DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s amendments to claim 9 in line 4 from “at least one” to “at least two” has changed the scope of the claim and thus, the rejection thereof has been updated.
Applicant’s arguments include:
A) regarding the 35 USC § 112(b) rejection of claim 1 on page 9, “The feature "wherein the first indication information indicates whether a first data packet is comprised in a data packet to be transmitted, and a data size of the first data packet is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold" in claim 1 should be understood in the manner of A) as suggested by the examiner, i.e., "wherein a data size of the first data packet is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold, and wherein the first indication information indicates whether a first data packet is comprised in a data packet to be transmitted"”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding A) while applicant has asserted a desired interpretation, applicant has not amended the claim language to clarify indefinite issues in the claim language, nor has applicant provided arguments/evidence claim language is definite. Accordingly, the corresponding 35 USC § 112(b) rejection is maintained.
B) regarding the 35 USC § 112(b) rejection of claim 7 on pages 9-10, “in claim, "at least one preamble" is introduced, and the antecedent of "the at least one preamble" of claim 7 is "at least one preamble" of claim 4”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding B) while applicant amendments have clarified issues regarding "at least one preamble", indefinite issues remain in the claims which claim 7 depends upon. Accordingly, the corresponding 35 USC § 112(b) rejection is maintained.
C) regarding the 35 USC § 112(b) rejection of claim 9 on page 10, “"wherein the second indication information comprises at least one of the following configuration parameters" has been amended to "wherein the second indication information comprises at least two of the following configuration parameters", thereby making it clear that the second indication information comprises at least two configuration parameters which make up the configuration parameter combination”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding C) while applicant’s amendments have clarified issues regarding parameter combination, applicant has not addressed “first value” and “each first value” ambiguity as indicated in the OA on pages 4-5. Accordingly, the corresponding 35 USC § 112(b) rejection is maintained.
D) regarding the 35 USC § 112(b) rejection of claim 25 on pages 11-12, “Features (A) and (B) are two parallel required features, and feature (A) is a limitation to the step of "sending the terminal ID to the network side device", while feature (B) is a limitation to the step of "sending the first indication information to the network side device"”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding D) while applicant has asserted a desired interpretation, applicant has not amended the claim language to clarify indefinite issues in the claim language nor has applicant provided arguments/evidence claim language is definite. Accordingly, the corresponding 35 USC § 112(b) rejection is maintained.
E) regarding the 35 USC § 102(a)(2) rejection of claim 1 on pages 11-13, “the data packet to be transmitted indicated by the first indication information of the present application is a data packet to be transmitted when the terminal is in a non-connected state ("in an access procedure of accessing a network side"), and the design of the present application aims to enable the terminal to transmit data packets without entering the active state, which is recited as "when the first indication information indicates that the data packet to be transmitted comprises the first data packet, during the access procedure, sending the first data packet to the network side device" in claim 1”, further, “in the present application, the data packet regarding the first indication information must meet the condition of being greater than or equal to a first preset threshold. For data packets smaller than the first preset threshold, even if they are to be transmitted, the present application will not provide an indication”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding E) In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the data packet to be transmitted indicated by the first indication information of the present application is a data packet to be transmitted when the terminal is in a non-connected state ("in an access procedure of accessing a network side”, “the data packet regarding the first indication information must meet the condition of being greater than or equal to a first preset threshold. For data packets smaller than the first preset threshold, even if they are to be transmitted, the present application will not provide an indication”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further, i) applicant’s specification does not describe any “state”, much less “non-connected state”; ii) claim language does not indicate “the present application will not provide an indication”; iii) dictionary definition of “access” has been provided in the OA of 12/15/2025, which includes “a way of being able to use or get something”, “permission or the right to enter, get near, or make use of something or to have contact with someone”, “to be able to use, enter, or get near (something)”, “the right or opportunity to use or look at something”, “to be able to get to or get inside a place”, “to be able to use or obtain something such as a service”, “to get information, esp. when using a computer”, “the right or opportunity to use or receive something”, “the right or ability to look at documents and information”, “the ability to use a system such as the internet, or the way in which you can do this”, “to open a computer file or to use a computer system such as the internet”, “to be able to get or use something, especially a service”, “freedom or ability to obtain or make use of something”, “to be able to use”, which applicant has not refuted. Thus, the claimed during the access procedure is analogous to - while communicating with the network side -, - while using the network side -, not necessarily “when the terminal is in a non-connected state” as argued, and accordingly, Geng [US 2021/0298092 A1] teaches during the access procedure as claimed with (BS configures UE to be connected mode to send data [communication with BS indicating access procedure]; para. 253) where “send data” reasonably reads on during the access procedure as claimed. Further, sending the first data packet to the network side device is clearly in communication with / using the network side [device] unrelated to the unsupported argument / unclaimed limitation of when the terminal is in a non-connected state, and accordingly, Geng teaches sending the first data packet to the network side device as claimed with (UE transmits data to BS; para. [253, 260]). The limitation a data size of the first data packet is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold merely indicates “a data size of the first data packet is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold” and the claim does not specify any function when “data packet is less than the first preset threshold” much less “For data packets smaller than the first preset threshold, even if they are to be transmitted, the present application will not provide an indication” as argued, and accordingly, Geng teaches a data size of the first data packet is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold as claimed with (terminal/UE determines if size of to-be-transmitted uplink data packet is larger than max [first preset] data transmission threshold, terminal determines when size of to-be-transmitted uplink data packet is larger than second [also first preset] transmission threshold; para. [253, 257, 260] and Fig. 6 step S630).
Accordingly, in light of the above, applicant’s arguments are non-persuasive.
Remaining arguments rely on the above A-E arguments and thus, are correspondingly non-persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11, 13, 15-17, 20, 22, 24-25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: lines 4-6 includes “wherein the first indication information indicates whether a first data packet is comprised in a data packet to be transmitted, and a data size of the first data packet is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold” which is ambiguous as to whether the meaning should be similar to A) wherein a data size of the first data packet is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold, and wherein the first indication information indicates whether a first data packet is comprised in a data packet to be transmitted; B) wherein the first indication information indicates whether a first data packet is comprised in a data packet to be transmitted, and indicates a data size of the first data packet is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold; C) wherein the first indication information indicates whether a first data packet is comprised in a data packet to be transmitted, and indicates whether a data size of the first data packet is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold. Examination continued on the assumption the meaning is similar to A) above.
Regarding claims 3-7: the claims, ultimately dependent upon claim 1, are interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9: the claim, ultimately dependent upon claim 1, is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Further, lines 8-9 includes the limitation “wherein the second indication information is indicated in the second data packet by a first value; wherein each first value corresponds to a different configuration parameter combination” however, while one “first value” is introduced, “each first value” implies multiple “first values” which exacerbates ambiguity of whether A) “first value” corresponds to one of the “configuration parameters” listed in lines 5-7 and thus the limitation is contradictory to “the second indication information comprises at least one of the following configuration parameters” of lines 3-4; or whether B) “first value” corresponds to “second indication information” so that the “second indication information” includes “different configuration parameter combination” which again the limitation is contradictory to “the second indication information comprises at least one of the following configuration parameters” of line 4. Examination continued on the assumption a value corresponds to at least two configuration parameters, and different values indicate different configuration parameters combinations.
Regarding claim 11: the claim, ultimately dependent upon claim 1, is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13: the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claims 15-17: the claims, ultimately dependent upon claim 13, are interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 13.
Regarding claims 20: the claim, ultimately dependent upon claim 13, is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 13.
Regarding claim 22: the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claims 24: the claim, ultimately dependent upon claim 22, is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 22.
Regarding claim 25: the claim, ultimately dependent upon claim 22, is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 22. Further, claim language is unclear as to whether the limitation of lines 11-16
is required or optional as outlined below
A)
B)
C)
Examination continued on the assumption the limitation not required.
Regarding claims 27: the claim, ultimately dependent upon claim 13, is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 13, 22, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Geng et al. (US 2021/0298092 A1, made of record in the IDS of 1/5/2024) hereinafter Geng.
Regarding claim 1, Geng teaches a data transmission method, applied to a terminal (terminal/UE 900 transmits uplink data; para. 146 and Figs. [9, 12, 14]) and comprising: in an access procedure of accessing a network side (UE initiates random access procedure to base station (BS); para. 255-258 and Fig. 6 step S640, UE transmits data to BS [access procedure of accessing network side] packet after entering active state; para. 259-260 and Fig. 6 step S650), sending first indication information to a network side device (UE sends status indication information in step S640; para. 258); wherein the first indication information indicates whether a first data packet is comprised in a data packet to be transmitted (status indication information indication information regarding to-be-transmitted uplink data; para. 258), and a data size of the first data packet is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold (terminal/UE determines if size of to-be-transmitted uplink data packet is larger than max [first preset] data transmission threshold, terminal determines when size of to-be-transmitted uplink data packet is larger than second [also first preset] transmission threshold; para. [253, 257, 260] and Fig. 6 step S630), wherein subsequent to the sending the first indication information to the network side device (BS configures UE to be in connected mode [subsequent to sending first indication information]; para. 253), the method comprises: when the first indication information indicates that the data packet to be transmitted comprises the first data packet (status indication information indication information regarding to-be-transmitted uplink data; para. 258), during the access procedure (BS configures UE to be connected mode to send data [communication with BS indicating access procedure]; para. 253), sending the first data packet to the network side device (UE transmits data to BS; para. [253, 260]).
Regarding claim 6, Geng teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Geng further teaches wherein in the access procedure (UE initiates random access procedure to BS; para. 255-258 and Fig. 6 step S640), sending the first data packet to the network side device (UE transmits data to BS; para. [253, 260]) comprises: sending the first data packet (the status indication indicates to-be-transmitted data still remains and transmits uplink data packet after step S640; para. 255-260 and Fig. 6 steps S640-S650) and a second data packet to the network side device (UE sends to-be-transmitted data packet using quick uplink transmission [second data packet]; para. 255-256 and Fig. 6 step S640); wherein the second data packet is a preset data packet (to-be-transmitted uplink data packet is uplink data packet [“to-be” indicating “preset”]; para. 45], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference) or a data size of the second data packet is smaller than a second preset threshold (terminal device determines data packet smaller than both first transmission threshold and second transmission threshold; para. [12-13, 156, 158); the second preset threshold is less than or equal to the first preset threshold (first transmission threshold and second transmission threshold different; para. 142, first transmission threshold greater than second transmission threshold; para. 150).
Regarding claim 13, Geng teaches a data transmission method, applied to a network side device (base station (BS) receives uplink data in steps S640 and S650; para. [146, 255-260] and Figs. [6, 10-11, 13]) and comprising: receiving first indication information sent by a terminal (BS receives status indication information from UE in step S640; para. 258) in an access procedure of accessing a network side (UE initiates random access procedure to base station (BS); para. 255-258 and Fig. 6 step S640, UE transmits data to BS [access procedure of accessing network side] packet after entering active state; para. 259-260 and Fig. 6 step S650); wherein the first indication information indicates whether a first data packet is comprised in a data packet to be transmitted (status indication information indication information regarding to-be-transmitted uplink data; para. 258), and a data size of the first data packet is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold (terminal/UE determines if size of to-be-transmitted uplink data packet is larger than max [first preset] data transmission threshold, terminal determines when size of to-be-transmitted uplink data packet is larger than second [also first preset] transmission threshold; para. [253, 257, 260] and Fig. 6 step S630), wherein when the first indication information indicates that the data packet to be transmitted comprises the first data packet (status indication information indication information regarding to-be-transmitted uplink data; para. 258), subsequent to the receiving the first indication information sent by the terminal in the access procedure of accessing the network side (BS configures UE to be in connected mode [subsequent to sending first indication information]; para. 253), the method comprises: during the access procedure (BS configures UE to be connected mode to send data [communication with BS indicating access procedure]; para. 253), receiving the first data packet sent by the terminal (BS receives data from UE; para. [253, 260]).
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including terminal (terminal/UE/communication apparatus 900/1200/1400 transmits uplink data; para. 146 and Figs. [9, 12, 14]) a memory (memory 1203/1403; para. [395-397, 411-413] and Figs. [12, 14]), a transceiver (transceiver 1202/1402; para. [395-397, 411-413] and Figs. [12, 14]), a processor (processor 1201/1401; para. [395-397, 411-413] and Figs. [12, 14]): the memory is configured to store computer programs (memory storing program; para. [396, 412]); the transceiver is configured to send and receive data under a control of the processor (transceiver sending/receiving data under control of processor; para. [73, 77, 81, 85, 399-400, 412-413]); the processor is configured to read the computer programs in the memory (processor executing program; para. [72, 77, 81, 85, 115, 422-424, 427]).
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 13, including network side device (BS/communication apparatus 1000/1100/1300; para. [146, 255-260] and Figs. [6, 10-11, 13]) a memory (memory 1303; para. 403-405 and Fig. 13), a transceiver (transceiver 1302; para. 403-405 and Fig. 13), a processor (processor 1301; para. 403-405 and Fig. 13): the memory is configured to store computer programs (memory storing program; para. 404); the transceiver is configured to send and receive data under a control of the processor (transceiver sending/receiving data under control of processor; para. [73, 77, 81, 85, 405]); the processor is configured to read the computer programs in the memory (processor executing program; para. [72, 77, 81, 85, 115, 424, 427]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geng in view of Deenoo et al. (US 2019/0174571 A1) hereinafter Deenoo.
Regarding claim 3, Geng teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
While Geng discloses BS allocating cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) to a UE in a random access procedure, Geng does not explicitly disclose wherein prior to the sending the first indication information to the network side device, the method further comprises: determining a terminal identification (ID) of the terminal, and sending the terminal ID to the network side device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deenoo teaches wherein prior to the sending the first indication information to the network side device, the method further comprises: determining a terminal identification (ID) of the terminal (wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) id assigned to handle data transfer [prior to performing or determining whether to perform data transfer]; para. [178, 181]), and sending the terminal ID to the network side device (WTRU indicates WTRU id when performing data transmission; para. 389).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Deenoo to the system of Geng, where Geng’s quick uplink transmission (para. 04-06) along with Deenoo’s reduced overhead and delay in WTRU transmission (para. 04) improves efficiency of the system by reducing overhead and improves user satisfaction by enabling services required low latency in the uplink.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Geng and Deenoo teaches the limitation of previous claim 3.
Geng further teaches sending the second data packet to the network side device (UE sends to-be-transmitted data packet using quick uplink; para. 255-256, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); wherein the second data packet is a preset data packet (to-be-transmitted uplink data packet is uplink data packet [“to-be” indicating “preset”]; para. 45, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference) or a data size of the second data packet is smaller than a second preset threshold (terminal device determines data packet smaller than both first transmission threshold and second transmission threshold; para. [12-13, 156, 158); the second preset threshold is less than or equal to the first preset threshold (first transmission threshold and second transmission threshold different; para. 142, first transmission threshold greater than second transmission threshold; para. 150); or generating at least one preamble of the access procedure according to the terminal ID (message 1 (preamble / msg 1) sent to BS; para. [165, 167], UE stores temporary cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) allocated by BS in a random access procedure; para. 303, random access configuration performed prior to initiating random access; para. 213, BS determines UE based on preamble [at least suggesting preamble generated based on terminal ID]; para. 165); carrying the terminal ID in the at least one preamble of the access procedure (initiate random access procedure; para. 255-258 and Fig. 6 step S640, message 1 (preamble / msg 1) sent to BS; para. [165, 167], UE stores C-RNTI allocated by BS in a random access procedure; para. 303, BS determines UE based on preamble [at least suggesting preamble generated based on terminal ID]; para. 165), and sending the at least one preamble to the network side device (message 1 (preamble / msg 1) sent to BS; para. [165, 167]).
While Geng discloses sending data in quick transmission, and sending first data in quick transmission and other data after switching to connected mode, Geng does not explicitly disclose wherein the sending the terminal ID to the network side device comprises: carrying the terminal ID in a second data packet.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deenoo further discloses wherein the sending the terminal ID to the network side device (WTRU indicates WTRU id when performing data transmission; para. 389) comprises: carrying the terminal ID in a second data packet (WTRU transmits uplink data packet; para. 255-256, WTRU indicates WTRU id when performing data transmission; para. 389, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Deenoo to the modified system of Geng and Deenoo, where Geng and Deenoo’s modified system along with Deenoo’s reduced overhead and delay in WTRU transmission (para. 04) improves efficiency of the system by reducing overhead and improves user satisfaction by enabling services required low latency in the uplink.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Geng and Deenoo teaches the limitation of previous claim 4.
Geng further teaches wherein the sending the first indication information to the network side device (UE sends status indication information in step S640; para. 258) comprises: carrying the first indication information in the second data packet (UE sends first [second] data packet in quick transmission manner in step S640; para. [255-256, 254], UE sends status indication information in step S640; para. 258), and sending the second data packet to the network side device (UE sends first [second] data packet in quick transmission manner in step S640; para. [255-256, 254], UE sends status indication information in step S640; para. 258, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); or carrying the first indication information in the at least one preamble (BS determines UE needs to send data based on message 1 (preamble / msg 1) [at least suggesting preamble carries indication information]; para. [165, 213]), and sending the at least one preamble to the network side device (message 1 (preamble / msg 1) sent to BS; para. [165, 167]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Geng and Deenoo teaches the limitation of previous claim 4.
While Geng discusses response from BS, Geng does not explicitly disclose wherein subsequent to the sending the first data packet to the network side device, the method comprises: receiving response information sent by the network side device; wherein the response information comprises at least one of a first confirmation message, a second confirmation message, and data scheduling information; wherein the first confirmation message indicates that the first data packet is received by the network side device; the second confirmation message indicates that the second data packet is received by the network side device; the data scheduling information indicates time-frequency configuration information for sending the first data packet next time.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deenoo further discloses wherein subsequent to the sending the first data packet to the network side device (UE performs transmission of UL data; para. 424 and Fig. 3 step 3006), the method comprises: receiving response information sent by the network side device (status [success/failure] of previous data transmission by UE indicated by response from BS; para. 440); wherein the response information comprises at least one of a first confirmation message (status [success/failure] of previous data transmission indicated by response; para. 440, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), a second confirmation message (status [success/failure] of previous data transmission indicated by response; para. 440), and data scheduling information; wherein the first confirmation message indicates that the first data packet is received by the network side device (status [success/failure] of previous data transmission indicated by response from BS; para. 440); the second confirmation message indicates that the second data packet is received by the network side device (status [success/failure] of previous data transmission indicated by response from BS; para. 440, UE performs transmission of UL data; para. 424 and Fig. 3 step 3004); the data scheduling information indicates time-frequency configuration information for sending the first data packet next time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Deenoo to the modified system of Geng and Deenoo, where Geng and Deenoo’s modified system along with Deenoo’s reduced overhead and delay in WTRU transmission (para. 04) improves efficiency of the system by reducing overhead and improves user satisfaction by enabling services required low latency in the uplink.
Regarding claim 15, Geng teaches the limitation of previous claim 13.
While Geng discloses cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) and UE context in idle/inactive state, Geng does not explicitly disclose wherein prior to the receiving the first indication information sent by the terminal in the access procedure of accessing the network side, the method further comprises: receiving a terminal identification (ID) of the terminal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deenoo teaches wherein prior to the receiving the first indication information sent by the terminal in the access procedure of accessing the network side (wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) id assigned to handle data transfer [prior to receiving from WTRU]; para. [178, 181]), the method further comprises: receiving a terminal identification (ID) of the terminal (WTRU indicates WTRU id when performing data transmission to BS; para. 389).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Deenoo to the system of Geng, where Geng’s quick uplink transmission (para. 04-06) along with Deenoo’s reduced overhead and delay in WTRU transmission (para. 04) improves efficiency of the system by reducing overhead and improves user satisfaction by enabling services required low latency in the uplink.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Geng and Deenoo teaches the limitation of previous claim 15.
Geng further teaches or receiving a second data packet sent by the terminal (BS receives to-be-transmitted data packet using quick uplink from UE; para. 255-256, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); wherein the second data packet is a preset data packet (to-be-transmitted uplink data packet is uplink data packet [“to-be” indicating “preset”]; para. 45, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference) or a data size of the second data packet is smaller than a second preset threshold (terminal device determines data packet smaller than both first transmission threshold and second transmission threshold; para. [12-13, 156, 158); the second preset threshold is less than or equal to the first preset threshold (first transmission threshold and second transmission threshold different; para. 142, first transmission threshold greater than second transmission threshold; para. 150); or receiving at least one preamble of the access procedure sent by the terminal (BS receives message 1 (preamble / msg 1) from UE; para. [165, 167]); wherein the at least one preamble of the access procedure comprises the terminal ID (initiate random access procedure; para. 255-258 and Fig. 6 step S640, message 1 (preamble / msg 1) sent to BS; para. [165, 167], UE stores C-RNTI allocated by BS in a random access procedure; para. 303, BS determines UE based on preamble [at least suggesting preamble generated comprises terminal ID]; para. 165).
While Geng discloses sending data in quick transmission, and sending first data in quick transmission and other data after switching to connected mode, Geng does not explicitly disclose wherein the receiving the terminal ID of the terminal comprises: wherein the second data packet carries the terminal ID.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deenoo further discloses wherein the receiving the terminal ID of the terminal (WTRU indicates WTRU id when performing data transmission to BS; para. 389) comprises: wherein the second data packet carries the terminal ID (WTRU transmits uplink data packet; para. 255-256, WTRU indicates WTRU id when performing data transmission; para. 389).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Deenoo to the modified system of Geng and Deenoo, where Geng and Deenoo’s modified system along with Deenoo’s reduced overhead and delay in WTRU transmission (para. 04) improves efficiency of the system by reducing overhead and improves user satisfaction by enabling services required low latency in the uplink.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Geng and Deenoo teaches the limitation of previous claim 16.
Geng further teaches wherein the receiving the first indication information sent by the terminal in the access procedure of accessing the network side (BS receives status indication information from UE in step S640; para. 258) comprises: receiving the second data packet sent by the terminal (BS receives first [second] data from UE packet in quick transmission manner in step S640; para. [255-256, 254], UE sends status indication information in step S640; para. 258, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); wherein the second data packet carries the first indication information (UE sends first [second] data packet in quick transmission manner in step S640; para. [255-256, 254], UE sends status indication information in step S640; para. 258); or receiving the at least one preamble sent by the terminal (message 1 (preamble / msg 1) sent to BS; para. [165, 167]); wherein the preamble carries the first indication information (BS determines UE needs to send data based on message 1 (preamble / msg 1) [at least suggesting preamble carries indication information]; para. [165, 213]); and/or the receiving the first data packet sent by the terminal comprises: determining a target subband corresponding to each preamble of the at least one preamble according to a mapping relationship between the each preamble and a subband; receiving on each target subband the first data packet sent by the terminal; and/or when the first data packet is received during the access procedure, the receiving the first data packet sent by the terminal comprises: receiving second indication information in the second data packet; wherein the second indication information comprises at least one of the following configuration parameters: a time domain position where the first data packet is sent by the terminal, a frequency domain position where the first data packet is sent by the terminal, a quantity of physical resource blocks (PRBs) of the first data packet, a subcarrier spacing of the first data packet, and a quantity of symbols used by the first data packet.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Geng and Deenoo teaches the limitation of previous claim 13.
While Geng discusses response from BS, Geng does not explicitly disclose wherein subsequent to the receiving the first data packet sent by the terminal, the method comprises: sending response information to the terminal; wherein the response information comprises at least one of a first confirmation message, a second confirmation message, and data scheduling information; wherein the first confirmation message indicates that the first data packet is received by the network side device; the second confirmation message indicates that the second data packet is received by the network side device; the data scheduling information indicates time-frequency configuration information for sending the first data packet next time.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deenoo further discloses wherein subsequent to the receiving the first data packet sent by the terminal (BS receives transmission of UL data from UE; para. 424 and Fig. 3 step 3006), the method comprises: sending response information to the terminal (status [success/failure] of previous data transmission by UE indicated by response from BS; para. 440); wherein the response information comprises at least one of a first confirmation message (status [success/failure] of previous data transmission indicated by response; para. 440, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), a second confirmation message (status [success/failure] of previous data transmission indicated by response; para. 440), and data scheduling information; wherein the first confirmation message indicates that the first data packet is received by the network side device (status [success/failure] of previous data transmission indicated by response from BS; para. 440); the second confirmation message indicates that the second data packet is received by the network side device (status [success/failure] of previous data transmission indicated by response from BS; para. 440); the data scheduling information indicates time-frequency configuration information for sending the first data packet next time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Deenoo to the modified system of Geng and Deenoo, where Geng and Deenoo’s modified system along with Deenoo’s reduced overhead and delay in WTRU transmission (para. 04) improves efficiency of the system by reducing overhead and improves user satisfaction by enabling services required low latency in the uplink.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Geng and Deenoo teaches the limitation of previous claim 24.
Geng further teaches wherein the sending the first indication information to the network side device (UE sends status indication information in step S640; para. 258) comprises: sending the second data packet to the network side device (UE sends to-be-transmitted data packet using quick uplink; para. 255-256, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); wherein the second data packet is a preset data packet (to-be-transmitted uplink data packet is uplink data packet [“to-be” indicating “preset”]; para. 45, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference) or a data size of the second data packet is smaller than a second preset threshold (terminal device determines data packet smaller than both first transmission threshold and second transmission threshold; para. [12-13, 156, 158); the second preset threshold is less than or equal to the first preset threshold (first transmission threshold and second transmission threshold different; para. 142, first transmission threshold greater than second transmission threshold; para. 150); or generating a preamble of the access procedure according to the terminal ID (message 1 (preamble / msg 1) sent to BS; para. [165, 167], UE stores temporary cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) allocated by BS in a random access procedure; para. 303, random access configuration performed prior to initiating random access; para. 213, BS determines UE based on preamble [at least suggesting preamble generated based on terminal ID]; para. 165); carrying the terminal ID in the preamble of the access procedure (initiate random access procedure; para. 255-258 and Fig. 6 step S640, message 1 (preamble / msg 1) sent to BS; para. [165, 167], UE stores C-RNTI allocated by BS in a random access procedure; para. 303, BS determines UE based on preamble [at least suggesting preamble generated based on terminal ID]; para. 165), and sending the preamble to the network side device (message 1 (preamble / msg 1) sent to BS; para. [165, 167]); carrying the first indication information in the second data packet (UE sends first [second] data packet in quick transmission manner in step S640; para. [255-256, 254], UE sends status indication information in step S640; para. 258), and sending the second data packet to the network side device (UE sends first [second] data packet in quick transmission manner in step S640; para. [255-256, 254], UE sends status indication information in step S640; para. 258, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); or carrying the first indication information in the preamble (BS determines UE needs to send data based on message 1 (preamble / msg 1) [at least suggesting preamble carries indication information]; para. [165, 213]), and sending the preamble to the network side device (message 1 (preamble / msg 1) sent to BS; para. [165, 167]).
While Geng discloses BS allocating cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) to a UE in a random access procedure, Geng does not explicitly disclose wherein the sending the terminal ID to the network side device comprises: carrying the terminal ID in a second data packet.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deenoo further discloses wherein the sending the terminal ID to the network side device (WTRU indicates WTRU id when performing data transmission to BS; para. 389) comprises: carrying the terminal ID in a second data packet (WTRU transmits uplink data packet; para. 255-256, WTRU indicates WTRU id when performing data transmission; para. 389, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Deenoo to the modified system of Geng and Deenoo, where Geng and Deenoo’s modified system along with Deenoo’s reduced overhead and delay in WTRU transmission (para. 04) improves efficiency of the system by reducing overhead and improves user satisfaction by enabling services required low latency in the uplink.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geng in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Jang et al. (US 2016/0212737 A1) hereinafter Jang.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Geng and Deenoo teaches the limitation of previous claim 4.
Geng further teaches wherein the sending the first data packet to the network side device (UE transmits data to BS; para. [253, 260]) comprises: wherein prior to the determining the target subband corresponding to each preamble of the at least one preamble according to the mapping relationship between the each preamble and the subband, the method comprises: obtaining a frequency band (system communicates in frequency band(s) [at least suggesting initial configuration with frequency band to operate]; para. [120-121, 125-128]) and a preamble resource pre-allocated by the network side device for the terminal (random access configuration includes preamble resource; para. 167, BS sends random access configuration prior to terminal initiating random access; para. 165).
While the combination of Geng and Deenoo discloses subbands, preamble groups, and selection of preamble, the combination of Geng and Deenoo does not explicitly disclose determining a target subband corresponding to each preamble according to a mapping relationship between the preamble and a subband; sending the first data packet to the network side device on each target subband; dividing the frequency band into N subbands, and dividing the preamble resource into M preamble groups; wherein M is greater than or equal to N; and establishing the mapping relationship according to the subband and the preamble group.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jang teaches determining a target subband corresponding to each preamble according to a mapping relationship between the preamble and a subband (UE selects subband and preamble corresponding to subband; para. 309-310); sending the first data packet to the network side device on each target subband (UE performs uplink access based on selected subband and preamble corresponding to subband; para. 309-310, all operations performed on corresponding subband; para. 289); dividing the frequency band into N subbands (UE separates [frequency band] into [two] subbands; para. 309), and dividing the preamble resource into M preamble groups (50 preambles separated into two groups; para. 309); wherein M is greater than or equal to N (two subbands and two preamble groups; para. 309); and establishing the mapping relationship according to the subband and the preamble group (UE selects subband and preamble corresponding to subband according to system information; para. 309-310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Jang to the modified system of Geng and Deenoo, where Geng and Deenoo’s modified system along with Jang’s subband blocking (para. 292) improves system efficiency by preventing congestion in a particular subband.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geng in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 2018/0124626 A1) hereinafter Tsai.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Geng and Deenoo teaches the limitation of previous claim 4.
Geng further teaches wherein when the first data packet is sent to the network side device during the access procedure (BS configures UE to be connected mode to send data [communication with BS being access procedure]; para. 253), the second data packet comprises second indication information of the first data packet (UE sends to-be-transmitted data packet using quick uplink transmission [second data packet] and the status indication indicates to-be-transmitted data still remains [second indication information of first data]; para. 255-260 and Fig. 6 step S640).
The combination of Geng and Deenoo does not explicitly disclose wherein the second indication information comprises at least one of the following configuration parameters: a time domain position where the first data packet is sent, a frequency domain position where the first data packet is sent, a quantity of PRBs of the first data packet, a subcarrier spacing of the first data packet, and a quantity of symbols used by the first data packet; wherein the second indication information is indicated in the second data packet by a first value; wherein each first value corresponds to a different configuration parameter combination; or each of the configuration parameters in the second indication information is indicated in a preset data bit in the second data packet by a second value; wherein each second value corresponds to a different value of the configuration parameter.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tsai teaches wherein the second indication information (preamble mapped to resource; para. 42 and Fig. 5A) comprises at least two of the following configuration parameters: a time domain position where the first data packet is sent (mapped resources include time resources for data; para. [31, 41]), a frequency domain position where the first data packet is sent (mapped resources include frequency resources for data; para. [31, 41]), a quantity of physical resource blocks (PRBs) of the first data packet, a subcarrier spacing of the first data packet, and a quantity of symbols used by the first data packet; wherein the second indication information is indicated in the second data packet by a first value (preamble number mapped to resource; para. 41 and Fig. 5A); wherein each first value corresponds to a different configuration parameter combination (one-to-one mapping of resource and preamble; para. [41, 45], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); or each of the configuration parameters in the second indication information is indicated in a preset data bit in the second data packet by a second value; wherein each second value corresponds to a different value of the configuration parameter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Tsai to the modified system of Geng and Deenoo, where Geng and Deenoo’s modified system along with Tsai’s association of resources and preamble (para. 39) improves system efficiency by reducing blind detection / detection complexity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jiang et al. (US 2021/0219334 A1) discloses message sending methods and apparatuses, and resource allocating methods and apparatuses.
Uemura (US 2025/0016848 A1) discloses a terminal apparatus, base station apparatus, and radio communication method.
Tao (US 2023/0104628 A1) discloses user equipment and base station involved in transmission of small data.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE L PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474