DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11-13, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helbling (US 3744149 A) in view of Yu (CN 209884733 U).
Regarding claim 1, Helbling discloses an air-flow apparatus which is arranged for treating air and for drying an object, in particular a human hand, the air-flow apparatus comprising:
a housing having an interior space (5) into which the object to be dried is insertable via an opening, and having a base opposite the opening (bottom portion of the housing);
a suction pump (14) which is connected on an inlet side to the interior space in such a way that, by means of a pumping action of the pump, a negative pressure is generated in the interior space and a first air flow directed from the opening exclusively into the interior space, is generated for drying the object, the pump being designed for discharging on an outlet side an outlet air flow passing through the pump (col. 1, lines 58-63); and
a flow arrangement which has a controllable overpressure generating device (2), an inflow pipe (4 alone, or 4+11+12) and at least one nozzle (downstream end of the inflow pipe and opening into space 5), the controllable overpressure generating device being connected on its outlet side via the inflow pipe and the at least one nozzle to the interior space and being adapted to form an overpressure in the inflow pipe and to generate via the at least one nozzle a second air flow directed into the interior space for drying the object.
Helbling fails to disclose:
a partially opened lid of the housing
Yu teaches a foot cleaning device comprising two openings for a user to insert their feet, and where each opening is formed by a partially opened lid (6) (see pg. 3, the lid 6 is provided with a pull rope to adjust the size of the opening). The purpose of the adjustable lid is prevent loss of heat (see bottom of pg. 3)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Helbling to include an adjustable partially opened lid of the housing. The motivation to combine is so that once a user sticks their hand into the interior space, the lid can partially close around the wrist of the user, thereby reducing the loss of heat (note: Helbling discloses a heater 3). The result of reduced heat loss is faster drying.
Regarding claim 9, modified Helbling discloses the air-flow apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first air flow is greater than the second air flow and the negative pressure in the interior space generated by the pump is greater in amount than a positive pressure in the interior space generated by the overpressure generating device (Yu; col. 1, lines 58-63).
Regarding claim 11, modified Helbling discloses the air-flow apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a unit for discharging and/or decontaminating (Helbling, filter 18) the outlet air flow, in particular the outlet air flow contaminated with germs, is fitted to an inlet pipe and/or to an outlet pipe of the pump.
Regarding claim 12, modified Helbling discloses the air-flow apparatus according to claim 1, except wherein the overpressure generating device is formed by a further pump. However, a mere duplication of the pump has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
Regarding claim 13, modified Helbling discloses the air-flow apparatus according to claim 12, further comprising a filter system (Helbling, filter 18) for purifying ambient air drawn in by the further pump via an inlet.
Regarding claim 17, modified Helbling discloses (see Yu for citations) the air-flow apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of suction zones (11, 12) are provided in the base and/or on side walls of the interior space;
the pump (14) is additionally connected (fluidly connected) to the interior space on its inlet side via at least one suction line (air space downstream the exhaust holes 13 and upstream the pump 14); and
the at least one suction line opens (via exhaust holes 13) into the interior space (5) near the partially opened lid (the inlet into space 5 is modified to have a lid) in such a way that an air flow parallel or substantially parallel to the lid is generated (the figure shows a bend at each of the lines 11 and 12, where the air flow is approximately parallel to the inlet into the space 5.
Regarding claim 18, modified Helbling discloses the air-flow apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the overpressure generating device is formed by one of:
the electrically controllable valve, which is connected on its inlet side to an outlet of the unit for decontamination, which is attached to an outlet pipe of the pump; or
the further pump (Helbling, 2), which is connected on its inlet side to an outlet of the unit for decontamination (1), which is attached to an inlet pipe (duct between the further pump 2 and the filter 1) or to an outlet pipe of the pump.
Regarding claim 19, modified Helbling discloses (see rejection of claim 1 for citations unless otherwise noted) an air-flow apparatus which is arranged for treating air and for drying an object, in particular a human hand, the air-flow apparatus comprising: a housing having an interior space into which the object to be dried is insertable via an opening of a partially opened lid of the housing, and having a base opposite the lid; a suction pump which is connected on an inlet side to the interior space in such a way that, by means of a pumping action of the pump, a negative pressure is generated in the interior space and a first air flow directed from the opening exclusively into the interior space, is generated for drying the object, the pump being designed for discharging on an outlet side an outlet air flow passing through the pump; a flow arrangement which has a controllable overpressure generating device, an inflow pipe and at least one nozzle, the controllable overpressure generating device being connected on its outlet side via the inflow pipe and the at least one nozzle to the interiorspace and being adapted to form an overpressure in the inflow pipe and to generate via the at least one nozzle a second air flow directed into the interior space for drying the object; and a unit for decontamination (Helbling, 18) of the outlet air flow, which is attached to the pump in a serial combination of the unit for decontamination and the pump; wherein the overpressure generating device is connected (i.e., fluidly connected) on its inlet side to the serial combination and is formed by one of an electrically controllable valve and a further pump Helbling, 2).
Claim(s) 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helbling (US 3744149 A) in view of Yu (CN 209884733 U), and Jeon (US 20200298162 A1).
Regarding claim 20, modified Helbling discloses (see rejection of claim 1 for citations unless otherwise noted) an air-flow apparatus which is arranged for treating air and for drying an object, in particular a human hand, the air-flow apparatus comprising: a housing having an interior space into which the object to be dried is insertable via an opening of a partially opened lid of the housing; a suction pump which is connected on an inlet side to the interior space in such a way that, by means of a pumping action of the pump, a negative pressure is generated in the interior space and a first air flow directed from the opening into the interior space, is generated for drying the object, the pump being designed for discharging on an outlet side an outlet air flow passing through the pump; a flow arrangement which has a controllable overpressure generating device, an inflow pipe and at least one nozzle, the controllable overpressure generating device being connected on its outlet side via the inflow pipe and the at least one nozzle to the interior space and being adapted to form an overpressure in the inflow pipe and to generate via the at least one nozzle a second air flow directed into the interior space for drying the object; and a unit for decontamination of the outlet air flow, which includes a filter (Helbling, 18) and which is attached to an inlet pipe or to an outlet pipe of the pump,
EXCEPT where the decontamination filter is a HEPA filter.
Jeon teaches an air purifier comprising a decontamination filter, and where the decontamination filter is a combination of filters including a HEPA filter and particle/pleated filter (para. 43).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Jeon where the decontamination filter is a combination filter, which has a HEPA filter. The motivation to combine is to clean the discharge air of microbes and particles.
Regarding claim 21, modified Helbling discloses the air-flow apparatus according to claim 20, wherein the unit for decontamination further includes at least one of the following:
a drain pipe connectable to a sewer;
a UV disinfection unit with or without connection to a drain pipe;
a container at least partially filled with disinfectant which is replaceable and/or is connected to a drain pipe;
a container for collecting condensed liquid particles;
a combination of a number of filter stages including one or more of a particle filter, a HEPA filter, a UV filter, an ion filter (see paragraph 43 of Jeon teaching a particle filter and HEPA filter);
a suitable disinfection equipment with waste water collection tank with or without connection to a drain pipe.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 5-8, 10, 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts the following on page(s) 10 of the Remarks filed on 6/5/2026:
Examiner’s response:
Both the claimed lid and the lid in Yu are designed to conform to the user’s limbs and are structurally similar [see MPEP 2141.01(a)(IV) discussing where prior art that is structurally similar to the claimed invention is considered analogous art even if the prior art were designed for a different purpose].
Moreover, the claimed lid is designed to improve air flow speed so that the hands can be quickly dried. Yu’s lid is designed to retain heat and heat is an integral factor of drying processes. Therefore, Yu is reasonably pertinent to the problem facing the inventor, i.e., how to dry hands quickly.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762