DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments entered on 7/30/2026 have been accepted. Claims 1, 11 are amended. Claims 1-23 are pending, and claims 5-6, 9, 12-23 are withdrawn from consideration. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objections previously set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lampe (US2015/0230515A1, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Lampe teaches an aerosol-generating material (smokeless tobacco gel type composition [0001-0004]) comprising tobacco granules comprising tobacco material (the gel may include tobacco material such as particulate tobacco material [0019, 0029], which are considered types of granules. Additionally, Lampe teaches that the tobacco material may be in granulated form [0029, 0050]), and an expansion agent (the composition may include one or more additional components, include carboxymethylcellulose (CMC) [0049], disintegration or compressibility aids such as microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) or croscarmellose sodium (CCS) [0049]. It is noted that the instant application lists each of these three components as preferred examples of the expansion agent [see pg. 4-5 of instant specification, claim 3]. These components may each be provided in a powder form, granulated form, liquid form, etc. [0050], and Lampe’s composition/products may utilize any variety of shape/form/size/weight/consistency/etc. [0060]. Lampe identifies moisture control as an important aspect of this product [0063]),
Lampe further teaches that the tobacco granules comprise a binder (the composition may include binders “e.g., povidone, sodium carboxymethylcellulose (CMC) and other modified cellulosic types of binders, sodium alginate, xanthan gum, starch-based binders, gum arabic, agar, gellan gum, polydextrose, and the like” [0049]. Lampe further specifies that gelling agents may be included [0049], which the instant specification details in a type of binder [pg. 7 of instant specification]. Lampe teaches that the binder is included to as to provide the desired physical attributes and physical integrity to the composition [0055]).
Lampe does not explicitly state that the components of CMC, MCC, and/or CCS expand on contact with moisture to cause movement of the tobacco granules within the aerosol-generating material exposing further tobacco material. However, it is considered, the claimed property would implicitly be achieved, as "When the claimed and prior art products of identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established”, see MPEP 2112.01 I. And further, "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present”, see MPEP 2112.01 II. In this case, Lampe specifically contains tobacco granules, and may have any of the components of CMC, MCC, and/or CCS, wherein these components are art recognized (and identified in the instant application) to have an expanding effect on contact with moisture. Additionally, in the case of CMC, Lampe specifies that the weight of the binder (of which CMC is classified as) may range from 5-50% by weight of the overall composition [0049, 0055], such that the preferred weight range is satisfied (see Claim 2). And lastly, as the instant specification suggests that essentially any number of physical relations between the tobacco granules and expansion agent results in the claimed property (see claims 4-7 and 9, and pg. 5 of the instant specification, wherein the expansion agent may be arranged inside, outside, between, or throughout the tobacco granules), it is reasonably suggested by Lampe that the tobacco composition thereof would have the expansion agent expanding on contact with moisture to cause movement of the tobacco granules and expose further tobacco material.
Regarding claim 2, Lampe makes obvious 5-50% by weight of the expansion agent (as in the rejection of claim 1 above, Lampe suggests that the amount of binder (which may be CMC) may range from 5-50% by weight of the overall composition [0049, 0055]. As carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) is one of the preferred expansion agents, the claimed range is clearly suggested by Lampe. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 3, Lampe makes obvious the expansion agent selected from the group consisting of CMC, MCC, and CCS (as in the rejection of claim 1 above, the composition may include components of carboxymethylcellulose [0049], and/or microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) or croscarmellose sodium (CCS) [0049]).
Regarding claim 4, Lampe makes obvious at least some of the expansion agent is included within the tobacco granules (Lampe states that the tobacco may be provided as particulate [0005], as well as the expansion agents may be provided in powder/granulated/liquid/etc. form mixed with the tobacco material [0049-0050]. Therefore, where the expansion agents (CMC, MCC, or CCS) is mixed with the tobacco material, the expansion agent would clearly be located within the tobacco granule, within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim).
Regarding claim 7, Lampe makes obvious the tobacco granules comprising a core of expansion agent surrounded by tobacco material (Lampe states that its composition has a variety of different formats and configurations [0060], including core/shell arrangements [0071-0072], and wherein different layering and different compositions may have different cross-sections [0074]. This variety of different arrangements suggested by Lampe reasonably suggested a core of expansion agent surrounded by tobacco material, within the broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation. For example, when there is a layered product formed with different formed compositions, the expansion agent in the composition in one cross-section (containing tobacco and one of the expansion agents) would be surrounded by the other composition similarly containing those aspects. Additionally, it may be considered that a granule containing the expansion agent and tobacco material would necessarily satisfy this relationship, as an innermost portion may be considered the “core” while an outer portion may be considered the tobacco material, as no further limiting characteristics are required of the “core” and surrounding material, such that any tobacco granule with both components would reasonably be considered to satisfy this limitation).
Regarding claim 8, Lampe makes obvious the tobacco granules formed by extrusion (Lampe states that ingredients may be processed by extrusion [0063], and the composition may be co-extruded [0074]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Lampe makes obvious the pH greater than 7 and from 8 to 9.5 (the tobacco product will usually have a pH from about 4 to 9 [0058]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
In the alternate, claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lampe (US2015/0230515A1, of record), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of either Chen (WO2019223411A1, citing to English Equivalent US2021/0401030A1, of record) or Li (US2017/0280769A1, of record).
In the alternate regarding claims 4 and 7, it is well known in the art to situate tobacco granules to have an inner and outer components thereof (such as in a core/shell type arrangement), and it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to situate the composition of Lampe as such. Lampe does not limit the arrangement of its composition and states that it may be arranged in any format or configuration, including shape, form, size, etc., [0060]. Chen teaches a low-temperature smoking body (title) which is produced by extruding tobacco particles and which includes microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) [0081, 0102]. The device forms smoke without burning (aerosol) [0059]. Examples 3 and 12 are each examples wherein the center material is formed which comprises microcrystalline cellulose [0081, 0102]. To the outside of the center layer is formed a tobacco powder layer between the particle body and the shell [0026]. As such, Chen exemplifies the use of a center comprising a core of expansion agent (MCC) which is surrounded by tobacco material (tobacco powder layer). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the granule arrangement in Lampe to be as suggested in Chen, as Chen provides a known arrangement of having microcrystalline cellulose in the core surrounded by tobacco powder. One would have been motivated so as to ensure anti-leakage protection [0026], and so as to provide good uniformity [0082, 0102].
In the alternate, Li is for an electronic vaping device [title]. The material for use in the device may include tobacco material along with microcrystalline cellulose [0012]. Li teaches that the material may be encapsulated into a core and at least one shell layer structure [0008-0012], so as to configure the release in response to activation mechanisms such as heat and moisture [0008-0012]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrange the tobacco material and expanding agent of Lampe to be in a core/shell arrangement as suggested by Li. One would have been motivated as Li provides evidence that it is understood in the art that these types of structures allow for the release of the inner material in response to activation mechanisms such as moisture [0008-0012], which is the exact type of mechanism utilized in the instant application. And as there would be two possible arrangements (tobacco as the shell or tobacco as the core), it would have been obvious to try both of the arrangements and one would have reasonably landed upon the claimed relationship of having a core of expansion agent surrounded by tobacco material.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian (WO2020119011A1, citing to English Equivalent US2024/0225100A1, of record), optionally in view of Phillips (US2019/0082735A1).
Regarding claim 1, Qian teaches an aerosol-generating material (heating smoking set that does not burn. i.e., atomization [0002-0003, 0007]), comprising tobacco granules comprising tobacco material (the tobacco particles comprise tobacco powder [0007, 0054]), and an expansion agent (the granules comprise microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) [0007, 0054]. It is noted that the instant application lists this as a preferred example of the expansion agent [see pg. 4-5 of instant specification, claim 3],
Lampe further teaches that the tobacco granules comprise a binder (the instant specification gives examples of the “binder” to include gelling agents, celluloses, cellulose derivatives, etc. [pg. 7 of instant specification]. The composition comprises cellulose [0007, 0054], such that the cellulose is considered to be the binder that is present in the tobacco granule. It is noted that it is not required for the binder and the expansion agent to be different materials.
Optionally applied, Phillips teaches an aerosol generating device and material for the device [0001-0002]. Phillips details that the material includes, in addition to the tobacco material, a binder material which may be selected from various known materials such as gum, xanthan, pullulan, alginate, etc. [0038]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include a binder material as detailed in Phillips. One would have found it obvious so as to ensure that the component maintains the structural shape and/or integrity of the granule [0038-0039], and one would have found it obvious to utilize any/all of these conventional binder materials so as to accomplish the aims of Qian.
Qian does not explicitly state that the components of MCC expand on contact with moisture to cause movement of the tobacco granules within the aerosol-generating material exposing further tobacco material. However, it is considered, the claimed property would implicitly be achieved, as "When the claimed and prior art products of identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established”, see MPEP 2112.01 I. And further, "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present”, see MPEP 2112.01 II. In this case, Qian specifically contains tobacco granules, and may have any of the components of MCC wherein these components are art recognized (and identified in the instant application) to have an expanding effect on contact with moisture. Additionally, Qian specifies that material may have 8-20 parts by weight of microcrystalline cellulose [0007, 0054], such that the preferred weight range is satisfied (see Claim 2). And lastly, as the instant specification suggests that essentially any number of physical relations between the tobacco granules and expansion agent results in the claimed property (see claims 4-7 and 9, and pg. 5 of the instant specification, wherein the expansion agent may be arranged inside, outside, between, or throughout the tobacco granules), it is reasonably suggested by Qian that the tobacco composition thereof would have the expansion agent expanding on contact with moisture to cause movement of the tobacco granules and expose further tobacco material.
Regarding claim 2, Qian makes obvious 5% to 50% by weight of the expansion agent (as above, Qian preferably has 8-20 parts by weight of the microcrystalline cellulose [0007, 0054]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 3, Qian makes obvious the expansion agent selected from the group consisting of CMC, MCC, and CCS (as in the rejection of claim 1 above, the composition may include components of microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) [0007]).
Regarding claim 4, Qian makes obvious the expansion agent is included within the tobacco granules (the tobacco particles comprise both the tobacco powder and microcrystalline cellulose [0007, 0054], such that the expansion agent would necessarily be within the tobacco granule).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian (WO2020119011A1, citing to English Equivalent US2024/0225100A1, of record) and optionally in view of Phillips (US2019/0082735A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of either Chen (WO2019223411A1, citing to English Equivalent US2021/0401030A1, of record) or Li (US2017/0280769A1, of record).
Regarding claim 7, it is well known in the art to situate tobacco granules to have an inner and outer components thereof (such as in a core/shell type arrangement), and it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to situate the composition of Qian as such. QIAN does not limit the arrangement of its particles. Chen teaches a low-temperature smoking body (title) which is produced by extruding tobacco particles and which includes microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) [0081, 0102]. The device forms smoke without burning (aerosol) [0059]. Examples 3 and 12 are each examples wherein the center material is formed which comprises microcrystalline cellulose [0081, 0102]. To the outside of the center layer is formed a tobacco powder layer between the particle body and the shell [0026]. As such, Chen exemplifies the use of a center comprising a core of expansion agent (MCC) which is surrounded by tobacco material (tobacco powder layer). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the granule arrangement in Qian to be as suggested in Chen, as Chen provides a known arrangement of having microcrystalline cellulose in the core surrounded by tobacco powder. One would have been motivated so as to ensure anti-leakage protection [0026], and so as to provide good uniformity [0082, 0102].
In the alternate, Li is for an electronic vaping device [title]. The material for use in the device may include tobacco material along with microcrystalline cellulose [0012]. Li teaches that the material may be encapsulated into a core and at least one shell layer structure [0008-0012], so as to configure the release in response to activation mechanisms such as heat and moisture [0008-0012]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrange the tobacco material and expanding agent of Qian to be in a core/shell arrangement as suggested by Li. One would have been motivated as Li provides evidence that it is understood in the art that these types of structures allow for the release of the inner material in response to activation mechanisms such as moisture [0008-0012], which is the exact type of mechanism utilized in the instant application. And as there would be two possible arrangements (tobacco as the shell or tobacco as the core), it would have been obvious to try both of the arrangements and one would have reasonably landed upon the claimed relationship of having a core of expansion agent surrounded by tobacco material.
Claims 8, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian (WO2020119011A1, citing to English Equivalent US2024/0225100A1, of record) and optionally in view of Phillips (US2019/0082735A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Franke (US2020/0163377A1, of record).
Regarding claim 8, Qian does not explicitly say that its granules are formed by extrusion. However, extrusion is an extremely common way of forming granules for use in aerosolisable materials. Franke, for example, teaches aerosol forming agents for tobacco [0001-0004, 0096]. Extrusion is utilized on the composition thereof [0089-0091]. Forming the tobacco constituent by extrusion has the advantage of combining mixing, conditioning, homogenizing, and molding of the precursor composition [0090]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form the granules through extrusion, as suggested by Franke, for the benefit of combining multiple steps into one as suggested by Franke [0090].
Regarding claims 10-11, Qian does not explicitly state what the pH of the tobacco material is. However, pH values of at least 7 and from 8-9.5 are extremely typical in the art. Franke, for example, suggests that the pH of the tobacco material is made to range from 7.5 to 10 [0046-0051]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the tobacco material of Qian so as to have a pH as suggested by Franke. One would have been motivated so as to provide the composition in a form where they are readily released from the releasing component and are readily transferred to the aerosol [0048].
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in their filed Remarks dated 7/30/2026 that Lampe describes an optional presence of a binder [pg. 6 paragraph 3]. Applicant then argues that Lampe does not disclose or suggest tobacco granules comprising a binder [pg. 6 paragraph 4], and Applicant argues that Lampe does not teach granule structures.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, as to the presence of a binder, Lampe unequivocally teaches and/or suggests the presence of a binder to be included in the composition. As admitted by Applicant on pg. 6 paragraph 3, wherein “Lampe describes a smokeless dissolvable tobacco gel product that includes …optionally a binder”. Lampe specifically states that the material may include binders [0049] or a combination of binders [0055] so as to provide the desired physical attributes and physical integrity to the composition [0055-0056]. Applicant’s statements about the lack of a binder in Lampe are contradictory and contrary to the teachings of Lampe.
As to Applicant’s arguments about the “gel” of Lampe not being “granules”, the Examiner disagrees. Granule is taken as the broadest reasonable interpretation to mean a small grain or particle and this does not bar the interpretation of the material being in the form of a “gel” to read upon the “granule”. And further, as to the tobacco granules, it is noted that Applicant’s own instant specification details that the aerosol-generating material (which has the expansion agent which expands to cause movement of the tobacco granules) may be in the form of a “gel” [pgs. 11-12 of instant specification]. “Each of the aerosol-generating materials may be, for example, in the form of a solid, liquid or gel” [pgs. 11-12 of instant specification]. From Applicant’s own specification, a “gel” is considered to be within the family of “tobacco granules”. Additionally/alternatively, the Examiner notes that Lampe specifically suggests that the composition components may be in the form of granules [0029, 0050], “…may be provided in… granulated form” and “the tobacco material is used in a form that can be described as particulate (i.e., shredded, ground, granulated, or powder form)” [0029, 0050]. Lampe therefore clearly reasonably suggests the aerosol-generating material in a granule form.
As to Applicant’s arguments stating that Lampe “provides no teaching or suggestion that the binder may be used to agglomerate the tobacco material or to form tobacco granules”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lampe specifically states that the binder may be included to provide “desired physical attributes and physical integrity to the smokeless tobacco composition” [0055]. Lampe clearly provides rationale for the presence of binder so as to hold the tobacco composition together, and as noted above Lampe provides direct support for having the material in the form of granules.
Applicant argues that Qian does not suggest tobacco granules comprising tobacco material, an expansion agent, and a binder.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the term “particle” as utilized by Qian reads upon “granule” under the broadest reasonable interpretation thereof as granule is not specifically defined. And further, Qian suggests that the tobacco derivatives may be granulated [0002]. The arguments surrounding “granule” are not convincing. As to the presence of the binder, it is noted that Qian suggests that presence of celluloses [0007], wherein the instant application notes that celluloses are types of binders. Therefore, the cellulose of Qian may reasonably be considered to be both the expansion agent and the binder, as there is no limitation requiring for these to be different chemicals. And optionally applied as in the rejections above, Phillips further provides examples of well-known binders which are known in the art to hold the structural shape/integrity of the material.
Conclusion
/T.F.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749