DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
CONTINUING DATA
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/050564 01/12/2022
PCT/EP2022/050564 has PRO 63/136,707 01/13/2021
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment submitted April 13, 2026. Claims 1-19 are pending.
During a telephone conversation with Ryan Douglas on November 10, 2025, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-10. Claims 11-16 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant’s amendment is sufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 7-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
The provisional rejection of claims 1-10 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/261,296 in view of Tan is withdrawn because the reference application does not claim producing the product recited in amended claim 1.
The following new rejections were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment and/or new references cited on an IDS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (US 20130090391 A1, 2013) in view of Goerlach-Doht (US 20140017319A1, 2014).
Tan teaches an example wherein MCC wetcake at a solids content of 45% (moisture content 55%) was mixed with two different CMCs in a ratio of 88:8:4 parts by weight and passed through an extruder. The resulting product was spray dried. The initial viscosity was 3100 cps and the 24 hour viscosity was 5050 cps, for a ratio of 0.45. Example 6 [0064]. The colloidal MCC:CMC composition has 42% solids content [0037]. In example 6 [0065], the ratio of viscosities was 0.61. The viscosity was at least 1000 cps at 2.6% solids (claim 9), which converts to at least 1000 mPa-s. The product is used in food products (claim 19) or pharmaceutical or chemical formulations (claim 21). Either extrusion or milling are both suitable attrition methods [0022].
Tan does not teach that the MCC was mill-dried in a single device capable of milling and drying in combination.
Goerlach-Doht teaches particulate cellulose derivatives prepared by providing a cellulose derivative having a moisture content of 60-95% and grinding and drying in a gas-swept impact mill. See abstract. The product has good flowability [0010]. The product is used in pharmaceuticals [0040]. The product has EQPC of less than 140 micrometers [0011], LEFI of 60-350 micrometers [0037], and a median particle diameter from 1-500 micrometers [0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to dry Tan’s composition using a gas-swept impact mill because milling and drying may be done simultaneously using a gas-swept impact mill as taught by Goerlach-Doht for particulate cellulose derivatives. The use of the gas-swept impact mill provides the product in one step instead of two separate extrusion and drying steps, and the product has good flowability. Simple substitution of one drying/milling (or extrusion) step for another would have resulted in the claimed invention, and the results would have been predictable because both forms of drying/milling have been carried out on cellulose products. The skilled artisan would have prepared MCC having the claimed EQPC, LEFI, and DIFI because Tan’s product is used for pharmaceuticals and cellulose products used in pharmaceuticals have a suitable EQPC, LEFI, and DIFI which are the same as or overlap with the claimed amounts. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Tan does not demonstrate that the combination of references suggests a method of producing MCC having the claimed ratio of initial viscosity : 24 hour viscosity. This argument is not persuasive because Tan’s products meet the claim limitations regarding viscosity.
Applicant argues that the claimed process surprisingly produces mill dried colloidal microcrystalline cellulose that exhibits a smaller change in viscosity over 24 hours compared to the prior art product Avicel. This argument is not persuasive because the prior art process is also capable of producing colloidal MCC having the smaller change in viscosity over 24 hours.
Claim(s) 1-10 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (WO 2018/236965 A1, cited on IDS) in view of Goerlach-Doht (US 20140017319A1, 2014, previously cited by the examiner).
Yang teaches a process for preparing colloidal MCC. MCC particles contain about 40-92% of the composition and a polysaccharide comprises 8-50% of the composition and an attrition agent comprises 0.01-10% of the composition. Paragraph [00010]. The MCC wetcake has about 25-60% water [00032]. Attrition is accomplished by extrusion [00038] followed by spray drying or other methods of drying [00039]. Sample A of colloidal MCC/Manucol DM were prepared in a Readco extruder at a ratio of 89/11 with 1 wt% citric acid. The initial viscosity was 1030 and the 24-hour viscosity was 1040 (0.99). Sample B (without citric acid) had an initial viscosity of 520 and a 24-hour viscosity of 525 (0.99) [00066]. The compositions are useful in pharmaceutical formulations [0002].
Yang does not teach that the MCC was mill-dried in a single device capable of milling and drying in combination.
Goerlach-Doht teaches particulate cellulose derivatives prepared by providing a cellulose derivative having a moisture content of 60-95% and grinding and drying in a gas-swept impact mill. See abstract. The product has good flowability [0010]. The product is used in pharmaceuticals [0040]. The product has EQPC of less than 140 micrometers [0011], LEFI of 60-350 micrometers [0037], and a median particle diameter from 1-500 micrometers [0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to dry Yang’s composition using a gas-swept impact mill because milling and drying may be done simultaneously using a gas-swept impact mill as taught by Goerlach-Doht for particulate cellulose derivatives. The use of the gas-swept impact mill provides the product in one step instead of two separate extrusion and drying steps, and the product has good flowability. Simple substitution of one drying/milling (or extrusion) step for another would have resulted in the claimed invention, and the results would have been predictable because both forms of drying/milling have been carried out on cellulose products. The skilled artisan would have prepared MCC having the claimed EQPC, LEFI, and DIFI because Yang’s product is used for pharmaceuticals and cellulose products used in pharmaceuticals have a suitable EQPC, LEFI, and DIFI which are the same as or overlap with the claimed amounts. The claimed ratio 0.99 is very close to “from 1 to 2.2” in claim 19. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on April 13, 2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAYLA D BERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693