DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 37, 39, 42-45, 47, 49, 53, and 55-56 have been amended; Claims 38, 40-41, 46, 48, 50-52, and 54 have been cancelled; Claims 57-59 have been added. Claims 37, 39, 42-45, 47, 49, 53, and 55-59 are subject to examination.
Acknowledgement is made to the Applicant’s amendment to claims 49 and 53 to obviate the previous 112(b) rejection to claims 49 and 53. The previous 112(b) rejection to claims 49 and 53 is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding claim 49 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s Argument:
The Applicant argues in substance that Agiwal does not disclose or suggest “generat[ing] information associated with a set of resources for monitoring a control channel between a terminal device and the network device for a Small Data Transmission procedure between the terminal device and the network device, wherein the information includes a Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier indicating the set of resources for monitoring the control channel for performing the Small Data Transmission procedure”.
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As a result of the amendments to the claims, the Examiner has reformatted the rejection. However, Agiwal teaches “generating information associated with a set of resources for monitoring a control channel between a terminal device and the network device for a Small Data Transmission procedure between the terminal device and the network device” at paragraph [0011] by stating “a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes transmitting, to a terminal, information on a search space for a small data transmission (SDT) procedure ... transmitting, to the terminal ... a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for subsequent transmission of the SDT procedure, the PDCCH being transmitting in the search space for the SDT procedure based on the information”. Agiwal also teaches “the information includes a Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier indicating the set of resources for monitoring the control channel for performing the Small Data Transmission procedure” at paragraph [0146] by stating “In case of preconfigured resource based SDT, after transmitting Uplink data in preconfigured PUSCH resources, the UE monitors C-RNTI. The UE can monitor PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI ... the C-RNTI can be assigned along with preconfigured PUSCH resources”. By this rationale, Agiwal teaches the amended limitations. See updated rejection below.
Applicant’s Argument:
The Applicant further argues that Agiwal does not disclose or suggest “performing the Small Data Transmission procedure on a new bandwidth part different than an initial bandwidth part of the terminal device”.
Examiner’s Response:
This argument is moot because the new ground of rejection for this limitation does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record. As a result of the amendments to the claim, the Examiner has reformatted the rejection. See updated rejection below.
Regarding all other arguments made by the Applicant, the arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37, 39, 42-45, 47, 53, and 55-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal (US 2022/0095409 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2021/0410180 A1, hereinafter “Tsai”) and Huang et al. (US 2022/0086946 A1, hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding Claim 37, Agiwal teaches a terminal device comprising: at least one processor (Agiwal: Referring to FIG. 6, a terminal includes ... a controller 620 ... The controller 620 may refer to ... or at least one processor, see paragraph [0673]); and
at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device at least to (Agiwal: the terminal may be equipped with the memory 630 to store program codes ... To perform the desired operations, the controller 620 may read and execute the program codes stored in the memory 630 by using at least one processor, see paragraph [0676])
receive, from a network, information associated with a set of resources for monitoring a control channel between the terminal device and the network for a Small Data Transmission procedure between the terminal device and the network (Agiwal: a method performed by a terminal is provided. The method includes receiving, from a base station, information on a search space for a small data transmission (SDT) procedure ... monitoring, while the terminal is in an RRC inactive state, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for subsequent transmission of the SDT procedure, the PDCCH being monitored in the search space for the SDT procedure based on the information, see paragraph [0010]),
monitor the control channel by, obtaining a Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier from the information, the Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier being allocated by the network (Agiwal: The UE can monitor PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI ... the C-RNTI can be assigned along with preconfigured PUSCH resources (e.g., in RRCRelease message), see paragraph [0146]),
determining, based on the Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier, the set of resources for monitoring the control channel for the Small Data Transmission procedure (Agiwal: In case of preconfigured resource based SDT, after transmitting Uplink data in preconfigured PUSCH resources, the UE monitors C-RNTI. The UE can monitor PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI, see paragraph [0146]), and
monitoring the control channel on the set of resources (Agiwal: The UE can monitor PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI, see paragraph [0146]).
Agiwal does not explicitly teach the Small Data Transmission procedure on a new bandwidth part different than an initial bandwidth part of the terminal device, and
perform the Small Data Transmission procedure based on a result of the monitoring.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tsai teaches the Small Data Transmission procedure on a new bandwidth part different than an initial bandwidth part of the terminal device (Tsai: The small data transmission configuration may include the corresponding configurations, including a specific RNTI for monitoring the response/feedback, the PDCCH monitoring occasion (e.g., search space and/or CORESET) ... The SDT configuration may include a BWP indicator: A specific BWP (ID) may be configured for the UE to use in RRC_INACTIVE (e.g., for small data transmission). For example, the UE may switch its active BWP to the specific BWP when entering RRC_INACTIVE or when initiating SDT (e.g., with CG). The UE may perform small transmission (e.g., via CG for SDT) on the specific BWP, see paragraphs [0213]-[0215]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Agiwal to include the features as taught by Tsai above in order to enable SDT in the RRC_INACTIVE state (Tsai: see paragraph [0147]).
Agiwal-Tsai does not explicitly teach to perform the Small Data Transmission procedure based on a result of the monitoring.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches to perform the Small Data Transmission procedure based on a result of the monitoring (Huang: The UE may monitor the PDCCH by the first RNTI to receive a dynamic grant (e.g., the dynamic grant may be used for one or more subsequent UL transmissions, such as one or more subsequent UL small data transmissions...), see paragraph [0285]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Agiwal-Tsai to include the features as taught by Huang above in order to increase communication efficiency (Huang: see paragraph [0372]).
Regarding Claim 39, Agiwal-Tsai-Huang teaches the terminal device of Claim 37, wherein the information includes an indication of the set of resources for monitoring the control channel for the Small Data Transmission procedure (Agiwal: The method includes receiving, from a base station, information on a search space for a small data transmission (SDT) procedure ... monitoring ... a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for subsequent transmission of the SDT procedure, the PDCCH being monitored in the search space for the SDT procedure based on the information, see paragraph [0010]).
Regarding Claim 42, Agiwal-Tsai-Huang teaches the terminal device of Claim 37, wherein the terminal device is caused to obtain the Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier by: obtaining the Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier from a configured grant configuration allocated by the network (Agiwal: We can consider an alternate signaling flow wherein gNB can schedule UL grant (PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI) before RRCRelease, see paragraph [0140]).
Regarding Claim 43, Agiwal-Tsai-Huang teaches the terminal device of Claim 37, wherein the set of resources comprises a dedicated search space for monitoring the control channel for the Small Data Transmission procedure (Agiwal: The method includes receiving, from a base station, information on a search space for a small data transmission (SDT) procedure ... monitoring ... a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for subsequent transmission of the SDT procedure, the PDCCH being monitored in the search space for the SDT procedure based on the information, see paragraph [0010]).
Regarding Claim 44, Agiwal-Tsai-Huang teaches the terminal device of Claim 37, wherein the terminal device is caused to monitor the control channel on the set of resources by: monitoring the control channel on the set of resources after a Random Access procedure is completed (Agiwal: Upon completion of RA procedure initiated for small data transmission, the UE monitors PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI for subsequent DL/UL transmission/receptions, see paragraph [0218]).
Regarding Claim 45, Agiwal-Tsai-Huang teaches the terminal device of Claim 37, wherein the terminal device is caused to monitor the control channel on the set of resources by: monitoring the control channel on the set of resources during a Random Access procedure (Agiwal: In case of 4 step RA initiated for SDT, after receiving Msg3, gNB sends contention resolution identity and subsequently schedule resources for DL/UL transmission by sending PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI. RA procedure is completed in the UE upon receiving the contention resolution identity and the UE promotes the TC-RNTI received in RAR to C-RNTI, see paragraph [0143]).
Regarding Claim 47, Agiwal-Tsai-Huang teaches the terminal device of Claim 37, wherein the terminal device is caused to monitor the control channel by: obtaining an indication of a set of resources for monitoring the control channel for the Small Data Transmission procedure from the information (Agiwal: a method performed by a terminal is provided. The method includes receiving, from a base station, information on a search space for a small data transmission (SDT) procedure); and
monitoring the control channel on the set of resources (Agiwal: monitoring, while the terminal is in an RRC inactive state, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for subsequent transmission of the SDT procedure, the PDCCH being monitored in the search space for the SDT procedure based on the information, see paragraph [0010]).
Regarding Claim 53, the limitations of Claim 53 are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 37, and therefore claim 53 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 55, the limitations of Claim 55 are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 45, and therefore claim 55 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 56, Agiwal-Tsai-Huang teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions for causing an apparatus to perform at least the method of claim 55 (Agiwal: the terminal may be equipped with the memory 630 to store program codes implementing desired operations, see paragraph [0676]).
Regarding Claim 57, the limitations of Claim 57 are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 39, and therefore claim 57 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 58, the limitations of Claim 58 are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 44, and therefore claim 58 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 59, the limitations of Claim 59 are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 47, and therefore claim 59 is rejected for the same reasons
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal in view of Tsai.
Regarding Claim 49, Agiwal teaches a network device comprising: at least one processor (Agiwal: Referring to FIG. 7, a base station includes ... a controller 720 ... The controller 720 may refer to ... at least one processor, see paragraph [0678]); and
at least one memory including computer program code (Agiwal: the base station may be equipped with the memory 730 to store program codes, see paragraph [0681]),
the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network device at least to: generate information associated with a set of resources for monitoring a control channel between a terminal device and the network device for a Small Data Transmission procedure between the terminal device and the network device (Agiwal: To perform the desired operations, the controller 720 may read and execute the program codes stored in the memory 730 by using at least one processor, see paragraph [0681]; In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes transmitting, to a terminal, information on a search space for a small data transmission (SDT) procedure ... transmitting, to the terminal while the terminal is in an RRC inactive state, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for subsequent transmission of the SDT procedure, the PDCCH being transmitting in the search space for the SDT procedure based on the information, see paragraph [0011]),
wherein the information includes a Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier indicating the set of resources for monitoring the control channel for performing the Small Data Transmission procedure (Agiwal: In case of preconfigured resource based SDT, after transmitting Uplink data in preconfigured PUSCH resources, the UE monitors C-RNTI. The UE can monitor PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI ... the C-RNTI can be assigned along with preconfigured PUSCH resources, see paragraph [0146]), and
transmit the information to the terminal device (Agiwal: The method includes transmitting, to a terminal, information on a search space for a small data transmission (SDT) procedure, see paragraph [0011]).
Agiwal does not explicitly teach the Small Data Transmission procedure on a new bandwidth part different than an initial bandwidth part of the terminal device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tsai teaches the Small Data Transmission procedure on a new bandwidth part different than an initial bandwidth part of the terminal device (Tsai: The small data transmission configuration may include the corresponding configurations, including a specific RNTI for monitoring the response/feedback, the PDCCH monitoring occasion (e.g., search space and/or CORESET) ... The SDT configuration may include a BWP indicator: A specific BWP (ID) may be configured for the UE to use in RRC_INACTIVE (e.g., for small data transmission). For example, the UE may switch its active BWP to the specific BWP when entering RRC_INACTIVE or when initiating SDT (e.g., with CG). The UE may perform small transmission (e.g., via CG for SDT) on the specific BWP, see paragraphs [0213]-[0215]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Agiwal to include the features as taught by Tsai above in order to enable SDT in the RRC_INACTIVE state (Tsai: see paragraph [0147]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416