DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 6 November 2025, has been entered and carefully considered.
Claims 1, 13 and 26 are amended.
Claims 2, 3, 9, 12, 14, 15, 17, 21, 24, 25 and 27-36 are canceled.
Claims 1, 4-8, 10, 11, 13, 18-20, 22, 23, and 26 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6 November 2025 regarding the rejection of Claims 1, 4, 5 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant states: “However, the length L in (Bhamri’s) TABLE 1 is the symbol length, not the slot number indication information indicating a number of slots number of time slots, and the Repetition Factor in (Bhamri’s) TABLE 1 is the number of repetitions, not the slot number indication information indicating a number of slots number of time slots. Therefore, the length L and the Repetition Factor cannot be equated with the slot number indication information indicating a number of slots of at least one target slot corresponding to the PUSCH allocation elements of the present application.” The Office respectfully disagrees. It is first noted that Applicant’s interpretation of the claimed “slot number indication information” is not consistent with the manner disclosed in the disclosure, as originally filed. The claim language at issue is (emphasis added by the Office) “the slot number indication information is to indicate a number of slots of at least one target slot corresponding to the PUSCH allocation information element comprising the slot number indication information.” As such, the claim language appears to recite an intended purpose for the slot number indication information, rather than explicit format or content requirements. Further, paragraph 0226 of the specification indicates the following (emphasis added):
“The method of indicating the PUSCH resource in Embodiment A is applicable for both the Type A and the Type B. For the type A, since the number of slots and the number of PUSCHs are always the same, the value indicated by NofMultiSlotTB (or reusing the value indicated by the number Of Repetitions) can indicate both the number of slots and the number of PUSCHs, which are equivalent.”
Based on this passage from Applicant’s specification, the number of slots is not only determined by an explicit number, but can be determined by “reusing the value indicated by the number of repetitions.”
Turning to Bhamri, Paragraph 0098 discloses providing a TDRA table for the PUSCH in a scheduling grant (e.g., DCI or configured grant) and comprises SLIV value for slot-based repetition, where the slot based repetition factor can indicate a number of slots (i.e., more than one if slot-based repetition is utilized). Absent more explicit definition in the claim language for how the “number of slots” is “indicated”, the Office maintains that Bhamri’s disclose meets the disputed limitation. Applicant further states that “Bhamri’s PUSCH allocation element does not include the number of corresponding slots.” However, Bhamri’s SLIV value and repetition factor is included in TDRA table for the PUSCH as part of a scheduling grant. As the claimed “PUSCH allocation information element” is not further define so as to require specific content or format (similar to the slot number indication above), the Office submits that the scheduling grant that includes the PUSCH TDRA table reasonably meets the “PUSCH allocation information element.”
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, Applicant states that Bhamri does not disclose the reuse indication information described in Claims 4 and 5. The Office respectfully disagrees. Regarding Claim 4, the Office notes that reuse indication information is claimed in the alternative to the resource indication information and is not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation. Claim 5 further limits the resource indication information of Claim 4 to indicate that the first DCI comprises reuse indication information. However, Claim 5 does not further detail any content or format of the reuse indication information aside from being a “predefined value” or “predefined state.” As such, the Office submits that, absent more explicit claim language limiting the reuse indication information, that Bhamri discloses this limitation at paragraph 0098 (the TDRA table for the PUSCH is provided in a scheduling grant (e.g., DCI or configured grant) and comprises SLIV value for slot-based repetition (i.e., PUSCH repetition Type-A is indicated to the UE as described in paragraph 0105), where the repetition can read on reuse absent further limiting claim language.
Regarding Claim 10, Applicant states that Bhamri’s disclosure is “contrary to the teaching in claim 10 that “respective target slots comprise target symbol resources with a same number of symbols and a same symbol position.” However, the Office notes that this phrase is claimed in the alternative to “wherein adjacent TBs of the two or more TBs have different redundant versions” and is therefore not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
For these reasons, the rejection of claims 1, 4, 5 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 10, 11, 13, 16, 18-20, 22, 23, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bhamri et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0232380), hereinafter Bhamri.
Regarding Claim 1, Bhamri discloses a resource indication method, performed by a network device (Figure 9, network apparatus 900), comprising:
sending resource indication information of a Transport Block (TB) to a terminal device, wherein the TB occupies one or more target symbol resources of at least one target slot (Figure 1, control signaling 125 sent from base unit 121 to remote unit 105; paragraph 0050, the control signaling is for multi-PUSCH and includes dynamic indications used to determine a repetition scheme for a set of TBs 127);
wherein, the resource indication information is used to indicate at least one of:
a number of slots of the at least one target slot (paragraph 0076, the control information supports dynamic indication of a number repetitions with slot aggregation), or a number of symbols of the one or more target symbol resources (paragraph 0073, parameters include symbols for transmission);
wherein the resource indication information comprises a first Time Domain Resource Allocation (TDRA) table (paragraph 0101 and Table 1 – TDRA table);
wherein, the first TDRA table comprises at least one Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) allocation information element, and each PUSCH allocation information element comprises start and length indication information (paragraph 0101 and Table 1 – a TDRA table comprises PUSCH allocation and start (S) and length (L) information);
the start and length indication information is a Start And Length Indicator Value (SLIV) (SLIV is utilized for PUSCH), the SLIV is used to indicate a start symbol position of the first one of the one or more target symbol resources in the first one of the at least one target slot (paragraph 0073 – the first symbol is indicated by the SLIV in the TDRA),
or, the SLIV is used to indicate a start symbol position and a symbol length of the target symbol resource in each target slot (paragraph 0160 – alternatively, the SLIV can be used to determine the number of symbols for PUSCH);
(Note: the following limitation is claimed in the alternative and is therefore not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation) or, the start and length indication information comprises start symbol indication information S and symbol length indication information L, the start symbol indication information S is used to indicate a start symbol position of the first one of the one or more target symbol resources in the first one of the at least one target slot, or, the start symbol indication information S is used to indicate a start symbol position of the target symbol resource in each target slot; the symbol length indication information L is used to indicate a symbol length of the first one of the one or more target symbol resources in the first one of the at least one target slot, or, the symbol length indication information L is used to indicate a symbol length of the target symbol resource in each target slot;
wherein the resource indication information further comprises slot number indication information, the slot number indication information is included in a PUSCH allocation information element, and the slot number indication information is to indicate a number of slots of at least one target slot corresponding to the PUSCH allocation information element comprising the slot number indication information (paragraph 0098 – the TDRA table for the PUSCH is provided in a scheduling grant (e.g., DCI or configured grant) and comprises SLIV value for slot-based repetition);
(Note: the following limitation is claimed in the alternative and is therefore not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation) or, the slot number indication information is not included in any PUSCH allocation information element, and the slot number indication information is used to indicate a number of slots of at least one target slot corresponding to any PUSCH allocation information element.
Regarding Claim 13, Bhamri discloses a resource indication method, performed by a terminal device, comprising: receiving resource indication information of a Transport Block (TB) sent by a network device, wherein the TB occupies one or more target symbol resources of at least one target slot (Figure 1, control signaling 125 sent from base unit 121 to remote unit 105; paragraph 0050, the control signaling is for multi-PUSCH and includes dynamic indications used to determine a repetition scheme for a set of TBs 127); wherein, the resource indication information is used to indicate at least one of: a number of slots of the at least one target slot (paragraph 0076, the control information supports dynamic indication of a number repetitions with slot aggregation), or a number of symbols of the one or more target symbol resources (paragraph 0073, parameters include symbols for transmission);
wherein the resource indication information comprises a first Time Domain Resource Allocation (TDRA) table (paragraph 0101 and Table 1 – TDRA table);
wherein, the first TDRA table comprises at least one Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) allocation information element, and each PUSCH allocation information element comprises start and length indication information (paragraph 0101 and Table 1 – a TDRA table comprises PUSCH allocation and start (S) and length (L) information);
the start and length indication information is a Start And Length Indicator Value (SLIV) (SLIV is utilized for PUSCH), the SLIV is used to indicate a start symbol position of the first one of the one or more target symbol resources in the first one of the at least one target slot (paragraph 0073 – the first symbol is indicated by the SLIV in the TDRA),
or, the SLIV is used to indicate a start symbol position and a symbol length of the target symbol resource in each target slot (paragraph 0160 – alternatively, the SLIV can be used to determine the number of symbols for PUSCH);
(Note: the following limitation is claimed in the alternative and is therefore not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation) or, the start and length indication information comprises start symbol indication information S and symbol length indication information L, the start symbol indication information S is used to indicate a start symbol position of the first one of the one or more target symbol resources in the first one of the at least one target slot, or, the start symbol indication information S is used to indicate a start symbol position of the target symbol resource in each target slot; the symbol length indication information L is used to indicate a symbol length of the first one of the one or more target symbol resources in the first one of the at least one target slot, or, the symbol length indication information L is used to indicate a symbol length of the target symbol resource in each target slot;
wherein the resource indication information further comprises slot number indication information, the slot number indication information is included in a PUSCH allocation information element, and the slot number indication information is to indicate a number of slots of at least one target slot corresponding to the PUSCH allocation information element comprising the slot number indication information (paragraph 0098 – the TDRA table for the PUSCH is provided in a scheduling grant (e.g., DCI or configured grant) and comprises SLIV value for slot-based repetition);
(Note: the following limitation is claimed in the alternative and is therefore not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation) or, the slot number indication information is not included in any PUSCH allocation information element, and the slot number indication information is used to indicate a number of slots of at least one target slot corresponding to any PUSCH allocation information element.
Regarding Claim 26, Bhamri discloses a resource indication apparatus (Figure 9, network apparatus 900), applicable to a terminal device (Figure 1 base unit 121 communicates with remote unit 105), comprising a memory (Figure 9, 910), a transceiver (Figure 9, 925) and a processor (Figure 9, 905), wherein, the memory is configured to store computer programs (paragraph 0190, the memory stores instructions executed by the processor), the transceiver is configured to send and receive data under control of the processor (paragraph 0192, the processor transmits control signaling via the transceiver), and the processor is configured to read the computer programs in the memory (paragraph 0190, the memory stores instructions executed by the processor) and perform the following operations:
receiving resource indication information of a Transport Block (TB) sent by a network device, wherein the TB occupies one or more target symbol resources of at least one target slot (Figure 1, control signaling 125 sent from base unit 121 to remote unit 105; paragraph 0050, the control signaling is for multi-PUSCH and includes dynamic indications used to determine a repetition scheme for a set of TBs 127); wherein the resource indication information is used to indicate at least one of: a number of slots of the target slot (paragraph 0076, the control information supports dynamic indication of a number repetitions with slot aggregation), or, a number of symbols of the one or more target symbol resources (paragraph 0073, parameters include symbols for transmission); wherein the resource indication information comprises a first Time Domain Resource Allocation (TDRA) table (paragraph 0101 and Table 1 – TDRA table);
wherein, the first TDRA table comprises at least one Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) allocation information element, and each PUSCH allocation information element comprises start and length indication information (paragraph 0101 and Table 1 – a TDRA table comprises PUSCH allocation and start (S) and length (L) information);
the start and length indication information is a Start And Length Indicator Value (SLIV) (SLIV is utilized for PUSCH), the SLIV is used to indicate a start symbol position of the first one of the one or more target symbol resources in the first one of the at least one target slot (paragraph 0073 – the first symbol is indicated by the SLIV in the TDRA),
or, the SLIV is used to indicate a start symbol position and a symbol length of the target symbol resource in each target slot (paragraph 0160 – alternatively, the SLIV can be used to determine the number of symbols for PUSCH);
(Note: the following limitation is claimed in the alternative and is therefore not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation) or, the start and length indication information comprises start symbol indication information S and symbol length indication information L, the start symbol indication information S is used to indicate a start symbol position of the first one of the one or more target symbol resources in the first one of the at least one target slot, or, the start symbol indication information S is used to indicate a start symbol position of the target symbol resource in each target slot; the symbol length indication information L is used to indicate a symbol length of the first one of the one or more target symbol resources in the first one of the at least one target slot, or, the symbol length indication information L is used to indicate a symbol length of the target symbol resource in each target slot;
wherein the resource indication information further comprises slot number indication information, the slot number indication information is included in a PUSCH allocation information element, and the slot number indication information is to indicate a number of slots of at least one target slot corresponding to the PUSCH allocation information element comprising the slot number indication information (paragraph 0098 – the TDRA table for the PUSCH is provided in a scheduling grant (e.g., DCI or configured grant) and comprises SLIV value for slot-based repetition);
(Note: the following limitation is claimed in the alternative and is therefore not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation) or, the slot number indication information is not included in any PUSCH allocation information element, and the slot number indication information is used to indicate a number of slots of at least one target slot corresponding to any PUSCH allocation information element.
Regarding Claims 4 and 16, Bhamri discloses the resource indication information comprises repetition number indication information (paragraph 0106 – Table 2 shows a TDRA row index with a repetition factor), and the repetition number indication information is used to determine the number of slots of the at least one target slot (paragraph 0105 – slot-based repetitions are configured based on the repetition factor in the TDRA table);
(Note: the following limitation is claimed in the alternative and is therefore not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation) or, the resource indication information comprises repetition number indication information and reuse indication information, wherein the repetition number indication information is used to determine the number of slots of the at least one target slot in the case that the reuse indication information is a predefined value or a predefined state.
Regarding Claim 5, Bhamri discloses when the resource indication information comprises the repetition number indication information, the resource indication method further comprises: sending first Downlink Control Information (DCI) for scheduling the TB to the terminal device (paragraph 0098 – the TDRA table for the PUSCH is provided in a scheduling grant (e.g., DCI or configured grant)), wherein the first DCI comprises reuse indication information, and the repetition number indication information is used to determine the number of slots of the at least one target slot in the case that the reuse indication information is a predefined value or a predefined state (paragraph 0098 – the TDRA table for the PUSCH is provided in a scheduling grant (e.g., DCI or configured grant) and comprises SLIV value for slot-based repetition (i.e., PUSCH repetition Type-A is indicated to the UE as described in paragraph 0105)).
Regarding Claim 6, Bhamri discloses sending second DCI for scheduling the TB to the terminal device, the second DCI comprising a first indication field (paragraph 0098 – the TDRA table for the PUSCH is provided in a scheduling grant (e.g., DCI or configured grant)); wherein, the first indication field is used to indicate the number of slots of the at least one target slot, wherein the number of slots indicated by the first indication field is determined based on the number of slots indicated by the resource indication information (paragraph 0105 – slot-based repetitions are configured based on the repetition factor in the TDRA table).
Regarding Claims 7 and 19, Bhamri discloses the resource indication information comprises a second TDRA table (paragraph 0098 – the TDRA table for the PUSCH is provided in a scheduling grant (e.g., DCI or configured grant);
wherein, the second TDRA table comprises at least one PUSCH allocation information element, each PUSCH allocation information element comprises a list of start and length indication information (paragraph 0106 – the TDRA table comprises multiple SLIV values for PUSCH);
the list of start and length indication information comprises a plurality of pieces of start and length indication information, a number of pieces of start and length indication information in a valid state included in the list of start and length indication information is equal to the number of slots of the at least one target slot corresponding to the PUSCH allocation information element comprising the list of start and length indication information (paragraph 0109 - when the UE is indicated with multiple SLIVs and corresponding mapping types by a single row of TDRA table in the scheduling DCI and additionally a repetition factor is indicated by the row of the TDRA table, then the UE first allocates time-domain resources for the first PUSCHs and corresponding repetitions. Following the repetition of first PUSCH, time-domain resources are allocated for the next PUSCH with different TB and its corresponding repetitions and so on); and
the start and length indication information in the valid state in the list of start and length indication information is used to indicate a start symbol position and a symbol length of the target symbol resource in each target slot (paragraph 0109 - when the UE is indicated with multiple SLIVs and corresponding mapping types by a single row of TDRA table in the scheduling DCI and additionally a repetition factor is indicated by the row of the TDRA table, then the UE first allocates time-domain resources for the first PUSCHs and corresponding repetitions. Following the repetition of first PUSCH, time-domain resources are allocated for the next PUSCH with different TB and its corresponding repetitions and so on).
Regarding Claims 8 and 20, Bhamri discloses the resource indication information comprises a third TDRA table (paragraph 0098 – the TDRA table for the PUSCH is provided in a scheduling grant (e.g., DCI or configured grant);
wherein, the third TDRA table comprises at least one PUSCH allocation information element, each PUSCH allocation information element comprises slot indication information and start and length indication information (paragraph 0106 – the TDRA table comprises multiple SLIV values for PUSCH);
the slot indication information is used to indicate a start slot position and a number of slots of the at least one target slots (paragraph 0105 – slot-based repetitions are configured based on the repetition factor in the TDRA table); and
the start and length indication information is used to indicate a start symbol position of the first one of the one or more target symbol resources in the first one of the at least one target slot, or, the start and length indication information is used to indicate a start symbol position and a symbol length of the target symbol resource in each target slot (paragraphs 0112-0113, PUSCH repetitions corresponding to UL symbols being available).
Regarding Claim 10, Bhamri discloses receiving two or more TBs based on the resource indication information, wherein adjacent TBs of the two or more TBs have different redundant versions (paragraph 0118, wherein “selective repetition” refers to different repetition factors being applied to different TB/PUSCH repetitions of a multi-PUSCH allocation), or
(Note: the following limitation is claimed in the alternative and is therefore not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation) adjacent TBs of the two or more TBs have different information bits, and each TB of the two or more TBs comprises a same number of target slots, and respective target slots comprise target symbol resources with a same number of symbols and a same symbol position.
Regarding Claims 11 and 23, Bhamri discloses each target slot comprises one target symbol resource, and target symbol resources in respective target slots have a same start symbol position and a same symbol length (paragraph 0109 - when the UE is indicated with multiple SLIVs and corresponding mapping types by a single row of TDRA table in the scheduling DCI and additionally a repetition factor is indicated by the row of the TDRA table, then the UE first allocates time-domain resources for the first PUSCHs and corresponding repetitions. Following the repetition of first PUSCH, time-domain resources are allocated for the next PUSCH with different TB and its corresponding repetitions and so on).
Regarding Claim 18, Bhamri discloses receiving second DCI for scheduling the TB sent by the network device, the second DCI comprising a first indication field (paragraph 0098 – the TDRA table for the PUSCH is provided in a scheduling grant (e.g., DCI or configured grant)); wherein, the first indication field is used to indicate the number of slots of the at least one target slot, wherein the number of slots indicated by the first indication field is determined based on the number of slots indicated by the resource indication information (paragraph 0105 – slot-based repetitions are configured based on the repetition factor in the TDRA table).
Regarding Claim 22, Bhamri discloses sending two or more TBs based on the resource indication information, wherein adjacent TBs of the two or more TBs have different redundant versions (paragraph 0118, wherein “selective repetition” refers to different repetition factors being applied to different TB/PUSCH repetitions of a multi-PUSCH allocation), or (Note: the following limitation is claimed in the alternative and is therefore not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation) adjacent TBs of the two or more TBs have different information bits, and each TB of the two or more TBs comprises a same number of the target slots, and respective target slots comprise target symbol resources with a same number of symbols and a same symbol position.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ying et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 20230262449) discloses supporting dynamic indication of repetitions in a dynamic grant or configured grant (paragraph 0150).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW W CHRISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472