This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 11/18/2025.
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 10-14, 16, 17, 20 & 38-44 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. PCT/CN2021/072162, filed on 1/15/2021.
Response to Amendment
Claims 3, 4, 8, 9, 15, 18 & 19 have been cancelled. Claims 21-37 were previously cancelled.
Claims 1 & 16 have been amended.
The rejections to claims 1, 2, 5-7, 10-14, 16, 17 & 20 under 35 USC 103 in the previous office action Non-Final rejection dated 8/18/2025 have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1 & 16. However, after further consideration, new grounds of rejections have been made to these claims under 35 USC 103 based on new references Sun et al. (US 2022/0272732)(herein after “Sun”) and Lei et al. (US 2024/0205911)(herein after “Lei”).
Claims 38-44 have been added and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 11/18/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 2, 5-7, 10-14, 16, 17 & 20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejections are made under 35 USC 103 in view of new references Sun & Lei.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 5-7, 10-14, 16, 17 & 20 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejections do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant's amendments necessitated the new grounds of rejections presented in this Office action. Hence new grounds of rejections under 35 USC 103 are further made in view of new references Sun & Lei.
Claim Interpretation
Several of the claims in the present application recite Markush groups in the format of “at least one of A, B or C”. For the purpose of this review, the examiner is interpreting these Markush claims as a single element selection from a closed group of elements consisting of alternatives A, B or C. See MPEP §2173.05(h) for details.
Claims 1 & 16 recite “an indication of a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table, the TDRA table containing multiple entries, each entry comprising at least a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block (TB)”. [0044]-[0045] of the current application specification discloses a TDRA table with multiple entries, but only the last entry comprises “a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block (TB)”, while the other entries are related to mapping types, K-offsets, etc. and do not comprise “a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block (TB)”. Thus, in the table shown in the current application specification in [0044], each entry does not comprise a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block (TB). However, the current application specification indicates the “totalSlotforTB” field can be introduced in a TDRA table, and thus the examiner is interpreting this limitation in claims 1 & 16 as a TDRA table that includes at least 2 entries that are both based on the new field “totalSlotforTB” (e.g. for 2 different TBs) and only contains entries based on the new field “totalSlotforTB” (i.e. does not contain K-offset entries or mapping type entries, etc. that do not comprise at least a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 10-14 & 38-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2020/0029315)(herein after “Lin”) in view of Sun et al. (US 2022/0272732)(herein after “Sun”) and further in view of Lei et al. (US 2024/0205911)(herein after “Lei”) and Rahman et al. (US 2015/0351117)(herein after “Rahman”).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a user device, comprising at least one processor (Fig 3A & [0067] disclose a UE 116 with a main processor 340]); and
at least one memory including computer program code (Fig 3A & [0067] disclose memory 360 with a basic OS program 361.);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user device to: receive, from a network device, an indication of a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table, the TDRA table containing multiple entries (Fig 3A & [0070] disclose the main processor 340 may execute the basic OS program 361 stored in memory 360 to control overall operations of the UE including the reception of forward channel signals. Fig 15 & [0167] disclose a UE receiving a configuration for a time domain resource allocation (TDRA). [0159] discloses that fields K1 and K2 may be absent from the TDRA table, indicating that a TDRA table may contain at least two entries K0 and K2. [0133] discloses the UE may receive an adaptation request (AR) from a gNB (e.g. receiving, from a network device, the TDRA configuration)); and
transmit the TB to the network device ([0133] discloses that when the UE receives an AR from a gNB, the UE can apply the indicated transmission parameters (i.e. transmit the TB to the gNB using the indicated transmission parameters.).
Lin fails to disclose each entry comprising at least a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block (TB), wherein the TDRA table is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling;
However, Sun teaches each entry comprising at least a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block (TB) ([0222] discloses a new parameter n, added to each row (i.e. each entry) of a TDRA table, and used to indicate a number of time units occupied by one TB, wherein a UE determines a number of slots occupied by a TB according to the number n.), wherein the TDRA table is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0064] discloses that the TDRA table may be configured by radio resource control (RRC).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have a UE receive a TDRA table, from a network device, the TDRA table containing multiple entries; and transmit the TB to the network device, as disclosed by Lin, with each entry comprising at least a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block (TB), wherein the TDRA table is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling, as taught by Sun. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE receive RRC signaling from a gNB configuring a TDRA table, wherein each TDRA table entry comprises the value n indicating a duration of a transmission for the transport block, so that the UE can use the value n in the TDRA table to determine a number of slots for a TB in situations where more than one slot is used to transmit a TB in order to improve coverage, improve reliability or reduce signaling overhead for large data payloads.
Lin fails to disclose causing the UE to receive, from the network device, downlink control information (DCI) comprising a value indicating an entry of the TDRA table; and wherein the transmission of the TB to the network device is over a plurality of slots selected based on the entry of the TDRA table and the DCI.
However, Lei further teaches causing the UE to receive, from the network device, downlink control information (DCI) comprising a value indicating an entry of the TDRA table (Fig 6, [0090] & [0095] disclose a UE receiving a DCI for scheduling a TB, wherein a DCI format (i.e. a DCI comprising a value) indicates an entry from a TDRA list (i.e. table). [0006] discloses that the received DCI may be transmitted by a base station (i.e. received from a network device).); and
wherein the transmission of the TB to the network device is over a plurality of slots selected based on the entry of the TDRA table and the DCI ([0005] & [0095] discloses that the DCI format may indicate an entry from a TDRA indicating that the UE has a TB scheduled on a super slot that includes a plurality of consecutive slots. [0042] discloses that the single TB may be transmitted on the super slot by the UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have a UE receive a TDRA table, from a network device, the TDRA table containing multiple entries with each entry comprising at least a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block (TB); and transmit the TB to the network device, as disclosed by Lin in view of Sun, wherein the UE is caused to receive, from the network device, downlink control information (DCI) comprising a value indicating an entry of the TDRA table; and wherein the transmission of the TB to the network device is over a plurality of slots selected based on the entry of the TDRA table and the DCI, as further taught by Lei. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE receive RRC signaling configuring a TDRA table, from a base station or gNB, wherein each TDRA table entry comprises the value n indicating a duration of a transmission for the transport block, and receive a DCI format indicating an entry in the TDRA table for transmitting a TB on a superslot, and transmit the TB on the superslot indicated by the entry in the TDRA table provided by the DCI in order to improve coverage, improve reliability or reduce signaling overhead for scheduling of large data payloads on a superslot.
Lin fails to disclose wherein the plurality of slots selected is a plurality of valid slots selected.
However, Rahman further teaches wherein the plurality of slots selected is a plurality of valid slots selected (Fig 1 & [0003] disclose a plurality of subframes (i.e. slots) for Downlink (D) transmissions, Uplink (U) transmissions and Special (S) transmissions. The U subframes in fig 1 represent a plurality of valid slots that may be selected by the UE for transmission of a TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have a UE transmit a TB to a gNB over a plurality of slots selected, as disclosed by Lin in view of Lei, wherein the plurality of slots selected is a plurality of valid slots selected, as further taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE operating in TDD mode select a set of uplink slots for transmission of a TB to a gNB based on a TDD slot configuration indicated by the gNB so that the UE does not generate harmful interference to other UEs by transmitting the TB only during periods of time when downlink transmissions from the gNB are not occurring.
Regarding claim 2, Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman disclose the user device of claim 1.
Lin discloses wherein the number of slots comprises at least one of a number of consecutive slots or a number of valid slots ([0165] discloses transmitting a Transport Block (TB) over L0>=1 consecutive slots.).
Regarding claim 5, Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman discloses the user device of claim 1.
Lin fails to disclose wherein the plurality of valid slots comprise at least one of a set of valid uplink slots.
However, Rahman further teaches wherein the plurality of valid slots comprise at least one of a set of valid uplink slots. (Fig 1 & [0003] disclose a plurality of subframes (i.e. slots) for Downlink (D) transmissions, Uplink (U) transmissions and Special (S) transmissions. The U subframes in fig 1 represent a plurality of valid slots that comprise at least one of a set of valid uplink slots over which a UE can transmit a TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the user device of claim 1, as disclosed by Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman, wherein the plurality of valid slots comprise at least one of a set of valid uplink slots, as further taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE operating in TDD mode select at least one allocated uplink slot for transmission of a TB to a gNB based on a TDD slot configuration indicated by the gNB so that the UE does not generate harmful interference to other UEs, and only transmits a TB during periods of time when downlink transmissions from the gNB are not occurring.
Regarding claim 6, Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman disclose the user device of claim 5.
Lin fails to disclose wherein the plurality of valid slots further comprise a set of valid flexible slots.
However, Rahman further teaches wherein the plurality of valid slots further comprise a set of valid flexible slots (Fig 1 & [0003] disclose a plurality of subframes (i.e. slots) for Downlink (D) transmissions, Uplink (U) transmissions and Special (S) transmissions. Subframes 3, 4, & 7-9 in fig 1 represent a plurality of slots that can be flexibly allocated for either uplink or downlink transmission based on an uplink-downlink configuration. The U subframes in subframes 3, 4 & 7-9 in fig 1 represent a plurality of valid slots from a set of valid flexible slots for a UE to transmit a TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the user device of claim 5, as disclosed by Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman, wherein the plurality of valid slots further comprise a set of valid flexible slots, as further taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE operating in TDD mode be capable of transmitting a TB on a flexible subframe, only when instructed by a gNB, so that the UE does not generate harmful interference to other UEs, and only transmits a TB during periods of time when downlink transmissions from the gNB are not occurring.
Regarding claim 7. Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman disclose the user device of claim 6.
Lin fails to disclose wherein the user device is further caused to: receiving, from the network device, an indication of a valid flexible slot configuration; and determining the set of valid flexible slots based on the valid flexible slot configuration.
However, Rahman further teaches wherein the user device is further caused to: receiving, from the network device, an indication of a valid flexible slot configuration ([0014] discloses system information indicating UL, DL and FLEX subframe configurations (i.e. valid flexible slot configurations) may be semi-statically provided (i.e. received by a UE) through a specific RNTI on a PDCCH.); and
determining the set of valid flexible slots based on the valid flexible slot configuration ([0014]-[0015] discloses a UE determining, based on receiving an UL, DL and FLEX subframe configuration in an RNTI on a PDCCH, a set of flexible subframes (i.e. valid flexible slots) that the UE treats like DL subframes unless the UE has been instructed to transmit in a particular FLEX subframe.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the user device of claim 6, as disclosed by Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman, wherein the user device is further caused to: receiving, from the network device, an indication of a valid flexible slot configuration; and determining the set of valid flexible slots based on the valid flexible slot configuration, as further taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE operating in TDD mode be capable of determining when to transmit a TB on a flexible subframe, by monitoring PDCCHs for flexible subframes, so that the UE does not generate harmful interference to other UEs, and only transmits a TB during periods of time when downlink transmissions from the gNB are not occurring.
Regarding claim 10, Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman discloses the user device of claim 1.
Lin discloses wherein the user device is further caused to: receiving, from the network device, an indication of a starting valid slot of the plurality of valid slot (Figs 15 & [0159] & [0167] discloses a UE receiving a TDRA table from a gNB indicating a slot offset, represented by K2, between a last symbol of a CORSET of a DCI for scheduling a PUSCH and the PUSCH transmission. [0006]-[0007] & [0165] discloses a UE receiving from a base station an adaptation request (AR) indicating a slot aggregation factor L0 for transmitting a Transport Block (TB) over L0>=1 consecutive slots. [0160]-[0162] discloses indicating a minimum slot offset for K2, represented by Y, from a set of candidate values of Y provided to the UE through higher layer signaling. Thus, through the UE receiving the TDRA, AR and higher layer signaling from a base station, the UE is provided an indication of a starting slot for PUCCH transmission of a TB (i.e. a starting valid slot that is Y slots after a last symbol of a CORSET of a DCI) of the plurality of valid slots.).
Regarding claim 11, Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman disclose the user device of claim 1.
Lin fails to disclose wherein the user device is further caused to: receiving an indication of cancelling validity of at least one of the plurality of valid slots.
However, Rahman further teaches wherein the user device is further caused to: receiving an indication of cancelling validity of at least one of the plurality of valid slots (Fig 1 & [0003] & [0009] disclose a plurality of subframes (i.e. slots) for Downlink (D) transmissions, Uplink (U) transmissions and Special (S) transmissions. Subframes 3, 4, & 7-9 in fig 1 represent a plurality of slots that can be flexibly allocated for either uplink or downlink transmission based on an semi-static uplink-downlink configuration. When the UE receives an indication to change from Uplink-Downlink configuration 1 to Uplink-Downlink configuration 2 in fig 1, this would indicate that the UE is no longer allowed to transmit a TB on subframe 3 (i.e. UE receives an indication canceling subframe 3 as a valid slot for transmitting a TB.) of the plurality of uplink subframes 2, 3, 7 & 8 in Uplink-Downlink configuration 1 (i.e. of the plurality of valid slots for transmitting a TB).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the user device of claim 1, as disclosed by Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman, wherein the user device is further caused to: receiving an indication of cancelling validity of at least one of the plurality of valid slots, as further taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE operating in TDD mode be capable of receiving a subframe re-configuration message indicating certain subframes are no longer available for transmitting a TB, so that the UE does not generate harmful interference to other UEs, and only transmits a TB during periods of time when downlink transmissions from the gNB are not occurring.
Regarding claim 12, Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman disclose the user device of claim 1.
Lin discloses wherein the user device is caused to transmit the TB ([0133] discloses that when the UE receives an AR from a gNB, the UE can apply the indicated transmission parameters (i.e. transmit the TB to the gNB over the indicated number of slots in the AR.).
Lin fails to disclose wherein the TB is transmitted in the plurality of valid slots by: determining, in the plurality of valid slots, a plurality of resources for the transmission of the TB; and transmitting, to the network device, the TBs in the plurality of valid slots using the plurality of resources.
However, Rahman further teaches wherein the user device is caused to transmit in the plurality of valid slots by: determining, in the plurality of valid slots, a plurality of resources for the transmission ([0015] discloses a UE will transmit according to scheduling grants for uplink subframes (i.e. valid slots for a UE to transmit a TB). Fig 1, Fig 3 & [0007] disclose allocation of a plurality of uplink subframes (i.e. valid slots for a UE to transmit a TB) and associated uplink resources for the uplink subframes.); and transmitting, to the network device, in the plurality of valid slots using the plurality of resources ([0015] discloses a UE will transmit according to scheduling grants for uplink subframes (i.e. UE will transmit over the plurality of scheduled valid slots using the plurality of uplink resources associated with the valid uplink slots.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the user device of claim 1, wherein the user device is caused to transmit the TB, as disclosed by Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman, wherein the TB is transmitted in the plurality of valid slots by: determining, in the plurality of valid slots, a plurality of resources for the transmission (i.e. of the TB); and transmitting, to the network device, (i.e. the TBs) in the plurality of valid slots using the plurality of resources, as further taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE operating in TDD mode be capable of determining when uplink subframes are available for transmitting a TB, so that the UE can transmit the TB on resources associated with the available uplink subframes, and not generate harmful interference to other UEs, by only transmitting a TB during periods of time when downlink transmissions from the gNB are not occurring.
Regarding claim 13, Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman discloses the user device of claim 12.
Lin fails to disclose wherein the user device is caused to determine the plurality of resources in the plurality of valid slots by: determining, based on a resource pattern received, the plurality of resources for the plurality of valid slots.
However, Rahman further teaches wherein the user device is caused to determine the plurality of resources in the plurality of valid slots by: determining, based on a resource pattern received, the plurality of resources for the plurality of valid slots (Fig 1, Fig 3 & [0007] disclose allocation of a plurality of uplink subframes (i.e. valid slots for a UE to transmit a TB) and associated uplink resources for the uplink subframes that represent a resource pattern, which a UE uses to determine a plurality of uplink slots for transmission (i.e. valid slots for transmitting a TB). For example, configuration 0 in Fig. 3 discloses a repeating resource pattern consisting of DL resources #0 followed by DwPTS, GP & UpPTS resources, followed by UL resources #2, #3 & #4.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the user device of claim 12, as disclosed by Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman, wherein the user device is caused to determine the plurality of resources in the plurality of valid slots by: determining, based on a resource pattern received, the plurality of resources for the plurality of valid slots, as further taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE operating in TDD mode be capable of determining an uplink subframes pattern available for transmitting a TB, so that the UE can transmit the TB on resources associated with the available uplink subframes resource pattern, and not generate harmful interference to other UEs, by only transmitting a TB during periods of time when downlink transmissions from the gNB are not occurring.
Regarding claim 14, Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman disclose the user device of claim 12.
Lin fails to disclose wherein the user device is caused to determine the plurality of resources in the plurality of valid slots by: determining, based on different resource patterns received, the plurality of resources for the plurality of valid slots.
However Rahman further teaches wherein the user device is caused to determine the plurality of resources in the plurality of valid slots by: determining, based on different resource patterns received, the plurality of resources for the plurality of valid slots (Fig 1, Fig 3 & [0007] disclose allocation of a plurality of uplink subframes (i.e. valid slots for a UE to transmit a TB) and associated uplink resources for the uplink subframes that represent different resource patterns for configurations 0 through 6, which a UE uses to determine a plurality of uplink slots for transmission (i.e. valid slots for transmitting a TB).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the user device of claim 12, as disclosed by Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman, wherein the user device is caused to determine the plurality of resources in the plurality of valid slots by: determining, based on different resource patterns received, the plurality of resources for the plurality of valid slots, as further taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE operating in TDD mode be capable of receiving different subframe resource patterns semi-statically, through which the UE can semi-statically determine uplink subframe patterns available for transmitting a TB, so that the UE can transmit the TB on resources associated with the currently available uplink subframes resource pattern, and not generate harmful interference to other UEs, by only transmitting a TB during periods of time when downlink transmissions from the gNB are not occurring.
Regarding claim 38, An apparatus comprising processing circuitry (Fig 3A & [0067] disclose a UE 116 (i.e. an apparatus) with RX processing circuity 325 and TX processing circuitry 315.) configured to:
receive, from a network device, an indication of a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table, the TDRA table containing multiple entries. (Fig 15 & [0167] disclose a UE receiving a configuration for a time domain resource allocation (TDRA). [0159] discloses that fields K1 and K2 may be absent from the TDRA table, indicating that a TDRA table may contain at least two entries K0 and K2. [0133] discloses the UE may receive an adaptation request (AR) from a gNB (e.g. receiving, from a network device, the TDRA configuration).); and
generate, for transmission to the network device, the TB ([0133] discloses that when the UE receives an AR from a gNB, the UE can apply the indicated transmission parameters (i.e. generate the TB for transmission to the gNB using the indicated transmission parameters.).
Lin fails to disclose each entry comprising at least a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block (TB), wherein the TDRA table is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
However, Sun teaches each entry comprising at least a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block (TB) ([0222] discloses a new parameter n, added to each row (i.e. each entry) of a TDRA table, and used to indicate a number of time units occupied by one TB, wherein a UE determines a number of slots occupied by a TB according to the number n.), wherein the TDRA table is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0064] discloses that the TDRA table may be configured by radio resource control (RRC).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have an apparatus such as a UE receive a TDRA table, from a network device, the TDRA table containing multiple entries; and generate, for transmission to the network device, the TB as disclosed by Lin, with each entry comprising at least a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block (TB), wherein the TDRA table is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling, as taught by Sun. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE receive RRC signaling from a gNB configuring a TDRA table, wherein each TDRA table entry comprises the value n indicating a duration of a transmission for the transport block, so that the UE can use the value n in the TDRA table to determine a number of slots for a TB in situations where more than one slot is used to generate and transmit a TB in order to improve coverage, improve reliability or reduce signaling overhead for large data payloads.
Lin fails to disclose causing the apparatus to receive, from the network device, downlink control information (DCI) comprising a value indicating an entry of the TDRA table; and wherein the generation of the TB, for transmission to the network device, is over a plurality of slots, wherein the plurality of slots is selected based on the entry of the TDRA table and the DCI.
However, Lei further teaches causing the apparatus to receive, from the network device, downlink control information (DCI) comprising a value indicating an entry of the TDRA table (Fig 6, [0090] & [0095] disclose a UE receiving a DCI for scheduling a TB, wherein a DCI format (i.e. a DCI comprising a value) indicates an entry from a TDRA list (i.e. table). [0006] discloses that the received DCI may be transmitted by a base station (i.e. received from a network device).); and
wherein the generation of the TB, for transmission to the network device, is over a plurality of slots, the TB, wherein the plurality of slots is selected based on the entry of the TDRA table and the DCI ([0005] & [0095] discloses that the DCI format may indicate an entry from a TDRA indicating that the UE has a TB scheduled on a super slot that includes a plurality of consecutive slots. [0042] discloses that the single TB may be generated and transmitted on the super slot (i.e. over the plurality of consecutive slots), selected by the DCI format entry indication in the TDRA table, by the UE. [0005]-[0006] discloses that the communications (i.e. transmission of the TB) may be performed between a UE and a base station. Thus, the TB transmitted by the UE would be to a base station (i.e. a network device).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have an apparatus such as a UE receive a TDRA table, from a network device, the TDRA table containing multiple entries with each entry comprising at least a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block (TB); and generate, for transmission to the network device, the TB, as disclosed by Lin in view of Sun, wherein the UE is caused to receive, from the network device, downlink control information (DCI) comprising a value indicating an entry of the TDRA table; and wherein the generation of the TB, for transmission to the network device, is over a plurality of slots, wherein the plurality of slots is selected based on the entry of the TDRA table and the DCI, as further taught by Lei. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE receive RRC signaling configuring a TDRA table, from a base station or gNB, wherein each TDRA table entry comprises the value n indicating a duration of a transmission for the transport block, and receive a DCI format indicating an entry in the TDRA table for transmitting a TB on a superslot, consisting of a number of consecutive slots, and generate and transmit the TB on the superslot indicated by the entry in the TDRA table provided by the DCI in order to improve coverage, improve reliability or reduce signaling overhead for scheduling of large data payloads on a superslot.
Lin fails to disclose wherein the plurality of slots selected is a plurality of valid slots selected.
However, Rahman further teaches wherein the plurality of slots selected is a plurality of valid slots selected (Fig 1 & [0003] disclose a plurality of subframes (i.e. slots) for Downlink (D) transmissions, Uplink (U) transmissions and Special (S) transmissions. The U subframes in fig 1 represent a plurality of valid slots that may be selected by the UE for transmission of a TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have an apparatus such as a UE transmit a TB to a gNB over a plurality of slots selected, as disclosed by Lin in view of Lei, wherein the plurality of slots selected is a plurality of valid slots selected, as further taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE operating in TDD mode select a set of uplink slots for transmission of a TB to a gNB based on a TDD slot configuration indicated by the gNB so that the UE does not generate harmful interference to other UEs by transmitting the TB only during periods of time when downlink transmissions from the gNB are not occurring.
Regarding claim 39, Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman disclose the apparatus of claim 38.
Lin discloses wherein the number of slots comprises at least one of a number of consecutive slots or a number of valid slots ([0165] discloses transmitting a Transport Block (TB) over L0>=1 consecutive slots.).).
Regarding claim 40, Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman disclose the apparatus of claim 38.
Lin fails to disclose wherein the plurality of valid slots comprise at least one of a set of valid uplink slots.
However, Rahman further teaches wherein the plurality of valid slots comprise at least one of a set of valid uplink slots. (Fig 1 & [0003] disclose a plurality of subframes (i.e. slots) for Downlink (D) transmissions, Uplink (U) transmissions and Special (S) transmissions. The U subframes in fig 1 represent a plurality of valid slots that comprise at least one of a set of valid uplink slots over which a UE can transmit a TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 38, as disclosed by Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman, wherein the plurality of valid slots comprise at least one of a set of valid uplink slots, as further taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to have an apparatus such as a UE operating in TDD mode select at least one allocated uplink slot for transmission of a TB to a gNB based on a TDD slot configuration indicated by the gNB so that the UE does not generate harmful interference to other UEs, and only transmits a TB during periods of time when downlink transmissions from the gNB are not occurring.
Regarding claim 41, Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman disclose the apparatus of claim 40.
Lin fails to disclose wherein the plurality of valid slots further comprise a set of valid flexible slots.
However, Rahman further teaches wherein the plurality of valid slots further comprise a set of valid flexible slots (Fig 1 & [0003] disclose a plurality of subframes (i.e. slots) for Downlink (D) transmissions, Uplink (U) transmissions and Special (S) transmissions. Subframes 3, 4, & 7-9 in fig 1 represent a plurality of slots that can be flexibly allocated for either uplink or downlink transmission based on an uplink-downlink configuration. The U subframes in subframes 3, 4 & 7-9 in fig 1 represent a plurality of valid slots from a set of valid flexible slots for a UE to transmit a TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 40, as disclosed by Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman, wherein the plurality of valid slots further comprise a set of valid flexible slots, as further taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to have an apparatus such as a UE operating in TDD mode be capable of transmitting a TB on a flexible subframe, only when instructed by a gNB, so that the UE does not generate harmful interference to other UEs, and only transmits a TB during periods of time when downlink transmissions from the gNB are not occurring.
Regarding claim 42, Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman disclose the apparatus of claim 41.
Lin fails to disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further caused to: receiving, from the network device, an indication of a valid flexible slot configuration; and determining the set of valid flexible slots based on the valid flexible slot configuration.
However, Rahman further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further caused to: receiving, from the network device, an indication of a valid flexible slot configuration ([0014] discloses system information indicating UL, DL and FLEX subframe configurations (i.e. valid flexible slot configurations) may be semi-statically provided (i.e. received by the RX processing circuitry in the UE) through a specific RNTI on a PDCCH.); and
determining the set of valid flexible slots based on the valid flexible slot configuration ([0014]-[0015] discloses a UE determining, based on receiving an UL, DL and FLEX subframe configuration in an RNTI on a PDCCH, a set of flexible subframes (i.e. valid flexible slots) that the UE treats like DL subframes unless the UE has been instructed to transmit in a particular FLEX subframe.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 41, as disclosed by Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman, wherein the processing circuitry is further caused to: receiving, from the network device, an indication of a valid flexible slot configuration; and determining the set of valid flexible slots based on the valid flexible slot configuration, as further taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE operating in TDD mode be capable of determining when to transmit a TB on a flexible subframe, by using the UE’s RX processing circuitry to monitor PDCCHs for flexible subframes, so that the UE does not generate harmful interference to other UEs, and only transmits a TB during periods of time when downlink transmissions from the gNB are not occurring.
Regarding claim 43, Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman disclose the apparatus of claim 38.
Lin discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further caused to: receiving, from the network device, an indication of a starting valid slot of the plurality of valid slot (Figs 15 & [0159] & [0167] discloses a UE receiving, through the UE’s processing circuitry, a TDRA table from a gNB indicating a slot offset, represented by K2, between a last symbol of a CORSET of a DCI for scheduling a PUSCH and the PUSCH transmission. [0006]-[0007] & [0165] discloses a UE receiving, through the UE’s processing circuitry, from a base station an adaptation request (AR) indicating a slot aggregation factor L0 for transmitting a Transport Block (TB) over L0>=1 consecutive slots. [0160]-[0162] discloses indicating a minimum slot offset for K2, represented by Y, from a set of candidate values of Y provided to the UE through higher layer signaling. Thus, through the UE receiving, through the UE’s processing circuitry, the TDRA, AR and higher layer signaling from a base station, the UE is provided an indication of a starting slot for PUCCH transmission of a TB (i.e. a starting valid slot that is Y slots after a last symbol of a CORSET of a DCI) of the plurality of valid slots.).
Regarding claim 44, Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman disclose the apparatus of claim 38,
Lin fails to disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further caused to: receiving an indication of cancelling validity of at least one of the plurality of valid slots.
However, Rahman further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further caused to: receiving an indication of cancelling validity of at least one of the plurality of valid slots (Fig 1 & [0003] & [0009] disclose a plurality of subframes (i.e. slots) for Downlink (D) transmissions, Uplink (U) transmissions and Special (S) transmissions. Subframes 3, 4, & 7-9 in fig 1 represent a plurality of slots that can be flexibly allocated for either uplink or downlink transmission based on an semi-static uplink-downlink configuration. When the UE receives, through the UE’s RX processing circuitry, an indication to change from Uplink-Downlink configuration 1 to Uplink-Downlink configuration 2 in fig 1, this would indicate that the UE is no longer allowed to transmit a TB on subframe 3 (i.e. UE receives, through the UE’s RX processing circuitry, an indication canceling subframe 3 as a valid slot for transmitting a TB.) of the plurality of uplink subframes 2, 3, 7 & 8 in Uplink-Downlink configuration 1 (i.e. of the plurality of valid slots for transmitting a TB).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 38, as disclosed by Lin in view of Sun and Lei and Rahman, wherein the processing circuitry is further caused to: receiving an indication of cancelling validity of at least one of the plurality of valid slots, as further taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE operating in TDD mode be capable of receiving, through the UE’s RX processing circuitry, a subframe re-configuration message indicating certain subframes are no longer available for transmitting a TB, so that the UE does not generate harmful interference to other UEs, and only transmits a TB during periods of time when downlink transmissions from the gNB are not occurring.
Claims 16, 17 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2020/0029315)(herein after “Lin”) in view of Sun et al. (US 2022/0272732)(herein after “Sun”) and further in view of Rahman et al. (US 2015/0351117)(herein after “Rahman”).
Regarding claim 16, A network device, comprising: at least one processor (Fig 3B & [0075]-[0076] disclose a gNB 102 with a controller/processor 378.); and
at least one memory including computer program code (Fig 3B & [0080] disclose memory 380 including programs that can be executed by controller/processor 378.);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network device to: determine a number of slots indicating a duration for a transport block (TB) (Fig 3B & [0079]-[0080] disclose the controller/processor 378 may execute programs resident in memory 380 to control the overall operation of the gNB. [0004] discloses a UE may transmit assistance information to the gNB which the gNB uses to determine adaptation for parameters in the UE operation. [0007] discloses a Base Station (BS) configured to transmit an adaptation request (AR) via a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format. [0165] discloses the AR can indicate a slot aggregation factor L0 for transmitting a Transport Block (TB) over L0>=1 slots.); and
transmit, to a user device, an indication of a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table, the TDRA table containing multiple entries (Fig 15 & [0167] disclose a UE receiving a configuration for a time domain resource allocation (TDRA). [0159] discloses that fields K1 and K2 may be absent from the TDRA table, indicating that a TDRA table may contain at least two entries K0 and K2. [0133] discloses the UE may receive an adaptation request (AR) transmitted from a gNB (e.g. transmitting, to a UE, the TDRA configuration).).
Lin fails to disclose each entry comprising at least a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block (TB), wherein the TDRA table is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
However, Sun teaches each entry comprising at least a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block (TB) ([0222] discloses a new parameter n, added to each row (i.e. each entry) of a TDRA table, and used to indicate a number of time units occupied by one TB, wherein a UE determines a number of slots occupied by a TB according to the number n.), wherein the TDRA table is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0064] discloses that the TDRA table may be configured by radio resource control (RRC).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have a network device transmit a TDRA table, to a UE, the TDRA table containing multiple entries, as disclosed by Lin, with each entry comprising at least a number of slots indicating a duration of a transmission for a transport block (TB), wherein the TDRA table is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling, as taught by Sun. The motivation to do so would be to have a gNB transmit RRC signaling to a UE configuring a TDRA table, wherein each TDRA table entry comprises the value n indicating a duration of a transmission for the transport block, so that the UE can use the value n in the TDRA table to determine a number of slots for a TB in situations where more than one slot is used to transmit a TB in order to improve coverage, improve reliability or reduce signaling overhead for large data payloads.
Lin fails to disclose wherein the plurality of slots selected is a plurality of valid slots selected.
However, Rahman further teaches wherein the plurality of slots selected is a plurality of valid slots selected (Fig 1 & [0003] disclose a plurality of subframes (i.e. slots) for Downlink (D) transmissions, Uplink (U) transmissions and Special (S) transmissions. The U subframes in fig 1 represent a plurality of valid slots that may be selected by the UE for transmission of a TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have a network device transmit a TDRA table, to a UE, the TDRA table containing multiple entries over a plurality of slots selected, as disclosed by Lin in view of Sun, wherein the plurality of slots selected is a plurality of valid slots selected, as further taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to have a gNB operating in TDD mode select a set of uplink slots for transmission of a TB from a UE based on a TDD slot configuration indicated by the gNB so that the UE does not generate harmful interference to other UEs by transmitting the TB only during periods of time when downlink transmissions from the gNB are not occurring.
Regarding claim 17, Lin in view of Sun and Rahman disclose the network device of claim 16.
Lin discloses wherein the number of slots comprises at least one of a number of consecutive slots or a number of valid slots ([0165] discloses transmitting a Transport Block (TB) over L0>=1 consecutive slots.).
Regarding claim 20, Lin in view of Sun and Rahman disclose the network device of any of claims 16.
Lin fails to disclose wherein the plurality of valid slots comprise a set of valid uplink slots.
However, Rahman further teaches wherein the plurality of valid slots comprise a set of valid uplink slots (Fig 1 & [0003] disclose a plurality of subframes (i.e. slots) for Downlink (D) transmissions, Uplink (U) transmissions and Special (S) transmissions. The U subframes in fig 1 represent a plurality of valid slots that comprising a set of valid uplink slots over which a UE can transmit a TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the network device of claim 16, as disclosed by Lin in view of Sun and Rahman, wherein the plurality of valid slots comprise a set of valid uplink slots, as further taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to have a gNB operating in TDD mode provide an indication of allocated uplink slots for transmission of a TB by a UE based on a TDD slot configuration indicated by the gNB so that the UE does not generate harmful interference to other UEs, and only transmits a TB during periods of time when the gNB is not transmitting to other UEs.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejections presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419