DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 04/20/2026 for response of the office actions mailed on 02/20/2026. Independent claims 1 and 14-16 are amended. No claims are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (2023/0284141), Li hereinafter, in view of Niu et al. (2024/0072973), Niu973 hereinafter.
Re. claims 1, 14 and 16, Li teaches a method (Fig.3/Fig. 6 & ¶0025/¶0050/¶0053/¶0081/¶0155) performed by a user equipment ("UE") (Fig. 9, 900), a processor (Fig. 9, 910) for wireless communication (Fig.2 ), comprising: at least one controller (Fig. 9, 910) coupled with at least one memory (Fig. 9, 909) and configured to cause the processor to, and a user equipment ("UE") (Fig. 9, 900) for wireless communication (Fig.2), comprising: at least one memory (Fig. 9, 909and at least one processor (Fig. 9, 910) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: receive, during a physical downlink control channel ("PDCCH") monitoring occasion, (Fig.6 & ¶0025 - the network side may send the first DCI to the terminal, instructing the terminal to switch to the target search space group and/or skip the PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3 & ¶0043 - Step 301: Receive first DCI, where the first DCI includes: a first indication. Fig. 3-6 & ¶0050 - the first indication includes a 2 bit, where values of the 2 bit may be “00,” “01,” “10,” and “11,” and three of these four values respectively indicate switching to the target search space group, skipping PDCCH monitoring, and switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring…. For example, bit fields of the 2 bit are: ‘00’ indicates switching to the target search space group, ‘01’ indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring, ‘10’ indicates switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-6 & ¶0052 – the first indication includes the 1 bit, which is used to indicate switching to the target search space group, and further includes the 2 bit, which is used to indicate a specific target search space group index….the first indication includes the 1 bit, which is used to indicate skipping PDCCH monitoring, and further includes the 2 bit, which is used to indicate how to specifically skip PDCCH monitoring (including a type of skipping PDCCH monitoring or duration of skipping PDCCH monitoring <i.e., skipping duration as indicated by the network>, and the like).Fig. 3-6 & ¶0053 - the first DCI further includes a second indication, where the second indication is used to indicate a first time interval (for example, duration), and the terminal may determine a PDCCH monitoring behavior within the first time interval and/or after the first time interval based on the first DCI. Fig. 6 & ¶0081 - in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0106 - an interval between the effective moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an effective delay of the first indication, or an interval between the application moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an application delay of the first indication. Fig. 6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 6 is reproduced next to support the aforesaid disclosure,); and cease monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets for the defined duration at least after an elapse of an application delay, in response to the PDCCH skipping indication indicating PDCCH skipping for the group of search space sets (Fig. 6 & ¶0081 - in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0106 - an interval between the effective moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an effective delay of the first indication, or an interval between the application moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an application delay of the first indication. Fig. 6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 6 is reproduced next to support the aforesaid disclosure, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at least at pages 10-11 of remarks as submitted on 12/22/2025).
Yet, Li does not expressly teach a PDCCH including downlink control information ("DCI") that comprises an indication that indicates skipping of PDCCH monitoring for a group of search space sets for duration selected by the DCI from a plurality of skipping durations pre-configured on the UE via higher layer signaling prior to receipt of the DCI;
However, in the analogous art, Niu973 explicitly discloses a PDCCH including downlink control information ("DCI") that comprises an indication that indicates skipping of PDCCH monitoring for a group of search space sets for duration selected by the DCI from a plurality of skipping durations pre-configured on the UE via higher layer signaling prior to receipt of the DCI; (Fig. 1-13 & ¶0022 - present disclosure relate to providing a unified signaling technique for adaptive PDCCH search space monitoring. This signaling can indicate either one or a combination of the switching and skipping. In an example, the signaling includes multiple parts. In a first part, radio resource control (RRC) signaling is sent from the network to the device to configure the device for switching only, skipping only, or switching and skipping. The resulting configurations can be referred to herein as “PDCCH monitoring configurations.” In a second part, first DCI is sent from the network to the device to indicate the particular PDCCH monitoring configuration to use for the PDCCH search space monitoring. Fig. 1-13 & ¶0052 - Signaling between the base station and the UE is needed to indicate the monitoring periodicity and/or the number of slots to skip…. RRC information and DCI are used for the signaling such that the signaling can allow adaptive PDCCH monitoring, with little or no increase to the signaling overhead. In particular, the RRC information can include a candidate set of PDCCH monitoring configurations, each PDCCH monitoring configuration being a switching configuration or a skipping configuration (i.e., a switching configuration only, a skipping configuration only, or a combination of a switching configuration and a skipping configuration). Generally, a PDCCH configuration is a configuration that is set-up for the UE by the base station via RRC signaling and can be referred to herein also as an “RRC configuration” to indicate the RRC nature of the set-up. …. A skipping configuration indicates a specific number of slots to skip from the set of {4, 8, 12, 16} slots. DCI information can include the particular PDCCH monitoring configuration(s) to use from the set. For example, the DCI information can indicate that a monitoring periodicity of two slots and/or eight slots to skip. For instance, the DCI can include bits, whereby the combination of bit values indicates the PDCCH monitoring configuration(s) (e.g., two DCI bits are used, whereby “1 1” indicate the two-slot monitoring periodicity and/or the eight skip slots. Fig. 1-13 & ¶0063 - The RRC message or another RRC message can be used to also configure the UE 520 about PDCCH monitoring configurations that are usable in the adaptive PDCCH monitoring when c-DRX is configured. These PDCCH monitoring configurations represent a candidate set of switching and/or skipping configurations. In particular, each PDCCH monitoring configuration from this set represents a candidate switching configuration or skipping configuration that can be used. A switching configuration indicates a specific monitoring periodicity (e.g., a switching period), whereas a skipping configuration indicates a specific number of slots to skip (e.g., a skipping window). As such, the PDCCH monitoring configurations configure the UE 520 to, for instance, use {1, 2, 4} slots for switching and/or {8, 12} slots for skipping,).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Niu973’s invention of a system and a method for providing adaptive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving data transmission speed, reliability, along with power saving aspects for a user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network. (¶0002, Niu973)
Re. claim 15, Li teaches a base station (Fig. 10) for wireless communication (Fig. 2), comprising: at least one memory (Fig 10, 1005); and at least one processor (Fig. 10, 1004) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to: transmit, during a physical downlink control channel ("PDCCH") monitoring occasion, (Fig.6 & ¶0025 - the network side may send the first DCI to the terminal, instructing the terminal to switch to the target search space group and/or skip the PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3 & ¶0043 - Step 301: Receive first DCI, where the first DCI includes: a first indication. Fig. 3-6 & ¶0050 - the first indication includes a 2 bit, where values of the 2 bit may be “00,” “01,” “10,” and “11,” and three of these four values respectively indicate switching to the target search space group, skipping PDCCH monitoring, and switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring…. For example, bit fields of the 2 bit are: ‘00’ indicates switching to the target search space group, ‘01’ indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring, ‘10’ indicates switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-6 & ¶0052 – the first indication includes the 1 bit, which is used to indicate switching to the target search space group, and further includes the 2 bit, which is used to indicate a specific target search space group index….the first indication includes the 1 bit, which is used to indicate skipping PDCCH monitoring, and further includes the 2 bit, which is used to indicate how to specifically skip PDCCH monitoring (including a type of skipping PDCCH monitoring or duration of skipping PDCCH monitoring <i.e., skipping duration as indicated by the network>, and the like).Fig. 3-6 & ¶0053 - the first DCI further includes a second indication, where the second indication is used to indicate a first time interval (for example, duration), and the terminal may determine a PDCCH monitoring behavior within the first time interval and/or after the first time interval based on the first DCI. Fig. 6 & ¶0081 - in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0106 - an interval between the effective moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an effective delay of the first indication, or an interval between the application moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an application delay of the first indication. Fig. 6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 6 is reproduced next to support the aforesaid disclosure); and cease transmitting PDCCH for the group of search space sets for the defined duration at least after an elapse of an application delay, in response to transmitting the PDCCH skipping indication indicating PDCCH skipping for the group of search space sets (Fig. 6 & ¶0081 - in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0106 - an interval between the effective moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an effective delay of the first indication, or an interval between the application moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an application delay of the first indication. Fig. 6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 6 is reproduced next to support the aforesaid disclosure, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at least at pages 10-11 of remarks as submitted on 12/22/2025).
Yet, Li does not expressly teach a PDCCH including downlink control information ("DCI") that comprises an indication that indicates skipping of PDCCH monitoring for a group of search space sets for duration selected by the DCI from a plurality of skipping durations pre-configured on the UE via higher layer signaling prior to receipt of the DCI;
However, in the analogous art, Niu973 explicitly discloses a PDCCH including downlink control information ("DCI") that comprises an indication that indicates skipping of PDCCH monitoring for a group of search space sets for duration selected by the DCI from a plurality of skipping durations pre-configured on the UE via higher layer signaling prior to receipt of the DCI; (Fig. 1-13 & ¶0022 - present disclosure relate to providing a unified signaling technique for adaptive PDCCH search space monitoring. This signaling can indicate either one or a combination of the switching and skipping. In an example, the signaling includes multiple parts. In a first part, radio resource control (RRC) signaling is sent from the network to the device to configure the device for switching only, skipping only, or switching and skipping. The resulting configurations can be referred to herein as “PDCCH monitoring configurations.” In a second part, first DCI is sent from the network to the device to indicate the particular PDCCH monitoring configuration to use for the PDCCH search space monitoring. Fig. 1-13 & ¶0052 - Signaling between the base station and the UE is needed to indicate the monitoring periodicity and/or the number of slots to skip…. RRC information and DCI are used for the signaling such that the signaling can allow adaptive PDCCH monitoring, with little or no increase to the signaling overhead. In particular, the RRC information can include a candidate set of PDCCH monitoring configurations, each PDCCH monitoring configuration being a switching configuration or a skipping configuration (i.e., a switching configuration only, a skipping configuration only, or a combination of a switching configuration and a skipping configuration). Generally, a PDCCH configuration is a configuration that is set-up for the UE by the base station via RRC signaling and can be referred to herein also as an “RRC configuration” to indicate the RRC nature of the set-up. …. A skipping configuration indicates a specific number of slots to skip from the set of {4, 8, 12, 16} slots. DCI information can include the particular PDCCH monitoring configuration(s) to use from the set. For example, the DCI information can indicate that a monitoring periodicity of two slots and/or eight slots to skip. For instance, the DCI can include bits, whereby the combination of bit values indicates the PDCCH monitoring configuration(s) (e.g., two DCI bits are used, whereby “1 1” indicate the two-slot monitoring periodicity and/or the eight skip slots. Fig. 1-13 & ¶0063 - The RRC message or another RRC message can be used to also configure the UE 520 about PDCCH monitoring configurations that are usable in the adaptive PDCCH monitoring when c-DRX is configured. These PDCCH monitoring configurations represent a candidate set of switching and/or skipping configurations. In particular, each PDCCH monitoring configuration from this set represents a candidate switching configuration or skipping configuration that can be used. A switching configuration indicates a specific monitoring periodicity (e.g., a switching period), whereas a skipping configuration indicates a specific number of slots to skip (e.g., a skipping window). As such, the PDCCH monitoring configurations configure the UE 520 to, for instance, use {1, 2, 4} slots for switching and/or {8, 12} slots for skipping,).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Niu973’s invention of a system and a method for providing adaptive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving data transmission speed, reliability, along with power saving aspects for a user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network. (¶0002, Niu973)
Re. Claims 2 and 17, Li and Niu973 teach claims 1 and 16.
Li further teaches cease monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets upon the elapse of the application delay after an end of PDCCH reception that comprises the PDCCH skipping indication. (Fig. 6 & ¶0081 - in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0106 - an interval between the effective moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an effective delay of the first indication, or an interval between the application moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an application delay of the first indication. Fig. 6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring).
Re. Claims 3 and 18, Li and Niu973 teach claims 1 and 16.
Li further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to cease monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets upon the elapse of the application delay after an end of the PDCCH monitoring occasion where the PDCCH skipping indication is received. (Fig. 6 & ¶0081 - in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0106 - an interval between the effective moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an effective delay of the first indication, or an interval between the application moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an application delay of the first indication. Fig. 6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring).
Re. Claims 4 and 19, Li and Niu973 teach claims 1 and 16.
Li further teaches the PDCCH skipping indication indicating the PDCCH skipping for the group of search space sets (Fig. 6 & ¶0081 - in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0106 - an interval between the effective moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an effective delay of the first indication, or an interval between the application moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an application delay of the first indication. Fig. 6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring);
Yet, Li does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to cease monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets according to a timer in response to: no active UE-specific search space set not comprising the group of search space sets.
However, in the analogous art, Niu973 explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to cease monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets according to a timer in response to: no active UE-specific search space set not comprising the group of search space sets. (Fig. 1-13 & ¶0050 - A search space can be a common search space (CSS) or a UE-specific search space (USS), generally referred to herein as PDCCH search spaces. Fig. 5-6/Fig.10-13 & ¶0108: ¶0109 - FIGS. 11-13 illustrate examples of timer-based update for adaptive PDCCH search space monitoring …. Timer is mainly used for the case where there is no DL or UL scheduling. In comparison to FIG. 10, rather than using second non-scheduling DCI to indicate an updated PDCCH monitoring configuration, a timer is used such that the UE can automatically determine the updated PDCCH monitoring configuration. The value of the timer can be indicated via RRC signaling (e.g., in RRC ConnectionReconfiguration and/or RRC Connection Setup) or can be pre-programmed in logic or program code of the UE based on a predefined configuration (e.g., as set in an NR wireless standard). FIG. 11 illustrates an example of timer-based update 1100 for adaptive PDCCH search space monitoring in accordance with some embodiments. Here, the DCI triggers skipping (e.g., the first DCI indicates the skipping configuration 1004, as in FIG. 10). Subsequently, the expiration of the timer triggers a renewal of the skipping. …. a longer skipping window can be used, whereby the next longest skipping window can be selected from the candidate set of skipping configurations.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Niu973’s invention of a system and a method for providing adaptive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving data transmission speed, reliability, along with power saving aspects for a user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network. (¶0002, Niu973)
Re. Claim 6, Li and Niu973 teach claim 1.
Li further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: determine a first plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions and a second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions; detect a first power-saving PDCCH on a first PDCCH monitoring occasion of the first plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions (Fig. 6 & ¶0081 - in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring);
Yet, Li does not expressly teach determine whether to monitor a power-saving PDCCH on at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions based on the detected first power-saving PDCCH; detect a second power-saving PDCCH on a second PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions, in response to determining to monitor the power-saving PDCCH on the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions; and receive the PDCCH skipping indication by starting monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets in response to detecting the second power-saving PDCCH.
However, in the analogous art, Niu973 explicitly discloses determine whether to monitor a power-saving PDCCH on at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions based on the detected first power-saving PDCCH; detect a second power-saving PDCCH on a second PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions, in response to determining to monitor the power-saving PDCCH on the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions; and receive the PDCCH skipping indication by starting monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets in response to detecting the second power-saving PDCCH. (Fig. 10 & ¶0021 - A proposal aimed to increase the power saving for a connected mode DRX (c-DRX) includes switching the PDCCH search space monitoring from every slot to slot intervals (e.g., every two slots). Another proposal aimed to increase the power saving for c-DRX includes skipping the PDCCH search space monitoring by a certain slot interval (e.g., no PDCCH search space monitoring is performed during twelve consecutive slots). Fig. 10 & ¶0022 - present disclosure relate to providing a unified signaling technique for adaptive PDCCH search space monitoring. This signaling can indicate either one or a combination of the switching and skipping. Fig. 10 & ¶0104 - Second DCI, subsequent to the first one, can be received to indicate an updated PDCCH monitoring configuration to use for the adaptive PDCCH monitoring. The updated PDCCH monitoring configuration can be of the same type indicated in the first DCI (e.g., the second DCI indicates an updated switching configuration, whereas the first DCI indicated the switching configuration 1002) or of a different type (e.g., the second DCI indicates the skipping configuration 1004, whereas the first DCI indicated the switching configuration 1002). For illustrative purposes, FIG. 10 shows that the second DCI indicates the same type of PDCCH monitoring configuration as the first one. Fig. 10 & ¶0106 - the first DCI indicates the skipping configuration 1004 and is detected in a PDCCH search space within a slot during an on duration of a DRX cycle. Its bits indicate the skipping window from a candidate set of skipping configurations signaled in an RRC message. The second DCI is received after the expiration of the skipping window and indicates an updated skipping configuration. This DCI is also detected in a PDCCH search space within a slot during an on duration of a DRX cycle. In the illustration of FIG. 10, the updated skipping configuration has a relatively shorter skipping window, although a longer skipping window can be used depending on the traffic (e.g., denser traffic can result in a shorter skipping window, and sparser traffic can result in a longer skipping window). Fig. 10 & ¶0107 - the first DCI indicates the switching configuration and skipping configuration 1006 and is detected in a PDCCH search space within a slot during an on duration of a DRX cycle. Its bits indicate the switching period and the skipping window from a candidate set of skipping configurations signaled in an RRC message. In the illustration of FIG. 10, the PDCCH monitoring is not performed during the skipping window within an on duration of a DRX cycle and is performed at the switching period during the on duration or another on duration. The second DCI is subsequently received and indicates an updated switching configuration and/or skipping configuration. This DCI is also detected in a PDCCH search space within a slot during an on duration of a DRX cycle. In the illustration of FIG. 10, the updated skipping configuration has a relatively longer switching period and a longer skipping window, although a different combination of switching period and skipping window can be used.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Niu973’s invention of a system and a method for providing adaptive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving data transmission speed, reliability, along with power saving aspects for a user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network. (¶0002, Niu973)
Re. Claim 7, Li and Niu973 teach claim 6.
Yet, Li does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to : receive a first configuration information associated with a first type of power- saving PDCCH; and receive a second configuration information associated with a second type of power-saving PDCCH, wherein the first type of power-saving PDCCH is monitored on the first plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions and the second type of power-saving PDCCH is monitored on the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions.
However, in the analogous art, Niu973 explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to : receive a first configuration information associated with a first type of power- saving PDCCH ; and receive a second configuration information associated with a second type of power-saving PDCCH, wherein the first type of power-saving PDCCH is monitored on the first plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions and the second type of power-saving PDCCH is monitored on the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions. (Fig. 10 & ¶0021 - A proposal aimed to increase the power saving for a connected mode DRX (c-DRX) includes switching the PDCCH search space monitoring from every slot to slot intervals (e.g., every two slots). Another proposal aimed to increase the power saving for c-DRX includes skipping the PDCCH search space monitoring by a certain slot interval (e.g., no PDCCH search space monitoring is performed during twelve consecutive slots). Fig. 10 & ¶0022 - present disclosure relate to providing a unified signaling technique for adaptive PDCCH search space monitoring. This signaling can indicate either one or a combination of the switching and skipping. Fig. 10 & ¶0104 – FIG. 10 illustrates an example of DCI-based update for adaptive PDCCH search space monitoring in accordance with some embodiments. First DCI is used to indicate a first PDCCH monitoring configuration to use for the adaptive PDCCH monitoring, where this first PDCCH monitoring configuration can be…a skipping configuration only 1004, or a switching configuration and a skipping configuration 1006. Second DCI, subsequent to the first one, can be received to indicate an updated PDCCH monitoring configuration to use for the adaptive PDCCH monitoring. The updated PDCCH monitoring configuration can be of the same type indicated in the first DCI (e.g., the second DCI indicates an updated switching configuration, whereas the first DCI indicated the switching configuration 1002) or of a different type (e.g., the second DCI indicates the skipping configuration 1004, whereas the first DCI indicated the switching configuration 1002). For illustrative purposes, FIG. 10 shows that the second DCI indicates the same type of PDCCH monitoring configuration as the first one. Fig. 10 & ¶0106 - the first DCI indicates the skipping configuration 1004 and is detected in a PDCCH search space within a slot during an on duration of a DRX cycle. Its bits indicate the skipping window from a candidate set of skipping configurations signaled in an RRC message. The second DCI is received after the expiration of the skipping window and indicates an updated skipping configuration. This DCI is also detected in a PDCCH search space within a slot during an on duration of a DRX cycle. In the illustration of FIG. 10, the updated skipping configuration has a relatively shorter skipping window, although a longer skipping window can be used depending on the traffic (e.g., denser traffic can result in a shorter skipping window, and sparser traffic can result in a longer skipping window). Fig. 10 & ¶0107 - the first DCI indicates the switching configuration and skipping configuration 1006 and is detected in a PDCCH search space within a slot during an on duration of a DRX cycle. Its bits indicate the switching period and the skipping window from a candidate set of skipping configurations signaled in an RRC message. In the illustration of FIG. 10, the PDCCH monitoring is not performed during the skipping window within an on duration of a DRX cycle and is performed at the switching period during the on duration or another on duration. The second DCI is subsequently received and indicates an updated switching configuration and/or skipping configuration. This DCI is also detected in a PDCCH search space within a slot during an on duration of a DRX cycle. In the illustration of FIG. 10, the updated skipping configuration has a relatively longer switching period and a longer skipping window, although a different combination of switching period and skipping window can be used.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Niu973’s invention of a system and a method for providing adaptive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving data transmission speed, reliability, along with power saving aspects for a user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network. (¶0002, Niu973)
Re. Claim 12, Li and Niu973 teach claim 6.
Yet, Li does not expressly teach wherein the first PDCCH monitoring occasion is within a first DRX cycle and the second PDCCH monitoring occasion is within a second DRX cycle, the first DRX cycle occurring prior to the second DRX cycle.
However, in the analogous art, Niu973 explicitly discloses wherein the first PDCCH monitoring occasion is within a first DRX cycle and the second PDCCH monitoring occasion is within a second DRX cycle, the first DRX cycle occurring prior to the second DRX cycle. (Fig. 10 & ¶0105 - the first DCI indicates the switching configuration 1002 and is detected in a PDCCH search space within a slot during an on duration of a DRX cycle. Its bits indicate the switching period from a candidate set of switching configurations signaled in an RRC message. This switching period can remain in effect across different DRX cycles until the second DCI is received and indicates the updated switching configuration. In the illustration of FIG. 10, the updated switching configuration has a shorter switching period relative to the switching configuration 1002, although a longer switching period can be used depending on the traffic (e.g., denser traffic can result in a shorter switching period, and sparser traffic can result in a longer switching period). Fig. 10 & ¶0106 - the first DCI indicates the skipping configuration 1004 and is detected in a PDCCH search space within a slot during an on duration of a DRX cycle. Its bits indicate the skipping window from a candidate set of skipping configurations signaled in an RRC message. The second DCI is received after the expiration of the skipping window and indicates an updated skipping configuration. This DCI is also detected in a PDCCH search space within a slot during an on duration of a DRX cycle. In the illustration of FIG. 10, the updated skipping configuration has a relatively shorter skipping window, although a longer skipping window can be used depending on the traffic (e.g., denser traffic can result in a shorter skipping window, and sparser traffic can result in a longer skipping window). Fig. 10 & ¶0107 - the first DCI indicates the switching configuration and skipping configuration 1006 and is detected in a PDCCH search space within a slot during an on duration of a DRX cycle. Its bits indicate the switching period and the skipping window from a candidate set of skipping configurations signaled in an RRC message. In the illustration of FIG. 10, the PDCCH monitoring is not performed during the skipping window within an on duration of a DRX cycle and is performed at the switching period during the on duration or another on duration. The second DCI is subsequently received and indicates an updated switching configuration and/or skipping configuration. This DCI is also detected in a PDCCH search space within a slot during an on duration of a DRX cycle. In the illustration of FIG. 10, the updated skipping configuration has a relatively longer switching period and a longer skipping window, although a different combination of switching period and skipping window can be used)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Niu973’s invention of a system and a method for providing adaptive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving data transmission speed, reliability, along with power saving aspects for a user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network. (¶0002, Niu973)
Re. Claim 13, Li and Niu973 teach claim 12.
Yet, Li does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to further determine whether to start a DRX ON duration timer associated with the second DRX cycle based on the detected second power-saving PDCCH.
However, in the analogous art, Shi explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to further determine whether to start a DRX ON duration timer associated with the second DRX cycle based on the detected second power-saving PDCCH. (Fig. 11-13 & ¶0021 - A proposal aimed to increase the power saving for a connected mode DRX (c-DRX) includes switching the PDCCH search space monitoring from every slot to slot intervals (e.g., every two slots). Another proposal aimed to increase the power saving for c-DRX includes skipping the PDCCH search space monitoring by a certain slot interval (e.g., no PDCCH search space monitoring is performed during twelve consecutive slots). Fig. 11-13 & & ¶0022 - present disclosure relate to providing a unified signaling technique for adaptive PDCCH search space monitoring. This signaling can indicate either one or a combination of the switching and skipping. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0108 - FIGS. 11-13 illustrate examples of timer-based update for adaptive PDCCH search space monitoring in accordance with some embodiments. Timer is mainly used for the case where there is no DL or UL scheduling. In comparison to FIG. 10, rather than using second non-scheduling DCI to indicate an updated PDCCH monitoring configuration, a timer is used such that the UE can automatically determine the updated PDCCH monitoring configuration. The value of the timer can be indicated via RRC signaling. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0109 - FIG. 11 illustrates an example of timer-based update 1100 for adaptive PDCCH search space monitoring …Here, the DCI triggers skipping (e.g., the first DCI indicates the skipping configuration 1004, as in FIG. 10). Subsequently, the expiration of the timer triggers a renewal of the skipping. Although the renewal is shown as re-using the same length for the skipping window, …. a longer skipping window can be used, whereby the next longest skipping window can be selected from the candidate set of skipping configurations. Fig. 11-13 & ¶0110 - PDCCH monitoring is performed with a switching periodicity (e.g., every one slot). DCI is detected and indicates the skipping window. Accordingly, a number of slots during the one duration are skipped. From the end of the skipping window, the UE starts a timer and resumes the PDCCH monitoring at the same switching period or at a different switching period (FIG. 11 illustrates a longer switching period). If a different switching period is used, it can be indicated in the same DCI that triggered the skipping. The PDCCH monitoring continues until the expiration of the timer (e.g., the timer has a configured value, and a countdown is performed using the configured value as the countdown starting value). If no DCI is detected while the timer is running, the UE can re-start the skipping during the on duration. If DCI is detected while the timer is running, the UE resets the timer and restarts counting. This type of skipping, followed by an attempt to detect DCI at a particular switching periodicity can be repeated for the remaining length of the on duration and during one or more on durations of one or more other DRX cycles.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Niu973’s invention of a system and a method for providing adaptive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving data transmission speed, reliability, along with power saving aspects for a user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network. (¶0002, Niu973)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Niu973’s invention of a system and a method for providing adaptive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving data transmission speed, reliability, along with power saving aspects for a user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network. (¶0002, Niu973)
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Niu973, further in view of Niu et al. (2022/0312463), Niu463 hereinafter.
Re. Claims 5 and 20, Li and Niu973 teach claims 4 and 19.
Yet, Li does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: for downlink DCI of the group of search space sets, cease monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets upon expiration of the timer,
However, in the analogous art, Niu973 explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: for downlink DCI of the group of search space sets, cease monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets upon expiration of the timer, (Fig. 1-13 & ¶0050 - A search space can be a common search space (CSS) or a UE-specific search space (USS), generally referred to herein as PDCCH search spaces. Fig. 5-6/Fig.10-13 & ¶0108: ¶0109 - FIGS. 11-13 illustrate examples of timer-based update for adaptive PDCCH search space monitoring …. Timer is mainly used for the case where there is no DL or UL scheduling. In comparison to FIG. 10, rather than using second non-scheduling DCI to indicate an updated PDCCH monitoring configuration, a timer is used such that the UE can automatically determine the updated PDCCH monitoring configuration. The value of the timer can be indicated via RRC signaling (e.g., in RRC ConnectionReconfiguration and/or RRC Connection Setup) or can be pre-programmed in logic or program code of the UE based on a predefined configuration (e.g., as set in an NR wireless standard). FIG. 11 illustrates an example of timer-based update 1100 for adaptive PDCCH search space monitoring in accordance with some embodiments. Here, the DCI triggers skipping (e.g., the first DCI indicates the skipping configuration 1004, as in FIG. 10). Subsequently, the expiration of the timer triggers a renewal of the skipping. …. a longer skipping window can be used, whereby the next longest skipping window can be selected from the candidate set of skipping configurations.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Niu973’s invention of a system and a method for providing adaptive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving data transmission speed, reliability, along with power saving aspects for a user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network. (¶0002, Niu973)
Yet, Li and Niu973 do not expressly teach the timer comprising a downlink discontinuous reception retransmission timer; and for uplink control information of the group of search space sets, cease monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets upon expiration of the timer, the timer comprising an uplink discontinuous reception retransmission timer.
However, in the analogous art, Niu463 explicitly discloses the timer comprising a downlink discontinuous reception retransmission timer (¶0036 - a network node and a UE use search space set group switching to change PDCCH monitoring behavior. In some embodiments, a network node and a UE use PDCCH skipping to change PDCCH monitoring behavior. For example, the network node may indicate to the UE to monitor PDCCH or to skip monitoring PDCCH. Fig. 4 & ¶0066 - UE may apply PDCCH monitoring skipping 402 right after DRX-retransmissionTimerDL 404 is expired. The DRX-retransmissionTimerDL 404 is per HARQ processes.); and for uplink control information of the group of search space sets, cease monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets upon expiration of the timer, the timer comprising an uplink discontinuous reception retransmission timer (¶0036 - a network node and a UE use search space set group switching to change PDCCH monitoring behavior. In some embodiments, a network node and a UE use PDCCH skipping to change PDCCH monitoring behavior. For example, the network node may indicate to the UE to monitor PDCCH or to skip monitoring PDCCH. Fig. 7A-7B & ¶0074 - FIG. 7A illustrates applying the PDCCH monitoring skipping 704 after a drx-retransmissionTimerUL 702 expires when the uplink timeline includes an ACK message according to some embodiments. As shown, the network node transmits the scheduling DCI with skipping indication. The UE receives and processes the scheduling DCI. The UE keeps monitoring while the drx-retransmissionTimerUL 702 is running and applies the PDCCH monitoring skipping 704 when the timer expires.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system and Niu973’s invention of a system and a method for providing adaptive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network to include to include Niu463’s invention of a system and a method for adapting physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring behaviors in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption of a user equipment (UE) by employing enhanced power saving technique for the UE to reduce or alter monitoring periods for the UE operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network.(¶0035, Niu463)
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Niu973, further in view of Tsai et al. (2022/0150946), Tsai hereinafter.
Re. Claim 8, Li and Niu973 teach claim 7.
Yet, Li and Niu973 do not expressly teach wherein: the first configuration comprises at least one selected from a group comprising a first power saving-radio network temporary identifier ("PS-RNTI"), a first at least one search space set, a first payload size of the first type of power- saving PDCCH, a first starting position of an assigned block in DCI, and a time offset; and the second configuration comprises at least one selected from a group comprising a second power saving-radio network temporary identifier ("PS-RNTI"), a second at least one search space set, a second payload size of the second type of power-saving PDCCH, and a second starting position of an assigned block in DCI.
However, in the analogous art, Tsai explicitly discloses wherein: the first configuration comprises at least one selected from a group comprising a first power saving-radio network temporary identifier ("PS-RNTI"), a first at least one search space set, a first payload size of the first type of power- saving PDCCH, a first starting position of an assigned block in DCI, and a time offset; and the second configuration comprises at least one selected from a group comprising a second power saving-radio network temporary identifier ("PS-RNTI"), a second at least one search space set, a second payload size of the second type of power-saving PDCCH, and a second starting position of an assigned block in DCI.(Fig. 1-11 & ¶0079 - first SS sets in a first SSG may be a sparse PDCCH monitoring, and second SS sets in a second SSG may be a frequent (or dense) PDCCH monitoring. In some implementations, the first SS sets in the first SSG may also be a dense PDCCH monitoring while the second SS sets in the second SSG may be a sparse PDCCH monitoring. In some implementations, the first SS sets in the first SSG and the second SS sets in the second SSG may be associated with different SS configurations (e.g., indicated by different SS indexes). In some implementations, the first SS sets in the first SSG and the second SS sets in the second SSG may be associated with the same SS configuration but with different parameters, such as different monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset, duration, monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot, …. one of the first SSG and the second SSG may be an SSG specified for power saving purpose (e.g., a power saving SSG, a dormant SSG, and/or an empty SSG). Fig. 1-11 & ¶0167 - a UE may be provided, by searchSpaceSwitchingTimer-r16, a timer value for a serving cell that the UE is provided by the searchSpaceGroupIdList-r16 or, if provided, for a set of serving cells provided by the searchSpaceSwitchingGroupList-r16. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0175 - a UE may determine a slot and a symbol in the slot to start or stop PDCCH monitoring according to search space sets for a serving cell where the UE is provided searchSpaceGroupIdList-r16 or, if searchSpaceSwitchingGroupList-r16 is provided, for a set of serving cells, and based on the smallest SCS configuration μ among all configured DL BWPs in the serving cell or in the set of serving cells and, if any, in the serving cell where the UE receives a PDCCH and detects a corresponding DCI format 2_0 triggering the start or stop of PDCCH monitoring according to search space sets. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0176:¶0190 - a UE configured with DRX mode operation [11, TS 38.321] may be provided the following for detection of a DCI format 2_6 in a PDCCH reception on the PCell or on the SpCell [12, TS 38.331]: a PS-RNTI for DCI format 2_6 by ps-RNTI; a number of search space sets, by dci-Format 2-6, to monitor PDCCH for detection of DCI format 2_6 on the active DL BWP of the PCell or of the SpCell according to a common search space as described in Clause 10.1; a payload size for DCI format 2_6 by sizeDCI_2-6; a location in DCI format 2_6 of a wake-up indication bit by psPositionDCI-2-6; a value of “0” for a wake-up indication bit, when reported to higher layers, indicates to not start a drx-onDurationTimer for the next long DRX cycle [11, TS 38.321]; a value of “1” for a wake-up indication bit, when reported to higher layers, indicates to start a drx-onDurationTimer for the next long DRX cycle [11, TS 38.321]; …. an offset by ps-Offset indicating a time, where the UE starts monitoring PDCCH for detection of DCI format 2_6 according to the number of search space sets, prior to a slot where the drx-onDurationTimer would start on the PCell or on the SpCell [11, TS 38.321]; for each search space set, the PDCCH monitoring occasions may be the ones in the first Ts slots indicated by duration, or Ts=1 slot if duration is not provided, starting from the first slot of the first T_“s” slots and ending prior to the start of drx-onDurationTimer. The aforesaid disclosures <i.e., ¶0176: ¶0190 > by Tsai, is similar to instant application, at least in ¶0175. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0221 - DCI format 2_6 may be used for notifying power saving information outside a DRX Active Time for one or more UEs. Block number 1, block number 2, . . . , block number N may be transmitted by means of the DCI format 2_6 with CRC scrambled by PS-RNTI, where the starting position of a block is determined by the parameter ps-PositionDCI-2-6 provided by higher layers for the UE configured with the block.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system and Niu973’s invention of a system and a method for providing adaptive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network to include to include Tsai’s invention of a system and a method for search space group switching by a user equipment (UE) operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in switching between search space (SS) groups by a user equipment (UE) in reducing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring which results in efficiency in power saving for the user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network.(¶0002, Tsai)
Re. Claim 9, Li, Niu973, and Tsai teach claim 8.
Yet, Li and Niu973 do not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a discontinuous reception ("DRX") configuration, the DRX configuration comprising a set of DRX ON duration timer values and a set of configurations where each configuration indicates whether to start an associated DRX ON duration timer based on the set of DRX ON duration timer values when a corresponding power-saving PDCCH is monitored, but not detected.
However, in the analogous art, Tsai explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a discontinuous reception ("DRX") configuration, the DRX configuration comprising a set of DRX ON duration timer values and a set of configurations where each configuration indicates whether to start an associated DRX ON duration timer based on the set of DRX ON duration timer values when a corresponding power-saving PDCCH is monitored, but not detected. (Fig. 1-11 & ¶0190 : ¶0191 - an offset by ps-Offset indicating a time, where the UE starts monitoring PDCCH for detection of DCI format 2_6 according to the number of search space sets, prior to a slot where the drx-onDurationTimer would start on the PCell or on the SpCell [11, TS 38.321]; for each search space set, the PDCCH monitoring occasions may be the ones in the first Ts slots indicated by duration, or Ts=1 slot if duration is not provided, starting from the first slot of the first T_“s” slots and ending prior to the start of drx-onDurationTimer. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0192 - on PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with a same long DRX Cycle, a UE may not expect to detect more than one DCI format 2_6 with different values of the wake-up indication bit for the UE or with different values of the bitmap for the UE. The UE may not monitor PDCCH for detecting DCI format 2_6 during Active Time [11, TS 38.321]. … if a UE reports for an active DL BWP a requirement of X slots prior to the beginning of a slot where the UE would start the drx-onDurationTimer, the UE may not be required to monitor PDCCH for detection of DCI format 2_6 during the X slots, where X corresponds to the requirement of the SCS of the active DL BWP in Table 10.3-1. <see snapshot next>. The aforesaid disclosures by Tsai, is similar to instant application, at least in ¶0175)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system and Niu973’s invention of a system and a method for providing adaptive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network to include to include Tsai’s invention of a system and a method for search space group switching by a user equipment (UE) operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in switching between search space (SS) groups by a user equipment (UE) in reducing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring which results in efficiency in power saving for the user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network.(¶0002, Tsai)
Re. Claim 10, Li, Niu973, and Tsai teach claim 9.
Yet, Li and Niu973 do not expressly teach wherein the set of DRX ON duration timer values comprises a first DRX ON duration timer value associated with the first plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions and a second DRX ON duration timer value associated with the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions.
However, in the analogous art, Tsai explicitly discloses wherein the set of DRX ON duration timer values comprises a first DRX ON duration timer value associated with the first plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions and a second DRX ON duration timer value associated with the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions. (Fig. 1-11 & ¶0176:¶0190 - a UE configured with DRX mode operation [11, TS 38.321] may be provided the following for detection of a DCI format 2_6 in a PDCCH reception on the PCell or on the SpCell [12, TS 38.331]: a PS-RNTI for DCI format 2_6 by ps-RNTI; a number of search space sets, by dci-Format 2-6, to monitor PDCCH for detection of DCI format 2_6 on the active DL BWP of the PCell or of the SpCell according to a common search space as described in Clause 10.1; a payload size for DCI format 2_6 by sizeDCI_2-6; a location in DCI format 2_6 of a wake-up indication bit by psPositionDCI-2-6; a value of “0” for a wake-up indication bit, when reported to higher layers, indicates to not start a drx-onDurationTimer for the next long DRX cycle [11, TS 38.321]; a value of “1” for a wake-up indication bit, when reported to higher layers, indicates to start a drx-onDurationTimer for the next long DRX cycle [11, TS 38.321]; …. an offset by ps-Offset indicating a time, where the UE starts monitoring PDCCH for detection of DCI format 2_6 according to the number of search space sets, prior to a slot where the drx-onDurationTimer would start on the PCell or on the SpCell [11, TS 38.321]; for each search space set, the PDCCH monitoring occasions may be the ones in the first Ts slots indicated by duration, or Ts=1 slot if duration is not provided, starting from the first slot of the first T_“s” slots and ending prior to the start of drx-onDurationTimer. The aforesaid disclosures <i.e., ¶0176: ¶0190 > by Tsai, is similar to instant application, at least in ¶0175. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0192 - on PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with a same long DRX Cycle, a UE may not expect to detect more than one DCI format 2_6 with different values of the wake-up indication bit for the UE or with different values of the bitmap for the UE. The UE may not monitor PDCCH for detecting DCI format 2_6 during Active Time [11, TS 38.321]. … if a UE reports for an active DL BWP a requirement of X slots prior to the beginning of a slot where the UE would start the drx-onDurationTimer, the UE may not be required to monitor PDCCH for detection of DCI format 2_6 during the X slots, where X corresponds to the requirement of the SCS of the active DL BWP in Table 10.3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system and Niu973’s invention of a system and a method for providing adaptive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network to include to include Tsai’s invention of a system and a method for search space group switching by a user equipment (UE) operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in switching between search space (SS) groups by a user equipment (UE) in reducing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring which results in efficiency in power saving for the user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network.(¶0002, Tsai)
Re. Claim 11, Li, Niu973, and Tsai teach claim 9.
Yet, Li and Niu973 do not expressly teach wherein the set of DRX ON duration timer values comprises a first DRX ON duration timer value associated with the first plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions, and the processor further determines a second DRX ON duration timer value based on the first DRX ON duration timer value.
However, in the analogous art, Tsai explicitly discloses wherein the set of DRX ON duration timer values comprises a first DRX ON duration timer value associated with the first plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions, and the processor further determines a second DRX ON duration timer value based on the first DRX ON duration timer value. (Fig. 1-11 & ¶0176:¶0190 - a UE configured with DRX mode operation [11, TS 38.321] may be provided the following for detection of a DCI format 2_6 in a PDCCH reception on the PCell or on the SpCell [12, TS 38.331]: a PS-RNTI for DCI format 2_6 by ps-RNTI; a number of search space sets, by dci-Format 2-6, to monitor PDCCH for detection of DCI format 2_6 on the active DL BWP of the PCell or of the SpCell according to a common search space as described in Clause 10.1; a payload size for DCI format 2_6 by sizeDCI_2-6; a location in DCI format 2_6 of a wake-up indication bit by psPositionDCI-2-6; a value of “0” for a wake-up indication bit, when reported to higher layers, indicates to not start a drx-onDurationTimer for the next long DRX cycle [11, TS 38.321]; a value of “1” for a wake-up indication bit, when reported to higher layers, indicates to start a drx-onDurationTimer for the next long DRX cycle [11, TS 38.321]; …. an offset by ps-Offset indicating a time, where the UE starts monitoring PDCCH for detection of DCI format 2_6 according to the number of search space sets, prior to a slot where the drx-onDurationTimer would start on the PCell or on the SpCell [11, TS 38.321]; for each search space set, the PDCCH monitoring occasions may be the ones in the first Ts slots indicated by duration, or Ts=1 slot if duration is not provided, starting from the first slot of the first T_“s” slots and ending prior to the start of drx-onDurationTimer. The aforesaid disclosures <i.e., ¶0176: ¶0190 > by Tsai, is similar to instant application, at least in ¶0175. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0192 - on PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with a same long DRX Cycle, a UE may not expect to detect more than one DCI format 2_6 with different values of the wake-up indication bit for the UE or with different values of the bitmap for the UE. The UE may not monitor PDCCH for detecting DCI format 2_6 during Active Time [11, TS 38.321]. … if a UE reports for an active DL BWP a requirement of X slots prior to the beginning of a slot where the UE would start the drx-onDurationTimer, the UE may not be required to monitor PDCCH for detection of DCI format 2_6 during the X slots, where X corresponds to the requirement of the SCS of the active DL BWP in Table 10.3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system and Niu973’s invention of a system and a method for providing adaptive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network to include to include Tsai’s invention of a system and a method for search space group switching by a user equipment (UE) operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in switching between search space (SS) groups by a user equipment (UE) in reducing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring which results in efficiency in power saving for the user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network.(¶0002, Tsai)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments for §103 rejection filed on 04/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in pages 9-11 for independent claim 1, applicant argues that Li fails to teach the amended claimed limitation, such as, “a PDCCH including downlink control information ("DCI") that comprises an indication that indicates skipping of PDCCH monitoring for a group of search space sets for duration selected by the DCI from a plurality of skipping durations pre-configured on the UE via higher layer signaling prior to receipt of the DCI”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Niu973 (2024/0072973 [Wingdings font/0xF3] New reference) discloses the amended claimed limitation as mapped in §103 rejection.
Similar arguments are applicable for independent claims 14-16.
There are NO specific allegations for any other references, hence, moot.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claim 1, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Niu973 (2024/0072973 [Wingdings font/0xF3] New reference)
For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 14-16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Niu973 (2024/0072973 [Wingdings font/0xF3] New reference).
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1 and 16, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1#103e; R1-209299; Source: Sony; Title: On power saving adaptation during the DRX active time; E-meeting, 26 October – 13 November 2020. See, proposals 1-4 snapshot next.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467