DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments entered on 4/24/2026 have been accepted. Claims 2 and 10-11 are amended. Claims 1-23 are pending, and claims 5-6, 9, 12-23 are withdrawn from consideration. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the non-final office action mailed 1/27/2026. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have not overcome the objections previously set forth.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 should read “…wherein the tobacco material has a pH of from…”. This would clarify that the same tobacco material from claim 10 of which claim 11 depends.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lampe (US2015/0230515A1, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Lampe teaches an aerosol-generating material (smokeless tobacco gel type composition [0001-0004]) comprising tobacco granules comprising tobacco material (the gel may include tobacco material such as particulate tobacco material [0019, 0029], which are considered types of granules), and an expansion agent (the composition may include one or more additional components, include carboxymethylcellulose (CMC) [0049], disintegration or compressibility aids such as microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) or croscarmellose sodium (CCS) [0049]. It is noted that the instant application lists each of these three components as preferred examples of the expansion agent [see pg. 4-5 of instant specification, claim 3]. These components may each be provided in a powder form, granulated form, liquid form, etc. [0050], and Lampe’s composition/products may utilize any variety of shape/form/size/weight/consistency/etc. [0060]. Lampe identifies moisture control as an important aspect of this product [0063]).
Lampe does not explicitly state that the components of CMC, MCC, and/or CCS expand on contact with moisture to cause movement of the tobacco granules within the aerosol-generating material exposing further tobacco material. However, It is considered, the claimed property would implicitly be achieved, as "When the claimed and prior art products of identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established”, see MPEP 2112.01 I. And further, "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present”, see MPEP 2112.01 II. In this case, Lampe specifically contains tobacco granules, and may have any of the components of CMC, MCC, and/or CCS, wherein these components are art recognized (and identified in the instant application) to have an expanding effect on contact with moisture. Additionally, in the case of CMC, Lampe specifies that the weight of the binder (of which CMC is classified as) may range from 5-50% by weight of the overall composition [0049, 0055], such that the preferred weight range is satisfied (see Claim 2). And lastly, as the instant specification suggests that essentially any number of physical relations between the tobacco granules and expansion agent results in the claimed property (see claims 4-7 and 9, and pg. 5 of the instant specification, wherein the expansion agent may be arranged inside, outside, between, or throughout the tobacco granules), it is reasonably suggested by Lampe that the tobacco composition thereof would have the expansion agent expanding on contact with moisture to cause movement of the tobacco granules and expose further tobacco material.
Regarding claim 2, Lampe makes obvious 5-50% by weight of the expansion agent (as in the rejection of claim 1 above, Lampe suggests that the amount of binder (which may be CMC) may range from 5-50% by weight of the overall composition [0049, 0055]. As carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) is one of the preferred expansion agents, the claimed range is clearly suggested by Lampe. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 3, Lampe makes obvious the expansion agent selected from the group consisting of CMC, MCC, and CCS (as in the rejection of claim 1 above, the composition may include components of carboxymethylcellulose [0049], and/or microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) or croscarmellose sodium (CCS) [0049]).
Regarding claim 4, Lampe makes obvious at least some of the expansion agent is included within the tobacco granules (Lampe states that the tobacco may be provided as particulate [0005], as well as the expansion agents may be provided in powder/granulated/liquid/etc. form mixed with the tobacco material [0049-0050]. Therefore, where the expansion agents (CMC, MCC, or CCS) is mixed with the tobacco material, the expansion agent would clearly be located within the tobacco granule, within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim).
Regarding claim 7, Lampe makes obvious the tobacco granules comprising a core of expansion agent surrounded by tobacco material (Lampe states that its composition has a variety of different formats and configurations [0060], including core/shell arrangements [0071-0072], and wherein different layering and different compositions may have different cross-sections [0074]. This variety of different arrangements suggested by Lampe reasonably suggested a core of expansion agent surrounded by tobacco material, within the broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation. For example, when there is a layered product formed with different formed compositions, the expansion agent in the composition in one cross-section (containing tobacco and one of the expansion agents) would be surrounded by the other composition similarly containing those aspects. Additionally, it may be considered that a granule containing the expansion agent and tobacco material would necessarily satisfy this relationship, as an innermost portion may be considered the “core” while an outer portion may be considered the tobacco material, as no further limiting characteristics are required of the “core” and surrounding material, such that any tobacco granule with both components would reasonably be considered to satisfy this limitation).
Regarding claim 8, Lampe makes obvious the tobacco granules formed by extrusion (Lampe states that ingredients may be processed by extrusion [0063], and the composition may be co-extruded [0074]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Lampe makes obvious the pH greater than 7 and from 8 to 9.5 (the tobacco product will usually have a pH from about 4 to 9 [0058]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
In the alternate, claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lampe (US2015/0230515A1, of record), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of either Chen (WO2019223411A1, citing to English Equivalent US2021/0401030A1, of record) or Li (US2017/0280769A1, of record).
In the alternate regarding claims 4 and 7, it is well known in the art to situate tobacco granules to have an inner and outer components thereof (such as in a core/shell type arrangement), and it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to situate the composition of Lampe as such. Lampe does not limit the arrangement of its composition and states that it may be arranged in any format or configuration, including shape, form, size, etc., [0060]. Chen teaches a low-temperature smoking body (title) which is produced by extruding tobacco particles and which includes microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) [0081, 0102]. The device forms smoke without burning (aerosol) [0059]. Examples 3 and 12 are each examples wherein the center material is formed which comprises microcrystalline cellulose [0081, 0102]. To the outside of the center layer is formed a tobacco powder layer between the particle body and the shell [0026]. As such, Chen exemplifies the use of a center comprising a core of expansion agent (MCC) which is surrounded by tobacco material (tobacco powder layer). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the granule arrangement in Lampe to be as suggested in Chen, as Chen provides a known arrangement of having microcrystalline cellulose in the core surrounded by tobacco powder. One would have been motivated so as to ensure anti-leakage protection [0026], and so as to provide good uniformity [0082, 0102].
In the alternate, Li is for an electronic vaping device [title]. The material for use in the device may include tobacco material along with microcrystalline cellulose [0012]. Li teaches that the material may be encapsulated into a core and at least one shell layer structure [0008-0012], so as to configure the release in response to activation mechanisms such as heat and moisture [0008-0012]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrange the tobacco material and expanding agent of Lampe to be in a core/shell arrangement as suggested by Li. One would have been motivated as Li provides evidence that it is understood in the art that these types of structures allow for the release of the inner material in response to activation mechanisms such as moisture [0008-0012], which is the exact type of mechanism utilized in the instant application. And as there would be two possible arrangements (tobacco as the shell or tobacco as the core), it would have been obvious to try both of the arrangements and one would have reasonably landed upon the claimed relationship of having a core of expansion agent surrounded by tobacco material.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian (WO2020119011A1, citing to English Equivalent US2024/0225100A1, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Qian teaches an aerosol-generating material (heating smoking set that does not burn. i.e., atomization [0002-0003, 0007]), comprising tobacco granules comprising tobacco material (the tobacco particles comprise tobacco powder [0007, 0054]), and an expansion agent (the granules comprise microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) [0007, 0054]. It is noted that the instant application lists this as a preferred example of the expansion agent [see pg. 4-5 of instant specification, claim 3].
Qian does not explicitly state that the components of MCC expand on contact with moisture to cause movement of the tobacco granules within the aerosol-generating material exposing further tobacco material. However, it is considered, the claimed property would implicitly be achieved, as "When the claimed and prior art products of identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established”, see MPEP 2112.01 I. And further, "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present”, see MPEP 2112.01 II. In this case, Qian specifically contains tobacco granules, and may have any of the components of MCC wherein these components are art recognized (and identified in the instant application) to have an expanding effect on contact with moisture. Additionally, Qian specifies that material may have 8-20 parts by weight of microcrystalline cellulose [0007, 0054], such that the preferred weight range is satisfied (see Claim 2). And lastly, as the instant specification suggests that essentially any number of physical relations between the tobacco granules and expansion agent results in the claimed property (see claims 4-7 and 9, and pg. 5 of the instant specification, wherein the expansion agent may be arranged inside, outside, between, or throughout the tobacco granules), it is reasonably suggested by Qian that the tobacco composition thereof would have the expansion agent expanding on contact with moisture to cause movement of the tobacco granules and expose further tobacco material.
Regarding claim 2, Qian makes obvious 5% to 50% by weight of the expansion agent (as above, Qian preferably has 8-20 parts by weight of the microcrystalline cellulose [0007, 0054]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 3, Qian makes obvious the expansion agent selected from the group consisting of CMC, MCC, and CCS (as in the rejection of claim 1 above, the composition may include components of microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) [0007]).
Regarding claim 4, Qian makes obvious the expansion agent is included within the tobacco granules (the tobacco particles comprise both the tobacco powder and microcrystalline cellulose [0007, 0054], such that the expansion agent would necessarily be within the tobacco granule).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian (WO2020119011A1, citing to English Equivalent US2024/0225100A1, of record), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of either Chen (WO2019223411A1, citing to English Equivalent US2021/0401030A1, of record) or Li (US2017/0280769A1, of record).
Regarding claim 7, it is well known in the art to situate tobacco granules to have an inner and outer components thereof (such as in a core/shell type arrangement), and it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to situate the composition of Qian as such. QIAN does not limit the arrangement of its particles. Chen teaches a low-temperature smoking body (title) which is produced by extruding tobacco particles and which includes microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) [0081, 0102]. The device forms smoke without burning (aerosol) [0059]. Examples 3 and 12 are each examples wherein the center material is formed which comprises microcrystalline cellulose [0081, 0102]. To the outside of the center layer is formed a tobacco powder layer between the particle body and the shell [0026]. As such, Chen exemplifies the use of a center comprising a core of expansion agent (MCC) which is surrounded by tobacco material (tobacco powder layer). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the granule arrangement in Qian to be as suggested in Chen, as Chen provides a known arrangement of having microcrystalline cellulose in the core surrounded by tobacco powder. One would have been motivated so as to ensure anti-leakage protection [0026], and so as to provide good uniformity [0082, 0102].
In the alternate, Li is for an electronic vaping device [title]. The material for use in the device may include tobacco material along with microcrystalline cellulose [0012]. Li teaches that the material may be encapsulated into a core and at least one shell layer structure [0008-0012], so as to configure the release in response to activation mechanisms such as heat and moisture [0008-0012]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrange the tobacco material and expanding agent of Qian to be in a core/shell arrangement as suggested by Li. One would have been motivated as Li provides evidence that it is understood in the art that these types of structures allow for the release of the inner material in response to activation mechanisms such as moisture [0008-0012], which is the exact type of mechanism utilized in the instant application. And as there would be two possible arrangements (tobacco as the shell or tobacco as the core), it would have been obvious to try both of the arrangements and one would have reasonably landed upon the claimed relationship of having a core of expansion agent surrounded by tobacco material.
Claims 8, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian (WO2020119011A1, citing to English Equivalent US2024/0225100A1, of record), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Franke (US2020/0163377A1, of record).
Regarding claim 8, Qian does not explicitly say that its granules are formed by extrusion. However, extrusion is an extremely common way of forming granules for use in aerosolisable materials. Franke, for example, teaches aerosol forming agents for tobacco [0001-0004, 0096]. Extrusion is utilized on the composition thereof [0089-0091]. Forming the tobacco constituent by extrusion has the advantage of combining mixing, conditioning, homogenizing, and molding of the precursor composition [0090]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form the granules through extrusion, as suggested by Franke, for the benefit of combining multiple steps into one as suggested by Franke [0090].
Regarding claims 10-11, Qian does not explicitly state what the pH of the tobacco material is. However, pH values of at least 7 and from 8-9.5 are extremely typical in the art. Franke, for example, suggests that the pH of the tobacco material is made to range from 7.5 to 10 [0046-0051]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the tobacco material of Qian so as to have a pH as suggested by Franke. One would have been motivated so as to provide the composition in a form where they are readily released from the releasing component and are readily transferred to the aerosol [0048].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pgs. 9-10 of their filed remarks dated 4/24/2026 that Lampe’s aerosol generating material would not be possible to expand on contact with moisture because it is a dissolvable smokeless tobacco gel. Applicant argues that Lampe’s product is “dissolvable” and thus would have water in it, such that the product would dissolve rather than cause movement of the tobacco particles/granules.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that Applicant’s own instant specification details that the aerosol-generating material (which has the expansion agent which expands to cause movement of the tobacco granules) may be in the form of a “gel” [pgs. 11-12 of instant specification]. “Each of the aerosol-generating materials may be, for example, in the form of a solid, liquid or gel” [pgs. 11-12 of instant specification]. As Applicant notes that gel materials would contain some amount of water, and as Applicant’s specification clearly demonstrates that the aerosol generating material may be in the form of a gel (which would necessarily comprise some amount of water), the arguments pertaining the unobviousness of Lampe cannot be convincing as Applicant’s own specification contradicts their arguments. And further, it is noted that Applicant’s own instant specification details that the tobacco may include water added as a processing aid or to assist with binding/improving agglomeration [pg. 7 of instant specification]. It is therefore clear that the aerosol generating material being in the form of a gel and/or containing some amount of water does NOT prevent the aerosol-generating material from having the expansion agent expand on contact with moisture and causing movement of the tobacco granules. Applicant’s arguments therefore cannot be found convincing. As in the rejections in view of Lampe above, it is considered the Lampe reasonably suggests the aerosol-generating material which has expansion agent which expands on contact with moisture so as to cause movement of the tobacco granules and expose further tobacco material.
Applicant argues on pgs. 10-11 of their filed remarks dated 4/24/2026 that Qian includes “absorbent cotton” at the bottom of the cartridge cup to keep density relatively stable, and that this would absorb water such that Qian would not be capable of further exposing tobacco material as presently claimed.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Specifically, it is noted that Applicant is claiming “an aerosol-generating material”, and did not elect to pursue the inventions tied to the “consumable” or “a non-combustible aerosol provision system” as in the non-elected claims 15 and 17 for example. Therefore, it would merely be required for the aerosol generating material to comprise the stated aspects. Applicant's arguments appear to be tied to the consumable or system which are not claimed and are unelected inventions. The presence or absence of an absorbent portion in a consumable or in the overall system would not change the fact that the aerosol-generating material of Qian comprises all of the required limitations and that it would implicitly expand on contact with moisture to cause movement of the tobacco granules. The aerosol-generating material of Qian, as noted in the rejections, includes tobacco powder and microcrystalline cellulose, at amounts of CMC from 8-20 parts which satisfy the preferred weight amounts (claim 2), such that it would be reasonably suggested that Qian’s aerosol generating material would result in the expansion agent expanding on contact with moisture to cause movement of the tobacco granules and expose further tobacco material.
Additionally, while it is true that Qian includes a cotton, the conclusions that Applicant makes are opinions and are not evidence supplied by the prior art. Qian states that the cotton may keep the density stable to help deliver even smoke and uniform suction experience [0029], but this does not imply nor necessitate the particles being “held in place” so as to not allow for movement of the tobacco granules. All that Qian states is that the density would be held stable, but this would still be the case with movement of tobacco granules. Applicants arguments amount to an opinion/assertion and does not take the place of factual evidence. See MPEP 2145.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. 38. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THOMAS F SCHNEIDER whose telephone number is (571)272-4857. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7:30 am - 5:00 pm.
/T.F.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749