This Final Office Action is in response to the Amendment Request/REMARKS correspondence filed on 12/18/2025.
Claims 1-18, & 21-22 are pending and rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/REMARKS, filed 12/18/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-18, & 21-22 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of claims have been further amended warranting further search and inquiry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 & 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Zhou et al (US20200314664) in view of Tsai et al (WO2019217829) in further view of 3GPP ETSI TS 138 331 v16.1.0 (2020-07) (hereinafter “3GPP”) in further view of Sengupta et al (US20200383167A1) in further view of Jung et al (US20180235013A1).
Regarding claim 7 (and claim 1), Zhou teaches a user equipment (UE) configured to transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising:
at least one transceiver ([0226] transceiver);
at least one processor ([0221]-[0223] processors); and
at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor ([0208], [0227]-[0229] memory), wherein the at least one memory is configured to store instructions that allow the at least one processor to perform operations based on being executed by the at least one processor, wherein the operations comprise:
receiving, from a base station (BS), configuration information including information for an uplink resource, information for a sequence, and information for a sequence resource related to beams ([0241]-[0242] & [0255]-[0257]);
determining a transmit (Tx) beam among the beams ([0258]-[0265]);
transmitting, to the BS, the sequence in the sequence resource related to the Tx beam ([0241], [0264], a UE may transmit SRS resource…an SRS resource…transmitted at a time instant…A UE may transmit one or more SRS resource)); and
But Zhou fails to teach transmitting, to the BS, the PUSCH in the uplink resource based on the Tx beam in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state.
However, Tsai teaches transmitting, to the BS, the PUSCH in the uplink resource based on the Tx beam in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state ([0009], given UE can receive broadcast information that indicates contention-based radio resources for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) so as to define a configured grant PUSCH. Based on the broadcast information, the UE can transmit small data via the configured grant PUSCH while remaining in an RRC-IDLE state or an RRC -INACTIVE state).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while Tsai supplies the context for resource configuration namely PUSCH in inactive state. Together, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
But Tsai fails to teach based on the Tx beam.
However, 3GPP teaches based on the Tx beam (Section 6.3, 6.3.2, describes UE states (Idle/Inactive) and provides configuration information that enables a UE to transmit PUSCH in those states; “based on the Tx beam”[Wingdings font/0xE0]includes spatial relation configuration and explicit support for default spatial relation/pathloss reference RS for PUSCH (entries like defaultSpatialRelationPathlossRS / spatialRelationInfo and related fields), which is the RRC mechanism by which a UE determines which transmit beam/spatial relation to use for PUSCH).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states. Separately, 3GPP specifies RRC signaling, including configuredGrantConfig for uplink PUSCH resources and spatialRelationInfo for associating uplink transmissions with reference signals, i.e. transmit beams.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with Tsai and 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while 3GPP supplies the context for resource configuration and Tsai with state behavior. Together, these teaching yield the claimed method of determining a Tx beam, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
But 3GPP fails to teach wherein the sequence resource is related to the Tx beam, and information on the Tx beam is identified based on the sequence resource;
wherein the PUSCH is transmitted in the uplink resource based on the information on the Tx beam, and a beam direction for the PUSCH is determined without blind detection.
However, Sengupta teaches wherein the sequence resource is related to the Tx beam, and information on the Tx beam is identified based on the sequence resource ([0006]-[0007], [0020], Fig 6 (610-625), defines beam management including beam determination and beam reporting, establishing that beams are selected and reported rather than blindly detected; describes conveying beam recovery information and mechanisms to recover a beam once decoded by the RAN, supporting explicit beam selection/configuration; Explains NR reference signals (CSI-RS/DMRS) used for beam management and UL transmission, tying beam-associated sequence resources to UL transmission configuration; Candidate beam determined from beam RS[Wingdings font/0xE0]NBI generated[Wingdings font/0xE0]transmitted[Wingdings font/0xE0]BFR configuration received (beam info derived from sequence resources; Shows PUSCH grant and measurement-driven spatial filtering (beam direction used for PUSCH));
wherein the PUSCH is transmitted in the uplink resource based on the information on the Tx beam, and a beam direction for the PUSCH is determined without blind detection ([0006]-[0007], [0020], Fig 6 (610-625), defines beam management including beam determination and beam reporting, establishing that beams are selected and reported rather than blindly detected; describes conveying beam recovery information and mechanisms to recover a beam once decoded by the RAN, supporting explicit beam selection/configuration; Explains NR reference signals (CSI-RS/DMRS) used for beam management and UL transmission, tying beam-associated sequence resources to UL transmission configuration; Candidate beam determined from beam RS[Wingdings font/0xE0]NBI generated[Wingdings font/0xE0]transmitted[Wingdings font/0xE0]BFR configuration received (beam info derived from sequence resources; Shows PUSCH grant and measurement-driven spatial filtering (beam direction used for PUSCH)).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states. Separately, 3GPP specifies RRC signaling, including configuredGrantConfig for uplink PUSCH resources and spatialRelationInfo for associating uplink transmissions with reference signals, i.e. transmit beams. Furthermore, Sengupta provides for PUSCH-beam configuration mechanisms to improve beam reliability and link robustness.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with Tsai and 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while 3GPP supplies the context for resource configuration and Tsai with state behavior. Together, these teaching yield the claimed method of determining a Tx beam, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
However, Jung remedies the gap left by Sengupta in regards to beam direction for the PUSCH is determined without blind detection (Fig 5 step 204, Fig 6 Fig 7 (Msg2), Abstract; describes determination of transmission power, format, and timing for beam-specific PRACH transmissions (resource[Wingdings font/0xDF][Wingdings font/0xE0]beam association), select UL Tx/Rx beam pairs and identify corresponding PRACH resources, RAR message includes beam IDs and UL grant, enabling explicit beam direction selection without blind detection).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states. Separately, 3GPP specifies RRC signaling, including configuredGrantConfig for uplink PUSCH resources and spatialRelationInfo for associating uplink transmissions with reference signals, i.e. transmit beams.
Furthermore, in regards to Sengupta and Jung, both references address beam-based UL transmission in NR systems and recognized that UL resources must be associated with beam information derived from reference-signal resources to ensure reliable communication. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the beam-resource mapping and idle-state adaptive power/timing control of Jung with the candidate-beam determination and PUSCH beam configuration mechanisms of Sengupta to improve beam reliability and link robustness
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with Tsai and 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while 3GPP supplies the context for resource configuration and Tsai with state behavior. Together, these teaching yield the claimed method of determining a Tx beam, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
Regarding claim 8 (and claim 2), Zhou, Tsai and 3GPP fails to teach but Jung teaches the UE wherein a control parameter related to a transmit power or a transmission periodicity of the PUSCH is selectively adjusted based on an environmental change detected during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state without initiating an RRC connection procedure. (SRS) (Fig 5 steps 208-214, Fig 6 Msg3/4, UE determines Tx power per beam, recalculates when requirements not met, and determines transmission timing (adaptive control parameter); explicitly indicates procedure for RRC idle UE, confirming operation before connection establishment).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states. Separately, 3GPP specifies RRC signaling, including configuredGrantConfig for uplink PUSCH resources and spatialRelationInfo for associating uplink transmissions with reference signals, i.e. transmit beams.
Furthermore, in regards to Sengupta and Jung, both references address beam-based UL transmission in NR systems and recognized that UL resources must be associated with beam information derived from reference-signal resources to ensure reliable communication. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the beam-resource mapping and idle-state adaptive power/timing control of Jung with the candidate-beam determination and PUSCH beam configuration mechanisms of Sengupta to improve beam reliability and link robustness
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with Tsai and 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while 3GPP supplies the context for resource configuration and Tsai with state behavior. Together, these teaching yield the claimed method of determining a Tx beam, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
Regarding claim 9 (and claim 3), Zhou teaches the UE wherein the sequence is configured per UE ([0246], [0241]-[0242], presence of…PT-RS may be UE-specifically configured”, SRS config per UE).
However, Zhou, Tsai and 3GPP fails to teach but Jung teaches wherein the sequence is a preamble or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (Fig 5 steps 208-214, Fig 6 Msg3/4, UE determines Tx power per beam, recalculates when requirements not met, and determines transmission timing (adaptive control parameter); explicitly indicates procedure for RRC idle UE, confirming operation before connection establishment).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states. Separately, 3GPP specifies RRC signaling, including configuredGrantConfig for uplink PUSCH resources and spatialRelationInfo for associating uplink transmissions with reference signals, i.e. transmit beams.
Furthermore, in regards to Sengupta and Jung, both references address beam-based UL transmission in NR systems and recognized that UL resources must be associated with beam information derived from reference-signal resources to ensure reliable communication. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the beam-resource mapping and idle-state adaptive power/timing control of Jung with the candidate-beam determination and PUSCH beam configuration mechanisms of Sengupta to improve beam reliability and link robustness
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with Tsai and 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while 3GPP supplies the context for resource configuration and Tsai with state behavior. Together, these teaching yield the claimed method of determining a Tx beam, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
Regarding claim 4, Zhou teaches the method wherein the beams are configured based on a synchronization signal block (SSB) ([0261], “an idle/inactive…SS blocks for SS burst…multi-beam operation…” directly tied to beams; beams configured based on SSB).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches the method further comprising: receiving, from the BS, downlink control information (DCI) including hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for the PUSCH ([0255] DCI with HARQ-ACK info for PUSCH[Wingdings font/0xE0]UL grant…comprising HARQ info related to UL-SCH carried via PUSCH).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states. Separately, 3GPP specifies RRC signaling, including configuredGrantConfig for uplink PUSCH resources and spatialRelationInfo for associating uplink transmissions with reference signals, i.e. transmit beams.
Furthermore, in regards to Sengupta and Jung, both references address beam-based UL transmission in NR systems and recognized that UL resources must be associated with beam information derived from reference-signal resources to ensure reliable communication. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the beam-resource mapping and idle-state adaptive power/timing control of Jung with the candidate-beam determination and PUSCH beam configuration mechanisms of Sengupta to improve beam reliability and link robustness
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with Tsai and 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while 3GPP supplies the context for resource configuration and Tsai with state behavior. Together, these teaching yield the claimed method of determining a Tx beam, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the DCI further includes information for updating the Tx beam ([0264]-[0265], DCI includes info for updating Tx beam[Wingdings font/0xE0] beam management reporting[Wingdings font/0xE0]BS signals serving beams; implies beam updates through control signaling (DCI/MAC CE/RRC).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states. Separately, 3GPP specifies RRC signaling, including configuredGrantConfig for uplink PUSCH resources and spatialRelationInfo for associating uplink transmissions with reference signals, i.e. transmit beams.
Furthermore, in regards to Sengupta and Jung, both references address beam-based UL transmission in NR systems and recognized that UL resources must be associated with beam information derived from reference-signal resources to ensure reliable communication. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the beam-resource mapping and idle-state adaptive power/timing control of Jung with the candidate-beam determination and PUSCH beam configuration mechanisms of Sengupta to improve beam reliability and link robustness
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with Tsai and 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while 3GPP supplies the context for resource configuration and Tsai with state behavior. Together, these teaching yield the claimed method of determining a Tx beam, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
Regarding claim 16 (and claim 10), Zhou teaches a base station (BS) configured to receive a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising:
at least one transceiver ([0226] transceiver);
at least one processor ([0221]-[0223] processors); and
at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor ([0208], [0227]-[0229] memory), wherein the at least one memory is configured to store instructions that allow the at least one processor to perform operations based on being executed by the at least one processor, wherein the operations comprise:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information including information for an uplink resource, information for a sequence, and information for sequence resources related to beams, wherein a transmit (Tx) beam of the UE is determined among the beams ([0241]-[0242], [0255]-[0257], transmitting config info (UL resource, sequence, sequence resources related to beams);
receiving, from the UE, the sequence in the sequence resource related to the Tx beam ([0241], SRS reporting[Wingdings font/0xE0] receiving sequence in sequence related to Tx beam); and
But Zhou fails to teach receiving, from the UE, the PUSCH in the uplink resource based on the Tx beam in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state.
However, Tsai teaches receiving, from the UE, the PUSCH in the uplink resource based on the Tx beam in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state ([0009], given UE can receive broadcast information that indicates contention-based radio resources for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) so as to define a configured grant PUSCH. Based on the broadcast information, the UE can transmit small data via the configured grant PUSCH while remaining in an RRC-IDLE state or an RRC -INACTIVE state).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while Tsai supplies the context for resource configuration namely PUSCH in inactive state. Together, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
But Tsai fails to teach based on the Tx beam.
However, 3GPP teaches based on the Tx beam (Section 6.3, 6.3.2, describes UE states (Idle/Inactive) and provides configuration information that enables a UE to transmit PUSCH in those states; “based on the Tx beam”[Wingdings font/0xE0]includes spatial relation configuration and explicit support for default spatial relation/pathloss reference RS for PUSCH (entries like defaultSpatialRelationPathlossRS / spatialRelationInfo and related fields), which is the RRC mechanism by which a UE determines which transmit beam/spatial relation to use for PUSCH).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states. Separately, 3GPP specifies RRC signaling, including configuredGrantConfig for uplink PUSCH resources and spatialRelationInfo for associating uplink transmissions with reference signals, i.e. transmit beams.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with Tsai and 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while 3GPP supplies the context for resource configuration and Tsai with state behavior. Together, these teaching yield the claimed method of determining a Tx beam, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
But 3GPP fails to teach wherein the sequence resource is related to the Tx beam, and information on the Tx beam is identified based on the sequence resource;
wherein the PUSCH is transmitted in the uplink resource based on the information on the Tx beam, and a beam direction for the PUSCH is determined without blind detection.
However, Sengupta teaches wherein the sequence resource is related to the Tx beam, and information on the Tx beam is identified based on the sequence resource ([0006]-[0007], [0020], Fig 6 (610-625), defines beam management including beam determination and beam reporting, establishing that beams are selected and reported rather than blindly detected; describes conveying beam recovery information and mechanisms to recover a beam once decoded by the RAN, supporting explicit beam selection/configuration; Explains NR reference signals (CSI-RS/DMRS) used for beam management and UL transmission, tying beam-associated sequence resources to UL transmission configuration; Candidate beam determined from beam RS[Wingdings font/0xE0]NBI generated[Wingdings font/0xE0]transmitted[Wingdings font/0xE0]BFR configuration received (beam info derived from sequence resources; Shows PUSCH grant and measurement-driven spatial filtering (beam direction used for PUSCH));
wherein the PUSCH is transmitted in the uplink resource based on the information on the Tx beam, and a beam direction for the PUSCH is determined without blind detection ([0006]-[0007], [0020], Fig 6 (610-625), defines beam management including beam determination and beam reporting, establishing that beams are selected and reported rather than blindly detected; describes conveying beam recovery information and mechanisms to recover a beam once decoded by the RAN, supporting explicit beam selection/configuration; Explains NR reference signals (CSI-RS/DMRS) used for beam management and UL transmission, tying beam-associated sequence resources to UL transmission configuration; Candidate beam determined from beam RS[Wingdings font/0xE0]NBI generated[Wingdings font/0xE0]transmitted[Wingdings font/0xE0]BFR configuration received (beam info derived from sequence resources; Shows PUSCH grant and measurement-driven spatial filtering (beam direction used for PUSCH)).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states. Separately, 3GPP specifies RRC signaling, including configuredGrantConfig for uplink PUSCH resources and spatialRelationInfo for associating uplink transmissions with reference signals, i.e. transmit beams. Furthermore, Sengupta provides for PUSCH-beam configuration mechanisms to improve beam reliability and link robustness.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with Tsai and 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while 3GPP supplies the context for resource configuration and Tsai with state behavior. Together, these teaching yield the claimed method of determining a Tx beam, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
However, Jung remedies the gap left by Sengupta in regards to beam direction for the PUSCH is determined without blind detection (Fig 5 step 204, Fig 6 Fig 7 (Msg2), Abstract; describes determination of transmission power, format, and timing for beam-specific PRACH transmissions (resource[Wingdings font/0xDF][Wingdings font/0xE0]beam association), select UL Tx/Rx beam pairs and identify corresponding PRACH resources, RAR message includes beam IDs and UL grant, enabling explicit beam direction selection without blind detection).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states. Separately, 3GPP specifies RRC signaling, including configuredGrantConfig for uplink PUSCH resources and spatialRelationInfo for associating uplink transmissions with reference signals, i.e. transmit beams.
Furthermore, in regards to Sengupta and Jung, both references address beam-based UL transmission in NR systems and recognized that UL resources must be associated with beam information derived from reference-signal resources to ensure reliable communication. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the beam-resource mapping and idle-state adaptive power/timing control of Jung with the candidate-beam determination and PUSCH beam configuration mechanisms of Sengupta to improve beam reliability and link robustness
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with Tsai and 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while 3GPP supplies the context for resource configuration and Tsai with state behavior. Together, these teaching yield the claimed method of determining a Tx beam, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
Regarding claim 17 (and claim 11), Zhou, Tsai and 3GPP fails to teach but Jung teaches the UE wherein a control parameter related to a transmit power or a transmission periodicity of the PUSCH is selectively adjusted based on an environmental change detected during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state without initiating an RRC connection procedure. (SRS) (Fig 5 steps 208-214, Fig 6 Msg3/4, UE determines Tx power per beam, recalculates when requirements not met, and determines transmission timing (adaptive control parameter); explicitly indicates procedure for RRC idle UE, confirming operation before connection establishment).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states. Separately, 3GPP specifies RRC signaling, including configuredGrantConfig for uplink PUSCH resources and spatialRelationInfo for associating uplink transmissions with reference signals, i.e. transmit beams.
Furthermore, in regards to Sengupta and Jung, both references address beam-based UL transmission in NR systems and recognized that UL resources must be associated with beam information derived from reference-signal resources to ensure reliable communication. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the beam-resource mapping and idle-state adaptive power/timing control of Jung with the candidate-beam determination and PUSCH beam configuration mechanisms of Sengupta to improve beam reliability and link robustness
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with Tsai and 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while 3GPP supplies the context for resource configuration and Tsai with state behavior. Together, these teaching yield the claimed method of determining a Tx beam, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
Regarding claim 18 (and claim 12), Zhou teaches the BS wherein the sequence is configured per UE ([0246], [0241]-[0242], presence of…PT-RS may be UE-specifically configured”, SRS config per UE).
However, Zhou, Tsai and 3GPP fails to teach but Jung teaches wherein the sequence is a preamble or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (Fig 5 steps 208-214, Fig 6 Msg3/4, UE determines Tx power per beam, recalculates when requirements not met, and determines transmission timing (adaptive control parameter); explicitly indicates procedure for RRC idle UE, confirming operation before connection establishment).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states. Separately, 3GPP specifies RRC signaling, including configuredGrantConfig for uplink PUSCH resources and spatialRelationInfo for associating uplink transmissions with reference signals, i.e. transmit beams.
Furthermore, in regards to Sengupta and Jung, both references address beam-based UL transmission in NR systems and recognized that UL resources must be associated with beam information derived from reference-signal resources to ensure reliable communication. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the beam-resource mapping and idle-state adaptive power/timing control of Jung with the candidate-beam determination and PUSCH beam configuration mechanisms of Sengupta to improve beam reliability and link robustness
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with Tsai and 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while 3GPP supplies the context for resource configuration and Tsai with state behavior. Together, these teaching yield the claimed method of determining a Tx beam, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
Regarding claim 21 (and claim 13), Zhou teaches the BS wherein the beams are configured based on a synchronization signal block (SSB) ([0261], “an idle/inactive…SS blocks for SS burst…multi-beam operation…” directly tied to beams; beams configured based on SSB).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states. Separately, 3GPP specifies RRC signaling, including configuredGrantConfig for uplink PUSCH resources and spatialRelationInfo for associating uplink transmissions with reference signals, i.e. transmit beams.
Furthermore, in regards to Sengupta and Jung, both references address beam-based UL transmission in NR systems and recognized that UL resources must be associated with beam information derived from reference-signal resources to ensure reliable communication. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the beam-resource mapping and idle-state adaptive power/timing control of Jung with the candidate-beam determination and PUSCH beam configuration mechanisms of Sengupta to improve beam reliability and link robustness
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with Tsai and 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while 3GPP supplies the context for resource configuration and Tsai with state behavior. Together, these teaching yield the claimed method of determining a Tx beam, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
Regarding claim 22 (and claim 14), Zhou teaches the BS wherein the operations further comprise: transmitting, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) including hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for the PUSCH ([0255] DCI with HARQ-ACK info for PUSCH[Wingdings font/0xE0]UL grant…comprising HARQ info related to UL-SCH carried via PUSCH).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states. Separately, 3GPP specifies RRC signaling, including configuredGrantConfig for uplink PUSCH resources and spatialRelationInfo for associating uplink transmissions with reference signals, i.e. transmit beams.
Furthermore, in regards to Sengupta and Jung, both references address beam-based UL transmission in NR systems and recognized that UL resources must be associated with beam information derived from reference-signal resources to ensure reliable communication. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the beam-resource mapping and idle-state adaptive power/timing control of Jung with the candidate-beam determination and PUSCH beam configuration mechanisms of Sengupta to improve beam reliability and link robustness
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with Tsai and 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while 3GPP supplies the context for resource configuration and Tsai with state behavior. Together, these teaching yield the claimed method of determining a Tx beam, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches the method wherein the DCI further includes information for updating the Tx beam ([0264]-[0265], DCI includes info for updating Tx beam[Wingdings font/0xE0] beam management reporting[Wingdings font/0xE0]BS signals serving beams; implies beam updates through control signaling (DCI/MAC CE/RRC).
Zhou teaches uplink beam management in which a UE receives configuration parameters including downlink reference signals and an indication of a default beam for uplink transmission. Based on these parameters, the UE determines spatial relation information associated with a downlink RS and transmits a transport block on a PUSCH resource according to that spatial relation, thereby teaching PUSCH transmission using a TX beam selected from beam-related information. Furthermore, Tsai teaches small data transmission (PUSCH) within the RRC-IDLE or Inactive state and defining the operation of UEs in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states and allows configured grant PUSCH transmissions in these states. Separately, 3GPP specifies RRC signaling, including configuredGrantConfig for uplink PUSCH resources and spatialRelationInfo for associating uplink transmissions with reference signals, i.e. transmit beams.
Furthermore, in regards to Sengupta and Jung, both references address beam-based UL transmission in NR systems and recognized that UL resources must be associated with beam information derived from reference-signal resources to ensure reliable communication. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the beam-resource mapping and idle-state adaptive power/timing control of Jung with the candidate-beam determination and PUSCH beam configuration mechanisms of Sengupta to improve beam reliability and link robustness
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhou with Tsai and 3GPP to enable beam-based PUSCH transmissions in Idle/Inactive states using standardized RRC procedures. The combination is logical and predictable, as Zhou provides the technique for beam selection and spatial relation while 3GPP supplies the context for resource configuration and Tsai with state behavior. Together, these teaching yield the claimed method of determining a Tx beam, transmitting a sequence related to that beam, and transmitting a PUSCH in the corresponding uplink resource in RRC idle or Inactive state, thereby reducing signaling overhead and latency while maintaining beamforming performing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419