The preliminary amendment filed 7/13/23 has been entered and the claims therein have been examined on their merits. Claims 1-2, 7, 9, 15, 17-18, 23-24, 30, 32-33, 38, 40, 46, 48-49, 54-55, and 61 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS statements filed to date have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 9, 17-18, 23-24, 32-33, 38, 40, 48-49, and 54-55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Ly et al., US 2024/0015707, (“Ly”).
Independent Claims
Regarding claim 1, Ly teaches “A method for determining a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) bundling window size, applied to a terminal, comprising:
determining a DMRS bundling window size for an uplink multi-slot DMRS transmission pattern based on a configuration from a network side device or a predefined rule agreed by a network side device and the terminal” (see, e.g., Fig. 5 and its respective written description; see paragraph nos. 0073, 0076 and in particular, 0073, “the base station may provide the UE with a configuration indicating or enabling the UE to perform DMRS bundling across PUCCH repetitions. For instance, the base station may provide the configuration enabling DMRS bundling to the UE for each PUCCH format within the PUCCH format configuration (e.g., in PUCCH-FormatConfig), for each PUCCH resource within the PUCCH resource set configuration (e.g., in PUCCH-ResourceSetConfig), or within the PUCCH configuration itself (e.g., PUCCH-Config) … Thus, in this example, the UE may determine the DMRS bundling window to encompass the indicated number of repetitions (e.g., in the PUCCH format configuration via parameter nrOfSlots, or in DCI)”; see Fig. 5 which shows an uplink multi-slot DMRS transmission pattern; note that the second alternative “a predefined rule agreed …” is also taught in paragraph no. 0074 which discloses that the UE transmits to a base station its capability to support PUCCH DMRS bundling for PUCCH repetitions).
Regarding independent claims 17 and 32, these independent claims are corresponding network method and terminal claims of the terminal method claim 1 and recite similar subject matter. As such, the rationale behind the above rejection of claim 1 applies with equal force to these independent claims and as further amplified below to highlight the minor differences between the claims.
Regarding independent claim 32, see Fig. 3, UE 350 for the claimed structural elements of the claim.
Dependent Claims
Regarding claim 48, see Fig. 3, base station 310 for the claimed structural elements of the claim.
Regarding claims 2, 18, 33, and 49, Ly teaches “determining the DMRS bundling window size based on an uplink channel repetition factor” (paragraph no. 0076 discloses K PUCCH repetitions via RRC), “determining the uplink channel repetition factor as the DMRS bundling window size” (paragraph no. 0076 discloses “When the UE receives the number of repetitions K, the UE may determine a DMRS bundling window 508”), and “wherein the uplink channel repetition factor is semi-statically indicated by radio resource control (RRC) signaling” (paragraph no. 0076). The remaining limitations of each claim are written in alternative form and hence, are not addressed at this time.
Regarding claims 7, 23, 38, and 54, Ly teaches “determining whether the terminal has a DMRS bundling capability based on terminal capability; and in a case that the terminal has the DMRS bundling capability, determining the DMRS bundling window size (paragraph no. 0074); and/or,
transmitting terminal capability information to the network side device, wherein the terminal capability information carries information indicating whether the terminal has a DMRS bundling capability” (paragraph no. 0074).
Regarding claims 9, 24, 40, 55, Ly teaches “wherein the determining the DMRS bundling window size for the uplink multi-slot DMRS transmission pattern based on the configuration from the network side device comprises:
receiving indication information configured by the network side device through an RRC signaling or DCI, wherein the indication information carries the DMRS bundling window size (paragraph no. 0073); and
determining the DMRS bundling window size based on the indication information” (paragraph no. 0073).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 30, 46, and 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly or alternatively, Ly in view of the 3GPP document entitled “Discussion on potential techniques for PUCCH coverage enhancement” by CATT, R1-2007875, (“Catt”).
Regarding claims 15, 30, 46, and 61, Ly teaches “wherein after the determining the DMRS bundling window size for the uplink multi-slot DMRS transmission pattern, the method further comprising:
dividing the DMRS bundling window size based on a time division duplex (TDD) resource configuration or an invalid symbol to obtain actual DMRS bundling window sizes (the “a TDD resource configuration” alternative is addressed – see paragraph no. 0072, “Additionally, although the following examples to be described with respect to DMRS bundling refer to PUCCH transmissions occupying a single DMRS bundling window, the transmissions may alternatively occupy or be split across multiple, consecutive or inconsecutive DMRS bundling windows in other examples”);
and/or in a case that frequency hopping for the uplink transmission is enabled, determining an actual DMRS bundling window size based on a frequency hopping pattern,
wherein the actual DMRS bundling window size is less than or equal to a number of slots comprised in each hop.”
Ly’s disclosure that the transmissions may be split across multiple, consecutive or inconsecutive DMRS bundling windows appears to teach that the division of the window size is based on a “TDD resource configuration” as recited in each claim. However, assuming arguendo that Ly does not teach this TDD resource configuration, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Ly by dividing the window size based on a TDD resource configuration to facilitate the transmission of DMRS in multiple PUCCH transmissions.
Examiner’s note: see paragraph no. 0072 which discloses frequency hopping which seems to suggest the second alternative “or in a case that frequency hopping …” recited in each claim.
Alternatively, Ly does not teach but Catt teaches the second alternative limitation “or in a case that frequency hopping for the uplink transmission is enabled, determining an actual DMRS bundling window size based on a frequency hopping pattern,
wherein the actual DMRS bundling window size is less than or equal to a number of slots comprised in each hop” (see page 5, Figure 4 which discloses a frequency hopping pattern used in determining a DMRS bundling window in which the window size is two slots and each frequency hop includes two slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Ly by incorporating the teachings of Catt to combine DMRS bundling with time spacial diversity (TSD), as suggested by Catt on page 5.
Conclusion
/WON TAE C KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414