DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As disclosed below Lin discloses an updating DCI that includes parameters like activated TCI states that uses the HARQ feedback/procedure that contains codepoint for HPN. Lin further discloses the cyclic sequence for RV determination in which RV=0, RV=1, RV=2, and RV=3 in the 2 bit code point for DCI it translates to 00, 01, 10, and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 13-14, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 20210160879 A1, hereinafter Lin)
Regarding claims 1, 10, 13 Lin disclosesdetermining a first downlink control information (DCI) signaling configured to indicate a currently activated TCI state such that the first DCI signaling does not schedule a physical downlink shared channel(PDSCH), (Paragraph [0231], “An updating/modification DCI/MAC is expected to be used mainly for minor updates to some/few configuration parameters, such as link-related parameter, e.g., MCS, beam/SRI/TCI/number of repetitions, and so on…” and paragraph [0232], “The benefit of such an updating/modification DCI/MAC for DL SPS (Type-2, per terminology in the above discussed embodiments for DL SPS Type-1 with RRC activation/release) or UL CG Type-2, wherein RRC (re-)configures some parameters but DCI indicates most of the parameters and activates/deactivates the resources, is to avoid the legacy method of a releasing/deactivation DCI (or releasing MAC command, per the embodiments for group release of DL SPS/UL CG for multiple UEs, which describes UE-group commands) along with the corresponding HARQ feedback/procedure and then another activation DCI (or activation MAC command, per the embodiments for group activation of DL SPS/UL CG for one or multiple UEs via PDSCH), and replace it with only an updating DCI along with HARQ feedback/procedure” The TCI stated in the update MUST be an activated tci as it is known in the art that configured tci cannot be referenced in the DCI. Furthermore, for minor updates of configurations it does not schedule PDSCH.)
wherein a code point of a TCI field and/or a code point of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number field of the first DCI signaling is associated with the currently activated TCI state, (paragraph [0232], “The benefit of such an updating/modification DCI/MAC for DL SPS … is to avoid the legacy method of a releasing/deactivation DCI (or releasing MAC command, per the embodiments for group release of DL SPS/UL CG for multiple UEs, which describes UE-group commands) along with the corresponding HARQ feedback/procedure and then another activation DCI (or activation MAC command, per the embodiments for group activation of DL SPS/UL CG for one or multiple UEs via PDSCH), and replace it with only an updating DCI along with HARQ feedback/procedure” and paragraph [0121], “only one HARQ process is configured for DL SPS Type-1 with the HARQ process number (HPN) predetermined (e.g., HPN=0) or explicitly configured, or multiple HARQ processes can be configured for DL SPS Type-1, where HPN is determined based on the (start) timing of the DL SPS transmission occasions” In the minor update the codepoint for the HPN is associated with the activated TCI carried in the DCI.)
a code point of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field of the first DCI signaling is all 1, a code point of a new data indicator (NDI) field of the first DCI signaling is 0 and in response to a PDSCH frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) type being Type 1, a code point of an FDRA field of the first DCI signaling is all 1, otherwise the code point of the FDRA field of the first DCI signaling is all 0, and sending the first DCI signaling. (Paragraph [0105], “ For example, a valid activation DCI sets new data indicator (NDI)=0, HARQ process number (HPN)=all zeros, and redundancy version (RV)=00, while a valid releasing DCI sets NDI=0, HPN=all zeros, RV=00, MCS=all ones, and FDRA=all ones.” And paragraph [0331], “In one example, a HARQ process number field associated with a PDSCH scheduled to the UE is set to all “0”s, RV is set to all “0”s, MCS associated with a PDSCH scheduled to the UE is set to all “1”s, FDRA associated with a PDSCH scheduled to the UE is set to all “0”s for FDRA Type 0 or for FDRA Type 2 with μ=1, FDRA associated with a PDSCH scheduled to the UE is set to all “1”s for FDRA Type1 or FDRA Type 2 with μ=1.”)
and a code point of a redundancy version (RV) field of the first DCI signaling is 11. (Paragraph [0122], “a redundancy version (RV) is fixed in the specifications, e.g., RV=0, for the case of no repetition, or when repetition is enabled, the RV is determined e.g., based on a cyclic shift/selection from a predetermined or configured RV sequence, e.g., from the set of RV sequences {0, 0, 0, 0}, {0, 3, 0, 3}, or {0, 3, 1, 2} based on the actual/nominal repetition index.” In this example for instance {0, 3, 0, 3}, its stating that the RV cycles between RV=0 and RV=3 and in DCI 2 bit RV=3 is 11. The cycle covers RV=0-3 which is reflective of its codepoint representation of 00, 01, 10, and 11.)
Specifically regarding claim 10 Lin discloses:
At least one processor (Paragraph [0050], “The UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, a touchscreen 350, a display 355, and a memory 360.”)
A memory configured to store instructions executable by the at least one processor (Paragraph [0053], “The processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116.”)
Specifically regarding claim 13 Lin discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Paragraph [0010], “Moreover, various functions described below can be implemented or supported by one or more computer programs, each of which is formed from computer readable program code and embodied in a computer readable medium… A “non-transitory” computer readable medium…)
Regarding claims 3 and 18 Lin discloses:
the first DCI signaling is scrambled by using first scrambling information, the first scrambling information is scrambling information for TCI, and the first scrambling information is different from a configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI) used for scrambling the second DCI signaling. (Paragraph [0127], “In yet another example, a DL SPS Type-1 can be configured with DMRS configuration which is UE-specific, e.g., UE-specific cyclic shift parameters, cover codes, initialization/scrambling, base sequences, spatial ports/parameters, and/or so on, for DMRS configuration.” Different from CS-RNTI scrambling.)
(NOTE: claim 19 is a combination of claims 4-6 and will be addressed alongside their respective limitation.)
Regarding claim 4 and 19 Lin discloses:
the TCI field of the first DCI signaling is configured to indicate one TCI state, and all code points of the HARQ process number field of the first DCI signaling are not associated with the TCI state. (Paragraph [0120], “In one example, a configuration for DL SPS Type-1 can include indication for one or more of the following…MIMO related parameters such as antenna port, TCI, DMRS initialization…” This configuration includes indication parameters for TCI but does not indicate HARQ thus the codepoints are not associated with the TCI state.)
Regarding claim 5 and 19 Lin discloses:
wherein the TCI field of the first DCI signaling is configured to indicate two TCI states, and all code points of the HARQ process number field of the first DCI signaling are not associated with the TCI states. (Paragraph [0120], “In one example, a configuration for DL SPS Type-1 can include indication for one or more of the following…MIMO related parameters such as antenna port, TCI, DMRS initialization…” And paragraph [0245], “the configured DL RS(s) can be e.g., DL RS(s)/TCI state(s) configured/indicated for DL SPS” As disclosed above the configuration includes indication parameters for TCI [0245] includes configuration for multiple tci states for the DL SPS.)
Regarding claim 6 and 19 Lin discloses:
wherein the TCI field of the first DCI signaling is configured to indicate one TCI state, and the HARQ process number field of the first DCI signaling is configured to indicate one TCI state. (Paragraph [0091], “ A dynamic data transmission, e.g., in DL or UL, pertains an aperiodic transmission of information on a PDSCH or PUSCH…A DCI format scheduling unicast PDSCH or PUSCH, such as a DCI format 1_0 or 1_1 or 1_2 and so on for PDSCH or a DCI format 0_0 or 0_1 or 0_2 and so on for PUSCH, indicate (basic) parameters related to resource allocation, power control, and scheduling and HARQ (if applicable), such as: time domain resource allocation (TDRA), frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA), virtual to physical resource mapping (for the case of interleaving), modulation and coding scheme (MCS), UL frequency hopping parameters, HARQ process number (HPN)…” And paragraph [0092], “A scheduling DCI (such as DCI format 1_1, 1_2 or 0_1, 0_2) can additionally include parameters related to cross scheduling, MIMO operation, enhanced HARQ operation, control information multiplexing, rate matching (if applicable), repetition, and so on, such as…transmission configuration indicator/scheduling request indicator (TCI/SRI…” For dynamic data transmission there must be codepoints in the DCI (HPN associated with activated TCI if TCI is included as a parameter) because it needs to be explicitly signaled.)
Regarding claims 14 and 16 Lin discloses:
determining, based on a structure of a second DCI signaling for deactivating a semi- persistent (SPS) PDSCH resource, the first DCI signaling configured to indicate the currently activated TCI state such that the first DCI signaling does not schedule the PDSCH. (Paragraph [0231], “An updating/modification DCI/MAC is expected to be used mainly for minor updates to some/few configuration parameters, such as link-related parameter, e.g., MCS, beam/SRI/TCI/number of repetitions, and so on…The benefit of such a (semi-)dynamic updating/modification DCI/MAC for DL SPS Type-1 (per terminology in the above discussed embodiments for DL SPS Type-1 with RRC activation/release) or UL CG Type-1, wherein RRC (re-)configures and also activates/deactivates the resources” A second updating DCI is used for deactivation of SPS resources.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9, 15, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of GAO et al. (US 20230336284 A1, hereinafter Gao).
Regarding claims 7 and 20 Lin does not disclose:
the RV field of the first DCI signaling is configured to point to one or two TCI states indicated by the first DCI signaling, to select a currently indicated TCI state.
Gao discloses:
the RV field of the first DCI signaling is configured to point to one or two TCI states indicated by the first DCI signaling, to select a currently indicated TCI state. (Paragraph [0008], “(ii) when the RV field is set to a third value, at least one of the one or more beam states in the DCI can be applied for DL signals, or (iii) when the RV field is set to a forth value, at least one of the one or more beam states in the DCI can be applied for UL signals.” The RV fields points to one or more beam state (TCI states) in the DCI When RV is 3 it points to the TCI states applicable for DL and when its 4 it points to UL.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Lin in view of Gao to overload/reuse the RV field in Lin to point to TCI states. One would have been motivated to do this to reduce the payload size of the DCI.
Regarding claims 8 and 21 Lin does not disclose:
wherein the RV field of the first DCI signaling is configured to indicate that the first DCI signaling is applicable to an uplink channel and/or a downlink channel.
Gao discloses
wherein the RV field of the first DCI signaling is configured to indicate that the first DCI signaling is applicable to an uplink channel and/or a downlink channel. (Paragraph [0060], “ the redundancy version (RV) field in the DCI can be set to ‘a specific value’. For instance, the RV field can be set to all ‘0’s or 1. That is, the specific value can be all ‘0’s or 1. In addition, when the RV field is set to a first value (e.g., ‘00’), the DCI can be used for semi persisting scheduling (SPS) release. When the RV field is set to a second value (e.g., ‘01’), the beam state in the DCI can be applied for both DL signals and UL signals. When the RV field is set to a third value (e.g., ‘10’), the beam state in the DCI can be applied for DL signals. When the RV field is set to a forth value (e.g., ‘11’), the beam state in the DCI can be applied for UL signals.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Lin in view of Gao to overload/reuse the RV field in Lin to point to TCI states. One would have been motivated to do this to reduce the payload size of the DCI.
Regarding claims 9, 15, 22 Lin does not disclose:
wherein the NDI field of the first DCI signaling is configured to point to one TCI state indicated by the first DCI signaling, to select a currently indicated TCI state;
or the NDI field of the first DCI signaling is configured to indicate that the first DCI signaling is applicable to an uplink channel and/or a downlink channel.
Gao discloses:
wherein the NDI field of the first DCI signaling is configured to point to one TCI state indicated by the first DCI signaling, to select a currently indicated TCI state; (Paragraph [0076], “When an RRC parameter is configured for enabling separate DL and UL beam indication, the NDI field can further indicate that the indicated beam state is applied to DL only or UL only.” The NDI field must point towards a TCI state (beam state) to indicate if its DL or UL.)
or the NDI field of the first DCI signaling is configured to indicate that the first DCI signaling is applicable to an uplink channel and/or a downlink channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Lin in view of Gao to overload/reuse the NDI field in Lin to point to TCI states. One would have been motivated to do this to reduce the payload size of the DCI.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAM P. CAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479