Status of the Claims
Claims 1-14, 26-28, 33-36, 43, 54, and 59-60 are pending and examined herein.
Claim 41 is cancelled.
Claims 1, 2, 10, 27, 33, 34, and 43 are amended.
The following Office Action is in response to Applicant’s communication dated 07/29/2026. Rejection(s) and/or objection(s) not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. Specifically, the rejections of claims 10-13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments and the rejections of claims 2, 33, and 43 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s arguments. The following rejection(s) and/or objection(s) are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Maintained/Modified Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Necessitated by Amendments
Claims 1-14, 26, 28, 33, 54, and 59-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (US PGPub No: 2020/0224191).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 33, Lim discloses a method for high-throughput screening of a CAR-cell library comprising:
a) providing (Fig. 11, annotated below) i) a recognition sequence library of recognition sequences that encode antigen binding domains (p. 9, ¶[0142]: “extracellular domain”; p. 11, ¶[0157-9]: “antigen-binding domain”); ii) a hinge region sequence library of one hinge region sequences (p.14, ¶[0173]; p. 17, ¶[0199-202]: “linker”); iii) a transmembrane sequence library of transmembrane sequences (p. 13-14, ¶[0171-2]); and iv) an intracellular domain sequence library of intracellular domain sequences (p. 9, ¶[0142]: “co-regulatory domain or the primary signaling domain”; p. 13, ¶[170]);
b) preparing a CAR library from the combination of the sequences of the libraries from (a) (p. 9, ¶[0139]; p. 19, ¶[0217-8]), wherein the CAR library comprises a plurality of single, continuous (Fig. 22) CAR sequences that each have one member from each of the libraries of (a) (Fig. 11, annotated below);
c) preparing a CAR-cell library by introduction to, and expression of, the CAR library in a cell line so the CARs are expressed on the surfaces of the cells (Fig. 23);
d) screening the CAR-cell library in an assay that reports a function of each member of the CAR-cell library (p. 29, ¶[0299]);
e) evaluating the function of each member of the CAR-cell library (p. 29, ¶[0299]);
f) obtaining sequences of the CARs (p. 18, ¶[0280]) and linking the sequences to the function of the CAR-cell library members (p. 29, ¶[0299]); and
g) identifying and selecting the sequence(s) responsible for a desired function of a member of the CAR-cell library (p. 24, ¶[0253]).
Lim Fig. 1, annotated
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Lim further discloses that the CAR-cell library has at least two points of diversity in the structure of each CAR (p. 41-42, ¶[0363]: “two-dimensional library”) and that the points of diversity are of the intracellular domain (p. 41-42, ¶[0363]: “a first co-modulatory domain module fused to a second co-modulatory domain module”).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Lim further discloses that the CAR library comprises one or more vectors encoding a CAR (p. 41, ¶[0356-7]) that were introduced into the cell line by transduction (p. 41, ¶[0358]; p. 25, ¶[0260]).
Regarding claims 7, 8 and 54, Lim further discloses that the method is used for high-throughput screening of 3844 CAR in the CAR-cell library (p. 41-42, ¶[0363]: “62-by-62 member two-dimensional library”; p. 10, ¶[0148-52]) and that each member of the CAR-cell library comprises a unique CAR (Fig. 23: “Population of Primary Human T-Cells each Expressing Unique Car”).
Regarding claims 9 and 14 Lim further discloses that the function assessed of each member of the library is modulation RNA expression (p. 28, ¶[0285]: “gene expression”, “non-coding RNA expression”).
Regarding claims 10-13, additionally, Lim discloses that the function assessed of the CAR-cell library members is a measurable activation of the cells in the assay, to provide activated cells, which are identified based on up-regulation of activation markers (p. 29, ¶[0295]: “T-cell activation markers”) by FACS sorting (p. 29, ¶[0296]) and the CAR sequence of an activated cell is identified using next generation sequencing (p. 40, ¶[0349-50]).
Regarding claim 26, Lim further discloses that CARs identified in step (g) are used for the design of further iterations of CAR screening (p. 40-41, ¶[0352]).
Regarding claim 28, Lim further discloses that the CAR sequences in the CAR library comprise a co-stimulatory domain sequence (Fig. 11, see above; p. 13, ¶[0168]).
Regarding claims 59 and 60, Lim further discloses that the cell of the CAR-cell library is a primary human T-cell (p. 25, ¶[0264]).
Claims 34-36, 41, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rydzek et al. (Mol. Ther. (2019), 27(2): 287-299).
Regarding claims 34, 41, and 43, Rydzek discloses a method for high-throughput screening of a CAR library, comprising:
a) providing a recognition sequence library of recognition sequences that encode an antigen binding domain (p. 290, “Reporter Cells Support Large-Scale…”; p. 296, “ROR1-CAR scFv Library”);
b) preparing a CAR library of single, continuous CAR sequences from the combination of a recognition sequence and a CAR scaffold that comprises a hinge region sequence (Fig. 3A: “spacer”), a transmembrane domain sequence, and an intracellular domain sequence (p. 296, “ROR1-CAR scFV Library”: “the scFv mutants were cloned via restriction sites into the pT2/HB Sleeping Beauty transposon donor vector upstream of a CD28 transmembrane domain and intracellular CD3ζ and 4-1BB domains… to generate the ROR1-CAR scFv library”);
c) preparing a CAR-cell library wherein each CAR sequence is introduced to and expressed as a CAR on the cell surface of one or more cells (p. 296, “CAR Gene Transfer into Reporter Cells”);
d) screening the CAR-cell library in an assay that reports at least one function of each member (p. 292, “Reporter Cells Retrieve a Rare…”);
e) evaluating the function of each member of the CAR-cell library (Fig. 5D);
f) obtaining one or more sequences of the plurality of CARs expressed in the CAR-cell library (p.297, “Genomic DNA Analysis”) and linking them to the function of one or more members of the CAR-cell library (Fig. 5D)
g) identifying and selecting the sequence that is responsible for a desired function of a member of the CAR-cell library (p. 293, 1st full ¶).
Regarding claims 35 and 36, Rydzek further discloses that the CAR scaffold is provided as a single continuous sequence assembled prior to combination with the recognition sequence library (p. 296, “ROR1-CAR scFv Library”: pT2/HB Sleeping Beauty transposon donor vector).
***
Response to Arguments
In the remarks dated 07/29/2026, Applicant argues that not all elements are taught by Lim nor Rydzek (see p. 2-3 for Lim; p. 4 for Rydzek). Specifically, Applicant argues that neither of the prior arts disclose identifying the sequence of the full CAR construct. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is first noted that claims 1 and 34 state the limitation of “obtaining one or more sequences of the plurality of CARs”. Sequences may be “obtained” through many avenues and the claim as written does not specify how the sequences are obtained. In the case of Lim, the sequence of the CAR is obtained through association with a barcode that is sequenced. Based on the method of Lim, each CAR is associated with a specific barcode, and therefore the sequence of the barcode identifies the sequence of the full CAR, thereby “obtaining” the sequence of the CAR. Similarly, the CAR constructs of Rydzek contain a variable region and a constant scaffold region. The sequence of the scaffold is known, because it is the same throughout all constructs. When Rydzek sequences the VH CDR3 variable region of the CAR, the entire sequence of the CAR is obtained from the sequenced variable region and the known scaffold region. Therefore, both Lim and Rydzek teach the limitation of “obtaining one or more sequences of one or more of the plurality of CARs” of claims 1 and 34.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. in view of Goodman et al. (bioRxiv (July 2021), doi: 10.1101/2021.07.11.451980), as evidenced by Greener et al. (Nat. Rev. Mol. Cell Biol. (2021), 23: 40-55).
Lim et al. describe a method for high-throughput screening of a CAR cell library, where CARs of interest are identified and used for the design of further screening iterations. The teachings of Lim as they relate to claims 1 and 26 are discussed previously in this Office Action and are fully incorporated here. However, Lim does not specify the method by which CAR sequences of interest are identified.
Goodman et al. disclose the use of clustering, specifically principal component analysis, to identify and select CAR sequences responsible for specific functions (p. 7-8: “Scoring CARs across pooled…”). Principal component analysis is a type of machine learning algorithm as evidenced by Greener et al. (Table 1: Comparison of different machine learning methods). Goodman specifically use this method for identifying CAR sequences of desired functional profiles from a CAR-cell library. Because PCA is used in Goodman for the purposed performed in Lim of identifying sequences responsible for a desired function of the CAR-cell library, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, by the time of the effective filing date, to combine the use of machine learning in Goodman with the method of screening a CAR-cell library of Lim, yielding the predictable result of using machine learning algorithms to identify and select CAR sequences.
***
Response to Arguments
In the response dated 07/29/26, Applicant argues that Lim does not teach all limitations of claim 1 and it would not be obvious over the disclosures of Goodman or Greener. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner contends that Lim does teach all limitations of claim 1 as addressed in the above sections, which are incorporated in their entireties herein by reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRA OLSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/JEREMY C FLINDERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684