DETAILED ACTION
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
All previous rejections have been withdrawn.
REJECTIONS REPEATED
There are no rejections repeated.
NEW REJECTIONS
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 1-10 and 1-8 of U.S. Patent Nos. 18/029,573, 18/261,174 and 18/272,519, respectively, in view of Pey (US 2020/0346440).
Claims 1-9, 1-10 and 1-8 of U.S. Patent Nos. 18/029,573, 18/261,174 and 18/272,519, respectively, recite applicant’s invention substantially as claimed but do not recite wherein a proportion occupied by a thickness of the innermost sealant layer with respect to a thickness of the laminated body is 60% or more.
Pey discloses wherein a proportion occupied by a thickness of the innermost sealant layer with respect to a thickness of the laminated body is 60% or more in a stand-up pouch comprising linear low density polyethylene for the purpose of providing improved heat sealing and/or recyclability (paragraphs [0003-0004], [0009],[0022], [0087], [0093-0099], [0108], [0119] and Table 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided wherein a proportion occupied by a thickness of the innermost sealant layer with respect to a thickness of the laminated body is 60% or more in claims 1-9, 1-10 and 1-8 of U.S. Patent Nos. 18/029,573, 18/261,174 and 18/272,519, respectively, in order to provide improved heat sealing and/or recyclability as taught or suggested by Pey.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pey (US 2020/0346440) in view of JP2016536160 (English machine translation provided previously).
Pey discloses a laminated body comprising an innermost sealant layer formed of a polyethylene based resin and a base material formed of a polyethylene based resin and wherein a proportion occupied by a thickness of the innermost sealant layer with respect to a thickness of the laminated body is 60% or more (paragraphs [0003-0004], [0009],[0022], [0087], [0093-0099], [0108], [0119] and Table 1).
Pey does not disclose an outermost heat-resistant layer formed on an outer surface of the base material.
JP2016536160 discloses an outermost heat-resistant layer formed on an outer surface of the base material (paragraphs [0010], [0013-0014], [0026-0029], [0035], [0041], [0050], [0054-0056], [0076-0077]) in a stand up pouch for the purpose of providing improved heat resistance (paragraph [0056]).
Both references are drawn to a standup pouch.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided an outermost heat-resistant layer formed on an outer surface of the base material in Pey in order to provide improved heat resistance as taught or suggested by JP2016536160.
JP2016536160 discloses wherein the heat-resistant layer is formed of a varnish, a package body comprising a folding member folded such that outer surfaces thereof face each other along a fold line (since a stand-up pouch is disclosed), wherein at least the folding member is formed of the laminated body, wherein one or more of the folding members are provided between a pair of flat planar members (since a stand-up pouch is disclosed), wherein the planar members are laminated bodies, each including an innermost sealant layer formed of a polyethylene- based resin and an outermost base material layer formed of a polyethylene-based resin, the package body having a bottom member folded in half along a fold line, the bottom member being sandwiched between a pair of barrel members (since a stand-up pouch is disclosed), wherein the bottom member is the folding member, and the barrel members are the planar members, wherein a heat-resistant layer is locally formed in a region of an outer surface of the folding member corresponding to a portion to which an inner surface of the folding member is joined (since a stand-up pouch made from the laminate of JP2016536160 is disclosed), wherein the heat-resistant layer is omitted and the base material layers are joined together at an end portion of the folding member in a direction along the fold line (since layer C is optional) (paragraphs [0010], [0013-0014], [0026-0029], [0035], [0041], [0050], [0054-0056], [0076-0077]).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pey (US 2020/0346440) in view of JP2016536160 (English machine translation provided previously), as applied to claims 1-2 and 6-11 above, and further in view of WO2019189092.
Pey does not disclose wherein the sealant layer is formed of an unstretched polyethylene-based resin, and the base material layer is formed of a stretched polyethylene-based resin, wherein a printed layer or an adhesive layer is provided between the sealant layer and the base material layer, wherein 95% by weight or more of the laminated body is formed of a polyethylene-based resin.
WO2019189092 discloses wherein the sealant layer is formed of an unstretched polyethylene-based resin, and the base material layer is formed of a stretched polyethylene-based resin, wherein a printed layer or an adhesive layer is provided between the sealant layer and the base material layer, wherein 95% by weight or more of the laminated body is formed of a polyethylene-based resin (since the entire film is polyethylene) (paragraphs [0017], [0023], [0028], [0031], [0069-0081], [0128]) in a standup pouch for the purpose of providing improved strength, heat resistance and excellent recyclability.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided wherein the sealant layer is formed of an unstretched polyethylene-based resin, and the base material layer is formed of a stretched polyethylene-based resin, wherein a printed layer or an adhesive layer is provided between the sealant layer and the base material layer, wherein 95% by weight or more of the laminated body is formed of a polyethylene-based resin in Pey in order to provide improved strength, heat resistance and excellent recyclability as taught or suggested by WO2019189092.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments of 3/20/26 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
May 3, 2026