welding [0016], which would result in a configuration where the leads are in direct contact with each other, satisfying the claimed limitation).
Regarding claim 17, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 6, wherein at least a part of the plurality of positive electrode leads and the at least a part of the plurality of negative electrode leads are bonded by at least one of laser welding or ultrasonic bonding (Kim discloses ultrasonic welding as a method for attaching the electrode leads to the bus bars [0052]. Welke also discloses an ultrasonic bonding method for connecting the poles/leads to each other [0003]).
Claim(s) 2, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210194101 A1) in view of Welke (DE 102013016617 A1), and further in view of Lee (US 20130330595 A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Kim discloses the battery module of claim 1, but does not disclose a laser-welding process. Rather, Kim merely discloses that the electrode leads may be welded [0051], and mentions the use of ultrasonic welding [0052]. However, laser-welding is a known alternative in the art to ultrasonic welding, and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use for the tabs of Kim.
For example, Lee concerns a bus-bar for electrically connecting electrode leads of battery cells (abstract), and Lee discloses that the electrode leads of the unit cells as well as the bus bar can be electrically connected together via laser welding, and further discloses that using laser welding over ultrasonic welding can solve problems associated with weld quality and damage to the inside of the battery cells [0018]. As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use laser welding instead of ultrasonic welding to weld the leads and bus bars of Kim, resulting in a battery module meeting the limitations of the instant claim. A POSITA would have been motivated to do this in order to solve problems associated with weld quality and damage to the battery cells, as disclosed by Lee.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the method of manufacturing a battery module according to claim 6, but does not disclose a laser-welding process. Rather, Kim merely discloses that the electrode leads may be welded [0051], and mentions the use of ultrasonic welding [0052]. However, laser-welding is a known alternative in the art to ultrasonic welding, and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use for the tabs of Kim.
For example, Lee concerns a bus-bar for electrically connecting electrode leads of battery cells (abstract), and Lee discloses that the electrode leads of the unit cells as well as the bus bar can be electrically connected together via laser welding, and further discloses that using laser welding over ultrasonic welding can solve problems associated with weld quality and damage to the inside of the battery cells [0018]. As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use laser welding instead of ultrasonic welding to weld the leads and bus bars of Kim, resulting in a process meeting the limitations of the instant claim. A POSITA would have been motivated to do this in order to solve problems associated with weld quality and damage to the battery cells, as disclosed by Lee.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 8-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACKARY RICHARD COCHENOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 14 August 2026