DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 12/22/2025 for response of the office actions mailed on 09/22/2025. Independent claims 1 and 14-16 are amended. No claims are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (2023/0284141), Li hereinafter. Li teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning that follows.
Re. claims 1, 14 and 16, Li teaches a method (Fig.3/Fig. 6 & ¶0025/¶0050/¶0053/¶0081/¶0155) performed by a user equipment ("UE") (Fig. 9, 900), a processor (Fig. 9, 910) for wireless communication (Fig.2 ), comprising: at least one controller (Fig. 9, 910) coupled with at least one memory (Fig. 9, 909) and configured to cause the processor to, and a user equipment ("UE") (Fig. 9, 900) for wireless communication (Fig.2), comprising: at least one memory (Fig. 9, 909and at least one processor (Fig. 9, 910) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: receive, during a physical downlink control channel ("PDCCH") monitoring occasion, a PDCCH including downlink control information ("DCI") that comprises an indication that identifies a group of search space sets and specifies skipping of PDCCH monitoring for the group of search space sets for a defined duration that is indicated by the DCI and selected from multiple durations configured for the UE and determined based on configuration information(Fig.6 & ¶0025 - the network side may send the first DCI to the terminal, instructing the terminal to switch to the target search space group and/or skip the PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3 & ¶0043 - Step 301: Receive first DCI, where the first DCI includes: a first indication. Fig. 3-6 & ¶0050 - the first indication includes a 2 bit, where values of the 2 bit may be “00,” “01,” “10,” and “11,” and three of these four values respectively indicate switching to the target search space group, skipping PDCCH monitoring, and switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring…. For example, bit fields of the 2 bit are: ‘00’ indicates switching to the target search space group, ‘01’ indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring, ‘10’ indicates switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-6 & ¶0052 – the first indication includes the 1 bit, which is used to indicate switching to the target search space group, and further includes the 2 bit, which is used to indicate a specific target search space group index….the first indication includes the 1 bit, which is used to indicate skipping PDCCH monitoring, and further includes the 2 bit, which is used to indicate how to specifically skip PDCCH monitoring (including a type of skipping PDCCH monitoring or duration of skipping PDCCH monitoring <i.e., skipping duration as indicated by the network>, and the like).Fig. 3-6 & ¶0053 - the first DCI further includes a second indication, where the second indication is used to indicate a first time interval (for example, duration), and the terminal may determine a PDCCH monitoring behavior within the first time interval and/or after the first time interval based on the first DCI. Fig. 6 & ¶0081 - in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0106 - an interval between the effective moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an effective delay of the first indication, or an interval between the application moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an application delay of the first indication. Fig. 6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 6 is reproduced next to support the aforesaid disclosure, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at least at pages 10-11 of remarks as submitted on 12/22/2025); and cease monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets for the defined duration at least after an elapse of an application delay, in response to the PDCCH skipping indication indicating PDCCH skipping for the group of search space sets (Fig. 6 & ¶0081 - in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0106 - an interval between the effective moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an effective delay of the first indication, or an interval between the application moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an application delay of the first indication. Fig. 6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 6 is reproduced next to support the aforesaid disclosure, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at least at pages 10-11 of remarks as submitted on 12/22/2025).
Re. claim 15, Li teaches a base station (Fig. 10) for wireless communication (Fig. 2), comprising: at least one memory (Fig 10, 1005); and at least one processor (Fig. 10, 1004) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to: transmit, during a physical downlink control channel ("PDCCH") monitoring occasion, a PDCCH including downlink control information ("DCI") that comprises an indication that identifies a group of search space sets and specifies skipping of PDCCH monitoring for the group of search space sets for a defined duration that is selected from multiple durations configured for a user equipment ("UE") and determined based on configuration information; (Fig.6 & ¶0025 - the network side may send the first DCI to the terminal, instructing the terminal to switch to the target search space group and/or skip the PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3 & ¶0043 - Step 301: Receive first DCI, where the first DCI includes: a first indication. Fig. 3-6 & ¶0050 - the first indication includes a 2 bit, where values of the 2 bit may be “00,” “01,” “10,” and “11,” and three of these four values respectively indicate switching to the target search space group, skipping PDCCH monitoring, and switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring…. For example, bit fields of the 2 bit are: ‘00’ indicates switching to the target search space group, ‘01’ indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring, ‘10’ indicates switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-6 & ¶0052 – the first indication includes the 1 bit, which is used to indicate switching to the target search space group, and further includes the 2 bit, which is used to indicate a specific target search space group index….the first indication includes the 1 bit, which is used to indicate skipping PDCCH monitoring, and further includes the 2 bit, which is used to indicate how to specifically skip PDCCH monitoring (including a type of skipping PDCCH monitoring or duration of skipping PDCCH monitoring <i.e., skipping duration as indicated by the network>, and the like).Fig. 3-6 & ¶0053 - the first DCI further includes a second indication, where the second indication is used to indicate a first time interval (for example, duration), and the terminal may determine a PDCCH monitoring behavior within the first time interval and/or after the first time interval based on the first DCI. Fig. 6 & ¶0081 - in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0106 - an interval between the effective moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an effective delay of the first indication, or an interval between the application moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an application delay of the first indication. Fig. 6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 6 is reproduced next to support the aforesaid disclosure, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at least at pages 10-11 of remarks as submitted on 12/22/2025); and cease transmitting PDCCH for the group of search space sets for the defined duration at least after an elapse of an application delay, in response to transmitting the PDCCH skipping indication indicating PDCCH skipping for the group of search space sets (Fig. 6 & ¶0081 - in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0106 - an interval between the effective moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an effective delay of the first indication, or an interval between the application moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an application delay of the first indication. Fig. 6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 6 is reproduced next to support the aforesaid disclosure, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at least at pages 10-11 of remarks as submitted on 12/22/2025).
Re. Claims 2 and 17, Li teaches claims 1 and 16.
Li further teaches cease monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets upon the elapse of the application delay after an end of PDCCH reception that comprises the PDCCH skipping indication. (Fig. 6 & ¶0081 - in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring).
Re. Claims 3 and 18, Li teaches claims 1 and 16.
Li further teaches cease monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets according to a timer in response to: the PDCCH skipping indication indicating PDCCH skipping for the group of search space sets; and no active UE-specific search space set not comprising the group of search space sets. (Fig. 6 & ¶0081 - in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of SVEDMAN et al. (2023/0076897), SVEDMAN hereinafter.
Re. Claim 6, Li teaches claim 1.
Li further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: determine a first plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions and a second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions; detect a first power-saving PDCCH on a first PDCCH monitoring occasion of the first plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions (Fig. 6 & ¶0081 - in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval. Fig. 6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring);
Yet, Li does not expressly teach determine whether to monitor a power-saving PDCCH on at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions based on the detected first power-saving PDCCH; detect a second power-saving PDCCH on a second PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions, in response to determining to monitor the power-saving PDCCH on the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions; and receive the PDCCH skipping indication by starting monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets in response to detecting the second power-saving PDCCH.
However, in the analogous art, SVEDMAN explicitly discloses determine whether to monitor a power-saving PDCCH on at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions based on the detected first power-saving PDCCH; detect a second power-saving PDCCH on a second PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions, in response to determining to monitor the power-saving PDCCH on the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions; and receive the PDCCH skipping indication by starting monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets in response to detecting the second power-saving PDCCH. (Fig. 2-8 & ¶0190 - A UE may evaluate one or more conditions for determining if multiple successfully decoded DCIs belong to the same duplication set. In some cases, a UE evaluates one or more conditions prior to DCI decoding, e.g. for DCI combining or skipping some PDCCH candidates after a DCI in the set has been successfully decoded. Fig. 2-8 & ¶0225 - a search space set can be configured for duplication, e.g. for inclusion in a duplication set, by including one or more parameters for monitoring occasions in the time domain, such as the parameters monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset, duration or monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot. Table 6 and in the examples of Table 7 and Table 8, a second monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot parameter may be configured (monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot2-r17). If so, duplication may be enabled. In some cases, the second parameter adds additional monitoring occasions to the slots defined by monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset and duration. These additional monitoring occasions may need to be non-overlapping in some cases, also with the monitoring occasions defined by monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot. In some cases, the PDCCH resources in monitoring occasions added by monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset2-r17 between two consecutive monitoring occasions defined by monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset may be included in a duplication set together with the monitoring occasion immediately prior to these occasions. Consider an example with a 2-symbol CORESET associated with the search space set. The network configures two monitoring occasions in the slots defined by monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset and duration, e.g. in symbols 0-1 and symbols 7-8. This can be achieved by configuring monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot=“10000001000000”. Now, the network configures additional monitoring occasions by configuring monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot2-r17=“00100000010000”, which adds monitoring occasions in symbols 2-3 and symbols 9-10. Since the monitoring occasion in symbol 2-3 is between the consecutive occasions in symbols 0-1 and symbols 7-8, the PDCCH resources in symbols 0-1 and symbols 2-3 may be included in a duplication set. Fig. 2-8 & ¶0285 - this could allow a UE to skip receiving or decoding remaining PDCCH candidates in the set once it has successfully decoded a DCI from a PDCCH candidate in the set, since the UE expects the remaining PDCCH candidates in the duplication set to only carry DCI duplicates of the already decoded DCI. Fig. 2-8 & ¶0295 - FIG. 8 illustrates a UE procedure in which the UE may skip receiving or decoding some PDCCH candidates, thereby reducing UE power consumption. …. If, on the other hand, one of the PDCCH candidates is successfully decoded, the UE may proceed to step 246, in which the UE may skip reception or decoding of remaining PDCCH candidates in the duplication set.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include SVEDMAN’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH reliability for power consumption enhancements in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving reliability of a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network. (¶0004, SVEDMAN)
Re. Claim 7, Li and SVEDMAN teach claim 6.
Yet, Li does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to : receive a first configuration information associated with a first type of power- saving PDCCH; and receive a second configuration information associated with a second type of power-saving PDCCH, wherein the first type of power-saving PDCCH is monitored on the first plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions and the second type of power-saving PDCCH is monitored on the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions.
However, in the analogous art, SVEDMAN explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to : receive a first configuration information associated with a first type of power- saving PDCCH; and receive a second configuration information associated with a second type of power-saving PDCCH, wherein the first type of power-saving PDCCH is monitored on the first plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions and the second type of power-saving PDCCH is monitored on the second plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions. (Fig. 2-8 & ¶0190 - A UE may evaluate one or more conditions for determining if multiple successfully decoded DCIs belong to the same duplication set. In some cases, a UE evaluates one or more conditions prior to DCI decoding, e.g. for DCI combining or skipping some PDCCH candidates after a DCI in the set has been successfully decoded. Fig. 2-8 & ¶0225 - a search space set can be configured for duplication, e.g. for inclusion in a duplication set, by including one or more parameters for monitoring occasions in the time domain, such as the parameters monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset, duration or monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot. Table 6 and in the examples of Table 7 and Table 8, a second monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot parameter may be configured (monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot2-r17). If so, duplication may be enabled. In some cases, the second parameter adds additional monitoring occasions to the slots defined by monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset and duration. These additional monitoring occasions may need to be non-overlapping in some cases, also with the monitoring occasions defined by monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot. In some cases, the PDCCH resources in monitoring occasions added by monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset2-r17 between two consecutive monitoring occasions defined by monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset may be included in a duplication set together with the monitoring occasion immediately prior to these occasions. Consider an example with a 2-symbol CORESET associated with the search space set. The network configures two monitoring occasions in the slots defined by monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset and duration, e.g. in symbols 0-1 and symbols 7-8. This can be achieved by configuring monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot=“10000001000000”. Now, the network configures additional monitoring occasions by configuring monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot2-r17=“00100000010000”, which adds monitoring occasions in symbols 2-3 and symbols 9-10. Since the monitoring occasion in symbol 2-3 is between the consecutive occasions in symbols 0-1 and symbols 7-8, the PDCCH resources in symbols 0-1 and symbols 2-3 may be included in a duplication set. Fig. 2-8 & ¶0285 - this could allow a UE to skip receiving or decoding remaining PDCCH candidates in the set once it has successfully decoded a DCI from a PDCCH candidate in the set, since the UE expects the remaining PDCCH candidates in the duplication set to only carry DCI duplicates of the already decoded DCI. Fig. 2-8 & ¶0295 - FIG. 8 illustrates a UE procedure in which the UE may skip receiving or decoding some PDCCH candidates, thereby reducing UE power consumption. …. If, on the other hand, one of the PDCCH candidates is successfully decoded, the UE may proceed to step 246, in which the UE may skip reception or decoding of remaining PDCCH candidates in the duplication set.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include SVEDMAN’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH reliability for power consumption enhancements in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving reliability of a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) in the 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network. (¶0004, SVEDMAN)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of SVEDMAN, further in view of Lin et al. (2020/0154295), Lin hereinafter.
Re. Claim 12, Li and SVEDMAN teach claim 6.
Yet, Li and SVEDMAN do not expressly teach wherein the first PDCCH monitoring occasion is within a first DRX cycle and the second PDCCH monitoring occasion is within a second DRX cycle, the first DRX cycle occurring prior to the second DRX cycle.
However, in the analogous art, Lin explicitly discloses wherein the first PDCCH monitoring occasion is within a first DRX cycle and the second PDCCH monitoring occasion is within a second DRX cycle, the first DRX cycle occurring prior to the second DRX cycle. (Fig.6-9 & ¶0155 - different PDCCH monitoring patterns could be different from each other in one or more of the following parameters: duration of a CORESET; PDCCH monitoring offset; PDCCH monitoring periodicity; and/or PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot, e.g., a pattern indicated by monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot. Fig.6-9 & ¶0156 - a first PDCCH monitoring pattern comprises a first CORESET duration, a first PDCCH monitoring offset, a first PDCCH monitoring periodicity and/or a first PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot. A second PDCCH monitoring pattern comprises a second CORESET duration, a second PDCCH monitoring offset, a second PDCCH monitoring periodicity and/or a second PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot. Fig.6-9 & ¶0184 - The UE could determine which of the first parameter or the second parameter is used to determine a PDCCH monitoring pattern (for the search space set) in a DRX cycle based on whether the UE has detected PDCCH for itself in the DRX cycle or not. For example, the UE determines the first parameter is used (for the DRX cycle) if the UE has detected PDCCH for itself in the DRX cycle. … the UE determines the second parameter is used (for the DRX cycle) if the UE has not yet detected PDCCH for itself in the DRX cycle. Fig.6-9 & ¶0241 - The base station could determine, for the UE, which of the first value or the second value is used for the parameter (to determine a PDCCH monitoring pattern) (for the search space set) in a DRX cycle based on whether the base station has transmitted PDCCH for the UE in the DRX cycle or not. For example, the base station determines, for the UE, the first value is used (for the DRX cycle) if the base station has transmitted PDCCH for the UE in the DRX cycle. .. the base station determines, for the UE, the second value is used (for the DRX cycle) if the base station has not yet transmitted PDCCH for the UE in the DRX cycle.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system and SVEDMAN’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH reliability for power consumption enhancements in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network to include Lin’s invention of a system and a method for improving Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring pattern in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving efficiency and/or reducing power consumption by more efficiently adapting PDCCH monitoring patterns for various functionalities and/or operations of a device, such as in a DRX related procedure in the wireless communication system. (¶0332, Lin)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of SVEDMAN, in view of Lin, further in view of Shi et al. (2022/0124615), Shi hereinafter.
Re. Claim 13, Li, SVEDMAN and Lin teach claim 12.
Yet, Li and SVEDMAN do not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to further determine whether to start a DRX ON duration timer associated with the second DRX cycle based on the detected second power-saving PDCCH.
However, in the analogous art, Shi explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to further determine whether to start a DRX ON duration timer associated with the second DRX cycle based on the detected second power-saving PDCCH. (Fig. 9 & ¶0096 - when the terminal device detects the first power saving signal and the monitoring occasion of the first power saving signal is not within the running time period of any timer, the terminal device starts the first timer, and the duration of the first timer is 2 DRX cycles. When the terminal device detects the second power saving signal in the monitoring occasion within the first DRX cycle, the terminal device restarts the first timer, and starts the duration timer for the running time period of the restarted first timer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of energy saving indication mechanism in a wireless communication system and SVEDMAN’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH reliability for power consumption enhancements in a 5G/NR <New Radio> communication network and Lin’s invention of a system and a method for improving Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring pattern in a wireless communication system to include Shi’s invention of a system and a method for monitoring power consumption reduction signal in a discontinuous reception (DRX) procedure in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient and flexible mechanism in adjusting dormancy time and awake time of a terminal device in the wireless communication system. (¶0093, Shi)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 8-11 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of:
Claim 4 – wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to cease monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets according to a timer in response to: the PDCCH skipping indication indicating PDCCH skipping for the group of search space sets; and no active UE-specific search space set not comprising the group of search space sets.
Claim 5 – Depends on claim 4.
Claim 8 – wherein: the first configuration comprises at least one selected from a group comprising a first power saving-radio network temporary identifier ("PS-RNTI"), a first at least one search space set, a first payload size of the first type of power- saving PDCCH, a first starting position of an assigned block in DCI, and a time offset; and the second configuration comprises at least one selected from a group comprising a second power saving-radio network temporary identifier ("PS-RNTI"), a second at least one search space set, a second payload size of the second type of power-saving PDCCH, and a second starting position of an assigned block in DCI.
Claim 9 – Depends on claim 8.
Claim 10 – Depends on claim 9.
Claim 11 – Depends on claim 9.
Claim 19 – wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to cease monitoring PDCCH for the group of search space sets according to a timer in response to: the PDCCH skipping indication indicating PDCCH skipping for the group of search space sets; and no active UE-specific search space set not comprising the group of search space sets.
Claim 20 – Depends on claim 19.
Response to Arguments
Earlier claim objections for claims 4 and 19 have been withdrawn following amended claim languages as submitted on 12/22/2025.
Earlier 112(b) rejection for claims 5 and 20 have been withdrawn following amended claim languages as submitted on 12/22/2025.
Applicant's arguments for §103 rejection filed on 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in pages 10-11 for independent claim 1, applicant argues that Li fails to teach, “receive, during a physical downlink control channel ("PDCCH") monitoring occasion, a PDCCH including downlink control information ("DCI") that comprises an indication that identifies a group of search space sets and specifies skipping of PDCCH monitoring for the group of search space sets for a defined duration that is indicated by the DCI and selected from multiple durations configured for the UE and determined based on configuration information”. Applicant further argues that Li fails to disclose at least (i) a skipping duration determined from configuration information, (ii) group-specific application limited to an identified group of search-space sets, and (iii) delayed application after completion of PDCCH reception or transmission or after a defined application delay. See page 11 of remarks as submitted on 12/22/2025
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, Li discloses that the network side may send the first DCI to the terminal, instructing the terminal to switch to the target search space group and/or skip the PDCCH monitoring. See ¶0025 along with Fig. 3-6. Li further discloses that UE receives first DCI in step 301 of Fig. 3, the first indication includes a 2 bit, where values of the 2 bit may be “00,” “01,” “10,” and “11,” and three of these four values respectively indicate switching to the target search space group, skipping PDCCH monitoring, and switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring…. For example, bit fields of the 2 bit are: ‘00’ indicates switching to the target search space group, ‘01’ indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring, ‘10’ indicates switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring. In fact, the first indication includes the 1 bit, which is used to indicate switching to the target search space group, and further includes the 2 bit, which is used to indicate a specific target search space group index….the first indication includes the 1 bit, which is used to indicate skipping PDCCH monitoring, and further includes the 2 bit, which is used to indicate how to specifically skip PDCCH monitoring (including a type of skipping PDCCH monitoring or duration of skipping PDCCH monitoring <i.e., skipping duration as indicated by the network>. Moreover, the first DCI further includes a second indication, where the second indication is used to indicate a first time interval (for example, duration), and the terminal may determine a PDCCH monitoring behavior within the first time interval and/or after the first time interval based on the first DCI. See ¶0043/¶0050/¶0052-¶0053.
Li further discloses that in a case that the first indication is used to indicate switching to the target search space group and skipping PDCCH monitoring, the PDCCH monitoring behavior further includes: monitoring the PDCCH by using the target search space group within the first time interval, and skipping PDCCH monitoring after the first time interval….. an interval between the effective moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an effective delay of the first indication, or an interval between the application moment of the first indication and finishing receiving the first DCI is an application delay of the first indication……. based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect, and switches to the search space group 1 to continue to monitor the PDCCH after skipping the PDCCH monitoring. See ¶0081/¶0106/¶0155 along with Fig. 6.
In fact, Fig. 6, is reproduced below to show the aforesaid disclosures, which, in fact, shows clearly the claimed features, such as, (i) a skipping duration determined from configuration information, (ii) group-specific application limited to an identified group of search-space sets, and (iii) delayed application after completion of PDCCH reception or transmission or after a defined application delay, as marked, contrary to applicant’s remarks at least at pages 10-11 of remarks as submitted on 12/22/2025.
Similar arguments are applicable for independent claims 14-16.
There are NO specific allegations for any other references, hence, moot.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claim 1, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li.
For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 14-16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1 and 16, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
XU et al. (2022/0007408); See Abstract, ¶0004-¶0006, ¶0056-¶0099, ¶0107-¶0214 along with Fig. 3-11.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e; R1-2008267; Source: OPPO; Title: Discussion on DCI-based power saving adaptation; e-Meeting, October 26th – November 13th, 2020. See §3.2 … as submitted in IDS.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467