DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination
The request filed on 5/18/2026, for a Request for Continued Examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114 based on the Parent Application No. 18261253 is acceptable and a RCE has been established. An action on the RCE follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 5/18/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1, 9, 29 and 31 (and associated dependent claims) under Frenger have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Xiong (US Pub 20190178976).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "The UE of claim 31" in line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. [claim 32 is dependent to ‘a network component’ in claim 31].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-11, 13-15 and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiong (US Pub 20190178976).
Re claims 1 and 29, Xiong discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) and the associated user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory (Par 4, 8, 44-46, 99-101); at least one transceiver (Par 4, 8, 44-46, 99-101); and at least one processor (Par 4, 8, 44-46, 99-101) communicatively coupled to the memory (Par 4, 8, 44-46, 99-101) and the at least one transceiver (Par 4, 8, 44-46, 99-101), the at least one processor (Par 4, 8, 44-46, 99-101) configured to:
receiving, from a network component (Fig 1 Node 2 to UE signal; Par 32-34, 61, 68, 74, 91-93 – location server transmits PRS configurations to UE), a first time-varying reference signal for positioning (RS-P) configuration that comprises a first RS-P configuration associated with a first time period (Fig 1 Node 2 to UE signal; Par 32-34, 36, 61, 68, 74, 91-93 – location server transmits PRS configurations to UE, there are multiple PRS instance configurations signaled within the same configuration signal each with their own period configuration) and a second RS-P configuration associated with a second time period (Fig 1 Node 2 to UE signal; Par 32-34, 36, 61, 68, 74, 91-93 – location server transmits PRS configurations to UE, there are multiple PRS instance configurations signaled within the same configuration signal each with their own period configuration);
communicating, with at least one wireless network component (Fig. 1 Node 1 signal to UE; Fig 4b, 5; Par 38, 69-70, 74-76, 95), a first set of RS-Ps during the first time period in accordance with the first RS-P configuration (Fig. 1 Node 1 signal to UE; Fig 4b, 5; Par 38, 69-70, 74-76, 95 – looking at each individual time slot for configuration); and
communicating, with the at least one wireless network component (Fig. 1 Node 1 signal to UE; Fig 4b, 5; Par 38, 69-70, 74-76, 95), a second set of RS-Ps during the second time period in accordance with the second RS-P configuration (Fig. 1 Node 1 signal to UE; Fig 4b, 5; Par 38, 69-70, 74-76, 95 – looking at each individual time slot for configuration),
wherein the first and second RS-P configurations differ in terms of RS-P resource set (Par 13, 30, 32-33, 38, 75), RS- P resource (Par 13, 30, 32-33, 38, 75), periodicity (Par 13, 17, 32-33, 36, 59, 71), repetition factor (Par 10-11, 35, 59), or a combination thereof (Par 32-33, 36, 59, 71, 75-76- the disclosure provides for the configuration of various aspects of the PRS transmission, allowing for configuration of the differences between PRS transmissions rather than the base transmission design shown in Fig 2).
Re claims 9 and 31, Xiong discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network component and the associated network component, comprising:
a memory (Par 99-101); at least one transceiver (Fig 1 shows Node 1 ability to Tx and Rx; Par 66-70, 99-101); and at least one processor (Par 99-101) communicatively coupled to the memory (Par 99-101) and the at least one transceiver (Par 99-101), the at least one processor (Par 99-101) configured to:
determining a first time-varying reference signal for positioning (RS-P) configuration (Fig 1 Node 2 to UE signal; Par 32-34, 61, 68, 74, 91-93 – location server transmits PRS configurations to UE) that comprises a first RS-P configuration associated with a first time period (Fig 1 Node 2 to UE signal; Par 32-34, 36, 61, 68, 74, 91-93 – location server transmits PRS configurations to UE, there are multiple PRS instance configurations signaled within the same configuration signal each with their own period configuration) and a second RS-P configuration associated with a second time period (Fig 1 Node 2 to UE signal; Par 32-34, 36, 61, 68, 74, 91-93 – location server transmits PRS configurations to UE, there are multiple PRS instance configurations signaled within the same configuration signal each with their own period configuration); and
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), the first time-varying RS-P configuration (Fig 1 Node 2 to UE signal; Par 32-34, 61, 68, 74, 91-93 – location server transmits PRS configurations to UE)
wherein the first and second RS-P configurations differ in terms of RS-P resource set (Par 13, 30, 32-33, 38, 75), RS- P resource (Par 13, 30, 32-33, 38, 75), periodicity (Par 13, 17, 32-33, 36, 59, 71), repetition factor (Par 10-11, 35, 59), or a combination thereof (Par 32-33, 36, 59, 71, 75-76- the disclosure provides for the configuration of various aspects of the PRS transmission, allowing for configuration of the differences between PRS transmissions rather than the base transmission design shown in Fig 2).
Re claims 8 and 30, Xiong discloses the method of claim 1 and UE of claim 29, and further discloses wherein the network component comprises a serving wireless network component (Par 33-34, 36, 91-93), a location management function (LMF), a location server (Par 25-26, 33-34, 66, 91-93), or a combination thereof (par 66-68).
Re claims 10 and 32, Xiong discloses the method of claim 9 and UE of claim 31, and further wherein the network component comprises a serving wireless network component (Par 33-34, 36, 91-93), a location management function (LMF), a location server (Par 25-26, 33-34, 66, 91-93), or a combination thereof (par 66-68).
Re claim 3, Xiong discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first set of RS-Ps comprises a first set of downlink positioning reference signals (DL-PRSs) received at the UE from the at least one wireless network component (Fig. 1 Node 1 signal to UE; Fig 4b, 5; Par 38, 69-70, 74-76, 95 – looking at each individual time slot for configuration), and wherein the second set of RS-Ps comprises a second set of DL-PRSs received at the UE from the at least one wireless network component (Fig. 1 Node 1 signal to UE; Fig 4b, 5; Par 38, 69-70, 74-76, 95 – looking at each individual time slot for configuration).
Re claim 11, Xiong discloses the method of claim 9, and further discloses further comprising: communicating, with the UE, a first set of RS-Ps during the first time period (Fig. 1 Node 1 signal to UE; Fig 4b, 5; Par 38, 69-70, 74-76, 95) in accordance with the first RS-P configuration (Fig. 1 Node 1 signal to UE; Fig 4b, 5; Par 38, 69-70, 74-76, 95 – looking at each individual time slot for configuration); and
communicating, with the UE, a second set of RS-Ps during the second time period (Fig. 1 Node 1 signal to UE; Fig 4b, 5; Par 38, 69-70, 74-76, 95) in accordance with the second RS-P configuration. (Fig. 1 Node 1 signal to UE; Fig 4b, 5; Par 38, 69-70, 74-76, 95 – looking at each individual time slot for configuration).
Re claim 13, Xiong discloses the method of claim 11, and further discloses wherein the first set of RS-Ps comprises a first set of downlink positioning reference signals (DL-PRSs) transmitted by a wireless network component to the UE (Fig. 1 Node 1 signal to UE; Fig 4b, 5; Par 38, 69-70, 74-76, 95 – looking at each individual time slot for configuration), and wherein the second set of RS-Ps comprises a second set of DL-PRSs transmitted by the wireless network component to the UE (Fig. 1 Node 1 signal to UE; Fig 4b, 5; Par 38, 69-70, 74-76, 95 – looking at each individual time slot for configuration).
Re claim 4, Xiong discloses the method of claim 3, and further discloses further comprising:
transmitting, subsequent to the first time period (Par 68-70, 93, 96-98), a first measurement report based on measurements by the UE of the first set of DL-PRSs (Par 68-70, 93, 96-98); and
transmitting, subsequent to the second time period (Par 68-70, 93, 96-98), a second measurement report based on measurements by the UE of the second set of DL-PRSs (Par 68-70, 93, 96-98).
Re claim 14, Xiong discloses the method of claim 13, and further discloses further comprising: receiving, subsequent to the first time period (Par 68-70, 93, 96-98), a first measurement report based on measurements by the UE of the first set of DL-PRSs (Par 68-70, 93, 96-98); and receiving, subsequent to the second time period (Par 68-70, 93, 96-98), a second measurement report based on measurements by the UE of the second set of DL-PRSs (Par 68-70, 93, 96-98).
Re claim 5, Xiong discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first time-varying RS-P configuration (Fig 1 Node 2 to UE signal; Par 32-34, 36, 61, 68, 74, 91-93 – location server transmits PRS configurations to UE, there are multiple PRS instance configurations signaled within the same configuration signal each with their own period configuration) further comprises a third RS-P configuration associated with a third time period (Fig 3-5 consideration of third and additional time bands and the associated PRS characteristics; Par 32-34, 36, 61, 68, 74, 91-93).
Re claim 15, Xiong discloses the method of claim 9, and further discloses wherein the first time-varying RS-P configuration (Fig 1 Node 2 to UE signal; Par 32-34, 36, 61, 68, 74, 91-93 – location server transmits PRS configurations to UE, there are multiple PRS instance configurations signaled within the same configuration signal each with their own period configuration) further comprises a third RS-P configuration associated with a third time period (Fig 3-5 consideration of third and additional time bands and the associated PRS characteristics; Par 32-34, 36, 61, 68, 74, 91-93).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Manolakos (herein after Man) (US Pub 20190356431).
Re claim 2, Xiong discloses the method of claims 1, but fails however to explicitly disclose wherein the first set of RS-Ps comprises a first set of uplink or sidelink sounding reference signals for positioning (SRS-Ps) transmitted by the UE to the at least one wireless network component, and wherein the second set of RS-Ps comprises a second set of uplink or sidelink SRS-Ps transmitted by the UE to the at least one wireless network component.
This design is however disclosed by Man. Man discloses wherein the first set of RS-Ps comprises a first set of uplink or sidelink sounding reference signals (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79) for positioning (SRS-Ps) transmitted by the UE to the at least one wireless network component (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79), and wherein the second set of RS-Ps comprises a second set of uplink or sidelink SRS-Ps (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79) transmitted by the UE to the at least one wireless network component (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Xiong in order to incorporate the SRS signaling of Man based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance using the uplink to further the positioning signaling with round trip or updated position information would only serve to improve the end result of the positioning determinations by providing more information to be used in the final determinations as well as the ability to account for changes over time or in between signaling periods, with the ability to communicate between these entities already shown to be known with understood and expected functionality in positioning processing.
Re claim 12, Xiong discloses the method of claim 11 but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first set of RS-Ps comprises a first set of uplink or sidelink sounding reference signals for positioning (SRS-Ps) received at a wireless network component from the UE, wherein the second set of RS-Ps comprises a second set of uplink or sidelink SRS-Ps received at the wireless network component from the UE.
This design is however disclosed by Man. Man discloses wherein the first set of RS-Ps comprises a first set of uplink or sidelink sounding reference signals for positioning (SRS-Ps) (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79) received at a wireless network component from the UE (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79), wherein the second set of RS-Ps comprises a second set of uplink or sidelink SRS-Ps (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79) received at the wireless network component from the UE (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Xiong in order to incorporate the SRS signaling of Man based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance using the uplink to further the positioning signaling with round trip or updated position information would only serve to improve the end result of the positioning determinations by providing more information to be used in the final determinations as well as the ability to account for changes over time or in between signaling periods, with the ability to communicate between these entities already shown to be known with understood and expected functionality in positioning processing.
Claims 6 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Edge (US Pub 20180054699).
Re claim 6, Xiong discloses the method of claim 1, but fails however to explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving, from the network component, a second time-varying RS-P configuration that differs relative to the first time-varying RS-P configuration in terms of one or more RS-P configuration parameters, one or more associated time periods, or a combination thereof.
This design is however disclosed by Edge. Edge discloses further comprising: receiving, from the network component (Par 55, 73), a second time-varying RS-P configuration (Par 55, 73 – ‘configuring and/or reconfiguring’) that differs relative to the first time-varying RS-P configuration (Par 55, 73– ‘configuring and/or reconfiguring’) in terms of one or more RS-P configuration parameters (Par 55, 73), one or more associated time periods (Par 55, 73), or a combination thereof (Par 55, 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Xiong in order to incorporate the second configuration signaling of Edge based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance incorporating a second configuration signal allows for the design to dynamically update or adjust the communication parameters to account for changes in condition of the communication environment or to adjust towards desired functionality and quality levels of the location processing.
Re claim 16, Xiong discloses the method of claim 15, but fails however to explicitly disclose further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, a second time-varying RS-P configuration that differs relative to the first time-varying RS-P configuration in terms of one or more RS-P configuration parameters, one or more associated time periods, or a combination thereof.
This design is however disclosed by Edge. Edge discloses further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, a second time-varying RS-P configuration (Par 55, 73 – ‘configuring and/or reconfiguring’) that differs relative to the first time-varying RS-P configuration (Par 55, 73 – ‘configuring and/or reconfiguring’) in terms of one or more RS-P configuration parameters (Par 55, 73), one or more associated time periods (Par 55, 73), or a combination thereof (Par 55, 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Xiong in order to incorporate the second configuration signaling of Edge based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance incorporating a second configuration signal allows for the design to dynamically update or adjust the communication parameters to account for changes in condition of the communication environment or to adjust towards desired functionality and quality levels of the location processing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-28 and 33-36 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to anticipate or render obvious the limitations of the above cited claims. Re claims 18, 23, 33 and 35 the prior art fails to explicitly disclose the characteristics of the varying reference signal configuration inclusive of triggering conditions that affect or allow for a UE initiated transition between the defined first and second reference signals.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL R NEFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631