DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the restriction requirement in the reply filed on March 18, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the common special technical feature of "a cartridge having a base section with at least two opposite locking wings and a dispensing gun in which the injection gate comprises a distal plate with an aperture whose shape corresponds to the shape of the base section of the cartridge" is not disclosed by Friedman. This is not found persuasive because the examiner maintains that these elements as outlined in the restriction requirement of January 30, 2026 are disclosed by Friedman. The applicant additionally presents arguments regarding the intended use of the device; however, the applicant is reminded that patentable weight is only given to claimed structural elements.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “base section” of the cartridge of Claims 19, 26, 29, and 31, the “two opposite locking wings” of the cartridge of Claims 19, 26, 29, 31, and 32, and the “rib(s)” of Claims 23 and 24 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. Please note: [0067] of the specification references the ribs as element 76 in Figure 8, however, there is not a corresponding element 76 labeled in Figure 8. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 10 the word “the” before “first notch” should be changed to “a” as this is the first recitation of this limitation, and the word “the” before “first tooth” should be changed to “a” as this is the first recitation of this limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1 the phrase “the pivot” should be changed to “a pivot” if the pivot is intended to be a noun (i.e. a point on the lever or object) or to “pivoting” if pivot is intended to be a verb. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 24, the phrase “the frame’s rib” should be changed to “one of the ribs of the one or more ribs.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 32 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 the word “the” before external sleeve should be changed to “an” as this is the first recitation of this limitation and the word “its” should be changed to “the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19, 22, 26, 29 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "a cartridge" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, and it is unclear if this is to be considered the same “cartridge” as that of claim 16 or is an additional cartridge. Claims 26 and 32 are rejected based on their dependency on claim 19.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the internal piston" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, and it is unclear if this is to be considered the same as the “piston” of Claim 1 or if the “internal piston” is an additional element.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "a cartridge" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, and it is unclear if this is to be considered the same “cartridge” as that of claim 16 or is an additional cartridge.
Claim 31 recites structure of the cartridge with the limitations of the base section and the at least two opposite locking wings. Please note: as Claim 16 from which Claim 31 depends does not positively recite the cartridge, dependent Claim 31 can not further limit the structure of the cartridge. It is unclear how Applicant intends for the claim to be interpreted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-29, 31, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pauser et al. (WO 2019/211682 A2, hereinafter “Pauser”).
Regarding Claim 16, Pauser discloses a dispensing gun for a cartridge (abstract) comprising a frame (Figure 1,10) having a handle (12), an injection gate (114) for connecting a cartridge (as seen in Figure 1), the injection gate being located at the distal part of the frame (as seen in Figure 1), a lever (Figure 2, 121) comprising at least two teeth (as seen in Figure 2) and a piston (13 and 23 taken together) comprising at least two notches (131, as seen in Figure 2). Pauser further discloses that the dispensing gun comprises a means for directly locking the cartridge on the injection gate (via slit 115 as seen in Figure 3 and described on page 15, lines 3-6), the dispensing gun comprises means for pushing the piston inside the cartridge so that the material contained in the cartridge is extruded in a single piston stroke (via plunger 13 as described on page 12 lines 18-33), and the dispensing gun is configured so that the lever comprises an actuating state in which the first notch of the piston and the first tooth of the lever are engaged together prior to connecting the cartridge so that the lever and the handle form an angle ranging from 80° to 120° (as the toothing allows for multiple positions of the lever and the handle relative to one another the lever and the handle would form this angulation).
Regarding Claims 17 and 18, Pauser discloses the dispensing gun of claim 16, and as per the notch and tooth configuration as seen in Figure 2, is capable of a final state in which the lever is depressed and the piston of the dispensing gun is engaged in the cartridge so that the material initially contained in the cartridge has been entirely extruded, and an intermediate state in which the lever is maintained in a position between the actuating state and a final state, for contacting the piston close to the piston of the cartridge so that the dispensing gun is ready to use for extruding the material contained in the cartridge.
Regarding Claim 19, Pauser discloses the dispensing device of claim 16, and further discloses that the injection gate is configured for locking (per slit 115 as described above) a cartridge which has a base section with two opposite locking wings (see annotated figure 5 below).
Regarding Claim 20, Pauser discloses the dispensing device of claim 16, and further discloses that the piston comprises a rod (23) configured to be received in the internal volume of the cartridge when locked on the distal part of the injection gate (as seen in Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 21, Pauser discloses the dispensing device of claim 16, and further discloses that the pivot of the lever from the actuating state to the final state displaces the piston in the range from 10 mm to 20 mm (page 5, lines 25-31).
Regarding Claim 22, Pauser discloses the dispensing device of claim 16, and further discloses that when the lever is in an actuating state, the distal end of the internal piston is located at the proximal end of the injection gate (Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 23, Pauser discloses the dispensing device of claim 16, and further discloses that the frame comprises one or more ribs (112c).
Regarding Claim 24, Pauser discloses the dispensing device of claim 23, and further discloses that the dispensing gun comprises a washer (disc made out of metal retention means as described on page 13, lines 17-20) positioned behind the frame's rib.
Regarding Claim 25, Pauser discloses the dispensing device of claim 18, and further discloses that when the lever is in the intermediate state, the lever is maintained in a position between the actuating state and a final state by a spring plunger (as described on page 6, lines 15-30).
Regarding Claim 26, Pauser discloses the dispensing device of claim 19, and further discloses that the injection gate comprises a proximal part (Figure 3, 117) configured to connect the distal end of the frame and a distal part (116) configured to connect and lock the two opposite locking wings of the base section of the cartridge.
Regarding Claim 27, Pauser discloses the dispensing device of claim 16, and further discloses that the frame is made of an injected-molded polymer and the injection gate is made of metal (as described on page 8, lines 4-8).
Regarding Claim 28, Pauser discloses the dispensing device of claim 16, and further discloses that the dispensing gun is autoclavable and/or decontaminable (as the device of Pauser is capable of being cleaned, it is decontaminable).
Regarding Claim 29, Pauser discloses a system comprising the dispensing gun according to claim 16 (as described above) and a cartridge (Figure 5, 20) having a base section with two opposite locking wings (see annotated Figure 5 above).
Regarding Claim 31, Pauser discloses the dispensing device of claim 16, and further discloses that the cartridge has a base section with at least two opposite locking wings (see annotated Figure 5 above). Please note: as the cartridge is not positively recited in Claim 16, the structure of the cartridge cannot be positively recited in a dependent claim.
Regarding Claim 32, Pauser discloses the dispensing device of claim 19, and further discloses that the injection gate comprises means for directly locking an external sleeve of the cartridge (as seen in Figure 5 where the outer surface of the cartridge is considered an external sleeve) via its two locking wings (as seen in Figure 5).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772