DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner thoroughly reviewed the applicant' s arguments but firmly believes that the cited reference reasonably and properly meets the claimed limitation as rejected.
Applicant’s argument: Regarding claims 1-8, 9-17, 29-30 and 31-32; the applicant has asserted in the remarks filed 10/28/2025:
“…At [0044], Frenger discloses that the second type of positioning information may complement the first type of positioning information or may be independent of the first type of positioning information. Irrespective of whether a 'complementary' or 'independent' second type of positioning information is utilized, a single PRS configuration is used, as discussed below in more detail with respect to FIG. 8 of Frenger.
Frenger at [0046] describes a time-varying 'sequence' for the PRSs, which in context refers to the time-varying nature of the seed/sequence for the PRSs rather than a time-varying PRS configuration that establishes different PRS configurations at different time periods.
FIG. 8 of Frenger relates to a single PRS configuration associated with a validity time for second type positioning information, e.g.:
[0057] ... a validity time instant or interval is determined 802 from the received configuration ... As long as the validity time has not expired, the configured positioning reference signal may be transmitted 805 as second type of positioning information, i.e. high accuracy positioning information ... (e.g., see [0057] of Frenger)
In context, FIG. 8 appears to be intended to encompass either of the 'complementary' or 'independent' second type of positioning information use cases. As will be appreciated, only one PRS configuration and one time period (validity time) is involved in FIG. 8, irrespective of whether both first/second types of information are utilized to signal the high-accuracy second type of positioning information.
Moreover, after the validity time expires, Frenger requires a new PRS configuration to be setup, e.g., "when the validity time has expired, a new validity time may be determined, and a new positioning reference signal is configured 803, which may be expressed as that the positioning reference signal is reconfigured." (e.g., see [0057] of Frenger). Hence, there is no concept of a dual (or time-varying) PRS configuration that establishes a first time period (validity time) for the first type of positioning information and a second time period (validity time) for the second type of positioning information as alleged by the Examiner. Rather, in the 'complementary' second type of positioning information use case, the first/second types of positioning information are dependent on each other and are necessarily associated with the same PRS configuration and with the same validity time.
For these reasons, the Applicant respectfully submits that the PRS configuration described by Frenger with respect to FIG. 8 (in context with the first/second types of positioning information described earlier starting at [0044]) is distinct from "a first time-varying reference signal for positioning (RS-P) configuration that comprises a first RS-P configuration associated with a first time period and a second RS-P configuration associated with a second time period" as recited in independent claim 1 and similarly recited in independent claims 9, 18, 29, 31 and 33.”
Examiner’s response: The examiner has reviewed the applicant’s position on the Frenger reference and respectfully disagrees with the assertions made regarding allowable differences between the BRI of the claimed limitations and the disclosure of Frenger prior art. To first address the time varying reference signal with a first and second configuration. The cited portions of the prior art have clearly denoted that there is a first positioning information, and second distinct positioning information. There is nothing claimed regarding the complimentary or independent nature of the positioning information, and the arguments towards the disclosed first and second positioning information appear to be requiring a narrower scope that what is claimed and supported given a BRI of the claimed limitations. In regards to the argument of the time varying nature, at par 46 the disclosure clearly states that the position information is derived from a time varying source, clearly indicating that some element of the positional information is contingent and thus varying given the need for the derivation. Again, any argued detail refuting the nature of this appears to be towards a more narrow and unclaimed interpretation of the claim limitations. Regarding the timing windows, again the prior art as cited supports difference timing associated with the different positional information, including different periodicity, different time to fix associations, and additionally the implementation of a validity window wherein the second positional information is restricted to use during specified windows. As such the Examiner interprets the disclosure as sufficiently disclosing a first and second window, and respectfully disagrees with the assertion that the validity time is the only time window shown. In light of the provided disclosure the Examiner respectfully maintains the grounds for rejection for the specified claims, as the assertions made by the applicant are interpreted as contradicted by the scope of the disclosure of the prior art and the scope of the limitations in light of a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations.
Examiner’s note: No argument has been entered for claims 18-22 and 33-34. As such, the amendment from ‘base station’ to ‘wireless network component’ has been noted, and the grounds for rejection otherwise maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-11, 13-14, 17, 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frenger (US 20180206063, see IDS).
Re claim 1, Frenger discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
Receiving (Fig 8 el 801; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 – first and second type reference signals), from a network component, a first time-varying reference signal for positioning (RS-P) configuration that comprises a first RS-P configuration associated with a first time period (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 – first type reference signals) and a second RS-P configuration associated with a second time period (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 –second type reference signals);
communicating, with at least one wireless network component (Fig 8, Par 44-48), a first set of RS-Ps during the first time period in accordance with the first RS-P configuration (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 57 - first type reference signals); and
communicating, with the at least one wireless network component (Fig 8, Par 44-48), a second set of RS-Ps during the second time period in accordance with the second RS-P configuration (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 57 –second type reference signals).
Re claim 9, Frenger discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network component, comprising:
determining (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 – first and second type reference signals) a first time-varying reference signal for positioning (RS-P) configuration that comprises a first RS-P configuration associated with a first time period (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 – first type reference signals) and a second RS-P configuration associated with a second time period (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 –second type reference signals); and
transmitting (Fig 8 el 801; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 – first and second type reference signals), to a user equipment (UE), the first time-varying RS-P configuration (Fig 8 el 801; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 – first and second type reference signals).
Re claim 29, Frenger discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory (Par 74, 87);
at least one transceiver (Fig 10, 11; Par 44-48, 57, 74, 87); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (Fig 10, 11; Par 44-48, 57, 74, 87), the at least one processor configured to:
receive (Fig 8 el 801; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 – first and second type reference signals), from a network component, a first time-varying reference signal for positioning (RS-P) configuration that comprises a first RS-P configuration associated with a first time period (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 – first type reference signals) and a second RS-P configuration associated with a second time period (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 –second type reference signals);
communicate, with at least one wireless network component (Fig 8, Par 44-48), a first set of RS-Ps during the first time period in accordance with the first RS-P configuration (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 57–first type reference signals); and
communicate, with the at least one wireless network component (Fig 8, Par 44-48), a second set of RS-Ps during the second time period in accordance with the second RS-P configuration (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 57 –second type reference signals).
Re claim 31, Frenger discloses a network component, comprising:
a memory (Par 74, 87);
at least one transceiver (Fig 10, 11; Par 44-48, 57, 74, 87); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (Fig 10, 11; Par 44-48, 57, 74, 87), the at least one processor configured to:
determine (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 – first and second type reference signals) a first time-varying reference signal for positioning (RS-P) configuration that comprises a first RS-P configuration associated with a first time period (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 – first type reference signals) and a second RS-P configuration associated with a second time period (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 –second type reference signals); and transmit (Fig 8 el 801; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 – first and second type reference signals), to a user equipment (UE), the first time-varying RS-P configuration (Fig 8 el 801; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 – first and second type reference signals).
Re claim 3, Frenger discloses the method of wherein the first set of RS-Ps comprises a first set of downlink positioning reference signals (DL-PRSs) received at the UE from the at least one wireless network component (Fig 8, 14; Par 36-41, 48, 56-57, 83), and wherein the second set of RS-Ps comprises a second set of DL-PRSs received at the UE from the at least one wireless network component (Fig 8, 14; Par 36-41, 48, 56-57, 83).
Re claim 4, Frenger discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising: transmitting, subsequent to the first time period, a first measurement report based on measurements by the UE of the first set of DL-PRSs (Fig 3; Par 39-44, 46, 57); and transmitting, subsequent to the second time period, a second measurement report based on measurements by the UE of the second set of DL-PRSs (Fig 3; Par 39-44, 46, 57).
Re claim 6, Frenger discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the network component, a second time-varying RS-P configuration (Par 33-34, 37-38, 40-45, 50, 57) that differs relative to the first time-varying RS-P configuration in terms of one or more RS-P configuration parameters (Par 33-34, 37-38, 40-45, 50, 57), one or more associated time periods, or a combination thereof (Par 33-34, 37-38, 40-45, 50, 57).
Re claim 7, Frenger discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first and second RS-P configurations differ in terms of RS-P resource set (Par 33-34, 37-38, 40-45, 50, 57), RS-P resource (Par 33-34, 37-38, 40-45, 50, 57), periodicity (Par 33-34, 37-38, 40-45, 50, 57), repetition factor, or a combination thereof (Par 33-34, 37-38, 40-45, 50, 57).
Re claim 8, Frenger discloses the method of claim 1, and further wherein the network component comprises a serving wireless network component (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83), a location management function (LMF) (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83), a location server (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83-84), or a combination thereof (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83-84).
Re claim 10, Frenger discloses the method of claim 9, and further wherein the network component comprises a serving wireless network component (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83), a location management function (LMF) (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83), a location server (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83-84), or a combination thereof (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83-84).
Re claim 11, Frenger discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: communicating, with the UE, a first set of RS-Ps during the first time period in accordance with the first RS-P configuration (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 – first type reference signals); and communicating, with the UE, a second set of RS-Ps during the second time period in accordance with the second RS-P configuration (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 – second type reference signals).
Re claim 13, Frenger discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising wherein the first set of RS-Ps comprises a first set of downlink positioning reference signals (DL-PRSs) transmitted by a wireless network component to the UE (Fig 8, 14; Par 36-41, 48, 56-57, 83), and wherein the second set of RS-Ps comprises a second set of DL-PRSs transmitted by the wireless network component to the UE (Fig 8, 14; Par 36-41, 48, 56-57, 83).
Re claim 14, Frenger discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: receiving, subsequent to the first time period, a first measurement report based on measurements by the UE of the first set of DL-PRSs (Fig 3; Par 39-44, 46, 57); and receiving, subsequent to the second time period, a second measurement report based on measurements by the UE of the second set of DL-PRSs (Fig 3; Par 39-44, 46, 57).
Re claim 17, Frenger discloses the method of claim 9, and further wherein the first and second RS-P configurations differ in terms of RS-P resource set (Par 33-34, 37-38, 40-45, 50, 57), RS-P resource (Par 33-34, 37-38, 40-45, 50, 57), periodicity (Par 33-34, 37-38, 40-45, 50, 57), repetition factor, or a combination thereof (Par 33-34, 37-38, 40-45, 50, 57).
Re claim 30, Frenger discloses the UE of claim 29, and further wherein the network component comprises a serving wireless network component (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83), a location management function (LMF) (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83), a location server (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83-84), or a combination thereof (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83-84).
Re claim 32, Frenger discloses the UE of claim 31, and further wherein the network component comprises a serving wireless network component (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83), a location management function (LMF) (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83), a location server (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83-84), or a combination thereof (Fig. 1, 10, 11; Par 48, 55, 61-63, 77, 83-84).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenger as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Qin (US Pub 20190373602).
Re claim 5, Frenger discloses the method of claim 1, but fails however to explicitly disclose wherein the first time-varying RS-P configuration further comprises a third RS-P configuration associated with a third time period.
This design is however disclosed by Qin. Qin discloses wherein the first time-varying RS-P configuration further comprises a third RS-P configuration associated with a third time period (Par 13-15, 28-29, 97 and 132 – relationship between first and third reference signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Frenger in order to incorporate the reference configuration processing of Qin based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance by ensuring that a redundant or follow-up time period is used in the positioning would use the expected functionality of the positioning processing to improve the accuracy and efficiency of the positioning result for the system, thereby improving performances associated with the positioning determination as well.
Re claim 15, Frenger discloses the method of claim 9, but fails however to explicitly disclose wherein the first time-varying RS-P configuration further comprises a third RS-P configuration associated with a third time period.
This design is however disclosed by Qin. Qin discloses wherein the first time-varying RS-P configuration further comprises a third RS-P configuration associated with a third time period (Par 13-15, 28-29, 97 and 132 – relationship between first and third reference signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Frenger in order to incorporate the reference configuration processing of Qin based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance by ensuring that a redundant or follow-up time period is used in the positioning would use the expected functionality of the positioning processing to improve the accuracy and efficiency of the positioning result for the system, thereby improving performances associated with the positioning determination as well.
Re claim 16, the combined disclosure of Frenger and Qin as a whole discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, a second time-varying RS-P configuration (Fig 8; Par 6-7, 36-41, 44-47, 56-57 – second type reference signals) that differs relative to the first time-varying RS-P configuration in terms of one or more RS-P configuration parameters (Par 33-34, 37-38, 40-45, 50, 57), one or more associated time periods, or a combination thereof (Par 33-34, 37-38, 40-45, 50, 57).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenger as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Manolakos (herein after Man) (US Pub 20190356431).
Re claim 2, Frenger discloses the method of claims 1, but fails however to explicitly disclose wherein the first set of RS-Ps comprises a first set of uplink or sidelink sounding reference signals for positioning (SRS-Ps) transmitted by the UE to the at least one wireless network component, and wherein the second set of RS-Ps comprises a second set of uplink or sidelink SRS-Ps transmitted by the UE to the at least one wireless network component.
This design is however disclosed by Man. Man discloses wherein the first set of RS-Ps comprises a first set of uplink or sidelink sounding reference signals (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79) for positioning (SRS-Ps) transmitted by the UE to the at least one wireless network component (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79), and wherein the second set of RS-Ps comprises a second set of uplink or sidelink SRS-Ps (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79) transmitted by the UE to the at least one wireless network component (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Frenger in order to incorporate the SRS signaling of Man based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance using the uplink to further the positioning signaling with round trip or updated position information would only serve to improve the end result of the positioning determinations by providing more information to be used in the final determinations as well as the ability to account for changes over time or in between signaling periods, with the ability to communicate between these entities already shown to be known with understood and expected functionality in positioning processing.
Re claim 12, Frenger discloses the method of claim 11 but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first set of RS-Ps comprises a first set of uplink or sidelink sounding reference signals for positioning (SRS-Ps) received at a wireless network component from the UE, wherein the second set of RS-Ps comprises a second set of uplink or sidelink SRS-Ps received at the wireless network component from the UE.
This design is however disclosed by Man. Man discloses wherein the first set of RS-Ps comprises a first set of uplink or sidelink sounding reference signals for positioning (SRS-Ps) (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79) received at a wireless network component from the UE (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79), wherein the second set of RS-Ps comprises a second set of uplink or sidelink SRS-Ps (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79) received at the wireless network component from the UE (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Frenger in order to incorporate the SRS signaling of Man based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance using the uplink to further the positioning signaling with round trip or updated position information would only serve to improve the end result of the positioning determinations by providing more information to be used in the final determinations as well as the ability to account for changes over time or in between signaling periods, with the ability to communicate between these entities already shown to be known with understood and expected functionality in positioning processing.
Claims 18-22 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (herein after Man) (US Pub 20190356431) in view of Zhou (US Pub 20210185614).
Re claim 18, Man discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a network component, a first varying sounding reference signal for positioning (SRS-P) configuration that comprises a first SRS-P configuration (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79 – multiple SRS tied to individual triggers), a second SRS-P configuration (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79 – multiple SRS tied to individual triggers), and at least one event-triggering condition for transitioning between the first and second SRS-P configurations (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79 – various ‘trigger’ indications);
transmitting (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79), to at least one wireless network component (Fig 1; Par 43-47, 66, 94), a first set of SRS-Ps during a first time period in accordance with the first SRS-P configuration (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79);
determining to transition from the first SRS-P configuration to the second SRS-P configuration based on monitoring of the event-triggering condition (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79 – various ‘trigger’ indications); and
transmitting (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79), a second set of SRS-Ps during a second time period in accordance with the second SRS- P configuration (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79); however, Man fails to explicitly disclose transmitting, to the at least one wireless network component, an indication of the transition; and transmitting, to the at least one wireless network component subsequent to transmission of the transition indication, a communication.
This design is however disclosed by Zhou. Zhou discloses transmitting, to the at least one wireless network component, an indication of the transition (Fig 48 el 4802; Par 405); and transmitting, to the at least one wireless network component subsequent to transmission of the transition indication, a communication (Fig 48 el 4830-4850; Par 405).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Man in order to incorporate the transition signaling of Zhou based on the rationale of applying a known technique to a known design ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this instance the design of transitioning what is being communicated between two communication elements has been shown, the contribution of incorporating the indication of the transition through Zhou would then allow for the use of already established communication to clearly indicate when the transitions have actually been achieved, reducing the likelihood of errors such as missed or incorrect transitions, and allowing for a more precise and accurate position processing results.
Re claim 19, the combined disclosure of Man and Zhou as a whole discloses the method of claim 18, Man further discloses wherein the network component comprises a serving wireless network component (Fig 1; Par 43-47, 66, 94), a location management function (LMF), a location server (Fig 1; Par 43-47, 66, 94), or a combination thereof (Fig 1; Par 43-47, 66, 94).
Re claim 20, the combined disclosure of Man and Zhou as a whole discloses the method of claim 18, Man further discloses wherein the at least one event-triggering condition comprises a motion condition of the UE, a location of the UE, a channel characteristic associated with the UE (Par 53, 61, 65-70), a navigational route condition associated with the UE, a satellite constellation condition associated with the UE, or a combination thereof.
Re claim 21, the combined disclosure of Man and Zhou as a whole discloses the method of claim 18, Man further discloses wherein receiving (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79 – multiple SRS tied to individual triggers), from the network component, a second varying SRS-P configuration that differs relative to the first varying SRS-P configuration in terms of one or more RS-P configuration parameters (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79 – multiple SRS tied to individual triggers), one or more associated time periods, or a combination thereof (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79 – multiple SRS tied to individual triggers).
Re claim 22, the combined disclosure of Man and Zhou as a whole discloses the method of claim 18, Man further discloses wherein the first and second SRS-P configurations differ in terms of SRS-P resource set (Par 9, 66), SRS-P resource (Par 9, 66), periodicity, repetition factor, or a combination thereof (Par 9, 66).
Re claim 33, Man discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory (Par 13-14, 73-74, 85-86, 94);
at least one transceiver (Fig. 1; Par 13-14, 73-74, 85-86, 94); and
at least one processor (Fig. 1; Par 13-14, 73-74, 85-86, 94) communicatively coupled to the memory (Fig. 1; Par 13-14, 73-74, 85-86, 94) and the at least one transceiver (Fig. 1; Par 13-14, 73-74, 85-86, 94), the at least one processor configured to:
receive, from a network component, a first varying sounding reference signal for positioning (SRS-P) configuration that comprises a first SRS-P configuration (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79 – multiple SRS tied to individual triggers), a second SRS-P configuration (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79 – multiple SRS tied to individual triggers), and at least one event-triggering condition for transitioning between the first and second SRS-P configurations (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79 – various ‘trigger’ indications);
transmit (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79), to at least one wireless network component (Fig 1; Par 43-47, 66, 94), a first set of SRS-Ps during a first time period in accordance with the first SRS-P configuration (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79);
determine to transition from the first SRS-P configuration to the second SRS-P configuration based on monitoring of the event-triggering condition (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79 – various ‘trigger’ indications); and
transmit (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79), a second set of SRS-Ps during a second time period in accordance with the second SRS- P configuration (Fig 6A/6B; Par 51-54, 66, 72-74, 77-79); however, Man fails to explicitly disclose transmit, to the at least one wireless network component, an indication of the transition; and transmit, to the at least one wireless network component subsequent to transmission of the transition indication, a communication.
This design is however disclosed by Zhou. Zhou discloses transmit, to the at least one wireless network component, an indication of the transition (Fig 48 el 4802; Par 405); and transmit, to the at least one wireless network component subsequent to transmission of the transition indication, a communication (Fig 48 el 4830-4850; Par 405).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Man in order to incorporate the transition signaling of Zhou based on the rationale of applying a known technique to a known design ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this instance the design of transitioning what is being communicated between two communication elements has been shown, the contribution of incorporating the indication of the transition through Zhou would then allow for the use of already established communication to clearly indicate when the transitions have actually been achieved, reducing the likelihood of errors such as missed or incorrect transitions, and allowing for a more precise and accurate position processing results.
Re claim 34, the combined disclosure of Man and Zhou as a whole discloses the UE of claim 33, Man further discloses wherein the network component comprises a serving wireless network component (Fig 1; Par 43-47, 66, 94), a location management function (LMF), a location server (Fig 1; Par 43-47, 66, 94), or a combination thereof (Fig 1; Par 43-47, 66, 94).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-28 and 35-36 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to anticipate or render obvious the limitations of the above cited claims. Re claims 23 and 35 the prior art fails to explicitly disclose the characteristics of the varying reference signal configuration inclusive of triggering conditions that affect or allow for a UE initiated transition between the defined first and second reference signals.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL R NEFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631