DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
In the communication dated July 12, 2023, claims 1-18 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “multiple edges” recited in at least claim 1, and “the number of charging adapters is 2 to 30 times the maximum number” in claim 7 must be shown or the features canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “Multiple edges” recited in claim 1, “the number of charging adapters is 2 to 30 times” recited in claim 7.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 9 should include a linking term between “adapters” and “between” such as “arranged”.
Claim 2, line 2 should be amended from “a request power manipulation unit” to “the request power manipulation unit” as the element is already recited in claim 1.
Claims 3-11 are objected to at least due to their dependency from an objected to claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein multiple edges at which three or more electric wires are able to selectively form a contact point are formed in the connection power grid”. There is insufficient information in the claim language to determine what “edge” is being referred to as this feature is not sufficiently identified within the specification.
Claim 9 contains the language “the edges” in line 2 and is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1.
Claims 2-8 and 10-11 are rejected at least due to their dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. KR20110113125A.
Regarding claim 1. Lee discloses a charging system for an electric vehicle (abstract), which enables a charging wisher to autonomously select a charging location (page 4, line 10 - “the charging terminal 170 selects the charging port 160 connected to the electric vehicle” – thus having an autonomous selection of the charging port being used), the charging system comprising:
an AC/DC converting system (FIG. 3 at 70; page 4, 3rd full paragraph - “The subway line rectifier 70 receives an AC power (about AC 1200V) supplied after being decompressed by the subway line transformer 60 and rectifies and outputs the DC power necessary for the inside of a DC power system such as about 750V or 1500V.”);
a request power manipulation unit comprising DC/DC converters (FIG. 3 – 120 each having corresponding switches 130/140/150) corresponding to a maximum number of simultaneously chargeable electric vehicles (FIG. 3 - each corresponds to a charging port 160 for connecting a vehicle) and an open circuit connection switch (150) and a request power provision electric wire for each DC/DC converter (FIG 3 - a wire connecting the DC/DC converter to the charging port);
a charging adapter (160) selectively installed in each parking space (FIG. 3 – showing charging ports 160 as charging adapters; installing such a device at a parking to, where normally EVs are charged, is an implied feature); and
a connection power grid (150’) capable of connecting the request power provision electric wire and the charging adapters between the request power provision electric wire and the charging adapters (FIG. 3 – switch 150 is arranged between wire directed to DC/DC converter 120 and the port 160),
wherein multiple edges (right vs. left side of 150’) at which three or more electric wires are able to selectively form a contact point are formed in the connection power grid (FIG. 3 – the array of charging switches 150 has at least three wires extending from, the array being the contact point),
a multi-connection switch (140) is installed at an edge selected among the edges (FIG. 3 – switch 140 is connected to array 150’), and
a path is able to be selectively set in any one direction of electric wires among multiple directions (wires going to different ports 160) in which the electric wires are connected to the multi-connection switch through control of the multi-connection switch (page 3, 2nd to last full paragraph - “The first charging switch 140 is configured to manually cut off the power supplied to the second charging switch unit 150 'of the charging system 100a”).
Regarding claim 2. Lee discloses a space in which any one or more of the AC/DC converting system (FIG. 3 at 70 – page 3, 3rd full paragraph - “The subway line rectifier 70 receives an AC power (about AC 1200V) supplied after being decompressed by the subway line transformer 60 and rectifies and outputs the DC power necessary for the inside of a DC power system such as about 750V or 1500V.”), a request power manipulation unit (FIG. 3 – 120 each having corresponding switches 130/140/150), the charging adapter(160), and the multi-connection switch (140) are able to be further installed is secured in preparation for a future increase in the maximum number of simultaneously chargeable electric vehicles (FIG. 3 – page 4, line 12 - “It is configured to supply power for charging to the electric vehicle by selecting and turning on the second charging switch 150 connected to the charging port 160 connected to the electric vehicle among the 150”.
Regarding claim 4. Lee discloses that the number of DC/DC converters (FIG. 3 – 120) is 1x the maximum number of simultaneously chargeable electric vehicles which is within the range of 0.8 to 2.5 times the maximum number of simultaneously chargeable electric vehicles (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 5. Lee discloses a form of the connection power grid (150’) is a polygon, a polyhedron, or a form in which a complex thereof is connected (“a form in which a complex is connected” broadly interpreted is any connection. Thus the array of 150, under the broadest reasonable interpretation is a “form”).
Regarding claim 6. Lee discloses that the form of the connection power grid (150’) is a quadrangle and is able to be connected in multiple directions (FIG. 3 illustrates the switching array 150” including a plurality of switches in a rectangular arrangement. The direction arrangements of the switches is a design choice as to the configuration of the connections of the charging ports 160 to the vehicle) .
Regarding claim 8. Lee discloses that the connection power grid (150’) comprises a relay connection power grid (one side of the array 150’ is connected to the power source) and an intra-parking lot power grid (the other side of the array 150’ is connected to a vehicle charging station, which would imply it was inside a parking lot).
Regarding claim 9. Lee discloses that the multi-connection switch is installed in 50% or more of the edges that are formed in the connection power grid (FIG. 3 - all of the switches 140 are connected to the array 150’ thus 50% or more are formed on the edges of the array 150’).
Regarding claim 10. Lee discloses a main control apparatus (170), wherein the main control apparatus comprises one or more of current fixed type or variable type DC/DC converter management (last paragraph of page 4 continuing to page 5 - “The charging terminal 170 is configured to control the driving and voltage conversion values of the respective charging-side DC transformer 120”), relay connection power grid management (page 3, 5th full paragraph - “ charging terminal 170 for selectively performing the on / off control of each of the second charging switch 150”), and intra-parking lot power grid management (page 4, line 10 - “the charging terminal 170 selects the charging port 160 connected to the electric vehicle).
Regarding claim 11. Lee discloses a main control apparatus (170) comprising a billing system (“a card reader unit (not shown) having a card reader 171, a currency recognition unit (not shown) having a currency inlet 172,”), a member information management system (“a user interface ( 173), and a key input unit 174 for allowing a user to input control information,”), and a charging target vehicle charging and information management function (“The charging control unit (not shown) is configured to detect the voltage or current flow of the second charging switch 150 to determine whether the battery charging of the electric vehicle is completed”).
Regarding claim 12. Lee discloses a method of charging an electric vehicle (abstract), which enables a charging wisher to select a charging location, the method comprising:
delivering, by a charging wisher (user), charging intention to a charging system for an electric vehicle, which enables a charging wisher to select a charging location (page 4, line 9 - “payment for charging the electric vehicle is performed” – payment shows an intent to charge – by paying the user indicates a selection of a charging location);
receiving and determining, by the charging system, the charging intention (page 4, line 9 - “payment for charging the electric vehicle is performed” – payment is received by the charging system, thus, receiving a charging intention);
entering, by an electric vehicle of the charging wisher, a space equipped with a charging adapter (in order to charge a vehicle it is implied that the vehicle is parked at the charging station 100c);
connecting, by the electric vehicle of the charging wisher, to the charging adapter (page 4, line 7 - “The charging terminal 170 is connected to the electric vehicle (not shown) by the owner of the electric vehicle that needs to be charged to select the charging port 160”);
determining, by the charging system, a DC/DC converter (120) of corresponding charging power (FIG. 3 because the DC converter 120 corresponds to a terminal 160 the DC converter 120 is determined);
forming a charging electric wire of a connection power grid (connection of line extending from terminal 160 to DC/DC converter 120) from a corresponding request power provision electric wire of the corresponding DC/DC converter to the corresponding charging adapter (FIG. 3 – switch 150 is arranged between wire directed to DC/DC converter 120 and the port 160);
connecting a corresponding open circuit connection switch (150’) of the corresponding DC/DC converter (120) (FIG. 3);
charging the corresponding electric vehicle (page 4, line 13 - “turning on the second charging switch 150 connected to the charging port 160 connected to the electric vehicle among the 150”);
terminating the charging of the corresponding electric vehicle (page 4, line 1 - “detect whether the electric vehicle is fully charged and terminate the charging”); and
opening the corresponding open circuit connection switch of the corresponding DC/DC converter (page 3, 5th full paragraph - “selectively performing the on / off control of each of the second charging switch 150”).
Regarding claim 13. Lee discloses that the forming of the charging electric wire of the connection power grid (connection of line extending from terminal 160 to DC/DC converter 120) from the corresponding request power provision electric wire of the corresponding DC/DC converter to the corresponding charging adapter (FIG. 3 – switch 150 is arranged between wire directed to DC/DC converter 120 and the port 160) is performed earlier than the connecting of the corresponding open circuit connection switch (150’) of the corresponding DC/DC converter (120) (page 5, line 4 - “After selecting the charging port 160 connected to the input voltage value for charging the electric vehicle. The charging terminal 170 selects and turns on the second charging switch 150 and the charging side DC transformer 120 connected to the charging port 160” - the request being made before the connection is made).
Regarding claim 14. Lee discloses releasing the charging electric wire of the connection power grid up to the corresponding request power provision electric wire of the corresponding DC/DC converter and the corresponding charging adapter (FIG. 3 – when switch 150 is opened the connection to the request power provision electric wire is broken or “released”).
Regarding claim 15. Lee discloses that the opening of the corresponding open circuit connection switch (150’) of the corresponding DC/DC converter (120) is performed earlier than the releasing of the charging electric wire of the connection power grid up to the corresponding request power provision electric wire of the corresponding DC/DC converter and the corresponding charging adapter (FIG. 3 – when switch 150 is opened the connection to the request power provision electric wire is broken or “released” – in order to release the charging electric wire of the connection power grid, the connection switch 150’ must first be opened).
Regarding claim 17. Lee discloses that providing the charging wisher with information comprising a location of a charging space (page 4, line 10 - “the charging terminal 170 selects the charging port 160 connected to the electric vehicle through the key input unit 174, and the second charging switch of the second charging switch unit 150 ′ ( It is configured to supply power for charging to the electric vehicle by selecting and turning on the second charging switch 150 connected to the charging port 160 connected to the electric vehicle among the 150)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. KR20110113125A in view of Sugano US20110266996A1.
Regarding claim 3. Lee does not explicitly disclose any one or more of a new renewable generator and an energy storage system (ESS) as a power supply source.
Sugano discloses an energy storage system (ESS) as a power supply source (first power storing means 15; FIG. 1).
It would be obvious to provide the power supply of Sugano to the system of Lee in order to provide a means to supply or stop supplying pure DC power to the vehicle thus providing precise control of the charging voltage (¶92).
Regarding claim 7. Lee does not explicitly teach that the number of charging adapters is 2 to 30 times the maximum number of simultaneously chargeable electric vehicles.
Sugano teaches that the number of charging adapters (x4) is 2 to 30 times the maximum number of simultaneously chargeable electric vehicles (FIG. 1 depicts one rectifier 11 to supply power to four separate charging stands 21 each containing a switching means).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide additional adapters in order to be able to charge according to a vehicle type thus allowing for a broader use (¶98).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. KR20110113125A in view of Nakano et al. US20180147950A1
Regarding claim 16. Lee does not explicitly disclose that the charging wisher is able to deliver charging intention comprising a desired charging departure time, and although charging is completed prior to the desired charging departure time, an adaptor is in a state in which the adaptor has been connected to the electric vehicle.
Nakano discloses that the charging wisher is able to deliver charging intention comprising a desired charging departure time (¶52 – estimated charging time is determined based on the planned departure time), and although charging is completed prior to the desired charging departure time, an adaptor is in a state in which the adaptor has been connected to the electric vehicle (¶52 – when charging is complete the charger moves to the next vehicle without decoupling the vehicle from the charging port).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the planning of Nakano to the charging of Lee in order to provide appropriate charging within planned time periods (¶4),
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. KR20110113125A in view of Solomon et al. US20150202975A1.
Regarding claim 18. Lee does not explicitly disclose denying, by the charging system, charging when the charging intention of the charging wisher and suitability of the electric vehicle are mismatched by determining the charging intention and the suitability.
Solomon discloses denying, by the charging system, charging when the charging intention of the charging wisher and suitability of the electric vehicle are mismatched by determining the charging intention and the suitability (¶53 – network server 120 determines whether to grant or deny the charging session based on the identifier or credentials).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the denial of Solomon to the system of Lee in order to prevent incompatible charging which could damage either the charging system or the vehicle.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jung et al. KR101973782B1 discloses a 1: N charging system is being developed to solve the disadvantages of an existing charger that is limited to only one car in a charger for an electric vehicle and requires a private parking area.
Brombach et al. KR20200032173A discloses multiple charging adapters for a vehicle.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859