DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
- The amendment filed on October 29, 2025 has been entered.
- Claims 1, 4-6, 9, 12-14, 17, 20-22, 25 and 28-30 are pending.
- Claims 1, 4-6, 9, 12-14, 17, 20-22, 25 and 28-30 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 13, 17, 21, 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seok et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0247680 A1; hereinafter Seok)
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Seok disclose a terminal, comprising: a memory for storing computer programs; a transceiver for transmitting and receiving data under a control of a processor; and a processor for reading the computer programs in the memory, wherein the computer programs, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform the following operation[[s]]:determining, based on indication information from a network side device or a predefined rule,(2023/0247680-See ¶0317, a repetitive transmission count of a new PUSCH and a frequency hopping method may be configured in the form of a pair (i.e., the repetitive transmission count and the hopping method) for the terminal by a base station through DCI corresponding to the new PUSCH, and the terminal may transmit the new Msg3 PUSCH.) a frequency hopping mode for message 3 (Msg3) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and/or a redundancy version (RV) for Msg3 PUSCH repetition; See ¶0317, a repetitive transmission count of a new PUSCH and a frequency hopping method may be configured in the form of a pair (i.e., the repetitive transmission count and the hopping method) for the terminal by a base station through DCI corresponding to the new PUSCH, and the terminal may transmit the new Msg3 PUSCH.) wherein the terminal has enabled the Msg3 PUSCH repetition and frequency hopping in frequency domain. (See ¶0173, The terminal may determine whether to repeatedly transmit a Msg3 PUSCH, through explicit information received from the base station. The explicit information enabling the terminal to determine to repeatedly transmit a Msg3 PUSCH; See ¶0317, a repetitive transmission count of a new PUSCH and a frequency hopping method may be configured in the form of a pair (i.e., the repetitive transmission count and the hopping method) for the terminal by a base station through DCI corresponding to the new PUSCH, and the terminal may transmit the new Msg3 PUSCH.) Wherein for Msg3 PUSCH initial transmission, the determining, based on the indication information from the network side device or the predefined rule, the frequency hopping mode for Msg3 PUSCH comprises any one of the following[[s]]: determining the frequency hopping mode based on an uplink (UL) grant carried by a random access response (RAR), wherein a reserved bit in the UL grant is used to indicate the frequency hopping mode; determining the frequency hopping mode based on whether repetition type A for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition is enabled; (See ¶0154, For repeated PUSCH transmission type A, one of intra-slot frequency hopping, in which frequency hopping is performed within a slot, and inter-slot frequency hopping, in which frequency hopping is performed in each slot, may be configured for the terminal.) determining, based on a random access channel (RACH) configuration index, the frequency hopping mode for a case in which repetition type A for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition is enabled, wherein a correspondence relationship between the RACH configuration index and the frequency hopping mode is given;determining, based on a preamble index, the frequency hopping mode for the case in which repetition type A for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition is enabled, wherein a correspondence relationship between the preamble index and the frequency hopping mode is given; determining, based on broadcast information, the frequency hopping mode for the case in which repetition type A for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition is enabled; and determining, based on media access control (MAC) random access response (RAR), a frequency hopping mode corresponding to the MAC RAR for the case in which repetition type A for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition is enabled, wherein a reserved bit in the MAC RAR indicates the frequency hopping mode; wherein the frequency hopping mode comprises intra-slot frequency hopping or inter-slot frequency hopping; (See ¶0154, For repeated PUSCH transmission type A, one of intra-slot frequency hopping, in which frequency hopping is performed within a slot, and inter-slot frequency hopping, in which frequency hopping is performed in each slot, may be configured for the terminal.) wherein the determining the frequency hopping mode based on whether repetition type A for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition is enabled comprises: in case that Msg3 PUSCH is transmitted over a single slot, determining the frequency hopping mode as intra-slot frequency hopping; (See ¶0154, For repeated PUSCH transmission type A, one of intra-slot frequency hopping, in which frequency hopping is performed within a slot, and inter-slot frequency hopping, in which frequency hopping is performed in each slot, may be configured for the terminal.)or in case that the Msg3 PUSCH is transmitted over multiple slots, determining the frequency hopping mode as inter-slot frequency hopping.
Regarding claims 5, 13, 21 and 29, Seok disclose for Msg3 PUSCH retransmission, the determining, based on the indication information from the network side device or the predefined rule, the frequency hopping mode for Msg3 PUSCH, comprises: in case that repetition type A is enabled for the Msg3 PUSCH retransmission, determining a frequency hopping mode for Msg3 PUSCH initial transmission as a frequency hopping mode for the Msg3 PUSCH retransmission; (2023/0247680-See ¶0154, For repeated PUSCH transmission type A, one of intra-slot frequency hopping, in which frequency hopping is performed within a slot, and inter-slot frequency hopping, in which frequency hopping is performed in each slot, may be configured for the terminal; See ¶0174, , in a case where the base station configures repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH to be enabled, the base station may configure the terminal to always and repeatedly transmit the Msg3 PUSCH.)or in case that repetition type A is enabled for the Msg3 PUSCH retransmission, determining the frequency hopping mode for the Msg3 PUSCH retransmission based on target DCI; wherein the target DCI is DCI scheduling the Msg3 PUSCH retransmission, and a reserved bit in the target DCI indicates the frequency hopping mode for the Msg3 PUSCH retransmission.
Regarding claims 9 and 25, Seok disclose a network side device, comprising: a memory for storing computer programs; a transceiver for transmitting and receiving data under a control of a processor; and a processor for reading the computer programs in the memory, wherein the computer programs, when executed by the processor, causes the network side device to perform the following operation: determining based on a predefined rule, or indicating to a terminal a frequency hopping mode for message 3 (Msg3) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and/or a redundancy version (RV) for Msg3 PUSCH repetition; (2023/0247680-See ¶0317, a repetitive transmission count of a new PUSCH and a frequency hopping method may be configured in the form of a pair (i.e., the repetitive transmission count and the hopping method) for the terminal by a base station through DCI corresponding to the new PUSCH, and the terminal may transmit the new Msg3 PUSCH.) wherein the terminal has enabled the Msg3 PUSCH repetition and frequency hopping in frequency domain. (See ¶0173, The terminal may determine whether to repeatedly transmit a Msg3 PUSCH, through explicit information received from the base station. The explicit information enabling the terminal to determine to repeatedly transmit a Msg3 PUSCH; See ¶0317, a repetitive transmission count of a new PUSCH and a frequency hopping method may be configured in the form of a pair (i.e., the repetitive transmission count and the hopping method) for the terminal by a base station through DCI corresponding to the new PUSCH, and the terminal may transmit the new Msg3 PUSCH.) wherein for Msg3 PUSCH initial transmission, the determining based on the predefined rule, or indicating to the terminal the frequency hopping mode for Msg3 PUSCH, comprises any one of the following: determining the frequency hopping mode based on an uplink (UL) grant carried by a random access response (RAR), wherein a reserved bit in the UL grant is used to indicate the frequency hopping mode; determining the frequency hopping mode based on whether repetition type A for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition is enabled; (See ¶0154, For repeated PUSCH transmission type A, one of intra-slot frequency hopping, in which frequency hopping is performed within a slot, and inter-slot frequency hopping, in which frequency hopping is performed in each slot, may be configured for the terminal.) determining, based on a random access channel (RACH) configuration index, the frequency hopping mode for a case in which repetition type A for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition is enabled, wherein a correspondence relationship between the RACH configuration index and the frequency hopping mode is given;determining, based on a preamble index, the frequency hopping mode for the case in which repetition type A for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition is enabled, wherein a correspondence relationship between the preamble index and the frequency hopping mode is given; determining, based on broadcast information, the frequency hopping mode for the case in which repetition type A for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition is enabled; and determining, based on media access control (MAC) random access response (RAR), a frequency hopping mode corresponding to the MAC RAR for the case in which repetition type A for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition is enabled, wherein a reserved bit in the MAC RAR indicates the frequency hopping mode; wherein the frequency hopping mode comprises intra-slot frequency hopping or inter-slot frequency hopping; wherein the determining the frequency hopping mode based on whether repetition type A for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition is enabled comprises: in case that Msg3 PUSCH is transmitted over a single slot, determining the frequency hopping mode as intra-slot frequency hopping; (See ¶0154, For repeated PUSCH transmission type A, one of intra-slot frequency hopping, in which frequency hopping is performed within a slot, and inter-slot frequency hopping, in which frequency hopping is performed in each slot, may be configured for the terminal.)or in case that the Msg3 PUSCH is transmitted over multiple slots, determining the frequency hopping mode as inter-slot frequency hopping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 12, 20 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok in view of Lei et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0195653 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 12, 20 and 28, Seok disclose fails to disclose the broadcast information is downlink control information (DCI) scheduling broadcast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein a reserved bit in the DCI indicates the frequency hopping mode; or the broadcast information is broadcast PDSCH.
Lei discloses the broadcast information is downlink control information (DCI) scheduling broadcast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein a reserved bit in the DCI indicates the frequency hopping mode; or the broadcast information is broadcast PDSCH. (Pub. No. US 2021/0195653 A1-See ¶0139, reserved fields of existing DCI formats (e.g., DCI formats supported by Release 16) may be re-purposed to indicate the PUCCH formats, PUCCH repetition levels, and/or frequency hopping patterns.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify receiving configuration for msg3 utilizing frequency hopping to include there are reserved bits in the DCI for frequency hopping. The motivation to combine is enable UEs with reduced capabilities to trigger a timeline relaxation, a PUCCH coverage enhancement, and/or a PUSCH coverage enhancement during a network access procedure for improved performance (See ¶0183).
Claim(s) 6, 14, 22 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok in view of Ly et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0015149 A1; hereinafter Ly).
Regarding claims 6, 14, 22 and 30, Seok disclose the determining, based on the indication information from the network side device or the predefined rule, the RV for Msg3 PUSCH, comprises: determining an RV value for a first repetition of Msg3 PUSCH; and taking the RV value for the first repetition as a starting point, and determining subsequent RV values as RV values for subsequent repetitions.
Ly discloses the determining, based on the indication information from the network side device or the predefined rule, the RV for Msg3 PUSCH, (2022/0015149-See ¶0084, a system information message (e.g., SIB) may further include a RV configuration message, as described further below in connection with FIG. 9. For example, a UE may employ an RV configuration message received in a system information message to configure an RV pattern for an initial MSG3 transmission and/or a MSG3 retransmission.) comprises: determining an RV value for a first repetition of Msg3 PUSCH; and taking the RV value for the first repetition as a starting point, and determining subsequent RV values as RV values for subsequent repetitions.(See ¶0060, The RV configurations 320, 322, 324 can be defined by various RV arrangements and compositions. For example, as illustrated, RV 312 has a starting point “A” and an ending point “Z” that defines the coded bit string for RV 312 (e.g., the order of the coded bits 308).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration information has rv information to include the RV information indicates the start of the RV and end of the RV. The motivation to combine is improve MSG3 reliability and improve MSG3 coverage, a UE may apply different RVs in respective repetitions of MSG3 (See ¶0078).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed toward claims 1, 9 17 and 25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the Seok fails to disclose wherein the “an information determination method performed by a terminal, where during the initial transmission phase of Msg3 PUSCH, the terminal autonomously determines the frequency hopping type based on a variety of specific indications or predefined rules.” Nothing in the claim states its autonomously determines. The claim recites “the determining, based on the indication information from the network side device or the predefined rule, the frequency hopping mode for Msg3 PUSCH comprises any one of the following.” The base station configures the UE with the frequency hopping based on enable type A for the msg3. Seok does disclose UE being configured for the frequency hopping.
Applicants’ argument toward priority of prior art. Please see OA Appendix for copy of foreign priority document for seok et al (Pub. No. US 2023/0247680 A1) dated October 11, 2020.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiong et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0251016 A1)-See ¶0078, whether a PUSCH repetition type A or type B is applied for a Msg3 PUSCH repetition can be configured by higher layers via RMSI (SIB1), OSI or RRC signaling. Note that only one of PUSCH repetition type A and type B can be configured for a Msg3 PUSCH repetition
Cozzo et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0360660 A1)-See ¶0118, A gNB, such as the BS 102, can indicate whether PUSCH repetition Type A or PUSCH repetition Type B is used through a SIB. Alternatively, if not all UEs can support a PUSCH repetition Type, such as PUSCH repetition Type B, PUSCH repetition Type A is used by default. It is also possible for a UE, such as the UE 116, to indicate a PUSCH repetition Type by selecting a PRACH preamble. For example, the gNB can indicate in a SIB that a first set of PRACH preambles are associated with PUSCH repetition Type A and a second (remaining) set of PRACH preambles are associated with PUSCH repetition Type B. The UE transmits a Msg3 PUSCH with Type A or with Type B repetitions depending on whether the UE selects a PRACH preamble from the first set or from the second set of PRACH preambles.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Tejis Daya/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472